BR Forum Feedback

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: BR Forum Feedback

Sometimes I am able to see the embedded videos, but at other times they are not visible, like present. Is there a bug or some application in the browser that seems to be blocking this display?

probably incorrect embedding by the poster. just the video ID needs to be put in youtube tags, not the whole url.

click quote for such posts and check in the editing box.

Rahul M wrote:probably incorrect embedding by the poster. just the video ID needs to be put in youtube tags, not the whole url.

click quote for such posts and check in the editing box.
I did that and the embedding seems to be fine. Look at this post in the STFUP sutra for instance

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=6954&start=360#p1792130

All the videos are invisible to me. I don't think all of them are embedding issues. I'll have a look at my browser settings as well. Juts wanted to know if others are facing something similar?
Rajiv Lather

Post by Rajiv Lather »

I requested the Admins to delete my account earlier too. Please do the needful.
ritesh

Post by ritesh »

Mods, please start a thread for sAAP govt's governance tracking purpose.

sorry. the GIPD thread is going to be the only one.

Mods,

This corporate spying case seems like a biggie with rot running deep. A dedicated thread for news and discussion?
Comer

Post by Comer »

Mods, can you please change my id to madrassi? Thanks in advance.

Why would you want an ID which has negative connotations to it? I know it's not a slang in itself but the history associated with it.
Comer

Post by Comer »

If that's not OK, can I have cooumer as id? It's based on a river in Madras. Thanks.

Neither are human sounding names.
Comer

Post by Comer »

:(( final roll of dice. Comer? (ref Douglas comer).

Ancient Sciences in Bhaarath thread is locked???

Mod Saars,
I can understand that there may be some inconvenience due to the nature of the thread. Fantastic claims would be made in the thread. The idea is to slowly sift through these claims and separate the truth from the myth.

So, please allow the thread to develop a bit. If you still think that the thread is useless, then please close it. But, just give it some time to develop. Please...

JohneeG garu,

Let it rest Saar. Like JEM/Ramanaji said even Truth needs to wait for Samayam and Sandarbham. You triggered the thought. When right time comes someone like Shivji will start this very discussion in open forum 8)

<self deleted a comment which may be OT>
Last edited by Amber G. on 25 Feb 2015 23:22, edited 1 time in total.

Thanks Amber G garu.

{Self Edit: Browsed Math dhaga and noticed that all types of problems/puzzles are discussed there already. Shouldn't be an issue to discuss some of JohneeG's ideas there.}

P.S: Which thread is more suitable for this post in your opinion; Math or Physics thread? I will be glad to if this post is proven right/wrong by math/physics gurus 8)

Mods,

Noticing frequent SQL errors (too many threads error that one sees during maintenance hrs) nowadays.

Hope this is due to increased traffic and not DOS attacks.

Please do the needful.

^^ Same here for last 2 days.

mods can't do anything about it.

perhaps the php developer can share his code here for analysis, and we may able to give them some suggestion how to correct these errors.

this is not DDOS attack per my analysis

^^ Same here for last 2 days.

I get these errors a lot nowadins. Earlier it was just around 2:45pm CST, but now it happens at all hours.
I blame Mullah RB, this happens because he does not henna his beard :twisted:

General Error
SQL ERROR [ mysqli ]

Too many connections [1040]

An sql error occurred while fetching this page. Please contact an administrator if this problem persists.

Re: Great Indian Political Drama - Feb'2015

Forum is very slow and seizing up

Me too. Saw it this morning, and again seeing it off and on around now.

ramana wrote:Forum is very slow and seizing up
It has been happening since Monday.
member_28803

Post by member_28803 »

Another thing, besides this latest hiccups I have noticed that around US 2-5PM CST daily the site will be down - some error message about too many SQL connections...

Is this site hosted in cloud or some old-school data centers?

Jivana wrote:Another thing, besides this latest hiccups I have noticed that around US 2-5PM CST daily the site will be down - some error message about too many SQL connections...
This is the usual twice a day backup time (around 3-4 PM and 3-4 AM CST), so it's expected. The latest hiccups are outside this band.

There's a daily site backup that lasts 20-40 minutes. It has gotten longer lately, because of a profusion of threads, and expensive poster requests, e.g. delete profile and all posts.

The latest problem was ISP related.

the following configs one can do:
Increase the number of DB connections you can open simultaneously from 1024 to 4096.
share connections, or use a connection pool mechanism.
of course those require some work and testing.. the cheap and best would be ensure, the connections are closed for every post. it can slow down, but would not deny anyone like it happens now.

Jivana wrote:Another thing, besides this latest hiccups I have noticed that around US 2-5PM CST daily the site will be down - some error message about too many SQL connections...
That is a feature, not a bug. We BRFites need some free time to get our regular work done.
Shalav

Post by Shalav »

Forum is logging me out automatically after 5-10 minutes. Is there a way to remain logged in permanently.
Comer

Post by Comer »

saravana wrote::(( final roll of dice. Comer? (ref Douglas comer).
Gentle reminder to adminullahs.

Done.
Comer

Post by Comer »

Thank you sirs.
member_28640

Post by member_28640 »

Adminullahs, is the site down.. All Hyperlinks have dissappeared.. Text is all at awry and crazy places.. Planned upgrade?
Please fix saars
member_28108

Post by member_28108 »

GopiN wrote:Adminullahs, is the site down.. All Hyperlinks have dissappeared.. Text is all at awry and crazy places.. Planned upgrade?
Please fix saars
Looks OK to me - probably something with the rendering engine of your Browser. Happens especially on Mobiles
member_28640

Post by member_28640 »

Google Chrome saar.. on a desktop.. Nothing changed saar ...

gentlemen cadet: Can I have my handle changed to vayu tuvan as I am from the Tuva/Tyva Republic, Russia? I want to be Tyvan or bust (if you know what I mean). TIA

no bust for you saarji, even if it was for the dear departed N.L.

Thanks Rahul. Now what is n.l.? :) Leighton? That is Ralph L. Or you mean the vulcan?

no-bell law-riate.