Re: Tejas Mk.1 & Mk.1A News & Discussions: 09 February 2018

Katare, Always context...
AS is Ajai Shukla

Philip who was the author of that Vayu article?
Could be just hot air.

RKumar, it doesn't help to have bias color our views for we wont see the facts.
ADA must be burning mid night oil to release the dwgs through approval cycle.

Whoever told Vayu is covering tracks in case of delays.

tsarkar wrote:If FOC is happening second half of 2018, with structural changes from IOC like IFR plumbing, it is but natural production drawings will require time to be made. Pray, how come it becomes anyone's fault, whether ADA, HAL or IAF?

Can a 15 year old child overnight take up a corporate job?

Can members show some basic common sense before blaming ADA, HAL or IAF?
I think the single seater version is on quite smooth ride and even starting FOC batch is not a problem without SOP freeze. Majority of the designed would be same, as Thakur_B pointed out (likely out of 4000-5000 drawings, only a few 00 would be changing from IOC to FOC). In fact the production of structural components for FOC batch must have already started some time back. HAL is not really complaining about FOC SOP either. Some reports even say that the FOC batch will be directly Mk1A standard rather than MK1/FOC. We will know about it soon enough.

The case of 4 trainers included in the first batch of 20 looks somewhat critical though from delivery perspective. The Trainers will remain at IOC standard and will not be of FOC standard. The problem, it seems, is that the SOP for those trainers is not frozen as well. This is not the first time for this thing to show up on this thread. A few months ago HAL Chairman said in an interview, which was posted here, that SOP for the trainers is not frozen, from IAF's side (as per the article, he said so, I am not saying). My guestimate is there might be something which IAF wants included and its not finalized yet from ADA's side, which is stopping finalization of SOP. Not to blame anyone, but just to put things as it seems they are. Now there may be a legitimate reason why ADA and IAF held SOP. We don't know the details, but this definitely puts HAL in fix when the deliveries are expected to be done in coming year. There is really no time left from their standpoint. Majority of the structural components must be already manufactured (it takes about ~3yrs for entire aircraft to be made from scratch) and the subassemblies of those aircrafts must be in jigs currently, if HAL has already went ahead with production expecting finalization of SOP and that the changes be limited only to equipping/final integration stage which should be starting a few months from now, if the planes are to be delivered on time as per plan. If the SOP is stopping HAL anywhere in the subassemblies we can expect delays in deliveries of those trainers.

As long as IAF is OK with the situation, and that FOC batch can be started without keeping assembly line idle, some delay should be OK. Sq45 have done a great job with one Trainer leased to them. Looks like it takes very few flights for type conversion for LCA as such due to ease of flying and extensive simulator support. The full fledged Tejas simulator is also be handed over to IAF soon enough as per FB admin. IMO Trainers can be delayed without much impact.

We should keep in mind that ADA/HAL/IAF/MoD seat together in the LCA governing body meeting which happens like every month or so and thus all of them are very well aware of all the situation. Lets keep some faith in them and let the situation pan out on its own rather than blame this org or that based on half baked info.

ramana wrote:Katare, Always context...
AS is Ajai Shukla
Shuk-law ji is not Photo Journalist. :wink:

Hate to upset people but could be a petty power play in finalizing the Trainer drawings.
Some one in the chain must have found a lapse and is holding up the show instead of working to get it fixed.
Have seen it world over.
And HAL Raju should have tried to find out why its being delayed along with airing it to press.
KBDagha

Post by KBDagha »

AS is Ajai Shukla

I think it is AXXXX Singh.

ndtv

NEW DELHI: The Indian Air Force or IAF tested its capability in dealing with a possible scenario of nuclear and biological warfare during a 13-day-long mega military exercise whose aim was to sharpen its war waging capability in the wake of fast evolving regional security situation.

Official sources said the focus of the Gagan Shakti exercise from April 8 to 20 was to check the viability of IAF's operational plans to deal with any kind of challenge including nuclear warfare and a possible situation of a two-front war with China and Pakistan.

A major focus of the exercise was to check combat capability of the indigenously developed Light Combat Aircraft or LCA Tejas and their performance was satisfactory, IAF sources said.

They said eight Tejas were deployed during the exercise and some of these had reported minor technical issues, adding each of the six Tejas had flown six sorties daily like any other platforms including Sukhoi, Mirage 2000 and MiG 29 jets.

The sources said aim of the exercise was to test IAF's combat readiness in a real time scenario, adding it had never carried out an exercise of this scale earlier.

A key focus of the exercise was to check IAF's readiness to deal with a biological, chemical and nuclear war and we were satisfied with our capability to deal with such situations, they said.

They also said all types of aerial weapons, including standoff and precision weapons were deployed to validate their use in the air operations matrix.

As part of the massive drill, the IAF deployed its entire assets for the pan-India exercise with fighter jets, equipped with strategic weapons like Brahmos and Harpoon anti ship missiles, carrying out deep penetration strikes to revalidate its strategic reach.

During the exercise, the sources said over 11,000 sorties were flown which included nearly 9,000 sorties by fighter aircraft.

The combat drill was carried out at a time when China was increasing its assertiveness along the borders with India and while Pakistan has been continuing its skirmishes along the Line of Control in Jammu and Kashmir.

The exercise covered all terrains including desert, high altitude areas like Ladakh and maritime sphere.

During combat drills near Sino-India border, the IAF significantly focused on inter valley transfer of troops considering various possible situations of conflict and taking a lesson from the Doklam standoff.

Ensuring serviceability of fighter aircraft and various missile systems were a priority area and the IAF succeeded in its endeavour, officials said.

The serviceability of surface-to-air missiles were around 97 per cent while serviceability of fighter jets were close to 80 per cent, they said.

Serviceability refers to availability of an aircraft or a weapon system for deployment. The IAF has been struggling to maintain high serviceability levels of its platforms due to difficulty in getting required spares.

Similarly, the IAF could ensure high levels of dispatch reliability which refers to ability to make the serviceable flying platforms airborne as and when required, the officials said

Philip wrote:I am only quoting Vayu which said that there would be extra "delays" for the next batch of 20 becos the 4 twin-seat trainers haven't had their production drgs. finalised. Gents,you can spin it whichever way you want,but the word that hits you in the stomach time and time again with desi production is "delays",and this for a programme that everyone knows is more than a decade late (APJAK promised us in 2003,"200 LCAs flying by 2013"}

And just to remind folks,the 6th sqd. of JF-17s has been formed in Pak and deliveries of the same will be made to Burma.Malaysia is also contemplating acquiring the same as a low-cost addition to its fleet.
other than importing some refurbished Mig29 or the redoubtable Mig35 do you have any other proposed solution to delays ? :rotfl:

ramana wrote:Philip who was the author of that Vayu article?
Could be just hot air.

RKumar, it doesn't help to have bias color our views for we wont see the facts.
ADA must be burning mid night oil to release the dwgs through approval cycle.

Whoever told Vayu is covering tracks in case of delays.
Vayu is correct. this fact was lamented by none other than HAL Chairman T Suvarna Raju. HAL was requesting IAF to permit them to begin metal cutting on the long lead items for the next 20 batch. Fromthis article dating to Nov 2017. HAL actually delivered 9 Tejas Mk1 IOC standard fighters to the IAF by the end of March 2018, so they have another 7 fighters and 4 to deliver from the first batch.
Now question comes, how much order I have. I have 20 IOC, of which I will provide 11 to IAF by the end of this financial year, and that would leave me with 4 fighters and 4 trainers, and trainers’ SOP we hope can be concluded so that the production run can be there.

As far as the FOC order is concerned, mid-2018 is when FOC is expected to come but we are asking the customer (IAF) to allow us to cut the material. Because if we start now, the aircraft will come after three years. By then, this AON of 83 LCA will be converted into a contract between the IAF and HAL. However, today the facilities are on and the rate at which jigs are created are available, and the purchase orders can be verified and checked.

What is the delay in getting the FOC now?

The aircraft are flying and the operational capacity enhancement requires a thorough verification. It is a developmental work and we are planning to fly 60 sorties a month. Now between IAF, ADA and HAL, we are ensuring that these many sorties happen.

While the promises are for getting the FOC by mid-2018, we will definitely get it by December 2018. We should then be able to supply these 20 FOC by 2022. And then on to the next 83… If capacities are put on depending on the configuration clearance, the numbers can be rolled out. This is not like an automobile that today you give me a number and automatically I will give you the aircraft immediately. There is a lag, we require all the material to be procured and we need to make 10,000 odd components and put them together, and some components need to be bought from outside.
But getting production drawings ready should not be that big a task if the design is frozen. Bigger issue would have been software for FOC not being ready. That is not the case, so any delays if at all, should be minimal.

maybe some one can find out from IAF as to what is the delay in SOP for trainers?

FOC is ram jaane.

KBDagha wrote:
AS is Ajai Shukla

I think it is AXXXX Singh.
What about Avroor Shivy? he is also AS or SA and a big gripen lobbyist. I am confused, which one is it?
prat.patel

Post by prat.patel »

Any word/news on SP-10?
ajay_hk

Post by ajay_hk »

Indian-made Tejas proves its mettle in IAF's biggest combat exercise

Posting relevant quotes only - the article has a lot more detail on the exercise (will xpost on IAF thread as well).
Tejas LCA undertook 6 sorties a day. Each mission, lasting for 45 minutes on the lower side to one and half hours, proved the indigenous fighter jet's efficiency in an operational role.
There were technical snags, but none were repetitive in nature. “These were routine glitches. The turnaround time was less than six hours during the exercise. It can't be said these are nagging problems. LCA is a capable aircraft for ground attack,” said an officer.

Are all the tejas with iaf now fitted with el2032 radar , derby and r73 ?

AS is Ajai Shukla
Didn’t you see the emoji! It was my lame attempt at humor

symontk wrote:One question

Wont OBOGS be a liability in case airbases are attacked with WMD? Or are there filters for that?
why would it be a liability?
I know I didnt phrase the question correctly. If OBOGS is compromised then pilot can use other equipments to ward of WMD's and start the aircraft and then use OBOGS once he is up in the sky.

Yes if the airbase is attacked this way other support parameters will not be available, but there can be chance that pilots can take off on their own
saumitra_j

Post by saumitra_j »

AS is Ajai Shukla
I suspect in this case it is A***d Singh
GopiD

Post by GopiD »

http://idrw.org/LCA-Tejas-has-capabilit ... -jets-iaf/
“We have done trials and validation of operational efficiency of LCA Tejas. We were able to generate six sorties per platform per day. In this exercise, we had deployed eight platforms,” said an IAF official who was associated with this exercise.
Satisfied by its performance, the sources said, “We are happy with the Tejass. We are looking for fast production and also induction into the force.
SIX SORTIES PER DAY/PLATFORM for LCA and some import sepoys were saying for every one hour of flying, Tejas needs 20 hours of maintenance. Seriously? these guys can cookup anything in the name of journalism and unnamed sources. Guess, it was a list ditch attempt to cull Tejas and has backfired big time. This should rest any doubts about IAF's support for the platform.
Kersi

Post by Kersi »

ajay_hk wrote:Indian-made Tejas proves its mettle in IAF's biggest combat exercise
Tejas LCA undertook 6 sorties a day....... .
There were technical snags ...... turnaround time was less than six hours during the exercise.
Just some nit picking
IAF Tejas undertook 6 sorties a day the turnaround time was 6 hours. So one day has 36 hours ???
Something not matching
pravula

Post by pravula »

Kersi wrote:
Just some nit picking
IAF Tejas undertook 6 sorties a day the turnaround time was 6 hours. So one day has 36 hours ???
Something not matching
Six hours for fixing the glitches.

Kersi wrote:
Just some nit picking
Something not matching
i suppose thats the average for all the Tejas fighters that took part .. to do 6 it should be 4 but some of those were held up for repairs so increasing the mean time

GopiD wrote:http://idrw.org/LCA-Tejas-has-capabilit ... -jets-iaf/
“We have done trials and validation of operational efficiency of LCA Tejas. We were able to generate six sorties per platform per day. In this exercise, we had deployed eight platforms,” said an IAF official who was associated with this exercise.
Satisfied by its performance, the sources said, “We are happy with the Tejass. We are looking for fast production and also induction into the force.
SIX SORTIES PER DAY/PLATFORM for LCA and some import sepoys were saying for every one hour of flying, Tejas needs 20 hours of maintenance. Seriously? these guys can cookup anything in the name of journalism and unnamed sources. Guess, it was a list ditch attempt to cull Tejas and has backfired big time. This should rest any doubts about IAF's support for the platform.
FWIW, this report is also quoting unnamed IAF officer. What makes this one anymore credible than the unnamed sources deriding LCA..? Just saying.

Every other report gives a different figure for number of sorties in Ex GS. Is there any official word from IAF on this..? I have seen 10000, 11000 and 5000 sorties so far from various sources.

ajay_hk wrote:Indian-made Tejas proves its mettle in IAF's biggest combat exercise

Posting relevant quotes only - the article has a lot more detail on the exercise (will xpost on IAF thread as well).
Tejas LCA undertook 6 sorties a day. Each mission, lasting for 45 minutes on the lower side to one and half hours, proved the indigenous fighter jet's efficiency in an operational role.
There were technical snags, but none were repetitive in nature. “These were routine glitches. The turnaround time was less than six hours during the exercise. It can't be said these are nagging problems. LCA is a capable aircraft for ground attack,” said an officer.
If its 6 sorties per day per LCA with 45-90min per sortie, its world beating performance by any standards.

I suppose the 6hr turnaround time was for glitches to be removed and making the aircraft available for combat sortie. Actual turnaround time between consecutive sorties would be in minutes. Since Tejas is a true multirole fighter, it does not need time to configure for various roles on the ground. Just attach the weapons, top up the fuel tank and off goes the bird. But obviously it could be sustained typically only for 2-3 sorties at a time due to both machine and Human limitations. Then few hours of rest and then back in air again.

Article says 1100 aircrafts of all sorts undertook 11000 sorties in two days. That's 5.5 sorties per aircraft per day on an avg. No wonder even Chinese media was praising IAF. I saw on Twitter, someone pointed out, some Chini article saying Only USAF and IAF can produce such high sortie rate currently.
Haridas

Post by Haridas »

https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/ne ... 905916.cms
A senior IAF official dealing with Gagan Shakti, which was conducted between April 8 and 22, explained that fighter aircraft, including the Tejas, Sukhoi-30 and MiG-29, undertook ‘surge operations’. These operations mean generating maximum number of sorties in a 24-hours cycle. “We have carried out our trials and we will be able to generate six sorties per Tejas per day for all the eight Tejas,” said the official, adding that these number of sorties were conducted on every Tejas during the exercise. The six sorties per day for the fighters was done on days when it didn’t have missions such as long distance.

The Tejas was used during the exercise to check its efficiency in operations such as ground attack and other strike missions. “We are happy with the performance of the Tejas and are looking forward to the faster production of them,” said another senior official
Trikaal

Post by Trikaal »

Turnaround time isn't a fixed number for aircrafts. It varies depending on flight time, role change, number of sorties conducted, etc. Often the turnaround time is just the time needed to refuel and attach weapons in weapons bay. My guess is Tejas flew two quick sorties with turnaround time of roughly 15 min in between before a longer turnaround was required possibly around 5-6 hours. This fits the calculations as 18 hours of major turnaround(6 hrs once every 2 sorties) and six hours of flying for the sorties.
thammu

Post by thammu »

Tejas proves its mettle in biggest Indian war exercise Gagan Shakti 2018 http://www.business-standard.com/articl ... 089_1.html
The indigenously-manufactured Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) Tejas has performed well while it was put to trial by the Indian Air Force (IAF) in war-like operational conditions during Gagan Shakti, its biggest ever 14-day war exercise.

"We did trials and validation of operational efficiency of LCA Tejas. We were able to generate six sorties per platform per day. In this exercise, we had deployed eight platforms," said an IAF official who was associated with this exercise.

The exercise started on April 8 and concluded on April 21. On the first day, six of Tejas jets reported "snag" which were of a different kind. "But we were able to get those rectified soon," said the official.

The officials associated with the exercise expressed satisfaction regarding the performance but were also worried about the slow production rate.

"We are happy with the Tejas. We are looking for fast production and also induction into the force," they said.

The Tejas LCA is a supersonic, single-seat, single-engine multirole light fighter jet that has been under development since 1983 by state-owned Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL).

The ninth IAF Tejas LCA completed its maiden flight in March. On July 1, 2016, the LCA Tejas was inducted into the 'Flying Daggers' 45 Squadron of the IAF and has been placed to replace the MiG-21 aircraft.

Article says 1100 aircrafts of all sorts undertook 11000 sorties in two days. That's 5.5 sorties per aircraft per day on an avg. No wonder even Chinese media was praising IAF. I saw on Twitter, someone pointed out, some Chini article saying Only USAF and IAF can produce such high sortie rate currently.
OK, 11000 total sortie with 9000 fighter sorties is correct number. MoD statement through PIB is posted in IAF thread.

But this seems to be the number for full Ex GS covering Ph1 and Ph2. The asset relocation between the two Phases itself must have too few hundred sorties by transporters.

(8 aircraft) x (6 sorties per day) x (3 days Phase I) = 144 sorties

Then there was Phase II and beyond!

Fantastic going!

IAF pushes for faster production of Tejas after Gagan Shakti-2018
https://m.economictimes.com/news/defenc ... 905916.cms

The Indian Air Force’s pan-India exercise Gagan Shakti-2018, for practising war-time drills witnessed the IAF pushing the limits of its every fighter aircraft, including the Tejas, which entailed conducting six sorties per day on all of them, totalling to about 9,000 sorties. For the Tejas, this is a good development as the IAF usually sticks to around three sorties per day on every Tejas. However, the Tejas was not without problems and had developed snags during the exercise, top IAF officials said on Tuesday. Nevertheless, the IAF has expressed happiness with the performance of the Tejas Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) and is looking towards faster production of them, explained the officials. This is significant as according to the reports, IAF has been critical of the operational capability of the Tejas, which also has several significant shortfalls.

A senior IAF official dealing with Gagan Shakti, which was conducted between April 8 and 22, explained that fighter aircraft, including the Tejas, Sukhoi-30 and MiG-29, undertook ‘surge operations’. These operations mean generating maximum number of sorties in a 24-hours cycle. “We have carried out our trials and we will be able to generate six sorties per Tejas per day for all the eight Tejas,” said the official, adding that these number of sorties were conducted on every Tejas during the exercise. The six sorties per day for the fighters was done on days when it didn’t have missions such as long distance. The Tejas was used during the exercise to check its efficiency in operations such as ground attack and other strike missions. “We are happy with the performance of the Tejas and are looking forward to the faster production of them,” said another senior official.

The Tejas, however, also faced different types of snags during the exercise. “These were routine snags. But we were able to recover from the snags we encountered. They didn’t affect the operation of the Tejas,” said an officia,l adding that the snags were not a nagging problem. The exercise was a major employment of the Tejas by the IAF, which conducted more than 11,000 sorties on over 1100 aircraft, including combat, transport and helicopters. Out of this, 9,000 sorties were conducted by fighter aircraft. “This was a peacetime exercise and we generated large number of sorties. During war, we will generate higher number of sorties than what we did during the exercise,” said an official.

This is the state despite the IAF having only 31 fighter squadrons when it needs 42 to tackle the collusive threat of Pakistan and China. It conducted offensive and defensive operations along both the western and eastern fronts. “We tried to maximise what we can do with our current capability,” said an official, adding that with more number of fighters the IAF’s capabilities will rise. The IAF, earlier this month, had issued a Request for Information, stating its intent to procure 110 new fighters. Officials added that the high serviceability (80%) of the aircraft was possible during the exercise due to a dedicated maintenance team. “The Air Headquarters was also monitoring the situation and we had people checking from where spares can be made available. So we ensured that the aircraft serviceability didn’t go down,” explained an official. “The logistics stamina of the IAF and the ability to sustain continuous operations through day and night was put through a rigorous assessment,” said another official.

i believe the Mig21 was also designed to be use without serious downtime in rugged conditions over a 2 week WW3 scene but would need some overhaul thereafter.

Weren't all soviet fighters designed in that way? As one Israeli pilot described "fuel and go, fuel and go".

tejas has also tested the hot refuel thing a while ago.

Never seen a Tejas photographed in this angle and it looks great

Karthik S wrote:Weren't all soviet fighters designed in that way? As one Israeli pilot described "fuel and go, fuel and go".
But the airframe and engines would exhaust their Type Technical Life thereafter. The Navy OSA boats used to bomb Karachi exhausted their hull and engine TTL and had to be discarded thereafter. The missile launchers and radars were used to equip the old INS Talwar. Pakistani F-6 too exhausted TTL in 1971 war and Kamra was established as a rebuild factory.

JTull wrote:(8 aircraft) x (6 sorties per day) x (3 days Phase I) = 144 sorties

Then there was Phase II and beyond!

Fantastic going!
Do we know Phase I was 3 days i.e 72 hours?

6 sorties per day! From all available aircrafts! From a new type of aircraft!

Kudos IAF! Kudos HAL! Kudos ADA!

I feel the air in my lungi! Wah! Wah! Wah!
prasannasimha

Post by prasannasimha »

All 8 Tejas were involved.

Some where Rona Dhonaing that 6/4 were involved.
Lot of unnecessary spin it seems to denigrate Tejas.

45 replies 1,032 retweets 1,349 likes
Reply 45 Retweet 1.0K Like 1.3K Direct message

Saurav Jha

@SJha1618
4h4 hours ago
More
Any more doubts about the fact that the Tejas detachment delivered 100 percent serviceability during Gagnshakti?

"We have carried out our trials and we will be able to generate six sorties per Tejas per day for all the eight Tejas," said the official.

nvishal, your post has been moved to the Whines thread where it belongs. Any further posts about AL-31 engines for the Tejas will be deleted and posters warned. Mods have already mentioned this before. Consider yourself lucky not to get a warning this time. If you want to design your own Tejas with whatever engine you want we have the "Design your own Fighter" thread for that purpose.

Aditya_V, I moved your response to nvishal to the Whines thread too.

LCA Tejas now capable to engage hostile Fighter Jets : IAF
http://www.defencenews.in/article.aspx?id=547828

We should use actual article source in BRF and not IDRW.