Books that cover Indian Armed Forces and its History

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Books that cover Indian Armed Forces and its History

sameerjoshi wrote:
Hobbes wrote:One book that is out of print but IMO is mandatory reading for anyone with interest in India's defence is The Guilty Men of 1962 by D R Mankekar. Is there an eBook available, or can anyone (hint, hint Chackoji) publish a fresh edition?
Superb book.....

can only be found through used book sites around the world. I bought my copy last year for $ 50 (with shipping). But a must read beyond Dalvi and Maxwell's books to complete a perfect triology on the 1962 war.
also if i may add WAR IN THE HIMALAYAS by D.K. Palit. an insider account of the war.

been looking for The guilty men of 1962 with no success.
Hobbes

Post by Hobbes »

chackojoseph wrote:
Hobbes wrote:One book that is out of print but IMO is mandatory reading for anyone with interest in India's defence is The Guilty Men of 1962 by D R Mankekar. Is there an eBook available, or can anyone (hint, hint Chackoji) publish a fresh edition?
Let me look into it.

BTW, i posses the only new copy of Devil and His Dart: How the CIA is Plotting in the Third World
Hi Chackoji, Any luck with this?

Thanks in advance.

No Hobbes. I haven't tried. Totally forgot about it. Will try.
KrishnaK

Post by KrishnaK »

pragnya wrote:
sameerjoshi wrote:
can only be found through used book sites around the world. I bought my copy last year for $ 50 (with shipping). But a must read beyond Dalvi and Maxwell's books to complete a perfect triology on the 1962 war.
also if i may add WAR IN THE HIMALAYAS by D.K. Palit. an insider account of the war.

been looking for The guilty men of 1962 with no success.
I got it on amazon rather easily.

I have made The Second Strike available for international shipping.

The Second Strike by Sujit Sanyal, Anil Anand

Anil Anand was the head of Arihant nuclear reactor.

Our friend Mr Joseph Chacko of Frontier India, has come with a new book on IN submarines. This book should be interested as it is probably the first and only book on IN submarines

http://frontierindia.org/product/foxtro ... arine-arm/

Kersi

This is not a book but a nice account of the bravery of indian army effort vis-à-vis TFTA HM's troops

How India Bailed Out The West In World War II
In 1941, following defeats in Greece, Crete and North Africa, Alexander Cadogan of the Foreign Office wrote: “Our soldiers are the most pathetic amateurs, pitted against professionals.” And he added, “Our army is the mockery of the world!”
Britain’s dependence on India was near total. In fact, even during World War I (1914-18), India’s contribution was massive. The New York Times wrote in 1918: “The world must pay India in whatever India wants, for without Indian products, there would be greater difficulty in winning the war.” Bear in mind that in World War II, the quantity of Indian supplies was greater by several orders of magnitude.
“When the Japanese attacked, the British ran away. They were very clever. They had a wonderful life with bungalows and butlers and cooks and all that, but as soon as the Japanese came, they ran away. And once they got back to India, they sent Gurkhas, Sikhs, Marathas and other Indians to fight the Japanese. They knew it was too dangerous for them. That is how we got independence in Malaya.”
worth reading in full

An interesting book on BEL

INSIDE THE SOLID STATE THE STORY OF BHARAT ELECTRONICS

Chapter 20 - has interesting details on the THD-1955 and BEL's input on this

IA and AF's import love clearly detailed again and again in that book. Perfect example given is the PSM-33 radar. BEL got great TOT from Thomson-CSF but the matured product PSM-33 took time as there were teething issues as French-Indian team had different subystems and both were reconciled. Final product worked great. The AF was impressed but T-CSF offered a new variant for the AF and AF asked for it citing delays if BEL were to do it on its own. GOI overruled IAF & PSM 33 Mk2 was developed and inducted by BEL with a far more capable performance equivalent to the import.

The more glaring event mentioned is of the TFCS (Tank fire control system for Vijayanta). Army decided to import Marconi system and refused to share range tables with BEL lest BEL develop its own system which might delay the Army's plans. BEL then went around the country, and found IRDE had the range tables for the Vijayanta and developed the TFCS. Marconi possibly leaned on even suppliers elsewhere not to get BEL components but a UK based manufacturer of the LRF agreed to work with BEL (Barr & Stroud). The Army's preferred imported Marconi TFCS meanwhile, post induction flopped and BEL was asked to rectify them! Meanwhile BEL's standard TFCS went on to become the mainstay of the Vijayanta fleet.

How shortsighted the GOI can be is also detailed, though without explicit finger pointing. When BEL had a JV for TI, CCD tech was available for Rs 90 crores. The MOD was not willing to support this with a grant or even assure regular orders for TI systems (which would have a daysight and hence the CCD). It took intervention from Chidambaram (the R&D person, not the Finance one) to get equipment though that would permit research in TI.

However, many in AF, Army and especially the Navy have clearly worked with BEL given how much of its work has entered service entry.

Very interesting factoid, the BEL-DRDO CNR beat the Tadiran radio in trials and the armoured corps bought it in bulk. Similarly the STARS-V was entirely a BEL led initiative which came good.

Points out, as we have discussed on this forum many times "relationships with DRDO are a tremendous force multiplier. If close to 60-70% of sales come from items BEL has contributed to, it must be remembered that products converted from DRDO designs have contributed to it significantly".

Clearly we have the capability and then some. Consistency of purpose and overall direction at the national level has been lacking.

Also shows how internal decisions can scupper efforts. Groupism and politics in key units stalled large programs till people were dealt with, unions brought on board. All the myriad human factors issues in large institutions.

Valuable time and effort lost when a BEL head had a disagreement with Paulraj of NPOL fame who came down from Stanford and set up BEL R&D's central lab. He left and the team disappeared in turn. His successor, Col Shankar from the Army's EME who joined BEL went on regardless and started things afresh & BEL teams went on to have many R&D wins with DRDO labs.

Looks like this is the same redoubtable Col Shankar who now runs Alpha Design Tech in Bangalore. That firm has been investing almost half its revenue in R&D and has been notching up critical wins in the Army/AF/Navy supply space.

Whats interesting is that while many designs have been imported (what we in BRF refer to as screwdriver tech etc), BEL and its teams managed to modify, improve them and keep them current (MLUs in common parlance) often bypassing the original vendors who'd demand huge amounts to do the same.

Interesting read.

This gent was the Director R&D of BEL, after retirement he set up Alpha Design Tech

http://www.spsmai.com/military/?id=3484 ... 7-campaign

Alpha Design front-runners of 'Make in India' campaign

Alpha Design Technologies is a home-grown company with global aspirations. In 11 years, it has made enormous strides in defence manufacturing, having grown from a three-man set up to over 850 employees. Alpha Design Technologies is a model company of how India can take its ‘Make in India’ campaign and cater not only to the domestic market but also the international market. In an interview with SP’s M.A.I., the founder Chairman and Managing Director of Alpha Design Technologies, Colonel H.S. Shankar (Retd) speaks on the company’s plans.

SP’s M.A.I. (SP’s): What were the objectives of Alpha Design when you started 11 years back and how far you have achieved?

Col. H.S. Shankar (Shankar): The main objective was to set up in the private sector a technologically strong defence and avionics design and production organisation to cater for the needs of army, air force, navy and paramilitary forces. We aimed to carry out the above by establishing a strong research and development (R&D) and production base and in collaboration, where necessary, with DRDO labs, IITs/IISc, DPSUs, other private sector industries and OEMs abroad.

We have been largely successful in our endeavor. From a threeman start-up, we are now 850 people strong, with ultra-modern production facilities and we are one of the fastest growing defence R&D and production units with 520 young engineers, who are in the age group of 21 to 29 years. We have steadily grown to reach Rs. 200 crore annual turnover and the company’s next year’s sales is expected to cross Rs. 300 crore mark. With a strong and impressive order book position of Rs. 1,000 crore plus and in addition, large number of indigenously developed equipment/systems in various phases of user trials/evaluations by the defence and paramilitary forces, we can only grow higher and bigger!

SP’s: What were the strategies you adopted for achieving this quick growth?

Shankar: We made a careful study of the defence market and identified those types of equipment and systems that will be needed by the armed forces in the next five to 10 years and those which can be undertaken by us. Those identified as our own designs, we started work immediately, putting our own R&D resources. Regarding collaborated projects, we identified our partners – in India and abroad – and had a plan of action for each identified project.

We also decided to answer to all the RFIs and RFPs which were in our focused areas and started taking part in user trials/evaluations. We won quite a few, lost some, but overall it was ‘Plus, Plus’!

SP’s: What are the major successful equipment and systems you have developed through your own R&D?

Shankar: Through our own R&D efforts, we have developed and obtained orders from the MoD/others, after extensive trials and evaluations, equipments such as Hand Held Thermal Imager Sights, Reflex Sights, Tactical Access Switch-cum-ULSB Mk III, Tactical Access Switch, Communication Interface Units, SMART Hand Sets, Missile Recording System, Satcom Systems (such as portable SATCOM, WCDMA), RF Seeker Units for Missiles, Software Defined Radios and Waveforms, SDR-based Radio Relays, Dummy Targets, EW Simulators, Rolls-Royce Engine Simulators, 37 different EW modules, IFF Systems – Interrogator, Transponder, Combined Interrogator Transponder, etc. We also make various portions of airframe of Sukhoi-30 fighter aircraft, such as Ailerons, flapperons, etc. All the indigenous Su-30 fighter aircraft produced by HAL Nasik (more than 150 fighters) carry sub-units made by us!

SP’s: What does the future holds for Alpha Design in next five to 10 years?

Shankar: During Aero India 2015, Alpha signed the biggest export order of $80 million with Elbit Systems, for exports of Thermal Imager Based Fire Control System sub-units to Israel. Alpha has an attractive order book of more than Rs. 1,000 crore and more than 70 per cent of this is for exports/offsets. Quite a few exciting in-house developed R&D products are either undergoing user trials or in the process of being offered for user trials/evaluations.

SP’s: What is your view on current policies of the government and improvements needed in functioning of MoD?

Shankar: The Government of India is doing its best to provide level playing field to public and private sector and the recent initiatives, such as, ‘Make in India’ programme has generated new enthusiasm in the industry. Private industries in defence sector should now develop their own products by investments in R&D, establish high end and high quality manufacturing facilities, with exports as focus and not depend on the government always. We must become outward looking like Israel and when we export, naturally, it will by itself cater for Indian markets. Of course, few more clarifications from MoD with respect to offsets such as inclusion of imported raw materials and electronic components as part of offsets; providing foreign exchange variation clause to private sector industries as provided to DPSUs; inclusion of MSMEs in ‘Make’ project, etc., can assist in ‘Make in India’ concept a reality. The government has approved 49 per cent FDI/FII for defence industries and this can be enhanced to 51 or even 74 per cent by automatic route, instead of through FIPB.

Just read a fantastic book, rich in detail on the Indian armed forces during WW-II. Covering the political front, British India's own sphere of influence in Mid East and S.E. Asia, domestic politics, economics, the battles from MENA to SEA, it was a rich tapestry of how the various actors interacted.

What was great:
  1. The interplay of official stances, communication between members of the British Raj and Home Office. How they had convergent, but not always aligned interests
  2. Details of how the Indian economy geared up for the war. How the war was financed from India
  3. A slightly brutal but more realistic attempt at understanding impact of INA and its leadership (though I found treatment of Netaji a bit unpalatable,
    but I am willing to give it some more thought)
  4. Details of battles by Indian forces, leaves one longing for more, but was still interesting.
  5. Coverage of other leaders in Congress and other parties in their negotiations with the British Raj
  6. How and why Americans tilted towards Independence for India
  7. Confirmation of the fact that it was the British Indian Army who played the pivotal role in securing India for Indians
What I did not like?
  1. The end seemed slightly abrupt.
  2. And was a little bit of a hagiography of Nehru. But when you have Ramchandra Guha as one of the reviewers, you may have biases creeping in.
Book's called "India's War: World War II and the Making of Modern South Asia"- Srinath Raghavan

https://www.google.co.in/url?sa=t&rct=j ... IjEYX6yMyA

Going through this book- 1964 war in NEFA it seems UPA I and UPA II rule was not different from the Nehru years and the Chinese were prepared to teach us anther lesson like 1962, just like they done probing attacks ffrom 1958-62, they did the same from 2012-15. Somehow If eel we seemed to have dged a bullet.

Hopefully we will get our preparations ready to prevent such misadventurers.

Kaushik Roy also wrote a couple of books on Indian Army in World War II.
Very fascinating.

Just got my hands on India 's Most Fearless.

Amazing stories and a very interesting explanation of how Modi sarkar worked to achieve full surprise. Something that will Chanakya woulld be proud of.

Also found these in used books market for Rs 300
ashishvikas

Post by ashishvikas »

Nitin Gokhale's "securing india the modi way" - How's this book ?

Seconded, find Aroors writing to be pompous but this was a well written book.

Also recommend the Siachen book by Nitin Gokhale - amazing book. Must read.

Also Sushant's Singh's book on Indian military ops - the best one of its kind so far.

Gen Puris book on Kargil was educational, informative but dry. Many interesting nuggets - will post when i get time.

jamwal wrote:Just got my hands on India 's Most Fearless.

Amazing stories and a very interesting explanation of how Modi sarkar worked to achieve full surprise. Something that will Chanakya woulld be proud of.
jaysimha

Post by jaysimha »

LIST of Publications
History Division, MoD
Update

https://mod.gov.in/dod/sites/default/files/anx.pdf

Monsoon War
By Capt Amarinder Singh and Lt. Gen. T.S. Shergill

Is superb account of 1965 war from junior officers perspective who were both in the war.

I recommend ever BRF member purchase the book. It has superb maps and extensive quotes from Pak

Karan M wrote:This gent was the Director R&D of BEL, after retirement he set up Alpha Design Tech

http://www.spsmai.com/military/?id=3484 ... 7-campaign

Alpha Design front-runners of 'Make in India' campaign

Alpha Design Technologies is a home-grown company with global aspirations. In 11 years, it has made enormous strides in defence manufacturing, having grown from a three-man set up to over 850 employees. Alpha Design Technologies is a model company of how India can take its ‘Make in India’ campaign and cater not only to the domestic market but also the international market. In an interview with SP’s M.A.I., the founder Chairman and Managing Director of Alpha Design Technologies, Colonel H.S. Shankar (Retd) speaks on the company’s plans.

SP’s M.A.I. (SP’s): What were the objectives of Alpha Design when you started 11 years back and how far you have achieved?

Col. H.S. Shankar (Shankar): The main objective was to set up in the private sector a technologically strong defence and avionics design and production organisation to cater for the needs of army, air force, navy and paramilitary forces. We aimed to carry out the above by establishing a strong research and development (R&D) and production base and in collaboration, where necessary, with DRDO labs, IITs/IISc, DPSUs, other private sector industries and OEMs abroad.

We have been largely successful in our endeavor. From a threeman start-up, we are now 850 people strong, with ultra-modern production facilities and we are one of the fastest growing defence R&D and production units with 520 young engineers, who are in the age group of 21 to 29 years. We have steadily grown to reach Rs. 200 crore annual turnover and the company’s next year’s sales is expected to cross Rs. 300 crore mark. With a strong and impressive order book position of Rs. 1,000 crore plus and in addition, large number of indigenously developed equipment/systems in various phases of user trials/evaluations by the defence and paramilitary forces, we can only grow higher and bigger!

SP’s: What were the strategies you adopted for achieving this quick growth?

Shankar: We made a careful study of the defence market and identified those types of equipment and systems that will be needed by the armed forces in the next five to 10 years and those which can be undertaken by us. Those identified as our own designs, we started work immediately, putting our own R&D resources. Regarding collaborated projects, we identified our partners – in India and abroad – and had a plan of action for each identified project.

We also decided to answer to all the RFIs and RFPs which were in our focused areas and started taking part in user trials/evaluations. We won quite a few, lost some, but overall it was ‘Plus, Plus’!

SP’s: What are the major successful equipment and systems you have developed through your own R&D?

Shankar: Through our own R&D efforts, we have developed and obtained orders from the MoD/others, after extensive trials and evaluations, equipments such as Hand Held Thermal Imager Sights, Reflex Sights, Tactical Access Switch-cum-ULSB Mk III, Tactical Access Switch, Communication Interface Units, SMART Hand Sets, Missile Recording System, Satcom Systems (such as portable SATCOM, WCDMA), RF Seeker Units for Missiles, Software Defined Radios and Waveforms, SDR-based Radio Relays, Dummy Targets, EW Simulators, Rolls-Royce Engine Simulators, 37 different EW modules, IFF Systems – Interrogator, Transponder, Combined Interrogator Transponder, etc. We also make various portions of airframe of Sukhoi-30 fighter aircraft, such as Ailerons, flapperons, etc. All the indigenous Su-30 fighter aircraft produced by HAL Nasik (more than 150 fighters) carry sub-units made by us!

SP’s: What does the future holds for Alpha Design in next five to 10 years?

Shankar: During Aero India 2015, Alpha signed the biggest export order of $80 million with Elbit Systems, for exports of Thermal Imager Based Fire Control System sub-units to Israel. Alpha has an attractive order book of more than Rs. 1,000 crore and more than 70 per cent of this is for exports/offsets. Quite a few exciting in-house developed R&D products are either undergoing user trials or in the process of being offered for user trials/evaluations.

SP’s: What is your view on current policies of the government and improvements needed in functioning of MoD?

Shankar: The Government of India is doing its best to provide level playing field to public and private sector and the recent initiatives, such as, ‘Make in India’ programme has generated new enthusiasm in the industry. Private industries in defence sector should now develop their own products by investments in R&D, establish high end and high quality manufacturing facilities, with exports as focus and not depend on the government always. We must become outward looking like Israel and when we export, naturally, it will by itself cater for Indian markets. Of course, few more clarifications from MoD with respect to offsets such as inclusion of imported raw materials and electronic components as part of offsets; providing foreign exchange variation clause to private sector industries as provided to DPSUs; inclusion of MSMEs in ‘Make’ project, etc., can assist in ‘Make in India’ concept a reality. The government has approved 49 per cent FDI/FII for defence industries and this can be enhanced to 51 or even 74 per cent by automatic route, instead of through FIPB.
not to rain on anyone's parade but hope this thing does not blow up in someone's face.

India deserves, at least this sector to be clean.

It is a given that political connections and mil business rarely go hand in hand without malodorous scents wafting in the breeze.
salaam

Post by salaam »

I don't know where to put this thrillers link.

About an indo-us op in pak.

https://t.co/UXewGFqkkP

https://twitter.com/jaylan53i/status/15 ... dUPXjl4phQ ---> 90 Years of the Indian Air Force: Present Capabilities and Future Prospects.

Amazon Link ---> https://www.amazon.com/dp/1915070589?tag=lafayette07-20

Late entrant to this thread. the following are available as free (in India) downloads.
I have read and recommend them.

1. Slender was the thread. Lt Gen. Sen. 1947-8 Kashmir War (This is the best one I've read on the war). Google - title & `download'.

The following can be downloaded from pdfdrive.com (use anti-virus software when downloading, of late there is a virus on the site).

2.WW2 and the making of modern South Asia (mentioned earlier in the thread)
3. War and peace in Modern India (Good insight into operations like Hyderabad and Junagarh).
4. Under two ensigns - The Indian Navy 1945-50
5.Operation Cactus (Indian intervention in the Maldives)
6. India's most fearless
7. Staggering forward - Bharat Karnad (realistic look at our national security policy)
8. Army of Empire (Indian army in WW1)
9. Farthest field (story of 3 Indian officers in WW2).
10. Himalayan Blunder (1962 war)

Also, on the Pak army, which is relevant to us: (on pdfdrive,com)
1. From Kargil to coup - Nasim Zehra
2. Fighting to the end - The Pak army's way of war. Christine Fair
3. Military Inc. Inside Pakistan Military's economy.
Last edited by Deans on 16 Nov 2022 17:21, edited 1 time in total.

Unfortunately, the IAF book has an incorrect map of India on the index page. :x

Shameek wrote:Unfortunately, the IAF book has an incorrect map of India on the index page. :x
Just the kind of stupid self-goal we don't need. The writer is not an Indian citizen, but I'm surprised IDSA (which gives the author credibility) did not check it. I have written to vkaushik@idsa.nic.in (he handles publications at IDSA and the author is a IDSA fellow) to either have this corrected, or put out a disclaimer. Suggest others on BRF, particularly anyone from the services, also do so.
Kersi

Post by Kersi »

Deans wrote:
Shameek wrote:Unfortunately, the IAF book has an incorrect map of India on the index page. :x
Just the kind of stupid self-goal we don't need. The writer is not an Indian citizen, but I'm surprised IDSA (which gives the author credibility) did not check it. I have written to vkaushik@idsa.nic.in (he handles publications at IDSA and the author is a IDSA fellow) to either have this corrected, or put out a disclaimer. Suggest others on BRF, particularly anyone from the services, also do so.

Dr Sanjay was quite active on BR but a long time ago.

I have been in contact with IDSA. They are looking into it.
Can you please send me the screenshot, or link to the map, so they can take action ?

I can be reached on rp_deans@yahoo.com

https://x.com/AnchitGupta9/status/17192 ... 67955?s=20 ---> Air Commodore Sagar Paranjpe's book on the MiG-21 is a collector's item! It's fitting that he finds himself posted to command the base that was the MiG-21 fighter town of the IAF at one point.

https://x.com/EAC_IAF/status/1718977402116984988?s=20 ---> Air Commodore Sagar Madhukar Paranjpe took charge of AF Station Kalaikunda from Air Commodore Ran Singh on 30 Oct 2023. In his address, Air Commodore Ran Singh complimented the Air Warriors for successfully maintaining the operational tempo in his tenure and wished for same enthusiasm with the new AOC.