Indian Navy News & Discussion - 15 Dec 2016

Re: Indian Navy News & Discussion - 15 Dec 2016

chola wrote:In the meantime, we will have the funds to buy the 57 fighters wanted by the Navy for our current carriers. Though the lifts on both the Vikramaditya and Vikrant are an issue which will make things even more expensive per plane if the IN insists Rafale or another western type.
Boeing is the only one that has claimed that the F-18E/F can operate from both the Vikramaditya and the Vikrant. Going by that yardstick and it is an extremely important one, I do not see how the other contender can operate off the vessel. Now if the 57 birds are only for the conventionally powered Vishaal, then yes.

Karan M wrote:I think IN has given up on the MiG-29s ability to be navalized. Its a trouble prone bird which will just act as a small silver bullet force (if we are lucky) and not be fixed. IN is logistically best served in taking the Rafale and seeking commonality with the AF. The E/F will have a more powerful radar though, important for the IN which doesn't have AEW&C, but depends on whether they look at it the same way.
They need to move Black Panthers and White Tigers to Karwar and Vizag. Use it for base protection. The MiG-29K has proven she is incapable of carrier operations.

Classic DDM. Article is about Boeing P-8I, but pic in link shows Boeing 787 :)

Boeing to set up P-8I training facility in India
http://www.livemint.com/Companies/oRxcm ... India.html
The P-8I Training Solution, along with a 10-year comprehensive maintenance service, will be bought from Boeing for Rs1,949.32 crore, says defence ministry.

edited

Rakesh wrote: They need to move Black Panthers and White Tigers to Karwar and Vizag. Use it for base protection. The MiG-29K has proven she is incapable of carrier operations.
IF we are to ground them, why not base them out of ANC??? They are capable of multirole actions. If the runway length is not optimal for their operations there then let's build the arrestor gear with reduced stress on the airframe and a ramp too to allow for MTOW ops. That way we can base all the necessary infrastructure at one site and maintain them better.
Just a wild guess!!

chola wrote:In the meantime, we will have the funds to buy the 57 fighters wanted by the Navy for our current carriers. Though the lifts on both the Vikramaditya and Vikrant are an issue which will make things even more expensive per plane if the IN insists Rafale or another western type.
Boeing is the only one that has claimed that the F-18E/F can operate from both the Vikramaditya and the Vikrant. Going by that yardstick and it is an extremely important one, I do not see how the other contender can operate off the vessel. Now if the 57 birds are only for the conventionally powered Vishaal, then yes.
Then the F-18 it is! I think MoD only have the funds for the 57 if they put off the third carrier, which they had been doing. So we will see the SHornet flying off the Vikrant. I can’t say I’m not excited by that!

Obviously, the best choice would have been NLCA. But again this RFI came from the IN claiming the NLCA is not an option.

When are we supposed to see this happen? Not likely for the next decade (or two), IMO. MiG-29Ks, with all their flaws, aren’t going to be tossed out anytime soon. Besides, show me the money 8) Where will the $12 billion come from when there are so many other high priority acquisitions planned? The overall Indian budget is limited for capital expenses. All three services cry loudly for their share to fill each’s own “critical” shortages.

^^^ Read my previous posts: my point is that the MoD freed up anywhere from 10 to 20 Billion in potential funds by denying the third carrier (IACII) to the IN. They are making a sacrifice by pushing off the arrival date of the Vishal to make sure we get proper AC for our two current carriers. If the MiG-29K were a proper carrier AC we would never have had the RFI.
Last edited by chola on 07 Jan 2018 17:08, edited 1 time in total.

They delayed it because there is no money. You are creating a false savings argument.

srai wrote:^^^
They delayed it because there is no money. You are creating a false savings argument.
No. If we had no money for the 57 then MoD would have denied the IN just like 65K ton carrier and we would never gotten to a RFI for the planes. They denied the carrier (for now) but not the 57.

Chola, how long do these RFI processes take :wink: How long did MMRCA take? There are 11 steps in DPP.

Bureaucrats can’t say no directly but they can keep prolonging the process far into the future for someone else to deal with.

Money is not there to fund all that is being asked for by the Indian Armed Forces. A majority of the defense budget goes into revenue side of things meaning payrolls.

Are these 57 new naval fighters a real priority? The IN has one carrier at the moment and one more joining in a few years. They have 45 MiG-29K—more or less brand new (some still yet to arrive). The third carrier is far off to the future.

Compare that with all other Indian Navy priorities (i.e. P-75I, SSN, SSBN, etc) as well as the IAF (i.e. squadron shortages) and the IA (i.e. long laundry list from artillery to ICV to AD etc). Do you think India still has $12 billion that it can throw at acquiring these new 57 fighters right now?
Last edited by srai on 07 Jan 2018 17:26, edited 1 time in total.

Look, just because MMRCA was cut down from 126 to 36 doesn’t mean that MoD at the time didn’t have the money. It was later admistrations that decided that 126 was not worth it.

Now whether the $12B for 57 Rafale or F-18 is worth it is another matter so I’m fully aware that we can end up with a similar situation. A few years down the line, we might just get 12 western planes for a squad on the Vikrant while the others make do with the MiG-29K.
Last edited by chola on 07 Jan 2018 17:27, edited 1 time in total.

:) Ok will leave it at that

IA's rifle deal has been halved because of expense. We are headed into an election pre-year season with sops more or less necessary given economy is just chugging along and may need more boost. There really is not that much money for fancy deals IMHO. We are lucky if we see any big-ticket upgrades (Su-30 upg, arty etc).

Karan M wrote:IA's rifle deal has been halved because of expense. We are headed into an election pre-year season with sops more or less necessary given economy is just chugging along and may need more boost. There really is not that much money for fancy deals IMHO. We are lucky if we see any big-ticket upgrades (Su-30 upg, arty etc).
economic growth and stability cannot really be divorced from military growth any longer. these two are almost joined at the hip.

we must cast away our foolish gandhi raj idealism, and move to Ram raj where power of arms has an important role to play.

As we grow, its inevitable that we will step on some really sensitive regional and global toes, inadvertently or otherwise.

I agree about the need for understanding the effect of arms on economic stability. But does the indian population which has got used to huge subsidies and govt largesse based on caste, creed etc agree? Basically, until we have a breakthrough economically or mindset wise, it will always be a game of robbing peter to pay paul. We also gave a huge standing force and with OROP, rising RE etc, the budget for capex is that much further strained. I see no real answer apart from bringing in greater local procurement preferably from a more efficient pvt sector than unionized yards, and prioritization on must haves (eg sub torpedos, towed sonars, infantry rifles) rather than the fancy great power items (nuke carrier program).

Karan M wrote:I agree about the need for understanding the effect of arms on economic stability. But does the indian population which has got used to huge subsidies and govt largesse based on caste, creed etc agree? Basically, until we have a breakthrough economically or mindset wise, it will always be a game of robbing peter to pay paul. We also gave a huge standing force and with OROP, rising RE etc, the budget for capex is that much further strained. I see no real answer apart from bringing in greater local procurement preferably from a more efficient pvt sector than unionized yards, and prioritization on must haves (eg sub torpedos, towed sonars, infantry rifles) rather than the fancy great power items (nuke carrier program).
so we need a reservation riddled, caste quota fulfilling, lathi carrying army on daily wages??

hire in the morning and fire in the evening, perhaps?? like many hotel employees??

look what that old reprobate nehru did when he willfully and maliciously refused to fund a robust Army because he feared a coup and what was the result?? Did he never realize that Indians are not like the pakis, and that we are inherently democratic and they are inherently autocratic??

The hans may yap loudly but will dare not attack today because of our moth-eaten, old and sometimes decrepit equipment still has a wee bit of life and venom left in it, no??

BTW, we have always and since centuries, been a huge sea power in terms of trade and commerce but only of late is that bitter realization dawning upon us that mil power and especially Naval power also goes hand in hand with commerce.

you may like to read up on sea power projection, strategy and philosophy and how one single guy's ideas run common through the navies of amreica, japan, england, germany, china, russia and france , indeed as in the navies of many others, including India.
Last edited by chetak on 07 Jan 2018 22:25, edited 1 time in total.

srai wrote:Chola, how long do these RFI processes take :wink: How long did MMRCA take? There are 11 steps in DPP.

Bureaucrats can’t say no directly but they can keep prolonging the process far into the future for someone else to deal with.

Money is not there to fund all that is being asked for by the Indian Armed Forces. A majority of the defense budget goes into revenue side of things meaning payrolls.

Are these 57 new naval fighters a real priority? The IN has one carrier at the moment and one more joining in a few years. They have 45 MiG-29K—more or less brand new (some still yet to arrive). The third carrier is far off to the future.

Compare that with all other Indian Navy priorities (i.e. P-75I, SSN, SSBN, etc) as well as the IAF (i.e. squadron shortages) and the IA (i.e. long laundry list from artillery to ICV to AD etc). Do you think India still has $12 billion that it can throw at acquiring these new 57 fighters right now?
if the procurement is being counted from actual signature to complete delivery i think it would be 5 to 10 years.. so the money goes in tranches not in one go .. so yes i guess it does ..that near 500 billion forex need to be used as well .. uncle is gonna scream .. F18 is probably the winner !!

kit wrote: so yes i guess it does ..that near 500 billion forex need to be used as well .. uncle is gonna scream .. F18 is probably the winner !!
If screams of uncle had any effect or that matter any merit, MMRCA would have seen one the teens. We all know how that went (even with MMS at its helm, massa's bet frriend). So I believe it is Rafale. More better than old end of life plane with commonality with Air Force. JMT

krishna_krishna wrote:
kit wrote: so yes i guess it does ..that near 500 billion forex need to be used as well .. uncle is gonna scream .. F18 is probably the winner !!
If screams of uncle had any effect or that matter any merit, MMRCA would have seen one the teens. We all know how that went (even with MMS at its helm, massa's bet frriend). So I believe it is Rafale. More better than old end of life plane with commonality with Air Force. JMT
The IN has been eyeing the rafale since long. Unfortunately, the viks lifts seem to be tailored just for one aircraft :)

Its the best compared to all carrier aircraft currently popular.

The IN has been eyeing the rafale since long. Unfortunately, the viks lifts seem to be tailored just for one aircraft :)

Its the best compared to all carrier aircraft currently popular.
I agree with you Chetak and so is the new INS Viraat's lift. But I believe IN is planning these new planes for new bigger generation of A/C with catapults or EM launch system. We will live with Mig's till Vikram. and Viraat Retires. There was also clause in the acquisition of Gorky that no non Russian A/c would operate out of it.

My comments in favor of Rafale were in context to massa's old junk peddled as favorites with coercion from massa(screams and moan), like soviet junk is peddled here by some.

Dont shoot the messenger. Whether we like it or not, the situation is not as rosy as it should be. And I don't see any significant change in economic indices that will allow the govt to run a socialist jobs agenda plus meet a rapid capex expansion sought by the forces. Asking me to read up on sea power or mahan is besides the point. The guy in jhumri talayya whose votes brought the Govt into power most certainly hasnt and he will switch with nary a care about national or strategic indices unless he gets the stuff he has been conditioned to expect. That's all. I'd rather we got some immediate operational gaps covered because if conflict is looming those will matter far more than any super program a decade into the future. That can still be started in 2020.

Karan M wrote:I agree about the need for understanding the effect of arms on economic stability. But does the indian population which has got used to huge subsidies and govt largesse based on caste, creed etc agree? Basically, until we have a breakthrough economically or mindset wise, it will always be a game of robbing peter to pay paul. We also gave a huge standing force and with OROP, rising RE etc, the budget for capex is that much further strained. I see no real answer apart from bringing in greater local procurement preferably from a more efficient pvt sector than unionized yards, and prioritization on must haves (eg sub torpedos, towed sonars, infantry rifles) rather than the fancy great power items (nuke carrier program).
so we need a reservation riddled, caste quota fulfilling, lathi carrying army on daily wages??

hire in the morning and fire in the evening, perhaps?? like many hotel employees??

look what that old reprobate nehru did when he willfully and maliciously refused to fund a robust Army because he feared a coup and what was the result?? Did he never realize that Indians are not like the pakis, and that we are inherently democratic and they are inherently autocratic??

The hans may yap loudly but will dare not attack today because of our moth-eaten, old and sometimes decrepit equipment still has a wee bit of life and venom left in it, no??

BTW, we have always and since centuries, been a huge sea power in terms of trade and commerce but only of late is that bitter realization dawning upon us that mil power and especially Naval power also goes hand in hand with commerce.

you may like to read up on sea power projection, strategy and philosophy and how one single guy's ideas run common through the navies of amreica, japan, england, germany, china, russia and france , indeed as in the navies of many others, including India.

krishna_krishna wrote:There was also clause in the acquisition of Gorky that no non Russian A/c would operate out of it.
Ok, that is news to me Krishna that the Russians only wanted the MiG-29K to operate off the Vikramaditya. Not surprising, but still.

If Vikramaditya will only operate the MiG-29K, then the new Vikrant can also only do the same. Only the F-18 can operate from the Vikrant's lifts, as per Boeing. Why they designed lifts at only that size, boggles the mind. But that is what it is. So we have to live with that. In that case, the Russians will whine and complain if we station the SHornet aboard the Vikrant, if she is to be deployed with the MiG-29K. So it appears that the Vikrant may fly only the MiG-29K as well.

Before we jump on the bandwagon that the Vikrant is an Indian vessel and thus the IN can do whatever it wants with her own vessel, please remember the MiG-29K is not. The Russians will turn off the spares & maintenance tap of the MiG-29K and we will be left with white elephants. Come to think, she is already that right now :D

Tejas is out of the question anywhere in this puzzle, because the Navy has categorically said they do not want the aircraft deployed operationally aboard the vessel. They will continue to fund the development of the naval Tejas to validate concepts, but beyond that...nothing. So expect to see trials of the naval Tejas aboard the Vikrant.

If the above scenario pans out, then it is an open contest for both the F-18 and the Rafale to be stationed aboard the Vishaal (IAC-2).

Advantages of the F-18
- Mature platform. No question about that.
- The AN/APG-79 AESA radar is par excellence

Disadvantages of the F-18
- American bird and thus comes with all the mental headaches. Like marriage onlee --> emotional drama, inspections, suspicions, having the freedom to whatever (but within the boundaries of what the wife tells you), etc.
- Desi Jugaad with the F-18 Super Hornet is out of bounds. Good luck with that!

Advantages of the Rafale
- Commanality with the IAF - a huge plus point.
- Dassault Reliance Aviation Ltd (DRAL) to MROU Rafales of IAF and "potentially" IN birds is an equally similar plus point.
- Commanality on weapons, training and spares will be hard to look over.

Disadvantages of the F-18
- Cost. Will be more expensive than the F-18.

Dassault's win on 31 January 2012 (date of MMRCA selection) and eventual contract signing (even at a paltry 36 aircraft) on 23 September 2016....was a big win for France. The naval contest is for Dassault to lose.

@Karan M ji,
Dont shoot the messenger. Whether we like it or not, the situation is not as rosy as it should be.
On that sombre thought, I fully agree with you.

But our priorities must change. Its a rapidly evolving situation with the hans on the loose and rampaging the maritime scenario and locking in India from all sides.

We yet don't seem to have a reliably good read of their precise nefarious intentions.

It is time that the IN got some priority now.

This is also our biggest bang for the buck, with the money that congis had left us with, after laying all those landmines, and also the scorched earth withdrawal that they did.

Navy’s minesweeper deal falls through after South Korea talks fail
http://www.hindustantimes.com/india-new ... BNcRN.html

@Rakesh ji,

without the IN funding the Viks repairs in russia, the MiG-29Ks would have been stillborn.

They used our money to fund the development of the MiG-29Ks and also use it themselves.

Rakesh wrote: Ok, that is news to me Krishna that the Russians only wanted the MiG-29K to operate off the Vikramaditya. Not surprising, but still.
Rakesh, I wil try to find out the link, it was debated heavily on BRF as well. If this was not enough there is also one piece of information that I want to add. Ruskies were also consultants on designing A/C complex (that includes: A/c Lifts, arrestor wires, deck landing system and all nine yards). Most of it is Russian and they made sure only Mig 29 and Naval LCA can be transported through them. There was lot of delay in Viraat construction due to procurement delay of these from Russia (you can assume why).

Well in hind sight it all looks bad. But think 2002-07 when we did not have that much money, not many options and MMRCA was going circles. Many Naval Chiefs (including Arun Prakash) wanted Rafale's from Viki but Ruskies would not budge. Whatever happened, happened for good.

We learned a lot , India is one of the very few countries that have embarked on(compliment the guts shown by the leadership) to design an aircraft carrier capable aircraft . Even though first time in history there is country tried to design an aircraft capable of taking off from naval vessels from an aircraft that was not planned to be so. Generally the planes that are designed carrier capable are designed as first naval capable and then made into land version .

I believe even though if we can have successful trials from ins virat for the naval lac MK-2 , I believe that would be huge achievement. We can have Naval AMCA in our sight. Till then we can live with junk (as long as we do not have money or options). Going for Teens would be again limited offensive capabilities due to bug infestation, strings attached and old design planes which will have to see likes of JSF or its chinki clones as adversaries.

Rakesh wrote:If the above scenario pans out, then it is an open contest for both the F-18 and the Rafale to be stationed aboard the Vishaal (IAC-2).
But will these planes still be in production by the time a decision is made some 10-years later?

Rakesh wrote:Navy’s minesweeper deal falls through after South Korea talks fail
Goddamn!!

srai wrote:
Rakesh wrote:If the above scenario pans out, then it is an open contest for both the F-18 and the Rafale to be stationed aboard the Vishaal (IAC-2).
But will these planes still be in production by the time a decision is made some 10-years later?
Make in India saar for either plane. Basically screwdrivergiri.

What would be a better path would be to continue with the Navy's plan of *NOT* inducting the Tejas as an operational naval platform. But continue funding and develop the N-Tejas to validate concepts. Easier when N-AMCA comes along.

Along the same path, continue with development of AMCA....but rather the N-AMCA variant. Let the Navy be the first customer for the plane, instead of the air force. Like it or not, PAK-FA is coming. Let the IAF focus on that first. There will be a number of teething issues with her, just like the Rambha. Why force the IAF to divert energies on two platforms? Let the IAF focus on PAK-FA and the let the Navy focus on N-AMCA.

Once the issues with N-AMCA are resolved, just port the plane over (minus the naval specific components....correct me if I am wrong, but the main component is the strengthened undercarriage no?) to the air force.

Get the Navy to commit inducting 60+ N-AMCAs instead. Checks all the boxes for the next naval fighter ---> twin engine, stealth, internal weapon bays, 5th gen platform. The only spanner in the works is the MiG-29K. How much is the Navy invested in ensuring to make that platform work, despite all the issues? If they want to junk the bird ASAP, this will not work. However - as hard as it may be - if they can make the MiG-29K work, it will give the Navy some breathing room (timeline wise). IAC-2 is not coming anytime soon. The keel has not even been laid yet!

Perhaps Indranil can advise how serious the IN is with regards to the MiG-29K.

Bad news day.MCM make in India deal again scrapped.Fresh Intl.RFI to be issued and the IN'S Arihant had her plant flooded and was "crippled" when
by human error a valve/ hatch was opened by mistake.Was out of action for months, esp. during the Doklam crisis,still is.Hindu front page report.

MCM reg. Will be speeded up promises MOD/Goa yard.
SSBN flooding much more serious perhaps why ATV-2 launch was delayed and low-key.ATV damage reqd. cutting of piping, etc. in the clean up. This happened 10 months ago!

Some years ago the Viraat almost sank at harbour when the wrong sea-clock was opened by mistake flooding her engine room.The IN in recent years has been hit by a spate of accidents.The two latest involving both our N-subs in a serious matter, reflecting poorly on the IN even as it embarks upon a much needed expansion of the sub fleet and navy in general.

I am being superstitious, but the Navy appears to be cursed when it comes to submarines. Kilo issues, HDW 209 issues, Scorpene issues, Akula issue and now Arihant issue. What gives?

By the way, is there no audible alarm or signal that is sounded (during a dive) if any hatch is open?

I believe even though if we can have successful trials from ins virat for the naval lac MK-2 , I believe that would be huge achievement. We can have Naval AMCA in our sight. Till then we can live with junk (as long as we do not have money or options). Going for Teens would be again limited offensive capabilities due to bug infestation, strings attached and old design planes which will have to see likes of JSF or its chinki clones as adversaries.
Sir, you called the Vikrant the Viraat three times in your posts on this thread. The Viraat was the carrier of my youth and was retired last year. The carrier coming to us is Vikrant.

We won’t be going against the JSF with one of the Teens. Pray tell who will own a JSF that we would end up fighting? And if there was such an opponent, we would never get a Teen (or EMALS or the last C-17 for that matter.)

Sorry but the above two show serious lack of knowledge on the subject.

Asking me the Q? It was the Viraat which had its ER flooded by accident.The Vikrant had been decommissioned by then and awaiting her "museum" avatar which never happened..

^^^ Not you, Filipov. Krishna-Krishnaji.

So a $4.5 Billion Dollar deal falls due during last stage of talks due to price consideration and IN thinks MOD negotiation of a $12 billion fighter deal would have any more smooth sailing than MCVC program

Granted the Koreans make pretty good stuff.

But why the hell do we need them to make mine-sweepers? I hope we spend the $4.5B in-country.

No crash barrier.That's really criminal,risking the lives of pilots/crew.Imagine the chaos if a Bear or P-8I had trouble and overshot the runway!
Since DAB is basically under IN control,why didn't the CO or Goa CO not insist upon the same to be installed earlier? These are basic necessities.
Navy to exhibit maritime prowess along west coast
PTI NEW DELHI, JANUARY 07, 2018 17:35 IST
File photo: Union Minister for Defence, Nirmala Sitharaman with Chief of Naval Staff, Admiral Sunil Lanba and other dignitaries at the commissioning ceremony of INS Kiltan into the Indian Navy, at Naval Dockyard, Visakhapatnam. | Photo Credit: PTI

More than ten ships, including the aircraft carrier INS Vikramaditya, a submarine and various naval aircraft will exhibit their combat capabilities in the drill.
Indian Navy will showcase its operational prowess during a major event, starting tomorrow, along the western coast of the country. The inaugural ceremony of the drill will be attended by the Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman.

“In the programme, more than ten ships, including the aircraft carrier INS Vikramaditya, a submarine and various naval aircraft will exhibit their combat capabilities and battle readiness,” a Defence Ministry statement said today.

Ms. Sitharaman will preside over the Navy event which will display the operational might and maritime prowess on January 8 and January 9, it said.