Airborne Early Warning & Control: News & Discussion

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Airborne Early Warning & Control: News & Discussion

Too far in future .. no approval for anything on rta 70 yet..

Is that an Embraer ?

Gulfstream 550

https://twitter.com/SaurabhJoshi/status ... 82432?s=20 ---> Interesting. Boeing India talking about an E7 Wedgetail pitch to India at
Def Expo India.

Why is it that foreign equipment no longer looks glamorous ? .. India sure has travelled a looong way !!

https://twitter.com/HarshalPal5/status/ ... 52133?s=20 ---> DRDO's new 360° coverage AWACS system based on Airbus A330.

https://twitter.com/HarshalPal5/status/ ... 82241?s=20 ----> How about some serious military modification with indigenous AWACS on indigenous platform RTA-70? Comment few other possible modifications.

https://twitter.com/HarshalPal5/status/ ... 63072?s=20 ---> Here's a fan-made CGI of RTA-90 aircraft in AWACS role. RTA-90 is an Indian aircraft, based on RTA-70 under development primarily by NAL.

https://twitter.com/Kuntal__biswas/stat ... 03808?s=20 ---> DRDO's 360-degree long-range Airborne Warning and Control Systems (AWACS).

Wow! Are these CGs DRDO official graphics?

No, just fan art, but Kuntal Biswas is extremely good at it. Better than any CG that DRDO will put out.

In this case, it looks more like a Boeing 777 than an A330

Yes it is the 777. The wedge shaped tailcone is a dead giveaway. Nevertheless his renditions are superb.
amitverma

Post by amitverma »

Dated May 16, 2020

sajaym

Post by sajaym »

Guys, here's a pic of a SU-30 refueling a Mirage-2000. This is happening due to the shortage of Tanker aircraft in the IAF.
Rakesh wrote: Image
This is a pic of a pod-mounted SLAR radar...

In the current scenario of shortage of AWACS/AEW aircraft in the IAF, cant we pack AWACs/AEW sensors into a pod of similar dimensions as the brahmos? Two additional pod-mounted ram-air generators can be used for generating additional power for the radar pod. Then this radar pod can be carried by the brahmos capable SU-30s, allowing them to function as AWACs/AEW aircraft as well? A sort of growler AWACs?

^^^ The MKI will have limited range and especially persistance carrying something like that. It is one thing to carry something like that for a strike and it is released for the return trip. But carrying that around and landing with it? Not likely to have much persistence at all. You need to be able to loiter.

Growler pods are smaller and hooks onto hardpoints like ordance and fuel tanks.

are there small props whirring in the front of the pods??

Yes. You can see it more clearly here

basant

Post by basant »

manjgu wrote:are there small props whirring in the front of the pods??
As Manish_P said they are ram air turbines. They power transmitter as it communicates with the host aircraft.

IAF didn't want to order Netra's at the right time as it is only 70% capable. But 2 years later looking for Jugads which are not even 20% capable involving considerable risks as well as using fighters for the job :eek:

RKumar wrote:IAF didn't want to order Netra's at the right time as it is only 70% capable. But 2 years later looking for Jugads which are not even 20% capable involving considerable risks as well as using fighters for the job :eek:
What juggad?
What fighter?
What r u talking about?

sajaym wrote:In the current scenario of shortage of AWACS/AEW aircraft in the IAF, cant we pack AWACs/AEW sensors into a pod of similar dimensions as the brahmos? Two additional pod-mounted ram-air generators can be used for generating additional power for the radar pod. Then this radar pod can be carried by the brahmos capable SU-30s, allowing them to function as AWACs/AEW aircraft as well? A sort of growler AWACs?
ks_sachin sire, my response was to above post but did not want to quote the whole thing for 2 liner reply. On second look, I was too harsh on IAF but they indeed f*ckup big time.
Last edited by RKumar on 22 May 2020 23:07, edited 1 time in total.

RKumar wrote:
sajaym wrote:In the current scenario of shortage of AWACS/AEW aircraft in the IAF, cant we pack AWACs/AEW sensors into a pod of similar dimensions as the brahmos? Two additional pod-mounted ram-air generators can be used for generating additional power for the radar pod. Then this radar pod can be carried by the brahmos capable SU-30s, allowing them to function as AWACs/AEW aircraft as well? A sort of growler AWACs?
ks_sachin sire, my response was to above post but did not want to quote whole thing for 2 liner reply .
So how do you conclude that IAF is looking for some jugaad when the post clearly shows it is sajaym who is wondering if such a thing is possible?

RKumar wrote:
ks_sachin sire, my response was to above post but did not want to quote whole thing for 2 liner reply .
So how do you conclude that IAF is looking for some jugaad when the post clearly shows it is sajaym who is wondering if such a thing is possible?
Agree with you sir, apologies!!

Post by khan »

===speculative post deleted===

^^^ the above remark is not appreciated and is totally unsubstantiated. Please provide source or delete your useless post, failure to pick one choice will lead to 1 week warning and ban

===reply to speculative post deleted===

khan wrote:Just putting this out there -
Ok Khan Sa'ab I am not going to moderate this but your post is best deleted.

As per open source data not a single airline registered in India flies the A330 so your point is incorrect. Air India had A330 from 2008-2015 but it replaced those with Boeing 787s.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_A ... _operators

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Air_India

On the point whether IAF selects aircraft for pilots to build its hours and then later use those for getting a job:
a) A330 would be bad choice, A320 should be the best but in wide body 777 and 787 seem a good choice based on aircraft being operated in India.
b) Hours flown in the Air Force are not considered in full for civil license
c) Irrespective of which aircraft you fly in IAF, you will have to undergo conversion training in Civil
d) None of the Mil type aircraft have 100% commonality with civil aircraft to the best of my knowledge.
basant

Post by basant »

deejay wrote:
khan wrote:Just putting this out there -
As per open source data not a single airline registered in India flies the A330 so your point is incorrect. Air India had A330 from 2008-2015 but it replaced those with Boeing 787s.
a) A330 would be bad choice, A320 should be the best but in wide body 777 and 787 seem a good choice based on aircraft being operated in India.
FWIW, type conversion from A320 to A330 takes less than 2 weeks. Wouldn't Airbus would be a safer option in terms of sanction-proof criteria compared to Boeing? Commonality between A330 and A320 can result in savings close to 1M USD per year per new a/c. Mix of A319/A320/A321s and A330s may be a good idea!

Even why the Boieng 737-900 which has aldready been converted to p8I in Service, can carry ASM etc. It would make sure there commonality with Navy P-8I, if US allows it, mount the DRDO AESA radar, have a Bomber variant and Tanker variant as well.

We can maintain a fleet of 60 accross the Airforce and Navy to do Martime Patrol and ASM, AWACS, Tanker, Bomber and I am sure with thier experience Boing can develop a transport variant as well, surely it will have a lot parts in common with the C-17 as well.

For the DRDO A330 chapati design, do we know the size of each panel (length x breadth), I'm trying to compare it with with designs based on large private jets. TIA.

I wonder if we can get rights to the ERJ-145 for Netra.

Obviously grabbing all of Embraer would be the ultimate and a quick entry into civvy aircraft space. But just the ERJ-145 in this thread.

https://en.mercopress.com/2020/05/30/bo ... -and-india

Just happened to come across this article from 2015 - So it has been 5 years already since we selected the A330 platform and its still in limbo!
https://www.livefistdefence.com/2015/03 ... still.html

Added: Time to cancel this and start a with a more reasonable platform like a larger business jet (like Saab and the Israelis have done) or at max a B373/A330.

What pains me is that defunct jet airways shows two active airbus 330 parked and number of atr42/72.

Make this to good use , grab whatever you can it doesn’t get cheaper than that convert it and operate.

Porkis got fried plane to work and here you have birds in your hand and you do not want to use. All want foreign trips and claim there is shortage of equipment ak thoo. They will not accept ERJ netra as interim or take such golden nuggets to get capability you need (330) but want trips why because babus get it ?

krishna_krishna wrote:What pains me is that defunct jet airways shows two active airbus 330 parked and number of atr42/72.

Make this to good use , grab whatever you can it doesn’t get cheaper than that convert it and operate.

Porkis got fried plane to work and here you have birds in your hand and you do not want to use. All want foreign trips and claim there is shortage of equipment ak thoo. They will not accept ERJ netra as interim or take such golden nuggets to get capability you need (330) but want trips why because babus get it ?
The legal hassles in getting close to a Jet Airways aircraft is mind boggling. Those aircraft which were easier to hive off have been offloaded. The 02 A330 have liens!

Second hand airframes are easy to come by, remember reading that you can get a <10 year old A330 for around $50-70Million USD. Question is who is going to make the the airframe modifications, do we have the experience to do it ourselves, or do we need the OEM/3rd party like IAI's help?

https://www.controller.com/listings/aircraft/for-sale/193019785/2012-airbus-a330
https://www.globalplanesearch.com/listing/aircraft-for-sale/Airbus-A330-200/260642

With the collapse of travel industry, you will very easily find 2nd hand A330. If someone in IAF has time to spare, they would ask GoI to get these and ask Airbus to convert them.

If Boeing can convert a B777 in to Indian Airforce One, Airbus can do it as well.

nam wrote:With the collapse of travel industry, you will very easily find 2nd hand A330. If someone in IAF has time to spare, they would ask GoI to get these and ask Airbus to convert them.

If Boeing can convert a B777 in to Indian Airforce One, Airbus can do it as well.
Yes, that is a fantastic idea. At the very least we should be able to grab one or two as a prototype platform for DRDO to test things. Maybe for HAL to experiment with conversions too. HAL has built parts for Airbus for years now. There must be some familiarity there.

Can we convert an A330 to the DRDO AWACS on our own? Or are there technical and legal reasons why we can't?

Who will certify the Aircraft, we can't loose AIrforce personal and scientists like the AVRO incident in the 1990's, CHina probably covers up such crashes but in India unless the manufacturer will certify the Aircraft is safe to fly with the modifications and payload, nobody is going to fly in them.