BR Forum Feedback

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: BR Forum Feedback

Sorry, no initials. Needs a human readable name.
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

Everyone refers to me as VJ - here & elsewhere

Vishal Jolapara wrote:Everyone refers to me as VJ - here & elsewhere
Take a que from deejay may be. :lol:
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

komal

Post by komal »

can't find forum link on samsung
Patni

Post by Patni »

A question, just noticed Baidu (bot) in list of members currently online. If I remember correctly BRF wasn't accessible from other side of chini firewall? Do crawling bots get registered on our forum?
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

Suraj wrote:Sorry, no initials. Needs a human readable name.
How is KJo a human readable name?

Come on yaar.

By mod consensus, changed to ViJ instead.
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

Suraj wrote:By mod consensus, changed to ViJ instead.
Arrey yaar pls don't murder my name to this ViJ, VJ please :oops:

Mods if there is any low tech moderator work that I can help with I can spare 1-2 hrs daily

Thanks for volunteering :)
Marten
Location: Engaging Communists, Uber-Socialists, Maoists, and other pro-poverty groups in fruitful dialog.

Post by Marten »

archan wrote:Thanks for volunteering :)
Welcome surprise to see you back.

Thanks. I've been around, doing stuff at the back end. Been short on time lately.

Mods, my PM is not working though I am a BR Mainsite Crew. Would it be possible to activate my PM feature? Thank You.

Same issue here. Indranil thats why I couldnt respond to your message earlier. Thanks and the answer, is yes.

Hi Indranil,

Same issue for me. Hence replied through reporting the message. Hope that worked.

IR,

Thanks a lot for the PM. Ditto as above 3 posts, cannot reply to PM. And it a yes from me.

Hi guys, it seems the forum crash had reset all mainsite crew a/c to BRFite, even though the rank badge said otherwise.
I have added the following people to mainsite crew :
vaibhav.n
nikhil_p
pralay
ManuJ
maitya
A Nandy

please check if you can access the mainsite forum. if I missed anyone please let me know.
cheers.

It is visible now. I thought it was removed.

Yes its visible again.

Time to kick off some BR updates?

I think the board format has become stale. This has been how it is for ages. It will be good to have a refresh.
Maybe have sections for International, one for National, another for nukkad type threads.

Karan M wrote:Yes its visible again.

by all means !

Is there a reason why we still have the "Bharat Rakshak Forum Announcement" at the top of all the pages? Can't that be removed alreadee?
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

Bhaijaans, what is this deal with the site badge?
As in, till what tenure/no. of posts is one Newbie/BRFite/Oldie etc.... ?

0/100/2000 (I think )

^^ 2200 for Oldie.

Why is the location field on for some and not available for most?
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

arshyam wrote:^^ 2200 for Oldie.
Is that why most folks rush in to IBTL on threads? :D

There used to be times when posters would fret over trash canning of threads which would drop post count.... :lol:

Karan M wrote:Yes its visible again.

by all means !
Well I started a missile list. Similar ones for other systems will follow. But how to have them on BR.. you lot will have to think that. That operational stuff is the tough part. :mrgreen:

V J wrote:
arshyam wrote:^^ 2200 for Oldie.
Is that why most folks rush in to IBTL on threads? :D
Now, now, finally, you are a BRF insider. :mrgreen:
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

^ :lol: Yaar this sishtam is galat.

Let us please so something on the lines of what reddit ka military section. No of posts in brackets:

Private (10)
Private First Class (15)
Specialist (25)
Coporal (40)
Sergeant (50)
Staff Sergeant (60)
Sergeant First Class (70)
Master Sergeant (80)
2nd Lieutenant (90)
1st Lieutenant (100)
Captain (120)
Major (140)
Lieutenant Colonel (160)
Colonel (180)
Brigadier General (200)
Major General (250)
Lieutenant General (500)
General (750)
MilitaryPorn General (1000)

And they get this small little logo/flair against their handle

We can do ranks of our senas.

Perhaps, one day BR will crown Hindustan's first Admiral of the Fleet 8)

Mods(IR ji) - got a private message, didnt understand how to reply back ended up replying using feedback to moderators, can you please check.

Bhyphor 'ahead of the curve..' BRF has no thread yet on AI and its implications (military / strategic / societal / technological...) ??

The fact that Rahul Gandhi and Pakistan are talking about it does not discredit the field itself surely !!

And, no - I am not looking to start one myself.

Actually I was thinking of that a month ago as to why despite having so many software gurus we don't have an AI thread in the strategic forum? There is one on cyber-warfare etc., in Mil forum and all sorts of gadgets, operating systems thread in GDF :lol:
Reason for the icon is we have Technology and Economic Forum!!!! And most of the threads are about the economy!

V J wrote:Perhaps, one day BR will crown Hindustan's first Admiral of the Fleet 8)
There is and will always be only one Admiral and that is me onlee :)
prasannasimha

Post by prasannasimha »

Indranil I got a message privately from you but have no way to reply.
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

V J wrote:Perhaps, one day BR will crown Hindustan's first Admiral of the Fleet 8)
There is and will always be only one Admiral and that is me onlee :)

For a military forum such as us, we need more military specific emojis such as the one above as well as implementation of military ranks instead of these site badges.

0-50 Posts = Jawan
51-100 Posts = Flying Officer/Sublieutenant/Lieutenant
101-500 Posts = Fl Lt/Lt/Capt
501-1000 Posts = Sq Ldr/Lr Cdr/Maj
1001-2500 Posts = Wg Cdr/Cdr/Lt Col
2501-5000 Posts = Gp Capt/Capt/Col
5001-10000 Posts = Air Cdre/Cdre/Brig
10001-50000 (or 10k-25k) Posts = AVM/RAdm/Maj Gen
50001-100000 (or 25k to 50k) Posts = AM/VAdm/Lt Gen
1L+ (or 50k-1L) Posts = ACM/Adm/Gen

5 Sitara rank to be offered as a decoration solely on the discretion of the site crew in recognition of vishesh yogdaan.

What do you guys think?

^^ Too flippant, don't you think? Best leave the ranks to those who really earned it...
TPFscopes

Post by TPFscopes »

I'm unable to find a thread where I can introduce myself with the BRF team and member.

Someone suggest me a more accurate thread to do so....