Philip wrote:PPS: There was a major controversy over acquisition of Barak-1 when George Fernandes was DM.Dozens of people were accused from politicos, babus, service officers, including retd. Adm.Nanda, etc. After 7 yrs. of investigations no evidence was found of bribery/corruption clearing the way for Barak-1's acquisition.This was no "petty theories".
And what relevance does this have to your claims that folks in DRDO were targeting any officer or otherwise?
Again, provide the evidence. Your statements more and more reek of an agenda.
So today, politicians are claiming Rafale deal is crooked. What next, will you claim DRDO/ADA is orchestrating the same based on "secret conversations"?
Where have I slandered an Indian organisation? Pl.show me.
Kindly provide the evidence which so called unnamed officers in DRDO targeted IN officers over Barak. Your claims are petty & bereft of evidence.
If Trishul was such a great success why did we not induct it?
That should be obvious to anyone, that two of the services (as is their prerogative) changed their requirements as they felt they could afford seeker equipped systems!
Hardly the fault of the system in which case which was demonstrated to work & the evidence has been provided repeatedly. Something, which I note, you are unable to counter.
You keep repeating statements that it worked but did it make the grade? You yourself have yourself stated that we wanted something better and the defence establishment agreed. QED.
Err.. no! I made statements which clearly pointed your so-called claims of the system being a failure were false. QED.
The system worked and was proven in trials..
Second, better is
subjective. The systems today, ostensibly replacing the Trishul are fire & forget, and survivable but are not in MMW band (which is what made the Trishul harder to jam & which is why the IAF is still looking at it) and are FAR more expensive!
Its the same reason an Akash without a seeker may still be a better option for SRSAM rather than a seeker equipped missile & why multiple nations are persisting with CLOS systems with cheaper missiles (
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RBS_23#Missile) and the IAF itself is depending on a mix of the affordable Akash and the expensive Barak-8.
But it is also a fact as I've posted that there was a raging controversy alleging malfeasance in the acquisition which lasted for 7 years.An honest officer suffered ,caught up in the controversy.I am repeating a little of what he told me.
I see, so now you note the officer was caught up in some malfeasance allegations and "he told you". Where is the evidence, that people in the DRDO targeted him & caused his suffering? Allegations in arms deals in India are dime a dozen, these events occur with clockwork regularity due to politics.
What is however not acceptable, is your muck raking trying to create bad blood between Indian organizations using these events as a convenient foil.
You make the most dubious of allegations, in a glib manner, without the slightest propriety & you expect them to go unchallenged. Wonderful.
You are trying to insinuate me of denigrating the DRDO as a whole by merely saying that the DRDO and Israeli entities have worked on programmes together avoiding the B-1 issue.This is a specious argument . I have at times even mentioned the names of sr. service officers who have come on record in the media regarding their experiences, so don't drumbeat the fiction of my inventing details.I don't.
Oh yes, we all know how you selectively quote only those reports who play to your proven biases regarding local programs.
If we are unwilling to address our shortcomings while celebrating our successes we will end up like Pakistan with its tall claims about djinn power!
Go easy on the dodgy comparisons, dear chap. You were provided
specific statements about what worked and what didn't. Don't try to muddle around & bring Pakistan & other countries into the picture using dubious comparisons.
A chain is only as strong as its weakest link. In the case of B-8 , the success only reinforces that the JV route speeds up acquisition of urgently reqd. weapon systems where we do not possess everything techwise.Perhaps if we had had a JV for Trishul it would be in service today instead of B-1.The result is that we have B-8 today, thankfully.
Ah of course, the famed "JV route".
And here you are busy trying to educate everyone about "acquisitions" and so forth.
Are you even aware that in the Trishul the fire control radar was the Flycatcher & the surveillance radar was from Thales? And the Trishul being a direct threat to imports meant that no foreign OEM was willing to work with India on the actual guidance, and India did the maximum possible to derisk the program by utilizing the above foreign systems which were already in Indian service, based on explicit requests from the services
In short, your awareness of local programs and JVs is next to nil. You quote meaningless buzz words about JVs, this, that, but ignore the specifics. It is not any JV that automatically confers success. It is programs like Trishul which provide the basis!