Indian Naval Aviation

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian Naval Aviation

Philip wrote:Though when BMos- NG comes along,it may be possible as 29Ks reportedly will carry 3 and MKIs 5
How much does the B-NG weigh? One would have to know at least that bit before making this claim. The NSM weighs 399 kg. Nearly 150 kg lighter than the Harpoon.
Philip wrote:The Kongsberg option is going to have a lesser range when compared with the Harpoon, Exocet
Incorrect (the one Harpoon variant that could possibly have matched or exceeded the NSM's range would have been the Block II - ER which is not operational). I'm not aware of a helo launched Exocet variant that has a range that exceeds 200 km. Please provide specifics.

The NSM has a stated range of >100 nautical miles or >185 km officially. It can do better depending upon the profile. According to Aviation Week its range exceeds 200 km. Of course when launched from the Air, the range will be better compared to ship launches.

NSM's sister missile which is going to be Air-Launched, and weighs just about the same, and available by 2023 is going to be capable of 500+ km when air-launched in the high-high-high profile. But that weapon is networked.The NSM currently does not have a data-link and as such any performance beyond 125 or so nautical miles is not going to be worth it. There are talks about adding the L-16 data-link ported over from the JSOW and JSM and as an upgrade to existing rounds. It wouldn't be surprising if high-high profiles with a networked NSM gets double of what it is capable of doing now .That said, trying to hit a ship more than 200 km away with a missile launched from a low-med altitude helicopter is more of an ISR problem than a missile problem. In an odd chance that there are no submarines to worry about..The MH-60 R is going to be tasked with going out XX km and looking for targets. You need very very capable and precise ISR capabilities to get a very long range shot from that distance (even the current maximum range of the NSM) without having a P-8 or a UAV out there providing long range sensing.
Philip wrote: I can understand the missile being carried by a smaller helo on a corvette , but for a major surface combatant one would want a longer ranged missile which would enable the helo to attack the enemy vessel outside the range of its air defences and farther away from its mother ship ,giving it the advantage of launching its missiles first if within range.
The MH-60R is the IN's choice right now. I haven't come across any plans of producing an even larger helicopter that can carry even heavier missiles like the projected Brahmos NG et al. If you have such a design for a naval helo being considered seriously by the IN, please provide it along with projected costs and schedule.

A helicopter is going to be limited in terms of what it can carry and how far it can carry it. Doesn't matter whether that helicopter is taking off from a frigate, a destroyer or a cruiser. When you have large vessels you also have more room to carry larger missiles. You put a large and heavy missile inside vertical cells or a on topside launchers. Not on a helo.
one would want a longer ranged missile which would enable the helo to attack the enemy vessel outside the range of its air defences
The problem with helicopter launched long range anti-surface capability is getting ISR on the target. This isn't a fighter that has a large radar that can track surface targets from hundreds of kms away. Assuming that that ISR and targeting bit is taken care of, the MH-60R should have no problem launching NSM's from well outside the radar horizon of a surface combatant no matter what the size of that surface combatant is. In fact it can launch those from around 2000 meters altitude and still probably be outside the radar horizon of the vessel. Additionally, how many Pakistani and Chinese active seeker naval SAM's have ranges exceeding 200 km? against low flying targets with defensive suits?
Last edited by brar_w on 01 Apr 2020 20:47, edited 1 time in total.

Philip wrote:Though when BMos- NG comes along,it may be possible as 29Ks reportedly will carry 3 and MKIs 5.
No Mig-29k can carry only 1 NG and Su-30mki can carry 3 and this is all in paper and we need to do testing. Thereis good chance Mig-29 may not be able to carry any because of ground clearance during takeoff from ski jump.

Pl.ck.Feb.21/19,ET Manu Pubby report.
Pic of LCA carrying 2 BMos-NG underwing a with an AESA radar.The missile is considerably smaller than BMos-1 ,some 3m art least.A 29K with the large space on the centreline between the intakes would be able to carry 3,earlier reports,but you have a point about actual flight testing with mockups.

HAL's new 12t medium helo with a 3500kg payload is slated to have a naval variant too.The prototype was unveiled at Aero- India. It can accommodate upto 24 pax. It will be geared to carry heavier more capable missiles than the Kongsberg.
BMos-NG weighs only 1.5t, is just 5m long and is 50cm in dia.Meant to be fired from std. TTs too. The HAL 12t med.ASW variant will be able to carry 2 BMos- NGs.

Philip wrote:The prototype was unveiled at Aero- India.
Do you have pictures of the prototype? How far into its testing is it? By when does the IN plan to acquire it?

Brar, when looking a conventional helos I understand that they are limited to what they can do and how much. In view of the same what are your thought on some thing like the Bell V-247 Vigilant .

Theoretically speaking will it be able to overcome the shortcomings of a conventional helos?
Last edited by Pratyush on 05 Apr 2020 12:32, edited 1 time in total.

Thats a long term solution for something like a MQ-8C replacement once autonomous operations and resilient networks are advanced enough. I think in the post 2030 time-frame these solutions begin to make a lot of sense. But that is more of a aircraft than a helicopter so operators would have to be willing to pay much more (and get much higher capability in return) than what they pay for something like a MQ-8C.

However the point about a 200 km missile on a helo is still valid. A helicopter doesn't have the sensor reach, or performance to hold targets at risk beyond that (or even within the limits of those ranges). You need a very capable and survivable ISR complex. So wanting a 400 or 500 km missile won't solve anything. You have to be able to close kill chains at those ranges while deploying a helicopter from a combatant. This is probably why the USN itself hasn't fielded the NSM on the Romeo fleet yet and only has it in its plans in the long term. Once more Tritons come on board and once they begin seeing what the USAF can do (or not) in the naval sphere with its classified platforms..things may change.

brar_w wrote:
Philip wrote:The prototype was unveiled at Aero- India.
Do you have pictures of the prototype? How far into its testing is it? By when does the IN plan to acquire it?
I think he is talking about the IMRH/MLH. The mockup -- not prototype -- was revealed some time ago:

If there were a 12-ton prototype helo flying around and BR doesn't know then we're not worth our salt as an Indian mil forum.

This is a 2017 pic,Aero- India,I was there.After the success of the LUH, HAL is going full throttle to deliver the 12 t med. helo as it will be the ideal replacement for the huge numbers of Ru MI-17Vs ( I don't know if we still operate earlier MI-8s which should'vve been retiring by now) the older birds which will require replacements from this decade onwards. A naval variant would be ideal for our carriers and largest size DDGs and their follow on types.
Open source info says that we had 128 MI-8s,150+ MI-17Vs delivered plus another approx. 50 to be further acquired. That's a huge number.with great scope for the HAL helo as a replacement. The IN alone will require around 36+ naval variants for their fleet.

Phillip, kindly share pictures of the prototype from the show. Thanks in advance. Also share its dimensions and how it will be accommodated in the various combatants in service with the IN (whether mods will be required etc etc). And timelines and testing status.

Philip wrote:HAL's new 12t medium helo with a 3500kg payload is slated to have a naval variant too.The prototype was unveiled at Aero- India. It can accommodate upto 24 pax. It will be geared to carry heavier more capable missiles than the Kongsberg.
BMos-NG weighs only 1.5t, is just 5m long and is 50cm in dia.Meant to be fired from std. TTs too. The HAL 12t med.ASW variant will be able to carry 2 BMos- NGs.
No Air launched Brahmos NG is not designed for helo launch If it is like air launched Brahmos. It has a booster but significantly smaller and requires the launch aircraft to be flying at high speed and at high altitude.

Unless you plan to attach some rockets to the helo it is not possible. People please stop sticking Brahmos on every damn thing :rotfl:

Drag & Drop images into new window....

https://twitter.com/DefenceDecode/statu ... 07750?s=20 ---> Infographic: The Indian Navy's P8-I, Multimission Maritime Aircraft.

https://twitter.com/DefenceDecode/statu ... 21348?s=20 ---> Internal Weapon Bay. [This is a US Navy P-8A Poseidon].

https://twitter.com/livefist/status/123 ... 88352?s=20 ----> Via @AeroImagesChris, the first of four new Boeing P-8Is for the Indian Navy. The 'DAB' tails will be stationed in at INS Hansa at Dabolim, Goa.

^^^ Great posts, Admiral!

Wow, the illustrations of the P-8's systems are fantastic and the IN P-8I photos are simply beautiful. Love this plane!

Please remember that I'm speaking about BMos- NG.Much smaller and lighter,which our 29Ks,etc. will carry.Even Tejas has been tasked to carry the same.

BRF ahead of the curve.For many years I'vr advocated that the IN possess a true maritime strike bomber like the Backfire to meet the Chinese challenge.A piece in the latest USNI Proceedings calls for the same " patrol bombers" ,where USN P-8Is and B-1s in combo do the biz with newer LR ASCMs being developed.
I have consistently been saying that subsonic current/ legacy missiles like Exocet,Harpoon and even the new Kongsberg ASM will not have the range and speed of current supersonic missiles like BMos/ Yakhont/ Klub and will be more vulnerable to the newer cutting edge layered anti-missile,BPDMS and EW defences.
Future hpersonic missiles like Tsirkon,BMos- H,etc.When carried by maritime strike bombets with their own range of at least 1500-2000 km+ ,will make it a very scary existence for surface warships especially larger vessels like CVs.It's why the IN should possess a strong and large sub fleet,less vulnerable.

Philip wrote:Please remember that I'm speaking about BMos- NG.Much smaller and lighter,which our 29Ks,etc.
And again, please provide exact specifics, dimensions and weight and what platforms will carry it and how that compares to current helo carried AShM's. Also, as far as my understanding there is the Brahmos (current missile), Brahmos NG and the Brahmos 2. The NG is a small form factor Brahmos and not a hypersonic weapon. The Brahmos 2 will be a hypersonic weapon. Again, since you claim knowledge on loadouts and cross platfrom applications please share dimensions and other data on both the Brahmos NG and the hypersonic Brahmos 2. And same for the possible load outs of Brahmos 2.

Also, still waiting for more information on the "prototype" large naval helicopter which you claimed existed and of course more details on the 200+ km Harpoon and Exocet variants that are helo compatible.

Philip wrote:Please remember that I'm speaking about BMos- NG.Much smaller and lighter,which our 29Ks,etc. will carry.Even Tejas has been tasked to carry the same.
We already discussed this, there is not much public information available on NG and more than likely Mig or LCA cannot take off from ski jump with NG. So please stop bringing it up till we have actual factual information and missile actually moves into testing.

Coming back to the maritime strike bomber issue, in the Syrian conflict,after a series of ISIS attacks against the west,Paris,etc., Russia on Nov.19/20th.2015 launched a strike of 32 KH-102/2 LRCMs at targets in Syria,using Blackjack and Bears. Bears flew 7000km from their Ru base over Iraqi and Iranian airspace for the same.
The KH-101/2 has been in service since 2012,is 7.5+ m long,a 450kg warhead and range of 2-2.5K KM.
You can imagine IN maritime strike bombers carrying similar missiles and the enormous capability it would give us in deterring the PLAN well outside the IOR.
Last edited by Philip on 13 Apr 2020 12:40, edited 1 time in total.
basant

Post by basant »

John wrote:
Philip wrote:Please remember that I'm speaking about BMos- NG.Much smaller and lighter,which our 29Ks,etc. will carry.Even Tejas has been tasked to carry the same.
We already discussed this, there is not much public information available on NG and more than likely Mig or LCA cannot take off from ski jump with NG. So please stop bringing it up till we have actual factual information and missile actually moves into testing.
John wrote:
From Feb 2019:
“We have done system studies and performance models. We have also found what modifications need to be done to LCA wing to carry the Brahmos as well as some changes to the missile. Both these studies are done and the feasibility study shows that the missile can travel over a range of 300 km,” Sudhir Mishra, CEO & MD of Brahmos told ET. See source.

Dr Pathak confirm that Brahmos-NG both Mig-29 and Tejas can carry 2 each and NG speed will be M 3.5

Great recent Interview https://www.defenceiq.com/air-forces-mi ... se-missile
This is part of independent research by the company to explore if a missile with smaller size can be as effective. Then there is – or will come – BrahMos NG , the latest development that will be launched from submarine torpedo-tubes, and the NG-A, launching also from the Su-30MKI as well as from the LCA Tejas and MiG-29s. A big difference is that, on the Sukhoi, up to five BrahMos-NG missiles could be carried, with two missiles on each wing and one under the fuselage. The MiG-29 and the LCA would carry two. The digitized NG means it comes with a digital fuel injection system that will increase thrust, unlike the current versions that have a mechanical fuel injection system. It also will be even faster, up to Mach 3.5.

P. Pathak: Yes. BrahMos-NG will have same 290 km range, but it will weigh around 1.5 tons and be 5 meters in length and 50 cm in diameter, making it 50% lighter and three meters shorter than its predecessor. However, having a smaller radar cross-section makes it super fast and harder to detect by anti-missile systems.
Last edited by Austin on 13 Apr 2020 13:06, edited 2 times in total.

PS.Given earlier,first NG variant ( as one report hints at "variants"of NG ) will be not more than 5M,1500kg and 50cm,to fit std.sub tubes. It has a warhead of 350kg and will have the same range as BMos-1.Probably upto 300km,not the ER versions estimayed to have a range of 500 to 800km. The BMos AAM "AWACS killer", came out of nowhere, a haymaker or "out of left field" as said inthe US. I remember a few years ago much merriment when someone stated the same. It shows that we have several things up our sleeve!

Tx.Austin for the same.I can't undestand the scepticism about BMos and its future avatars and platforms designated for them in the light of so much available open source info.

Philip wrote: Tx.Austin for the same.I can't undestand the scepticism about BMos and its future avatars and platforms designated for them in the light of so much available open source info.
Please do not confuse others pointing out your inaccuracies and disregard for factual information as skepticism about the existence of a weapons program. No one here ever showed any skepticism about Brahmos NG. Just a page back you were claiming all sorts of things about weapon ranges, and even claiming that two Brahmos NG missiles will be carried by a naval helicopter and that a prototype of the said helicopter was revealed recently. And that the MiG-29K would carry three Brhamos NG missiles. Now, are you still saying that there exists a prototype helicopter which will be adopted by the IN, and which will launch a pair of 3,300 lb Anti-Ship missiles?
Last edited by brar_w on 13 Apr 2020 13:56, edited 1 time in total.

Philip wrote:PS.Given earlier,first NG variant ( as one report hints at "variants"of NG ) will be not more than 5M,1500kg and 50cm,to fit std.sub tubes. It has a warhead of 350kg and will have the same range as BMos-1.Probably upto 300km,not the ER versions estimayed to have a range of 500 to 800km. The BMos AAM "AWACS killer", came out of nowhere, a haymaker or "out of left field" as said inthe US. I remember a few years ago much merriment when someone stated the same. It shows that we have several things up our sleeve!

Tx.Austin for the same.I can't undestand the scepticism about BMos and its future avatars and platforms designated for them in the light of so much available open source info.
regarding estimated ranges: India will not disclose true figures nor will she now be hobbled some arbitrary "treaties" faced as she is by two venomous and duplicitous scofflaw neighbors.

this is what pisses off the hans so very much because "Agni" wise they well know that they are being paid back in the selfsame coin and the same will hold true for the brahmos too.

I can't undestand the scepticism about BMos
Which brings to front how much can engines that are latest and best are really going to affect 'roosi' rockets as it is called. Perhaps better to know it earlier :idea:

Austin wrote:Dr Pathak confirm that Brahmos-NG both Mig-29 and Tejas can carry 2 each and NG speed will be M 3.5
Great recent Interview https://www.defenceiq.com/air-forces-mi ... se-missile]
Good to see @Austin back on the forum! :)

Austin wrote:Dr Pathak confirm that Brahmos-NG both Mig-29 and Tejas can carry 2 each and NG speed will be M 3.5
Yes I agree but it doesn't discuss this configuration for takeoff from ski jump (especially with plans for 3rd carrier with cats look unlikely). I doubt Navy would drop $$ for Air launched NG if it cannot support that.

Plus let's not get a head of ourselves let's wait for this thing to move into testing It is still well over decade away from induction. Previous claims about Flankers being able to carry 3 Brahmos-A and also Mig-29 being capable to carry of them turned out to be false.

These are for the P-8Is...

India – MK 54 Lightweight Torpedoes
https://dsca.mil/major-arms-sales/india ... orpedoes-0
13 April 2020

India – AGM-84L Harpoon Air-Launched Block II Missiles
https://dsca.mil/major-arms-sales/india ... i-missiles
13 April 2020

https://twitter.com/ThingNavy/status/12 ... 03168?s=20 ---> Indian Navy MH-60R Seahawk will be armed with the AGM-114 Hellfire missile. The Hellfire is now a tri-service missile ---> Army Apache, Air Force Apache.

https://twitter.com/ThingNavy/status/12 ... 98688?s=20 ---> Australian Commander Joint Task Force 661, Air Commodore Richard Owen on board an Indian Navy P-8I in AUSINDEX.

Hellfire on the Seahawks ( good to see that old familiar name in the IN's aviation asset list again,remember the Vikrant's Seahawks in '71?) are fine only against small craft.Something heavier is reqd.,at least the Harpoon/ Exocet ASM whichever is superior.
Once we acquire 12t+ helos,other options open up.

Rakesh wrote:These are for the P-8Is...

India – MK 54 Lightweight Torpedoes
https://dsca.mil/major-arms-sales/india ... orpedoes-0
13 April 2020

India – AGM-84L Harpoon Air-Launched Block II Missiles
https://dsca.mil/major-arms-sales/india ... i-missiles
13 April 2020
does not bode well for varunastra and nirbhay..

Varunastra is a heavy-weight torpedo and it does not have an air-dropped variant. ASW torpedoes dropped by P-8Is have to use a special wing-kit as they are inefficient operating at lower altitudes, poorer in the " low and slow" missions where turboprop ASW aircraft like IL-38s and Orions are preferred.
dinesh_kimar

Post by dinesh_kimar »

ArjunPandit wrote: does not bode well for varunastra and nirbhay..
IN ordered 4 new P-8Is recently, this deal looks like armaments to equip these aircraft. The Varunastra heavy torpedo cannot be launched from air platform,AFAIK.

I believe the lightweight TAL torpedo is capable of heli launch from certain angle / heights, and is good starting point to develop into MK-54 class system.

Nirbhay cruise missile is heavier class than harpoon, and still under development trials for a ground launched version. If IN wants an Air launched CM, maybe an appropriate version of Brahmos is a better idea.

Thanks for the clarification dineshji and phillip ji, again my point being couldnt we have developed desi solutions ..that ways we will always keep on importing

Its a total of 10 Harpoons and some Mk light weight Torpedos for P8I's, no way it should really affect Nirbhay and Varunastra Heavyweight torpedo or even the Shyena program me.

This seems more like media management of Trumps threat vs deal for weapons.

Philip wrote:Hellfire on the Seahawks ( good to see that old familiar name in the IN's aviation asset list again,remember the Vikrant's Seahawks in '71?) are fine only against small craft.Something heavier is reqd.,at least the Harpoon/ Exocet ASM whichever is superior.
Once we acquire 12t+ helos,other options open up.
Hellfire/JAGM and APKWS are probably the most useful Anti Surface warfare weapons on the MH-60R's, particularly in the littorals. The IN requested the Naval Strike Missile, as part of its FMS request for the MH-60R. It is more capable than both the Harpoon and the Exocet for the said mission.
ArjunPandit wrote: does not bode well for varunastra and nirbhay..
How does the armament procured for the P-8I adversely impact the Nirbhay?
Philip wrote: poorer in the " low and slow" missions where turboprop ASW aircraft like IL-38s and Orions are preferred.
There is no "low and slow missions". Maybe such a mission exists for air-shows but in the real world there are very specific missions that such a platform must accomplish. Two of them are the Anti-Submarine warfare, and Anti-Surface warfare missions. The P-8 is capable of high altitude ASW (HAAWC and other effects) unlike some of the older aircraft that it is replacing (or their analogs). This is actually advantageous as it means that the P-8 can retain most, if not all, of the capability of the platform (sensors, networking, loiter etc) which it would have lost if it were forced to go low because that was the only way it could prosecute the target. This is one major ADVANTAGE of the platform and one of the reasons it has been so popular with navies around the world.

But here's a video of a couple of P-8's flying at low altitudes for the Photo Op "mission".

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RsRDyRcACGo
Last edited by brar_w on 14 Apr 2020 18:52, edited 5 times in total.

brar_w wrote:
ArjunPandit wrote:does not bode well for varunastra and nirbhay..
How does the armament procured for the P-8I adversely impact the Nirbhay?
He is under the assumption that this meagre order of torpedoes are going to affect the Varunastra program. It is not. This is for the additional P-8Is I believe (as I mentioned in the first post) or perhaps to stock up the inventory of P-8I weaponry they have now. This is normal and is no threat.

I do not know where he is getting Nirbhay from. That is a subsonic cruise missile and I believe the program has been scrapped. Somebody correct me if I am wrong about the program being scrapped.

pardon the ignorance sirs..and thanks for the confirmation ..
i was thinking that Nirbhay could do anti ship role as well..it just slipped out of my mind that nirbhay is being scrapped..i do remember now ..but no official confirmation..

Boeing has now re-started its P-8 production after nearly a 3 week break. Many of its military suppliers may be on different timelines though military production is deemed an essential and as such there haven't been blanked stop-work orders issued so there is high variability across the defense side supply chain.
i was thinking that Nirbhay could do anti ship role as well.
Even if were still alive, and could do the mission, the Harpoon acquisition wouldn't threaten it in any way. The Harpoon is the only Anti Ship weapon currently integrated on the P-8. The IN is not a program member. Others like the USN and the Norwegians are ahead in terms of future weapon integration (JSM and LRASM) so when the IN needs to up its inventory of P-8 specific munitions on account of new aircraft coming online, then it has only one option.

Can we hypothetically integrate our missiles and torpedoes on P8I (as and when we have suitable air launched versions available) ?