India's Retaliation Options to significant terrorist strikes

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India's Retaliation Options to significant terrorist str

Karan M wrote:Where are these so called bases? IMO, based on prior reports they are mostly staging areas, the real bases are deep in Pak Punjab.
Even if POK say just has staging areas which is not truly the case , pinpoint strikes that takes care of couple of Jihadi or HVT would instill the fear of retaliation in their hearts and minds , so far effectively missing as hence no deterrent against strikes
Yes but you need time sensitive intel and quick action not the media debated rhona dhona pencil sharpening, file pushing and similar sh!t. You need to move this out of babucracy and into hands of armed forces like US did with its direct action teams or Israel does with its joint Mossad, Sayaret Matkal teams. If for instance, intel says 300 fighters are in x camps in TSP, then you have to hit asap for maximum effect. Right then and there.

Not have articles in press about wot to do, twitter outrage, then india today article with cool graphics, then 2 months later, when camps are empty, 2 mirage 2000s go across and drop $2Mn Israeli bomb on an empty grass field and then sh!ts like P Swami and Ghose or Turddesai will then howl that 4 cats, 3 innocent puppies and 2 donkeys were killed by extremist AF, will Modi answer? Time is for peace bla bla bla..

Any retaliation Option against TSP:

The effect has to be dramatic, incontrovertible and multiple options need to exist.

So if AF is used, then you need to ensure AF bases & personnel are made 10x more secure than chalta hain attitude today. You need to stock up on PGMs. Also, be prepared for opponent tactics to change to smaller units in smaller bases.

Basically be agile.

And for this you need deep action teams & HUMINT & capability to bear losses.

Like it or not, Deejay has a point. Civilians want an antiseptic war with zero losses to our own side. However, if we don't have agility we will have to learn as we do, and that means casualties will be taken but the other side will get hurt in return.

What is p!ssing off India and our armed forces is not that they die bravely, but the returns are not commensurate. In short, they believe their courage should be well employed & I think we really need to start thinking on those lines & prepping for a protracted conflict.

Multiple options for multiple contingencies & also constant appreciation you are at war.

When there is this fake peace as we have today, people including overground supporters of Pak in media and political parties can openly champion near treasonous behaviour. When the gloves are off, then people's patience for such sh!t will also reduce.

Of course, there is the risk that a tired, weak public will drop Modi and elect a new Govt which will do appeasement politics. That is the issue I think current Govt will evaluate (their own needs) as versus what BRF may champion.

Anyways, long story short, first get out of denial that Pakistan is an enemy, not some neighbour with "issues" who only wants to kill your people, and do such "naughty things".

That attitude in part exists because our netas and babus are too insulated and take safe decisions and hence give that same advice to PM etc when a strong line is advocated.

So what is my proposal?

To begin with,

Covert: External: we should massively ramp up funding to Baloch and Sindh movements.

Internal conventional: And also attack serviceability, munitions reserves issues in forces on war footing. CQB needs to be a new focus. Do whatever it takes to get our SF best equipped and rapidly deployed. Red teams to constantly test and improve base security. Every base should have layered defenses above and beyond what exists today.

Internal security:
New anti terror laws to basically attack any high level prominent corruption or appeasement tactics.

Covert internal and external:
And rapidly ramp up HUMINT. Accept some money will be wasted but spend on assets in TSP and India.

There will be no dearth of people against Pak mil and begin targeted campaign against ISI and LET/JEM using their rivals or others.

Also: we have to basically make it clear to TSP what our redlines are.

So far, TSP is the one setting redlines because our leaders are either too pappi-jhappi and full of misplaced love for Pakistan (MMS-Gujral), or too "ethical" (ABV mumbling when pressed by RAW to retaliate eye for eye), or too confused (the whole bunch of others apart from PVNR) or learning as doing (shri Modi).

When you drop all this fig leaf of India being some moral state and start engaging in realpolitik to protect your people, and Pak afsars are scared to venture out of their fortified bases to egg their troops to attack Indians or Americans or wutever, then you have scored a first victory.

Right now, they are sitting pretty while we are fortifying and gritting our teeth.

What is terror infra? Are the top figureheads of various tanjims part of terror infra? Are their family members who provide various early and spiritual functions part of terror infra?

Scope of covert action against terror infra is not small as it is to be believed, need the confidence on own civilization roots to get out of the current self-imposed dogma.

Also, what is required is have clear cut objective of behavior modification of the opponent as medium term outcome as opposed to a 'permanent solution' and map various methods to reach this objective in the next couple of years.

Lets have our own 'cap, rollback, eliminate' policy. It is not short term.

This should take care of the kick part; talk should provide cover for this.

Heard Zakiur Rehman Lakhvi became a father while in jail. How well the mother is protected by deep state? How about the family members of Hafeez pig and Azhar pig?

None advocating harm against innocents but why not even the warning shots? Let escalation take its own course.

As NaMo said earlier, lets talk in the same language that the other understands.

Karan M wrote:Yes but you need time sensitive intel and quick action not the media debated rhona dhona pencil sharpening, file pushing and similar sh!t. You need to move this out of babucracy and into hands of armed forces like US did with its direct action teams or Israel does with its joint Mossad, Sayaret Matkal teams. If for instance, intel says 300 fighters are in x camps in TSP, then you have to hit asap for maximum effect. Right then and there.

Not have articles in press about wot to do, twitter outrage, then india today article with cool graphics, then 2 months later, when camps are empty, 2 mirage 2000s go across and drop $2Mn Israeli bomb on an empty grass field and then sh!ts like P Swami and Ghose or Turddesai will then howl that 4 cats, 3 innocent puppies and 2 donkeys were killed by extremist AF, will Modi answer? Time is for peace bla bla bla..
Yes but recollect the Air Chief mentioned they have intel to hit terroritst target in POK even during Kargil , Hard to expect that wont have gone up by leaps and bound in ensuing 15 years since he made that statement

They wont be any perfect intelligence on such things as even ISI would be anticipating and would take some precuation , They key is to hit them back wheather 2 dozen or 200 dies in such attack , So the fear of we will get you always is there in their mind when ISI plots their next adventure

counter intelligence operations to nullify a threat in Pakistan soil itself is needed .. now we had intelligence this is going to happen .. was it possible to intercept them at the border or even beyond ?... a proactive intelligence against Pakistan is needed .. with the gloves off

Austin, all I am saying is Intel is time sensitive. Intel is useless if you act on it after seven rounds of chai-biscoot, media bickering and sending dossiers to unkil-aunty about what you'll do.

We need to work with the Israelis to figure out the operational procedures they have devised, even if generic and then build on that.

Right now, here is what happens.

Attack.

We will give befitting reply = Minister1,2,3,4
We are in charge of situation = Jarnail1,2,3,4
India=Pakistan = both r victims onlee = Indoo terror = Jihadi bla bla = Turddesai, Ghouse, Barking Mutt
Why cant we have peace, we condom the attack = Pakistan
GOI chai-biscoot mode
BRF upset, Modi is a sell out, is this why elected him? Grrrrrrrrr, at least shut the Pak pasand media dawgs up

India Today article on great plans
More media article on even grater plans
BRF gets excited

Unkil calls up big agency and says put an eye on things
Unkil calls up Dilli and says dont do bla bla we will put pressure on Pakistan for bla bla
Pakistan says bla bla bla
India says Harrumph, we will see
India Today article on what almost happened; we called off strike because by the time CCS spoke to LCS and file went to KCS and bla bla arrived from Israel and jhumri talayya mud huts were empty

BRF debates
Huge firestorm on net between Pak teenaged jihadis and Indian SM folks on how PAF is so paawerful and green djinns will attack

Next attack

Rinse, lather, repeat

I think the first step should be sanctions. Later other actions may or may nor follow, but the first automatic step should be sanctions for some minimum time-frame.

Why can't we to begin with officially label Pakistan a TERRORIST STATE ? Then impose sanctions on it.

Because as long as we don't we are implicitly accepting the non state actors argument.

World can be convinced later or will catch up on its own once Pakis from Al Britannia do something significant in EU or in Khan land (which is only a matter of time).

whats the use of having armed drones without actionable intelligence ? .. why not have some dedicated GEO satellites radar/optical imaging for full time surveillance of the borders ..also remove all forests and any cover all along the borders .. need to be proactive .. no other options here .. but see some positives here .. the media at least is not going haywire .. coordination between intelligence agencies could be better .. and why not designate just one agency if an attack has already happened ..it was best if the punjab police was out of the loop .. local law enforcement agencies are susceptible to external influences.
Y. Kanan

Post by Y. Kanan »

What a ridiculous discussion. The "terrorist infrastructure" is the Paki population itself. The goal of any war should be total victory. Every population center should be nuked. Every base. Followed by invasion and the deliberate and systematic destruction of as many Paki lives as possible and the complete dissolution of the Pakistani state. There shouldn't be any organized urban centres to occupy and control; just fortified IA contonements dotted across a post apocolyptic landscape. The remaining Paki populace should consist of bands of survivors that fled into the deserts and hills. You guys talk about "covert ops" and "cross border raids" that will just get a lot of Indian troops killed and accomplish nothing lasting. Shame on you; their lives may be expendable to most of you, but not to me.

Y. Kananji, with your experience and knowledge, I am pretty sure you are making a realistic assessment. My only concern with such a high threshold for credible response is that it gives plenty of room to justify inaction.
Y. Kanan

Post by Y. Kanan »

You guys are advocating limited war as a way to make ourselves feel better, to feel less impotent, treating the lives of our armed forces personell as if they were an expendable commodity. If Indian lives are so cheap, then why do we even get upset about these terror attacks in the first place? The nice thing about TOTAL WAR is we all get to risk our lives, and the enemy populace is held to account as they should be. The "jihadi infrastruture" of Pakistan and the PA are collective efforts. This demands collective punishment (ie: genocide). If we Indians don't have the stomach for this, then we've no business asking our military personnel to die for the sake of our satisfaction.
Screambowl

Post by Screambowl »

The government must not point towards any plan. And must keep their mouth closed. Bakis would be observing our move. Just like last time, many ministers started blabbering about military retaliation/surgical strike. Things should be done without uttering a single world. That will automatically cancel the talks.

y kanan Ji that's actually correct. total war may be necessary. but as we have seen it does not solve things.

I suggest we defenestrate TSPA in all possible ways.

y kanan Ji that's actually correct. total war may be necessary. but as we have seen it does not solve things.

I suggest we defenestrate TSPA in all possible ways.

they need to be kept busy internally.

Until and unless you cripple PA we ain't winning anything. To do that, you need to hit their money base, arms base and of course personnel base. Without a direct war, you can only plan assasinations. If you start taking out colonels and above in the PA and ISI, we will have more terror attacks. But there are only so many of them vs many more of us. This will need balls though. Hitting their economics and arms = being blunt with yoosaw. Again, balls. Upto the government now though.

Y. Kanan wrote:What a ridiculous discussion. The "terrorist infrastructure" is the Paki population itself. The goal of any war should be total victory. Every population center should be nuked. Every base. Followed by invasion and the deliberate and systematic destruction of as many Paki lives as possible and the complete dissolution of the Pakistani state. There shouldn't be any organized urban centres to occupy and control; just fortified IA contonements dotted across a post apocolyptic landscape. The remaining Paki populace should consist of bands of survivors that fled into the deserts and hills. You guys talk about "covert ops" and "cross border raids" that will just get a lot of Indian troops killed and accomplish nothing lasting. Shame on you; their lives may be expendable to most of you, but not to me.

Right, you will be leading the charge I presume, into TSP and will be nuking everything and everyone and of course, whole of India will remain a complete paradise in return.
Last edited by Karan M on 04 Jan 2016 15:04, edited 1 time in total.

Prasad wrote:Until and unless you cripple PA we ain't winning anything. To do that, you need to hit their money base, arms base and of course personnel base. Without a direct war, you can only plan assasinations. If you start taking out colonels and above in the PA and ISI, we will have more terror attacks. But there are only so many of them vs many more of us. This will need balls though. Hitting their economics and arms = being blunt with yoosaw. Again, balls. Upto the government now though.
We don't have to cripple them to deter them. They too will have a threshold after which they'll suddenly become more amenable to chai biscoot. As happened on the border with BSF vs Pak Rangers recently.

In my view, the top brass in Pak sees many of their own as expendable fodder. This is what happened in Kargil too.
Even the asymmetric warfare gives a crude plausible deniability which Pakis will shamelessly use. You see, no one takes the responsibility here and everyone is free one retribution.
Unless the top brass at the ISI and Jihadi army see the pain, nothing is going to stop them from using one group or the other against us.

Bizarre as it may sound, why cannot we have a 1-to-1 counter to the Paki asymmetric warfare strategy. Constitute a force, keep its command and control confidential, hit Paki defence infra and assasinate personnel and disband it quickly after a bunch of objectives are met. And then with a smirk, say that these are non-state personnel and there is nothing the govt can do about this. Without disclosed names, org charts and heads, no one needs to take any responsibility.

In effect , you have a ghost force which is propped up and disbanded at will. And we will ALSO have the plausible deniability that the Pakis have.

Why can't we just mine (incendiary mines, etc, laced with pork bookd) the border every inch and cameras every 50 metres to verify the destruction of the Jihadis?

Also why are we still giving "Islamic burials" to these Jihadis? Just burn them in pork fat! and get some Maulvi to declare a Fatwa that burned bodies with pork fat are declined in Heaven!
member_20036

Post by member_20036 »

A naval blockade in karachi will be nice begining. India should not budge unless demandz are met.

I can already see US and Chinese satellites being turned to watch India so Pakistan can be warned of an impending strike.

I think we need to cut the knots in which the western propaganda has tied us into. There is no reason for hitting only on J&K border or only terrorist camps.

Start by firing a single round Prahaar strike on an ammunition dump in Sindh. Deny it! See how it plays out! Pakis could do Kargill but we still get shivers when we think of any conventional action.

WHy does everything have to come down to a air strike. We can escalate matter across Jammu-Pakjab border thru artillery or ATGMs.

WHat is needed is escalation. However an airstrike is not warranted IMO at this time. What is needed is to raise temperature in the oven by 5 -10 degrees to singe the Pakis. Why is Indian intelligence not targetting the handlers of these peeps.

>>We can escalate matter across Jammu-Pakjab border thru artillery or ATGMs.

See population density chart. Punjab area is heavily populated.
http://i.imgur.com/dCYU23n.png

>>>Why is Indian intelligence not targetting the handlers of these peeps.

Clearly required assets are not there. And will have to be built up.

This is the possible dilemma for any GoI. Any response options have to be below, what one would call an act of war. Pakistan has that advantage in these acts. What GoI needs are options to hit back, that will hurt, are executable and serves our interests, yet be under the realm of plausible deniability and not escalate to an act of war.

One clear option is to target the terrorist leadership through paid assets and maybe even special forces or covert action in certain areas. Are these executable? My thinking is yes, if we plan it for these assets have to be built up, intelligence cannot be built overnight.

Another thing to do clearly is to let the PA pay the cost of every such terrorist act - regardless of the source of the act, to send them the message that we hold them to be ultimately responsible. This can be done with fire power, without crossing the border. But, within 72 hours of ANY such incident in India the message has to go and make it routine enough that they know that India will ALWAYS do this. Where, when, how can keep on changing. Sure enough talks can continue but the message should be India will act overtly and covertly - regardless of the government in Power. Where is the Indian deep state?
Last edited by ShauryaT on 04 Jan 2016 17:16, edited 1 time in total.

There is no dearth of retaliatory options but lack of will in GoI . I am wondering about the reason that makes GoI reluctant and paralysed to react. Is it the lack of defense preparedness ? What is it ?

One thing i know about politicians is they all believe in the short public memeory which given a span of few days will forget anything.

I still can't figure out what makes GoI impotent ? We have 2 major parties running this country and we have seen their reactions. Not much to choose from.

Chinmayanand wrote:
I still can't figure out what makes GoI impotent ? We have 2 major parties running this country and we have seen their reactions. Not much to choose from.
Lack of investment in the military and security apparatus (tracking at 1.7-1.9% of GDP now), public apathy on the needs of security - except at times of war/terrorist acts.
Screambowl

Post by Screambowl »

Chinmayanand wrote:
Inability to carry out covert ops from third country on Baki soil within hours as a counter. After IK Gujral dissolved RAW's covert capabilities in 90's , the CIT-X type teams don't exist any more.

Keep talking to Pakistan and keep destabilizing them in parallel. This was being done till 98'.

You can neutralise all Pakistani army personnel but non-muslim India will still be fighting off the violence perpetrated by islamist population in neighbourhood, inside and from other places across the world. There can't be peace anywhere till Islam in it's current form exists. Not that it was any good earlier, but current islamic theology is incompatible with all humane, tolerant civilisations.

Short term solution is to destroy Pakistan's military, but eradicating extremist islam should be the long term goal.

They say that "revenge is a dish best eaten cold",very true,but there are some instances when an immediate appropriate reaction is required. India however,has never planned for a swift mil. response to Paki terror,either during the Cong/UPA a decade or during the advent of the NDA-2. It is incomprehensible to serious observers-and I have been watching the grim reality of our relationship with both Pak and China for well over 3 decades now,where we have simply stood transfixed and motionless like a rabbit caught in the beam of a torch. Easy pickings for both our mortal enemies.

In recent times we've read and heard a lot about "Cold Start". "Cold Start" in reality has been icy cold and has had a "starting problem"! The max response from India has been this massive "befitting reply". This lack of a swift immediate mil action has been because both the mil infrastructure to deliver a massive blow upon the enemy's capabilities in men,material,logistics,etc.,plus the servile mentality that sees us always kowtowing to a white man,hoping that he will solve the problem himself,rather than take the whip in one hand and the sword in the other.Unless the mentality of the Lutyen's Delhi babudom,who advise their political masters undergoes a dramatic tranformation,,India will reel repeatedly under the scourge of Paki terror. Therefore,there is no alternative but to inflict upon Pak both wounding diplomatic and military and covert action.

Diplomatic action:
* Expelling their envoy. Expelling several diplomats,mil attaches and their ISI jokers along with him.

* Sanctions including economic,cultural,trade,intervisitation and sporting bans,etc.,until anti-Indian terror orchestrated by Pak stops.That includes attacks on our dplomatic missions in Afghanistan,etc.

*Overflight bans of Paki civilian aircraft.

*Pursuing Pak as a rogue terror state in all international fora on a war footing.Impose penalties and lower the all-round relationship with nations that support Pak,principally support its military and supplies it with arms,aid,etc. For ex. There is little point in kowtowing to the US which supplies Pak with ASW aircraft,F-16s,AMRAAMs,arty,anti-ship missiles,etc. which can be used only against India and not the Taliban!

Military action:
* Identify the locations of terror groups and take them out with air/drone strikes and LR/ER PGMs.

* Immediately use arty.MBRLs like Smerch,Pinaka,etc. for across the border strikes against targets of opportunity and select army/terror installations.These may be with or without air support mentioned above.

* Use of special forces if felt necessary,like the US hit of OBL. This is the riskiest course of action,but if properly planned -as the Israelis do,would yield results.

*Raising the tempo and grade of mil action. In the event of another attack of such severity similar to that on the Parliament,Bombay ,Delhi,etc., consider a devastating naval strike against Karachi (revenge for Bombay) to emasculate the PN.Destruction of the Paki ship/sub building infrastructure and as many ships and subs possible. Mining of Karachi. Similar attacks against Gwadar. These could even be carrier aircraft strikes. the IN has a plethora of anti-ship and land attack missiles of 300+ KM range which can be launched from the sea.targeting will not be a problem given our sat and other ISR capabilities.These mil strikes should be such that they would not lead to an all-out war,but to deliver devastating blows upon the Paki mil machine.The Paki navy is their weakest link.We must sever it and sink it!

For serious mil strike action,we must be prepared for Paki conventional warhead missile strikes in return and therefore require S-400s,Tor,Akash,Prithvi PAD,etc.

Covert action:
The "low-hanging fruit" Pak must be made to suffer similar covert attacks delivered by internal enemies of the regime with our backing anywhere in Pak. The Mohajirs,Shiites,Baluchis,Afghans,etc., already waging war against Paki state could do with a 'little help".However,we too need to re-establish our network of covert agents which were dismembered by "Gujral-the-Gutless"
"Manmohan-the-Monkey" did nothing worthwhile to restore the capability.It is time for "Modi-the-Man" to give the green light.

*Assassination of top Mil/ISI officers. Assasination of rabid anti-Indian Paki politicos and other entities who actively support the terrorists and succor their leadership.

*Destruction through sabotage of Paki mil installations,and attacks-if willing jihadis can be found,like that of the Karachi air/naval base. Destruction of key road,rail and services infrastructure.We can dust off the '71 Mukti Bahini ops which did grave damage to the Paki infrastructure prior to the conflict in '71.

*Car bombs and IEDs galore."False flag" ops.This is a favourite tactic of the British special ops SAS. They got caught in Iraq but rescued their agents in mufti who were caught.

*Operations abroad against Paki interests. Individuals financing the Paki global terror network to be "hit".

*Printing of fake Paki currency,securities,etc. to flood the country and destablise its economy. Fake low quality Paki goods popular abroad which earn them valuable forex.

*False flag ops.No details. This can be left to our gents who specialise in such matters.

*Plan for monumental cyber-warfare against Pak.The crippling of the entire Paki economy,banking,services,etc.,through hacking,insertion of viruses like STUXNET,which was allegedly used to cripple key Iranian nuclear installations IT is our speciality.We must maximise our capabilities.
This can be done incrementally and to include Paki mil command centres,etc. when required in a crisis. The Chinese have a million+ cyberarmy at work 24X7. We need to raise our own cyberarmy to be the world's best. great employment opportunities here!

These are just a few suggestions to get the bullet speeding!
Last edited by Philip on 04 Jan 2016 19:02, edited 1 time in total.

Be prepared for hot war and then do covert operation only with some spectacle. We do not have to fight the war; only modify the behavior of the population to our acceptable limit. We need to thank this for the safety of Indian prisoner's in pak. A proof of such behavior modification.

Nothing works better than self policing. Remember this?

We should increase orders of Rafales to 360 from 36. After we are Bankrupt then feeling of Greed may be replaced by Revenge.

Lebanon has initiated retaliatory strikes against Israel for killing of the Hezbollah commander Samir Kuntar on 19 Dec 2015. It took them a fortnight. Israel is hitting back.

Lebanon, though militarily inferior to Israel always hits back. The day Israel hit Samir Kuntar, they knew the retaliation will come. For a country which retaliates regularly, it took 15 days.

Posted here just to keep things in perspective.

even a symbolic movement of forces to the border can have the effect of pullin PA from the western front and thereby giving the bad talibuunies foothold in areas recently taken over by PA... can be indirect way of putting presure on PA once again..

manjgu wrote:even a symbolic movement of forces to the border can have the effect of pullin PA from the western front and thereby giving the bad talibuunies foothold in areas recently taken over by PA... can be indirect way of putting presure on PA once again..
If indulged in such passive actions, PA have the option of calling the bluff. #JustSaying

Better be prepared to do something active

ab kya karen bhaiya..govt to ekdum passive ho gayi hai..to passive options bata rahen hain

Defense minister should declare that since terrorism has no religion we have decided to burn the bodies of the killed militants with pork, etc fat. Get this televised across around the world so that Jihadis and wannabe jihadis are deterred. no body means no 72 hoors.

One thing, we should actively consider doing is to seriously invest in the Afghan Security Apparatus, including ground troops. We need to play this game and also have inroads into the Taleban, while fighting them at the same time. We need to build up these strategic assets, they are doable. It is these assets that are built, which can be utilized at the time of critical need. No investment, no gains. End of story.