Kaveri & Aero-Engine: News & Discussion

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Kaveri & aero-engine discussion

JayS wrote: There was a news article about them in some paper last week. Right now they are working on 20kgf thrust engine, which is tiny one. But they are planning to go up to 350kgf, which could be used for UAVs. Looks like a rich guy (owner of some company can't remember which one) is bootstrapping the team with 20Cr fund.
That is the ONLY way to go about it. Taking on risk and managing it. There will be plenty of failures, especially when it comes to "engines", but one must walk through that fire.

Excellent development.

If he has not done so already, he should fund some kids at a couple Universities too. MatSci.

Chap and Kaveri stall very positive about the future.. Made me happy.

Shiv please do share detailed reports like Kartik did for earlier aeroindia.

Any word on engine for Nirbhay?

shiv wrote:Chap and Kaveri stall very positive about the future.. Made me happy.
What is the Safran consultancy all about, someone please find out the details.

Nick_S wrote:Livefist ‏@livefist 6h6 hours ago
Model of the DRDO/GTRE mini jet engine for UAV applications. Being developed for next gen in-development UAS.

Bah humbug...looks like my old doodhwalas milk can.. :twisted:

This is same as LaghuShakti isn't it??

https://twitter.com/YusufDFI/status/832063675338874881
Yusuf Unjhawala ‏@YusufDFI 39m39 minutes ago
Interesting comment by a young engineer from GTRE-foreign cos lining to help on Kaveri as they know we r close to achieving requisite thrust
Yusuf Unjhawala ‏@YusufDFI 38m38 minutes ago
He also said that we have managed to make single crystal blade. Won't go on Kaveri but for future engine for AMCA
shiv, you heard same?

India is making its First-Ever Jet Engine and it will be Launched in 24 Weeks
http://www.killerfeatures.com/india-is- ... n-24-weeks
This project is the brainchild of Poeir Jets Private Limited, a Bengaluru-based aviation firm that has set aside Rs 20 crores for its development, of which 9 crores have already been spent on the Research and Development of India’s first jet engine.

With experience from tie-ups with firms such as HAL and Bharat Forge, the company decided to make its own gas turbine engine two years ago.
The company started testing on February 8, 2017, and the first few boosts have been proven successful in what will be a tough 6 months to go until final launch.

MJE-20 will be a gas-turbine engine that can power Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs) or Remotely Piloted Vehicles (RPVs). It weighs a mere 2.16 kg and provides an uninstalled thrust of 20 kg.
:?:

From DRDO Chief Interview to FORCE Mag on Kaveri program
DRDO has not directly taken any offsets so far. Presently, Rafale has an offset clause, and DRDO has been asked to fill it up. We are specifically talking of the Kaveri engine’s last mile problem. We are running the five Kaveri engines that we have. These were even flown as a part of the experimental test-bed in Russia. We know they are good engines. The problem with the engine is that when used for higher power, it makes a noise. We don’t know the effect it can have on the performance. To resolve this issue, DRDO is planning to rope in Snecma (as part of the Rafale offset). The project has already entered the first phase. Snecma will study the engine and work on its modifications, certify and fit it on the Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) Tejas. We should be able to fly one of the LCA’s with Kaveri engine at least after two years.

Dassault Aviation is keen to work on the next generation LCA, Advanced Medium Combat Aircraft (AMCA) or the Unmanned Combat Aerial Vehicle, Ghatak as part of the offsets in Rafale programme. They are willing to work on the configuration design and the entire logistic maintenance software for new system. We want the company to do something for us here in India to harness our potentials.

They have had two rounds of meetings so far with Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA) and GTRE. Hopefully, things will move forward.

sivab wrote:https://twitter.com/YusufDFI/status/832063675338874881
Yusuf Unjhawala ‏@YusufDFI 39m39 minutes ago
Interesting comment by a young engineer from GTRE-foreign cos lining to help on Kaveri as they know we r close to achieving requisite thrust
Yusuf Unjhawala ‏@YusufDFI 38m38 minutes ago
He also said that we have managed to make single crystal blade. Won't go on Kaveri but for future engine for AMCA
shiv, you heard same?
I am told 54kN/81kN thrust is achieved. I specifically asked for wet thrust against since we know there was shortfall there. But GTRE folks were insisting that they have achieved 81kN now. Both the compressor flutter and screech issues are resolved now, if you believe them.

SCB is GTRE+DMRL project. SCB with 2nd Gen alloys process is matured tech now, Industrialization of the process is remaining. Apart from making raw blades two more key things lacking are final machining of the SCB's and TBC. MIDHANI is working on this. And they are confident they can do it in 2-3yrs. Right now the blades are to be sent abroad for one or both of these two processes anyway, which is not desirable.

If you notice, Kaveri is running with max 1700K TET value. Currently its not using any SCBs, only DS blades, as per GTRE folks. There is a gap of ~200K here from the state-of-the-art.

JayS wrote:I am told 54kN/81kN thrust is achieved. I specifically asked for wet thrust against since we know there was shortfall there. But GTRE folks were insisting that they have achieved 81kN now. Both the compressor flutter and screech issues are resolved now, if you believe them.
Hmm. That is very good news indeed. So the problems discovered during the flight test was flutter and screech huh ? Trouble is , it is precisely these kind of things for which there are no "analytical" or "CFD / Simulation" stuff possible and there is no alternative to roll up sleeves, actually build , test, fix, retest loop and for that we absolutely need hight altitude test beds. Now altitude test beds date back to pre WWII and the Brits had it, the Germans of course had it and so did the Americans. There is simply no way any country can design and build a jet engine or indeed any aero engine without such test beds! It is amazing that we expected these folks to develop engines without ANY testing infra that is absolutely necessary (the flying tests come last , but you need the altitude test beds to debug and do spiral development to even get to that stage).

The Yak Herder is of course right. These things can be done only by actual hardware testing and experimental research . In the lack of investment in testing infra, it is indeed a wonder that the GTRE has actually managed to get this far. They better kick the baboons in the nuts and have their travel budgets approved in triplicate and laminate and pack the MTR ready to eat stuff and get frequent flyer miles for test facilities in Russian, Germany or whosoever's facilities they use.
SCB is GTRE+DMRL project. SCB with 2nd Gen alloys process is matured tech now, Industrialization of the process is remaining. Apart from making raw blades two more key things lacking are final machining of the SCB's and TBC. MIDHANI is working on this. And they are confident they can do it in 2-3yrs. Right now the blades are to be sent abroad for one or both of these two processes anyway, which is not desirable.

If you notice, Kaveri is running with max 1700K TET value. Currently its not using any SCBs, only DS blades, as per GTRE folks. There is a gap of ~200K here from the state-of-the-art.
There is huge room for growth with the current Kaveri if high temp materials become available. A higher bypass ratio (it is something like 0.16 or something, something close to 0.35 to 0.45 thereabouts, will be "civilised/respectable" like the rest) , along with (the resulting higher TET) will see both efficiency and thrust increase, and take this to close to 64 KN dry /100KN wet engine. For e.g., the plain vanilla M53, in the Mirage 2000, saw a one ton thrust increase when the materials developed for Rafale were back ported into it and hence the new M53 P2 (for the M2005 and M2009) . That said the snecma brochure says M53 P2 has a TET of 1600K. So if they have got to 1700K , it is not bad at all.
Last edited by vina on 23 Feb 2017 06:41, edited 2 times in total.

vina wrote: Hmm. That is very good news indeed. So the problems discovered during the flight test was flutter and screech huh ? Trouble is , it is precisely these kind of things for which there are no "analytical" or "CFD / Simulation" stuff possible and there is no alternative to roll up sleeves, actually build , test, fix, retest loop and for that we absolutely need hight altitude test beds. Now altitude test beds date back to pre WWII and the Brits had it, the Germans of course had it and so did the Americans. There is simply no way any country can design and build a jet engine or indeed any aero such test beds! It is amazing that we expected these folks to develop engines without ANY testing infra that is absolutely necessary (the flying tests come last , but you need the altitude test beds to debug and do spiral development to even get to that stage).

The Yak Herder is of course right. These things can be done only by actual hardware testing and experimental research . In the lack of investment in testing infra, it is indeed a wonder that the GTRE has actually managed to get this far. They better kick the baboons in the nuts and have their travel budgets approved in triplicate and laminate and pack the MTR ready to eat stuff and get frequent flyer miles for test facilities in Russian, Germany or whosoever's facilities they use.
Its know from public sources those two problems where uncovered. Interestingly a guy from GTRE manning the stall told me they are paying Russians just so they wouldn't share the mods GTRE did to remove those issues. Now how much one wants to buy into this is up to oneself. :)

Snecma claims 1850K TET for M88. So just by porting that HPT tech they can boost TET by 150K..!!

But my guess is they will not do much technical changes in the engine itself, if what GTRE says is true. The said 25% remaining work to make it flightworthy is majority flight testing only without much HW changes. Even if we get flight testing know-how and facilities set up with Snecma's help that itself would be significant for us. We already know Kabini core is working well. It was only the issue with LP system and AB. If those two things are solved then there's nothing really remained in Kaveri to do. Just fly it and certify. Other changes can be done in next iteration.

Also, Kaveri Marine project is not going anywhere since Navy changed the requirements. Now they want next gen specs, I am told.

BTW its not that there are no CFD methods available. There are. But they take you half way. A good fine tuned OEM methodology could even take you to almost there. But yes, for the rest of the part you need testing. To improve and fine tune your design methodologies and be where today GE is, you need extensive testing infrastructure. We sadly have very limited facilities across the board. Plus GTRE does not have proper 3D aerodynamics capability. I suspect their CFD capability as a whole is limited (compared to other engine OEMs).

Also, Kaveri Marine project is not going anywhere since Navy changed the requirements. Now they want next gen specs, I am told.
Cannot expect client to hold on to old specs. They are, to a very extent, moving goal posts. R&D need to anticipate and accommodate them.

JayS wrote: ... told me they are paying Russians just so they wouldn't share the mods GTRE did to remove those issues.
I didn't understand this sentence. Too many determiners/pronouns. Can you pls state it in simple(r) english? thx.

JTull wrote:
JayS wrote: ... told me they are paying Russians just so they wouldn't share the mods GTRE did to remove those issues.
I didn't understand this sentence. Too many determiners/pronouns. Can you pls state it in simple(r) english? thx.
"mods" = modifications.

They could perhaps build a decent test facilities for that price?

JTull wrote:
I had asked him why don't they just buy that Il-76 test bed. The GTRE guy said they wanted to but Russians wouldn't sell. And he went on saying that they are basically paying Russians to stop them from sharing the modifications done to resolve issues with Kaveri. We paid the Russians 140Cr or such amount for sum total of 70 odd hours of testing including 57-hrs of flight testing. If we run the entire flight test program with Russians, we would end up paying much more than what those facilities themselves cost. Its their Golden Egg laying Chicken. And we know that Chinese also come with their engine for testing in those same facilities. May be GTRE folks are worried Russians will sell them our stuff.

Take this FWIW. Its not possible to verify such information. But its very much plausible.

Interestingly that person also claimed that MiG-29 test bed for Kaveri isn't happening because Russians are not allowing to use MiG29 for that.

Similarly the DMRL person claimed that the reason they are not making SCB for Kaveri using ToT from Al-31FP is because the contract does not allow the technology to be used elsewhere.

How about a used A340 that is modded for all of future? Or a new/used build A319/A320 with an engine pod hanging off the mid body/wing.

I assume they would prefer a 4 engined cargo plane.

Heck get 2/3 old C-17. Should have decent support already. Pay a wee bit more for this one-off deal.

There should be a few extra -29s somewhere in Europe, floating arond.

JayS wrote: I had asked him why don't they just buy that Il-76 test bed.
I am talking more about the altitude test facility like this UK NGTE Pyestock or the facility at NASA Glenn. or at Anecom & DLR and of course Gromov in Russia , also check out Arnold Airforce Base facilities

The IL-76 / 747 flying test beds etc are the final stage. But to get there, you need to do testing in the altitude test facilities , debug, fix, debug loop , run the stipulated number of hours in it, etc before putting on a plane.

These facilities aren't cheap , both to set up and run of course. Per this Article HAL was supposed to set up a altitude test facility @ Koraput for Rs 1500 crores. I doubt it came about. That is a heck of a lot of money.
Similarly the DMRL person claimed that the reason they are not making SCB for Kaveri using ToT from Al-31FP is because the contract does not allow the technology to be used elsewhere.
Yes. This is what I always suspected, that the Russian facility for SCB etc cannot be used elsewhere. It comes with end use restrictions. The Chinese of course wouldn't be bothered with such niceties and they would give the Russians be birdie (they clone entire planes , the SU -30 into a J11 ding dong) and if the Russians protest too much, they will tell them to take a walk or throw a few million dollars to them and tell them to suck it up.
Last edited by vina on 23 Feb 2017 06:43, edited 2 times in total.
ragupta

Post by ragupta »

JTull wrote:
I had asked him why don't they just buy that Il-76 test bed. The GTRE guy said they wanted to but Russians wouldn't sell. And he went on saying that they are basically paying Russians to stop them from sharing the modifications done to resolve issues with Kaveri. We paid the Russians 140Cr or such amount for sum total of 70 odd hours of testing including 57-hrs of flight testing. If we run the entire flight test program with Russians, we would end up paying much more than what those facilities themselves cost. Its their Golden Egg laying Chicken. And we know that Chinese also come with their engine for testing in those same facilities. May be GTRE folks are worried Russians will sell them our stuff.

Take this FWIW. Its not possible to verify such information. But its very much plausible.

Interestingly that person also claimed that MiG-29 test bed for Kaveri isn't happening because Russians are not allowing to use MiG29 for that.

It is not difficult to believe, no one will want to lose the golden goose.

Now the question is how do we acquire that capability. Can you build one, acquire one. Everyone who have one had acquired it somehow.
Can they create a hack with all the talent available in the country. If MII is the mission, there should not be any shortage for fund. availability is an issue.

No doubt, we are buying less and less from Russia, and slowly that pool will reduce drastically, no major system buy till they are willing to sell what India needs.

What is the point of ToT if you can't use it elsewhere ? Obviously, Russians wouldn't want us to sell it to a third-party, but what is the point in putting a restriction on usage of the SCB tech in our own engines ? And WTF are we obeying that diktat ? I like the Chinese approach of reverse engineering the entire plane. We should do that for every major component that we import.

Jay, they sold that engine testbed to China but won't sell it to us. Looks like they are holding out for more money.
ragupta

Post by ragupta »

JayS wrote: I had asked him why don't they just buy that Il-76 test bed.
I am talking more about the altitude test facility like this UK NGTE Pyestock or the facility at NASA Glenn. or at Anecom & DLR and of course Gromov in Russia.

The IL-76 / 747 flying test beds etc are the final stage. But to get there, you need to do testing in the altitude test facilities , debug, fix, debug loop , run the stipulated number of hours in it, etc before putting on a plane.

These facilities aren't cheap , both to set up and run of course. Per this Article HAL was supposed to set up a altitude test facility @ Koraput for Rs 1500 crores. I doubt it came about. That is a heck of a lot of money.
Yes. This is what I always suspected, that the Russian facility for SCB etc cannot be used elsewhere. It comes with end use restrictions. The Chinese of course wouldn't be bothered with such niceties and they would give the Russians be birdie (they clone entire planes , the SU -30 into a J11 ding dong) and if the Russians protest too much, they will tell them to take a walk or throw a few million dollars to them and tell them to suck it up.
1500 Cr is just the cost of 1 or 2 fighter at the most. So how come it is so much of money.
ragupta

Post by ragupta »

India has been too nice for too long. time to bend the finger and get the what you want.
Avarachan

Post by Avarachan »

If Russia won't sell India the testing infrastructure India needs, India should approach Germany. Currently, Germany doesn't sell fighter aircraft to India, so Germany isn't immediately threatened by India's engine development the way Russia is. If necessary, India should link German assistance with engine development to the P-75I submarine purchase (which can be used as a bargaining chip, in my opinion).
srin wrote:I like the Chinese approach of reverse engineering the entire plane. We should do that for every major component that we import.
This is off-topic, but it's becoming increasingly clear that the Chinese developmental model of steal-and-copy is reaching its inherent limits. For instance, if the J-11B/D (which is a copy of Russia's Su-27) were so great, China wouldn't have gone back to Russia to purchase the Su-35 (which is essentially a deeply-upgraded Su-27). Also, the much-vaunted J-20 (which is a modified MiG 1.44) is still dependent on Russian engines. The Chinese dream of leapfrogging Russian military technology by breaking contracts and making illegal copies hasn't worked. Despite China's massive accumulation of debt, China's military-aviation technology is still behind Russia's, in general.

The Indian way--honoring agreements while simultaneously negotiating with multiple foreign vendors and funding local research--is superior. Of course, the funding for local research needs to be drastically increased.
Last edited by Avarachan on 23 Feb 2017 06:12, edited 1 time in total.

This is off-topic, but it's becoming increasingly clear that the Chinese developmental model of steal-and-copy is reaching its inherent limits.
That tho is sach.

But, I very much doubt it applies to India. India does have a solid research base, but one that is not incented to productize that research. And, the political pressures are diff. So, I very much doubt India will need to steal and copy. It would be more like look and improve, which is what I bet they are reluctant to do. This would, IMHO, be a means to shorten the time. The product would be better in many respects.

ragupta wrote:
1500 Cr is just the cost of 1 or 2 fighter at the most. So how come it is so much of money.
It might not be a question of money only. It might itself require technology that we do not have.

How will the Russian's know about the changes unless they are outwardly visible? I hope they are not going to take the engine apart but we will know if they do that. And why will the Russians sell that info to the Chinese because if that is the case, the Chinese may as well pay the Russians and get their engines fixed instead of paying to know what the Indians did to fix it. The Russians want to make money selling their engines to the Chinese, not helping them make their own engines.

The GTRE guy said that Single crystal blades if placed in Kaveri will have to go through a whole new process of certification - so there is no sense in trying to retrofit them into what is a working engine. For the future maybe. But I think HAL is using all sorts of modern stuff for their new engines. Actually we don;t need Russkies for SCB- Mishra Dhatu Nigam had shown them in 2013 - I have photos from back then. The tech is there for anyone to use.

How much would a Boeing 747 with 5000 hrs remaining live cost to buy and modify.

Why not Avro 748? Serious question

shiv wrote:The GTRE guy said that Single crystal blades if placed in Kaveri will have to go through a whole new process of certification - so there is no sense in trying to retrofit them into what is a working engine. For the future maybe. But I think HAL is using all sorts of modern stuff for their new engines. Actually we don;t need Russkies for SCB- Mishra Dhatu Nigam had shown them in 2013 - I have photos from back then. The tech is there for anyone to use.
True. What they are struggling with/working on currently is the machining of the HPT blades from the raw SCB castings and TBC. Both are faily complicated and advanced processes. MIDHANI seems to be working on this front.

The process DMRL developed is the one that West follows. Both Russian and the Western (US/EU) approach have pros and con, but what I got from talking to the DMRL person is process control is little easier with the Western methodology as compared to the Russian (Liquid Metal cooling).

Getting the aircraft is not an issue, I suppose (not taking into consideration of any contractual obligations preventing use of the aircraft for test bed purpose, I am not sure how that works for Civilian jet, in case we want to use old Air India jet for this purpose for example). My guess is the process of converting existing Aircraft to Flight test bed needs extensive OEM support. Without the OEM's willingness, it would be very challenging. Of coarse if you are hell bent on creating one, you can of do it anyhow. Afterall Boeing or Illusion as well would have struggled for the first time. But we are not ready to take the harder path. We believe in begging for readymade technology through ToT.

Pratyush wrote:How much would a Boeing 747 with 5000 hrs remaining live cost to buy and modify.
Civilian aircraft life is typically noted as number of cycles (= missions). One cycle may be 2hrs long for Regional jet or 8hr long for medium range jet or 16hrs for long haul jet (representative numbers). One Taxi-TO-Climb-Cruise-Decent-Landing-Taxi is one cycle. From structural point of view, it doesn't matter much how long you stretch the cruise part. 2 hour flight would take almost the same toll on life as 8-hr long on the airframe and majority of the components of engine.

Airliners have a very long life typically. A B747 may serve for 20-25yrs as passenger jet and another 15-20years as cargo plane before its scrapped. Actually I don't think aircraft cost itself is an issue. Its the modification cost and cost of consultancy/support from OEM which would be major component.

One of the PW test bed that they used for MRJ engine testing is a 2nd hand jet:

http://aviationweek.com/blog/inside-pra ... ng-testbed
The aircraft, now Canadian-registered with the appropriate identity C-GTFF, was originally built for Korean Airlines. First flown at Everett in January 1981, it entered service with Korean in March 1981 and remained in service with the carrier for the next 18 years. Following stints with The Air Medical Foundation and Transatlantic International Airlines, the 747SP spent several years in storage after being acquired by P&W in the mid-2000s.
For this particular project, the aircraft was modified for a interesting configuration where a special mounting was made for small MRJ engine (see pictures in above link). I don't think this kind of modification is easy without OEM support.

PS: After some googling, here is an interesting article on Flying test beds from various companies. Seem all of them are bought second hand from airliners after their passenger airliner life is over. And for PW -
http://parkelectro.com/aviationweek.pdf
All the structural modifications were done by L3 Communications, in Waco, Texas; additional was work undertaken by Evergreen Aviation in Marana, Ariz.
Last edited by JayS on 23 Feb 2017 15:50, edited 2 times in total.

Avarachan wrote: The Indian way--honoring agreements while simultaneously negotiating with multiple foreign vendors and funding local research--is superior. Of course, the funding for local research needs to be drastically increased.
Honoring agreements for the past five decades with Ivana got us nothing (except money and honey for our corrupt procurement babus.)

Say what you will about the chinis, it is pretty clear they are extracting a far better deal from the Russians. Flight testbed? Russkies sold to PRC, not us. Full use of Su-27/30 technology? Russians sold full use to Cheen in form of J-11B, J-11BS, J-11BH, J-11D, J-16 and J-15. India, still strait-jacketed in MKI production line but no where else.

Pro-Russki Bharatis like to buy Russian sob-story about Cheen copying their Flanker without recourse. BULL MANURE. The Russians hold major chini projects J-20, J-31 and JF-17 hostage because they supply the goddamn engines! If they were angry about the J-11 clones, they could have easily sent all those projects into the toilet. So no, the J-11 copies were sanctioned by the Russians and done with full cooperation (I doubt even the chinis can "copy" and build an usable Flanker without intensive Russian help.)

It is time for us to wash our hands of Russia.

Chola , The Chinese has been very unbiased when it comes to stealing technology from the West and East , they have even stolen the W88 Weapons design from US , Uses German Engine on Submarines and uses French Sonar technology. No Western countries have ever taken any action against china due to their own business interest. This inspite of being under Western Military Sanctions the West has happily supplied Dual Use Goods/Technology To China under wink wink policy

Couple of gems that Chinese cloned from West and East and others

How China Steals U.S. Military Secrets
China’s Military Built with Cloned Weapons
Analysts: Beijing Parade a 'Bazaar' of Stolen Technology
Rishi Verma

Post by Rishi Verma »

....India does have a solid research base, but one that is not incented to productize that research. And, the political pressures are diff. So, I very much doubt India will need to steal and copy. It would be more like look and improve
research base of what in India saar?
Apologies for nitpicking but Indian quality of educational institutions, quality and quantity of patent filings, quality of technical papers suggests that "Indian research base" is puny even compared to the Chinese.

I think you are a maha-tongue-in-cheek guy, Good sense of humor there.

shiv wrote:Why not Avro 748? Serious question

May be lack of space to mount the test article. I guess.

Austin wrote:Chola , The Chinese has been very unbiased when it comes to stealing technology from the West and East , they have even stolen the W88 Weapons design from US , Uses German Engine on Submarines and uses French Sonar technology. No Western countries have ever taken any action against china due to their own business interest. This inspite of being under Western Military Sanctions the West has happily supplied Dual Use Goods/Technology To China under wink wink policy

Couple of gems that Chinese cloned from West and East and others

How China Steals U.S. Military Secrets
China’s Military Built with Cloned Weapons
Analysts: Beijing Parade a 'Bazaar' of Stolen Technology
Stealing and espionage is one thing (any nation under embargo that does not steal is unworthy of sovereignty so I don't blame the PRC here) but what we see in the Flanker clones is full fledge ToT not allowed for India.

Do we see an exact chini copy of the F-15 or any other Western plane? No. But we do with the Flanker. I truly doubt you can clone highly advanced equipment like fighter jets without heavy input from the originator.

Ivana plays us for fools while giving the chinis deals mainly because of their rivalry with Unkil.
Last edited by chola on 23 Feb 2017 16:09, edited 1 time in total.