Newbie Corner & Military Miscellaneous

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
RSoami

Re: Newbie Corner & Military Miscellaneous

Post by RSoami »

Gaur wrote:
RSoami wrote:Haha.. :rotfl:
This video should also go to the humour thread I think
Very sorry bhai logan but I think the it was also the narrators wish..He was attempting to get the plane to crash ...
Perhaps I was mistaken.. It was a bheri bheri gud video...apologies :oops:
jimmy_moh

Post by jimmy_moh »

shiv wrote:Nothing happens to subs and ships in deep water. They just move up and down gently with he water. But the "up" of the wave approaching the shore smashes everything in its path, fills the land with water for miles inland after which all that water flows back to the sea causing more damage as stuff is washed away.

The coast off Japan was probably full of ships. Not a single report exists of any ships having felt anything leave alone suffer damage.
what was our situation when the Tsunami hits our andaman islands... any damage happend to our millitary assets

jimmy_moh wrote:
what was our situation when the Tsunami hits our andaman islands... any damage happend to our millitary assets
On land yes. At sea no. This was discussed on BRF then.
saadhak

Post by saadhak »

I have been an addicted lurker on BRF for more than a month now. Finally decided to take the plunge and change status from spectator to participant.

I think this should be a question for the TSP thread, but will be discrete and play it safe since this is my first post.
Am curious why the role of KSA is not being discussed or has not been been brought up in the RD discussion.
Events in the recent past seem to indicate that KSA played a pivotal role in the outcome.
The implications when deliberated can help to learn (or re-inforce what is known) quite a bit not only about the US - KSA relation but also about which 'nabj' of TSP to press for getting what done.

Some thoughts around the KSA angle:
1. US president, senators, secretary of state and others failed to get a positive response; but TSP respectfully agreed and accepted KSA a trusted broker
2. With US saying they did not pay the blood money and TSP not coming forward (obviously), quite likely that KSA cut the cheque. (chutte paise for them to get this issue resolved)
3. If KSA funded the diyat, it seems to be a lesser evil than TSP extracting a cost. (TSP extracting a cost ultimately translates into India paying the cost in terms of lives - among other actual time and money costs)
4. If the KSA did indeed play a pivotal role, it means TSP did not exactly get to drag this RD affair as long as they would have liked to. Which means they compromised and were unable to milk it to its full potential. Good thing for us. At least a lesser evil.
5. Wondering why Pakis are not letting out a squeak about KSA trying to broker a deal - whose sole purpose was to free RD. Would love to see Pakis cursing KSA along with Unkil.
Brando

Post by Brando »

I have a question to members who know Sanskrit:

What are the Sanskrit equivalents/translations of the Latin phrases : "Semper Fidelis" (Always Faithful), "Per Mare, Per Terram" (By sea, by land) and "Fortitudine" (with courage) ?

saadhak wrote:I have been an addicted lurker on BRF for more than a month now. Finally decided to take the plunge and change status from spectator to participant.

I think this should be a question for the TSP thread, but will be discrete and play it safe since this is my first post.
Am curious why the role of KSA is not being discussed or has not been been brought up in the RD discussion.
Events in the recent past seem to indicate that KSA played a pivotal role in the outcome.
The implications when deliberated can help to learn (or re-inforce what is known) quite a bit not only about the US - KSA relation but also about which 'nabj' of TSP to press for getting what done.

Some thoughts around the KSA angle:
1. US president, senators, secretary of state and others failed to get a positive response; but TSP respectfully agreed and accepted KSA a trusted broker
2. With US saying they did not pay the blood money and TSP not coming forward (obviously), quite likely that KSA cut the cheque. (chutte paise for them to get this issue resolved)
3. If KSA funded the diyat, it seems to be a lesser evil than TSP extracting a cost. (TSP extracting a cost ultimately translates into India paying the cost in terms of lives - among other actual time and money costs)
4. If the KSA did indeed play a pivotal role, it means TSP did not exactly get to drag this RD affair as long as they would have liked to. Which means they compromised and were unable to milk it to its full potential. Good thing for us. At least a lesser evil.
5. Wondering why Pakis are not letting out a squeak about KSA trying to broker a deal - whose sole purpose was to free RD. Would love to see Pakis cursing KSA along with Unkil.
My reply here
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 9#p1049939
S_Prasad

Post by S_Prasad »

TSunami videos from a CG ship
S_Prasad

Post by S_Prasad »

[youtube]aNCTJ9EBAHc&NR=1[/youtube]
Libiyan AF-looks like a Su 24

Gurus Why havent we ever seen an AWACS in a sniper role(sorry about my ignorance). It has the data on the ingress and hence can launch a long range A-A missile towards the hostile aircraft, cant it ? It anyways has the payload capacity and adding target ability should not be a problem. A brahmos configured for a-a role can also be used because it has the 300km range that is needed to maintain the safety margin for the AWACS. While i understand that as BV range increases, the hit probability goes down substantially owing to existing A-A missiles running out of steam, this can be remedied by a brahmos/like missile which has active propulsion throughout its envelope and which can handle high Gs during the terminal homing phase.

Btw Bose ji said the pilot of the plane shot near Benghazi didnt have enough altitude to eject, i was watching the video and i think he ejected at around 1500-2000ft isnt that enough ?

suryag wrote:Gurus Why havent we ever seen an AWACS in a sniper role(sorry about my ignorance). It has the data on the ingress and hence can launch a long range A-A missile towards the hostile aircraft, cant it ? It anyways has the payload capacity and adding target ability should not be a problem. A brahmos configured for a-a role can also be used because it has the 300km range that is needed to maintain the safety margin for the AWACS. While i understand that as BV range increases, the hit probability goes down substantially owing to existing A-A missiles running out of steam, this can be remedied by a brahmos/like missile which has active propulsion throughout its envelope and which can handle high Gs during the terminal homing phase.

Btw Bose ji said the pilot of the plane shot near Benghazi didnt have enough altitude to eject, i was watching the video and i think he ejected at around 1500-2000ft isnt that enough ?
Interesting idea.

The only "equivalent" of this is the armed Maritime Patrol aircraft. I think there are no armed AWACS only because of historic "legacy" reasons. AWACS as a concept came up long after there were interceptors and there were no missiles that were effective at AWACS ranges. Even now there are no AAMs that reliably work at ranges of 400 km which is how far an AWACS may be from a target.

Brahmos AAM? No need to have a 300 kg warhead for an AAM. If you reduce the warhead size you get a totally new missile because all other weights and sizes go down. Also a smaller missile can be more agile.

I agree that the pilot appears to have bailed out at a safe altitude. But a still photo shows that the chute has not billowed. Maybe ther was a technical fault in the eject mechanism. Even ejection seats need maintenance and checking and god know what world class of China standards were being maintained in Libya.

S_Prasad wrote: Libiyan AF-looks like a Su 24
I personally think it looks like an MiG 23/27

^ Me too, Su-24 has two nozzles and the vertical tail fin is significantly smaller as compared to the flogger.
S_Prasad

Post by S_Prasad »

S_Prasad wrote: Libiyan AF-looks like a Su 24
I personally think it looks like an MiG 23/27
Wiki says it's a Su 24.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Libyan_Air_Force.

S_Prasad wrote: Wiki says it's a Su 24.
I am sure Wiki is wrong in this instance.The crashing aircraft looks like a MiG 23 to me. It has a single exhaust Su-24 has 2 engines) and the Su-24s swivelling wings are set relatively further back and the tail is different. The Su 24 is a very Tornado shaped aircraft from these angles.

bmallick

Post by bmallick »

Gurus I have question that has been bugging me for the last few days. The issue is with regards to TOT agreements in fighter deals or for that matter even tank deals or similar other defense equipment deals.

Aircrafts, helicopters, tanks etc are full systems and have hundreds of sub-systems and components in them. Lets take the example of a fighter. Not all sub-systems/components are made by the manufacturer of the fighter. In fact majority of the sub-systems are made by other companies. For example in case of Rafale, the plane is designed,developed and manufactued by Dassault. However the Radar is by Thales, missiles by MBDA, lot of other avionics by EADS, engine by Snecma, tyres by someone else, ejection seat by Martin-Baker and so on. Now, in this case if we have a TOT for Rafale with Dassault, would that TOT also include TOT for lets say the Radar, engine etc. These systems are manufactued by some other company and not Dassault. How come Dassault provide TOT for equipments not made by it. I hope, I have elucidated the questions enough.
dhawalnaik

Post by dhawalnaik »

Hi fellas,
My first post here, and a very very basic doubt

Is the flight 'engineer' in any IAF aircraft (or any aircraft) a pilot or an 'engineer'?
Logic says an engineer but the IAF does not spcify it on it's open to the web info as far as my (unexhaustive) research could take me.

A total newbie question and I badly wanted to find a newbie-er topic to post this under but I'd be glad if someone could answer it here.
ManishH
Location: Sovereign, Socialist, Secular, Democractic republic

Post by ManishH »

Question from a landlubber ...

PLAAF orbat on wikipedia says they have ~4 fighter divisions (36 sqdns) based in military regions bordering India. But 4 times as many facing Taiwan and Korean Peninsula. Basically, it's just more than matching India's 25-30 sqdns which can be brought to bear upon it. I can think of only these to explain it ...

- Wikipedia is dated
- PRC expects no aggression from India and considers it's eastern seaboard higher stakes than Himalayan border. So it's relying on Pak perfidy (2 front war) to help to achieve this.
- PLAAF trains to move sqdns to the war theatre very quickly (Stride 2009). Its pilots, if not entire sqdns, already rotate between military regions to stay trained for all theatres.

http://www.scramble.nl/mil/2/india/iaf-orbat.htm
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PLAAF
http://spsaviation.net/story_issue.asp?Article=379

Any explanation for PLAAF assymmetric deployment welcome. TIA.
S_Prasad

Post by S_Prasad »

S_Prasad wrote: Wiki says it's a Su 24.
I am sure Wiki is wrong in this instance.The crashing aircraft looks like a MiG 23 to me. It has a single exhaust Su-24 has 2 engines) and the Su-24s swivelling wings are set relatively further back and the tail is different. The Su 24 is a very Tornado shaped aircraft from these angles.

yup you seem correct on id'ing it as mig 23.
the other side of the story is this is the only fighter jet that belonged to the Rebels...as per various news papers.
prasad_

Re: Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Military

Post by prasad_ »

These are indeed T55s. You can identify them from the frontal view. The driving compartment is on the left side instead of the middle (as in T72).
prasad_

Post by prasad_ »

Am more of a groundie. So, enlighten me.
I imagine that the Zu23s don't have more than 3 km range.
So, are they useful for the rebels in Libya?
Cant the Libyan Airforce just overfly at a high altitude and drop bombs like the old B17s ?

prasad_ wrote:Am more of a groundie. So, enlighten me.
Cant the Libyan Airforce just overfly at a high altitude and drop bombs like the old B17s ?
Dropping bombs with reasonable accuracy from high altitude is a great challenge. Greater is the drop height, greater will be the variance in air pressure and wind thought the flight patch.

prasad_ wrote:Am more of a groundie. So, enlighten me.

One of the videos of a lecture associated with Aero India was about usage of bombs - I think this was the "Integrating Western and Russian weapons" lecture.

The man says - with dumb bombs - you aim to hit a bridge and you drop 10 dumb bombs. One hits the bridge and 9 hit the river. But with PGMs - you drop one bomb and it hits the third pier from the left 10 feet above water level as planned.

So while the Libyan air force can do that - their effectiveness is likely to be low.

^^ After frantically searching for "weapons of peace" all over the place, finally mailed the author himself asking about where i could get hold of one copy.

He replied saying that all copies are sold out and i could try checking out in some libraries!! :(( :((

Any idea as to which libraries in B'luru might stock this book?

shiv wrote: I am sure Wiki is wrong in this instance.The crashing aircraft looks like a MiG 23 to me. It has a single exhaust Su-24 has 2 engines) and the Su-24s swivelling wings are set relatively further back and the tail is different. The Su 24 is a very Tornado shaped aircraft from these angles.

Spot on saar it's a MIG23, it seems that the rebels only shot down one of their own jets. More info here given in the wiki link and the references cited.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Free_Libya ... ite_note-4

VinodTK wrote:Fire at Defence Ministry office

Very strange news!!
Babus burning the evidence...

Oldest trick in the book. Any fire in a govt office is usually to destroy evidence :D
samverma

Post by samverma »

i have a question for the gurus - Keeping in mind the air force strengths of both Pakistan and China around 2020-2025, what should be the ideal strength of the IAF taking into consideration the existing aircrafts and potential orders (including MRCA, LCA, AMCA etc.) Am not talking just squadron strengths but also the mix and match of type of roles that may be required. The same question also arises for the Army and Navy....Can somebody work out the desired numbers/equipments etc. across the various terrains, scenarios etc...SORRY IF ALREADY ANSWERED..Would request the links for my knowledge
Kailash

Post by Kailash »

Tata signs up MIT energy guru for power from water

There are a few other articles about an "artificial leaf" which produces hydrogen out of water with effiencies never before heard. If tata commecialized this technology it could help a lot of Indians - domestic and military.
abhishek-nayak

BAISED BBC: SLANDER AGAINST INDIA

Post by abhishek-nayak »

friends today i saw a program called as "asia today".It was airing a special show on insurgency in manipur and nagaland and i could believe it that the channel was behaving more like al jazeera and pakistan TV than a responsible international news channel.Not only it was running anti-india propaganda but misleading viewers too.The anchor aired third grade comments like "indian army kills 1000 people every year in fake encounter in manipur", "people of manipur are fighting for independence against india", "india is oppressing the people of north east" etc etc

Re: BAISED BBC: SLANDER AGAINST INDIA

abhishek-nayak wrote:friends today i saw a program called as "asia today".It was airing a special show on insurgency in manipur and nagaland and i could believe it that the channel was behaving more like al jazeera and pakistan TV than a responsible international news channel.Not only it was running anti-india propaganda but misleading viewers too.The anchor aired third grade comments like "indian army kills 1000 people every year in fake encounter in manipur", "people of manipur are fighting for independence against india", "india is oppressing the people of north east" etc etc
Which channel? "Asia today" sounds like the patriotic channel BBC.

Noob Pooch...
On the WSI Dhruv, can we retain the EO payload, without having the guns and other weaponry??

Shivji I have to concede that your enthusiasm for such stuff is pretty contagious and no I am not complaining. :D
bmallick

Post by bmallick »

With the advent of HARMs the use of radar for prolonged searching for aircraft has become risky. One of the posters, I think Pranav, suggested using Infrared sensors. Thinking on the same lines, we see that modern IRST's on aircrafts are pretty small and have very good range, 30-50 kms. Also since they derive power from the aircraft itself, with radar sucking up most of the power generated, would it wrong to think that their power requirements are not large and can be met by a small generator? If so, how difficult would be to design a IRST sensor which can be man portable by a small crew of say 3-4. distribute it among companies.
Multatuli

Post by Multatuli »

Abhishek Nayak, was it one of these presenters? :

Sharanjit Leyl : http://www.bbc.co.uk/pressoffice/biogra ... leyl.shtml

Rico Hizon : http://www.bbc.co.uk/pressoffice/biogra ... izon.shtml

If so then it's indeed the BBC.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Asia_Today

bmallick wrote:With the advent of HARMs the use of radar for prolonged searching for aircraft has become risky. One of the posters, I think Pranav, suggested using Infrared sensors. Thinking on the same lines, we see that modern IRST's on aircrafts are pretty small and have very good range, 30-50 kms. Also since they derive power from the aircraft itself, with radar sucking up most of the power generated, would it wrong to think that their power requirements are not large and can be met by a small generator? If so, how difficult would be to design a IRST sensor which can be man portable by a small crew of say 3-4. distribute it among companies.

One of the things that AESA does is to paint targets for a very brief moment and continuously change frequencies so that a radar detector is not able to get a lock on the source. AESA capabilities on the ground would be useful. If that could be integrated with IRST it would be useful.

Also radar detection in particular wavelengths that are less affected by stealth - I forget what that is but I recall reading about it.
bmallick

Post by bmallick »

shiv wrote:AESA capabilities on the ground would be useful. If that could be integrated with IRST it would be useful.
Also radar detection in particular wavelengths that are less affected by stealth - I forget what that is but I recall reading about it.
Most stealth fighters are optimized for stealth in the X band and such higher frequencies. So we can use lower frequency radars for detection. However that would mean some degradation in exact location determination, but that should not be a problem. Because if based on the general location we fire a IR missile, it can go there are look for the enemy.

hmm.. DRDO has developed AESA radar for the AEW platform that is currently being integrated. How difficult it would be develop off shoots from it and make smaller family of land based versions. Versions which are truck mounted, still smaller ones on jeeps etc...and finally the same can be deployed on IN ships. These things should be done on an urgent basis.

Five foot fatigue gash opens up in South West Airlines plane

Always wear seat belts.Never know when it comes in useful.

Apparently around 15 years or 39k landings cause fatigue..
bapatnikhil

Post by bapatnikhil »

Hi,
I have asked this before but got no reply. I have seen officers wearing their shoulder rank insignia in gold with various coloured borders like red, yellow and green. What do those border colours mean?