Indian Air Force News & Discussion - 15 Dec 2016

Re: Indian Air Force News & Discussion - 15 Dec 2016

Wasn't that last year deal. The 32 Jags per rumor are not fly away units but used for spares (it would be good if we can fly them). The 2 M2K are flyaway and per rumor they will get upgraded to 2000i standards.

wig wrote:https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/on-mig- ... ome-livetv

IAF chief on the Mig 21. he mentions the basic version will be phased out this year
"We are still flying MiG-21 which is 44 year old but nobody driving cars of that vintage," Air Chief Dhanoa said, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh by his side. He was speaking at a seminar on modernisation and indigenisation of the Indian Air Force.

The Air Chief said the basic version of the Russian fighter jet would be phased out this year. "Hopefully, I will fly the last sortie in September, subject to visibility," he said.

The aircraft had been in service for decades because of the overhauling using Indian-made components. "Over 95 per cent of components required in overhauling is made in India. The Russians are not flying the MiG but we are because we have overhaul facilities," said Air Chief BS Dhanoa.
... and with that comment, we can be sure he's not becoming the CDS. Not sure if he was ever in the race, but I wouldn't expect a comment like that from him in front of the Defence Minister.

fanne wrote:Wasn't that last year deal. The 32 Jags per rumor are not fly away units but used for spares (it would be good if we can fly them). The 2 M2K are flyaway and per rumor they will get upgraded to 2000i standards.
As the MiG-29, Jaguar and Mirage-2000 era come to a gradual end world over in the next 10-20 years, any air force flying these types need to stockpile on spare parts, including extra airframes that can be cannibalized for spares.

IMO instead of raising new squadrons of these legacy types from second-hand airframes, it would be better to invest in increasing the flyable reserves of existing squadrons. That way these squadrons can finish out their service in full capacities and respectable serviceability rates.

fanne wrote:Wasn't that last year deal. The 32 Jags per rumor are not fly away units but used for spares (it would be good if we can fly them). The 2 M2K are flyaway and per rumor they will get upgraded to 2000i standards.
yes. Jags for cannibalization only. In fact they are already received in India now, as per HAL TP HVT.
DrRatnadip

Post by DrRatnadip »

https://m.economictimes.com/news/defenc ... 812964.cms

loosing choper in friendly fire was bad news.. 5 officers found guilty is worse..

DrRatnadip wrote:https://m.economictimes.com/news/defenc ... 812964.cms

loosing choper in friendly fire was bad news.. 5 officers found guilty is worse..
This happens when people have put under real world pressure, IAF would have learnt its lesson

Responsibility had to be tracked otherwise things cannot be remedied. The military determines and accepts responsibility which frankly is not the case in the other institutions of the GOI or desi society in general. Babus are allowed literally decades of incompetence that destroy countless lives. I feel for the officers, they were put in a horrible situation, but I am glad the system works
Vidur

Post by Vidur »

Responsibility had to be tracked otherwise things cannot be remedied. The military determines and accepts responsibility which frankly is not the case in the other institutions of the GOI or desi society in general. Babus are allowed literally decades of incompetence that destroy countless lives. I feel for the officers, they were put in a horrible situation, but I am glad the system works
Correct, the only institution where responsibility is fixed. Last night I had a dinner at my place and casually mentioned that we can learn a lot from the armed forces. Horrified faces all around. Topic was soon changed to children's education - abroad.
sankum

Post by sankum »

https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/ ... 254184.ece
. the phase-out plan will start in 2023 for the earliest variants and will be spread over 15 years till 2038,” a senior defence source told The Hindu.

“The HAL will upgrade 56 Jaguars to DARIN-III standard, and the project will be completed by 2024,” an official source said.

This makes sense, induct Tejas and keep the Su-30 line going to replace the Jaguar fleet, its air frame limit means it could never be true fighter. The days of MIg-27 and Jaguars as dedicated mud movers is coming to an end in the IAF. CAS will now have to be done with PGM's from high altitude.

Aditya_V wrote:This makes sense, induct Tejas and keep the Su-30 line going to replace the Jaguar fleet, its air frame limit means it could never be true fighter. The days of MIg-27 and Jaguars as dedicated mud movers is coming to an end in the IAF. CAS will now have to be done with PGM's from high altitude.
quite untrue..in india / pak context PGM's are way too expensive. there will be a role for Mig27/Jags in the near to mid term till they give away due to sheer old age !

sankum wrote:https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/ ... 254184.ece
. the phase-out plan will start in 2023 for the earliest variants and will be spread over 15 years till 2038,” a senior defence source told The Hindu.

“The HAL will upgrade 56 Jaguars to DARIN-III standard, and the project will be completed by 2024,” an official source said.
Did they try the new Adour engines being manufactured for Hawks assembled by HAL itself? Request Indranil, JayS and Maitya for their assessment on using Hawk Adours on Jaguar that has older model Adours.

The Honeywell engine was anyways a BizJet engine and unsuitable for fighters. It was a curious choice to begin with in the first place.
LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

The approximate time of induction of oldest aircrafts available with IAF are as follows:-
1) MIG 21:- Last batch of 220 jets manufactured by HAL between 1977-1984 (35-40 years old)... Bisons probably belong to this batch...
2) MIG 27:- 150 jets assembled in India from kits starting from 1986... The last squadron was formed in 1990 (30 years old)
3) Jaguars:- 45 inducted by mid-1980s (35 years old), 31 by 1988 (30 years old), 15 by 1999 (20 years old), 37 Nos. (20 Single seat + 17 Trainers) by 2008 (11-15 years old)

If we assume the airframe life is 40 years for each of the jets and spares are available,
MIG 21s will be phased out by 2025
MIG 27s by 2030
Jaguars batchwise from 2024 to 2040
MIG 27s & Jaguars can be used for CAS till 2030...
My question is, will Tejas be used for CAS role in future...??? Or will army use only choppers...???

I guess it says Jags till 2038- by that time we will other aircraft who will be doing the CAS role, but I think it will move to aircraft dropping Missiles and PGM's, or guided rockets, Dont think we will using aircraft at low level with rockets and Cannon for CAS role like in the past. It will more AESA SAR radar target pick ups targeted with the appropriate ordinance.
VikramA

Post by VikramA »

Aditya_V wrote:I guess it says Jags till 2038- by that time we will other aircraft who will be doing the CAS role, but I think it will move to aircraft dropping Missiles and PGM's, or guided rockets, Dont think we will using aircraft at low level with rockets and Cannon for CAS role like in the past. It will more AESA SAR radar target pick ups targeted with the appropriate ordinance.
I don't think jags were ever supposed to have CAS role. That was mig 27's forte' with its massive internal mounted canon. Jags role was that of interdiction and bombing static well defended military and strategic targets such as airfields and bridges. But now the era of dedicated strike aircraft is coming to an end with MRCA taking over with precision bombs

LakshmanPST wrote:The approximate time of induction of oldest aircrafts available with IAF are as follows:-
1) MIG 21:- Last batch of 220 jets manufactured by HAL between 1977-1984 (35-40 years old)... Bisons probably belong to this batch...
2) MIG 27:- 150 jets assembled in India from kits starting from 1986... The last squadron was formed in 1990 (30 years old)
3) Jaguars:- 45 inducted by mid-1980s (35 years old), 31 by 1988 (30 years old), 15 by 1999 (20 years old), 37 Nos. (20 Single seat + 17 Trainers) by 2008 (11-15 years old)

If we assume the airframe life is 40 years for each of the jets and spares are available,
MIG 21s will be phased out by 2025
MIG 27s by 2030
Jaguars batchwise from 2024 to 2040
MIG 27s & Jaguars can be used for CAS till 2030...
My question is, will Tejas be used for CAS role in future...??? Or will army use only choppers...???
Thanks for the Jag induction data. I was looking for it. Would you know which of these are at what DARIN upgrade level..?

the first 40 odd jets which came in flyaway condition would be phased out any way. They were never meant for engine upgrade. If I am not wrong, they have older Adour 804 engine and are at DARIN 1 level. Please correct me if I am wrong here.

tsarkar wrote:
Did they try the new Adour engines being manufactured for Hawks assembled by HAL itself? Request Indranil, JayS and Maitya for their assessment on using Hawk Adours on Jaguar that has older model Adours.

The Honeywell engine was anyways a BizJet engine and unsuitable for fighters. It was a curious choice to begin with in the first place.
I was thinking the same, yesterday, before I realized Adour 871 or the latest 951 are non-afterburning engines. We will have to pay for an AB version design and development to RR if we want to adopt these for Jags. But RR pulled out of Jag engine upgrade program, that's why we were left with Honeywell as single vendor situation. Else adopting Adour 871 or 951 for Jags was most logical option.
LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

JayS wrote:Thanks for the Jag induction data. I was looking for it.

the first 40 odd jets which came in flyaway condition would be phased out any way. They were never meant for engine upgrade. If I am not wrong, they have older Adour 804 engine and are at DARIN 1 level. Please correct me if I am wrong here.
I think the first 40 odd jets that came in Fly-away condition were already retired... These had the Adour 804 Engines...
My post in previous page--->

Total Jaguar Fleet of IAF is as follows:-
1) 40 Nos. built by SEPECAT, early 1980s
2) 45 Nos. assembled by HAL, mid 1980s
3) 31 Nos. license-built by HAL which were last delivered between 1988-1991
4) 15 Nos. built by HAL and delivered by 1999
5) 37 Nos. (20 Single seat + 17 Trainers) built by HAL and delivered by 2008

Source--->
https://www.forecastinternational.com/a ... H_RECNO=65

This is what I guess was the plan---->
I think the first batch of SEPECAT-built Jaguars were already retired...
The second batch of HAL assembled Jaguars were never planned to be re-engined and will be retired soon (around 2025?)...
Only 3rd, 4th & 5th batches were planned to be re-engined...
The 3rd batch of Jaguars are 30 years old... I don't think they'll be retired until atleast 2030..
The 52 jets of 4th and 5th batches are only 11-20 years old and won't be retired anytime soon... May retire post 2040...

Would you know which of these are at what DARIN upgrade level..?
I don't have this exact info... But from what I have seen & inferred from info available online, some 30 jets in 2nd batch and all jets of 5th batch are of DARIN-II standard...
3rd & 4th batch & few jets of 2nd batch are DARIN-I standard, which will be upgraded to DARIN-III...

Ah yes, total number was ~160. I was thinking ~120. So the first batch Jags are already retired, that makes sense.

Just like these newer Jags, which will remain in service well beyond 2030, I find many write off early Su30MKI too, thinking they will be retiring starting 2035 or even 2030..!! But given the first Su30MKI overhaul started only around 2014-15, 14 years after induction, they had used only 25% of their structural life. Even with much enhanced utilization by IAF, the rest of the 75% life should be enough to last min 30yrs still i.e. easily until 2040, we will see all Su30MKI still in IAF fleet (given they are duly upgraded to remain relevant technologically).
sankum

Post by sankum »

No, no jaguar have been retired. Of total 168 nos jaguar inducted 52 nos have crashed resulting in 116nos present strength. Normal attrition is 0.83 crashes per 10000hours of flying.
Of initial 40 nos direct Bae supplied in 1981 mathematically 25 nos are still in service and 15 is the attrition loss .

These were with adhour 804 and navvass which will be retired. Reported now only 56 nos Darin 1 and Darin 2 single seater will be upgraded to Darin 3 with elta Aesa radar.

Of the first batch of 45nos Darin 1 HAL built only those less than 40 year old will be upgraded with Darin 3 to last upto 50 year calender life and rest retired.
Only 16 Darin 2 trainers (my estimate) will be used upto calender life of say 35 years as they are the youngest and will last upto 2038.
By 2025 we will have only 72 nos jaguars i.e. 4 squadrons.( 56 nos darin 3 single seater + 16nos darin 2 trainers =72nos).
Last edited by sankum on 26 Aug 2019 18:44, edited 1 time in total.
LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

sankum wrote:No, no jaguar have been retired. Of total 168 nos jaguar inducted 52 nos have crashed resulting in 116nos present strength. Normal attrition is 0.83 crashes per 10000hours of flying.
Of initial 40 nos direct Bae supplied in 1981 mathematically 25 nos are still in service and 15 is the attrition loss .

These were with adhour 804 and navvass which will be retired. Reported now only 56 nos Darin 1 and Darin 2 single seater will be upgraded to Darin 3 with elta Aesa radar.

Of the first batch of 45nos Darin 1 HAL built only those less than 40 year old will be upgraded with Darin 3 to last upto 50 year calender life and rest retired.
Only 16 Darin 2 trainers will be used upto calender life of say 35 years as they are the youngest and will last upto 2038.
52 crashes...!!! :eek:
I thought the number is too big, so assumed that they retired the first fly-away batch...

LakshmanPST wrote:
sankum wrote:No, no jaguar have been retired. Of total 168 nos jaguar inducted 52 nos have crashed resulting in 116nos present strength. Normal attrition is 0.83 crashes per 10000hours of flying.

Only 16 Darin 2 trainers will be used upto calender life of say 35 years as they are the youngest and will last upto 2038.
52 crashes...!!! :eek:
I thought the number is too big, so assumed that they retired the first fly-away batch...
It is over a 37 year period.
sankum

Post by sankum »

MMRCA tender specified 40year calender life and 6000 hours flying life.

Su 30 mki have 40 year and 6000 hour life.
Mig 29 upg have 40year and 4000 hour life
Mig 27 have 30year/3800hour.

Western aircraft can last 50 year plus 8000 + hours.

https://twitter.com/livefist/status/1165944687896813568 ---> JUST IN: Indian MoD signs ₹380 crore contract for nine Precision Approach Radars with Data Pattern (India) Pvt Ltd. will be installed at Indian Naval air stations and Indian Air Force stations.

Company Website ---> https://www.datapatternsindia.com/index.php

https://twitter.com/defence_updates/sta ... 7982107648 ---> The installation and commissioning of radars at Indian Naval Air Stations is envisaged to be completed by April 2022 and at Indian Air Force Stations by December 2022.

HAL wants to fit advanced British missile on IAF fighters: Report
https://www.theweek.in/news/biz-tech/20 ... eport.html

23 August 2019

Rakesh wrote:https://twitter.com/livefist/status/1165944687896813568 ---> JUST IN: Indian MoD signs ₹380 crore contract for nine Precision Approach Radars with Data Pattern (India) Pvt Ltd. will be installed at Indian Naval air stations and Indian Air Force stations.

Company Website ---> https://www.datapatternsindia.com/index.php

https://twitter.com/defence_updates/sta ... 7982107648 ---> The installation and commissioning of radars at Indian Naval Air Stations is envisaged to be completed by April 2022 and at Indian Air Force Stations by December 2022.
I am very glad Data Patterns if doing well. In the early 2000's when I was still in college, I worked along with few of their guys on some minor stuff and a couple of us wondered what would be the fate of our desi MIC, and where Data Patterns will be in 20 years. Hats Off to them for never giving up.

Rakesh wrote:HAL wants to fit advanced British missile on IAF fighters: Report
https://www.theweek.in/news/biz-tech/20 ... eport.html

23 August 2019
I thought IAF wanted ASRAAM, as per previous reports. This makes it sound like HAL is offering it as an unsolicited offer.

Only 16 Darin 2 trainers (my estimate) will be used upto calender life of say 35 years as they are the youngest and will last upto 2038.
By 2025 we will have only 72 nos jaguars i.e. 4 squadrons.( 56 nos darin 3 single seater + 16nos darin 2 trainers =72nos).
OK. Crashes did cross my mind given Jags have had too many of them, but even I didn't think they would be so many. Just thinking aloud - Its likely that the crashes are skewed towards the Jags with NAVWASS as it was rather unreliable and even DARIN 1 was significantly superior to it.

PS: BRF database has list of 55 Jag crashes.

The Jaguar re-engining is an own goal from either our MoD or IAF or HAL or combination of them.

Initially, there were two vendors - Honeywell with F125 and Rolls Royce that wanted to upgrade the Adour 811 to 821 by selectively replacing parts. But we (which maybe MoD/IAF/HAL) wanted *new* engines, which knocked RR out and made Honeywell the single vendor. Which meant they could raise their prices at will.

I hate to see aircraft going waste due to a single weak component, so I hope this is a negotiation tactic to make Honeywell come to table or to get RR re-engaged. But I'm not very optimistic.

VikramA wrote:
Aditya_V wrote:I guess it says Jags till 2038- by that time we will other aircraft who will be doing the CAS role, but I think it will move to aircraft dropping Missiles and PGM's, or guided rockets, Dont think we will using aircraft at low level with rockets and Cannon for CAS role like in the past. It will more AESA SAR radar target pick ups targeted with the appropriate ordinance.
I don't think jags were ever supposed to have CAS role. That was mig 27's forte' with its massive internal mounted canon. Jags role was that of interdiction and bombing static well defended military and strategic targets such as airfields and bridges. But now the era of dedicated strike aircraft is coming to an end with MRCA taking over with precision bombs
Right. Jaguars are meant for deep low-level penetration strike missions, and not for CAS. The armchair aero-expert that I am, I see the small high wing-loaded airframe and see a low drag high speed machine, and definitely not one optimized for low speed passes.

So in today's environment, cruise missiles and PGM's should be replacing what the Jaguar is doing.
VikramA

Post by VikramA »

^^ that is why jags role is being changed in jag max concept to a PGM and smart drone carrier and not just a dump bomb carrier

Government to name new IAF chief soon, what will be the big task for BS Dhanoa's successor?
https://www.newsnation.in/india-news/go ... 35615.html

naird

Post by naird »

Rakesh wrote:Government to name new IAF chief soon, what will be the big task for BS Dhanoa's successor?
https://www.newsnation.in/india-news/go ... 35615.html
There are good chances that Air Marshal Nambiar will take over. Will be a boon for Tejas program.

https://twitter.com/Ethirajans/status/1 ... 5445795842

See the video. Abhinandhan entering Sulur AFB. Looks like he gets heavy security wherever he goes.
mmasand

Post by mmasand »

sivab wrote:https://twitter.com/Ethirajans/status/1 ... 5445795842

See the video. Abhinandhan entering Sulur AFB. Looks like he gets heavy security wherever he goes.
I can't believe someone on BR would fall for this, why would a Wing Co wear a NSG/local police QRT uniform and lead what look like homeguards. Just a cop who is sporting a similar stache.

Local police have no jurisdiction inside a AF base unless they have been called to assist with a situation.
Besides... if we need this many men to protect an A/F officer our country has already gone to the dogs.

1) this is like a police/commando unit called for base security , nothing else. 2) lot of IAF over my house since morning... v unusual activity.

this type of moustache is v common in tamil nadu, south india.