VayuSena Rafale: News and Discussions - 17 Oct 2016

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: VayuSena Rafale: News and Discussions - 17 Oct 2016

Oh! The brown man problem!

Well in that case, you go back to your existing (French) master. Why have two masters?

What will be done till they'll assure in India?

mahadevbhu wrote:Development risk. The risk.that.our mil.ind complex will not be able to make a good product. With substandard specs and performance.
If that happens we will rely on FCAS from Dassault as Indranil mentioned. As such FCAS will be interoperable with Rafale. So please grant some peace for our scientist to work on this. It took few decades for our space scientists to come off age and so it will be the case with our Mil Industrial Complex.

The only thing we need to ensure is persistent support in form of funding and opportunities (to sell product to our armed forces). We are not buddhu that we will not pick up and achieve standards.

On a side note do you think aircrafts that our opposition will field will they be of substandard specs and performance or not ? None of them will field a JSF or an aircraft in that league against us.
mahadevbhu

Post by mahadevbhu »

In my view we should Anu Malik where we can :
Brown men are awesome. However Lockheed Martin has developed some n number of aircraft. Our neighbors to the east have no problem hacking into the JSF program to aid their own....we should consider buying some to aid our own... America is positively predisposed to us plus uski gaa*d fati hui Hai Cheeniyon se.

Chakra class -- Arihant
Mirage 2000 -- LCA
Twin engine deck based fighter -- Rafale
JSF to AMCA

Methinks we will get a 36 contingent of the JSF. Watch this space

You are infiltrating every thread with the F-35 talk. Please stop.
mahadevbhu

Post by mahadevbhu »

OT: There used to be a JSF thread turkey or talisman and I couldnt find it. Is it okay to post on the AMCA thread?

https://indianexpress.com/article/india ... t-6129176/
"Three Rafale fighter aircraft have been handed over to the Indian Air Force (IAF) till date which are being used for training of IAF pilots and technicians in France," Minister of State for Defence Shripad Naik said in reply to a question in Lok Sabha.

mahadevbhu wrote:OT: There used to be a JSF thread turkey or talisman and I couldnt find it. Is it okay to post on the AMCA thread?
Use US Mil thread.
viveks

Post by viveks »

ArjunPandit wrote:
mahadevbhu wrote:I think that we should have the jsf as well. This will reduce the risk carried by amca. Jsf can be used by the Navy as well as the air Force
+72 to that..we can also order some F18 + my fav growler, and super entendard (did i complete that) to complete the zoo... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Excellent word used janab "zoo". It struck a cord... :D :D :D :rotfl: Considering the thread name "Military Acquisitions". What comes to mind when this thread gets updated is ..."kuch na kuch ..kahin na kahin se le re la hain".

viveks wrote:What comes to mind when this thread gets updated is ..."kuch na kuch ..kahin na kahin se NAHIN le re la hain".
corrected with all sincerity
Ashokk

Post by Ashokk »

Rafales must fly in with Meteor air-to-air missiles, India tells France by Rajat Pandit
NEW DELHI: India has asked France to arm the first four Rafale fighters with the top-notch Meteor air-to-air missiles, which, with a strike range of 120 to 150-km, can outgun any missile that can be unleashed by Pakistani or Chinese jets. The first Rafale fighters will touch down at the Ambala airbase in May next year.
The request for at least 8-10 Meteor beyond visual range (BVR) missiles to be delivered with the four Rafale jets was conveyed to France during defence minister Rajnath Singh’s visit to the country to formally accept the first fighter at Merignac in the Bordeaux region on October 8.
“Earlier, as per the Rs 59,000 crore deal inked for 36 Rafale jets and their weapon packages in September 2016, the progressive deliveries of the Meteor and the over 300-km range Scalp air-to-ground cruise missiles were to begin several months later,” said a source.
“But given the current operational situation with Pakistan, India has asked for faster delivery of at least 8-10 Meteor missiles. France is examining the request,” he added.
The request comes in the backdrop of the aerial skirmish between Indian and Pakistani fighters in the Nowshera sector along the Line of Control on February 27, a day after the bombing of the JeM facility in Pakistan. The Sukhoi-30MKIs and other jets, scrambled to intercept the incoming Pakistani fighters, had found it difficult to engage the F-16s at long ranges on that day, which also saw Wing Commander Abhinandan Varthaman’s MiG-21 being shot down, as was earlier reported by TOI.
The Pakistani F-16s were armed with the AIM-120C advanced medium-range air-to-air missiles (AMRAAMs), which have a range of about 100-km, and had let loose several of them at the Sukhoi-30MKIs before the latter could even get into their firing range.
IAF says the operational dynamics for achieving “air dominance” will change with the induction of the Rafales armed with the greater-range Meteor missiles powered by Ramjet engines to fly at Mach 4 speed. The Meteor missiles are arguably the best in the world for air combat duels, with “a greater no-escape zone” for hostile fighters than any comparable BVR weapon. Pakistan and China do not currently have any missile of this class in their combat inventories.
During the defence ministerial dialogue in October, France also offered Indian experts an opportunity to check the performance of the omni-role Rafale jets, which can also deliver nuclear weapons if required, “in an environment of high temperatures” at its military base in UAE.
An IAF induction team of pilots, engineers and technicians is currently undergoing training in France, which has so far handed over three Rafales to India. Once this training is over, the first four Rafales will head for India in May 2020. All the 36 jets will arrive in India by April 2022, with 18 each to be deployed at the Ambala and Hasimara airbases for the western and eastern fronts with Pakistan and China.
The Rafales, with a combat range of 780-km to 1,650-km depending on mission, come armed with a deadly weapons package, advanced avionics, radars and electronic warfare systems to prevent jamming by adversaries and ensure superior survivability in hostile contested airspace. Each Rafale, for instance, can also carry two fire-and-forget Scalp cruise missiles to hit high-value fortified targets well over 300-km away.
But the 13 India-Specific Enhancements (ISEs) or upgrades on the 36 Rafales will become fully operational only by October 2022 after undergoing “software certification” after all the jets have arrived in India. The upgrades range from radar enhancements, Israeli helmet-mounted displays and low-band jammers to towed decoy systems, 10-hour flight data recording and engine capability for "cold start" from high-altitude regions like Ladakh. They also include Israeli litening pods for target acquisition and guidance kits for Spice precision-guided munitions, which were used to bomb the JeM facility at Balakot on February 26.

Is this Rajat Pandit's dicktat or IAF providing some subliminal messaging to pakis?

Ashokk wrote:Rafales must fly in with Meteor air-to-air missiles, India tells France by Rajat Pandit
“But given the current operational situation with Pakistan, India has asked for faster delivery of at least 8-10 Meteor missiles. France is examining the request,” he added.

Pandit is stupid. 8-10 Meteor Missiles for 4 Rafales :lol: And that is deterence :) Seems like he pulled this one from his Musharraf.

Might be firing trials in India.

Karan M wrote:Might be firing trials in India.
There are 4-5 Rafales with IAF in France, perhaps IAF wants to evaluate the missile immediately and see whether its best of brochures and then decide future procurement strategy.

Arre, photo ops karke news chhapo ke Meteor aa gaya he. After that even if Rafales fly with dummy missiles, Pukis won't dare come near it, at least for a few months. They already avoid upgraded M2K. :lol:
LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

Rafale: In ode to former IAF Chief BS Dhanoa, Rafale jets to have tail numbers with BS initials - The Economic Times https://m.economictimes.com/news/defenc ... 428217.cms
Bhaskar_T

Post by Bhaskar_T »

Below link says Indian Rafales will go to UAE whereby IAF will supervise the hot environment impact on Rafales. Link says this is because UAE receives 2-3 degrees higher temperature than India and hence the test will be done in UAE (in an US airbase).

(Edit2 19Dec 2019 - Mods - The website doesn't allow copy-paste of text even from laptop browser, so can't copy and quote the text.

Edit1 18 Dec 2019 - Mods - Apologies, couldn't paste the text from the link as I am on mobile and copy-paste option is not coming on mobile browser. Tomorrow when I login from office laptop, I will edit this post and copy-paste the text from below link in quotes.)

https://marketresearchjournals.com/2019 ... ing-india/
Last edited by Bhaskar_T on 19 Dec 2019 09:32, edited 1 time in total.

Doesn't make any sense.
mmasand

Post by mmasand »

Strange they call it a US base, Camp de la Paix (Naval station Al Dhafra) has been hosting French troops for over a decade now. Temperatures hit as high as 52c in late July early August.

Dassaults routinely goes to Al Dhafra for flight testing if I am not too wrong. Remember to have read, Rafale itself has been there previously for hot weather trials.

Rafale Aircraft - the Untold Story: Part I
https://www.cppr.in/wp-content/uploads/ ... Part-I.pdf

By Commander Jayakrishnan N Nair (Retd) - a Senior Fellow (Defence and Military Analysis) at the Centre for Public Policy Research

Note: Weapon capabilities and avionic suites of Rafale will be dealt in the following articles (Part II and III)

Rafale M of the French Navy (Marine Nationale) doing an in-flight refueling of a Rafale B of the French Air Force (Armée de l'Air).

viveks

Post by viveks »

How come people dont highlight "Active Radar Cancellation" technology that Rafale possesses. Also the full auto control at 50 feet above sea bed. Or maybe we aren't getting this feature that have accessive computing to cancel out emmitted radar signals from ground based enemy radars.

i would doubt we are not getting that - Why would you need a Rafale then?

viveks wrote:How come people dont highlight "Active Radar Cancellation" technology that Rafale possesses. Also the full auto control at 50 feet above sea bed. Or maybe we aren't getting this feature that have accessive computing to cancel out emmitted radar signals from ground based enemy radars.

Active radar cancellation is a part of the Spectra self-protection suite. You are right , we may not be getting that :wink:

viveks wrote: Also the full auto control at 50 feet above sea bed. .
That sir, would make the Rafale a submarine. The Rafale SM :D

viveks wrote:How come people dont highlight "Active Radar Cancellation" technology that Rafale possesses. Also the full auto control at 50 feet above sea bed. Or maybe we aren't getting this feature that have accessive computing to cancel out emmitted radar signals from ground based enemy radars.
Spectra is part of Indian Rafales. I have spoke to a lot of people about it. And I speaking of pilots, test pilots, instructor pilots, designers and testers. All of them said it is a nice aid which reduces pilot workload. But it is FAR FAR away from the panacea that Dassault's marketing team and the French Airforce make it sound like. You can see the Rafale on all fighter/ground radars pretty much at the range you would expect it to.

By the way, what is so difficult about flying at 50 feet over the sea? It is almost 2020 my friend! Today's benchmark is that the aircraft can detect that the pilot is on a collision course with terrain (sea is easier), while maneuvering (level flight is easier), take over control, bring the flight to level and rising and then hand back the control to the pilot. In other cases, it can identify that the pilot is g-locked (or non responsive), take over control, let the ATC know, bring the flight to level and rising and wait for pilot response. Even LCA Mk1 has both of these features! People are now building autonomous buddy fighters. Don't fall for all these brochure stuff as "advanced".

Waiting for ATC to take over control, conduct an operation and bring back the aircraft. Drone?
viveks

Post by viveks »

hehe...50 feet thing...I was refering to that video of Vishnu Som. The test pilot took the aircraft real low...probably at that height and switched the aircraft to auto control, leaving his hands from the stick and then uttered "Not so bad" :D :D :) Just a wonderful experience to have in ones life.!!!

VKumar wrote:Waiting for ATC to take over control, conduct an operation and bring back the aircraft. Drone?

The Rafale has a real time 3D terrain map generator that allows the computer on board to basically fly the jet in pitch dark while avoiding obstacles in the way. Something that would be near impossible or suicidal otherwise. The pilot doesn't need to manually fly the jet when the Terrain Following mode is turned on, with the autopilot and autothrottle functions working. Now that is something that the Tejas doesn't posses and nor do most other jets. In fact I don't know which other jet has this feature, certainly none of the Russian jets.

Please go through this article. You won't find a better description of the Rafale's capabilities than by Phil Collins, who was a test pilot that rated the Rafale as the finest jet he's ever flown. And this was when the Rafale had the RBE PESA radar, not the RBE-2 AESA radar, which is far more capable.

As for active cancellation, that is a myth, although it does have an active self protection jammer. So the Spectra has RWR, jammer, IR MAWS, laser detection and chaff and flare dispensers all tied together with data fusion.

Flight test- Dassault Rampant Rafale

Added to the "active" elements of the aircraft's design are Rafale's "passive" safety features, which protect the pilot in various ways. These include "carefree handling" and automatic loss of control/airframe overstress protection allowed for by the digital flight control system (DFCS); the visual and audio low speed warning system; the continuously computed "deck awareness/ground watch" system with audio warning and HUD guidance for pull-out; and the pilot-initiated "spatial disorientation" automatic recovery mode from both nose high and nose low situations. Dassault also plans to introduce an automatic "g-loc" recovery mode.

The Spectra electronic countermeasures system is fully internal and provides radar warning receiver (RWR), active jamming, infrared missile approach warning, laser detection and chaff/flare. Data from Spectra is also "data fused" and fed into the pilot's tactical display. Additionally, the system can be rapidly reprogrammed by frontline ground technicians, as demonstrated operationally in Afghanistan.

Any wonder why IAF pilots ranked this jet the best amongst all MRCA contenders and seem to lust after it so badly?

I was immediately aware after take-off of the sensitivity of the flight controls to any demand I made. The aircraft felt alive in my hands. I have never flown any aircraft that responded so instantly and so powerfully to stick input. The Mirage 2000 had previously been my favourite FBW aircraft in terms of handling qualities, but the Rafale with its DFCS betters it in every aspect of handling by a significant margin.

Later in the sortie at the lower fuel weight of 2t and 500kt, with the DFCS Stores Position set to air-to-air, the aircraft was pulled rapidly and effortlessly through to +9g and could be held there over a significant speed range. A final level acceleration from 200-500kt in full afterburner at 5,000ft and 1.8t fuel weight can only be described as brutal, with the aircraft increasing speed at about 30kt/s and the force of acceleration hurting my spine as I was pressed backwards against the ejection seat.

The steady state roll rate at 350kt was 270°/s and the roll onset felt rapid but comfortable. At 450kt, the same steady-state roll rate was achieved, but the rate of roll onset was simply staggering. I have never experienced any fighter aircraft start or stop to roll so quickly.

The auto recovery button was evaluated and I activated it in nose-low and nose-high situations. The auto pilot and auto throttle instantly engaged to very positively roll and pull the aircraft (as required) to re-establish it in a 5° climb at 350kt. The system engagement was an impressive safety feature to recover from pilot disorientation.

In close formation, I initially found the Rafale over-sensitive in pitch, but telemetry informed me that I was holding the sidestick too high up, and after changing my grip, I could hold echelon position without problem. However, it was another clear indication of just how agile the aircraft is.

In line astern, the refuel "RFL" DFCS switch was activated, which reduced the flight-control sensitivity and made the aircraft "feel" much more stable and conventional in response, much like a BAE Systems Hawk. With "RFL" selected, a pilot would find an in-flight refuelling probe contact to a tanker drogue to be routine.

I could not fault the carefree handling characteristics or the throttle response of the Rafale in any regime, and the only limit I ever had to remember in the flight was the gear limit (230kt). The Rafale was an absolute pleasure to fly, while remaining almost unbelievably responsive.

LOW-LEVEL RIDE

From medium level, I descended to low level and engaged the autopilot and autothrottle into covert terrain-following mode along our pre-planned mission route at 450kt/500ft above ground level (for noise abatement), first over the sea and then over the rugged terrain south-west of Arles.

The covert mode used a GPS database, but it can also use TF Radalt or the RBE2 TFR mode as back-up. Low-level ride was excellent in the gusty Mistral conditions, as was the accuracy of the TF profile followed by the aircraft over the semi-mountainous terrain, including flying towards sharply rising cliffs. The "ground watch" system painted a constantly updated escape profile floor in the HUD. With the TF engaged, Nino explained to me some more of the "data fused" symbology in the tactical HLD and altered the flight planned route and the time over target, which was then followed by the autopilot and autothrottle in speed mode.

The classic definitions of aircraft combat roles really do not do justice to this aircraft; the Rafale is Europe's force-multiplying "war-fighter" par excellence. It is simply the best and most complete combat aircraft that I have ever flown. Its operational deployments speak for themselves. If I had to go into combat, on any mission, against anyone, I would, without question, choose the Rafale.

Meteor...ain't gonna be a magic bullet for the IAF, can't be used on Ru aircraft say the French while the mainstay of the IAF is around 300 MKIs plus around 90 MIG-29s , when the extra 21 are sourced from Russia, as contrasted with just 36 Rafales .This is about 60% of the entire IAF's fleet! Oh! I forgot the 120 Bisons too.That makes it around 600 aircraft out of around 750 to 800.Around 75% of the fleet!

But do not despair fellow Rakshaks, the IAF had ordered in July this year some 300 Ru Vympel R- 27 R1/ET1 and R-27 T1/ET1 med-to-LR AAM variants.They have a range out to 80+ km. All these for a modest sum of only 1500 crores. That's 5 crores /$700K a pop. Astra, our great brown hope, which is to have a range of around 100km (90+ km tested) , more when the ER variant arrives,
will cost us around 7 to 8 crores/$ 1.35M a pop. Fortunately for us Astra will be used on all types in service , from lowly LCAs to mighty MKIs . Astra orders must be accelerated to have enough when the balloon goes up.
Meteor, the great white hope on the other hand aboard the regal Rafales, will cost us the modest sum of only $2M a pop! So work out yourselves what missiles will probably equip the IAF to shoot down around 500+ Paki aircraft. I'm putting my moolah on Astra if we can build enough and fast.
Last edited by Philip on 20 Dec 2019 08:40, edited 2 times in total.
viveks

Post by viveks »

Kartik wrote:As for active cancellation, that is a myth
I have read some fairly detailed discussion on this subject in the aviation key publishing forum, where folks are divulging details about radar emissions and what true stealth is...discussion appeared pretty plausible to folks with fare engineering and aviation knowledge. Also, they discussed a few sentences about Rafale's performance in few missions where it managed to farely hide itself while going about its mission. Unsure if it could really true or not....who knows we are just enthusiasts and mere civilian with what public knowledge available to through these mediums.

Kartik,

One of my friends is a Top Gun instructor. He has experience in over 20 types. He got to fly a Rafale too. When IAF had chosen Rafale, I had asked him for his opinion. His first remark was that in terms of aircraft performance, a Rafale was much more energetic than a F-18. I said, but a F-18 E/F is not a very good benchmark for this. He did not like that comment :D . After a bit of calming, he explained what I have always heard, every aircraft has its forte. For example, you don't want to engage a F-18 in nose pointing ability. But, I pressed on saying that the Rafale and EF was developed later and had huge TWR advantage over the F-18 E/F which he agreed. You would see that the maneuvers Collins refers to adherent to the same aspect.

Yes, the avionics, sensor fusion, display and symbology of Rafale was a generation ahead of any fighter even until the beginning of this decade. But, not much has changed in the Rafale since its advent. So others have almost caught up. HV Thakur showcased some of the aspects of SPORT. You could see terrain maping using GPS+radar, and in flight recalculation at the AI'19 footage. Israeli/Chinese all have caught up. The US obviously has fielded the F35 whose avionics and sensor fusion is probably the current benchmark.

In the first COPE exercises with the IAF, when the USAF was caught flat-footed by IAF Bisons and MKIs in particular, it was not just the virtues of the individual aircraft , but the teamwork of the IAF and the tactics used. This was amply displayed at Balakot, where the Pakis were caught defenceless, IAF aircraft attacked them without opposition, plus in the Paki counterattack in large number, their planned raid into Indian territory and destruction of targets attacked failed thanks to the IAF's gameplan. None of our MKIs which were targeted by AMRAAMs were hit and though we lost a vintage era Bison, an F-16 was downed by it. The PAF advantage of a slightly longer BVR AAM did not pay much dividends.Their plan of downing an MKI with AMRAAMs failed totally. Had the IAF been given an order of hot pursuit of PAF aircraft, the outcome would've been a sorry one for the PAF.The GOI wanted to limit the clash , the Balakot message had struck home and deeply wounded Paki pride, we had achieved our purpose and did not want to start a wider conflict. Recent statements from sr. service officers show that we were prepared to strike Paki army as well with a ground offensive.

viveks wrote:
Kartik wrote:As for active cancellation, that is a myth
I have read some fairly detailed discussion on this subject in the aviation key publishing forum, where folks are divulging details about radar emissions and what true stealth is...discussion appeared pretty plausible to folks with fare engineering and aviation knowledge. Also, they discussed a few sentences about Rafale's performance in few missions where it managed to farely hide itself while going about its mission. Unsure if it could really true or not....who knows we are just enthusiasts and mere civilian with what public knowledge available to through these mediums.
+1 :D .. very sensible answer Sir.

Indranil wrote:Kartik,

One of my friends is a Top Gun instructor. He has experience in over 20 types. He got to fly a Rafale too. When IAF had chosen Rafale, I had asked him for his opinion. His first remark was that in terms of aircraft performance, a Rafale was much more energetic than a F-18. I said, but a F-18 E/F is not a very good benchmark for this. He did not like that comment :D . After a bit of calming, he explained what I have always heard, every aircraft has its forte. For example, you don't want to engage a F-18 in nose pointing ability. But, I pressed on saying that the Rafale and EF was developed later and had huge TWR advantage over the F-18 E/F which he agreed. You would see that the maneuvers Collins refers to adherent to the same aspect.

Yes, the avionics, sensor fusion, display and symbology of Rafale was a generation ahead of any fighter even until the beginning of this decade. But, not much has changed in the Rafale since its advent. So others have almost caught up. HV Thakur showcased some of the aspects of SPORT. You could see terrain maping using GPS+radar, and in flight recalculation at the AI'19 footage. Israeli/Chinese all have caught up. The US obviously has fielded the F35 whose avionics and sensor fusion is probably the current benchmark.
But the Rafale is in production and the F-35 isn't available to us. Israelis have no platform on which to build the level of sensor capability that the Rafale has. All they manage to do is add a few avionics items to F-16s or F-35s that they are provided by the USA.

What was demoed at AI'19 for the LCA SPORT was just that- a demo with non functioning pages. Impressive, but still a work in progress. I really hope to see it at that level on the MWF.

But in all respects, the airframe, sensors, sensor fusion, agility, weapons, the Rafale is the most balanced of all jets today, IMO. If the MRCA should be the last imported fighter for the IAF, my fervent hope is that it will be the Rafale.

BTW, the Rafale M has a TTL of 5000 hours, the Air Force variant is at 6000 hours. Confirmed by a French poster elsewhere.

Rakesh wrote:Rafale Aircraft - the Untold Story: Part I
https://www.cppr.in/wp-content/uploads/ ... Part-I.pdf

By Commander Jayakrishnan N Nair (Retd) - a Senior Fellow (Defence and Military Analysis) at the Centre for Public Policy Research

Note: Weapon capabilities and avionic suites of Rafale will be dealt in the following articles (Part II and III)
Rafale Aircraft - the Untold Story: Part II
https://www.cppr.in/wp-content/uploads/ ... art-II.pdf