Aircraft Recognition

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
joygoswami

Re: Aircraft Recognition - Recognise these 2

Post by joygoswami »

I stumbled upon these 2. See, if it looks familiar.
http://img340.imageshack.us/i/f143seater.jpg/

Tom,Kat and Jerry ?

http://img141.imageshack.us/i/t38c50fts ... fbsep.jpg/

Recognize this.

Re: Aircraft Recognition

Which plane ?
aniket

Post by aniket »

aniket

Post by aniket »

The aircraft in Mr joygoswami link are
the T-38 Talon
the F-14
I believe the pictures are photo shopped as 3 seater version of the above aircraft were never made.
joygoswami

Post by joygoswami »

aniket wrote:The aircraft in Mr joygoswami link are
the T-38 Talon
the F-14
I believe the pictures are photo shopped as 3 seater version of the above aircraft were never made.

You may be right, the 3 seater F-14 does look a little fake. But the Twin Seater A-10 Thunderbolt is 100% real.

Some New Ones.

Re: Aircraft Recognition - Recognise these 2

joygoswami wrote:I stumbled upon these 2. See, if it looks familiar.
http://img340.imageshack.us/i/f143seater.jpg/

Tom,Kat and Jerry ?.
While this 3 seater is a fake, are you (or anyone) able to recall a few genuine 3 seater fighters/bombers?

Of the top of my head, Our beloved Canberra was one that had a 3 man crew.

Yes. Also the Breguet Alize and the B-58 Hustler.

shiv wrote:Yes. Also the Breguet Alize and the B-58 Hustler.
While not a combat aircraft, another three person designed aircraft was our beloved HPT-32 :P (yes, it has a bench seat in the back for a third person.. some quirky ASR.. :) )

:D Ha! That's an interesting titbit.

Please recognize...

Yes, they actually built one of these. I'm not kidding.

very interesting !
looks like a Bf109 in soviet markings without the props, with sledges to boot ! I don't see a jet engine however . possibly a modified yak-1 ?

Rahul M wrote:very interesting !
looks like a Bf109 in soviet markings without the props, with sledges to boot ! I don't see a jet engine however . possibly a modified yak-1 ?
I'll give a hint. It is a Soviet rocket plane that first flew 18 months before the Me-163 Komet.

thank you ! I thought of a rocket plane at first but foolishly got distracted by the typical propeller fighter look.
mukul_chou

Post by mukul_chou »

Realised for the first time. Both American and USSR/Russian militaries use a five cornered star mark
And Pakistan, Somalia, China, North Korea are one of fairly large number of countries which use this ideogram on their flags.

Does size matter for stealth?

Identify (Click on image for larger one)

Thats an amazing pic.

Canberra, MiG 25, MiG 29 and Ajeet in a straight line. The left is Hunter, MiG 27 and Mirage 2000. The right is Jaguar, MiG 23 and MiG 21.

from IAF's 60yr celebration ?

Single tail ?

^ That is a Panavia Tornado ADV.

This pic illustrates the difference in frontal views between the Su and the MiG. Someone was asking a while back how to differentiate between the two.
joygoswami

Post by joygoswami »

Please Recognize
Image[/URL]

Image[/URL]

Image[/URL]

Image[/URL]

Image[/URL]
joygoswami

Post by joygoswami »

Image[/URL]
mukul_chou

Post by mukul_chou »

joygoswami wrote:Please Recognize

Image[/URL]

Image[/URL]

NASA AD-1

Avro Canada VZ-9 Avrocar

joygoswami wrote:Please Recognize
Rutan Boomerang

negi wrote:^ That is a Panavia Tornado ADV.
Looks similar to the twin-engined LCA sketch made by Vivek Ahuja

Now what do we see here ?

and here

C-130
The little one is a helo that may be an Alouette III seeing that it is PAF Masroor.
Drishyaman

Post by Drishyaman »

What is this ?

B_Ambuj wrote:What is this ?
http://chinamilitary.org/?p=793

China Z-10 :rotfl:
The Z-10 attack helicopter is under development in China. It’s development began in the mid-1990s. Prototype of the Z-10 maid it’s maiden flight in 2003. It is expected to enter service with Chinese army in 2008 – 2009. It will be the first dedicated modern Chinese attack helicopter. It has been designed with extensive technical assistance from Eurocopter and Augusta. Primary mission of the Z-10 is ant-armor and battlefield interdiction. It also has some limited air-to-air combat capabilities.
http://www.flightglobal.com/blogs/the-d ... es-op.html
Hong Kong's second largest newspaper, the Sing Tao Daily, reported earlier this week that US pressure forced the Chinese to change the aircraft's engine. Prototype models of the Z-10 in 2007 showed a Pratt & Whitney Canada PT6 engine, which somehow got diverted to a Chinese military program. The operational version of the aircraft appears to be powered by the same engine in the Z-9, which is a copy of the Eurocopter AS 365N1 Dauphin.
siddharth

Post by siddharth »

Nice
aniket

Post by aniket »

Doesn't the Z-10(no dout)look like a cross between an Apache and Cobra. Like a slimmer apache

it looks more like our LCH than the apache or cobra, imo..
Drishyaman

Post by Drishyaman »

Bala Vignesh wrote:it looks more like our LCH than the apache or cobra, imo..

Yes, Vignesh Ji, even I think so. If you do a image search on google for LCH you will see this pic. Even I was confused I thought was an early mock up of our LCH then again the star on its musharaf was confusing me further.
Bolasani

Post by Bolasani »

I found this little guy flying around HAL airport a few days back. He was pretty acrobatic. Could anybody please identify this bird for me.

TIA

^^Looks like the Rustom-1 UAV

No it is NAL's all-composite Light Canard Research Aircraft (LCRA) (VT-XIU), a Long-EZ design, was built in the 80s for research purposes.

This is from 1995

It is the predecessor to Rustom1.

I am generally no good at civil aircraft recognition. I joined up 3 photos from aero India to make a long composite photo. I have numbered 6 airraft in orange numerals. Could someone please identify them. Click on thumbnail to enlarge

shiv wrote:I am generally no good at civil aircraft recognition. I joined up 3 photos from aero India to make a long composite photo. I have numbered 6 airraft in orange numerals. Could someone please identify them. Click on thumbnail to enlarge

1) The Raytheon Hawker 4000 (I think)
2) Dunno.. Something from Hawker Beechcraft range I suppose
3) Piaggio Avanti (a superb plane. Just what our Saras should have been like ideally and a direct competitor)

4) Pilatus PC-12 . If you want to buy one, let me know. I know someone who can finance that.

5 & 6 again from Hawker Beechcraft I would guess.