India's R&D in Defence DRDO, PSUs and Private Sector

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India's R&D in Defence DRDO, PSUs and Private Sector

Yes, to point no 1.

For point no 2, the data link is operating at the speed of radio signals. However, far the uav or ugv reach from the operator's. They will always be under 1 second from the operator's.

However, for operations where satalite data links are involved, the time delay in some cases is in the region of 2 seconds. Due to the distance the signal has to travel.

Hope it helps.
jaysimha

Post by jaysimha »

Bell-O-Seal Valves Pvt. Ltd
https://www.bellowseal.com/index.html

https://www.bellowseal.com/about.html
Keeping in mind of our very beloved Prime Minister of India Mr. Narendra Modi of his motivation of MAKE IN INDIA, BOS is now moving in supporting this move of making Nuclear Valves for the Indian Nuclear department. Moving towards making India stronger and self-reliant. BOS for its excellent performance , year after year we have been awarded by Central Ministers Mr Suresh Prabhu (2015) and Mr Piyush Goyal (2017). Contributing towards the growth of the nation.

To a humble beginning of 15 people way back 1989 to a workforce of over 500 in 2019 with over 100,000 sq. feet of manufacturing with latest VMC’s, CNC’s, Laser Welding on Bellows, MSLD to PMI testing equipment’s, BOS forges forward to exporting of it valves not only to the Refinery, Petrochemical or Chemical plants, but also to the Solar power projects.
jaysimha

Post by jaysimha »

https://www.facebook.com/ideaforge/
We were honoured to have Maj Gen KV Jauhar, VSM, Addl DG Army Design Bureau (ADB) and Lt Col Jayara visit the ideaForge facility today

Its seems samvijay electronic warfare system used in operation Snow Leopard
jaysimha

Post by jaysimha »

https://rcilab.in/OnlineExam/Pages/Homepage.aspx
Azadi Ka Amrut Mahotsav (March 2021 to August 2022)’ - is an initiative of the Government of India to celebrate and commemorate 75 years of independence of progressive India and the glorious history of its people, culture and achievements.

Ongoing Events
Virtual Lecture Series (VLS)

'Senior Scientists of RCI are delivering online sessions under 'Virtual Lecture Series' (VLS) on the technologies and systems developed by RCI DRDO. A list of 49 topics has been compiled and placed for reference. A number of institutions of repute has taken advantage of these Virtual Lecture Series for interaction with their faculties and students'.

Note: Any interested Engineering & Technology Institution can contact through RCI email hrdg@rcilab.in for the organizing virtual sessions.

List of topics
https://rcilab.in/OnlineExam/SiteAssets ... Series.pdf
jaysimha

Post by jaysimha »

India Ideas: Made in India Deftech
jaysimha

Post by jaysimha »

Insight into response of single-particle engine to environmental noise can help construct micro-machines, useful in biomedical engineering
Posted On: 21 SEP 2021 10:36AM by PIB Delhi
https://pib.gov.in/PressReleseDetailm.aspx?PRID=1756643
Micro mechanical machines are in the forefront of present-day science and technology, with applications ranging from aerospace to biomedical engineering.

A team of researchers at the Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR), constructed a micrometer-sized Stirling engine (kind of heat engine converting thermal energy into kinetic energy by heating and cooling the working gas sealed in the cylinders) by confining a single colloidal particle with a laser trap.
jaysimha

Post by jaysimha »

Dr. G. Satheesh Reddy Chairman of the DRDO on Tech4Seva2021
Sep 18, 2021

https://www.youtube.com/hashtag/tech4seva2021

http://www.tech4seva.in
jaysimha

Post by jaysimha »

Atmanirbhar Bharat in Defence:
BrahMos gets airframe assemblies from Godrej Aerospace
By: FE Online | Updated: September 28, 2021 4:33 PM
https://www.financialexpress.com/defenc ... e/2339605/
BrahMos Aerospace Pvt Ltd (BAPL) takes delivery of the 200th set of stealth universal supersonic cruise missile airframe assemblies from Godrej Aerospace. Each of these airframes which are to be used in the BrahMos missile is made up of 138 complicated sub-assemblies that are manufactured from more than 1500 parts.

jaysimha

Post by jaysimha »

https://www.drdo.gov.in/sites/default/f ... p_2021.pdf
DRDO Newsletter
SEPTEMBER 2021 | VOLUME 41 | ISSUE 9
ISSN: 0971-4391

DRDO SUCCESSFULLY FLIGHT-TESTS INDIGENOUSLY DEVELOPED MPATGM FOR MINIMUM RANGE
AERV DEVELOPED BY DRDO TRANSFERRED TO DEFENCE FORCES
jaysimha

Post by jaysimha »

DRDO Hands Over Air Defence Missile MRSAM System to Indian Air Force
DRDO develops Advanced Chaff Technology for Indian Air Force

DRDO news letter
OCTOBER 2021 | VOLUME 41 | ISSUE 10
https://www.drdo.gov.in/sites/default/f ... Oct_21.pdf
jaysimha

Post by jaysimha »

List of opprtunities for MSMEs.

https://defenceexpotn.in/msme-opportunities/
jaysimha

Post by jaysimha »

https://pib.gov.in/PressReleaseIframePa ... ID=1760781
Ministry of Defence
Raksha Mantri gives away DRDO Dare to Dream 2.0 & Young Scientists awards

Shri Rajnath Singh calls for R&D in futuristic technologies

Our aim is to equip our forces with latest machinery to deal with any challenge: RM
Posted On: 04 OCT 2021 3:17PM by PIB Delhi

On this occasion, three products/systems indigenously developed by DRDO were also handed over to the Armed Forces. These are:

☻ ARINC818 Video Processing and Switching Module: The module, developed for the Indian Air Force, was handed over to the Vice Chief of Air Staff Air Marshal Sandeep Singh. It is a state-of-the-art module with high bandwidth, low latency, channel bonding, easy networking and will cater to 5th generation aircraft development programmes.

☻ Sonar Performance Modelling System: Developed for the Indian Navy, the system was handed over to Vice Chief of Naval Staff Vice Admiral Satish Namdeo Ghormade. It is useful for Indian Naval ships, submarines and under water surveillance stations etc.

☻ Bund Blasting Device Mk-II: The device, developed for Indian Army, was handed over to the Vice Chief of Army Staff Lt Gen CP Mohanty. It is used to reduce the height of Ditch-cum-Bund obstacles to enhance the mobility of mechanised infantry during wartime.
A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) was also exchanged between Prof HA Pandya, Vice Chancellor, Gujarat University and Secretary Department of Defence R&D and Chairman DRDO Dr G Satheesh Reddy for establishing an Advanced Technology Centre ‘Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Centre for Cyber-Security Research’ at Gujarat University for conducting directed research in cyber security.
csaurabh

Post by csaurabh »

jaysimha wrote:https://pib.gov.in/PressReleaseIframePa ... ID=1760781
Ministry of Defence

Our aim is to equip our forces with latest machinery to deal with any challenge: RM

On this occasion, three products/systems indigenously developed by DRDO were also handed over to the Armed Forces. These are:

☻ ARINC818 Video Processing and Switching Module: The module, developed for the Indian Air Force, was handed over to the Vice Chief of Air Staff Air Marshal Sandeep Singh. It is a state-of-the-art module with high bandwidth, low latency, channel bonding, easy networking and will cater to 5th generation aircraft development programmes.

☻ Sonar Performance Modelling System: Developed for the Indian Navy, the system was handed over to Vice Chief of Naval Staff Vice Admiral Satish Namdeo Ghormade. It is useful for Indian Naval ships, submarines and under water surveillance stations etc.

☻ Bund Blasting Device Mk-II: The device, developed for Indian Army, was handed over to the Vice Chief of Army Staff Lt Gen CP Mohanty. It is used to reduce the height of Ditch-cum-Bund obstacles to enhance the mobility of mechanised infantry during wartime.
A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) was also exchanged between Prof HA Pandya, Vice Chancellor, Gujarat University and Secretary Department of Defence R&D and Chairman DRDO Dr G Satheesh Reddy for establishing an Advanced Technology Centre ‘Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Centre for Cyber-Security Research’ at Gujarat University for conducting directed research in cyber security.
I was honored to receive prize from Shri Rajnath Singh on this occasion for our startup company.
titash

Post by titash »

csaurabh wrote:
Ministry of Defence

I was honored to receive prize from Shri Rajnath Singh on this occasion for our startup company.
csaurabh-ji,

Many Many congratulations! Wish you continued success on this journey

Please share details on your company & product portfolio, and the product/project that won the award

csaurabh wrote:I was honored to receive prize from Shri Rajnath Singh on this occasion for our startup company.
csaurabh, awesome. Many congratulations.

csaurabh wrote:
Ministry of Defence

Hearty congrats !.. Good to see people like you in BRF
VickyAvinash

Post by VickyAvinash »

csaurabh wrote:
Ministry of Defence

Congratulations csaurabh ji. Inspiring
ernest

Post by ernest »

csaurabh wrote:
Ministry of Defence

Great to hear this. You are doing what many jingoes here wish to. Congratulations

csaurabh wrote:
Ministry of Defence

Congrats.. if i am not wrong this is the second time you are getting such an award ?

https://airpowerasia.com/2020/06/02/wha ... rgeon/amp/
What Holds Back Indian Military Aviation Development – Historic Perspective By a Retired Surgeon
By Shiv Sastry
With money that was already in short supply flowing into the pockets of French, British and Russian arms exporters to maintain operational readiness, there was neither money nor pressure to get our arms producing Public Sector Units to create high technology or to employ the leadership to innovate in an “also ran” industry reduced to building under license. Unfortunately, even imports and building under license did not give us ready-made, safe and effective platforms from the word go. The IAF has had to put in a great deal of effort, with inputs from foreign makers and sometimes with no inputs, to make the imported platforms effective and reasonably safe.

Most Indians who view the Gnat, the star air combat fighter of 1965 and 1971 with glowing admiration, do not know that it had a high accident rate and many pilots were lost to accidents. From 1958 to 1980 the Gnat had 613 major accidents and 624 minor incidents, which included very serious flight control issues, gun stoppages, brake seal failures and issues with the hydraulic system and HF radio transmitter (6). The IAF did not lose faith but wanted deficiencies removed. The Jaguar has been mentioned earlier. Its original Nav-Attack system left much to be desired and this was addressed only by intense effort within India in the DARIN upgrade programs. The MiG-23, an urgent purchase from Russia to counter the F-16 had serious issues with the engine. The MiG-21 in its original avatar had no gun, ineffective K-13 missiles and very short legs. It was again concerted effort within India and a supportive Air Force that helped the MiG-21 achieve its formidable reputation, although it is now long in the tooth.
csaurabh

Post by csaurabh »

Thanks for your kind wishes. I will post more information as the projects progress if it is allowed by DRDO.

csaurabh ji, congratulations for the second award.

Congrats CSaurabh, please post as much as you are able.
venkat_kv

Post by venkat_kv »

csaurabh wrote:
Ministry of Defence

Hearty Congratulations for your recognition CSaurabh Saar. hope you go many more steps higher.
arvin

Post by arvin »

Congratulations CSaurabh.
Inspiring to see people like you take a shot at real high tech stuff.
In an era where startups who make home delivery gaaanja type apps are getting easy funding, you chose to build something different that you are passionate about.

CSaurabh,

Congratulations, hopefully first of many to come.
csaurabh

Post by csaurabh »

Karan M wrote:Congrats CSaurabh, please post as much as you are able.
Yes indeed. You can refer my website
https://www.vashishtha-research.com/
and youtube channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC05Q5f ... lYdV4DZCAw

however this content is about 4-6 months out of date. We are going to update it soon. These are are regular products and some are near completion now. We have got a tender from ISRO and some interest from CSIR-NAL as well.

The DRDO Dare to Dream award is a prize given essentially for demonstration of a concept and ability, not for a fully working product. And yes this is the second time we have received the award, although we have received other awards as well.

However, as D2D contest winners we got a chance to apply to TDF ( Technology Development Fund ) DRDO for development of the product. Separate from this we are also developing a technology for DRDO ASL. Both projects have been agreed to in principle, though the final agreement will still take many more months. Most probably the 2 DRDO projects won't be listed on our website as they are of a somewhat sensitive nature.

csaurabh wrote:
However, as D2D contest winners we got a chance to apply to TDF ( Technology Development Fund ) DRDO for development of the product. Separate from this we are also developing a technology for DRDO ASL. Both projects have been agreed to in principle, though the final agreement will still take many more months. Most probably the 2 DRDO projects won't be listed on our website as they are of a somewhat sensitive nature.
Indeed i suggest more laid back posts with observations instead of factual details., information by its own nature attracts people for very different reasons, and not all are benign. Suggest a different name handle and being more anonymous.

Congratulations Saurabh ! Wishing you many more successes in the future.

This is the next technology frontier India needs to invest in:

https://spectrum.ieee.org/the-quest-for ... oggle-gdpr

TWTs and the cold cathode travelling wave tube. Extremely important.

csaurabh wrote:
Karan M wrote:Congrats CSaurabh, please post as much as you are able.
Yes indeed. You can refer my website
https://www.vashishtha-research.com/
and youtube channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC05Q5f ... lYdV4DZCAw

however this content is about 4-6 months out of date. We are going to update it soon. These are are regular products and some are near completion now. We have got a tender from ISRO and some interest from CSIR-NAL as well.

The DRDO Dare to Dream award is a prize given essentially for demonstration of a concept and ability, not for a fully working product. And yes this is the second time we have received the award, although we have received other awards as well.

Wonderful and Good luck with all your ventures. Rooting for you!

Filament winding is for composites? What is the feedstock? I mean what material is used?
csaurabh

Post by csaurabh »

Vayutuvan wrote:
Filament winding is for composites? What is the feedstock? I mean what material is used?
It is a generic manufacturing process in which any kind of filament can be used. Like carbon fiber, glass fiber, UDPE, etc.
Materials are not the focus of our company. We are into manufacturing technologies, robotics and CAD/CAM software.
jaysimha

Post by jaysimha »

Congrats Saurabh...
----------------------

https://www.deccanherald.com/business/b ... 37328.html

Sasmos to supply parts for upgradation of Indian Army battle tanks
As part of these upgrades, Sasmos will be developing more than 1,200 parts for each control system, which were until now being sourced from Russia

Prathik Desai, DHNS, Bengaluru, OCT 05 2021

csaurabh wrote:
Vayutuvan wrote:
It is a generic manufacturing process in which any kind of filament can be used. Like carbon fiber, glass fiber, UDPE, etc.
Materials are not the focus of our company. We are into manufacturing technologies, robotics and CAD/CAM software.
OK. I am not very familiar with that end of the software. More into CAE and simulating composites and contact problems. Are you folks doing any meshing, not just surface triangulations for rendering the CAD models but 3D meshing? Toolpath verification or generation of CNC programs?
csaurabh

Post by csaurabh »

Vayutuvan wrote:
csaurabh wrote:
OK. I am not very familiar with that end of the software. More into CAE and simulating composites and contact problems. Are you folks doing any meshing, not just surface triangulations for rendering the CAD models but 3D meshing? Toolpath verification or generation of CNC programs?
We are not generating mesh but using it ( surface mesh only ) - primarily for generating robot and machine tool paths (CNC programs) for various applications ( our custom designed cad-cam softwares ). Apart from that we also develop robot/machine hardware, electronics and instruments.

Go on Saurabh and your team. We are cheering for you!
csaurabh

Post by csaurabh »

Indranil wrote:Go on Saurabh and your team. We are cheering for you!
Thanks guys. I just came back from a recent trip to some DRDO centres and wish I could feel that enthusiastic. The capacity for industrial production and R&D in the country is nowhere near what most BRFites think it is. I sometimes feel it is a wonder that anything at all is achieved!