Indian Air Force News & Discussion - 15 Dec 2016

Re: Indian Air Force News & Discussion - 15 Dec 2016

In case of engaging enemy fighters via gbad, I would guess that the only real threat is a true vlo platform. The radars are powerful enough to make non stealth platforms fly very low, which would reduce their combat radii and also make them susceptible to qrsams, and man portable sams. A layered air defence is a pita for both sides. The IAF will plan to overcome this by simply staying out of the vlrsam types bubble with air launched brahmos and ngarm. The best option is to have such stand off missiles on vlo platforms, but in the absence of such a combo, what they have is very good.

X-Posting.....

Its a sale not a transfer!!!!
Kartik wrote:From FB
France is in talks to transfer upto 30 Jaguars to IAF

France is currently in negotiations with the Indian Air Force for the sale of about 30 Jaguar that belonged to the French Air Force before their withdrawal in July 2005.

These airframes will not be used for active service but for spare parts which will be used for fully operationalizing the upgraded fleet of Jaguar IM/IS and Jaguar IB and to maintain sufficient spares in the inventory.

Currently, IAF has a fleet of 130 Jaguars for operational missions and 30 Jaguar IB trainers. Approximately 60 of these Jaguars will be modified to DARIN III standards, the rest remaining at DARIN II standard until they're retired.
Source - Defens-Aero

ashishvikas wrote:What “Make in India”? MoD penalises Tata Power (SED) for using indigenous parts !!

http://ajaishukla.blogspot.in/2017/05/w ... -tata.html
I think in this order, TATA won by bidding 1/3rd the price of imported items/foreign suppliers. Dalal Empire hitting back?

Gyan wrote:
ashishvikas wrote:What “Make in India”? MoD penalises Tata Power (SED) for using indigenous parts !!

http://ajaishukla.blogspot.in/2017/05/w ... -tata.html
I think in this order, TATA won by bidding 1/3rd the price of imported items/foreign suppliers. Dalal Empire hitting back?

The Australian component price is quoted as Rs. 84 lakhs.
What was the price of the local component?
And was there a contract mod for price of this import substitution?

Looks like IAF had technical but not financial authority for the modification.

Shuklaji likes to find any stick to beat GOI with.

ramana wrote:X-Posting.....

Its a sale not a transfer!!!!
Kartik wrote:From FB

France is in talks to transfer upto 30 Jaguars to IAF

France is currently in negotiations with the Indian Air Force for the sale of about 30 Jaguar that belonged to the French Air Force before their withdrawal in July 2005.

These airframes will not be used for active service but for spare parts which will be used for fully operationalizing the upgraded fleet of Jaguar IM/IS and Jaguar IB and to maintain sufficient spares in the inventory.

Currently, IAF has a fleet of 130 Jaguars for operational missions and 30 Jaguar IB trainers. Approximately 60 of these Jaguars will be modified to DARIN III standards, the rest remaining at DARIN II standard until they're retired.
Source - Defens-Aero
Good stuff. For the next 10-years, the IAF should stock up on as many second-hand airframes it can get its hands on. Some could be upgraded for active service while most would be for spare parts. The three below will serve the IAF at least until 2035:
  • Jaguar
  • Mirage-2000
  • MiG-29
More spare airframes should also be bought for the LCA, Su-30MKI and Rafale.

^^ Very bad idea. Remember the last occasion we purchased old retired East European MiG-21s for spares? See how frequently Pakistani Mirage 3 crash with parts fitted from such aircraft?
tushar_m

Post by tushar_m »

Jaguar's with HTFE-25 !!!! ?????

Maybe a good way to boost our defense manufacturing & test our "Gugad" .

If the report is true,then the oft cancelled tanker deal has been firmed up,buying more IL-78s. If one remembers,the IAF wanted the vastly more expensive A-330s,which could also carry troops,but the new upgraded IL-76-90s,with new engines,etc.,come in much cheaper and the platform is also
being acquired for the extra 2 Phalcon AWACS systems. Thus ,acquiring a platform which has served us well for decades,upgraded and at low cost appears to have won the day.

Jt. production of a civilian airliner is long overdue.Look how China began to build its own A-320s and has now graduated to designing its own civvy aircraft. It will be interesting to see which aircraft is chosen.Both the Sukhoi Superjet and other civvy aircraft from the usual design bureaus Il/Tup
have options.

https://www.rt.com/business/362483-russ ... struction/

https://www.rt.com/business/362483-russ ... ion/[quote]
Russia, India to start joint airplane & helicopter production
Published time: 12 Oct, 2016
Russia, India to start joint airplane & helicopter production
Ka-226T utility helicopter

New Delhi has sent an official request to Moscow to begin joint production of civilian aircraft for India, said Russian Minister of Trade and Industry Denis Manturov. Russia is ready to begin the project, added the minister.
Read more
Mi-17V-5 helicopter performs a demonstration flight at the Maks-2015 International Aerospace Salon in Zhukovsky near Moscow. © Vladimir AstapkovicIndia upgrades its military helicopter fleet in $1.1bn deal with Russia
“We can offer Russian experience in creating this aircraft, and could consider the possibility of participation both in this project as a whole and in its individual stages from the design stage to after-sales service,” Manturov told the Economic Times of India.

He also said there are plans for a joint venture to produce and supply Ka-226T utility helicopters. An agreement to build up to 200 helicopters is expected to be signed later this month. It includes servicing, repair and technical assistance.

The Ka-226T is a new version of the light multi-purpose Ka-226 helicopter, and has a take-off weight of almost four tons and a maximum speed of 250 kilometers per hour. It is capable of carrying up to 1100 kg payload in the cabin or on an external sling.

Russian Helicopters Holding is participating in a tender to supply two civil Mi-172 helicopters, in addition to those that are already operating in India, according to Manturov.

READ MORE: India considering purchase of Russian transport aircraft worth $2bn

India has been a traditional buyer of Russian arms since the 1950s. Over the last five years, about 70 percent of the country's military purchases came from Russia.

New Delhi is in talks with Moscow to acquire a number of Russian-made Ilyushin transport aircraft for its air force. The mid-air refueling aircraft would enhance the operational capabilities of the Su-30 fighter jets specially developed for India by Russia’s Sukhoi Design Bureau. The Indian Air Force (IAF) is already equipped with Russian-built IL-78 mid-air refuelers.

India seeks Russia's 'crown jewels' in biggest arms deal of the decade http://on.rt.com/707b
6:05 AM - 24 Dec 2015

India has more than 300 Russian Mi-8 and Mi-17 helicopters in its fleet.

The IAF has plans to purchase 48 additional Mi-17V-5 helicopters for $1.1 billion. Eighty Mi-17V-5s have been delivered to India in 2011-2013, after a contract was signed with Russia’s state weapons exporter Rosoboronexport.

In December India approved the purchase of five S-400 air defense systems from Russia which is part of the biggest arms deal between the two countries in a decade.[/quote]

tsarkar wrote:^^ Very bad idea. Remember the last occasion we purchased old retired East European MiG-21s for spares? See how frequently Pakistani Mirage 3 crash with parts fitted from such aircraft?
The IAF will need to keep Mirage-2000, MiG-29 and Jaguar for another 15-20 years (at least some of them). New replacements (FGFA, more Rafale, AMCA, or MII) will take a long while to be R&D/negotiated and inducted in numbers. 12 squadrons just to replace these three and a lot more to get to planned 42 squadrons. Better to have plenty of spares for those types in service in the meanwhile.

tsarkar wrote:^^ Very bad idea. Remember the last occasion we purchased old retired East European MiG-21s for spares? See how frequently Pakistani Mirage 3 crash with parts fitted from such aircraft?

It's not as if 100% parts from the extra jets are usuable.

That we are in a position where we have to do a Paki style 'buy old frames for spares' jugaad is a matter of concern.

From wanting to bolster its fleet with a 100 odd M2k to MMRCA circus and it's cancellation,repeated delays with the LCA. Re equipment has been massively impacted.

I hope the single engined fighter competition moves quickly. A steady addition of LCA -Solah/Gripen and Rafale is much needed.

Shouldn't be thought of as either-or. You have to continue to support the old types in service till they retire many years from now. Going to get harder and harder to find spares for them in the future. Of-course, everyone would like new planes when they come ... but it will take a while to acquire the numbers desired.

I remember a decade or so ago Shiv and I tongue-in-cheek said that the best replacement for the aging MIG-21s were...new MIG-21s! WE now have Prof. Das wanting a new Gnat for GA/close support too.

I wonder what if MIG-21 production was restarted to produce Bison std. MIGs. These could've replaced the older FL/M/other variants in service. A recent report that we were looking at buying some legacy Malaysian MIG-29s beggars the Q,why not buy new ones to 29UG/35 std.? They're available at around just $30M a pop.You can't get anything cheaper other than our LCAs at $25M,but these are not coming off the lines fast enough.

in a future spat with Pak,the China factor will come into play.China will sabre rattle at the very least and tie up a considerable amt. of our assets benefiting Pak.Numbers are critical.We must have around 950-1000 aircraft even if some are of upgraded legacy types. Every aircraft is a valuable asset
and we must leverage our legacy resources to the max.

phillip..depends on the season..campaign season is usually in the winters..in the winters the chinis can do precious little...though u r correct if hostilities happen in non winter season. I think even in 1971 one of the reasons to go to war in December was precisely this..apart from other factors.

Hooray! Hooray! Hooray! JUst saw the Jag news. Someone in the IAF is certainly reading my posts.I've been rooting for more Jags for aeons,ridiculed by some,but this decision speaks volumes of the pragmatism of the decision-makers. We need numbers and need them fast.Cannibalising these old Jags,though I'm sure that the IAF will look at them and see if some can be inducted,will keep numbers of Jags operational healthy.

We can't underestimate the Chinese.Look how Mushy-the-rat stole the Kargil heights by sending in his forces during winter whgen we used to withdraw our troops?

Philip sir - the news report says 'These airframes will not be used for active service but for spare parts'

Somewhat like having a old but good condition Amby car. It still does a good job of getting you out and about. You wish to keep using it but the manufacturer doesn't make any new ones. So you go and get a run-down second hand one, just for it's parts. All the time wishing if only you had the money to buy a brand new Honda city.

Not really a good situation to be in, rather a forced one due to circumstances.

Begs the question, what HAL-built Jaguars is actually built and not just screw-drivergiri.

Bet my left ball that this Jaguar purchase from France is fake news
Ankar

Post by Ankar »

Press Trust of India‏Verified account @PTI_News 27m27 minutes ago

#US clears sale of 22 #GuardianDrones to #India, sources say.

^ this is for the Navy for sea patrols.

Saurav Jha @SJha1618 (11:36 AM - 27 Jun 2017)
IAF has put up a case for building 108 next gen hard aircraft shelters that can withstand a direct hit from a 2000 pound bomb.

IAF Chopper Goes Missing In Arunachal Pradesh, Chief Minister Pema Khandu Monitoring Situation
An IAF chopper, which was on a flood victim rescue mission, with three crew members on board, went missing near Sagalee in Papum Pare district of Arunachal Pradesh on Tuesday, the defence officials said.

The Advanced Light Helicopter (ALH) lost contact soon after its take off from Sagalee at around 3.50 pm before the rescue, Defence PRO Lt Col Sambit Ghosh said.

The chopper was evacuating people, stranded at Sagalee due to landslides, triggered by rains.

Sources at the Chief Minister's office in Itanagar said Chief Minister Pema Khandu was monitoring the situation.

Directives have been issued to the administration and the police to extend all possible help in the search and rescue operation.

The villagers have also asked to help the administration in locating the missing chopper, the sources said.

Please do read this. It highlights multiple real-world issues in fighter ops at those altitudes. And otherwise.

Source: http://vsktelangana.org/the-attack-on-tiger-hill/

The Attack on Tiger Hill
On the 24 of June 1999 the Indian Air Force dropped its first LGB in anger. The release was from a Mirage 2000 and I was privileged to have been the pilot in command. In the days that followed I was honoured to drop four more LGBs, thus dropping 5 out of the total of 8 LGBs delivered by the Mirage 2000 in the Kargil Conflict. This is my story.

Adampur is a major Air Force Base in Punjab and I had been deployed there since 22 May 1999 for Operation Safeed Sagar, which was the Indian Air Force monikers for its Air Operations in Kargil. I was then a Wing Commander and posted as the Station Flight Safety & Inspection Officer of Air Force Station Gwalior where the Mirage 2000 is based. I had just over 1900 h on the Mirage and was an Experimental Test Pilot with bags of experience. The Battle Axes were deployed at Adampur and I had been attached to the unit as an “Augementee” along with a few other officers from other units of the IAF.

On the evening of 22 June we were tasked to attack Tiger Hill with LGBs the next morning. I was selected to captain a two seater with Sqn Ldr Monish Yadav as my back seater. The target was a set of enemy tents perched at the top. We got airborne in a two aircraft formation at 0630h and set course after take-off in a North Easterly direction to RV with two Mirages from Tiger Sqn, which was operating from Ambala. The join up was uneventful and we maintained R/T silence as we winged our way to the target.

Tiger Hill is unique in shape and size when viewed from the ground. But from 30,000 ft up it is indistinguishable from the other tall peaks in the vicinity. The only mountain that stands out in this grand vista is K2, Mount Godwin-Austen, which at 28, 2510 ft towers over its surroundings. The aids on board the Mirage allowed us to spot Tiger Hill with relative ease. We had it in contact by 50 km and were unpleasantly surprised to find a tiny cloud perched right on its tip obscuring the DMPI and rendering the LGB impotent. The endurance of the Mirage allowed us to hold on station for about 30 min, so we went around three more times hoping the cloud would drift away and we could complete our mission. In the fourth attempt, as we turned away from the target, Monish yelled at me to “flare left” indicating a missile launch. I instantly throttled back to idle power and hauled the aircraft upward in a steep left turn and commenced dropping flares. I did not spot the tiny shoulder launched missile, but Monish did see it climb towards us and thereafter fall away as we were outside its envelope. We had no choice but to go back with our armament load and prepare for a reshoot the next day.

On the 23rd afternoon we were informed the CAS would be at Adampur so we spent the rest of the day tidying up the Squadron premises for the visit. The CAS landed in the evening and was keen to fly and observe the first LGB drop. The mission profile was revised and the CO was scheduled to fly the CAS in a third two seater, while the remaining formation was unchanged.

Morning Met briefing on the 24th was at 0500 h and by 0530 h a short brief was carried out with the CAS in attendance. The plan was for a three aircraft mission with the two lead aircraft armed with an LGB each, while the third aircraft would follow behind with the CAS in the backseat. The plan was to hit Tiger Hill first and then proceed to recce Point 4388 located 30 km NW of Tiger Hill. By 0600 h we had walked to the aircraft. Walking to the aircraft is a tedious task in war time. We were overloaded with our G-suits, helmets and had to lug our Makarov 9mm pistols along with the various essential items necessary for a successful sortie, such as maps, call-sign cards, MIPs, EW MIPs, INU plans, authentication tables-All in all a very cumbersome procedure.

Wheels Roll was at 0630 and our escort Mirages from Ambala joined up with us about 300 km from the target. The RV point had been selected well away from the border to remain outside the enemy radar cover. The RV as before was uneventful. We maintained R/T silence and meticulously went over the attack drill to ensure all our EW systems and weapons were up and ready. The passage of the magnificent scenery below was barely noticed. We were on the alert checking our systems and all perked up to go.

Tiger Hill was spotted from about 50 km distance in the Litening Pod and we were thrilled to see there was not a speck of cloud around. Things then moved forward at a rapid pace. I had altered heading to place the aircraft track directly at a set of seven Artic tents perched precariously on the South face of Tiger Hill. The white tents made good camouflage sense in winter, but in summer, with most of the snow melted away, they stood out in stark contrast against the black rock formation. Tiger Hill is at an altitude of 16,600 ft, and the pre-briefed altitude for the attack was 28,000 ft, to which we quickly descended. A glance at the INU indicated that the winds at this altitude was 70 kts in a westerly direction and at 90 deg to our planned track. This was excessive and outside the release envelope for the LGB. Going up was not an option as the Laser was known to switch off automatically at around 30,000 ft. A different direction was also not viable as the target would be shadowed. A quick decision was therefore taken to descend down to 26,000 ft, placing us well within the envelope of shoulder fired SAMs. The crosswinds however were more tolerable at 50 kn and just at the limit of the LGB delivery envelope. We had IR flares with us and considered going down an operational risk which we were willing to take. The CRM was excellent and Monish knew exactly what to do.

At 28 km I pulsed the laser to designate the target for the first time. The Litening Pod instantly ranged the distance to target. We had by then accelerated to a ground speed of 550 kn (~1000 kmph) and the distance to the release point rapidly reduced. I repeatedly re-designated the target as it became more discernible when we closed in. At the release range I pressed the trigger and we felt the aircraft jerk upwards as it suddenly shed 600 kg of load. I immediately commenced a hard turn to the left at 4g and stated flaring. Monish took over pod steering and pointed the laser directly at the target while I concentrated on the turn and monitored the video image. The Laser was steadily flashing and we waited anxiously for the target to explode thus signalling a successful delivery. The time of flight of an LGB under the delivery conditions that we had dropped it in was under 30 sec, but to us in the cockpit it appeared as an eternity. Our joy knew no bound as the entire video image of the target burst out into a soundless explosion.

I had by then rolled out on a westerly course and reversed right climbing back to 30,000 ft and monitored the Air to Air TACAN with the other strike aircraft. The plan was to gather together and then set course for Pt 4388. I noticed the distance between the two of us had started to build up as we turned towards the North West. Our faithful escorts from 1 Squadron were however with us so we decided to press on with the remaining mission. A quick R/T call to check gravy and intention revealed that the other members had already set course back to base. We continued and scanned Pt 4388 for targets. On return, 15 min later, we routed back via Tiger Hill to film the Hill from close to assess the damage. The target area had been blown to smithereens, so we filmed the rest of the hill for any other visible signs of the enemy. Gravy was sufficient so we accelerated to our limit speed of 0.95 Mach to get back to Base by 0800 h.

After landing we extricated the video tape from the Litening Pod and headed to the crew room for the debrief. The entire squadron was gathered around the TV as the tape was rewound and played back. Clearly visible on the tape were four enemy soldiers rushing across the screen a few seconds before the bomb got to them. The video on the way back also revealed a person 2,000 ft below the hill top climbing painstakingly upward to the camp.

Many thanks for posting this. Great read. IAF should be tasked with attacking Pakistan Army posts that support cross border terror and infiltration.

Don't think that this has been posted on BRF before, but an amazingly detailed documentary on the Flying Dragons squadron of the IAF. Great footage, of the kind that we've never seen before. As usual, Maroof Raza is really knowledgeable on the subject, way better than any other defence correspondent.

Good video!

ऋषिकेश की बेटी बनी भारतीय वायुसेना में स्‍क्वाड्रन लीडर

aditi with parents

देवभूमि की बेटियां भी बेटों से कम नहीं। जब बात देश सेवा की हो तो बेटियां भी बेटों की तरह फौजी बनने में गर्व महसूस करती हैं। जोश, जज्बा और जुनून ही है कि उत्तराखंड की एक और बेटी अब भारतीय वायु सेना में स्क्वाड्रन लीडर बन गई है। ऋषिकेश की रहने वाली अदिति राय ने यह मुकाम हासिल कर दिखाया।

तीनों सेनाओं में महिलाओं के लिए स्थायी कमीशन की राह खोलने वाली दून की विंग कमांडर (सेवानिवृत्त) अनुपमा जोशी के बाद अब 27 वर्षीय अदिति राय भी वायु सेना का गौरव बन गई हैं। अदिति के पिता गुलशन राय ऋषिकेश में कपड़े के व्यापारी हैं। गुलशन ने बताया कि पांच जुलाई को अदिति को प्रोन्नति की सूचना मिली है।

अदिति इंटरमीडियट तक की शिक्षा ऋषिकेश में ही हासिल की। इसके बाद चंडीगढ़ के इंडो ग्लोबल कॉलेज से कंप्यूटर इंजीनियरिंग में बीटेक पास किया। गुलशन बताते हैं कि 'बचपन से ही उसे फौजी अनुशासन और वर्दी लुभाती थी। होनहार थी ही। इंटरमीडियट परीक्षा में वह शहर की टॉपर भी थी।'

वर्ष 2011 में उसने भारतीय वायु सेना में कमीशन लिया। अभी वह पठानकोट में तैनात हैं। अदिति की छोटी बहन पांशुला कानून की पढ़ाई कर रही है। बेटी की सफलता से उत्साहित मां वंदना राय कहती हैं 'लोगों को यह समझना होगा बेटियां बेटों से किसी मायने में कम नहीं होती। अदिति ने भी साबित कर दिया है।'

Two questions:

1) What computer software does IAF use to manage the logistics of their ground support equipment? Some kind of database program that tracks maintenance?

2) I read some where about IAF issuing a tender for Hardened Aircraft Shelters (HAS). Any details?

Found it.

IAF plans to construct 108 HAS

IAF plans to construct 108 aircraft shelters

Kalyan Ray, New Delhi, DH News Service, Jul 3 2017, 1:34 IST

Will withstand hit by a 2,000- pound bomb. They would also be fitted with iron doors to minimise the chances of fragmentation damage from a missile strike

With militarily active borders on both sides of the country, Indian Air Force proposes to construct 108 new generation hardened aircraft shelters at a cost of more than Rs 5,000 crore to protect its fighter fleet.

The hardened blast panes are meant to safeguard the frontline Su-30MKI, Jaguars, Mirages and the upcoming Rafale aircraft from 2,000- pound enemy bombs in case of a war.

Each of these shelters, sources told DH, could cost more than Rs 50 crore as they would be made up of reinforced concrete, would be having iron doors and maintenance facilities

Blast panes pens are integral part of a military air field where combat aircraft are kept during the war to save the metal birds from enemy bombs and missiles. The existing IAF shelters are capable of withstanding a blast from a 1,000-pound bomb. The new generation panes will be designed to withstand the hit by a 2,000-pound bomb, which the IAF apprehend the enemies may be possessing.

Besides, these shelters would be large enough to accommodate the big Su-30 MKI aircraft and will have proper maintenance facilities.

They would also be fitted with iron doors to minimise the chances of fragmentation damage from a missile strike.

While the proposals are under the consideration of the defence ministry since 2015, sources said the air headquarters had made a fresh pitch for its approval given the rapidly changing security dynamics in India’s neighbourhood.

Construction of hardened blast panes is a key part of the IAF’s plan to improve the infrastructure of its air fields particularly for the bases in the North East and Leh.

Two other components of the plan is to improve the infrastructure in Nyoma and Kargil airfield so that more fighter flying is possible near India’s border with China and Pakistan, respectively.
proposal was ready by 2015 and now approved.

Wasted two long years.

Could have gotten at least two more shelters due to cost escalation!

ramana wrote:Two questions:

1) What computer software does IAF use to manage the logistics of their ground support equipment? Some kind of database program that tracks maintenance?

2) I read some where about IAF issuing a tender for 200 Hardened Aircraft Shelters (HAS). Any details?
1. Maximo - military version

tsarkar. Thanks.

Can the "Iron Doors" also shield against direct hits by 2000lb bombs (seems unlikely)? Might become the weak link that will be targeted using smart munitions.

Iron Doors are for the shrapnel/fragmentation form air burst bomb.
The concrete shelter can with stand direct hit of 2000 lb bomb.
Yes smart munitions could be a way to defeat them.
But iron door means its shaped charge to get through.

Flying fighting in the MiG-21: In conversation with Air Marshal Matheswaran
https://hushkit.net/2017/07/12/flying-f ... theswaran/

Change of Guard at Hasimara Air Force Station
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 597243.cms

Obama-fame IAF officer Pooja Thakur gets wings back after reinstatement order
http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/iaf- ... 02619.html

Big Cat Alley: SEPECAT Jaguars in Indian Service
http://tejasmrca.weebly.com/military-av ... an-service

Shiv, you are in trouble now.

India begins talks for French Jaguar fighters
http://www.defensenews.com/articles/ind ... r-fighters

On a hill-flying mission in the Tawang sector, last year on May 19, upon learning that a number of Army jawans were injured in a vehicle accident on the road leading to Tawang, Dhillon volunteered to evacuate them. In a series of sorties, he evacuated 13 injured soldiers from Jaswantgarh to Khirmu, a helipad some distance away from where the injured could be rendered medical assistance.

With nearly 4,000 hours of total flying experience including 1,200 captain hours on ALH alone, Dhillon was one of the highly experienced helicopter pilots. A Qualified Flying Instructor, an Aircrew Examiner and an Instrument Rating Instructor and Examiner, only a few could match up to his professional excellence.

What a loss ? The Wing Co must have played an instrumental part in the Operationalisation of the Dhruv.
Dammit ... AP is certainly a tough terrain
The old saying comes to mind

These Mountains eat men, son

Paul wrote:Shiv, you are in trouble now.

India begins talks for French Jaguar fighters
http://www.defensenews.com/articles/ind ... r-fighters
Check out these tweets from Livefist. Jaguars are not the only planes being sourced for parts, M2Ks are apparently being sourced as well for parts. Please note, these are not for airworthy planes...just 'Christmas Tree' cannibalization for parts. The IAF is not buying used M2Ks :)

https://twitter.com/livefist/status/887028882884263936

https://twitter.com/livefist/status/887029701109100544

https://twitter.com/livefist/status/887135701296336896

Khalsa wrote:
On a hill-flying mission in the Tawang sector, last year on May 19, upon learning that a number of Army jawans were injured in a vehicle accident on the road leading to Tawang, Dhillon volunteered to evacuate them. In a series of sorties, he evacuated 13 injured soldiers from Jaswantgarh to Khirmu, a helipad some distance away from where the injured could be rendered medical assistance.

With nearly 4,000 hours of total flying experience including 1,200 captain hours on ALH alone, Dhillon was one of the highly experienced helicopter pilots. A Qualified Flying Instructor, an Aircrew Examiner and an Instrument Rating Instructor and Examiner, only a few could match up to his professional excellence.

What a loss ? The Wing Co must have played an instrumental part in the Operationalisation of the Dhruv.
Dammit ... AP is certainly a tough terrain
The old saying comes to mind

These Mountains eat men, son
Mandy was a close friend and a coursemate. On Sunday (16th July) was the bhog at Patiala. We lost him on 04th. Still can't get it in my head that he is gone. We shared a room during training. One of the first in the course to fly Captain over Siachen Glacier. A great runner. The smile and the polite jokes. Just nothing that you could fault him with.

Though he did not play any major role in operationalizing the Dhruv but once in the units it were people like Dhillon who made it their "baby" so to speak.

A special mention and salute goes out to the family. The sheer dignity and composure of the family in handling this irreparable loss is inspirational in itself. Mandy's father is a retired Air Force Officer as is his Father -in - Law. He has left behind 02 young children, a daughter and a son. Mrs. Dhillon is bravely picking up the pieces. May God give them strength. Punjab Govt has assured the lady of a government job, so I hope that works out. Hopefully there will be some ex-gratia from the Arunachal Govt.

Miss you Mandy. Stay happy wherever you are mate.