Aero India 2017 - Feb 14 - 18

Re: Aero India 2017 - Feb 14 - 18

I don't see this posted yet:
http://www.ibtimes.co.in/thales-seizes- ... 017-716057
Thales, a multinational company that provides services for aerospace, defence and transportation has sized up an opportunity in the India's "Make in India." The company announced the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding with the government's Bharat Dynamics Limited (BDL) to explore prospects to jointly make Starstreak missile under technology transfer at Aero India 2017 on Tuesday (Feb 14).

Akshat_m,

Will also please ask the Rafael guys the following question: In the following schematic, the Lite Shield pod has been shown at a weapon station which does not currently exist on the LCA. LCA has a gun at that location. Therefore, how foes Rafale propose to carry out this configuration?

Cross-posting from LCA thread:

Indian Air Force ‏@IAF_MCC: CAS ACM BS Dhanoa on top of LCA Tejas after his sortie at Yelahanka today during Aero India 2017

Indranil wrote:Can somebody do me a favor and take a good picture of the underneath of the LCA Navy Mk2 model? Thanks in advance.
Indranil ji,
The model depicted is without any extended landing gear for Mk2. Got to say that the ADA and DRDO have done some good work in stall design this year, dividing it into subsections based on what kind of technology it is displaying instead of just a lab. ADA has made a very visually exciting display of the LCA models of all marks with a display underneath showing terrain flowing below trying to simulate the flight of the model it self.

Any updates on the Uttam radar for the LCA?

On Uttam, they have displayed the whole radar system on it chassis. Apparently the radar will get deployed on the Tejas in 6-12 months for integration and testing.

Bala Vignesh wrote:On Uttam, they have displayed the whole radar system on it chassis. Apparently the radar will get deployed on the Tejas in 6-12 months for integration and testing.
Really..?? I don't think this AESA radar from this latest tender would come on LCA in next 6-12month. And whats the status of Uttam as a system, all SW done?? Say its put on the jet for testing, how long they are expecting to take to fully qualify it..?

Bala Vignesh wrote: The model depicted is without any extended landing gear for Mk2.
I have a fair idea of the MLG. I actually want to see the modified MLG fairing.

On the Uttam, I really wanted to hear what they said at the Aero India Seminar. There was another talk on preliminary design of a desi amphibious aircraft which I was very interested in.

Great pity can;t come,relatives from abroad visiting,"outlaws" too! MP's statement today about firang OEMs needing to get their country's permission first before setting up anything in India (single-E fighter),is a dampener for some. Advantage Sweden what?

Indranil wrote: I respect IAF for many things. But please don't ask me to respect IAF for what it is not: a champion for indigenous development. While, I can't speak for IAF of yore, IAF in the last decade has been anything but supportive of the Indian aviation industry.

Thankfully, the IAF is starting to come around in the last 2-3 years. However, I think Manohar Parrikar has had a big hand in that change.
Cross posting from LCA thread, this time IAF's Maintenance Command has set up a stall showing samples of quite a few components like springs, washers, some electronic boards, etc for vendors to evaluate and to try manufacturing locally. This I believe is a big step towards developing an ecosystem that MSME's can venture into.

Anyone can confirm that one can buy Business pass directly at the venue..??

I think I will go tomorrow but haven't made payment yet. On the site it says it would take minimum one day to reach payment to DEO. I don't want to take risk. Last time I bought ADVA pass on the venue itself. But can't remember if they were giving Business pass as well or not.

Bala Vignesh wrote:On Uttam, they have displayed the whole radar system on it chassis. Apparently the radar will get deployed on the Tejas in 6-12 months for integration and testing.
Really..?? I don't think this AESA radar from this latest tender would come on LCA in next 6-12month. And whats the status of Uttam as a system, all SW done?? Say its put on the jet for testing, how long they are expecting to take to fully qualify it..?

Livefist: The Indian LCA Navy’s Big Fight Back
There’s activity on the radar front too. Balaji’s team will freeing up LCA Tejas LSP-2 shortly for ground integration of India’s indigenous Uttam AESA radar. The ADA has asked the DRDO’s LRDE lab to keep the Uttam’s interfaces as similar as possible to the current system. ‘It will be a challenge, moving from a mechanically scanned radar to the AESA without interface changes but that is the attempt, to save time and forestall any structural changes to the aircraft or radar,’ says Balaji. Interestingly, since the LCA doesn’t have an integrated liquid cooling system necessary for an AESA radar, the team has suggested that a small auxiliary compartment that becomes redundant after the mechanical-to-AESA switch could be utilised to house a liquid cooling system.

ADVA for sure, can't tell about business pass. I had bought it ahead of time from CCD.

Full report later, stretching my legs on the bus back home :D

JTull wrote:

Livefist: The Indian LCA Navy’s Big Fight Back
There’s activity on the radar front too. Balaji’s team will freeing up LCA Tejas LSP-2 shortly for ground integration of India’s indigenous Uttam AESA radar. The ADA has asked the DRDO’s LRDE lab to keep the Uttam’s interfaces as similar as possible to the current system. ‘It will be a challenge, moving from a mechanically scanned radar to the AESA without interface changes but that is the attempt, to save time and forestall any structural changes to the aircraft or radar,’ says Balaji. Interestingly, since the LCA doesn’t have an integrated liquid cooling system necessary for an AESA radar, the team has suggested that a small auxiliary compartment that becomes redundant after the mechanical-to-AESA switch could be utilised to house a liquid cooling system.
Saw the news. Just to make it clear, what I meant was the new AESA we are looking for MK1A, Elta 2052 or whichever other that will be winner of the latest tender, even that won't be going on LCA in 6-12months. But Uttam may need more time to dev/debug.

BTW, some confirmed news:
One can indeed climb up to a Tejas cockpit. They let you sit inside when crowd is thin. KH2001 is the plane on view, iirc.
Flypast by the following:
Tejas
Su 30 MKI
Rafale
Gripen
F-16
Dhruv
Rudra (a snazzy looking one on static display)
LCH
LUH
Suryakiran
Saarang
HTT 40
akshat_m

Post by akshat_m »

Indranil wrote:
akshat_m wrote:
noted sir. will certainly try to get that angle . Any one (not visiting) who needs any specific photo or has any query regarding a platform can let me know here...ill be visiting tomorrow morning at 9..would be glad to help.
Thank you.
couldnt go near MK2. It was at a distance. I zoomed in to take clear photo of landing gear from two angles. I do not know how to post them here. I can email them to you.

Akshat, use any free image hosting sites and link the photo URL here. http://tinypic.com is one of them.

Arshyam, I hope it was just more than a flypast i.e. a demo ranging for about 5-10 minutes
Marten
Location: Engaging Communists, Uber-Socialists, Maoists, and other pro-poverty groups in fruitful dialog.

Post by Marten »

JayS wrote:Anyone can confirm that one can buy Business pass directly at the venue..??

I think I will go tomorrow but haven't made payment yet. On the site it says it would take minimum one day to reach payment to DEO. I don't want to take risk. Last time I bought ADVA pass on the venue itself. But can't remember if they were giving Business pass as well or not.
Parva jaoo bhau. Mala pan jayche aahe! :D
Was supposed to collect passes today but had a business meeting. Backup says meet me tomorrow evening! So Friday looks like it.
*Fingers crossed.

JayS wrote:Anyone can confirm that one can buy Business pass directly at the venue..??

If you have time, please visit any of the following CCD and buy it saar.

Zynda wrote:Since I won't be attending AI as a business visitor, I am hoping BRF members attending exhibition halls can ask the following questions. Please feel free to leave out any questions which may seem irrelevant or trivial.

1. Apart from ADA & NAL, are there any private SME involved in design of components/sub-assemblies for AMCA? If yes, try to get some names please. (please be cautious on how the 2nd part of the question is framed...no unnecessary paranoia needs to set in the mind of the official). Note: One can always say that he/she is an aerospace professional who is passionate about getting involved with product development activities, especially indigenous ones and is always on the lookout for possible avenues or opportunities. The above implies that if names of companies are given, I will check out their website or try to find a contact and check for suitable opportunities. Just a suggestion :)

2. Any major changes in air frame design from LCA to AMCA i.e. is usage of composites gonna go up from LCA to AMCA. If yes, is composites usage gonna expand to primary structures as well i.e. major components of Wings (spars, stringers, ribs etc.) and fuselage (frames, longerons etc). Edit: LCA already has a full CFC wing structure...but the fuselage is metallic. So, the question should be, what percentage of fuselage of AMCA is planned to be Composites.
Folks, who are visiting on business pass, please do remember to ask the above questions. Would be mucho gracias.

Marten wrote:

Parva jaoo bhau. Mala pan jayche aahe! :D
Was supposed to collect passes today but had a business meeting. Backup says meet me tomorrow evening! So Friday looks like it.
*Fingers crossed.
Aaj ch jayacha hota pan ek argent task mule plan cha kachara zala. So udya. :mrgreen:
I have some things in office which I would like to wrap up before weekend. And also I thought Friday might be more crowd-y. Was gonna go today but some very argent thing came up. I paid online now. Got a Reg id. Will collect passes on the venue. None of those CCDs are in my vicinity.

Zynda wrote:

If you have time, please visit any of the following CCD and buy it saar.
Not convenient to go there as well. Been busy in office this week with unexpected load. With all the fun going in AI, its difficult to concentrate on office work. :wink:

I paid online. Lets see.

arshyam wrote:ADVA for sure, can't tell about business pass. I had bought it ahead of time from CCD.

And I was sitting behind him with Yusuf of DFI...
Nick_S

Post by Nick_S »

Bangaluru Air Show | Aero India 2017 | Military Choppers & Fighters Perform Aerobatics

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2OiBrTDb2p4

Zynda wrote:Arshyam, I hope it was just more than a flypast i.e. a demo ranging for about 5-10 minutes
Did I say flypast? Must have gotten distracted when typing on the bus - someone in the seats behind me mentioned 'supreme headquarters' and my RWR picked it up - turned out they were fellow BRFites onlee :mrgreen:

It was definitely a demo - my Su 30 vid alone was 9 min long.

arshyam wrote:BTW, some confirmed news: One can indeed climb up to a Tejas cockpit. They let you sit inside when crowd is thin. KH2001 is the plane on view, iirc.

I re-checked my pics. It's KH-2011.

LSP1 also has refuelling probe attached ?

Indranil wrote:Can somebody do me a favor and take a good picture of the underneath of the LCA Navy Mk2 model? Thanks in advance.
Didn't realize you had asked about the Mk-2. I only got the Mk-1 version, pasting it FWIW.

Can someone clarify the production schedule and the total capacity of all three production lines? Second production line is supposed to be 3/4. What about first and third?

arshyam wrote:ADVA for sure, can't tell about business pass. I had bought it ahead of time from CCD.

And I was sitting behind him with Yusuf of DFI...
Yes, that was definitely a pleasant surprise at the end of a long day :D.

P.S. My schedule for Friday opened up, and I would love to attend the jirga. I have sent you an email confirming my attendance.

Thank you Arshyam. I can't have enough of the LCA mk1 either. That colour scheme. Fantastic.

In person, that colour scheme gives it a smoooooth look. No wonder everyone wants that shade of grey on the AF versions. Will post pictures in a couple of days.

Gurus any new maneouvres from tejas ? Didn't find anything in that video above

suryag wrote:Gurus any new maneouvres from tejas ? Didn't find anything in that video above
From what I have seen of practice runs over HAL airport, its looks like the same routine as the one from BIAS.
siddhu

Post by siddhu »

arshyam wrote:
arshyam wrote:BTW, some confirmed news: One can indeed climb up to a Tejas cockpit. They let you sit inside when crowd is thin. KH2001 is the plane on view, iirc.

I re-checked my pics. It's KH-2011.
With ADVA pass can we go that close?

Nope

Could somebody visiting ADE's stall ask about the state of Abhyas HEAT. It is the red one in the background.

Indranil wrote:Could somebody visiting ADE's stall ask about the state of Abhyas HEAT. It is the red one in the background.

Indranil mullah,
I did ask about that but the guys manning the stall seemed to be from lower rungs of the ladder and didn't have any useful info. Will ask again today when I visit their stall but apparently it is in final phases of evaluation.

You can also post any more questions you want asked here and I'll try and get those updates.