INS Vikrant: News and Discussion

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: INS Vikrant News and Discussion

Click on the link below for an excellent set of pictures from the Malayalam daily, Manorama.

https://twitter.com/AdithyaKM_/status/1 ... 6cSw3DFs3w ---> An excellent video by @manoramaonline gives the first look at IAC Vikrant's Operations Room (CIC) along with more imagery of the hangar and others.

==========================================================

Click on the link below for a Malayalam-English translation news piece of INS Vikrant.

See for the first time, the interiors of INS Vikrant; 'Baahubali' of Kalakaruth
https://www-manoramaonline-com.translat ... r_pto=wapp
22 Aug 2022

==========================================================

Youtube video on INS Vikrant. It is in Malayalam and no close captions are provided. So for non-Malayalam speakers, enjoy the visuals....

You have to walk 8 km to see it | INS Vikrant | Exclusive | Manorama Online

Great video sir, most of the malayalam is understandable if you know hindi

A recent PowerPoint presentation on INS Vikrant indicates the lift dimension ---> 10m width x 14m length.

Rafale M
Length: 15m
Wingspan: 10.9m

F-18SH
Length: 18.31m
Wingspan: 13.62m (unfolded)
Wingspan: 9.93m 8.4m (folded)

https://twitter.com/Amitraaz/status/156 ... tbUCY-U3uQ ---> Vikrant's SAC lift Dimension: 10m x 14m

Rakesh wrote: F-18SH
Wingspan: 13.62m (unfolded)
Wingspan: 8.4m (folded)
I believe that 8.4m value is the folded wingspan of the legacy Hornet not the Super Hornet.

https://man.fas.org/dod-101/sys/ac/f-18.htm

Scroll down to external dimensions.

Also:

F/A-18C - 27.5ft = 8.38m
F/A-18E - 32.6ft = 9.93m

Like I said, good luck getting the F-18 through that hanger opening which is even smaller than the lift.

What a mess the navy has made for itself. What an utter mess.

Thank you for pointing out my error.

I am quite certain that the navy is not so incompetent that they have not factored the inner dimensions of the lift, or are they :((

BTW, don't those lifts look rather square to be 10m X 14m? Or is that image distorted in some way?

nachiket wrote:BTW, don't those lifts look rather square to be 10m X 14m? Or is that image distorted in some way?
It has to be a distortion of the image, because this video below...clearly shows that the lift is not square.

Rakesh wrote:India's citizenry must surely be proud of this vessel. As a NRI, I really wish I was in India to celebrate this moment. I miss home.,..
wooah I thought Admiral sir was desi based in desh. I am coming round to the thinking that most rakshaks here are based out of Bharat..
The last technological hurdle is a certified turbofan. We will do that also. We will get there.
Have strongly felt it should be the number 1 project for the country (like the passion for the moon project during JFKs america)... think of the hundreds of billions we will save (and later earn) not just in the military but in the civilian field.

Manish_P, the Admiral is Omni-present that is why his official title is Grand Admiral.

ks_sachin wrote:Manish_P, the Admiral is Omni-present that is why his official title is Grand Admiral.
I only wish :lol:

Seriously how do you make the time or have you made your millions and are sitting on the beach on your private island and using
BR to pass your time while sipping pinacoladas?

ks_sachin wrote:Seriously how do you make the time or have you made your millions and are sitting on the beach on your private island and using
BR to pass your time while sipping pinacoladas?
The mithai business can be very profitable when you don't give away 10000 tonnes of it for free :wink:
rajkumar

Post by rajkumar »

Pratyush wrote:I am quite certain that the navy is not so incompetent that they have not factored the inner dimensions of the lift, or are they :((
Well errors have been known to happen. Here in London, London Underground once ordered metro trains which were 10mm too big to fit into their tunnels :mrgreen:

Was it a result of ordering train's that way only. Or the manufacturer not following spec sheet.
rajkumar

Post by rajkumar »

Pratyush wrote:Was it a result of ordering train's that way only. Or the manufacturer not following spec sheet.
London Underground design engineers dropped the ball...thread de-rail so lets discuss elsewhere

Inside the hangar of the Vikrant....

https://twitter.com/VivekSi85847001/sta ... fMvphvQWOQ --->

Count the number of MiG-29Ks in the graphic below and do a rough calculation of how many F-18SHs or Rafale Ms could fit in the hangar. Additional aircraft will be stored on the flight deck as well. The Rafale M will be stored like samosas due to her delta wing. The F-18SH will be stored similar to the graphic below showing MiG-29K/KUBs.

https://twitter.com/ThingsNavy/status/1 ... x_tz8UqQ3A ---> IAC Hangar Deck...

Rakesh wrote:The Rafale M will be stored like samosas due to her delta wing.
Check out the images below of the Rafale M in the hangar of the Charles De Gaulle. I believe she is smaller in tonnage than the Vikrant. But just viewing that number alone does not give the correct picture. Hangar dimensions are the prime factor here.

Image Source: https://www.reddit.com/r/WarshipPorn/co ... le_august/

Image Source: https://en.topwar.ru/27803-sharl-de-gol ... trofa.html

Indian Navy’s AK-630 gun gets first made in India ammunition
https://news.programsmagic.com/indian-n ... mmunition/
27 Aug 2022

https://twitter.com/livefist/status/156 ... ez0cQr5P1w ---> Difficult to overstate the importance of this! Meaningful, substantial atmanirbharta. Here's the Indian Navy taking delivery of the FIRST EVER 100% India-produced 30mm ammunition for its ship autocannons (AK630 & CRN91) manufactured by Nagpur-based Economic Explosives Ltd.

https://twitter.com/delhidefence/status ... ez0cQr5P1w ---> Flash and Bang!

The OFB manufactured AK-630 CIWS on-board #Vikrant tested during the pre commission sea trials. IAC-1 Vikrant is a week away from being commissioned by the Prime Minister of India on 02 September 2022 at Kochi.

Mighty 'Vikrant' ready to take to the waters
https://www.spsnavalforces.com/features ... the-waters
26 Aug 2022

Take a look at the timeline above. 13 years to commission a 45K ton aircraft carrier at an Indian SY is no mean feat.

But see the irony in that timeline. The IN had 13 years to push for a follow on Vikrant Class vessel. But they kept insisting on a super carrier with nuclear power, EMALS, AEW aircraft and modern MRCBF aircraft. They are still at it! These Admirals just don't get the message wrt to funding.

Even in the mid-2010s, had they laid the keel for a second vessel (of similar spec), it would have been ready in 2025 for commissioning. Today, the Indian Navy has a grand total of one aircraft carrier, ONE. Our Admirals will blame everyone else under the sun, but themselves for this mess.

https://twitter.com/lca_tejas_/status/1 ... ez0cQr5P1w ---> New 35-ton electric tow tug (TT350) for INS Vikrant. Designed and Developed by Maini Group, India.

INS Vikrant, India’s first indigenously-built aircraft carrier, to be commissioned on September 2
https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/ ... 810077.ece
25 Aug 2022

Indigenous Aircraft carrier ‘Vikrant’ docked at Cochin Shipyard after returning from a successful maiden sea voyage on August 08, 2021.

It is unfathomable that we did not start on a second one for IAC :oops:

Flight trials on Vikrant from November: Navy Vice Chief
https://www.hindustantimes.com/india-ne ... 71500.html
26 Aug 2022
Vice Admiral SN Ghormade said that the navy is pushing for a second carrier that can be built faster using the ship-building expertise acquired during the construction of Vikrant.

Rakesh wrote: https://twitter.com/lca_tejas_/status/1 ... ez0cQr5P1w ---> New 35-ton electric tow tug (TT350) for INS Vikrant. Designed and Developed by Maini Group, India.
All civilian and military airports should also be switching to these electric babies!

A question in context of Vikrant and its fixed wing capacity. I guess the functions of the rotary fleet are SAR, ASW, AEW and Lift. Could not the accompanied CBG of destroyers and frigates or maybe even an accompanied LHD provide these functions to the CBG thereby increasing the fixed wing capacity of the carrier? What are the impediments to such an approach?

TIA.

Having actual LPD's matters, I guess that's why the Navy wants 4 LPDs which many on BRF criticiized

https://twitter.com/narendramodi/status ... 7767972864
Tomorrow, 2nd September is a landmark day for India’s efforts to become Aatmanirbhar in the defence sector. The first indigenously designed and built aircraft carrier INS Vikrant will be commissioned. The new Naval Ensign (Nishaan) will also be unveiled.
I sincerely hope they get rid of the Saint George's Cross
KSingh

Post by KSingh »

Rakesh wrote:The Rafale M will be stored like samosas due to her delta wing.
Check out the images below of the Rafale M in the hangar of the Charles De Gaulle. I believe she is smaller in tonnage than the Vikrant. But just viewing that number alone does not give the correct picture. Hangar dimensions are the prime factor here.
CDG is almost identical in dimensions to the IAC-1, almost to the last metre yet compare how useable they’ve made her. IN got led down a garden path by outsourcing aviation complex design to the Russians who were always going to design it around the 29K. This entire farce is Indian made, will any heads roll?

Who told the IN to put the smallest lifts seen on any carrier in the world on their 40k ton carrier? At the very least this shows a huge lack of forward planning, IAC-1 will serve for 30+++ years, did they not think that the 29Ks would need to be replaced before then?

And I’ll ask again, where are the jet blast deflectors on the deck? IN prides itself in being a carrier navy continually for the last 4 decades and yet they have come across as complete amateurs where IAC-1 is concerned. And now we have to wait for 2 decades for the next 1 ship class?
KSingh

Post by KSingh »

Rakesh wrote: https://twitter.com/lca_tejas_/status/1 ... ez0cQr5P1w ---> New 35-ton electric tow tug (TT350) for INS Vikrant. Designed and Developed by Maini Group, India.
Nice, these kind of niche things can only be developed when you make things yourself, this is what the ‘experts’ who call for MQ-9B, MRFA, P-75I etc won’t tell you- the ecosystem you’ll create at home of a whole plethora of products you can’t even imagine.

+ I noticed the IN has also invested in (Italian made) road sweepers for their carriers, those 29Ks and especially their engines are very fragile

https://twitter.com/ksingh_1469/status/ ... c7UitdnczQ
KSingh

Post by KSingh »

ShauryaT wrote:A question in context of Vikrant and its fixed wing capacity. I guess the functions of the rotary fleet are SAR, ASW, AEW and Lift. Could not the accompanied CBG of destroyers and frigates or maybe even an accompanied LHD provide these functions to the CBG thereby increasing the fixed wing capacity of the carrier? What are the impediments to such an approach?

TIA.
The Royal Navy designed the 2 QE class carriers to be able to support their amphibious brigades so their lifts and hangers can support CH-47s and AH-64s without having to fold their rotors.

IN strikes me as the least battle hardened of the 3 services so don’t design their assets with the same dynamism built in.

https://twitter.com/VivekSi85847001/sta ... isxwpStyPg ---> CMWD of Vikrant. The Counter Measure Wash Down (CMWD) system is deployed on naval vessels to save it from Chemical, Biological & Nuclear radiation.

Rakesh wrote:Flight trials on Vikrant from November: Navy Vice Chief
https://www.hindustantimes.com/india-ne ... 71500.html
26 Aug 2022
Vice Admiral SN Ghormade said that the navy is pushing for a second carrier that can be built faster using the ship-building expertise acquired during the construction of Vikrant.
Its the govt that is pushing for the third carrier to augment the Vikramaditya.

PM Modi Commissions First India-Made Aircraft Carrier INS Vikrant - Swarajya
Prime Minister Narendra Modi commissioned the first indigenous aircraft carrier-- INS Vikrant-- the largest ship ever built in India's maritime history, in Kerala's Kochi on Friday (1 September).

Modi commissioned the carrier, housing state-of-the-art automation features and built at a cost of Rs 20,000 crore, at the Cochin Shipyard.

During the event, Modi also unveiled the new Naval Ensign (Nishaan), doing away with the colonial past.

The Navy had earlier said the new insignia will be befitting the rich Indian maritime heritage.

With the commissioning of Vikrant, India joined a select group of nations having the niche capability to indigenously design and build an aircraft carrier. <snip>

https://twitter.com/ARanganathan72/stat ... Qfe9Im5ziw
75 years ago we could not even make a safety pin ourselves. Today we can bring together 510 Indian companies to build a ship that is a thousand feet long, carries 1700 crew, endures an 8000 mile run, generates 88 MW power, and holds 30 fighter planes.

Say hello to INS Vikrant.

Long live INS Vikrant!

Last signal sent from the previous INS Vikrant