Indian Defence Websites Watch

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Indian Defence Websites Watch

Starting a thread to keep us abreast of the Updates on various Indian Defence Websites

--------------------------------------------------

The Army in Kashmir Website has undergone a major redesign and revamp.

http://www.armyinkashmir.org/v2/index.php

Ofcourse they spelled Kashmir as Kashmeir at more than one place..but overall nicely done. (except for the lousy job done by the proof reader)[/i][/b]

The Official Indian Navy Website has undergone some major updates.

There is a new section completely devoted to Naval Aviation
http://www.indiannavy.nic.in/index_test.htm

Ships of the Indian Navy has info on individual ships and the Crests in all the cases
http://www.indiannavy.nic.in/ships.htm

Submarines of the Indian Navy has info on individual Subs and the Crests in all the cases
http://www.indiannavy.nic.in/subs.htm

A good section on the Top Brass of the Indian Navy
http://www.indiannavy.nic.in/at_the_helm.htm

including the New Chief
http://www.indiannavy.nic.in/cns.htm

Rajit Ojha
Posted: 05 Aug 2004 Post subject: Atlantique Saga

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Atlantique Saga
http://zararshaheedtrust.org/

Interesting...
Chacko

hehe

Post by Chacko »

CPrakash

Post by CPrakash »

santpaul wrote:yes very cool indeed, the website is designed by rahul
U can meet him at protonriver forums. very talented guy he is
The website appeared only once in the numerous attempts i made. No doubt linking it from BR has finished off its bandwidth. In the one attempt i got thru, I could only browse thru 3 pages, before i was faced with a broken link. And the popups and ads are horrendous.

The design is good. But there should be a way for us to go beyond the first page. Means either the designer find another free site that gives more bandwidth or put up some money for some webspace. (which i think he will as he alrady has a domain name)

The Navy site additions are cool - But i wish they had not done the naval aviation website in flash. There are a number of good pictures and tidbits in there. Did anyone see the INS Kursura Submarine Museum Pictures there? Amazing work.

This was recently added in our LInks page
The Memoirs of TJ Thomas http://members.rediff.com/theckethil/tjt2.htm
An autobiography of an IAF Technical Officer who reminisces a bit on his WW2 days as an airman and afterwards. While not much in terms of tidbits, its a positive step forward - hopefully more vets will start thier own sites.

ACIG's Indian subcontinent Section
http://www.acig.org/artman/publish/cat_index_18.shtml
Its worth visiting once in a while - the Indian section is seeing more and more indian contributions. Harry's Indian Naval Aviation, Adityas Raid on BAdin, Toms MiG-21 Profiles are stuff worth bookmarking.

A website for Major Navneet Vats who was killed in action is hosted at the Nawang Kapadia memorial website

http://navneet.nawang.org/

Lots of photographs from Maj VAt's service in Uniform.

Information Resource and Facilitation Center
http://www.irfc-nausena.mil.in

This is an A-1 Website run by the Indian Navy - Plenty of information on the top brass, the naval stations, a good feature on naval aviation , stuff on medals, medal rolls - basically all the trivia info one might want to read on the navy is hosted here. This requires Registration, but I think it is well worth it. Also the feature on the Navy Uniform Types and head dress is real cool (might be there on the IN Site too)
Last edited by Jagan on 11 Aug 2004 15:03, edited 2 times in total.

Leaving Footprints in Batticoloa

Its an excellent article that I didn't read earlier from the Vayusena Tripod Website. This is a "Must Link" page in the IPKF Section.

Also The Integrated Defence Staff Website has been revamped and now sports a new look
http://www.ids.nic.in
Shishir

Post by Shishir »

The Coast Guard have revamped their site as well. Very well organized with loads of information. IMO, the Coast Guard have the best website among all forces.
http://www.indiancoastguard.org/index.html

They also bring out a very informative newsletter on Maritime Search and Rescue.
Shishir

Post by Shishir »

ITBP's website sports a new look too though a bit slow to load. Again lots of new data including sector information etc..
http://itbpolice.nic.in

Some neat pictures here..
Link to images

ITBP's e-magazine with a nice plug for Arindam.

Love this pic. Very James-Bondish 8)
http://itbpolice.nic.in/mona0008.jpg
Shishir

Post by Shishir »

AWWA's website which was offline for a while is now back online.

AWWA's Navy counterpart.

shishir wrote:The Coast Guard have revamped their site as well. Very well organized with loads of information. IMO, the Coast Guard have the best website among all forces.

They also bring out a very informative newsletter on Maritime Search and Rescue.
Finally some informatino on coast guard squadrons and flights!
JaiS

Post by JaiS »

Miscellanous sites.

Directorate General Resettlement (DGR)
http://www.dgrindia.com/

College of Defence Management
http://cdm.nic.in/

National Cadet Corps (NCC)
http://nccindia.nic.in/

National Civil Defence College, Nagpur
http://ncdcnagpur.nic.in/
Adi

Post by Adi »

http://www.bsfacademy.org

While the design of this site is definitely superior to the shoddy bsf.nic.in site (which is frankly a disgrace along with other paramilitary sites), the pages contain numerous typos. E.g. "Treat" to India from neighbours, misspelt names. These things that cannot be attributed simply to a lack of familiarity with English(which is NOT in itself something to complain about as it is a foreign language).

Either no one bothers to do simple editing(chalta hai), or they did a horrific job of editing it, or else someone saw these mistakes and didn't dare question or offend the person who typed the stuff.

Something somewhere in sarkari organisations goes wrong and results in mediocrity of this kind. What is it?

The bsfacademy.org website is a good find , Adi. The design is quite good. Shows interest by the parent organisation in projecting a good image -

One of us BRFites with time on thier hands should make a list of the suggested corrections and send over to the webmaster (and cc it to the top brass email ids ).

igbsf@sancharnet.in
dybsfacy@rediffmail.com

Anyone willing to take up that work?

On another note - Saw this under the artillery training center link
http://www.bsfacademy.org/photos/ats1.jpg
WW2 25 Pounders!

shishir wrote:The Coast Guard have revamped their site as well. Very well organized with loads of information. IMO, the Coast Guard have the best website among all forces.
While browsing thru the above url, came across the following
http://www.indiancoastguard.org/coffee/coffee_main.html

Apparently these links are PDFs made from a Coffee Table book on the Coast guard. Some excllent photographs of aircraft in the relevant sections and lots and lots of historical and ceremonial info. Who said that there is no such thing as a free lunch?
JaiS

Post by JaiS »

Taneja Aerospace & Aviation Ltd
http://www.taal.co.in/

The National Defence Academy has its official website at http://www.nda.nic.in/ .

There are loads of information tidbits - including a complete listing of cadets who passed out from the NDA course wise. There is a discussion forum, and variousother interesting pages. Some sample pages

http://www.nda.nic.in/air.htm
Air Force Training team and pictures of the Super Dimona

http://www.nda.nic.in/commandants_gallery.htm
Commandants Gallery

Etc etc

Two other urls from the site http://dssc.nic.in and http://afmc.nic.in are pointing to the armedforces.nic.in website.
Chayan

website watch

Post by Chayan »

official website of the Parachute regiment
http://www.pararegt.org
Shishir

Post by Shishir »

Found this website of a former IN officer. Contains some good photos of his training, life in Navy etc. Good site...

Naval academy
More training

Sailing Expedition from Vizag to Port Blair
Gen Sundarji's letter
Batchmates
Batchmates
http://debashis1.tripod.com/dunmore/dunmore.htm
vsunder

Post by vsunder »

Hehehe! I like the previous post. So this is what Debu Mukhs is doing nowadays. His main web page from where Shishir has linked Debu's Navy Days is:

http://debashis1.tripod.com

has pictures of a very shamefully young me at 15 at IIT/KGP. So thanks Shishir brought back a flood of memories. Mukherjee was an avid photographer those days; 1970's and ran the gymkhana dark room. I learnt a lot of photographic and photo processing techniques from him.
I still remember Debu coming back from the Navy interview and telling us at lunch how he sailed through, sorry for the pun.
Shishir

Post by Shishir »

Sainik Samachar now sports a new look and includes a belated update(April and May).
Sainik Samachar

http://www.warbirdsofindia.com/News/news13.html

a lovely clip of an IAF MiG-27 demolishing two Su-7s parked on the tarmac.
Abhisham

Post by Abhisham »

Don't know if it has been pointed out before the IDS site has a T-80 on the top banner.. :shock: :-?

http://www.warbirdsofindia.com/News/news13.html

a lovely clip of an IAF MiG-27 demolishing two Su-7s parked on the tarmac.
Shishir

Post by Shishir »

The Officers Training Academy (OTA) website.

Army has created a new page on anti-terrorist operations that includes maps.(Updated fairly regularly)
ANTI TERRORIST OPERATIONS

Sainik Samachar June 1st issue
Sainik Samachar June 15th issue

Website of Institute for Defence Studies and Analysis (IDSA)

Official Site of the Indian Cavalry Association.

http://www.indiancavalry.com/

17 Poona Horse official website.
http://www.poonahorse.com

A great website - read the detailed stories on 65 and 71 war. taken from Hanut Singh's book.
Nainan

On AM Subroto Mukerjee

Post by Nainan »

Spendid page on the first Air Chief

http://indianairforce.nic.in/chief/subroto.htm
Shishir

Post by Shishir »

A rather barebones site for the SPG.
Sohum

Post by Sohum »

ashdivay

Post by ashdivay »

My web page under construction.
http://www.indianarmour.bravehost.com/

Have a look .let me know what u think or want to contribute anything .
Thank you
Ash
Saurabh

Post by Saurabh »

Jagan wrote:17 Poona Horse official website.
http://www.poonahorse.com

A great website - read the detailed stories on 65 and 71 war. taken from Hanut Singh's book.
Dead link - would you believe for lack of funds.
CPrakash

Post by CPrakash »

ashdivay wrote:My web page under construction.

Thank you
Ash
Full Points to you for taking the initiative.

but but but but

It still requires some 'population' of information before anyone can contribute. Right now its just a bunch of 'underconstruction' pages. When you have some existing information, people will feel more inclined to come forward to help you out with more because they willthink the information gets the proper treatment.

Also, putting your email on the pages will attract buckets of spam to you. change it to something like ashdivay ^ mail.com or something. ask the visitors to correct the email before sending you the information.

Lastly some spellchecking will do well - TacOps, Bear etc...

cheers

Cp
ashdivay

Post by ashdivay »

CPrakash wrote:
ashdivay wrote:My web page under construction.

Thank you
Ash
Full Points to you for taking the initiative.

but but but but

It still requires some 'population' of information before anyone can contribute. Right now its just a bunch of 'underconstruction' pages. When you have some existing information, people will feel more inclined to come forward to help you out with more because they willthink the information gets the proper treatment.

Also, putting your email on the pages will attract buckets of spam to you. change it to something like ashdivay ^ mail.com or something. ask the visitors to correct the email before sending you the information.

Lastly some spellchecking will do well - TacOps, Bear etc...

cheers

Cp
Yea the spell checking things get messed up while trying to get things to work when nothing does.thanks for pointing out and ur advice on mail ive been wondering about that.will do the need full asap.

Ash
Harsh
Location: The land of beer and honeys (...and that apple pie!)

Post by Harsh »

I found a very interesting website detailing pre-Independence Indian Army regiments:

Britsh Empire:Army:Units

On the left hand navigation menu, go down to "Indian Army."

Website details regiment History, Badges, Uniforms, Battle Honors, Predecessor and Successor Units, and a suggested reading material for information on those units.

Also check out
Uniforms

Campaigns

Armament

Imperial India

The 2004-2005 MoD Report
http://mod.nic.in/reports/report05.htm

Highlights/Snippets
* RR Bns 1-57 are in J and K. 58-63 RR Bns in NE
* A Picture of the T-90 at RD Parade (might fit in our BR Gallery)
* A Pic of a US Navy Blackhawk landing on INS Mysore
* Pic of Il-78 and personnel of 78 Squadron
* Pics of Excalibur, MPV, Abhay etc etc

plus lot of other information fo whatever you wanna look for.
Shishir

Post by Shishir »

/** Begin whine
Why can't the army, navy and AF websites be like the CG website? :((
End whine **/