BR Main Site Feedback

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: BR Main Site Feedback

*******ANNOUNCEMENT*********

During the recent DB issues we had, user ID's of some of the recent members'
(as in those who have registered within last 5 years) have gone missing.

The good news is that it has been possible to resurrect the members' details from their posts,
the bad news is that the user ID's themselves have not been recovered ; resulting in members
with usernames like "member_123456".

Here's the most important bit : If you can identify your post(s), please email 'admn DAWT brf AT gmail DAWT com'
with a) your old username b) your new username i.e member_#####
c) a link to your post. (copy paste your post along with thread link & page if you cant link your post)

and we will restore your old username.

By my record, this is the second time that we have had a site failure. This is at least unfortunate. May I make an offer to part pay for the movement of this site to a cloud based solution with its attendant backups for a reasonable monthly payment. Any others willing to assist by sharing the load?
sohamn

Post by sohamn »

We should host BR in AWS to make sure it is always available and recoverable at a fraction of cost.

Folks, you've got a bug in the code for the embedded youtube video links for the [youtube] tag.
Specifically, BRF now always redirects http:// pages to https:// (which is a good thing), so attempting to view (for instance) http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... start=1400 will redirect to viewtopic.php?f=1&t=3479&start=1400 automatically (note the https:// in the URL). However the youtube embedded videos are still pointing to http:// and don't work right. For instance, when you view-source the HTML for that page, you can see:

<object width="425" height="350"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/VcRQfHx0xDo"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/VcRQfHx0xDo" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed></object>
Those http:// should be https://, otherwise it won't render correctly in a page served over HTTPS. You should fix the [youtube] tag in the server code to use https:// urls. Please let me know if you want some help with fixing this.
testadmin

Post by testadmin »

works now...

The "Hide my online status this session", does not seem to be working. Any reason or fix for this??

TIA
testadmin

Post by testadmin »

nah its working alright. why do you think its not working?

testadmin wrote:nah its working alright. why do you think its not working?
I can still see my name at the bottom when I log in, that's why.

like so "Users browsing this forum: chetak and 22 guests", in spite of checking the box

and the time is "It is currently 18 Aug 2016, 00:39"

Please fix it.

and this are names from the political drama thread

"Ankar, chetak, hanumadu, joji, KJo, shravanp, skaranam, Vivek Kumar and 0 guests"
testadmin

Post by testadmin »

Do the following test

Login in your regular window.
Open up a second "incognito" window in a browser. open up the forum page and see if your name comes up. Make sure the forum page in the incognito window does not show you as logged in.

testadmin wrote:nah its working alright. why do you think its not working?
I can still see my name at the bottom when I log in, that's why.

like so "Users browsing this forum: chetak and 22 guests", in spite of checking the box

and the time is "It is currently 18 Aug 2016, 00:39"

Please fix it.

and this are names from the political drama thread

"Ankar, chetak, hanumadu, joji, KJo, shravanp, skaranam, Vivek Kumar and 0 guests"
If your name is in italics it's hidden

Hakim, coffee spill alert. I had a deep (my ample) belly laugh. Please to warn onlee.

That said, I have q for Chetak. Why bother if nobody knows who you are and fro. Where you are logging in and at what your local time?

matrimc wrote:That said, I have q for Chetak. Why bother if nobody knows who you are and fro. Where you are logging in and at what your local time?
His wife knows.. thats enough.

I have some photos of Indian Air force and Indian Navy aircraft, please let me know to whom i have to send them for updating BR Gallery

Kakarat wrote:I have some photos of Indian Air force and Indian Navy aircraft, please let me know to whom i have to send them for updating BR Gallery
Kakarat Can you email to iafhistory@gmail.com please.
Akshay D

Post by Akshay D »

Hi,

I live in the Netherlands / Germany and cannot access the BR main page. I can access the forum by directly going to forums.bharat-rakshak.com.. but that's it. None of the other sub-pages are accessible.

Is is just me (anyone else in the EU pls confirm) ?

cant access it from US either. 1000Hrs EST. will follow up.

I can't access the Main page from the US.
Mollick.R

Post by Mollick.R »

As on 2030 IST I'm also unable to open the BR home page.

Jagan wrote:
Kakarat wrote:I have some photos of Indian Air force and Indian Navy aircraft, please let me know to whom i have to send them for updating BR Gallery
Kakarat Can you email to iafhistory@gmail. com please.

Have sent a few photos to the given mail id

I also not able to access BR Main page
Bhaskar_T

Post by Bhaskar_T »

As on 00:39 IST I'm also unable to open the BR home page.

Can't open BR main site from bangalore, kerala as well. Forum is accessible, no issues

I also able to access BR Main page now (11:40 IST)

Admin Khan,
Every time I make a post which takes some time and in the meantime if someone else has posted, I see this.
Post review
At least one new post has been made to this topic. You may wish to review your post in light of this.
In my case, I never have had to go and review this post and then change my post. Maybe others feel the same. If this is the case, could this be disabled? It is annoying and pops up unexpectedly and many a time I thought I made a post but it did not go through because of this extra step.

The IAF aircraft strength data needs updation

111 HU at Bareilly is equipped with HAL Dhruv http://www.rediff.com/news/report/iaf-i ... 120208.htm

HU establishment strength is 10, not 12

17 sq is re-equipped with Su-30MKI
18 sq is number plated

tsarkar wrote:The IAF aircraft strength data needs updation

111 HU at Bareilly is equipped with HAL Dhruv http://www.rediff.com/news/report/iaf-i ... 120208.htm

HU establishment strength is 10, not 12

17 sq is re-equipped with Su-30MKI
18 sq is number plated
Thanks TSarkar.. I missed the bit on 17 Sqn - any public domain source for this?

Jagan wrote:Thanks TSarkar.. I missed the bit on 17 Sqn - any public domain source for this?
This was announced when Bhatinda was closed for re-surfacing and other infrastructure modernisation under MAFI project that while the airport was shut down, No 17 Squadron would reform with Su-30 and return.

Admins,

Please help in getting this Netaji dhaaga separated out

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=7097&p=2052453#p2052453

This is weird
1. It is pointing to political dhaaga
2. It is not getting listed in the mil forum

Only google helped in finding this.
salaam

Post by salaam »

Security Certificate has expired. Admins please take note:

forums.bharat-rakshak.com uses an invalid security certificate.
The certificate expired on October 20, 2016 at 3:54 PM.
The current time is October 20, 2016 at 4:24 PM.
Amoghvarsha

Post by Amoghvarsha »

Yes I got the same message.

Certificate issue. FIx soon please.

Hey guys,pl reopen the IN td!
ranjan.rao

Post by ranjan.rao »

Hi Mods!
Can I start a thread for tracking Indian Military exercises? I see multiple threads for individual exercises (both internal and external) but they tend to die after few posts.
Paging Indranil and ramana sir. Was thinking of a combined one for IA, IAF, and IN, but let me know if you prefer separate threads

tsarkar wrote:
Jagan wrote:Thanks TSarkar.. I missed the bit on 17 Sqn - any public domain source for this?
This was announced when Bhatinda was closed for re-surfacing and other infrastructure modernisation under MAFI project that while the airport was shut down, No 17 Squadron would reform with Su-30 and return.
Correction to my earlier post - seems like No 17 was number plated and will be the first Rafale squadron

On a separate note, the Jaguar pic below, the caption says centreline fuel tank, however it seems to be a Vinten Recce Pod that was standard on Jaguar and MiG-27 before Litening & Reccelite

http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/IAF/Galle ... 2.jpg.html

http://www.rockford.co.uk/services-prod ... en-cameras

http://www.saairforce.co.za/the-airforc ... on-18-601e

http://www.britmodeller.com/forums/inde ... rrier-gr9/

The optical window is rotated upward during takeoff/landing to prevent FOD damage

It's been quite a while that the BR forum in its new avatar has been up and running.

Has the time come to dispense with the

"Bharat Rakshak Forum Announcement"

and replace it with a shorter, crisper welcome message that does not take up so much real estate??

Surely the "Bharat Rakshak Forum Announcement" would have served it's intended purpose by now. :)
Sandipan

Post by Sandipan »

Hi All
Glad to be :D :D :D :D :D back as member after 6 1/2 years, love the site and glad that it's back after temporary issues

Sandipan
krishGo

Post by krishGo »

In my first avatar as 'KrishG', I was in the BR mainsite crew to work on the Indian Space section of the mainsite.

Shortly thereafter, I lost access to my account (story in forum feedback).

Is there any chance of getting back into the Mainsite crew ?

Here is some feedback.from a fauji
Please ruminate and think how you can individually make a change

I open a mil page on forum and the bile against fauj is just too much. Saala marein bhi hum, hathiyar bhi nahin Le sakte, decision kisi aur ka, paise ka baap koi aur, DPSU can't support what they sell, but gaali do fauj ko. Kabhi in logon ko North block or southblock me in file leke daurao phir pataa chalega how are the services managing. Idiots call us import passand. Try procuring from HAL. It is guaranteed that 03 chiefs will retire before HAL agrees. Fauj has a field reqmt, instead of saying no look elsewhere DPSU will jump and say look we will make it. 10 yrs later they will give a product with great specs but shoddy performance. It took 10 yrs of nursing the Dhruv by IA, before HAL got their act together. And Dhruv is a success story. BRF MIL FORUM is Engineer Rakshak Forum. Anyone else is not reqd there.