Indian Armed Forces Academies

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Mekala

Post by Mekala »

Almost 36 years had gone by, in 1969 I started my carreer in the Army, in OTS, and I returned to that place on 16th August this year. The fundamental change was, OTS changed into OTA.

It was a pilgrimage combined with a walk down the memory lane, in slow motion. A lot of things had changed and the rest are going to change for ever shortly. Fortunately for me, I just landed there, in time to see what was permanently etched in my memory, for one more time, before all that changed for ever. The line of barracks/huts, the cot I slept, its position, every thing that surrounded it including the almirah and the bedsheets (with the same colours) and the look of all surroundings remained just the same as a freeze shot through a period of a generation, through the length of a career from induction to retirement. I sat on the cot, it was a thrill of life time. I would have given anything in this world to just get back to those days, the ragging of the seniors, the front and back rolls, the 10-10 pittoo parades, sleepless nights, running routines, long marches on Chendits camp, climbing up and down the P-hill, and what not. However I missed the AC Bays, none seems to know about them now, they have gone into hiding. May be with in an year or two, what is remaining of old will vanish. What I never imagined to ever view in the OTA way back in 1969 was happening before me, it was the sight of a Lady Pl Comdr punishing an entire Platoon of a Lady Cadets, making them "murgis". I entered the cadets mess, the furniture changed, the war heroes list expanded, but the look was familiar. The parade ground and WT area have changed. A museum has come up, but surprisingly the photoes of my course could not be traced. One of my course mate was with me. We recalled memories of our friends who are no more. We reminisced incidents of small but significant importance.

The new cadets mess is going to be very magestic. The Officers Mess, which as a cadet we could never enter was the place where I stayed. It is housed in a heritage building of 1816 vintage, which once was the Officers' mess of Madras Arty.

I just felt like kneeling down and kiss the land that made me an Officer and a Gentleman. It was something, some strange feeling, that can not be described by any known vacabulary in any language. We can only just feel it, and not describe it.

Srini-M
siddharth_k

TGC & Anti-Date Seniority

Post by siddharth_k »

Hi Members of BR, ppl in Olive and Olive Dark Green

I would be grateful if i could get solicited with information from the horses mouth on the following, I have been rolling through BR last 5 years and it seems to be the precise infomation source and forum. Would like to know about the Specialist Entry Scheme into the Army (for PG holders), I suppose they're taken in the TGC course in IMA and their duration of training is one year.

1. Do these guys get 2 years anti-date seniority as in the case of Engineers?
2. Do MCA holders get Tech Corps, if yes, what is the minimum eligibility, is it:
a) Grads with PCM, or
b) 10+2 with PCM
3. Does OTA allow intake Post Graduates into TGC?
4. Are they taken into AEC/Ordnance, or other Corps are also open?

Dhruv

Post by Dhruv »

I had something of this sort in mind since a long time. The best move is shortening academics to 5th term, and eliminating cross-stream subjects to give way to service related subjects.

The Common Service Syllabus at NDA is very very detailed, I was amazed to see its level of detail, and since more time will be spent on it now....you can expect even better officers now who will be up-to-date on most of the information. And 6th term becomes more exciting.....because entire stress goes on service training, perhaps more sorties on Super Dimona expected.

I am so proud to be a part of this academy.

National Defence Academy to have new curriculum
Geetanjali Gayatri
Tribune News Service

Pune, August 25
The National Defence Academy, Khadakvasla, is in for some sweeping changes in the academic curriculum beginning “next season”. Moving on from the traditional classroom teaching to having IT-powered classrooms for its 1700-odd cadets is just one of them.

Realising the need for greater practical training, the NDA faculty has suggested confining of academics till the fifth semester of the six-semester graduate course for cadets. The idea is to make practical training the focus area of the sixth and final semester just before the cadets are ready to leave the NDA.

The cross-stream subjects taught for imparting basic knowledge of practically every field to cadets, will now give way to teaching of contemporary topics pertaining to the three services of Army, Navy and Air Force as also inter-service disciplines, subjects of national interest and latest advances in science and technology.

A comprehensive capsule on leadership will also be introduced to drill in leadership qualities in future officers while a month-long orientation course for new entrants is also in the offing.

These changes are all a part of the ongoing exercise to review the entire curriculum of the academy and fine-tune it in consonance with the present-day needs.

“Though the review is carried out after every 16 years, the fast-changing world around has prompted us to extend the curriculum review undertaken in 2003 to 2005 as well. With redundancy setting in fast in practically every field, given the rapid advances made in technology, it is being attempted again to ensure our cadets don’t get left behind.

“We want them to keep abreast of all the changes happening in society and the world around them. That’s the mission of the academic committee set up to look into the matter”, says NDA Commandant Lt-Gen AK Chopra.

Under the changes to be introduced, emphasis would be laid on imparting practical knowledge, though the academic standards would not be diluted. The focus of the review is to work out a curriculum that will broaden the outlook of the cadets and make them “physically strong, mentally alert and morally straight” as also contribute to building a well-rounded personality.

Also happening within the confines of the NDA is a mini technology revolution wherein information technology is all set to enter the classrooms to “further improve the quality of instruction” in the two courses of science and humanities being taught at the NDA in collaboration with Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi, which awards degrees to the cadets on completion of the course.

Further, to give direct access to the cadets on subjects of his interest originating at the NDA, the academy is also slated to have its campus area network to facilitate communication within its “family”.

Realising the need to “acclimatise” the cadet coming from a civil background, the NDA will initiate a comprehensive one-month orientation course to enable his smooth transition to a cadet. “While cadets coming from army backgrounds are well-versed about the army discipline et al, those coming from civil backgrounds take time to adjust to the new way of life. This course will help the cadet set into the army culture and acquaint him with what is expected of him here”, adds Gen Chopra.

It maybe recalled that the first review of the curriculum after the setting up of the NDA was done in 1955, then in 1971 and again in 1987. The last review was carried out in 2003.
shek

Post by shek »

Wow! It feels real good to be back after taking a loooong sabbatical from the forum! Actually it wasn't intentional, i jus CAN'T seem to access BR on my comp!! Keeps sayin "page cannot be displayed", so am posting from friends place now...
Mekala sir u said it!! OTA rocks anyday!! My joining is in Oct for SS 82. It wold be a real pleasure to meet another ex-OTA type sir! The Academy is now going thru a revolutionary change! Its coming up as the most hi-tech Academy. No wonder it's regarded as the TOUGHEST and MOST CHALLENGING Academy in the WORLD!
Dhruv flyboy, wats news bud?? don worry chap, ul be jus fine...all part of academy life! Keep in touch u rascal... btw, which squan u in and which course?? I know quite a few srs of urs i guess, most are my schoo type juniors.... mail me at : guardsman.ben@gmail.com
Dhruv

Post by Dhruv »

Yes sir i mailed u right away. I thot u had left for OTA. Anwyas...best of luck.
shek

Post by shek »

Hey guys, i finally leave to fulfil me dreams! i guess this is going to be the last post of mine for a long time as i leave for the prestigious OTA on 8th. God Speed,
Ben.

Best wishes shek. Do the OTA (and BR) proud!
ayo_gorkhali

Post by ayo_gorkhali »

Hi there
I am a student from Nepal.

I am very interested to join the Indian Army. I did my class 11 and 12 from Dehradun but right now I am doing my college from Kathmandu. I have visited a GR unit twice and I am sure that is the kind of life I want. Just to let you know how interested I am, I would like to mention that once I know an officer, I never lose my contact with him.

I have got a few queries. I would be very grateful to you if you could let me know your views on the following issues.

My queries are as follows.

1)I am a Nepali but I am interested to join the Indian Army as an infantry officer. Earlier, I was damn sure about it. Even my parents and kins have no problems with this. But sometimes, people in Nepal probably make me think that it is not fair to join the Indian Army being a Nepali. I want to know what do you guys feel about it. The concept of army is very different in Nepal. Very few take it as a challenging and rewarding career unlike in India. In Nepal, to most of the people, it is the last option and most of the applicants are those who cannot perform well in studies.

2)A year back, I had a highway accident. I had to undergo an operation after that. I have got some keloid marks on my shoulder and some marks of operation on my leg. But they do not hamper me in running or anything. Do you think it will affect my selection?

3)The other query is about the publiction of my results of the 8th semester. I am currently in the 2nd semester. My results may not be published on the time prescribed by the selection board. Although this thing has already been discussed on the forum, it seems like whatever you said was not a very sure fact as there were cases where the guys whose results did not come on time were not interviewed. Pls comment.

4) Is it important to be able to wink a single eye for joining the army?

5)What restrictions/limitations will a Nepali officer have in promotion etc ? What is the highest rank a Nepali is given?

Looking forward to hearing from you soon.
Bye.

Your username has been deleted. Please follow forum guidelines when choosing a username.

Hi Guys: Can someone please help this lady? Please post your answer in the forum. Thanks.

-----------------------------------------------------------

I needed some information on the selection procedure for WSES (Women Entry Scheme) for which I have applied and the SSBs due in November. Where can I look for the information, or better still where can I post a question and expect people to answer?
member_7494

Post by member_7494 »

Rakesh wrote:Hi Guys: Can someone please help this lady? Please post your answer in the forum. Thanks.

-----------------------------------------------------------

I needed some information on the selection procedure for WSES (Women Entry Scheme) for which I have applied and the SSBs due in November. Where can I look for the information, or better still where can I post a question and expect people to answer?
member_7777

Post by member_7777 »

Hi, I would like to know if anyone could give me any information as to how i can prepare for the SSB interview and the entrance exam for the WSES(O). I am 20 years old and have finished my graduation (BSc in Nutrition and Dietetics). It would be really helpful if someone could give me a few tips regarding how to go about the preparation. Thanks, aditi.
JimmyD

Post by JimmyD »

Hi,

Some of you may have seen me post and here and there on the forum once in a while - I was hoping you could help me out with a query I had. I've always been interested in joining the Air Force as a pilot. However because I have glasses, I can't become a pilot. So, I was considering joining the Army in the Short Service Commission. I have read up a bit on the details regarding the SSC and the selection process etc. However, I was unable to find any information regarding medical requirements - particularly eyesight. That remains my biggest my biggest concern. I am also partially colour blind, i.e. although I can see all the colours fine - I can't find some of the numbers in the dots test for colour blindness. Basically, I just have trouble where I have to distinguish between two very close shades of the colour.

As for other details - I am currently in my last year of Electrical Engineering in Canada. I actually only moved here 2 years ago with my parents. I have lived in Mumbai most of my life and even finished two years of Electronics Engineering at Vivekanand engineering college (VESIT - Chembur).

I hope some of you guys could help me out with the information.

Jimmy
Pradeep_JR

Post by Pradeep_JR »

Hi,

Some of you may have seen me post and here and there on the forum once in a while - I was hoping you could help me out with a query I had. I've always been interested in joining the Air Force as a pilot. However because I have glasses, I can't become a pilot. So, I was considering joining the Army in the Short Service Commission. I have read up a bit on the details regarding the SSC and the selection process etc. However, I was unable to find any information regarding medical requirements - particularly eyesight. That remains my biggest my biggest concern. I am also partially colour blind, i.e. although I can see all the colours fine - I can't find some of the numbers in the dots test for colour blindness. Basically, I just have trouble where I have to distinguish between two very close shades of the colour.

As for other details - I am currently in my last year of Electrical Engineering in Canada. I actually only moved here 2 years ago with my parents. I have lived in Mumbai most of my life and even finished two years of Electronics Engineering at Vivekanand engineering college (VESIT - Chembur).

I hope some of you guys could help me out with the information.

Jimmy
Hi Jimmy......I'm also from B'bay....finished my engg. from RAIT,Nerul.....I had been for my SSB last month (TGC entry)........as far as i understand......the Army accept it if ur power is around 2.5-3......and as far as colour vision goes i am not too sure.......but one fellow with me was declared medically unfit cos he was colour blind......for more technical details i am pasting the guidelines as given in the UPSC site.....u can visit WWW.UPSC.GOV.IN then go to ARCHIVES then to CDS II NOTIFICATION and check out APPENDIX V for complete medical details...

Here are the guidelines:
A candidate should be able to read 6/6 in a distant vision chart with each eye with or without glasses (For navy and Air Force without glasses only) Myopia should not be more than 3.5D and hypermetropia not more than 3.5D including Astigmatism. Internal examination of the eye will be done by means of ophthalmoscope to rule out any disease of the eye. A candidate must have good binocular vision. The colour vision standard will be CP-3. A candidate should be able to recognise red and green colours.

Radial keratotomy : Candidates who have undergone or have the evidence of having undergone Radial Keratotomy, to improve the visual acuity, will be permanently rejected for all the three services. Candidates who have undergone Laser Surgery for correction of refractive error are also not acceptable to defence services.

The candidates for Navy should have the following vision standards :
Distant vision 6/12 , 6/12, Correctable to 6/6 Near Vision N-5 each eye
Colour Vision CP-1 by MLT

Myopia is not to exceed 0.75 dioptres and hypermetropia not more than 1.50 dioptres in the better eye and 2.50 dioptres in the worse eye.

Ocular Muscle Balance

Hetrophoria with the Maddox Rod Test must not exceed.

(i) At 6 metres Exophoria 8 prism dioptres, Esophoria 8 prism dioptres, Hyperphoria 1 prism diop-tres.

(ii) at 30 cm Exophoria 16 prism dioptres, Esophoria 6 prism dioptres, Hyperphoria 1 prism dioptres.

take care and all the best....bye
pRaDeEp.
JimmyD

Post by JimmyD »

Hi Pradeep,

Thanks for the information! I was initially browsing around on the joinindianarmy.nic.in website but I couldn't find any infomation there - so I posted here. I'll have to get my eyes checked first to see if I meet the requirements

How did your SSB interview go? Gook luck with that!

Jimmy
Pradeep_JR

Post by Pradeep_JR »

hi Jimmy......all the best with ur eyes......i cleared my SSB and Medical.....waiting for my merit list......TGC entry...u know.......getting into the merit list is as tough as clearing the SSB....if not more......nyway lets see what happens.....take care ...bye
Vivasvat

Post by Vivasvat »

Online tests can be compromised, so this does not seem like a good idea.
Now, online tests for entry to defence services
Excerpts...
Aptitude tests for selection of candidates for defence services may become online in a year's time. The new pattern will be similar to any other screening tests, like GATE.

The government spends a lot of money for covering the travelling and lodging expenses of candidates. By conducting online tests, the government apparently wants to put a check on the expenditure front.

"Candidates have to pass the web-based aptitude test for military leadership on the internet before recruitment into the defence services," said Dr W Selvamurthy, chief controller, research and development (life sciences and human resources).

From dailypioneer.com. Posting in full as the URL may not be archived:

http://dailypioneer.com/indexn12.asp?ma ... nter_img=6
Sepoy's son beats all to win gold medal at IMA

Sonia Sarkar/ Dehradun

For Ram Swarup Basera, who retired as sepoy in the Indian Army some 30 years back, it was the most touching moment of his life when his youngest son Subhash Chandra Basera was awarded gold medal at the passing out parade (POP) ceremony at the Indian Military Academy (IMA) on Saturday. As he proudly advised his son, "Dushman ko kabhi nahi chhodna, ek nahi dus ko marna."

Now a Lieutenant, Basera, who hails from a small town called Chirawa near Jhunjhunu in Rajasthan, always dreamt of being an Army officer. "Right from my childhood, I wanted to be in the Army. And my parents are always a motivation for me," said the newly-commissioned officer.

While his mother Rambai Devi, in her best ghagra choli, the traditional dress, watched her son parading at the Chetwode parade ground, she could only say, "Humne bachpan se usko sikhaya hain ki desh ke liye seva karna (Since his childhood we have told him that he has to serve for the nation)."

Though he could not enjoy the moments with his parents, they were no less precious for Penjor Gyeltshen from Bhutan, who was awarded the Sword of Honour. However, his foster aunt Seema Ahluwalia's presence in the occasion made his day. "I was delighted to be trained in the IMA and am sure to deliver the best to the Royal Bhutan Army," said an excited Penjor after the Piping ceremony was over.

Piping ceremony is an occasion when the Gentlemen Cadets (GC) lined outside Khetarpal Auditorium wearing olive green uniforms, but without the shoulder pips. As the ceremony started off, the parents went about hugging their sons and pinning the all-important insignias of the respective regiments at the backdrop of the famous tune- "Congratulations and Celebrations..."

One also caught the 533-odd Lieutenants giving the best postures in front of the camera with their families wearing the newly commissioned olive green caps and black canes. Their celebration was laced with the famous one-liner in the IMA: "Chil bill chill bill, dhoom dharaka!" as the officers rejoice the passing out ceremony.

The scene was contrast to what one saw at the historic Chetwode parade ground when the GCs paraded on the tunes of "Marine, Gold and Silver", "Kadam kadam bharaye ja..." followed by the National Anthem. The cadets, too, had their last lesson at IMA as the chief of the Army Staff General JJ Singh, PVSM, AVSM, VSM, ADC said, "The cadets should live with the spirit of warrior and the conviction of a winner."

He further added, "We fight to win and we win by knock-out." This tradition-laced parade ceremony also saw elaborate horse-drawn carriages ferried top dignitaries and helicopters showering petals on the cadets gathered outside the hallowed portals of the Chetwode building.

After the GCs were awarded, the newly-commissioned Lieutenants left the parade ground with confidence in their eyes and a mission in their mind as Robert Burns' famous poem "Auld Langsine" tuned in.

NDA falls back on yoga to quell cadets’ fears, attitude problems

http://www.indianexpress.com/full_story ... t_id=83889
rajat_p

Post by rajat_p »

i like to share some information might be useful to many people....

lasik operations are allowed in the army it came into effect in Oct.2004 but army published this in CDS-2,2005 notification...glasses are allowed till -3.5.

If anyone get medically unfit due to colour blindness and gets CP4 in his ssb medical board..best thing is mug up that book its easily available in the market and u will clear your Appeal medical board my two friends did the same and currently they are in OTA.
Jager

Post by Jager »

hey everybody ,
i have cleared the CDSE and am up for my ssb interview this may .

Any words of advice from any of the vets would be appreciated , particularly about the medical tests .

Mail me at :

falshirmjager@yahoo.com
shek

Post by shek »

hey BR! i'm in B'lore for term break!! finally i've finished with 1st term and all set for senior term at the OTA!! i've been appointed as Bn Under Officer Ranjit Singh Bn...lookin fwd to the challenges ahead!
The POP was great... got senti too bidding adieu to SSC 81...

what was nice to see was that SSC 81 had 70 vacancies for INF and 90 optees!!!
one of the GCs was commissioned into an Arty Regt (dunno the unit) wearing a Gurkha Hat with Arty crest and Khukri attached to his belt. That regt has pure gurkhas...
-Ben

BUO Benny Thomas
Phillora Coy
Ranjit Singh Bn
Officers Training Academy
St Thomas Mt
Chennai-16
-----------------

Emotional moments at OTA passing-out parade

Staff Reporter

296 new officers commissioned into Indian Army in various regiments

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Amritpal Singh won gold medal for Best All Round Cadet
Among female cadets, Neelam Rathee bagged the honours
Chief of Army Staff's banners presented to Jessamy Company
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

TAMBARAM: After a passing-out parade for cadets of the Officers Training Academy at St. Thomas Mount on Saturday, 296 new officers were inducted into the Indian Army in various regiments in different parts of the country.

A few officers appeared bleary-eyed. Instructing staff at the Academy bid the officers adieu.

As the cadets marched in perfect union to the tunes of `Auld Lang Syne' on the lawns of OTA, their friends and parents applauded.

AUO Amritpal Singh, parade commander during the ceremony, received the Sword of Honour and gold medal for the Best All Round Cadet.

ACA Praveen Kumar received the silver medal. Among the female cadets, SUO Neelam Rathee bagged the top honours.

Son of an Army Officer, Amrit, a B.Sc graduate in Mathematics, Physics and Geography from Pune, aspired to don the uniform since his childhood days. "I will join 2 Rajputana Rifles that was instrumental in the Kargil victory," he said.

A product of the Kendriya Vidyalaya, Avadi, Chennai, Praveen Kumar, a Chemistry graduate, also wanted to be in the Armed Forces from childhood, as his father was a Warrant Officer in the Indian Air Force as well. Neelam Rathee, a Commerce graduate from Haryana, said the reward was for her consistent performance throughout the year.

The Chief of Army Staff and Commandant's Banners were presented to Jessamy Company. SUO Senthil Anand received it from Lieutenant General S. K. Sinha, Governor of Jammu and Kashmir.
member_8133

Post by member_8133 »

shek wrote:hey BR! i'm in B'lore for term break!! finally i've finished with 1st term and all set for senior term at the OTA!! i've been appointed as Bn Under Officer Ranjit Singh Bn...lookin fwd to the challenges ahead!
The POP was great... got senti too bidding adieu to SSC 81...

what was nice to see was that SSC 81 had 70 vacancies for INF and 90 optees!!!
one of the GCs was commissioned into an Arty Regt (dunno the unit) wearing a Gurkha Hat with Arty crest and Khukri attached to his belt. That regt has pure gurkhas...
-Ben

BUO Benny Thomas
Phillora Coy
Ranjit Singh Bn
Officers Training Academy
St Thomas Mt
Chennai-16
-----------------

Emotional moments at OTA passing-out parade

Staff Reporter

296 new officers commissioned into Indian Army in various regiments

Hey shek hows u?
I used to read your posts some time back.. never actually was a BR member.. but now i m..
I have done 3 years of Air wing NCC and atempted Direct Entry for AFA 179, 180 F(P) course and for OTA NCC Special 19th Course..
I wanna tell u that during my SSB at Bangalore 5 guys got recommended.. 1 was from my group.. he is Vinayak Singh from Pune..
Now that u are in senior term take good care of him :wink: .. one more guy from Leh was in our batch.. he was ther in OTA for 20 days so sumthin but due to medical reasons he was out.. he again got selected..
neways hows u?
give me some tips on Psycho Tests please..
I am ok in GTO and interview..
rest all fine..
take care..
Cheers..

Makarand
Pradeep_JR

Post by Pradeep_JR »

Hi shek.......long time......sorry....should be addressing you as Sir!!!!.......since I will be reporting to the OTA on 06 Apr for my SSC(T)-26 Course.......Hope to see you there.......

Another friend of mine is at the OTA now..... GC Bhaskar Paranjpe....same course as yours.....and a Friend of mine passed out of the OTA on 18th Mar..... Lt Anita Padman .....She was a JUO......

Would be glad if you could give me some of your valuable suggestions......do mail me at pradeep_cool@hotmail.com .....

tc...bye.
shek

Post by shek »

Pradeep_JR wrote:Hi shek.......long time......sorry....should be addressing you as Sir!!!!.......since I will be reporting to the OTA on 06 Apr for my SSC(T)-26 Course.......Hope to see you there.......

Another friend of mine is at the OTA now..... GC Bhaskar Paranjpe....same course as yours.....and a Friend of mine passed out of the OTA on 18th Mar..... Lt Anita Padman .....She was a JUO......

Would be glad if you could give me some of your valuable suggestions......do mail me at pradeep_cool@hotmail.com .....

tc...bye.
Hey der pradeep dude!!!
congo buddy!!! on behalf of the OTA i welcome you to the worl'ds toughest military trg academy!!!
awesome dude!
i know pranjpe...kohima coy...nice guy. JUO ANita Padman (now Lt), ive seen her...but dare i interact!! 1st term is a strict NO NO!!! he he u'll know... dude, i'm reporting on 5th... will be there for ur welcome... he he he;)
contact me as soon as u lan up in the mess...mind u keep a low profile though...
cheers n God Speed...
ben
JimmyD

Post by JimmyD »

Hey,

Does anybody know how I can find out when the ad for joining the Army (SSC) is posted in papers in India? (I'm currently in Canada). I checked the joinindianarmy.nic.in website, but it just says apply in response to the advertisments in March/April. If somebody has access to that ad, could they please post a scanned copy or something?

If you have access to the Navy's advertisment for the SSC, I'd appreciate it if you could post that up too.

Jimmy
Pradeep_JR

Post by Pradeep_JR »

hi jimmy.......TGC and SSC(Tech) advertisements will be out in the next issue of Employment news........dated 8th Apr......try to find out from someone who will br around then.......me leaving tomorrow for OTA......God Bless me......tc...bye
member_8133

Post by member_8133 »

JimmyD wrote:Hey,

Does anybody know how I can find out when the ad for joining the Army (SSC) is posted in papers in India? (I'm currently in Canada). I checked the joinindianarmy.nic.in website, but it just says apply in response to the advertisments in March/April. If somebody has access to that ad, could they please post a scanned copy or something?

If you have access to the Navy's advertisment for the SSC, I'd appreciate it if you could post that up too.

Jimmy
hi jimmy
wot u can do in canada is all the notifications do come in times of india..
so if cud get the copy of that u can get the basic info..
then u can get the detailed notification from the employment newspaper..

Navy chief: Why the armed forces are exciting
Reminding new graduates of the National Defence Academy in Pune that the protection of the country sometimes demands the "ultimate price", Navy Chief Admiral Arun Prakash Wednesday said the armed forces offer exciting prospects with many opportunities.

Addressing the passing out parade of the NDA's 110th course after reviewing the parade, he said, "As I approach the end of my innings, I look back at four decades in uniform and can say that the promise held out to me was redeemed in full. Today, the same prospect lies before you -- only it is far more exciting.

"The defence of the motherland sometimes demands the ultimate price. I am confident that you will repay your debt to the nation with your dedication, hard work and patriotism.
shek

hey BR Fly...

Post by shek »

hey BR family...jus wanted to post in n say all is well at the OTA. Self and Pradeep_Jr (Pradeep Jayraman-Naushera/83) another BRwala...doing well.
Hope u guys saw the NDTV interview of a couple of LCs.
Chow
ben
Kannan

Post by Kannan »

I'm a NRI trying to find a way into the IAF/Navy flying branch. The attache in DC was not helpful so I was wondering if I could get any tips here.

I'm a BS Physics/BS Math, and I will probably be a instrument rated private pilot at the time of application. I missed the minimum height by .5cm or so, but I'm in excellent physical condition, with a 80kg bench press, 10 mile run, etc. Do they ever make exceptions for cases like that? I was hoping the PPL would help people overlook the other stuff.

Any thoughts/comments on what I should do are appreciated.
Jager

Allahabad

Post by Jager »

Hey BRF ites ,
I'm in Allahabad sce right now , and after five gruelling days of heat and dust , i'll know the results tommorrow at general conference .
It's a killer crowd that's gathered here from so many backgrounds and we counted 22 states in our ssb board .
So wish me luck , pray for me whatever ...........
shek

OTA STORY!!

Post by shek »

Hey fellow BRF ites!! 'sup?? Finally the time has come...just another 23 odd days more to become commissioned officers in the Indian Army!! 16th Sept is D-Day!!
Some Academy news round up: POP pracs have started in full swing aqnd "mela-period" for the jangoos is jus round the corner... 21st was Drill Com and Jessami took the honours with Meiltila n Phillora comin 2nd n 3rd respectively. The "lassis" managed to out do Kohima and Naushera!! Those poor SUOs are havin' sleepless nights! X-Ctry was taken by Meiktila (83rd Course Mustangs are a Demo lot!) and my own "Fighter" Phillora came a close 2nd.
Now the main news, on the 19th we had our 'Index Card' filling and what a shock we got!! 89 seats for Arty!!! n ONLY 30 for Inf!! After fillin in, we were are sulking away...at the thought of becoming gunners!!:( except the 'Parental Claim (PC)" types like meee!!:D Just 3 Armoured Corps setas, that too all 'PCs' and only 2 'MECH INF' seats, that too, both PCs!...one belonging to me!:D
Anyway, a day later hte concerned decide to make us fill the index cards again!! its happenin prob for the 1st time in the history of any Academy!! This time 25 more seats for Inf and Arty was brought down to 55.
Alls well that ends well... it's gonna be Auld Lange Sayne for me and the rest of SSC 82 on the 16th!!
God Speed...
-ben

shek,

dont forget to post photos of the ceremony once you are done.

congratulations in advance!

Congratulations, Shek!

Yes Congrats -
shek

Post by shek »

Jagan wrote:shek,

dont forget to post photos of the ceremony once you are done.

congratulations in advance!
Sure will Jagan, thanks for the wishes AS Puar and Surya!
Another9 days more!!\-ben
shek

POP!!!

Post by shek »

Hey guys!! it's official... i'm a Lieutenant!!! Praise God!! It was an awesome POP. The weather was excellent, the drill was immaculate n the pipping...the best!! I'll put up the pics soon as i get back to B'lore!
Anyways, the euphoria is gonna last for sometime now!
, that aside, it was again very very disheartenin for us guys to check out the papers this morn only to find pics of Lady Officers splashed all over! Its DUMB real dumb! The Indian Media is yet to mature...really... so much for "matching male officers shoulder to shoulder" n all that nonsense.
that apart, the feelings great n SSC 82 is ready to take on those #$^%# across the border!! watch out!!
-ben... Lt Ben:)
Anoop

Post by Anoop »

Lt. Ben,

Congratulations! All the very best to you in your career. Stay safe and lead well.

Thank you for choosing to protect our country.
Amya

Congratulations Shek!!

Post by Amya »

@shek,
Congrats for getting commissioned!!!

@shek and others,
many a thanks for starting this amazing thread on armed forces academies and helping all the fauj wannabes in getting their doubts cleared. i know how difficult it is to gain info(other than whats on those ill-updated official websites) if one does not have anyone around from the armed forces background. also if one happens to be a mumbaite its all more diffcult(not many wannabes u see). earlier i used to depend on the orkut forums but the day i got myself here, it has been amazing gyaan all the way till date. this is way more sensible and exhaustive(ofcourse the comparision i am making here is futile and needless). i see a dhruv and a rishi participating in this thread and if i am not wrong i have seen them on orkut too and they have been giving out useful info out there as they have been here. with all the thanking done :lol: let me get to the point and share my two cents out here.

yesterday was the cds(ii)-2006, and i must say it was pretty ok for me. gave it for the OTA and hence it was only english and g.k for me. english was easy but it had almost 40 antonyms/synonyms :shock: (do they expect a shakespeare in uniform?). and g.k was as usual grounding. could manage only about 50-60 correct amongst the 120 with liberal use of the inki-pinki-ponki method. so a probable score of 130-140 outta 200. guys, do let me know if this will be sufficient for an SSB call?