Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Armed Forces

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Armed Forces

VishalJ wrote:I saw this image in the PM's tweet where he's shaking the hands of a bearded officer. I was under the impression that no beards were allowed in the IA¿ :-?
There are several bearded offices and soldiers. Could be Muslim.
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

anupmisra wrote:
VishalJ wrote:I saw this image in the PM's tweet where he's shaking the hands of a bearded officer. I was under the impression that no beards were allowed in the IA¿ :-?
He is Muslim, I can make out M.M. Khan on his name tag. Reason i'm asking is because I don't remember seeing folks with a proper beard in the Army.
Besides, I remember folks here mentioning in some of the other threads about a reason for no beard.

Other than Sikhs, you have to get permission from your supervisor.

VishalJ wrote:
anupmisra wrote:
He is Muslim, I can make out M.M. Khan on his name tag. Reason i'm asking is because I don't remember seeing folks with a proper beard in the Army.
Besides, I remember folks here mentioning in some of the other threads about a reason for no beard.
I have been told that special forces & COIN troops grow beards to blend in. Someone correct me if I am wrong. I do not know if he is one, but just saying. And if he is in uniform now, is because the PM is on the scene.
sohamn

Post by sohamn »

Special forces can grow beards and we have seen many special forces including marcos, para's growing beards. There may be two reasons for doing so a) Blend with the local crowd b) look menacing.

https://twitter.com/ajaishukla/status/9 ... 4255140864

At the tri-service Andaman & Nicobar Command Headquarters with Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman today, on Diwali festival.

I could be wrong, but I believe that is Lt Governor Adm DK Joshi Joshi (Retd) standing right next to the Raksha Mantri.

sohamn wrote:Special forces can grow beards and we have seen many special forces including marcos, para's growing beards. There may be two reasons for doing so a) Blend with the local crowd b) look menacing.

Major General (Retd) Sheonan Singh on the Right Hand Side.

Little Known Fact, he is the nephew of Shaheed Bhagat Singh. His father was Bhagat Singh's younger brother.
And Major Sheonan served with my father in Sri Lanka.

Original Article @ http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-41377725

Ajai Shukla takes offense to Modi wearing Army Camo.

It's a criminal offence, Mr @narendramodi, to impersonate a soldier in uniform. The only uniform you've the right to wear is khaki knickers.
https://twitter.com/ajaishukla/status/9 ... 6205595648

I don't get his point and then I read his second sentence which shows that his anti BJP stand is clouding his ability to remember so I am going to help him.
The only two things I will say in my Modi's defense is
- that he is not wearing rank, just the camo
- he wore this dress in a highly dangerous area where the Div Commander can impose the camo on him for security purposes.

sohamn

Post by sohamn »

Shukla is a libtard ( self-admission ) and hence he searches for non-issues. There are indeed issues we can criticize BJP on for e.g. failure to do more indigenization or lack of R&D investments - But this is an absolute non-issue.
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

Novosibirsk - Severny, Russia - October 23, 2017

Khalsa wrote:
Rakesh wrote:For Khalsa-ji....Jaguars Saar :)

The ultimate low level hitter, 30-plus years and still going strong – Indian Air Force DARIN II Jaguars.
https://twitter.com/zone5aviation/statu ... 5943131136
Beauties peeling off.
Thank you Admiral.
Very kind of you to remember.
And another one for you....this one is a real beauty. Those afterburners...oh my!!!!

For the Jag lovers – DARIN I bird climbing out in afterburner following a missed approach over the highway.
https://twitter.com/zone5aviation/statu ... 6914296832

Thank you @Rakesh.
By the way the shot of the C130 landing just on its front wheel (I mean the split seconds while just the front is in touchdown mode) is equally impressive.

I think the right handside wheelset may have touched down.

That is a MICA missile on KT212. That means she is the upgraded Mirage 2000I.

Any IAF Mirage-2000 with a grey radome is an upgraded Mirage-2000I/TI. And any Mirage-2000 with a grey radome WITH a pitot probe is an IAF Mirage-2000I/TI.
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

VishalJ wrote:Image
However many times you see M2K, you can never get tired of seeing another image of it. Sheer beauty.
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

JayS wrote:However many times you see M2K, you can never get tired of seeing another image of it. Sheer beauty.
Completely Agree. This, is an especially beautiful angle.

VishalJ wrote:Novosibirsk - Severny, Russia - October 23, 2017

Looks like they've been to Tirupati.

https://twitter.com/livefist/status/927200147519561728 ---> Rare shot of an IAF Heron drone at Chabua, Assam in this photo from Defence Minister Sitharaman’s visit. Also seen: 102 Sqn Su-30s & an Akash SAM launcher.

Re: Miscellaneous Pictures - Indian Military

Aditya_V wrote:
Kartik wrote: MiG-21 UM Mongol
Is that still in service I thought every other Mig-21 other than Bison was out of service.
UM is the trainer version. They will have to stay in service till we operate any Mig-21 version I guess to train new pilots.
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

Caption :wink:

^^^^ Hey VJ, how is this?

ACM Dhanoa: President-ji...on my left is Gripen E and on my right is Tejas Mk 2. They are equal.

^^^^ Yeah good one Admiral, I will go with it.

Ahem Cough ummm I think ACM might need to put in extra hours every week to pass that fitness test soon by the way.

^^^^ One of the first things the Air Chief did - after he took over as Chief - is fly a MiG-21M solo. He may not need to be uber fit (lean) like the fighter jocks. At that rank, 99% of the time he will be sitting behind a desk.

I believe he is advising the president - in that photo - about formation flying, which they do at IAF Day (assuming that is where that picture was taken).

Probably they are discussing manicure, and skin condition due to heavy smog.

Khalsa wrote: Ahem Cough ummm I think ACM might need to put in extra hours every week to pass that fitness test soon by the way.
Being short & stocky with good amount of BP is apparently helpful when pulling high G's :-)

Rakesh wrote:^^^^ Hey VJ, how is this?

ACM Dhanoa: President-ji...on my left is Gripen E and on my right is Tejas Mk 2. They are equal.
He is explaining 1 vs 1. Probably scissors. The shite that you guys yap.

VishalJ wrote:Caption :wink:

I think every one missed it. The caption should be "Awoooooooooooooooo:

There is a man in a cream coloured suit whose balls ACM Dhanoa has just crushed between his hands. The man in the suit has clapped his hands on his mouth and is screaming "Awoooooooooooooo" give or take a few o's

deejay wrote:

He is explaining 1 vs 1. Probably scissors. The shite that you guys yap.

These impromptu nail inspections are getting ridiculous.

Source: BBC News
The discovery of human remains near a small town in northern France last year sparked a search that quickly spread half-way across the globe. The two men, it turned out, were Indian soldiers who died on French battlefields more than 100 ago during World War One.
They were finally laid to rest this month, in a ceremony especially poignant for the Indian diaspora in France.
For full story please see the "Indian Army History" thread
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

Khalsa wrote:^^^^ Yeah good one Admiral, I will go with it.

Ahem Cough ummm I think ACM might need to put in extra hours every week to pass that fitness test soon by the way.
Despite the extra pounds, he has flown the most solo among the last few CAS hasn't he?
As the good Adm pointed out, among the first things he did after getting the 4th star was fly his beloved bison.
shiv wrote:I think every one missed it. The caption should be "Awoooooooooooooooo:

There is a man in a cream coloured suit whose balls ACM Dhanoa has just crushed between his hands. The man in the suit has clapped his hands on his mouth and is screaming "Awoooooooooooooo" give or take a few o's

Kolkata class, From LF

from the reflection, tell which a/c is this

Mig 29

Jaguar Darin I? On 2nd thoughts a non upgraded Mig 27?
Prithwiraj

Post by Prithwiraj »

Mig 29.. is that a duct tape on oxygen feeder? Amazing jugaad.. respect

Now identify the pod these MKI carry! ;)