BRF Information Warfare & Social Media Cell

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

BRF Information Warfare & Social Media Cell

Gentlemen,

This used to be part of GDF until it was locked.

Now there's no burqa forum to conceal it in (though I appeal to the Moderators to open a registered-members-only forum just for this one thread given the exigencies of current circumstances).

Pakis and their allies within Indian institutions & political parties are waging an all-out information war on us, even as we're looking at a developing military conflict with Pakistan. They're doing this through highly organized and structured efforts at spreading false propaganda and fake news through multiple angles and channels, specifically targeted at many different constituencies. Their proxies within India, as well as unwitting members of the Indian general public on social media, are acting as force-multipliers to turn the perception battle against us.

We have to do our part. We have to retaliate in a disciplined, organized, well-coordinated manner. This is not time-pass. This is an essential component of 4GW (like we're fighting now) and the enemy has first-mover advantage in social media for now.

Remember the 1st rule of information warfare: it requires 1000X more effort to rebut bull$hit than it does to create it. Let that be your guide. SOME threads of misinformation coming from the other side will HAVE to be countered, and part of this thread's focus will be to determine what that is. But for the most part, going on the offensive will be critical. Spread the FUD!

Re: BRF Information Warfare & Social Media Cell

All SHOs in Karachi told to report on full night duty. Expecting action by Indian Navy

All SHOs in Karachi told to report on full night duty. Expecting action by Indian Navy. TWITTER.

No aircraft over Pakistan. Normal flights over India. Flight Radar.

what is the purpose, like folks posting news here or posting viewpoint from here to SM

Arjun ji, purpose is to coordinate. See how well Pakis coordinated fake pics of Hawk Trainer crash etc. to bolster claims of shooting down IAF plane. Many people tweeting the same thing broadens the network effect.

Post by khan »

Rudradev wrote:Arjun ji, purpose is to coordinate. See how well Pakis coordinated fake pics of Hawk Trainer crash etc. to bolster claims of shooting down IAF plane. Many people tweeting the same thing broadens the network effect.
ISI or an equivalent agency probably has a dedicated disinformation cell that is pumping out these fake pictures and videos. Once a fake handle tweets out the video, it doesn’t take much for it go viral.
Ardeshir

Post by Ardeshir »

Paki hospital staff have had their leaves cancelled: https://twitter.com/L0gg0l/status/1100869088170127360

Rudradev wrote:Arjun ji, purpose is to coordinate. See how well Pakis coordinated fake pics of Hawk Trainer crash etc. to bolster claims of shooting down IAF plane. Many people tweeting the same thing broadens the network effect.
Agree!, I had similar thoughts in mind. Some of your, UBji's posts are worth sharing outside BRF, but the size limit of twitter and me being civilized on fb doesnt let me do that. Nevertheless, let's begin. We have few hundred active visitors. With some having reach in 1000s and respect of patriots.

khan wrote:
ISI or an equivalent agency probably has a dedicated disinformation cell that is pumping out these fake pictures and videos. Once a fake handle tweets out the video, it doesn’t take much for it go viral.
given the indoctrination there will be millions of useless abduls who will do it for free

Let's make sure we are all following each other for force-multiplier effect. I am @Indosphere on Twitter. Please post your handles here so we can all follow you as well.

@jai_menon

Guys following mutually is critical, otherwise, it is almost impossible to co-ordinate.

I am in if we're doing this.

@BhukkhaBhediya, bad time to be without a cellphone and mobile data
SU_Mohan

Post by SU_Mohan »

First post here. Hi all, perhaps all of your posts could be tagged with a common standardized hashtag - for e.g. #BRFJaiHind

This will be a unique identifier which should enable everyone to easily search for BRF posters. The "JaiHind" will act as a deterrent for unfriendlies to hijack the hashtag.

welcome here. I see a lot of newjoiners recently.

SU_Mohan wrote:First post here. Hi all, perhaps all of your posts could be tagged with a common standardized hashtag - for e.g. #BRFJaiHind

This will be a unique identifier which should enable everyone to easily search for BRF posters. The "JaiHind" will act as a deterrent for unfriendlies to hijack the hashtag.
SU Mohan ji, welcome to BRF.

Re: your suggestion, I would remind everyone that it may not be in our (or India's) best interest to make it obvious that we are acting in a coordinated manner. It may be better if we all seem to be independent voices saying the same thing. So let's keep it covert. We can agree on trending certain hashtags (like #WinNotWhine to counter all the #SayNoToWar propaganda). Then we can use those hashtags.

Since we are all following each other we can keep track of each other's tweets on our Twitter timelines. If you post (or come across) a particularly good tweet, post the link on this thread to let others know. Then we can all RT it or reply.

If you get into fights with Pakis or their supporters in India, post a link to the thread and others here will join the Twitter conversation in support of you.
ChanakyaM

Post by ChanakyaM »

Newbee here long time ROM my handle chankya70

Rudradev wrote:Let's make sure we are all following each other for force-multiplier effect. I am @Indosphere on Twitter. Please post your handles here so we can all follow you as well.
Posting the twitter ids to follow
01. @VatsRohit
02. @Sjha16
03. @cestmoiz..need to double check on this
04. @ramana_brf
05. @gus_brf
06. @Indosphere
07. @NileshRane (check if any _ in name)
08. @chankya70
09. @majorgauravarya
10. @atahasnain53
11. @GeneralBakshi
12. @Maroof_Raza
Last edited by ArjunPandit on 28 Feb 2019 06:23, edited 4 times in total.

@cestmoiz is one of us (kancha on BRF). Please do follow.

Major Gaurav Arya (Retd.) could be another person to follow.

I wonder if certain forums be made pvt
Vamsi_V

Post by Vamsi_V »

@vamsikrishna31
AshishA

Post by AshishA »

Followed all of the above
ChanakyaM

Post by ChanakyaM »

@Maroof_Raza - does not show the Army Major who appears on the TV shows, is the profile correct?
bhavani

Post by bhavani »

My handle is @mediathugs

I have not slept the whole last night and before. i follow ramana sir, rohit, pabbi

Profile: व्योम Sky; #BRF; #GPAC_DTSP
Id: @saikanomie
Sridhar K

Post by Sridhar K »

Saw this ad on my twitter timeline. Infowar is on by Pakis.
https://twitter.com/PTIofficial/status/ ... 57696?s=19

My I'd is @sri_diwakar

R u nuts? GDF dhaga was user-ID based. This is in the open.
buddhu

Post by buddhu »

following all of you now.. @at_brf

as someone who doesn't believe in social media, this is major personal step...

i just learnt from my brother in law who is in Indian AD in that very area ...the MIG was shot down by ground forces not the aircrafts ( contrary to what the PAF vid gloats) ...his men saw 2 chutes opening...the Mig was behind the enemy a/c. he was saying one of his men has grainy pics of 2 chutes opening... the PA AD thought they got 2 and ISPR in fit of bravado/excitement announced 2 IAF planes down.. 1 arrested 1 on the run..the 1 on the run was actually PAF pilot who was then taken to hospital.
zoverian

Post by zoverian »

@zoverian_abhi
This is my id.
ChanakyaM

Post by ChanakyaM »

followed all

Just now followed:

@indosphere
@BhukkhaBhediya
@zoverian_abhi
@at_brf
@sri_diwakar
@mediathugs
@vamsikrishna31
@BhukkhaBhediya

Rest of BRFites listed here I was following already.

My ID is @jai_menon

Post by Klaus »

Follow:
@PunyaPrakop (need to verify if on BRF)
@Editor_Orbat
@LenteCurrite
@dikgaj
@gus_brf
@a_sandhan (need to verify)
@bennedose
@kapilrdave
@amitava_brf
@vikasraina
@saumitra_j
@HarfanMaullah
@merlinwmeister
@vickynanjappa (not on BRF afaik)
@khatvanga
@malleshwara
@PerennialCold
@SJha1618 (not on BRF IMO afaik)
@HinduVirat
@vagabondoc
@jimm_ray
@maisooru
@durvasab
@BhairavPatel1
@LucidWitness
@kittoo4202004
@Brahamvakya
@matrimc_brf
@intellisurfer
@ngc1729
@ShauryaTweets
@naradauvacha
@bipinbhimani
@HopefulAtDes
@jjamwalin
@maidros78
@Kaustabha
@Golem001
@Vamsee9002
@VogonPoem
@luvofland
@Abdulsaleemgad
@Gajaakesari
@AgentSaffron (need to verify this too)
@VMuppi
@KesariDhwaj
@QuickGunM1
@brfharbans
@hinduismglance (not a BRFite)
@sudarshan_v1
@tattvaanveShaNa
@JaidevJamwal
@bhartendu2206
@RajaramMusings
@Karmasura
@HariHaraBhakta
@Gubomaster
@jambudveepam
@lalbrofessor
@TheTandav
@Prahaar2
@DharmicFundoo
@shudntbehere
@sarpamedha
@Parikramah
@Kal_Chiron
@dhanu_lagna
@bharatrakshak
@songadiya
and lastly myself at @dharmalebnsraum
Last edited by Klaus on 01 Mar 2019 02:49, edited 1 time in total.

Post by Klaus »

Also follow @KalavaiVenkat (not a BRFite)
@greatbong (not a BRFite)
@SnafuForEver
@_NAN_DINI (have a sneaky suspicion that this is a BRFite)
@RajivMessage (not a BRFite)
@RamKumar1133

I still follow @MehtaRahulC even though the bloke's had his ongoing gripes with us.
I also follow banned member @chackojoseph
AFAIK all of these handles date back to 2012-2013 atleast, when we first had the Twitter thread in burkha forum.
Last edited by Klaus on 01 Mar 2019 03:22, edited 2 times in total.

Post by Klaus »

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=7665&start=2200

Relevant for this thread as we are unwittingly retweeting without checking Twitter handles origin & veracity.
ricky_v

Post by ricky_v »

The paki version is logical when connecting all dots paki style
1. india violated paki air space
2. pakis retaliated
3. indian wingco captured possibly shot down
4. paki peace offering by returning wingco
What I mean is that it is very simple for anyone to go from 1 to 4, to muddle the train of thought why not increase the dots by a factor? There is no need to battle all points, just increase the data whether true, false or somewhere in between so that the logical conclusion of 1 to 4 is never reached. Reaching the ultimate truth on sm is neither desirable nor possible because of its fast nature, just keep the argument in state of perpetual limbo.

@Pfaff_JTull

Mods, the best way to handle this is to add a Twitter handle to Profile and a link that opens up respective page on that site.
Anantha

Post by Anantha »

Klaus, add me to the list and follow my handle @songadiya in twitter

bhavani wrote:My handle is @mediathugs

I have not slept the whole last night and before. i follow ramana sir, rohit, pabbi
Wow! I guessed you were BRF.
Read your tweets quite often.
Anantha

Post by Anantha »

Bhavani, Following you now. I am @songadiya.