Transport Aircraft for IAF

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Barath

Re: Transport Aircraft for IAF

Post by Barath »

I can think of other uses for that many billions..

^^Would that be money well spent. Is it not better to spend that money mastering jet engines.

https://twitter.com/TheLegateIN/status/ ... pxiyMr05Vg ---> Report: India may begin development of a 20-25 ton capacity military transport aircraft in 2025, with the plane envisaged to enter service in mid 2030s. Not yet clear if it will have turbofan or turboprop.

Rakesh wrote: https://twitter.com/TheLegateIN/status/ ... pxiyMr05Vg ---> Report: India may begin development of a 20-25 ton capacity military transport aircraft in 2025, with the plane envisaged to enter service in mid 2030s. Not yet clear if it will have turbofan or turboprop.
Add a decade to 2035 and you'll be in the ballpark. Many of us will have passed away, but rest assured our grandchildren will be arguing about this and the MRCA.

Rakesh wrote: https://twitter.com/TheLegateIN/status/ ... pxiyMr05Vg ---> Report: India may begin development of a 20-25 ton capacity military transport aircraft in 2025, with the plane envisaged to enter service in mid 2030s. Not yet clear if it will have turbofan or turboprop.
They should have scaled up from Dakota's and Dornier's and should have started alongside the ALH programme with joint production of Turboshaft and Turboprop engines.

And with the Tejas all three variants of engine production should have started.

Just a curious thought (apart from money constraints) how much of political apathy and bureaucratic perfidy in all this to stop the progress.
YashG

Post by YashG »

Development start in 2025 and entering service in 2030. Is this press release being written by a 5th grader ?

YashG wrote:Development start in 2025 and entering service in 2030. Is this press release being written by a 5th grader ?
I am assuming they are leveraging all the R&D that was done for the MTA, before it was scrapped.
YashG

Post by YashG »

Bala Vignesh wrote:
YashG wrote:Development start in 2025 and entering service in 2030. Is this press release being written by a 5th grader ?
I am assuming they are leveraging all the R&D that was done for the MTA, before it was scrapped.
The airworthiness testing & certification alone cud take 2-3 years.

Mort Walker wrote:Add a decade to 2035 and you'll be in the ballpark. Many of us will have passed away, but rest assured our grandchildren will be arguing about this and the MRCA.
After the recent Su-30 upgrade announcement, I suspect the MRFA will quietly die a slow death. The very fact that Air HQ has finally gone in for the Rambha upgrade, alludes to the fact that the MRFA will likely never see the light of day.

The length of time it will take for the first batch of MRFA to arrive, will negate the technical value that the MRFA will provide. Some more Rafales will come, albeit in small amounts (36 - 54 more). All eyes are on the MRCBF contest now. If Rafale M wins, it is game over for all the other contestants in the MRFA. It will be Rafale all the way.

With the Tejas program having fully matured, Air HQ realizes that there is no other option. The Tejas will be the mainstay. Rafale will be the silver bullet for very special missions i.e. breaking down the door.
sajaym

Post by sajaym »

IAF's Mi-26 fleet remains grounded waiting overhaul
https://idrw.org/iafs-mi-26-fleet-remai ... -overhaul/

What a depressing state of affairs! :(

https://twitter.com/ReviewVayu/status/1 ... nCVNuaqu-Q ---> India’s acquisition of 56 Airbus C295 aircraft. Prime Minister Modi to lay the foundation stone for the C-295 manufacturing facility in Vadodara, Gujarat on Sunday. The project is a joint venture between the Tata Group and Airbus.

Transport Aircraft for Indian Air Force to be made in India by Airbus Defence & TATA consortium
https://pib.gov.in/PressReleasePage.aspx?PRID=1871267
27 Oct 2022

This Sunday, India’s C295 Aircraft Facility Is Born
https://www.livefistdefence.com/this-su ... y-is-born/
27 Oct 2022

PM Modi to lay foundation for C-295 manufacturing plant in Vadodara on October 30
https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/ ... 060896.ece
October 27, 2022
The manufacturing facility for C-295 transport aircraft by Tata Advanced Systems Limited (TASL) in consortium with and technology transfer from Airbus will be set up at Vadodara in Gujarat and Prime Minister Narendra Modi will lay the foundation stone for the plant on October 30. In September 2021, Ministry of Defence (MoD) signed a ₹21,935 crore deal with Airbus Defence and Space, Spain for procurement of 56 C-295MW aircraft. This is the first project of its kind in which a military aircraft will be manufactured in India under technology transfer by the private sector.

The 56 C-295 aircraft contracted will replace the legacy Avro aircraft in service with the Indian Air Force (IAF). Mr. Kumar said that in future this facility will also be manufacturing additional aircraft as per requirements of IAF and also export. The C-295 has very good fuel efficiency and can take off and land unprepared as well as short runways, said Air Marshal Sandeep Singh, Vice Chief of the Air Force. The C295 is an aircraft of 5-10 tonne capacity used for tactical transport of up to 71 passengers or 50 paratroopers, and for logistic operations to locations that are not accessible to current heavier aircraft and has a proven capability of operating from short or unprepared airstrips. All 56 aircraft will be fitted with Electronic Warfare suite supplied by Bharat Electronics Limited and Bharat Dynamics Limited, Mr. Kumar stated. After completion of delivery of 56 aircraft to IAF, Airbus Defence & Space will be allowed to sell the aircraft manufactured in India to civil operators and export to countries which are cleared by the Government of India, Mr. Kumar added.

"96% of the total man hour work per aircraft that Airbus employs at its manufacturing facility at Spain will be undertaken in India by the TATA Consortium,” he stated. Manufacturing of over 13,400 Detail Parts, 4,600 sub-assemblies and all the seven major component assemblies will be undertaken in India, along with tools, jigs and testers, he said elaborating. The MoD said that the consortium has identified more than 125 in-country Micro, Small, Medium Enterprises (MSME) suppliers spread over seven states. This will act as a catalyst in employment generation in the aerospace ecosystem of the country and is expected to generate 600 highly skilled jobs directly, over 3,000 indirect jobs and an additional 3,000 medium skill employment opportunities with more than 42.5 lakh man hours of work within the aerospace and defence sector of India, an MoD statement said. Nearly 240 engineers will be trained at Airbus facility in Spain
gpurewal

Post by gpurewal »

Regrading the IL-76 fleet, is there any plans to modernize it or perform mid-life refits? If not, I'm thinking the JV between Tata and Airbus would make the A-400M an excellent contender for any future bids to replace the IL-76.

https://www.thedrive.com/the-war-zone/c ... -has-flown

The IAF could explore how it will be served by similar systems. Or perhaps the SARAS can be converted to unmanned aircraft.
BenG

Post by BenG »

gpurewal wrote:Regrading the IL-76 fleet, is there any plans to modernize it or perform mid-life refits? If not, I'm thinking the JV between Tata and Airbus would make the A-400M an excellent contender for any future bids to replace the IL-76.
The JV seems promising. But at this point of time A-400M has so many technical problems yet to be solved. https://www.shephardmedia.com/news/air- ... y-and-mai/

The Japanese C-2 seems like a far better contender. I read this from another forum:
The C-2 performance seems to be extremely impressive. It has the lowest empty weight as a percentage of the maximum takeoff weight of any airlifter on the market.

For instance the C-2 has the same 141t MTOW of the A400M yet the A400M weighs a massive 25% more. This weight saving in the C-2 allows for extra fuel resulting in it being able to fly 30t of payload a distance 25% further and fly 14% faster than the turboprop powered A400m.

The C-2 also has a thrust to weight ratio 39% higher than the C-17 and 17% higher than the KC-390. A few members here have incorrectly classified the C-2 as a small strategic airlifter that can not operate on rough and short runways. This is quite far from the truth as it actually comes very close to the runway performance of the A400M.
If all these points are true, IAF is better off operating C-2. Compared to our MTA program with Russia, C-2 offers strategic airlift capability. We can project power from southern peninsula all the way to Vietnam, Oman and South Africa For eg: we can guarantee supply of Brahmos and other ammunition when there is a hostile power at play against those countries. A fleet of 50 of these can give Indian govt a lot of strategic leverage.

The US air force is also planning to build a Next generation cargo plane C-X. We will definitely be offered the same too. If cost pressures exist, we should buy Embraer C-390. The plane's capability is amazing. If not for strategic airlift across Indian ocean. It can at least do emergency ferry with less capacity.

https://twitter.com/ANI/status/15855709 ... oAxViUZDMA ---> Indian Air Force would ultimately become the largest operator of this C-295 transport aircraft: IAF Vice Chief Air Marshal Sandeep Singh.

https://twitter.com/ANI/status/15855734 ... oAxViUZDMA ---> There is no ban on imports. The policy is that whatever can be built in India would be built here. There's an aggressive push to promote make in India items for Defence Forces. Operational preparedness isn't compromised & operational readiness at forefront of our minds: Defence Secretary.

How C-295 will boost India’s transport aircraft production ecosystem to make it ‘aatmanirbhar’
https://www.firstpost.com/opinion-news- ... 40821.html
31 Oct 2022

@manu pubby is tweeting that IAF will start retiring An 32s after 5 yrs . Hopefully it will be the c 295 and not any other type

Atmavik wrote:@manu pubby is tweeting that IAF will start retiring An 32s after 5 yrs . Hopefully it will be the c 295 and not any other type
Check out this info graph from the First Post article....

Image Source: https://www.firstpost.com/opinion-news- ... 40821.html

BenG

Post by BenG »

Lot of info is missed here in the context of AN-32 replacement. AN 32 was developed from An-26 explicitly for Indian air force needs with very high operational ceiling(not max ceiling), high altitude take off and high ambient temperature operations(upto around 55 deg) requirements. The power to weight ratio of An-32 is far higher than C -295. The engine power is almost twice. So for C-295 to replace An-32, IAF will definitely ask for an engine upgrade.
I am of the opinion we should develop a turbofan variant of C-295 for An-32 replacement. This is the basis IAF rejected C-295 for its awacs programme. It might happen for AN-32 replacement too. I know aircrafts of this class like ERJ-145 have a rear-fuselage-mounted engines due to dust ingestion problems. But that approach requires a lot of engineering re-work, we could go for a high-wing derivative of C-295 with turbofan engines. Sort of like a mini C-390. The new plane could be used for awacs programme. It already has the structure to mount 360 deg radar. It can easily cruise twice as fast and far higher too. It can have some proven engine for more power supply for radar and jamming. In future, it can even be used as test bed for directed energy weapons.

IAF considers replacing AN-32 with C-295 to modernise fleet
The Indian Air Force (IAF) is considering the possibility of replacing its Antonov-32 (AN-32) planes with the C-295s to modernise its transport fleet, senior officials said.

The C-295 medium transport aircraft will be manufactured in India jointly by Tata Advanced Systems Limited and European firm Airbus Defence and Space.

The Indian Air Force (IAF) is considering the possibility of replacing its Antonov-32 (AN-32) planes with the C-295s to modernise its transport fleet when the Soviet-origin workhorse comes up for retirement sometime after 2030, senior officials familiar with the matter said on Friday.

The C-295 medium transport aircraft, which will be manufactured in India jointly by Tata Advanced Systems Limited (TASL) and European firm Airbus Defence and Space, comes as a replacement for the IAF’s fleet of ageing Avro-748 planes that entered service in the early 1960s.

There’s a growing consensus within the air force on the C-295s being the right fit to replace the AN-32s, said one of the officials cited above, asking not to be named.

The IAF currently operates a fleet of more than 90 AN-32s that play a critical role in supporting forward deployed troops along the country’s frontiers including Ladakh and the Northeast.

Also read: AFCAT 2023: Registration for Indian Air Force entrance test begins, link here “The C-295 is capable of carrying out the roles assigned to AN-32s, and can be a good replacement when the time comes. While the air force is not in a rush to zero in on a replacement for AN-32s as their phasing out will begin only after 2030, the C-295 fits the bill,” said a second official, who also asked not to be named.
:
:
:
KSingh

Post by KSingh »

BenG wrote:Lot of info is missed here in the context of AN-32 replacement. AN 32 was developed from An-26 explicitly for Indian air force needs with very high operational ceiling(not max ceiling), high altitude take off and high ambient temperature operations(upto around 55 deg) requirements. The power to weight ratio of An-32 is far higher than C -295. The engine power is almost twice. So for C-295 to replace An-32, IAF will definitely ask for an engine upgrade.
I am of the opinion we should develop a turbofan variant of C-295 for An-32 replacement. This is the basis IAF rejected C-295 for its awacs programme. It might happen for AN-32 replacement too. I know aircrafts of this class like ERJ-145 have a rear-fuselage-mounted engines due to dust ingestion problems. But that approach requires a lot of engineering re-work, we could go for a high-wing derivative of C-295 with turbofan engines. Sort of like a mini C-390. The new plane could be used for awacs programme. It already has the structure to mount 360 deg radar. It can easily cruise twice as fast and far higher too. It can have some proven engine for more power supply for radar and jamming. In future, it can even be used as test bed for directed energy weapons.
Yawn. This is the kind of thinking that gets you know where in the Indian military- over complicate everything and eventually he left with nothing.

The C295W was made specifically for IAF’s hot and high performance requirements. Do we really think the IAF would accept it without being suitable? This is the Indian military after all, everything needs to be able to perform on their most extreme use cases.

100+++ C295 will for sure be made by TASL for multiple users in India.

What I’m more interested in is the heavy lift role, those IL76 have been on their last legs for a long time and the upgrade project seems abandoned. 100+ C295 and a handful of C130/C17 isn’t enough. Maybe for 40+ A400M Airbus will also move production to TASL from the 2030s
BenG

Post by BenG »

KSingh wrote: Yawn. This is the kind of thinking that gets you know where in the Indian military- over complicate everything and eventually he left with nothing.

The C295W was made specifically for IAF’s hot and high performance requirements. Do we really think the IAF would accept it without being suitable?
Please provide a news link which says Airbus spain developed C-295W to match Indian reqirments. Because, C-295W still does not match the service ceiling of An-32 and there is 7000 feet gap which is considerable. Our air force scales up requirements and never goes down

I agree we would need a larger strategic airlifter of A400 size. But I believe C-2 is a far better, capability wise and is cheaper. Even if we want to produce the A400 due to airbus partnership, I would prefer if they developed a turbofan version since Indian airforce prefers them for AWACS. Turbofan aircraft are faster and have better service ceiling. HAL-IL MTA is dead and we don't need aircraft in the category. So a big order of 45+ heavy aircraft is a feasible number to setup a production line.

How does the c130J compare with an-32? We can always task c130J for the an-32 role once they all retire in another !5 years.
Kersi

Post by Kersi »

In parallel we need to develop suitable engines suitable for combat aircraft, single crystal nickel turbine blades, jet engines for light n medium helicopters, jet and turbofan engines for UAVs
Kersi

Post by Kersi »

gpurewal wrote:Regrading the IL-76 fleet, is there any plans to modernize it or perform mid-life refits? If not, I'm thinking the JV between Tata and Airbus would make the A-400M an excellent contender for any future bids to replace the IL-76.
Not aware of the latest. But A400 has had a lot of problems in the past so i wonder if it is worth considering them

Demand for IL 76 replacment may be 50 at the very max. Setting up a production line for 50 aircraft is absurd

As and when we go for A 400 and/or C130 w should opt to make various components rather than an assembly line
BenG

Post by BenG »

Kersi wrote: Demand for IL 76 replacment may be 50 at the very max. Setting up a production line for 50 aircraft is absurd
We set up C-295 production line for 40 aircraft order. HAL MTA requirement was for 45 aircraft and we planned a separate production line for the same. Japanese C-2 and C-390 production line are setup with utmost 40 guaranteed aircraft in mind and the 40 numbers have not been ordered. The numbers required are more than enough.

India should use this opportunity to build a small strategic airlifter like the Japanese C-2. But we should partner with Embraer to make it cost effective. If we manage to build an enlarged C-390 as a strategic airlifter(considering the limited area of operations we have which is Indian ocean), that would be a great achievement. We can supply from Andamans to Madagascar a huge cache of material. In future, we can develop tankers and awacs based on the platform. We can use them like a bomber as well to launch anti-ship missiles from a stand-off distance using navic guidance. 2025 is the right year for Tatas to start the project.

Cybaru wrote:How does the c130J compare with an-32? We can always task c130J for the an-32 role once they all retire in another !5 years.
The C130-J is bigger, heavier and more expensive than the An-32, and (not suprisingly) has a much higher max. payload. I suspect the IAF would consider it overkill to replace each An-32 with a C130-J.

As a separate matter (nothing to do with the An-32), I agree that IAF needs (I would say, urgently needs) to find a replacement for the IL76. Airbus A400 and Kawasaki C2 are both worthy candidates (although with a lower payload capacity then the IL76), and IMO C2 is preferable to A400 (i.e. I agree with BenG).
Kersi

Post by Kersi »

Roop wrote:
Cybaru wrote:How does the c130J compare with an-32? We can always task c130J for the an-32 role once they all retire in another !5 years.
The C130-J is bigger, heavier and more expensive than the An-32, and (not suprisingly) has a much higher max. payload. I suspect the IAF would consider it overkill to replace each An-32 with a C130-J.

As a separate matter (nothing to do with the An-32), I agree that IAF needs (I would say, urgently needs) to find a replacement for the IL76. Airbus A400 and Kawasaki C2 are both worthy candidates (although with a lower payload capacity then the IL76), and IMO C2 is preferable to A400 (i.e. I agree with BenG).
But we should get a few more C130, no necessaroli C-130J but simpler vanilla versions without bells ad whistles
hgupta

Post by hgupta »

Why can't we produce the Indian version of the C-130J ourselves? It can't be rocket science. That technology has been around for at least 60 years.

If Brazil can do it, so can India. What is stopping India from making cargo planes or airliners?

Commercial Sense, all Aviation Industries supply to both Industry and Defense. We will have put a lot of money in it , money which can be spent on Politically more rewarding ventures.

Private Industry will also have buy some aircraft. We are a more Trader/ Bargaining Nation, we are the only Country expects a local weapon should be cheaper than an imported weapon, rather than the imported weapon should generally justify its huge low cost.
BenG

Post by BenG »

Kersi wrote:
But we should get a few more C130, no necessaroli C-130J but simpler vanilla versions without bells ad whistles
C-130J despite having been modernized is just way too old a design. Modern C-390 outclasses it in every way despite being cheaper to buy and maintain. We should have never bought them as FMS. It was import trigger happy IAF which bought it and we have seen 2 accidents already. Even if the requirement was expedient, We should have waited for Embraer C-390 and modified an AN-32 for the interim. We had planned an MTA with Russia as well. So C-130J was a big mistake without considering C-390 as well. But it went through due to administration being friendly towards USA.

We used to buy weapons systems like vegetables from a street vendor. Buy 6 Il-78 and ask for A-330 MRTT for next batch. Buy Su-30 and then ask for Mirage-2000 which was in the same competition. Our procurement system was a cluster-duck back then. C-130J was a product of that system. IAF is still the same. Buying 6 netra based on ERJ 145 and is doing kichdi now with A-320 having new structural modifications. Given the chance they will buy 6 more C-130J. But if GOI has any sense, they would pool the requirements and make a strategic airlifter requirement which makes up for low numbers of C-17 and 45 HAL MTA which was scrapped.
SidSoma

Post by SidSoma »

BenG wrote:
Kersi wrote:
C-130J despite having been modernized is just way too old a design. Modern C-390 outclasses it in every way despite being cheaper to buy and maintain. We should have never bought them as FMS. It was import trigger happy IAF which bought it and we have seen 2 accidents already. Even if the requirement was expedient, We should have waited for Embraer C-390 and modified an AN-32 for the interim. We had planned an MTA with Russia as well. So C-130J was a big mistake without considering C-390 as well. But it went through due to administration being friendly towards USA.
Just as an aside. C130J is not envisioned as a pure transport role. It was procured due to its other capabilities and IAF has tailored it as such. Both accidents was very much avoidable and there was no tech malfunction. I have not heard of any maintainence issues in C130 either. C130J is a good asset to have, just like the C17.

That being said. I agree with your second half that our procurement process is bad. I suggest one of our Gujju Bhais buyout embraer outright and move the prod line to india.

Embraer is having financial problems. Maybe we can even buy out the complete design and technology of the C-390 and setup a production line ourselves in India. It can replace both the AN-32 and cater to some of the roles that Il-76 was performing. For dedicated heavy lift aircraft, we can then look at procuring a dozen odd C-2 from Japan or the A400.
If we own the C-390 design, we can easily produce about 80-100 of these aircrafts, besides about 100-120 odd C-295. This would cover the requirements of the Navy and CG as well, besides the air to air refueller role.
Along with the 11 C-17s, maybe 12 C-2/A400, that would complete the picture for our transport fleet.
BenG

Post by BenG »

SidSoma wrote:I agree with your second half that our procurement process is bad. I suggest one of our Gujju Bhais buyout embraer outright and move the prod line to india.
Knowing the Indian procurement system, no Gujju will buy embraer and make C-390 in India. Embraer's experience with chinese has been bad. So we do hold a few aces up our sleve. Tatas have sunk considerable capital in C-295 program. Only the Tatas have nothing to lose. They may buyout Embraer's C-390 program and have Embraer buyout Airbus's stake in the joint venture. But for it to happen Tata should have reached a very high level of indigenization including the FBW and IP of critical technologies.

I sincerely believe we should choose between 100 C-390 larger version or 50 C2 planes. But not both. Lets not build a transport plane zoo or a museum with C-130Js or IL-476s.

Re. the C130-J:
BenG wrote:...we have seen 2 accidents already.
Two accidents? I only remember one -- pilot error i.e. disorientation and CFIT during a night training exercise. This happened pretty early after IAF took delivery of the first batch of aircraft.

What was the second accident?
BenG

Post by BenG »

Roop wrote:
What was the second accident?
Sometime in late 2016 I think. The second accident did not result in loss of life. You can check article below.
https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/ind ... 316744.cms

The plane is a old relic of aviation. We should have transport planes which can even be operated by civilian pilots with the least possible conversion training. C-390 is a far better solution updated to modern aviation standards.

BenG,

As of 2021, nearly 500 C130J variant have been built.

With no signs of slowing down.

In light of that, how can anyone suggest with a straight face that it's a relic and not competitive in current and future scenarios.