darshhan wrote:
Come on Manish bhai. US will offer us laser systems that it is yet to induct itself. Even VivS is not claiming this.

darshhan wrote:
Come on Manish bhai. US will offer us laser systems that it is yet to induct itself. Even VivS is not claiming this.
"Tap this wealth. Give them easy access to your office," Naik, who was IAF chief from 2009 to 2011, urged the new minister. Sitharaman, India’s first full-time woman defence minister, took charge of key ministry from Arun Jaitley earlier this month.
The Royal Air Force of Oman (RAFO) has completed the latest in a reciprocal series of joint exercises with the Indian Air Force (IAF).
LivefistVerified account @livefist 6m6 minutes ago
More
The routine but critical notice the Indian Air Force issues every year to the national capital's people ahead of Air Force Day on Oct 8.
"One-Zero, Overhead”
The R/T in Air Traffic Control crackled, "Blackjack Tower; One-Zero, Two
Minutes". And there was panic! The SATCO had just enough time to respond
“Call Overhead” before he grabbed his telephone and called up the Station
Commander. In minutes, the news went round the Station. The AOC Operations
Command was descending (literally) on us for an inspection.
This was Air Force Station Adampur in 1957, a remote airfield in the heart
of the Punjab, where 27 Sqn was based. There was only one operational
Command at that time, covering the whole of India, commanded by the
legendary 38 year-old Air Cmde Arjan Singh DFC.
He was a typical "operational" officer who believed in absolute
professionalism. He was not impressed with the usual superficial
spit-and-polish carried out in preparation for an inspection. All he
expected was smartly turned out personnel who knew their job and carried it
out efficiently. He did not like any fuss made over him and insisted that
everyone went about their duties in their normal way.
He visited our operational base without any warning, flying in by himself,
in a single-seat fighter aircraft (Vampire Mk52). His distinctive callsign
was "One-Zero". And his R/T call to our ATC was the first indication that he
was just two minutes away.
Then followed the standard R/T calls, "One-Zero, Thirty Seconds", to which
ATC responded, “Clear Downwind”. And then, as we looked up at the sky, we
could see his aircraft running in to join circuit. Another crisp R/T call,
"One-Zero, Overhead", a smart peel off, and he could be seen on downwind,
lowering his undercarriage and calling, “One-Zero, Downwind, Three-Green”.
ATC responded, “Clear Finals”. He made a typical old time fighter pilot
curved approach, called, “One-Zero, Finals, Three-Green”, ATC responded,
“Clear to Land” and he touched down on the dumbbell.
During this time, there was a flurry of activity all over the Station.
Everybody was trying to get everything as ship-shape as possible, in the
very limited time available.
The AOC Ops Command taxied into the squadron dispersal, undid his straps and
eased his large and impressive silver overall-clad frame out of the cockpit,
to be met by the Station Commander and Squadron Commander. An open jeep with
the AOC’s flag pulled up close by, the AOC politely told the Cpl driver to
go back to the MT Section, he himself got behind the wheel and drove off all
alone.
For the next few hours the AOC drove himself all over the Station, still in
his flying overalls, visiting every nook and corner, from Airmen's Mess to
Bomb Dump, from Squadron Dispersals to Air Traffic Control, from Orderly
Room to MI Room, from Ops Room to Guard Room, observing the routine
functioning of various sections and stopping to have an informal word with
officers and airmen at each place. He even visited the DLTs (we had only
“dry sanitation” those days)!
He then drove back to the squadron dispersal, had a few words with the
Station Commander and Squadron Commander, in the latter’s office, and then
joined the officers in the Crew Room, for an informal chat and a glass of
tea.
After which he climbed back into his single-seat Vampire and flew back to
Delhi.
There was no ceremonial reception, no guard of honour, no fancy car, no
silver tea service, no cups and saucers, no formal dinner, no unnecessary
fuss. He did not bring a Staff Officer with him, or even an ADC. All he
wanted was to personally check on the operational preparedness of the
Station.
Those were the days, my friends!
We knew we had a Boss who meant Business. And we did our very best to never
let him down. He nurtured our Air Force for the next 12 years, till he
retired as the Chief of the Air Staff in the rank of Air Chief Marshal in
Aug 1969. Later, after he was awarded the lifetime serving rank of Marshal
of the Indian Air Force (MIAF) on 26 Jan 2002, he continued to keep a benign
watch on us.
And even now, he is, and always will remain with us, “One-Zero, Overhead”.
“Ours is a growing country and our budget is limited. We cannot afford duplicating capabilities…We cannot have an Air Force with the Army, an Air Force with the Navy and another Air Force,” said Air Marshal Deo, addressing the 14th Subroto Mukherjee seminar organised by the Centre for Air Power Studies and the Indian Air Force (IAF).
Just a postman like forward, saar.Rakesh wrote:^^^ Beautiful. Thank You Chetak.
Thank you for posting this. This is real professionalism.chetak wrote:whatsapp forward
https://twitter.com/sjha1618/status/914337711921668098 --> Budgetary strains due to a lack of indigenization are beginning to manifest in the jarring statements emanating from India's three services.Rakesh wrote:Services need to avoid duplicating of assets: Air Vice-Chief
http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/s ... 777620.ece
NEW DELHI: Considering the evolving threat perception, the Indian Air Force + has decided to raise night flying by its combat jets from the current around 30 per cent in all its frontline bases to have a major tactical advantage over its adversaries.
IAF officials said the decision to enhance night flying is part of a move to boost overall strike capability and keep the fighter squadrons fully ready for operating in an entire 24-hour cycle.
"The move to increase night flying from 30 per cent was based on a variety of factors including the evolving security scenario in our neighbourhood," a senior IAF told PTI.
He said the ratio of night flying is being increased as IAF has now much more powerful and better electronic sensors, radars and air-to-air and air-to-ground missiles and there is no impediment for night operation by the jets.
"The warfare scenario is changing fast. We now are preparing ourselves to operate in an electronic warfare environment and that is why we are making the changes," said the official.
He said almost all IAF bases along the western and northern borders have started increasing the ratio of night flying.
:
:
:
:
Why does Pathankot specifically need a backup?Aditya_V wrote:I have asked this question before, why can't we develop Kangra airport in Himachal pradesh as a Back up IAF base to Pathankot.
Be careful inviting your heroes to school.
Rakesh wrote:https://twitter.com/sjha1618/status/914337711921668098 --> Budgetary strains due to a lack of indigenization are beginning to manifest in the jarring statements emanating from India's three services.Rakesh wrote:Services need to avoid duplicating of assets: Air Vice-Chief
http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/s ... 777620.ece
https://twitter.com/sjha1618/status/914339139712978944 --> Jarring statements= 'We can't have airforces growing in the other services'. 'We must be the lead service'. Etc etc.
https://twitter.com/sjha1618/status/914481561369583616 --> Your Army & Air Force don't 'talk' to each other as well as they should. Forget about that, even Army tanks & helos have trouble conversing.
Sir Douglas flew in RAF after both of his legs were amputated.chetak wrote:sorry, couldn't resist![]()
I am aware of it, saar.g.sarkar wrote:Sir Douglas flew in RAF after both of his legs were amputated.chetak wrote:sorry, couldn't resist![]()
Gautamk
Kakka ji, as an Indian it really does not matter to me what do you call the air arm and who controls it as long as the capabilities created are exploited fully and safely. So, if the need is felt one can put resources anywhere. I am just as passionately pro Army or pro Navy as I am pro Air ForceKakkaji wrote:I was also a supporter of all rotary wing and CAS aircraft going to the Army, CPMF getting their own air wing etc, until this report made me sit up:
BSF pilot raises red flags: Trainees flying VIPs, planes unkept
Maybe the IAF is right. Skills and experience in maintaining and operating aircraft and airfields, and their associated infrastructure, take a lot of time and money to develop. In the Indian context, the IAF has developed this infrastructure and expertise over a long period of time. Do we have the time and money for other services to develop it again?
Maybe the Army can own the helicopters, and the pilots can be from the Army, but they can be based at the IAF airbases with training and maintenance being done by the IAF?
Would love to hear the views of deejay and hnair Sahibs on the subject.
best not to make broad sweeping statements without having even the basic facts in hand.Kakkaji wrote:I was also a supporter of all rotary wing and CAS aircraft going to the Army, CPMF getting their own air wing etc, until this report made me sit up:
BSF pilot raises red flags: Trainees flying VIPs, planes unkept
Maybe the IAF is right. Skills and experience in maintaining and operating aircraft and airfields, and their associated infrastructure, take a lot of time and money to develop. In the Indian context, the IAF has developed this infrastructure and expertise over a long period of time. Do we have the time and money for other services to develop it again?
Maybe the Army can own the helicopters, and the pilots can be from the Army, but they can be based at the IAF airbases with training and maintenance being done by the IAF?
Would love to hear the views of deejay and hnair Sahibs on the subject.
Hakeem: I posted the image of the Gripen formation in the SE thread...shiv wrote:As news channels go I am beginning to like WION more and more. They devoted some time to reporting the IAF's 85 birthday at Hindon. What was funny is that the Suryakirans apparently did formations simulating Rafale, Su-30, Tejas and, of all things Gripen - sparking off speculation that the IAF has selected the Gripen. ACM Dhanoa was asked and he grinned and denied it..
Wasn't it Air Chief Marshal Raha (or was it Air Chief Marshal Browne?) who said that only senior pilots will be flying MiG-21s going forward? Did that policy change? Or were they referring to only the MiG-21M, which is also in service.shiv wrote:In the WION report ACM Dhanoa commented about the 3 women fighter pilots about to be inducted into fighter flying - saying that they would most likely start off with flying the Bison - an aircraft in which they can come to grips with the best of "manual" flying, low on automation and also in honing their abilities to fly a fighter without a second pilot to take part of the workload. I have heard from others that the MiG 21 excels as a fighter aircraft in the hands of those who are able to cope best with "manual flying".
Respectfully sir, a higher degree of EQ ( emotional quotient) would be very welcome for lots of Indians who make negative comments about Republic TV and also now the Newshour. Isn't it a sign of India's richness that it can have so many discussion programmes with different styles and approaches, and also topics? Arnab Goswami has his unique, distinctive style, which is highly combative, raucous, probing and unquestionably patriotic and acknowledging of India's essential righteousness on a range of issues. Particularly Kashmir, Naxal terrorism, the nuclear and missile programmes, and the threat to India from Islamism. There is no doubt on this matter. He really takes to task the Kashmiri separatists and Islamists and their apologists. One of my favourite AG shows was when he exposed the breathtaking fallacy of the Kashmiri militant apologists( the old chestnut 'they are militant because they are alienated etc). Arnab pointed to a Kashmiri Hindu on the show, and said 'have any Kashmir pandits gone back to the valley to take revenge on the people who drove them out". The argument couldn't be refuted. Would NDTV, TV 18 or even Wion bring up that issue? Notwithstanding the strengths of those respective channels.Philip wrote:"Agree about WION. A sober channel with a wider perspective.The Republic TV fish market is so completely dominated by fish-monger-in-chief ArnabG,.Like Unhygenix of the Gauls ,he shouts everyone down,switches guest speakers when he disagrees with them and like Robespierre of infamy,is judge,jury and would-be executioner! "