Aero India 2017 - Feb 14 - 18

Rishi

Aero India 2017 - Feb 14 - 18

Post by Rishi »

*Placeholder Thread*

1. Previews of the participants /seminar
2. Coordination of BRFites attending
3. News and reports
Rishi

Re: Aero India 2017 - Feb 14 - 18

Post by Rishi »

Can anyone who has registered online as a business visitor comment how the registration process was? Does one have to register separately for each day of visit?

Aero India 2017: One month for plane carnival; security top priority
http://english.mathrubhumi.com/news/ind ... -1.1653959

My KB Have a big stall this time. Don't miss it.
Marten
Location: Engaging Communists, Uber-Socialists, Maoists, and other pro-poverty groups in fruitful dialog.

Post by Marten »

Paging Vishal Jolapara for the list of hotties that will be flying.

Dileep Sir, coming on a business pass this time but I'm guessing kids will not be allowed into the exhibition area. Shall stop by to submit humble salaams.

Rishi wrote:Can anyone who has registered online as a business visitor comment how the registration process was? Does one have to register separately for each day of visit?
Cannot speak for this year but I decided against registering online because I am a BLR resident and my experience of online reg was not good. The last time I did that I still had to go and get the registration exchanged for a proper exchange pass after showing the original credit card. Soon after the same card was used for a Rs 25000 transaction in Europe :shock:

One pass for one day onlee. One bijnej day = Rs 2500.

Marten wrote:Paging Vishal Jolapara for the list of hotties that will be flying.

Dileep Sir, coming on a business pass this time but I'm guessing kids will not be allowed into the exhibition area. Shall stop by to submit humble salaams.
The only phoren maal that has been confirmed is the Yak aerobatics team from UK.. The rest are desi birds... Looking forward for the luh, lca in squadron colours, HTT 40 prototype and finally SKAT in their new avatar..

Marten wrote:Paging Vishal Jolapara for the list of hotties that will be flying.

Kids of Afsars and HAL Babus are allowed onlee. :) Nevertheless, there are a lot of IKDK (is ka daam kya) crowd on all days.

Looking fwd to meet you again.
Rishi

Post by Rishi »

Rishi wrote:Can anyone who has registered online as a business visitor comment how the registration process was? Does one have to register separately for each day of visit?
Cannot speak for this year but I decided against registering online because I am a BLR resident and my experience of online reg was not good. The last time I did that I still had to go and get the registration exchanged for a proper exchange pass after showing the original credit card. Soon after the same card was used for a Rs 25000 transaction in Europe :shock:

One pass for one day onlee. One bijnej day = Rs 2500.
Crap. The payments page is terrible (axis Bank branded Mastercard Australia MIPS... Looks like a damn phishing site). So what is the other option? Tickets are available for Bangalore residents at select places? Can one queue up and buy business tickets on the spot?

Not even Rafale will be at AI? No Ruskie birds? No F-16s from Pacific Air Command? 2500 INR is very steep price onlee for this abdul.

The Solah's from PACAF have been a regular at all the recent editions so I guess they would be there too.

Republic Day: Indian Air Force begins practice for a thundering flypast
http://www.catchnews.com/national-news/ ... html?seq=2
Marten
Location: Engaging Communists, Uber-Socialists, Maoists, and other pro-poverty groups in fruitful dialog.

Post by Marten »

Zynda wrote:Not even Rafale will be at AI? No Ruskie birds? No F-16s from Pacific Air Command? 2500 INR is very steep price onlee for this abdul.
Pay 600 for the ADVA then!
Or 1500 for the weekend. Or get an HAL/IAF/Dodo bud to get you passes.

IAF Tableau for 2017 RD Parade has been designed to depict the Air Dominance through Net Centric Operations

https://twitter.com/IAF_MCC/status/822050973971398657
arsimovich

Post by arsimovich »

The payment page did look shady but haven't seen any phising ops on my card,so I'd assume it is kosher. After payment, an SMS confirmation along with an email was sent. Instructions say that a printout of the payment confirmation page along with the credit card need to be produced at the counter for getting the actual pass.
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

I hear that Gripen is coming.
You all don't need me to state the obvious about LM & Boeing trying to make as much noise as possible to drum-up samarthan for their teens, the loudest noise comes out the back of the airplane so either or both may just spring-up a surprise by getting one on udhar from somewhere.

I'll start asking around and revert about the rest.

The Usual Suspects are as follows:

Tiger Moth or Dhruv may open the daily flight displays,
LCH,
LCA/Tejas,
Su30MKI,
Rafale,
Gripen (tentative)
Emb-145,
XXXXXXXX :idea:
Pilatus PC7,
XXXXXXXX :idea:
USAF C-17 (tentative)
Last to display may either be Surya Kirans or Sarang
Last edited by VishalJ on 24 Jan 2017 15:25, edited 1 time in total.

No Harvard???
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

Bala Vignesh wrote:No Harvard???
Its always been in static, i'd love to see it in the air.
Marten

Post by Marten »

Vishal Jolapara wrote:<snip>
Thank you Sir!
Happiest to see SKAT back in action. That too in new Hawks.
Have they been practising at Bidar or is this a new unit?

Marten wrote:
Vishal Jolapara wrote:<snip>
Thank you Sir!
Happiest to see SKAT back in action. That too in new Hawks.
Have they been practising at Bidar or is this a new unit?
Yup!! They have been practicing in Bidar.. Saw a pair of them when I had visited Bidar for work..
arsimovich

Post by arsimovich »

Do the business ticket holders get access to see the static displays up close? Any other extra privileges compared to the general ticket?

The term business day is more of a crowd control term I believe. The level of access is the same as the 1500 ticket on a public day but with slightly less amount of crowd!!
Nick_S

Post by Nick_S »

✈Anantha Krishnan M ✈ ‏@writetake Jan 23
Anth the party begins! A #Tejas LSP-4 began practice sorties @ HAL Airport today ahead of #AeroIndia2017. U could barely speak for 15 min :)

Just been informed that we need to set up shop on 12th!! That means camping for 7 days. Thankfully the soldierboy who lead the logistics said we will fold on 17th evening itself.

Which also means, don't wait till the weekend to visit.
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

arsimovich wrote:Do the business ticket holders get access to see the static displays up close? Any other extra privileges compared to the general ticket?
viewtopic.php?p=1752577#p1752577

At Aero India for the first time: Israel's IAI to showcase its Rotem L multi-rotor loitering munition system
https://twitter.com/livefist/status/824616220376735744
asgkhan

Post by asgkhan »

I registered for Saturday event. Both of us are excited to be going to the show. This will be my 4th visit to Aero India show.

arsimovich wrote: The payment page did look shady but haven't seen any phising ops on my card,so I'd assume it is kosher. After payment, an SMS confirmation along with an email was sent. Instructions say that a printout of the payment confirmation page along with the credit card need to be produced at the counter for getting the actual pass.
The phishing was done via that counter probably on an infected machine. Useless bunch of twirps of CII who do everything they can to obstruct and delay and strut about showing their biennial power backed by puffed up babus
Rishi

Post by Rishi »

As Dr Shiv says, one has to line up again at counter with credit card to get pass. Wish they had a professional ticketing agency like a bookmyshow doing this

Any plans of a "jirga" or any Rakshaks interested in meeting up during Aero India at Bangalore?
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

my availability is Feb17 and 18, which is the day that most of the mujahids be there

I would be happy to make my place available for a BRF get together. Since I know Yusuf of DFI well I would be happy to include DFI people too. I have the place, but past experience tells me that arranging dinner poses needless logistical difficulties. So I could arrange place, munches and soft drinks. Liquor can be brought in if someone wants - but I live in a plastic free zone and plastic plates and glasses are ruled out. Beer cans can be brought in if anyone wants to tipple. Bring eats if you feel like it - but not compulsory - you wont get dinner but chips/peanuts type of stuff can be arranged.

A lunch meet would kill the joy of those who want to spend a day at the airshow. It takes a very long time to get back from Yelahanka into the center of the city where I live so people start showing up later and later spending the afternoon at the show. That is not a problem - but we must have some kind of time limit for the meet - and I have usually said 6 pm to 10-10-30 pm or some such thing.

As regards the date - I would suggest Saturday as the best compromise date. Please post feedback here. This is a tentative feeler - I have not spoken to SHQ yet - but she is happy to let me be with my crowd so I don't expect any issues there.

shiv wrote:I would be happy to make my place available for a BRF get together...
As regards the date - I would suggest Saturday as the best compromise date. Please post feedback here. This is a tentative feeler - I have not spoken to SHQ yet - but she is happy to let me be with my crowd so I don't expect any issues there.
Date is fine and so is everything else. Thank you for making your place available.
Marten

Post by Marten »

Thank you Shiv saar. Looking forward to the meet.

OK - so I will make this pukka. My place will be available a get together on Saturday 18 Friday 17th Feb 2017 from 6 PM to 10-30 PM. People who want to come must email me on bennedose a t h o t mail d o t c om for directions and a phone number. Please identify yourself with a BRF handle.

Note: Please make the subject line "Jirga Aero India 2017 ". I will set up an email filter and the email will be missed if that subject line is not there
Last edited by SSridhar on 02 Feb 2017 17:30, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: As requested by Shiv
VishalJ

Post by VishalJ »

I so want to attend after being unable to the last two times. But, can we pls have the meet on the evening of the 17th Friday?

17th is OK for me - I will finalize it to 17th is no one has any objection?

No objections.
asgkhan

Post by asgkhan »

shiv wrote:I would be happy to make my place available for a BRF get together. Since I know Yusuf of DFI well I would be happy to include DFI people too. I have the place, but past experience tells me that arranging dinner poses needless logistical difficulties. So I could arrange place, munches and soft drinks. Liquor can be brought in if someone wants - but I live in a plastic free zone and plastic plates and glasses are ruled out. Beer cans can be brought in if anyone wants to tipple. Bring eats if you feel like it - but not compulsory - you wont get dinner but chips/peanuts type of stuff can be arranged.

A lunch meet would kill the joy of those who want to spend a day at the airshow. It takes a very long time to get back from Yelahanka into the center of the city where I live so people start showing up later and later spending the afternoon at the show. That is not a problem - but we must have some kind of time limit for the meet - and I have usually said 6 pm to 10-10-30 pm or some such thing.

Saar, why worry about food ? Swiggy will deliver the goods, both ghaas-phoos and mansaa-haari variety !!