BR Forum Feedback

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: BR Forum Feedback

TPFscopes wrote:I'm unable to find a thread where I can introduce myself with the BRF team and member.

Someone suggest me a more accurate thread to do so....
there is no such thread on BRF identifying individual member in real life is abhored
Marten
Location: Engaging Communists, Uber-Socialists, Maoists, and other pro-poverty groups in fruitful dialog.

Post by Marten »

Mods, since the Epics thread or the Movies thread or the L&M thread or indeed even the Post Report feature are not the right place to ask:
Please let me know why TKiran can continue with continuous nonsense and abuse while the rest of us get sermons?
Kindly enroll us in the Friends and Family Program that allows all of us to also obtain the Sishupala^n free pass card that TKiran seems to be getting.

IRji sent my reply on forum feedback to mods, not sure if your received it

Unlocked and moved to mil.

suryag wrote:IRji sent my reply on forum feedback to mods, not sure if your received it
I got it. We are working through some last hurdles.

TPFscopes wrote:I'm unable to find a thread where I can introduce myself with the BRF team and member.

Someone suggest me a more accurate thread to do so....
will get back to you shortly.

Dear moderators,
I've repeatedly communicated to you my request for getting a Perma ban.
3 months back,I'd made a similar request. You banned me only after I abused a mod.I had no choice but to abuse a mod rather than you guys giving me a dignified exit.

I'm at the same point again, wherein I'm *requesting* you to Perma ban me.Please note I'm not asking for ID deletion which I understand taxes the forums database.

Please grant me this. I do not wish to disrupt, but the only other way for me to go out shouldn't be abusing a mod and creating a ruckus just to get banned.

I most certainly will, if you guys leave me no choice.
Cheers.

Mods, please get rid of him. He is pooping all over.

nirav wrote:Dear moderators,
3 months back,I'd made a similar request. You banned me only after I abused a mod.I had no choice but to abuse a mod rather than you guys giving me a dignified exit.

I'm at the same point again, wherein I'm *requesting* you to Perma ban me.Please note I'm not asking for ID deletion which I understand taxes the forums database.

Please grant me this. I do not wish to disrupt, but the only other way for me to go out shouldn't be abusing a mod and creating a ruckus just to get banned.

Cheers.
I couldn't resist asking you - why don't you just not post ? The simplest option isn't it ? Is a perma ban a medal you want to display on your wall or something. I don't mean to be critical, infact I did agree with a some of your points in the earlier fracas but seriously whats this drama of demanding a ban. Just don't come on the site.

Akshay Kapoor wrote:

Cheers.
I couldn't resist asking you - why don't you just not post ? The simplest option isn't it ? Is a perma ban a medal you want to display on your wall or something. I don't mean to be critical, infact I did agree with a some of your points in the earlier fracas but seriously whats this drama of demanding a ban. Just don't come on the site.
AK sir,

Is asking for a Perma ban equivalent to asking for a Param Vir chakra ?

I do lurk on br to read up on quality posts. But then when one comes across the usual garbage,If my ID is banned, atleast I won't in a position to "poop" over all threads.

Shiv Saar has mentioned in the feedback thread earlier, that if someone wants to leave, why make it an ego tussle ?

I don't think I'm asking too much.

Just resist the urge to post when you come across the 'usual garbage'. Why waste your time and effort and why plead with moderators for a ban. Take Japa your istha devta's name and relax. Just a suggestion.

I appreciate your suggestion, sir. Thank you. :)

I'd made a conscious decision 13 years back to associate with BR.

Now , I've made a similar conscious decision to disassociate with BR. I need to see this through. If I need to burn every last bridge, I will. I'm not calling for an ID deletion, just an inability to post.

Apologies in advance for the disruption I may cause.

nirav wrote: I'm not calling for an ID deletion, just an inability to post.
back to square 1 - just don't come to the site. Or if you do, don't post.

Signing off now.

Cheers.
Easy. Just do a p0rn blast here. :lol:

(Kidding)
Ravi Karumanchiri

Post by Ravi Karumanchiri »

^^^^^^
It is easy to permanently delete a member. During the deletion process, the phpBB software will ask what to do with all of the member's posts. These can be permanently deleted with one click, or all henceforth assigned to another member. For this purpose (of having other's posts ascribed to them, after a member gets banned); a singular account can be set-up and named perhaps "Compendium XMPs" for 'Ex-Member's Posts'.

Contact me for screenshots on how to do this with phpBB. It's been a while for me, but I have done it, and I know it's a standard feature.

What is it about BRF that every so often someone goes completely nuts and behaves in a WTF mode.

The passion. We just have different ways of going about it and expressing it. BRF is a microcosm of India onlee. You have crazies, grandstanders, intellectuals, romantics, fanatics, academics, pseudo liberals and one Admiral :)

But we are all patriots. We all love our country and wish nothing but the best for her. We all have our opinions and are unashamed to state it. We fight like cats and dogs, at times we hate each other, at times we ignore each other but hell we cannot live without each other. How many of us can live without BRF for a day? And one passes away (I miss B Harry), we lose a bit of ourselves.

We Are Bharat Rakshaks!

yay to that !

Hi. The 'Forum Feedback' and 'Forum Guideline' links on the home page of the forums, gives a page not found error

Can someone guide me to that mile high club which disappeared after GDF lockout?

Just pooped on the anniv. td. We've not had a good BR "do" for some time with distinguished guests like we did in the "olden days".Names mentioned in that poop.
For the sake of brevity I propose that we gather in number at Goa early next yr. when the next Defexpo takes place.3 months+ time to get organised.Let's try and make it a memorable time-friends, feni,fillies,.......you get my drift!

Indranil, you pm'd me but I cannot reply. But the answer is yes.
prasannasimha

Post by prasannasimha »

^ same thing. Got a message some time back from Indranil but I have no way to reply to the message but the answer is yes. How does one reply to a PM message as there is no option to reply

Paging @shiv sir.

I need to discuss something with you that I don't want to share on the open forum. All I can say here is that it is sort of related to what we discuss here at BRF. Can I email you on the id you had shared during the Aero India BRF meet?

Didn't we have a thread on RJBM case in the strat forum too? I tried searching for it but couldn't find it.

Mods.pl warn Viv. or close chapter on him.He is incapable of objective analysis.I gave just given a v.detailed analysis of the two upgrades for 41 M2Ks and 67/69 MIG-29s.It now turns out that apart from the $2B+ we've paid Dassault, HAL requires a further $900M, never revealed thus far making the cost per aircraft $75M each! This too to take 12 years to upgrade.This extra cost is now an item of dispute between HAL and the IAF affecting the upgrade programme.

In comparison all 67/69 MIG-29s have been upgraded for just $900M using "90%" raw materials.This may explain why we want ex-Malaysian MIGs in a barter deal for SU-30 spares, being cost- effective .These are hard facts anyone can obtain them on the Net.

V cannot comprehend the huge discrepancy between two approx. equal upgrades specswise , the huge costs of M2K upgrades and enormous time frame too.This severly impinges upon the IAF's upgrade programme and budget. Withoug trying to understand the issues involved he continues to attack me like a rabid dog .His personal animosity is deplorable and must be ended once and for all.If he is allowed to continue with these attacks without refuting my posts with facts then BRF has reached the sewer.I have not attacked him thus far and can easily resort to attacking him in like manner but have better things to do .I believe BRF is a forum for intelligent debate not a battleground for streetfights and abhor behaviour fit for mongrels and guttersnipes.

Please end this behaviour from him once and for all, he has also been openly warned in a td. Earlier.

I have a request

If storage space is not a great problem can BRF have a space where members can upload images that can be displayed inline?

shiv wrote:I have a request

If storage space is not a great problem can BRF have a space where members can upload images that can be displayed inline?
Just trying to catch your eye saar, had posted about it a few posts above. I've also sent you an email about it. Thanks.

Philip, I have recommended both you and Viv to put each other on your ignore lists in the Nuclear submarines thread. I don't think he has responded to any of your posts after that. Indranil has warned everyone not to discuss other posters. If there are any offending posts since then we have missed, please report them.
Philip wrote:I have not attacked him thus far and can easily resort to attacking him in like manner but have better things to do .I believe BRF is a forum for intelligent debate not a battleground for streetfights and abhor behaviour fit for mongrels and guttersnipes.
That is not true. You have called him all sorts of names on the submarines thread, worse than what he called you. Please put him on your ignore list. I will tell him the same.

How does a person with a non free email register? Whom do I email? The last time I tried this BRF admins took 3 months to register the name. I am reporting my message along with a prayer that someone pay's attention

Here is the message I have posted while reporting my own post
I am reporting my own message along with a prayer that someone pays attention. The last time a friend wanted to register - it took 3 months.

I met a gentlemen called *** ***in the Chennai indology conference who has just retired from ***. He is a gold mine of information - having worked on *** and ***. He tried to register with BRF (he has been a lurker) and this is the email he sent me:
"Dear Shiv,
I tried to register with BR but found that the site doesn't accept public email addresses such as gmail. I have no other email address since leaving ***. I have had this issue in the past (couldn't register with *** email or public email addresses), and gave up trying to register.
Can the BR admins make an exception? "
This is an utter shame. I am requesting that someone responds to me. We need such people and not trolls. What do you want me to do to get this man registered?

Shiv, You have my email address. Please send the person's preferred user name and will see to it.

In the past we had lot of problems due to free email with trolls etc. Hence public accounts are disabled.
However being Indians there are exceptions to every rule!!!
Especially when it comes recommended by someone of your stature.

Shiv saar, you could also email admn.brf at gee mard.

Suraj,
Mort, it's not good enough to point fingers elsewhere. You're among the biggest culprits at such posting in this thread and elsewhere (e.g. economy, GST threads). But you could do better, and should just post to the best of your knowledge rather than complain.
When we do get into a discussion with details contrary to what has been posted, then that discussion has been shut down on the grounds of being thread derailment. Otherwise threads are positive reinforcement of group-think. If you don't like my posts, then simply say so. It is a private forum and I understand.

Can I know who deleted my comment in Understanding US thread and why it violated what rule that apparently does not apply to other posts in that thread?

If you are going to allow domestic US thread, then is it going to be all deep state this, deep state that..and basically a rehash of whatever is running on fox news ..an example being
"The Deep State is in the Just-iss Dept. Sessions, the bumbling idiot KKK grand dragon, recused himself and left Deep State actors Rod Rosenstein and Free Biscuit director Andrew McCabe hire Mueller. Now they've started the witch hunt against the Donald. Just-iss Dept. secret meetings, 50K deleted texts, and FISA abuse. The whole thing is looking like a false flag operation"
la.khan

Post by la.khan »

BR admins,

When I visit BRF, I see this message. It is 1½ years since BR server crashed & recovered and we still see the message. Can this be removed?
Bharat Rakshak Forum Announcement

Hello Everyone,

A warm welcome back to the Bharat Rakshak Forum.

Important Notice: Due to a corruption in the BR forum database we regret to announce that data records relating to some of our registered users have been lost. We estimate approx. 500 user details are deleted.

To ease the process of recreating the user IDs we request members that have previously posted on the BR forums to recognise and identify their posts, once the posts are identified please contact the BRF moderator team by emailing BRF Mod Team with your post details.

The mod team will be able to update your username, email etc. so that the user history can be maintained.

Unfortunately for members that have never posted or have had all their posts deleted i.e. users that have 0 posts, we will be unable to recreate your account hence we request that you re-register again.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused and thank you for your understanding.

Seetal
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

I'm just not able to open the forums (Chrome browser) via my home internet connection (local ISP)

The forums open via mobile internet on my phone.
What could be the locha?
Bob V

Post by Bob V »

Is there a thread to discuss the upcoming Defence Expo ?

Bob V wrote:Is there a thread to discuss the upcoming Defence Expo ?
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=7639