India's R&D in Defence DRDO, PSUs and Private Sector

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India's R&D in Defence DRDO, PSUs and Private Sector

X Posting...jingos rejoice... :D
Army falls for Arjun, induction by month-end

Posting in full...I think the news deserves that and an exception can be made this time wrt copyright..
In what may be considered as a fillip for the country’s indigenous production of defence equipment, the first-ever fleet of Indian-made Arjun battle tanks would be inducted into the Army by February end.

A total 45 tanks would form this armoured regiment and the first order of tanks is expected to arrive within next three weeks. In the first phase, 18-20 tanks would be handed over to the Indian Army by the heavy vehicle factory, Avadi, Tamil Nadu. Already, about 85 tanks are in various stages of production.

Notably, the induction is coming almost 36 years after India announced its programme to build own tanks, and the process was laced with glitches and delays.

The tanks would be available at the Armoured Corps Centre and School (ACCS), Ahmednagar, Maharashtra, where training of personnel would be carried out. It would take a few months more before the Arjun is actually deployed in one of the armoured corps on field duties. It is likely that the deployment could be the Indo-Pak border where a majority of the 59 tank regiments of the Army are deployed.

The induction is coming despite stiff opposition from within the armed forces, which tested the tank to the hilt and agreed only after various parameters were met. Defence Minister AK Antony stood his ground and made it clear that the 58-tonne Arjun would be inducted, as it was working fine.

Well-placed sources in the government said the tanks earlier had to be handed over by January end, but the deadline was extended by a month. Sources in Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) confirmed that the tanks were ready for shipment and handing-over to the Army.

Rather, the move implies that the induction would be carried out without waiting for the much-awaited comparative trials of the indigenous Arjun tanks with Russian-made T-90s, as had been desired by the DRDO.
AoA onlee..

New engine test facility at Avadi CVRDE.

A new state of the art engine test facility has been set up at combat vehicles research and development establisihment (CVRDE) at Avadi in Chenai.CVRDE is an important sstablishment under DRDO dedicated towards design and development of armoured fighting vehicles for the Indian Army.

Dr. A. Sivathanupillai, a distinguished scientist and chief controller (R&D) NS & ACE, DRDO Hqrs. Delhi inaugurated the new facility. It has two test cells capable of testing the engines up to 1500 KW and 800 KW power respectively.

Speaking on the occasion, he said the other programmes of CVRDE for developing battle management system and creation of a simulation facility for main battle tank incorporating the high-tech features are progressing steadily and called upon one and all to continue the sustained hard work for their success. S Sundaresh, an outstanding scientist, director CVRDE Avadi Chennai was present on the occasion.

Ashu wrote:A question for tech experts here:
How difficult is it to develop terminally guided artillery shells like krasnopol http://www.kbptula.ru/eng/kuw/krasn.htm locally?

Is is technically feasible and financially viable to put a ring laser gyro in this kind of system?
RLG might be too costly and not viable on a shell.

but laser guided ammo like the krasnopol shouldn't be too difficult although it has serious range and weather related performance restrictions. In India we haven't really gone for laser guided bombs/ammo, one reason could be that foreign guns anyway come with licenses for such ammo.
DRDO is working on some aircraft deliverable PGMs I believe.

US is moving in a big way towards GPS guided shells, that is the way forward IMO, but we should wait till we have access to GLONASS or IRNSS.

Slimmer Saras to fly in air show
“Yes, it (Saras with reduced weight) will fly in the show, ” NAL director A R Upadhaya said on Friday.

After the first Saras prototype flew in 2004, former NAL director S R Valluri openly criticised NAL for making the plane overweight by 1000 kg. Because of the overweight, he said, Saras would not be commercially viable.
NAL countered by arguing that for any prototype programme, heavier weight is inevitable because of the usual tendency to build in margins at various levels.

Moreover, when the preliminary design was made, in association with a Russian design bureau, the certification standard was FAR-23 (Federal Aviation Regulations of the USA). This was changed Midway to FAR-25 for more than 10 passengers, which necessitated addition of extra weight. US-imposed sanctions post 1998 added to the weight problem.

NAL stated that the final production standard for the aircraft will be 6,900 kg all up weight for 14 passengers with optimised structure and power plant.

Executive version

With 14 passengers, the range would be 400 km whereas with 8 passengers in the executive version, the range would be about 2000 km. A weight reduction programme was put in place for Saras to make the plane slim and trim.

But a Comptroller and Auditor General’s report, released last October, said that two Saras prototypes made by the NAL so far were overweight by 500 kg, because of that they were not being given DGCA certificates for airworthiness. Due to the excess weight the passenger seats were not installed in those planes. The Union Cabinet approved, on Thursday, Rs 76.8 crore to the National Aeronautics Laboratories (NAL) for further development of small indigenous aircraft like Saras and Hansa.

Interestingly, one of the modules for which the money has been sanctioned, will be used in weight optimisation, power optimisation and other improvements so that the plane could be made operational with full payload and the required range.

The Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs (CCEA), on Thursday, approved a revised proposal of Rs 172.8 crore from the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) as against the earlier sanction of Rs 96 crore.

Err where is that military exports thread?

HAL to hand over first export Dhruvs
HAL is out to make a splash. The Ecuador Air Force chief will receive five Dhruvs at a high-profile media event at Aero India 2009. The remaining two will be handed over within six months. And instead of the conventional (and cheap) way of transporting helicopters across continents — by painstakingly dismantling them and sending them by ship — HAL has decided to fly the Dhruvs to Ecuador in a giant Antonov-124 transport aircraft.

“Transportation in an AN-124 will merely involve removing the rotor blades and quickly reassembling them after they land in Ecuador,” explains N Seshadri, executive director of HAL’s Rotary Wing R&D Centre. “This is something with which we in HAL are quite familiar; the Indian Air Force Sarang team, which regularly displays helicopter aerobatics in major air shows abroad, often transports its helicopters in AN-124s.”

HAL will have to pay about Rs 3.5 crores for ferrying the Dhruvs by AN-124, but the company believes that the goodwill generated will be worth the expense. Several South American countries besides Ecuador — Columbia and Chile among them — are evaluating the Dhruv. HAL knows they are carefully watching the Ecuador contract.

HAL, therefore, has pulled out the stops to ensure that Ecuador has no problems with maintaining its Dhruv fleet. A specially selected team of ten HAL engineers is being posted in Ecuador for the two-year period when the Dhruvs will be under warranty. They will carry with them the entire requirement of tools and spares required to keep the helicopters serviceable. During these two years, the HAL engineers will train the Ecuadorian Air Force to maintain its Dhruvs.
Good move.

All the depression caused by the Army, Air force brochuritis has been momentarily lifted.

What a sight - to see an Indian product adorning the colours of another nation!!!

Good job HAL
ajay_ijn

Post by ajay_ijn »

Northrop selects BEL and Dynamatic Technologies Limited for manufacturing APG-68(V)9 Radar components
Northrop Grumman Corporation (NYSE: NOC | Quote | Chart | News | PowerRating) has selected Bangalore-based Bharat Electronics Limited and Dynamatic Technologies Limited to manufacture components of the F-16 APG-68(V)9 fire control radar as part of a broader initiative to engage Indian industry as strategic business partners.

"Following an extensive evaluation of the Indian defence electronic manufacturing base, we feel that these two companies are best positioned to offer the depth of capability required to meet our customers' demanding cost, schedule, and quality standards," said Katie Gray, vice president of Northrop Grumman's Global Sensor Solutions business unit.

As part of a comprehensive co-production programme, Northrop Grumman engineers will work side-by-side with engineering teams from Bharat Electronics Limited and Dynamatic Technologies Limited to provide training and support to ensure a smooth transition to production. The engineering teams will collaborate on all aspects of the manufacturing process, beginning with a formal Production Readiness Review (PRR), and concluding with First Article Inspection (FAI) and First Article Test (FAT) milestones. Initial radar component deliveries are expected in the second quarter of 2009.
--------------------
good news, we might be exporting radar components for porkistan F-solahs :mrgreen:
Nitesh

Post by Nitesh »

http://www.domain-b.com/aero/20090209_dr_prahlad.html

DRDO has developed extreme technologies, says Dr Prahlad news

In a wide ranging,comprehensive interview on DRDO's capabilties and development programme, Dr Prahalad, chief controller R&D (SI), points out that the gap between users needs and DRDO's capabilities is reducing. The organisation is now fully capable of working out a road map with the army, navy and air force to develop weapon systems needed over the next 5-7 years.

Dr Prahalad,
Distinguished scientist and chief controller, R&D (SI), DRDO

1. Could you speak about the Akash and Nag missiles? How do they fare with comparable technologies and how far away are they from induction?

The Akash and Nag missiles were part of the Integrated Guided Missile Development Programme begun in 1984 under Dr Abdul Kalam as the chairman. We then took a purposeful decision that Akash and Nag would be the most complex and sophisticated missile systems in the IGMDP.

So, it was given the maximum time also, as compared to Prithvi, Trishul and Agni and others. Akash and Nag were given nearly 15 years. So, we knew at that time it was a very complex system and taking up the challenge we began developing these two systems.

In case of Akash, it has been uniquely configured and customised for our own Indian Army and air force. During the initial discussions with the army and the air force, they gave some requirements like it should be mobile, it should have a 30 km range, a very effective high kill probability, it should be integrated with the automatic command and control system, it cannot be manually operated, should have multiple target handling capability, which means that several targets could be engaged with several missiles simultaneously.

In most missile systems you have boost and coast – that is you boost the missile for some time and allow it to coast, or, boost, sustain and coast. The requirement here, however, was continuous thrust, or, all the way thrust. Once you start coasting, the maneuverability of the missile comes down. This was not acceptable to the services. They felt it should be continuously maneuverable till it intercepts the target, which meant the requirement was that the power/thrust had to be continuously on.

These were a unique set of requirements –such a missile doesn't exist anywhere in the world and it meant that we had to uniquely configure the missiles. That's how Akash was realised, We took 5 years more than what we promised to the army and air force, but when tested in the last development phase the results were 9/9 –that is out of the 9 missiles tested all them met the guidance and accuracy control requirements. Based on these tests the Indian Air Force has placed orders for 2 squadrons and the army is expected to follow suit.

Bharat Electronics will be the nodal production agency along with Bharat Dynamics and there will be at least 40 industries from the public and private sectors that will be involved with the manufacture of these missiles in large numbers.

So, this is one story and we expect that based on the expenditure of Rs600 crore that we have invested in the Akash missile, business worth about Rs7,000 crore should result for radars, missiles, launchers and control systems all put together within the next 5 years.

So, this is the story for Akash.

Coming to Nag, similarly, this missile is meant for the army, which wanted a missile with a 4-km range and fire-and-forget capability. That means we launch the missile from a tank and leave the place - this is also called the shoot-and-scoot technique. The Nag was specifically designed with a fire-and-forget capability.

The missile has what is called a tandem warhead. The warhead will have two stages – in the first stage the missile will make a hole in an enemy tank and in the second stage it will go inside and blow it up. This is a very special technology and we had to perfect it.

So this is the Nag- a tandem warhead, 4-km, tank-mounted, fire-and-forget, and very accurate, missile.

The last flight test has been successfully completed in day and night desert conditions in short range and long range test firings and we expect the army to place an order over the next couple of months.

2. The 'Shaurya' was a surprise development – where does it fit into the Indian missile spectrum?

If you look at our long-range strategic missiles you know we have Prithvi and Agni for ballistic or near-ballistic systems. Prithvi is a liquid fuel system and Agni is a solid fuel system.

Now the Agni has certain mobility, certain freedom to move from place to place. The Prithvi has its own certain requirements - it requires preparation time because of its liquid engines.

So we had to configure a unique third missile called 'Shaurya' which can be canisterised. Once sealed in a canister, it can be taken to any place giving it great tactical and operational advantage. It canbe deployed anywhere - in hilly terrain, desert etc. It is a relatively light, highly mobile, solid propellant fuelled missile. There is no preparation required.

So it has its own USP - and as per the requirement of the services we will be taking up the production of Shaurya.

3. The country's BMD technology would appear to be moving apace – could you dwell on aspects of the technologies that are being brought into play for the whole programme?

Ballistic Missile Defence or missile defence systems, are developed based on the threat perceptions as presented to us by the armed forces, which take into consideration threats from our neighbours, their plans etc. Based on these inputs we are developing certain critical technologies against ballistic missiles.

For this we need some unique technologies, such as high-speed propulsion, which can take missiles to hypersonic speeds. You need a high burning rate, solid propellants, which can take the missile quickly to high Mach number.

We need very high accuracy guidance so that the missile can even physically obliterate a hostile missile – what is called a hit-to-kill capability. For this we need not only radio gadgets but also thermal infra-red gadgets. So for this we need a combined dual-guidance –not only radar but also imaging guidance. This requires very high accuracy algorithms.

Also we need very quick reaction systems. When somebody launches a ballistic missile the time available to react to the threat is very short - a few seconds. So, the instant you know a missile has been launched you have to launch the defence system within seconds, fly at a much higher speed than the attacking missile and intercept very accurately at very high altitudes. So this requires what is known as extreme technologies. These have now been developed and we are trying to integrate these technologies and produce a weapon that can be used by the armed forces.

4. How do you look at an era of increased international cooperation in the development of technologies in the defence sector?

This is the new era of 2000+. In the 80s when we started our major system programmes like Arjun or Sonar or IGMDP or torpedo or radar, we never had the opportunity of international co-operation.

We were buying some components and making everything in-house. We built the computer from scratch from circuit boards. That was an era where we had to do everything in-house and within our industries and everything was a long drawn out and hard process.

Whereas in 2000, fortunately, the whole world has recognised our capability by seeing our LCA, main battle tank Arjun, radars, torpedoes, missiles and small arms that are in production. Our capabilities in prototyping, developing, testing and fielding our own weapons have been recognised.

So now they know that they cannot take us for granted. If they want business, they have to work together. Many countries have come forward for collaborative research and joint development. We have projects now with USA, Israel, Russia, Italy, Germany, Belarus, Brazil, France, UK among others.

In the 80s era what used to take 15 years to make we can now make in 5 years to 7 years. So, we have cut down the development time by almost 1/3rd because of the immense opportunities for international collaboration.

5. With respect to the areas of missiles could you dwell on two aspects:

b)One being the development of technology in this sector
c)The level of operationalisation that such technology has attained
Missile technologies are front-end technologies - very challenging and display characteristics such as high speed, high lethality, high maneuverability and quick reaction. So all this require the limits of technology whether you take materials, propulsion or control.

So of the technologies for this kind of technology for eg propulsion: solid propulsion, liquid propulsion and ramjet propulsion or if you take flight control systems and autocontrol systems, we need computers, electro actuation systems, lot of software intelligence for making the control system work and then we have navigation and guidance, we have to take the missile to long distances and guide it accurately to intercept the target.

When we take the warheads, each missile requires a different type of warhead Nag requires a tandem warhead, Akash requires a fragmentation warhead, Prithvi requires a runway penetration warhead.

We also have the C4I - command, control communication and intelligence integration. How do we do it? The missile is the part of network centric operation. We have to also develop guidance on how to use radar gadgets and imaging infrared technology to recognise targets using its thermal characteristics by getting a thermal picture to reach the tank and finding out its centre of gravity to hit it at the centre of the tank. This type of technology is the imaging infrared technology and you need millimeter wave technology for very accurate guidance and infrared imaging for imaging of a target.

So these technologies are required to be simultaneously developed for the missiles India has developed.

For operationalisation, these technologies go into the missiles eg: the Akash missile the ram jet propulsion is inside; the pre-fragmented warhead technology inside, very accurate radio or radar guidance is used in the missile system and auto pilot with a very powerful computer to make the missile maneuver to hit a maneuvering target, so you can out-maneuver a maneuvering target, at low, medium and high altitudes under any conditions rain, dust, summer, winter night etc.

So, these technologies get imbibed into the missile system, the ground system, the launcher system, and is integrated into the command control network. So the technology gets operationalised in the missile systems when they get fielded.

Now how we get these technologies? We have three strategies to develop: some of it is got from academic institutions. We go to the university professors, work with them on how to develop new science and technology.

Secondly, DRDO can jointly develop new technologies with industrial partners. For example, an actuation system, which we have mostly done in DRDO-industry collaboration.

Then comes foreign collaboration. Sometimes we develop technologies with foreign collaboration with our partner countries.

If none of this works, then the final strategy is in-house development within our laboratories and we have developed many technologies in-house.

So this is how we develop new technology, new science, perfect it and incorporate it into weapon systems

6. Obviously there exists 'dynamic tension' between the need to develop indigenous technologies and the need for the
services to be in a state of readiness, armed with contemporary technologies. How do you harmonise such tensions?

Fortunately this harmonisation is already taking place. Probably there was some gap in the capabilities of DRDO and the requirements of the armed forces. They require it fast and the latest to be made available. Since things were always available to them on their tables they always were bombarded with temptations to purchase but today two things are happening - arms research development and marketing has slowed down tremendously worldwide in comparison to the '80s. They are no more developing things just like that but develop it only on demand.

Secondly the armed forces have realised that a homegrown weapon system, sonar or radar etc has many advantages to them. They will be able to get life support very easily, product up-gradation, software and customisation. So, many things are possible and finally both cost of ownership, maintenance will be much lower if it is indigenously based and the things are available at your fingertips. So the armed forces are also trying to tap DRDO's capabilities to the maximum.

The gap between the user's needs and DRDO's capabilities is reducing. Today we are able to sit down with the army, navy air force to work out a road map on the kind of weapons they would need in the next 5-7 years. What new technologies they think we should develop and how to realise these technologies?

Thus we have generated 2 road maps - one for technology and the other for products. We have had extensive discussions on these even up to how they should look. For example Rustum, a medium altitude, long endurance unmanned vehicle where we have combined QRs (qualitative requirements) where the order rate is above 100 for all forces combined. When the services say that if you can develop this within the next 4 years within our requirements, at least an order of x number will be placed. The services are ready today how much they will order called MOQ (minimum order quantity).

When we have such a guarantee from the buyers, then it is easy to go the industry which can work with us to expedite the development because the industry will make the prototype, assemble it immediately and production time or realisation time will come down. Some of the industry partners are ready to fund the development cost also, even if it is 15 per cent or 20 per cent. When they fund the development cost they become the stakeholders and then responsibility increases and then it is produced according to specifications within the stipulated time and assemble and market it as well.

So, we are tying up the industry, the MOD, the three services and DRDO – we are converging, synergising, harmonising so we work together and see that the systems are developed for the good of the country, to meet our own a la carte service - customised to the taste, schedule, performance, quality, upgradation.

Plus this is also good for the health of the Indian economy as employment opportunities increase and industry capabilities increase, even drawing orders from other countries. Based on these technologies, I have observed that many of our SME and small-scale industries getting export orders.

So you see how the level of the economy goes up, the employment potential increases, our knowledge expands, university research level goes up, and our own departments of science and technology, their own understanding and knowledge goes up. So, as a country we can see an elevation of status technologically and economically.

With this harmony we see many good things happening
Kailash

Post by Kailash »

Desi Bullet proof vests by ISRO

please move it if it doesn't belong here.

Related item. X-posted...

more bad news, Vikek from defensenews.com reports that many deals have been cancelled this year and 1 billion USD may be returned.
Url
NEW DELHI - Despite efforts to speed up arms programs and finalize large purchases, the Indian Defence Ministry will return $1 billion that it was unable to use as planned in the fiscal year that ends March 31.

Ministry officials, fearing criticism from the military and political leaders, tried to speed procurement ahead of this year's general elections. In 2008, bids worth about $9 billion were floated, some of which resulted from cancellation of earlier bids. Most had been pending for two to three years due to delays.

"The process of acquisition had slowed down over the last three to four years," said S.V. Thapaliyal, a retired Indian Army major general. "Now there is a political compulsion to show results in view of forthcoming elections. Although a number of requests for proposals [RfPs] have been issued, the acquisition process is so slow and complicated that most of the acquisitions will only materialize in two to three years' time."

"Procurement of the required weapon systems is only a small part of the defense planning process - the whole process is flawed in execution," said Gurmeet Kanwal, retired Indian Army brigadier and director of the Centre for Land Warfare Studies, here. "Bureaucratic red tape must be eliminated through empowered committees, rather than according to a case-by-case approval on files that bounce back and forth endlessly. Prolonged trials are another chokepoint; a system of accountability should be instituted to ensure that trials are completed on time."

Other defense analysts said that the pile-up of RfPs began long ago.

"The cumulative pile is not just over the past three to four years, but goes back at least two decades," said independent defense analyst Rahul Bhonsle, a retired Indian Army brigadier. "The ideal acquisition schedule projects requirements at least 15 to 20 years in advance. That is the aim of having long-term integrated plans. But for the past few years, not having bought any weapons worth the name, the government is now rushing, driven by a post-Mumbai paranoia."

Swaran Singh, professor for diplomacy and disarmament at Jawaharlal Nehru University here, said the sudden big numbers of RfPs are due to a recent sharp surge of economic activity.

"Since the late 1990s, the Indian economy has had impressive growth rates, enabling the UPA government to prioritize weapon purchases, which appears like a sudden burst of RfPs floated in recent years," he said.

India plans to buy more than $30 billion in arms over the next five years to fight the low-intensity war in the northern state of Jammu and Kashmir, head off terror attacks in cities, and prepare for potential battle with Pakistan or China.

Program Status

In the near term, there is some hope for fast-track purchases of smaller items, including fast interceptor craft, hovercrafts and patrol boats for the Coast Guard. The government also will finalize major deals in the next two to three months, a senior Defence Ministry official said.

India expects within two to three months to sign its largest deal ever with Israel, a $3 billion-plus joint effort to develop a medium-range, surface-to-air missile, sources said.

The big-ticket bids floated in 2008 include $2 billion for 100 tracked howitzers, 48 ultra-light howitzers and 185 wheeled howitzers. The Army also sought to procure armored fighting vehicle protection and countermeasure systems worth $270 million, and floated a tender for the joint development of a laser-based directed infrared countermeasure system. The Army's quest for quick-reaction, surface-to-air missiles for $1.4 billion received a poor response; overseas vendors asked for requirements changes.

Other major tenders included a $2 billion bid from the Navy and Coast Guard for maritime patrol aircraft, a $750 million global bid to buy 197 reconnaissance and surveillance helicopters, and a $2 billion effort to upgrade Mirage fighters.

A $1 billion deal to replace the Russian-made Shilka air defense system has drawn no bidders, though Russia has offered licensed production of the Shilka system as a separate arrangement. India also may cancel a bid to procure 266 general guidance munitions in the 1,000-kilogram class compatible with Mirage-2000H/TH aircraft, because the Defence Research and Development Organization claims it can manufacture the munitions itself, Defence Ministry sources said.

The Defence Ministry canceled a bid to purchase a successor to the Swedish-made L-70 air defense guns because only the state-owned Ordnance Factories Board, in partnership with Rheinmetall Defense of Germany, had submitted the bid. The $1.2 billion contract to buy transportable radars is also heading for cancellation as Rafael was the only bidder.

Kailash wrote:Desi Bullet proof vests by ISRO

please move it if it doesn't belong here.
quoting from the article :
“It required no fresh investments as we already have the set-up. Silicon Carbide Technology was established for space optics three years ago. Bullet-proof jackets will come as a byproduct,” said Murthy.
this is welcome development from the steel plates that are still being used.
SiC is one of the hardest substances known and is a popular ingredient in armour plates.
the dragonskin body armour (posted 10000 times by newbies after 26/11) uses SiC.

Nitesh

Post by Nitesh »

http://www.expressbuzz.com/edition/stor ... ,Antony%20,

'Our defence products are indigenous'

BANGALORE: Defence Minister A K Antony on Monday expressed disappointment at the slow pace of indigenisation of defence production.

Delivering the presidential address at the international seminar on Aerospace-Perspectives and Trends in Technologies, Antony said he felt “guilty” as far as indigenisation of defence production was concerned as the growth was “very very slow”.

“We are still far behind as far as Jawaharlal Nehru’s dream on achieving self-reliance in defence sector is concerned.

Despite being fourth largest scientific community in the world, only 30 per cent of our defence products are indigenous,” he said.

On the research and development (R&D) in defence production, he said India was not spending enough and even the budgetary allocation for R&D is only 6 per cent.

“I now realise the importance of R&D. If needed, we will spend more and give all the support to safeguard the security of the country. :eek: :eek: I appeal to private industry to also spend more on R&D now that we are allowing 100 percent participation from them,” he said.

‘Recession will have no impact’

The Defence Minister said economic recession will not hamper modernisation programme of the armed forces and the government was fully committed to promoting modernisation in a big way.

“Our defence planning has a two-fold objective - modernisation and indigenisation. To achieve these, and to optimise transparency and fairness, the government has come out with ‘offsets’ policy. It is our firm belief that the offsets policy will prove beneficial to both the Indian industry and foreign partners,” he said.

He added a calibrated international response is needed in the wake of the recent terrorist attacks.

“The conventional means of warfare used by the terrorists as seen as in the 9/11 attacks and the Mumbai attacks, demand a calibrated international response,” Antony added.

IAF needs finest technology

Earlier in his address, Chief of Air Staff F H Major called for creation of an apex body to coordinate and regulate aerospace industry in order to cut wasteful expenditure and duplication of efforts.

“It’s time to approach issues head-on and identify core technologies to be developed and aggressively design and manufacture them. The development cycle of a product from design to operational stage should be reduced. Otherwise it runs the risk of being obsolete. I cannot let this happen in IAF given the current security scenario. IAF wants the best and finest in cutting edge aviation technology. Not just IAF, it is a national requirement,” Major said.

Space vehicle planned with three astronauts on board, says ISRO chief

BANGALORE: Buoyed by the resounding success of its Chandrayaan-1 mission, the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) plans to develop a space vehicle that can carry up to three astronauts on the seven-day manned mission to space.

Speaking at an international Seminar on “Aerospace- Perspectives and Trends in Technologies”, ISRO chairman and Padma Vibhushan, G Madhavan Nair, said that the space agency is looking at developing a capsule spacecraft with service module, which can accommodate three astronauts and take it to lower earth orbit using the indigenous Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV) in the year 2015.

Regarding Chandrayaan-1, Nair said that “voluminous data” has been retrieved, which would “take a few years for scientists to analyse and come out with concrete results”. “The entire mapping of the lunar surface is expected to be carried out in a year and there is no trace of water on moon so far,” he said.

HAL to build three-tonne class helicopter

BANGALORE: The government has given the go-ahead to Hindustan Aeronautics Limited to roll out the threetonne class helicopter, informed HAL chairman Ashok Baweja.

Speaking about other projects, he said that HAL is undertaking multirole transport aircraft, Indian regional transport aircraft, fifth generation fighter with stealth features, 35-tonne aircraft, uninhabited aerial vehicle and also uninhabited combat helicopter in the future.

He also emphasised on the importance to make an aircraft green for which it is necessary to reduce noise, carbon emissions, lower fuel consumption and better aerodynamic efficiency.

Light Combat Helicopter encounters delays

-Ajai Shukla
Visitors to Aero India 2009, being held in Bangalore from 11th to 15th February 09, who hoped to catch a first-ever glimpse of India’s high-tech Light Combat Helicopter (LCH), will go back disappointed. Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL) has told Business Standard that design glitches --- including extra weight and delays in manufacturing the tooling on which the LCH will be fabricated --- have pushed back the first flight by up to a year.
“An extra 250 kilos may not seem much on a 5.5 ton helicopter, but it really is a serious problem”, explains HAL’s helicopter design chief, N Seshadri. “At altitudes of 6000 metres (almost 20,000 feet), which the LCH must operate at, the air is so thin that it can only carry a weapons payload of about 350-500 kg. If the helicopter ends up 250 kg heavier than planned, its high altitude firepower will be dramatically reduced.”
The private sector company that has designed the LCH’s fuselage, Plexion Technologies, is working overtime to cut down the extra 250 kg. Meanwhile HAL is trying to convince the air force to accept the first prototype with some extra weight, so that flight tests can begin even as Plexion slims down the LCH.

The problem with the long delays in development of weapons by DRDO is that there will be requirements creep as the needs change for the user. So DRDO has to make doubly sure that their schedules are realistic and the customer has their expectations in line with available products. An option is to carve out a portion of the services procurement budget for local made goods based on DRDO designs. Left to themselves the services and the babus will resort to brochuritis and the cycle will never break. There is a total disconnect in the services between those who give the requirements to the DRDO and those who make the decision to procure or accept the stuff. This is due to the ad-hoc approach in the wepaons procurement and strategy.

Combat Helicopter prototype will fly in 2009: HAL design chief.

The prototype of India's Light Combat Helicopter (LCH) is presently being built and will fly by the end of the year, said HAL Rotor Wing Research & Development Centre (RWRDC) Design Chief Dr Prasad Sampath. He was speaking on 'Development of Helicopters in India – An Overview' today, at the Aero India 2009 International Seminar on 'Aerospace – Perspectives and Trends in Technologies', being held in Bengaluru from 9 to 12 February.

He said that the cockpit and fuselage design for LCH was complete, and the mock up trials were over last year. All dynamic systems of the LCH are identical to HAL's Advanced Light Helicopter (ALH) and only the fuselage and the landing gear have been designed afresh for the fighting version of the chopper.

After considerable design analysis, the weight class of the LCH has been maintained the same as the ALH, and therefore there should be little difficulty in the prototype successfully flying, he said.

The HAL RWRDC has also developed a helicopter simulator called the Hats-Off Simulator, which can be fitted with all the different cockpit mockups of the different choppers that HAL makes, he said.

HAL, IAI to convert Chetak chopper into UAV.

Hindustan Aeronautics Ltd (HAL) and Israel Aerospace Industries (IAI) will convert the HAL-built Chetak Helicopter into an Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV), said HAL Rotor Wing Research & Development Centre (RWRDC) Design Chief Dr Prasad Sampath. He was speaking on 'Development of Helicopters in India – An Overview' today, at the Aero India 2009 International Seminar on 'Aerospace – Perspectives and Trends in Technologies', being held in Bengaluru from 9 to 12 February.

Dr Sampath said that since the Chetak was already flying, he did not foresee any difficulties in converting it into a rotary-wing UAV, as all it required was integration of the command and control systems. HAL's Chetak is a version of the French Alouette helicopter.

He said that HAL was also working on a 12-tonne class 'Indian Multi-role Helicopter, and that present estimates were that India has a requirement of 290 such machines. He said that HAL was concentrating on helicopter design and production, and had established a separate helicopter complex within the company, with a separate managing director.

Looking forward to the next 20 years, he said that while military helicopter requirements might decline, all indications were that demand for civil helicopters was all set to increase, Sampath said HAL was looking at the worldwide market for civilian helicopters.

Tata, AgustaWestland JV to assemble AW119 copters.

Finmeccanica-owned helicopter manufacturer Augusta Westland has signed an MoU with the Tata Group to establish a joint venture company for AW119 helicopter assembly, completion and delivery to customers worldwide. AgustaWestland will retain responsibility for marketing and sales.

The new facility's first helicopter delivery is scheduled for 2011, production will eventually rise to 30 units a year. The joint venture company seeks to bid for the Indian armed forces' Reconnaissance and Surveillance Helicopter programme. In July 2008, India issued a request for proposals (RFP) for 197 military light utility helicopters, of which 133 would be deployed by the army and 64 by the air force.

The RFP was sent to AgustaWestland, Bell Helicopter, Eurocopter, Kamov and Sikorsky. The new helicopters will replace 1970s-vintage Hindustan Aeronautics (HAL) Chetak and Cheetah helicopters.
AmitR

Post by AmitR »

Vipul wrote:Tata, AgustaWestland JV to assemble AW119 copters.

Finmeccanica-owned helicopter manufacturer Augusta Westland has signed an MoU with the Tata Group to establish a joint venture company for AW119 helicopter assembly, completion and delivery to customers worldwide. AgustaWestland will retain responsibility for marketing and sales.

The new facility's first helicopter delivery is scheduled for 2011, production will eventually rise to 30 units a year. The joint venture company seeks to bid for the Indian armed forces' Reconnaissance and Surveillance Helicopter programme. In July 2008, India issued a request for proposals (RFP) for 197 military light utility helicopters, of which 133 would be deployed by the army and 64 by the air force.

The RFP was sent to AgustaWestland, Bell Helicopter, Eurocopter, Kamov and Sikorsky. The new helicopters will replace 1970s-vintage Hindustan Aeronautics (HAL) Chetak and Cheetah helicopters.
This seems to be the trend slowly taking over in India. It should not surprise us if in next 20 years most of the weapons development is done by the private sector companies. Wonder what will happen to the babus of DRDO then?

Tata, Israel Aero in $200m Joint Venture.

Tata Advanced Systems Ltd and Israel Aerospace Industries have lined up a $200 million joint venture in the defence arena, perhaps the biggest private sector investment of its kind.

Israel Aerospace will hold 26% and Tatas 76% in the venture, named Nova Integrated Systems Ltd, which would manufacture unmanned aerial vehicles, missiles, radar systems, homeland security systems, and electronic warfare systems.

Tata Advanced Systems Ltd is a subsidiary of Tata Industries Ltd.

According to Israel Aerospace officials, their board approved a $50 million investment in Nova on January 27. The Tatas will pump in $150 million. Nova would be led by a retired Indian Air Force Air Marshal, officials said.

Nova would also take care of much of the offset-agreement requirements of Israel Aerospace, which has several massive defence contracts in its kitty despite its involvement in the Barak missile scandal. The Barak missile is jointly produced by Israel Aerospace and Rafael, another Israeli firm.

A Central Bureau of Investigation probe has unearthed prima facie evidence of kickbacks in the deal signed to buy the Barak missiles for the Indian Navy in 2000. Despite the scandal and a recent directive issued on defence minister A K Antony's instructions to keep Israel Aerospace and Rafael out of tenders, the company continues to win huge contracts with the Cabinet itself making exceptions to it.

Israel Aerospace-Rafael combine haswon a whopping $2 billion dollar joint development project Defence Research and Development Organisation is the Indian partner to make medium range surface to air missiles for the Indian Air Force.

This project, approved after the Mumbai attacks, had been in the cold storage since 2007.

The venture comes a few weeks after BAE Systems and Mahindra & Mahindra's signed a 26:74 joint venture to develop mine-protected vehicles and other land-based military products.

Though there have been several collaborations announced between foreign military firms and Indian companies, most of them have been for the short term with no significant financial commitments. These two are probably the first significant steps by foreign firms to invest in defence in private sector in India.

The private sector is still hugely handicapped in making big forays into private sector because of several skewed rules that gives public sector undertakings and direct exports almost monopolistic hold over the booming defence sector.

A significant proposal to grant about a dozen private sector players such as the Tatas, Mahindras and L&T a status equivalent to defence PSUs is stuck with there being no political will to push it through

Samtel eyes chunk of IAF's Mirage.

Samtel group, a combat avionic company, is all set to bag a large chunk of the ?300 million offset obligation that is expected to arise out of mid-life upgradation of French warplane Mirage 2000 by Thales .

The Indian Air Force (IAF) is looking to upgrade 52 of its Mirage 2000s, for which it has shortlisted Thales -- Samtel's joint venture partner.

The commercial negotiation of the deal is expected to be concluded shortly.
Puneet Kaura, director of Samtel group, said being Thales' JV partner, it would be a natural beneficiary of the offset programme."Thales is in the final stages of discussion with the Indian Air Force (IAF). Once that is completed, it would be awarding the integrated avionic display system deal to the joint venture (that is to Samtel)," said Kaura.

Last year, French defence and aerospace firm Thales and New Delhi's Samtel group formed a joint venture firm -- Samtel Thales Avionics -- to design, manufacture and sell avionics systems in India. Besides Thales' Mirage 2000 upgradation deal, Samtel also sniffs business from the six bidders of IAF's $10-12 billion order for medium multi-role combat aircraft.

Lockheed Martin, Boeing, MiG, Dassault, Saab, and BAE Systems are vying for MMRCA deal."We are in discussion with all of them and irrespective of who wins the bid, the order for display system will come to us," Kaura claimed(Smart guy) .

The company will also be getting its first order from the Indian Navy during this year. The Indian Navy has selected Samtel's 20-inch LCD display for its latest warship programme.
Samtel, along with its JV partner, is looking at providing avionic display systems for the 80 Russian medium transport helicopters -- Mi-17 IV -- that has been ordered by the IAF. The Mi-17 IV is an upgraded version of the earlier Mi17 helicopters currently being used by the IAF.

"The contract for these helicopters has been closed. Since they (the helicopters) require higher mission capabilities, we are better placed to provide the avionic display system to them," said Kaura.

This seems to be the trend slowly taking over in India. It should not surprise us if in next 20 years most of the weapons development is done by the private sector companies. Wonder what will happen to the babus of DRDO then?
they will join these pvt firms ! :D
and some will still develop the most cutting edge stuff @ DRDO onlee.

also babus at DRDO ? you think babus research tech ? :eek:
ajay_ijn

Post by ajay_ijn »

so many JVs with foreign companies. what is the advantage of it? why don't the foreign companies just buy something from Indian companies or outsouce sub-assemblies.

also what exactly would include offsets?
can Boeing outsource civilian aircraft work to India as part of MMRCA offsets or is it strictly military products?
AmitR wrote:
Vipul wrote:Tata, AgustaWestland JV to assemble AW119 copters.

DRDO will be doing the DARPA job.

HAL gets back 450 of its former employees
Recession seems to be working positively in a way for the State-owned Hindustan Aeronautics Ltd, which says it has got back 450 of its former employees after it advertised jobs for them.
The Union Cabinet has cleared the design and development of a 3-tonne light utility copter. The combat version of the indigenous ALH – called the light combat helicopter – is being readied to fly for the first time by mid-August.

The Intermediate jet trainer under development will fly on Monday with the new Russian engine. HAL expects large orders fromIAF this year.
ajay_ijn

Post by ajay_ijn »

Russia transfers production technology, not design knowledge: DRDO
BANGALORE - Indian scientists and engineers face problems with the upgrade and maintenance of Russian weaponry and equipment in service with the defense forces because the designs and other details are not transferred at the time of sale of these weaponry.

Addressing a news conference here, chief of India's Defence Research and Development Organisation [DRDO], M. Natarajan said the main problems with Russian platforms is that the Russians only transfer production technology, not design knowledge.

To overcome these difficulties DRDO needs to build indigenous design capabilities in order to meet the future aerospace requirements of the country. As a result the DRDO is forging collaboration in several sectors including propulsion, sensors and other materials, he added.
Nitesh

Post by Nitesh »

what a top notch BS
The DRDO has been drawing flak for delays in several defense projects, in some cases the delay runs to over two decades
Two decades :eek:
Similarly, the Akash air defense system undertaken in the early 1980s has yet to be introduced, which has led to purchases of the Israeli Spyder surface to missile system late last year.
Spyder is SR SAM it is getting inducted because of Akash?

India's indigenous N-sub secret is out

The Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) has added a feather to its cap. It is delivering on schedule— in 2009— India's first indigenously built nuclear powered submarine (SSBN).....

.......this would also entail fundamental change in the country's nuclear weapons policies for the peculiar nature of nuclear submarine deployment.

A nuclear submarine remains submerged underwater for most of its deployment period thus making communication difficult especially in times of a national emergency.

A nuclear submarine commander is therefore armed with a separate launch regimen that is qualitatively different from those used above ground.

Hence, when India launches its nuclear submarine, reportedly three, it would have to put in place launch codes that would provide a degree of autonomy to the commanders. This, in turn, would change the deployment pattern of at least a portion of the country's nuclear forces to 'ready arsenal'. This would require a political decision......
Nitesh

Post by Nitesh »

From above link
The reactor is of the pressurised water variety
So it does not require enriched uranium :eek:

Nitesh wrote:From above link
The reactor is of the pressurised water variety
So it does not require enriched uranium :eek:
It does

http://www.nationmaster.com/encyclopedi ... er-reactor
Advantages

* PWR reactors are very stable due to their tendency to produce less power as temperatures increase, this makes the reactor easier to operate from a stability standpoint.

* PWR reactors can be operated with a core containing less fissile material than is required for them to go prompt critical. This significantly reduces the chance that the reactor will run out of control and makes PWR designs relatively safe from criticality accidents.

* Because PWR reactors use enriched uranium as fuel they can use ordinary water as a moderator rather than the much more expensive heavy water.

* PWR turbine cycle loop is separate from the primary loop, so the water in the secondary loop is not contaminated by radioactive materials.

In nuclear engineering, an assembly is prompt critical if for each nuclear fission event, one or more of the immediate or prompt neutrons released causes an additional fission event. ... Heavy water is dideuterium oxide, or D2O or 2H2O. It is chemically the same as normal water, H2O, but the hydrogen atoms are of the heavy isotope deuterium, in which the nucleus contains a neutron in addition to the proton found in the nucleus of any hydrogen atom. ...

Disadvantages

* The coolant water must be highly pressurized to remain liquid at high temperatures. This requires high strength piping and a heavy pressure vessel and hence increases construction costs. The higher pressure can increase the consequences of a Loss of Coolant Accident.

* Most pressurized water reactors cannot be refueled while operating. This decreases the availability of the reactor- it has to go offline for comparably long periods of time (some weeks).

* The high temperature water coolant with boric acid dissolved in it is corrosive to carbon steel (but not stainless steel), this can cause radioactive corrosion products to circulate in the primary coolant loop. This not only limits the lifetime of the reactor, but the systems that filter out the corrosion products and adjust the boric acid concentration add significantly to the overall cost of the reactor and radiation exposure.

* Water absorbs neutrons making it necessary to enrich the uranium fuel, which increases the costs of fuel production. If heavy water is used it is possible to operate the reactor with natural uranium, but the production of heavy water requires large amounts of energy and is hence expensive.

* Because water acts as a neutron moderator it is not possible to build a fast neutron reactor with a PWR design. For this reason it is not possible to build a fast breeder reactor with water coolant.

* Because the reactor produces energy more slowly at higher temperatures, a sudden cooling of the reactor coolant could increase power production until safety systems shut down the reactor (OPΔT trip).
AmitR

Post by AmitR »

RaviBg wrote:HAL gets back 450 of its former employees
Recession seems to be working positively in a way for the State-owned Hindustan Aeronautics Ltd, which says it has got back 450 of its former employees after it advertised jobs for them.
The Union Cabinet has cleared the design and development of a 3-tonne light utility copter. The combat version of the indigenous ALH – called the light combat helicopter – is being readied to fly for the first time by mid-August.

The Intermediate jet trainer under development will fly on Monday with the new Russian engine. HAL expects large orders fromIAF this year.
After a few quarters when the market gets better most of these will vanish again. :roll:

Rafael, BEL plan weapon systems JV.

Rafael Advanced Defense Systems Ltd, the Israeli armaments major, is to form a joint venture company with Bharat Electronics Ltd to manufacture several of the company's air-to-air and air-to-surface weapon systems.

Negotiations about the establishment of the venture have reached "advanced stages", said Rafael's vice-president, marketing Lova Drori just before AeroIndia 2009 got under way in Bangalore. The move is intended to enable Rafael to increase its sales in the Indian market, and to meet technology transfer and offset requirements.

Drori says the full line of aerial weapon systems manufactured by Rafael will be offered for local assembly and production by the joint company, and believes there is "huge" potential demand for the equipment.
ajay_ijn

Post by ajay_ijn »

Vipul wrote:Rafael, BEL plan weapon systems JV.

Rafael Advanced Defense Systems Ltd, the Israeli armaments major, is to form a joint venture company with Bharat Electronics Ltd to manufacture several of the company's air-to-air and air-to-surface weapon systems.

Negotiations about the establishment of the venture have reached "advanced stages", said Rafael's vice-president, marketing Lova Drori just before AeroIndia 2009 got under way in Bangalore. The move is intended to enable Rafael to increase its sales in the Indian market, and to meet technology transfer and offset requirements.

Drori says the full line of aerial weapon systems manufactured by Rafael will be offered for local assembly and production by the joint company, and believes there is "huge" potential demand for the equipment.
shouldn't it go to OFB or HAL or even BDL for JV. i mean BEL manufactures munitions and missiles?

First defence fund launched at Aero India.

Sebi-approved India Rizing Fund of Rs 750 crore to invest in small and medium enterprises engaged in defence production.

Top defence decision-makers at the Aero India 2009 show in Bangalore have declared repeatedly that the economic slowdown would not impact defence spending, which would continue to rise in absolute terms. Today, India’s first 100 per cent defence-oriented investment fund — named the India Rizing Fund — announced its official launch at this biennial air expo.

The India Rizing Fund is a Rs 750 crore venture capital fund, approved by Securities and Exchange Board of India (Sebi) for investing in small and medium enterprises (SMEs) engaged in producing defence equipment. The Foreign Investment Promotion Board (FIPB) has approved raising Rs 550 crore from international investors; the fund expects to raise Rs 200 crore from the domestic market.

Rajesh Narayan, the Managing Trustee of the India Rizing Fund explains why, despite depressed economic conditions, he expects the fund to post strong gains. “There is, first of all, strong government encouragement for privatising defence production to the greatest extent possible. This means growing business for private companies, as defence PSUs and Ordnance Factories outsource production to them.”

“In addition, India’s new offset rules demand that foreign defence majors supplying arms to India will have to source defence goods from India, to the tune of 30-50 per cent of the overall contract value. Already, a string of global majors are in talks with Indian defence SMEs for fulfiling those offset obligations.”

Global majors’ offset obligations are expected to amount to about $20 billion over the coming ten years. Just one contract — the procurement of 126 medium multirole combat aircraft (MMRCA)— will generate offset obligations worth an estimated $6 billion.

The India Rizing Fund is in talks with several global majors, who have a strategic and commercial interest in strengthening the network of SMEs, so that their offset obligations can be fulfiled without difficulty. The fund plans to funnel its corpus into promising defence SMEs, providing the capital needed for building up their manufacturing infrastructure and delivery capability. It plans to actively participate in the management of the companies in which it invests, bringing in professional practices and processes.

“We are having a hard time finding enough well-structured Indian companies that can help us fulfil our offset obligations”, says an senior executive from the Boeing Corporation, on condition of anonymity. In Dec 08, Bell withdrew from a $600 million contract to supply India with 197 light helicopters, citing difficulties in meeting its offset obligations.

The India Rizing Fund plans to invest 90 per cent of its capital into defence manufacturing, and about 10 per cent into defence R&D units that are working in the fields of data fusion, thermal imaging and sensors.

Rajesh Narayan, the sponsor and promoter of the fund was earlier the Director and India Head, Specialist Finance, ANZ Investment Bank (ANZIB).
ajay_ijn

Post by ajay_ijn »

MoD gives go-ahead to light utility helicopter project
India's defence ministry has cleared Hindustan Aeronautics' proposal to manufacture 187 light utility helicopters, paving the way for the company to begin a design phase and possibly sound out potential foreign partners.

"We will now start working on the programme and we expect to begin deliveries in five to six years," says Ashok Baweja, HAL chairman.

There has been speculation that HAL could work with a foreign vendor to develop the aircraft from scratch, although Baweja says that it is too early too say if this would be the case.

Eurocopter, which allowed HAL to licence-produce several hundred Indian versions of the Alouette and Lama, is the likely company if a partner is sought. A possible model for the partnership is one that Eurocopter has with South Korea's Korea Aerospace Industries. The company is a partner in the Korea Helicopter Programme, which aims to develop an 8t utility helicopter for the country's army. Eurocopter would also help KAI to market the design outside South Korea.

India requires a smaller single-engine helicopter in the 2.5-3t category, with a range of up to 500km (270nm) and a 500kg (1,100lb) payload. HAL, which will also be responsible for the maintenance of the Western-manufactured helicopters, is likely to create a new division to oversee the entire LUH programme. This will be separate from its existing Dhruv advanced light helicopter and light combat helicopter programmes.
Forces did a good thing by splitting the requirement. lets hope HAL keeps timelines realistic or choose foreign parthner, even otherwise forces will have option to simply order more of imported type.

whats amazing is militarys shopping requirement of 350 light utility helicopters for all three services, even after committing to order 250 Dhruvs. entire Dhruv program didn't reduce helicopter requirement in other categories even by an iota.

Tilak

Post by Tilak »

Indian shareholder to own 51% in defence cos: Kamal Nath
Feb 13, 2009 at 17:33
Commerce Minister Kamal Nath said for companies involved in defence and information and broadcast, the largest Indian shareholder will have to own 51% equity. He clarified that the definition of ownership was in line with that in the Companies Act. He added that for calculation of indirect FDI, all categories of foreign investment would be considered.
Here is a verbatim transcript of the Kamal Nath's address to mediapersons. Also see the accompanying video.
The Home Minister had conveyed to you this and there was a press release also made. This was followed by a PIB press release. I wish to clarify since a lot of stories have gone around and amplify this today. While the calculation of foreign direct investment (FDI) in an Indian company had been fairly clear, the need for fresh guidelines on calculation of direct and indirect foreign investment arose as a result of use of different regimes across different sectors. This was a practice in the past that different sectors have different methods of calculating indirect foreign investment.

We were using different methods in information and broadcasting, telecom, insurance and in other sectors. The present methodology which was then was very cumbersome with difficult calculations. When large number of companies with indirect foreign equity had to be taken into account, one further implication of the pro-rata method was the possibility of anomalous and unintended consequences emerging from which may not have been in keeping with the spirit of our foreign investment policy.

For example, if there is a foreign company incorporated in India with 50% equity, a downstream 51% investment by this company could operate in all sectors. So it was a foreign company and it could operate in all sensitive sectors like I&B and defense since as per the earlier guidelines. The calculation was proportionate and as per the proportion it could since they would not even if it was a foreign company, downstream it was calculated proportionately. So if that company invested 50.5% which was held 51% - the total investment 50.5% of 51% became 25.76%. So where there was a 25% cap or 26% cap – he was within that cap. So he was allowed to do that by that method.

This was not the spirit of our FDI policy where just by opening a subsidiary in India non-residence could operate in sensitive sectors. This difficulty further got heightened in multilayered structures. If there were 2-3 structures which were happening and the present guidelines which have been issued now corrects this scenario. It was also necessary for the first time to introduce the concept of ownership and control in the guidelines for calculation of total foreign investment.

The underlying considerations behind sectoral caps are concerns relating to ownership and control.
Ownership and control have been defined in the press notes which were cleared by the cabinet on 11th and follow the definitions of the company’s act. Bringing in the concept of control in our foreign investment guidelines is a policy shift we made, clarification which we made that at the heart of any FDI will be control and management. This is the most important thing.

Considering all these factors three core principles were adopted for formulation of new guidelines. The guidelines for calculation of direct and indirect foreign investment should be simple, homogeneous and consistent across sectors. The guidelines should migrate to a system which recognizes both the concepts of ownership and management control and not merely either – it should not be ‘either-or’, it should be both. The guidelines should not lead to passing a management control in sensitive sectors from residence to non-residence.

By the previous method, the control and management could pass into the hands of non-residence which was because of the proportionate calculation - 50 is 25, so somebody holds 50 and then you calculate in the other downstream, it will be 25. But he controls the company. So now this has been corrected, this was anomalous situation which has been corrected.

The most important feature of the new guidelines on calculation of direct and indirect foreign investment in companies is that indirect foreign investment will not be counted as foreign investment for such investment companies which are owned and controlled – the word ‘controlled’ has been defined in the company’s act and in the guidelines, we just picked it up, so it is nothing new – it must be controlled by Indians. So if there is a question of Tatas, Tata may have GDRs/ADRs over the companies but it is an Indian company, it is controlled by Indian. We cannot start saying that these are foreign companies. So this concept of controlled and managed by Indians is the most important part of this policy framework.

For the purpose of competition of indirect foreign investments, we have defined it in a comprehensive way taking all types of foreign investments now under the ambit of the above calculations - FDI, portfolio investments by FIIs, investments by NRIs (Non Resident Indians), ADRs (American Depository Receipts), GDRs (Global Depository Receipts), foreign currency convertible bonds (FCCBs), foreign currency convertible debentures all these will now be calculated for these purposes.
There is another thing which was a very anomalous situation. Let us take an example of there is 49% cap and the person invests 49% and he goes to somebody else and says you buy the balanced 51%, we will finance you. So that person is a beneficial owner, there was no concept of a beneficial owner. So they have a shareholder’s agreement that all the voting rights of the Indian will lie with him because he has financed him. So we have said that there must be full disclosure of any shareholder’s inter se agreements, which has an effect on ownership and control.

This will have an effect on ownership and control because if there is a shareholder’s agreement even if somebody owns 51%, which is not disclosed, now this disclosure has become mandatory. Any beneficial interest that a foreigner may have will also have to be disclosed.

We have introduced special features for sensitive sectors of Information and Broadcasting and Defence where the Indian shareholder would have to have at least 51% of the total equity. We have to look at not who has 49%, but the minimum required would be 51% in the case of I&B and Defence. They would have to have a minimum of 51% irrespective of any method of calculation. This has again been brought in. The concept of beneficial interest has also been brought in. This is beneficial interest as defined in the Companies Act.
Kudos! to the Govt for taking a firm stand, will hopefully yield good results wrt. long term goal of indigenisation.