Why not a Silent LCA Mk-2?

Exactly. And perhaps even more since the 165 MiG27s will also be retired by 2019shiv wrote:Easy to give a smart aleck answer but I don't mean this is a nasty/facetious senseashbhee wrote:If they setup a F16 or Griphen asmbly line here won't that dampen Tejas's future with IAF?
Did the setting up of production lines for Toyota and other motor vehicles in India dampen Maruti's future? Provided there is enough demand, and the price is right it may not happen.
Let me do some math
328 + 100 tejas + 36 Rafale = 464 aircraft.
We will still be 200 aircraft short
We will not have 100 tejas before 2021
We will not have 36 Rafale before 2021
We will retire MiG 21 by 2021
Yes, IAF is in emergency. There is going to be major shortfall if all are retired. My guess is the retirements will be delayed. But I still feel that the replacement needs to be Tejas - simply because it is the most contemporary 4.5 gen single engine fighter out there and with Mk1A, Mk 2 there is a known upgrade programme. By the time Tejas lines will run dry of orders AMCA should be there to start production.Khalsa wrote:@Cosmo_R
Thank you sir .... notedd.
And good god more retirements beginning from 2016 onwards. .....
+ 1 , current cost of Tejas per mod is $32-35 million , even at $40 million it will be cheaper than any of 4-4.5 gen peersdeejay wrote:Yes, IAF is in emergency. There is going to be major shortfall if all are retired. My guess is the retirements will be delayed. But I still feel that the replacement needs to be Tejas - simply because it is the most contemporary 4.5 gen single engine fighter out there and with Mk1A, Mk 2 there is a known upgrade programme. By the time Tejas lines will run dry of orders AMCA should be there to start production.
The gazillions that will go to import a foreign line should be tripled to expedite Indian Tejas line and even with that additional expenditure, Tejas will not cost more than an Eph 16.
That list is only partially correct.Cosmo_R wrote:@Khalsa ^^^I got the number from here
"165 MiG-27Ms licensed built by HAL. Total 120 Upgraded Mig-27ML Active. To be retired between 2018 and 2020.[13]
No. 2 Squadron IAF[13]
No. 9 Squadron IAF[13]
No. 18 Squadron IAF[13]
No. 20 Squadron IAF[13]
No. 22 Squadron IAF[13]
No. 222 Squadron IAF[13]
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mikoyan_MiG-27
I think getting lots of Tejas and deploying them against the PAKs with a few SU 30 MKIs sqdns is a good solution. With a 300 km combat radius (2 ton load) it can hit most of cold start targets and with a 1 ton load (4 - 6) AAM it can do a decent air defence especially if we have many to overwhelm their radar picture. If we can get some glide bombs integrated A2G range increases. For deep strike missions SU 30s are enough. Problem with Tejas induction as from what I hear it is HAL bottleneck. If HAL can be fixed or a pvt player brought in for a second line you will see a big push from IAF for it.deejay wrote:Yes, IAF is in emergency. There is going to be major shortfall if all are retired. My guess is the retirements will be delayed. But I still feel that the replacement needs to be Tejas - simply because it is the most contemporary 4.5 gen single engine fighter out there and with Mk1A, Mk 2 there is a known upgrade programme. By the time Tejas lines will run dry of orders AMCA should be there to start production.Khalsa wrote:@Cosmo_R
Thank you sir .... notedd.
And good god more retirements beginning from 2016 onwards. .....
The gazillions that will go to import a foreign line should be tripled to expedite Indian Tejas line and even with that additional expenditure, Tejas will not cost more than an Eph 16.
Sir Tejas is multirole, super maneuverable aircraft minus thrust vectoring. Short of Peshawar (and equivalent) it is a great deployment in all roles - Air Superiority, Ground Attack and EW missions based on configuration. Add capabilities derived of AESA and BVRs etc, Tejas is a very potent beast with a very affordable cost. It will allow us to expand to a 45 - 50 Sqn aircraft without bleeding money. There will be missions outside Tejas envelope and for that we now have Su 30s, M 2Ks, Jaguars. In future we have Rafales, FGFA and AMCA. That is an adequate cover for all except long range strategic bombing profiles.Akshay Kapoor wrote:Deejay, whats your view on Tejas tactics in the western sector and can we take care of SWAC, WAC completely with Tejas, Mirages and 4-5 Su30 Sqdns ? Lets not forget Navy's 2 MIG 29 Sqdns that can be used with SWAC. Can we move the 3 Mig 29 , Rafales and rest of SU 30 (7-8) sqdns for EAC and CAC ?
I am having some thoughts regarding this, will just put it here.indranilroy wrote:Jay,
I am not speaking of changing the layout in the fuselage. I am mainly speaking of the external shape. Yes there will be structural changes here and there. But designing an airframe around established components takes about 3-5 years. Boeing, Northrop Grumman stitched together airframes from existing components in less than 3 years for the USAF trainer program. For example, Boeing's entry has a twin tail, where there are no other examples of a single engined fighter with that config. Flight testing a new airframe only would probably take 3-5 years.
The only reason why we are asking for collaboration is because we want to get to producing these aircraft in 10 years. On our own we could have managed it in 15.
Just nitpicking. Super manoeuvrability is post-stall region manoeuvrability, isn't it?? By that definition LCA is not super-manoeuvrable.deejay wrote:
Sir Tejas is multirole, super maneuverable aircraft minus thrust vectoring.
Some thoughts on this type of design from top off my head.Gagan wrote:Cross posting from design your own fighter thread:
Thanks Deejay. The big advantage vis a vis Pak is lack of depth. And that's why Tejas is quite useful in WAC and SWac. And the strategic independence point is crucial. If I were IAF chief I would ask for 200 Tejas atleast and a second pvt sector line. Link it to closing the tanker deal and more Phalcons and radars, munitions etc. But the snake and ladder comes in. If we can change that then we can start taking sensible decisions. Make a very strong case to Modi.deejay wrote:Sir Tejas is multirole, super maneuverable aircraft minus thrust vectoring. Short of Peshawar (and equivalent) it is a great deployment in all roles - Air Superiority, Ground Attack and EW missions based on configuration. Add capabilities derived of AESA and BVRs etc, Tejas is a very potent beast with a very affordable cost. It will allow us to expand to a 45 - 50 Sqn aircraft without bleeding money. There will be missions outside Tejas envelope and for that we now have Su 30s, M 2Ks, Jaguars. In future we have Rafales, FGFA and AMCA. That is an adequate cover for all except long range strategic bombing profiles.Akshay Kapoor wrote:Deejay, whats your view on Tejas tactics in the western sector and can we take care of SWAC, WAC completely with Tejas, Mirages and 4-5 Su30 Sqdns ? Lets not forget Navy's 2 MIG 29 Sqdns that can be used with SWAC. Can we move the 3 Mig 29 , Rafales and rest of SU 30 (7-8) sqdns for EAC and CAC ?
Even for Peshawar / Quetta kind of distances, Air to Air refueling is a dynamic force multiplier and shove comes to push LCAs will be handy.
Saturation of skies with friendly fighters, inter operability of type from multiple WAC bases all across IB & LOC is fantastic plus.
Then there is the role of Strategic independence. Presently, our foreign policy and postures are constrained by our need to keep our sellers in good books. Fighter aircraft are a sellers product. The greater our freedom from foreign governments, the greater our ability to wield the weapons we have. I agree that because of the engines Tejas is not strategically independent but it still offers us the greatest strategic freedom.
Finally - Tejas comes with a capability and cost that none can match. None. It is our surgical sledgehammer in the hind end military export market. This is one huge avenue for not just revenue but an important foreign policy tool in influencing friendly states.
The advantages Tejas offers is immense. It is up to us to invest and scale up our investments in the project. It is not easy. Nothing is. As we say in fauj -" Difficult is routine, impossible is the challenge I like" - it is time for GOI to think like so.
Our technologists have delivered the product, the military has now given the initial leg up, will the ruling class (politicians and babus) take the final step.
My2Paise.
The above might be true, but I did not write that.sankum wrote:Deejay wrote,
According to his sources IN is not interested in NLCAmk2.
Technical term wise yes, but LCA is the most unstable design and hence most maneuverable. I used TFTA Super Maneuverable and from hence forth LCA is Super Maneuverable. Anyone want to take me on this?JayS wrote:Just nitpicking. Super manoeuvrability is post-stall region manoeuvrability, isn't it?? By that definition LCA is not super-manoeuvrable.deejay wrote:
Sir Tejas is multirole, super maneuverable aircraft minus thrust vectoring.
Correctkit wrote:I think it is the time factor that is pushing GOI for two single engine fighters to fill the IAF requirements. The foreign collaboration will bring in numbers faster.
This scenario is exactly repeated in the IN submarine requirement .
Again same logic
Understood Sir..deejay wrote:Technical term wise yes, but LCA is the most unstable design and hence most maneuverable. I used TFTA Super Maneuverable and from hence forth LCA is Super Maneuverable. Anyone want to take me on this?JayS wrote: Just nitpicking. Super manoeuvrability is post-stall region manoeuvrability, isn't it?? By that definition LCA is not super-manoeuvrable.
No Sir guru ji.JayS wrote:...
Would it not be much easier to take the AMCA as the base model and derive a single engine plane?JayS wrote:Some thoughts on this type of design from top off my head.Gagan wrote:Cross posting from design your own fighter thread:
LCA does not have a nice place to put the twin tails. IMO some serious work will be needed here. An American company .......
Comments are welcome on this.
In the Single engine jet thread, some have already put forth this argument. But thing is it doesn't really matter what we think here at BRF. What GOI thinks matters. We can just put forth hypotheses regarding the same. In all probability Modi already has promised F16 line as quid pro quo for something, the decision has been taken, now only price negotiation is left.Marten wrote:Does no one see the logical fallacy in this lack of time argument?
Imagining an IAF tender process plus 5 year ramp up time for tier 1,2,3 suppliers will be quicker than hiring consultants to help set up another LCA line AND to address any possible reliability, availability issues along with this dope thing called experience of high tech manufacturing?
PS: If you still don't, I'd like 2 of whatever you're smoking.