Indian ASAT Test

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Indian ASAT Test

PM Live on TV, announcing the test

Points from speech -
- Codenamed "Mission Shakti"
- Mission duration of 3 minutes
- LEO Satellite got shot down
- Fourth nation to have capability
- Test not aimed at any nation
- Ensuring that aerospace above India is secure
- Will ensure peace in space

------------------------------------------------------------

All You Need To Know About The PDV MK-II: India’s Satellite Killer
http://delhidefencereview.com/2019/04/0 ... te-killer/
By Indranil Roy, 03 April 2019

------------------------------------------------------------

Re: Indian ASAT test

Jai Hind. Great step to secure our nation.
Last edited by Nikhil T on 27 Mar 2019 13:00, edited 1 time in total.

3 minutes was the duration, apparently. The satellite target was around 300km altitude.

CONGRATULATIONS!!!! JAI HIND!

He didn't give any reasons on the timing, but I think there is more that what meets the eye. He ended with "Bharat mata ki jai" repeated three times, not sure why.
chandrasekaran

Post by chandrasekaran »

WOW, WOW - Another proud day!

Recent ASA Tests- as per wikifor background reading.

Indian test already updated at 12:31 IST -03/27/2019. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Seriously? If India can shoot down missiles why is a satellite any more difficult? Why now is the big question? Feint to China?
Atulya P

Post by Atulya P »

Congratulations, great feat! Jai Hind!

ASAT is ABM by other name??
Ardeshir

Post by Ardeshir »

Might as well have announced in Mandarin. :mrgreen:
chandrasekaran

Post by chandrasekaran »

This is such a commendable achievement - Shri PM coming live to announce it it indeed justified for the new alone.. Of course the jingo in me wants to believe, there could be more to it than a "technology demonstrator" :-)

^Looks like it is operational. 3m to destruction is basically confirming everything. Did they use the last PS4 stage from previous PSLV launch as target?

Cain Marko wrote:Seriously? If India can shoot down missiles why is a satellite any more difficult? Why now is the big question? Feint to China?
The US can shoot down missiles too, but they still tested asat
Ditto for Russia
Ditto got China

And they all announced it
Obviously its a capability that all these nations believe is a deterrent
tushar_m

Post by tushar_m »

Congrats .

Jai Bharat , Jai Hind

Deployment and activation of second stage ABM system! We can see how human race reacts to threats.

Noob question - What are the benefits/disadvantages of an Air platform launched ASAT weapon (like the one tested by the US) as opposed to a Ground launch platform?
Last edited by Manish_P on 27 Mar 2019 12:57, edited 1 time in total.
la.khan

Post by la.khan »

Welcome development! But why is the PM announcing it? Why not a mere press release? Also, the target was a live satellite. Our own or foreign?

PS: Did anyone observe NaMo hands were shaking, especially when he said Jai Hind, thrice at the end of the speech?
Rupesh

Post by Rupesh »

Great news. This was totally unexpected. Jai Hind.
Last edited by Rupesh on 27 Mar 2019 12:59, edited 1 time in total.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/from-cy ... ef-1859580
NDTV: There is another capability which India has not shown, but we have, that is anti-satellite capability. What is the state of our anti-satellite weapons?
Dr Christopher: There are two aspects in that. One is that we need to know the location of the satellite as accurately as possible so that we can send the missile or whatever the weapon is that we would like to use as close to that. Because you cannot search where they are. You cannot go there and search because we don't have that much energy and time, but all the missiles are generally going to be ballistic. That means they may not have manoeuvring capability. We must predict as accurately as possible from the ground. That is one aspect. After that, even when you have probably accurately predicted that we may have to take the vehicle, and by the time it reaches there could be some sort of meandering, so there has to be another mechanism which will take it close to that. These are the two aspects; both aspects we have started working.

NDTV: Some say Agni-V has the capability if you require because satellites have roughly known locations and Agni-V can be used as an anti-satellite weapon. It's a heavyweight weapon like using a sledgehammer against a fly?
Dr Christopher: You said it correctly, but you have any ballistic missile which normally goes for a thousand kilometres plus height-wise, any of them can be applied. You do not necessarily need to specially use Agni-V.
Moi interested in the radar that was used for this mission. :mrgreen:

BTW, something clearly happened between Balakot & now, for India to signal this capability. Definitely some PRC tricks indicating they would target our defence sats.
Dumal

Post by Dumal »

It can’t be someone else’s satellite, right? That will make it too complicated?

Or, are there some slots that are ours and someone put a bird there and we decided to take it out?

Great News. Though I doubt many watching Modi announcing it on TV, will really grasp the importance of the event.

Rupesh wrote:Great news. This was totally unexpected. Jail Hind.
Noooo! Hind should be free. :-?

mody wrote:Great News. Though I doubt many watching Modi announcing it on TV, will really grasp the importance of the event.
A billion mobile phones searching for "satellite", then "anti-satellite". :lol:
Rupesh

Post by Rupesh »

Rupesh wrote:Great news. This was totally unexpected. Jail Hind.
Noooo! Hind should be free. :-?
Spell check onlee. What to do. Corrected. :((

https://www.orfonline.org/research/indi ... at-weapon/
However, what is necessary is not just the acquisition of the capability but a demonstration of the same, in the interest of ensuring the required degree of deterrence against potential adversaries. It is widely speculated that the US ASAT test in 2008 was in retaliation to the Chinese test in the previous year, even though the former already has a well established reputation in terms of this capability. India has to take into consideration Chinese postures on ASATs, especially following its move of laser blinding US satellites in 2006 with a kinetic kill ASAT in 2007. By doing so, irrespective of international criticism, China proved its capability to effectively execute ASAT attacks. Keeping in mind its own military calculations, India needs to firmly establish credibility in ballistic missile type ASATs––even a one-time demonstration should be sufficient.

Dumal wrote:It can’t be someone else’s satellite, right? That will make it too complicated?

Or, are there some slots that are ours and someone put a bird there and we decided to take it out?
It has to be our satellite. More details of the test would be great, like the radar used and the missile/kill vehicle used for the test.
Chinese put on notice and how!!

Some decent points here. Hindi speakers though.

mridulmm

Post by mridulmm »

Karan M wrote: Moi interested in the radar that was used for this mission. :mrgreen:

BTW, something clearly happened between Balakot & now, for India to signal this capability. Definitely some PRC tricks indicating they would target our defence sats.
Tom cooper guy on f16 net forums had a theory that our satellite, which was supposed to get after strike surveillance data, malfunctioned. Could it be that the satellite was targetted?
Ardeshir

Post by Ardeshir »

Has Suparco sent any pigs in space? :lol:
Surely there are some soiled shalwars that side of Attari.
shashankk

Post by shashankk »

Great News. couldn't control my emotions after hearing about it. As per me its almost as good as nuclear tests in terms of validating our capability in real scenario.

mody wrote:Great News. Though I doubt many watching Modi announcing it on TV, will really grasp the importance of the event.
Kanspeeracy Theory:

This was all done to help Motabhai's Jio before election. People will use more data. More money to Jio. Motabhai will fund NaMo.

"Sab mile hua hai ji!"

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

[Edited for typo]

Don't do that even in jest.

Last edited by Mukesh.Kumar on 27 Mar 2019 13:14, edited 2 times in total.

https://www.indiatoday.in/india/story/a ... 2012-04-27

"India has all the building blocks for an anti-satellite capability"
DRDO chief Dr Vijay Kumar Saraswat explains why Agni-V is a technological breakthrough and how it gives India the capability to target satellites in space.

April 27, 2012
How did you develop these ASAT capabilities?

VKS: There are a few essential parameters in intercepting satellites. You should have the ability to track an orbiting satellite in space, launch a missile towards it and finally have a kill vehicle that actually homes in to physically destroy it.

We have a Long Range Tracking Radar (LRTR) used in the Ballistic Missile Defence Programme that has a range of over 600 km. We will increase the range to 1,400 km allowing us to track satellites in orbit.

It is far more difficult to intercept ballistic missiles than it is to intercept satellites. Satellites follow a predictive path. Once you track a satellite, you will know its path.

In the BMD project, we track and intercept a 0.1 square meter target over 1,000 km away. A satellite is ten times larger-over 1 meter wide.

We have the communication systems in place, again developed for the BMD project. The first-stage booster developed for the Agni-V can inject a warhead 600 km into space. We also have a kill vehicle developed for the BMD project. The kill vehicle actually homes in onto an incoming missile. We have the Infra-Red and Radar frequency seekers on the kill vehicle that accurately guide it to its target.
Patni

Post by Patni »

We are taking all needed steps, on strategic chess board, to ensure we do not get check mated! Now pakis will break open green paint cans and prepare to paint chini maal and launch it with in a week! oops no scratch that they will most likely shoot down chini satellite so no can do!!

Now with this success, western media outlets will follow up with noise about "space debris" being generated! DDM will get a whiff of it and follow the usual rona-dhona. We have had the ASAT capability for a long time now but a pooch here - do we have the capaability to shoot them down through fighter aircraft as well?

Mukesh.Kumar wrote:
Kanspeeracy Theory:

This was all done to help Motabhai's Jio before election. People will use more days. Moderate to Jio. Motabhai will fund NaMo.

"Sab mile hua hai ji!"

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
I wont be surprised if these forwards appear on WhatsApp university.
dipak

Post by dipak »

Great day for India. Although, the capability was a given but formal demonstration and announcement has its own benefits.

Wondering, any update about the debris ...?

Kudos aside - this is serious! Something is definitely cooking...
siqir

Post by siqir »

Jai Hind!

seems it was a total surprise

my guess is our people were really pissed at recent unsc eff up
even less reason to deny us a permanent seat now
Swaroop

Post by Swaroop »

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0v6eRj7Hl0s

This thread needs a link to the official announcement from the honourable PM.