'Make in India' Single engined fighter

Re: 'Make in India' Single engined fighter

brar_w wrote:It will likely be more but that is the case for practically all of its peer competitors as well. Unit fly-away cost is an important metric to track and plays the biggest role in determining affordability unless one is planning to acquire an extremely small number of units where significant differences in non recurring costs do play a role in tipping the scales.

What India is investing to buy the first 80 aircraft is essentially building production capacity and preparing the IAF to absorb these aircrafts. A lot of those are non-recurring costs. Hence it is better to look at overall program acquisition cost for the total program of record whether that is 100, 200 or 500. Initial batches will be more expensive on account of both lack of EOS, untapped learning curve associated efficiencies and higher non-recurring costs associated with those batches. Subsequent lots will be cheaper. Even the cost of manufacturing the aircraft varies over time with learning curve efficiency kicking in once you have produced a significant amount of them. See THIS from a larger program (but relevant to how learning curve impacts price through reduction in time required to build it, and improving the yields of key components)

Same applies for exports. If HAL has delivered 100 aircraft to the IAF and has a robust production line and supply chain then that will be reflected in its export price competitiveness. If it has to incur setup costs in order to fulfill the export order that will be reflected in its price tag as well.

Thank you again for your detailed reply Brar ji.

I've noticed that often one part of a reply to a poster ends up getting responded to without taking into consideration the context in which the post was made.

Nvishal ji made a statement -
Without foreign orders, funding a production line is not viable. We already have one for mki. Now 1x each for LCA and f16 is ridiculous.
To which I referenced the Mk1A figures.

I see the F16 proposal being criticized on this thread.
The more we debate that, the more it becomes clear to me that almost all of that criticism is equally applicable to the LCA.

I quoted the 50,000 crs numbers in reply to the statement by nvishal ji.

If our F16 line doesn't have export orders and hence he deems it unviable, going by Mk1A numbers, the chances of bagging an export order look nil to me.

The point of validity of criticism is taken. But because the LCA is hone made. I will support it.

The amount of energy required to put in production the f 16 if spent on LCA will produce better results and lasting gains.

So it is priceless in all respects.
Marten
Location: Engaging Communists, Uber-Socialists, Maoists, and other pro-poverty groups in fruitful dialog.

Post by Marten »

If our F16 line doesn't have export orders and hence he deems it unviable, going by Mk1A numbers, the chances of bagging an export order look nil to me.
Please clarify if you intend this for the F-16 exports or MK1a?

I take it you (finally?) agree the costs of MK1a are lower than comparative programs?

Marten wrote:
Please clarify if you intend this for the F-16 exports or MK1a?

I take it you (finally?) agree the costs of MK1a are lower than comparative programs?
Either you are confused or you are trying to confuse me.
Request you to re read the posts, it's quite clear what I've implied.

I can't say about the costs unless we see the numbers for either the Gripen and Solah.

But anyway what's the point in Mk1A being cheaper even if it is?
I was being told not to compare performance of Solah vs Mk1A as they are of a "different class" medium vs light.
If one shouldn't compare performance, then one shouldn't compare price too.
Marten
Location: Engaging Communists, Uber-Socialists, Maoists, and other pro-poverty groups in fruitful dialog.

Post by Marten »

nirav wrote:
Marten wrote: Please clarify if you intend this for the F-16 exports or MK1a?

Either you are confused or you are trying to confuse me.
Request you to re read the posts, it's quite clear what I've implied.

I can't say about the costs unless we see the numbers for either the Gripen and Solah.

But anyway what's the point in Mk1A being cheaper even if it is?
I was being told not to compare performance of Solah vs Mk1A as they are of a "different class" medium vs light.
If one shouldn't compare performance, then one shouldn't compare price too.
Let's say I am confused. Why don't you explain just once more.

nirav wrote:
The more we debate that, the more it becomes clear to me that almost all of that criticism is equally applicable to the LCA.
They are not applicable from angle of nationalits, as they see making more LCA's will free us from:

-going to foreigners again for integration of astra 3, SFDR and other munitions we will develop in future.

-develop national indigenous eco system
-no more paying huge amounts to foreigners for upgrading eg m2k huge cost.

- independence from sanctions, in next 40 years many clintons obamas type secret porki lovers may come in case of war they may put sanctions.

Manish_Sharma wrote:
nirav wrote:
They are not applicable from angle of nationalits, as they see making more LCA's will free us from:

-going to foreigners again for integration of astra 3, SFDR and other munitions we will develop in future.

-develop national indigenous eco system
-no more paying huge amounts to foreigners for upgrading eg m2k huge cost.

- independence from sanctions, in next 40 years many clintons obamas type secret porki lovers may come in case of war they may put sanctions.
I 108% agree with you Sharma sahib.
I'm not calling for the LCA to end.

I'm calling for an appreciation and understanding as to why -single engined fighter competition.

All participants on this thread want the best for Desh.i know that.
Some focus on mic,some on financials,some on strategic aspects,some in IAF operational needs and so on.

Individually considering the above, every one is right with their set of views.
However, the decision makers can't consider these aspects individually.. their decision is based on a complex and judicious mix of all above factors..

Which is why 36 Rafale + 123 LCA + 100 Solah.

(I'm batting for solah ;) )

Solah or Gripen,that's the only choice. It's not getting cancelled, nor is the LCA,despite all its headwinds..

The whole logic is " not enough fighters " .. change that to how to fight a 2 front war against mostly 4++ gen fighters .. should fighters be matched on an one to one basis ?!

kit wrote:The whole logic is " not enough fighters " .. change that to how to fight a 2 front war against mostly 4++ gen fighters .. should fighters be matched on an one to one basis ?!
Its not about matching fighter to fighter. Even if it is that, there is no guarantee how many fighters the Chinese will bring into the theater.

The same argument was used when t 90 was ordered we have seen the end result of that.

Manish_Sharma wrote:They are not applicable from angle of nationalists, <SNIP>
So, as per you, only those batting for more LCA order are nationalists while other are not? Or worse, are traitors?

If the issue is to fight a war on two fronts with the best available aircraft,as well as make up numbers,there are many other options not limited to just SE fighters. This SE req. appears (one sincerely hopes) as a means of accelerating development of the LCA by acquiring a similar sized fighter where some common eqpt./components could iron out the problems we're having exploiting the LCA programme of 3 decades+,not allowing it to simply collapse.That would be a monumental debacle for Indian desi aeronautic ambitions,putting into jeopardy any future programmes like the AMCA whatever. We would then be at the mercy of firang OEMs forever.

However,even if a med. sized aircraft is a better choice then either of the two birds shortlisted for the SE req.,the OEM of a twin-engined bird could also be tasked with helping perfect the LCA so that at least 200+ LCAs arrive before 2030. In such a case,there would be no competition at all to the LCA for the SE light fighter role,perhaps an even better solution. Options are many.Dassault,MIG/Sukhoi,even the Eurofarter and US manufacturers.

Manish_Sharma wrote:They are not applicable from angle of nationalists, <SNIP>
So, as per you, only those batting for more LCA order are nationalists while other are not? Or worse, are traitors?
Read the context:
Nirav wrote:. I see the F16 proposal being criticized on this thread.
In answer to the bolded part, I wrote:
They are not applicable from angle of nationalists
All I am pointing out is that Indigenous platform like Tejas can't be weighed on the same scale as a 'foreign platform' , anyone looking from nationalist angle won't.

It's very ugly behaviour of you to insert "T' word where none was used.

On technical parameters French tanker had beaten the Boeing tanker for usaf competition. Still nationalists in USA forced govt to purchase defeated indigenous tanker.

What needs to be articulated is how an F-16 line will translate into breakthroughs in Indian india-jeenius engine manufacture, on a scale that allows a Russian-scale LCA fleet in a very few years. IOW, 1000s. I HOPE this is case, but past history in learning from transferred technology is checkered.

Currently, IMO, there is no motivation to raise LCA production because of engine lack. Otherwise, they can easily do what my 6th coujin urged ADeeYay to do, many years ago as the 1st composite-panelled EllSeeYay was visible, and compared to its metal-surfaced predecessor: Bring in automobile company ppl to learn composite-panel and robotics to continuously improve surface fidelity, seamlessness and quality consistency - these will translate to huge improvement in transonic & supersonic L/D (which at time was way off from CeeEffDee predictions) and probably in radar c/s.
rajsunder

Post by rajsunder »

Manish_Sharma wrote:
On technical parameters French tanker had beaten the Boeing tanker for usaf competition. Still nationalists in USA forced govt to purchase defeated indigenous tanker.
BTW that French tanker was being planned to be built in one of the south states of US.

Currently, IMO, there is no motivation to raise LCA production because of engine lack. Otherwise, they can easily do what my 6th coujin urged ADeeYay to do, many years ago
Ulan ji, I just read in Tejas thread that French are claiming that they will make Tejas fly with Kaveri engine by 2019, have you looked in that matter? Any ray of hope there?

Manish, please see the Kaveri or LCA threads. Thanx.

No idea about Frogistanis. Every time I have trusted them they have stabbed me in the back. But they do build SNECMA engines.

M88 tech ain't gonna come to India anytime soon and imagining that Kaveri wil fly because of French help rather than the blood and sweat put in is a pipe dream. The M88 has been selected as the engine for a future Anglo-French collaborative fighter aircraft (that is sure to compete with F-35 I guess) and that engine will earn money for Frogistan for decades to come

M88 technology - or for that matter neither will F404/F414 technology - will never come to India EVER. What will happen is the Kaveri will be revived, but behind closed doors. The crown jewels of the engine will always remain in Snecma's hands. What Snecma will do is get the engine up and running, give GTRE a detailed overview of what was done, will tell GTRE how to do cut-and-paste for engine production...but that will be it. GTRE will never learn how the issue was resolved, atleast not from Snecma.

Blood and Sweat is indeed the only way forward. But a revived Kaveri engine allows the Tejas program multiple benefits;

- Negates the needs for a foreign engine, IMHO a negative for the Tejas
- India can afford to extract all the blood & sweat its need to...i.e. take however long it is needed to figure out what Snecma did. Rinse & Repeat x Infinity till GTRE figures it out.
- Why? Because if a working Kaveri engine is available...just reproduce it.

Refer to the HAL/Turbomeca Shakti program. Could India build a helicopter engine in the class of the Shakti? I don't know. But has the lack of know how on the engine slowed the induction of the HAL Dhruv? I do not believe it has. Cut-And-Paste.

Snecma, General Electric, France, United States or whoever else is not to blame. Very easy to point fingers at them. But if we were in their shoes, we would do the exact same thing. Why help a future & potential competitor?

An interesting article. See the quote below.

Lockheed Martin says it will make F-16 fighter jets in India
http://money.cnn.com/2017/06/20/news/in ... index.html
Lockheed and Tata are also in talks to make F-16 components in India if the air force deal doesn't materialize, a Tata spokesman added.
I would gladly endorse that. We need jobs after all :)

Rakesh wrote:M88 technology - or for that matter neither will F404/F414 technology - will never come to India EVER. What will happen is the Kaveri will be revived, but behind closed doors. The crown jewels of the engine will always remain in Snecma's hands. What Snecma will do is get the engine up and running, give GTRE a detailed overview of what was done, will tell GTRE how to do cut-and-paste for engine production...but that will be it. GTRE will never learn how the issue was resolved, atleast not from Snecma.

Blood and Sweat is indeed the only way forward. But a revived Kaveri engine allows the Tejas program multiple benefits;

- India can afford to extract all the blood & sweat its need to...i.e. take however long it is needed to figure out what Snecma did. Rinse & Repeat x Infinity till GTRE figures it out.
- Why? Because if a working Kaveri engine is available...just reproduce it.

Refer to the HAL/Turbomeca Shakti program. Could India build a helicopter engine in the class of the Shakti? I don't know. But has the lack of know how on the engine slowed the induction of the HAL Dhruv? I do not believe it has. Cut-And-Paste.

Snecma, General Electric, France, United States or whoever else is not to blame. Very easy to point fingers at them. But if we were in their shoes, we would do the exact same thing. Why help a future & potential competitor?
This will mean a real boost to the AMCA.... especially if the French core can be updated to 9-10 tons

Cain Marko: Talk from Snecma is easy to do. We have seen this before. I am waiting for Aero India 2019 for Snecma to deliver. Let us see. As a side note, guess what else the Shakti engine powers in addition to the HAL Dhruv? The LCH and the Rudra, armed variant of the Dhruv.

^It might be that the further orders for the rafale are contingent on their promise to deliver the kaveri. Let's not forget the navy's need for 57 twin engines fighters not to mention talk of MII twin engines fighters by Parrikar. Should keep the French in line. Greed is good says gecko.

Saurav Jha @SJha1618 (5:46 AM - 12 Jun 2017)
This @makeinindia single engine fighter competition is a waste of time & resources when IAF intends to float another 2-engine tender anyway.

Manish_Sharma wrote:
Read the context:
Nirav wrote:. I see the F16 proposal being criticized on this thread.
In answer to the bolded part, I wrote:
They are not applicable from angle of nationalists
All I am pointing out is that Indigenous platform like Tejas can't be weighed on the same scale as a 'foreign platform' , anyone looking from nationalist angle won't.

It's very ugly behaviour of you to insert "T' word where none was used.

First, USAF tanker deal being scrapped has nothing to do with 'nationalism' - even if that is the fig leaf under which it is advertised by the media. Boeing made a representation to US Government on technical matters, disputed the award criteria to EADS and got a stay from the US government.

If you've time - read this document from Government Accountability Office (GAO) of US Government on why it recommended the discussions to be re-held after listening to protest by Boeing.

https://web.archive.org/web/20080625201 ... boeing.pdf

As to why Boeing won the bid in re-contest - here is what the then Chairman of EADS had to say about the Boeing bid:
Ralph Crosby, chairman of defeated rival EADS North America, termed the winning Boeing proposal "very, very, very aggressive" and "much lower than we would have gone."

EADS, the parent company of Airbus, announced Friday it will not formally protest the Pentagon's Feb. 24 decision and provided detailed bid data that shows Boeing prevailed with a bid 10 percent below that of its European rival.

Crosby asserted there's a high risk that Boeing will lose money if there are any setbacks in developing and building the 179 tankers under the fixed-price contract, and he called for "vigilant oversight" by the Pentagon to ensure Boeing keeps to its commitments.

Boeing insists that its bid is financially sound and based on improved efficiency at its Everett plant.

According to EADS, Boeing's bid of about $31.5 billion, paid over 17 years of production, was $3.6 billion less than the EADS bid. And it was fully $7 billion lower than the figure that won the previous 2008 round of the competition for EADS.

Crosby said the Air Force fairly enforced the terms of the competition, so there are no grounds for a protest.

"It's time to put the interest of the war-fighter first and we're stepping aside," Crosby said at a news conference.
So, next time you decide to use an example to further your argument, do spend few minutes researching what you're saying.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now coming to your nationalistic tag because you're pushing for more LCA induction instead of one more light category fighter - Actually your position is not much different from Philip who continuously pushes for Russian fighter. Just because you've 'indigenous' tag in your argument, does not automatically make it THE right choice.

And when I refer yo you, I refer to all self proclaimed nationalists whose only claim to this fame is gunning for LCA, come what.

If that involves make creating straw-man arguments and then knocking them down or not even bothering to carry an argument to its logical conclusion, so be it. Hey! I'm gunning for a home grown product, so I get a leeway in branding people traitors and agents and call them names. And of course, moderators are sleeping the wheel and allow such nonsense to persist.

- So, an F-35 fighter pilot in USAF says F-16 is vulnerable in present battle space while F-35 is the answer, presto, F-16 Block 70 is useless. Never mind that Tejas will be vulnerable as well in the same battles-space.

- We should not get F-16 Block 70 because USAF will retire 'most' of its F-16 fleet over next 10-15 years. Never mind that 'limited' remaining numbers will be bigger than most air forces on God's earth.

- We've no clue on what permanent ASR waivers are on LCA Mk1 and how it impacts the fighters operational capability but hey, what does the IAF know! Aren't they all sold out to Russians/French/'What have you' for a few bottles of Vodka/Champagne/take you pic. Off with their heads.

- 9 out 10 posters will not be able to put together ORBAT of IAF and how this structure will evolve in future. Over next 5, 10, 15 and 20 years. When will each fighter type enter/exit, how squadron strength will vary, what capability gaps will arise etc. But let us all whine about IAF not ordering 300 Tejas!

- No one has any clue on what exactly will be achieved on Tejas Mk1A beyond some oft-repeated items. Imagine, an aircraft developer by ADA will be modified by HAL and this will what lead to larger order of the a/c! This absurdity does not seem to bother people. And by God, shaving 1,000 kg for LCA in weight....this is the heights. So, people at ADA were buffoons to not know so much weight could be saved on LCA? Or is someone in HAL trying to be clever by half?

- And of course, we'll never talk about the timelines. We're only bothered about the numbers being ordered. Not about when they enter service, how they're supported and how they mature. Sure, we'll pass a comment or two on timeline slippages but don't expect more from us. After all, what can we do. If its a real world and existential problem which IAF has to grapple with, well, its their job.

- Best of them all - why does IAF even need 42 squadron strength air force!!! No, we've no bloody clue about how IAF considers future wars will shape up, its responsibilities, strength of enemy AF, emerging strengths, air defenses, range requirements, sortie rates, per sortie ordnance carrying capacity....NOTHING. But still, why does IAF need 42 Squadron strength AF. But while we're at it, we still want it to order 300 Tejas!

Most of the time nowadays, we're so ahead of the curve that we leave reason, logic and facts behind!!!

There is more to that EADS vs Boeing USAF Tanker story.

EADS Abandons Airbus 'Deal of the Century'
The stakes were huge -- a $35 billion contract for 179 tanker jets -- but in the end European aerospace giant EADS saw no chance in winning. On Monday, its US partner Northrop Grumman withdrew its joint bid with EADS to build tankers for the Pentagon based on an Airbus aircraft model. EADS officials claim the new bidding process was tailored exclusively for a Boeing win.
US Congress deals blow to EADS over tankers
The US House of Representatives on Thursday night adopted a measure to force the Pentagon to consider the role of illegal subsidies in the multibillion-dollar contest between Boeing and EADS to sell refuelling aircraft to the US Air Force.

The decision deals a potential blow to EADS, the European aerospace and defence conglomerate. A recent decision by the World Trade Organisation in a dispute over large aircraft found that the European company had received subsidies.

Under the congressional measure, the Pentagon may have to adjust EADS’s bid to account for any funds it received in violation of trade treaties, which could give its rival Boeing an edge in the competition.

The defence department has strenuously resisted efforts to insert international trade disputes into its procurement process, noting that under trade rules it was not allowed to penalise EADS for receiving alleged subsidies.

The amendment will further politicise an already fraught acquisition process that has dragged on for a decade, gone through three iterations and been marred by international political spats and serial accusations about US protectionism.

In 2008, EADS and Northrop Grumman, its US partner, won a competition to supply an initial 179 tankers, but the Pentagon cancelled the contract after complaints by Boeing were upheld. The decision led to criticism from European politicians.

Then in March this year, Northrop Grumman withdrew from the contest after claiming that the rules were rigged in favour of Boeing. European politicians again criticised US authorities. The Pentagon eventually extended a key deadline allowing EADS to launch a solo bid.

Todd Tiahrt, a Republican congressman from Kansas, said it was “outrageous to even consider outsourcing thousands of jobs to a foreign company” when the unemployment rate was close to 10 per cent.

“We need an American tanker built by an American company with American workers,” said Mr Tiahrt.

Boeing said it was “entirely appropriate” that Congress take steps to “prevent the US defence industrial base from suffering the same fate as the commercial aircraft industry, where illegal subsidies have contributed to the loss of tens of thousands of US aerospace jobs.”

EADS said it believed that the Pentagon “should be allowed to run the fair and open competition to which it is committed. We leave it to the department to comment on the extent to which this or any legislation impacts that objective.”

srai wrote:^^^There is more to that EADS vs Boeing USAF Tanker story.<SNIP>
Boss, as usual, you're tilting at the windmills. Irrespective of who said what, and why, the reason for reconsideration and final award for Boeing are there to see. If there was a compromise in favor of Boeing, it would've have shown up. Read what the EADS chairman said.

And do some research when you quote stories: EADS threatened to not submit a bid but subsequently did participate. Your story is dates March 2010; EADS re-entered the competition in April 2010. And lost on financials.

rohitvats wrote: .
Rohit Saar,
Quite some time has passed since you started the thread on IAF re organisation/re equipment.

I think that thread should be made into a sticky for posters to reference it and get a better understanding of IAFs squadron situation.

The prime opposition for the 'single engined fighter' requirement seems to be coming from the word, 'single', with posters arguing if single engined, why not more LCA.
Capability of the birds in question is being given a miss however.

srai wrote:^^^There is more to that EADS vs Boeing USAF Tanker story.<SNIP>
Boss, as usual, you're tilting at the windmills. Irrespective of who said what, and why, the reason for reconsideration and final award for Boeing are there to see. If there was a compromise in favor of Boeing, it would've have shown up. Read what the EADS chairman said.

And do some research when you quote stories: EADS threatened to not submit a bid but subsequently did participate. Your story is dates March 2010; EADS re-entered the competition in April 2010. And lost on financials.
They had won in 2008 ;) In any case, just trying to point out that the story was more complex than who finally ended up winning. That is what Manish_Sharma seem to be referring to.

There is likely more but Rohit is right, in the second go around the differences on cost became more apparent. EADS and Northrop Grumman had a larger more costly to operate tanker. Not only did the commercial variant cost more to buy initially (before conversion) but it cost more over its life time as well. The flip side was that they claimed better performance that they thought would offset the higher cost but the customer did not want to pay a premium for it.

Secondly, as Rohit mentions Boeing low-balled the bid to protect their home turf. Not only was their aircraft cheaper to build (market value) they willingly took a financial decision to submit a low ball bid knowing that KC-X will be followed by KC-Y and KC-Z and international competitions where they will be able to produce at a price advantage and recover investment.

The whole issue is that it has turned into a farce. We had a 10 plus year program for MMRCA which resulted in 36 Rafael jets. Don't know what logic used to arrive at this number.

6 months from that we see this so called purchase. Today on this thread it self I have seen a post that the IAF is looking at a twin engine fighter.

I understand that numbers have to be built up but I can't begin to understand just how things could be this badly screwed up.

The only way out in the light of the proposed force structure of PRC is that we bite the bullet and ask for the F35 now. May be, just may be we will have 500 of those in service by 2027.

Rakesh wrote: Blood and Sweat is indeed the only way forward. But a revived Kaveri engine allows the Tejas program multiple benefits;

Americans have put condition for GE engine to buy either F16 or f18 , so Kaveri with Safran core nullifies the any need for that. Otherwise not only do we get 123 Tejas but 100 f16 too under the shadow of unkil's sanctions.

There is no report out there even suggesting that only way the GE engine will come is if completely unrelated fighters are also ordered. In fact the large GE F414 deal has been announced but apparently never completed by the MOD possibly because they aren't required this early given when the MK2 is to be cut in serial production and that they only need a few engines initially to create the first prototypes, test and certify the aircraft.

Regardless, the LCA is an important program for GE and its 404/414 family and it along with South Korea's KF-X will be their primary focus as Hornet/Super Hornet programs draw down. No one will put an axe to their bottom line by making an outrageous offer of clubbing the 404/414 deals with a potential single engine fighter that could be decided next year or a decade from now.

Questions Arise as US-India F-16 Deal Seeks to Get Airborne
Some defense experts have meanwhile slammed the decision stating that the US is off-loading out-of-date aviation technology onto India. Weapons expert Brahma Chellaney on Twitter asked ::
India a dumping ground for obsolete weapon systems? Lockheed Martin signs F-16 deal with Tata. Why Tata? Because they make the noisiest car?

Many have also asked if the technologically more sophisticated US-made F-35 fighter jet, which can evade air radar, renders the F-16 jet system old technology.

Speaking exclusively to Sputnik, former F-16 Taiwanese fighter pilot Eric Hsu said:

"Your first option should be the F-35… it's invisible to radar and can avoid 'lock down.' "

Now employed as a civil aviation pilot with Taiwanese flag-carrier China Airlines, Hsu added:

"Airplanes are just a vehicle to extend your weapon and your attack range. If your weapons are more advanced it doesn't matter what airplane you fly."

Hsu, formerly based at the Taiwanese Air Force base in Taitung and a keen member of the island's aircraft community, said that much about technology depended on your opponent's capabilities:

"F-16s are old technology, but who is the enemy? If they are more advanced then it becomes old," Hsu told Sputnik.

The F-35 is part of a new round of "fifth generation fighter jets" which includes Russia's PAK-FA as well as China's Chengdu J-20.

Speaking to Reuters news agency in relation to the potential US-India deal MiG General Director Ilia Tarasenko said that his company had been cooperating with India for more than 50 years, providing planes, service and training centers, and remained upbeat about further sales.

"We are not afraid of rivalry with the US in this market," he stated. "On the contrary, we believe that attempts by other players to establish cooperation with this country help us to better understand their needs and better meet them."

He said MiG's new MiG-35 fighter jet was 20 percent cheaper to operate over its lifespan and offered countries capabilities that went beyond those of regular "fourth-generation" planes.

Between 2020-2025, the LCA MK1A should be powered by the French assisted Kaveri (@90 KN) and the AMCA with the GE 414 based "enhanced" engine (@110Kn) being developed by GE Bangalore. Both will/should be Indian IP.

I think the F404 for the LCA will be discontinued (for the LCA Mk1A) and the F414 for the LCA Mk2 cancelled.

However, India will buy the F-16 and the F-18.

US Approves $2 Billion Sale of Naval Surveillance Drones to India
In remarks Tuesday to the 42nd annual leadership summit of the U.S.-India Business Council, Vice President Mike Pence said that the U.S. will be selling AH-64 Apache attack helicopters and C-17 transports to India in addition to the SkyGuardians.

In a Fact Sheet, the White House said that completion of the Guardian, Apache and C-17 sales “would increase bilateral defense trade to nearly $19 billion, supporting thousands of United States jobs.”

If India agreed, U.S. offers to sell F-16 and F/A-18 fighter aircraft to India “would represent the most significant defense cooperation between the United States and India to date,” the Fact Sheet said.

brar_w wrote:
There is likely more but Rohit is right, in the second go around the differences on cost became more apparent. EADS and Northrop Grumman had a larger more costly to operate tanker. Not only did the commercial variant cost more to buy initially (before conversion) but it cost more over its life time as well. The flip side was that they claimed better performance that they thought would offset the higher cost but the customer did not want to pay a premium for it.

Secondly, as Rohit mentions Boeing low-balled the bid to protect their home turf. Not only was their aircraft cheaper to build (market value) they willingly took a financial decision to submit a low ball bid knowing that KC-X will be followed by KC-Y and KC-Z and international competitions where they will be able to produce at a price advantage and recover investment.
It seems Northrop dropped out from the second bid.

Interesting bit highlighted below. If the two bids were within 1 percent, that would have triggered additional evaluation. So somehow Boeing bidding more than 1 percent below seems bit like they had insider info ... given their previous history (Ex-Boeing CFO gets jail for tanker scandal).

Boeing Wins Contract to Build Air Force Tankers
Northrop Grumman and EADS then won in 2008, only to have government auditors block the award after Boeing protested that the evaluation had been too subjective.

Northrop dropped out last year, prompting the Pentagon to extend the bid deadline to give EADS more time out of concern that Boeing could charge a higher price if it were the only bidder.
After weighing all the factors, the Pentagon determined that Boeing’s bid was more than 1 percent below that of its rival, the European Aeronautic Defense and Space Company, Mr. Lynn said. If the bids had been within 1 percent, the Air Force would have considered 92 additional requirements for the plane as a tiebreaker, and some of those were widely thought to favor the larger EADS plane.
But Boeing’s triumph could also irritate European leaders. And it could set back Pentagon efforts to encourage bids from foreign companies to create more competition and bring down the cost of weapons systems.

NRao wrote:Between 2020-2025, the LCA MK1A should be powered by the French assisted Kaveri (@90 KN) and the AMCA with the GE 414 based "enhanced" engine (@110Kn) being developed by GE Bangalore. Both will/should be Indian IP.

Unlikely that Kaveri JV would power LCA Mk1A that soon. If there is a second batch order post 2024/25 when 83 lot-1 are going to be completed, then those would likely have Kaveri JV (if as promised by the French) and also we can count on Uttam AESA by then.

IMO, the second batch order is crucial post 2024. Engine and radar will be Indian.