India's Border Security with China and Pakistan-2020

Re: India's Border Security with China and Pakistan-2020

Brilliant interview of Gen Parnaik, Gen Kulkarni and Nitin Gokhale. Nice details of tit-for-tat operation of 2013 Depsang plain incident explained by Gen Parnaik. We seem to have done some counterop in Demchok. In Hindi FYI.
Larry Walker

Post by Larry Walker »

nam wrote:Nobody is shivering about the Chinese. However threat analysis is always done by what your adversary can do, instead of what he will do.

Paks confidently do "India will not do this" analysis, start a war and get surprised by when we react.

I have mentioned multiple times, that the Chinese would like to do a US style "shock & awe". Just that we don't who that first victim will be. I was pretty confident, it will not be us.. it is still holding.. by a thread.

If you visit those forum links, you will notice the Chinis discussing "iraq". It is all about being the next US.

Can anyone guarantee the Chinis will not launch a CM attacks on some of our production facilities? Will it make much difference? No. But he may. And we should be prepared to return the favour..
I think you got it sir - China looks at itself as the next USA, and like in every sphere, in military sphere too its outlook and policies are shaped by what it understood the USA as. So Chinese will not come into the mountains and fight India, they will try a mini shick-and-awe. Chinese leadership possibly understands the limitations of its men in the ground in martial skills and experience - but I think PLAGF infantry is more of an occupying force rather than fighting force. Their lead war elements are PLAF, PLARF and mechanised and Armor PLAGF. So a intense air campaign along with rapid moving Armor and mechanised infantry is their game. Infantry will be a follow-on once opposition is subdued. And all this coveting land and doing cartographic aggression atleast with India to create a casus-belli else they know that India will never attack or invade them. They need this excuse to get Indian armed forces into the battlefield - as Modi said - not an inch of land will be given up - so they are preparing the stage. The only good thing for us is that our assessment is that Pakis will not jump in - else the strike corps would have started moving to their staging areas.
And why do a shock-and-awe with India ? Because India is the most formidable adversary (next to USA) and if they can successfully implement this with India it establishes them as undisputed super-dog of Asia and will validate their final assault plan on Taiwan.
milindc

Post by milindc »

nam wrote:Nobody is shivering about the Chinese. However threat analysis is always done by what your adversary can do, instead of what he will do.

Paks confidently do "India will not do this" analysis, start a war and get surprised by when we react.

I have mentioned multiple times, that the Chinese would like to do a US style "shock & awe". Just that we don't who that first victim will be. I was pretty confident, it will not be us.. it is still holding.. by a thread.

If you visit those forum links, you will notice the Chinis discussing "iraq". It is all about being the next US.

Can anyone guarantee the Chinis will not launch a CM attacks on some of our production facilities? Will it make much difference? No. But he may. And we should be prepared to return the favour..
They can decide to be irrational and start the WW3 with wipe-out of massive human population in both countries. India is not Iraq to do a 'shock & awe'. Hope it is very clearly communicated to them that 'shock & awe' is also possible with mushroom cloud.
Why do you think we don't do a 'shock & awe' with Paki ?

Post by khan »

yensoy wrote:Brilliant interview of Gen Parnaik, Gen Kulkarni and Nitin Gokhale. Nice details of tit-for-tat operation of 2013 Depsang plain incident explained by Gen Parnaik. We seem to have done some counterop in Demchok. In Hindi FYI.
It didn’t end very well with Gen Kulkarni saying they Chinese were students of the art of war & wanted to win without firing a shot - I hope the professionals aren’t making such assumptions. Also the host wouldn’t let Gen Patnaik finish his story.

We made one fatal error in dealing with the Chins.We rolled out a golden carpet to the stinking pig of Peking,XI, believing that our open arms welcome would soften their stance towards India and treat it as an equal. Our MEA slept while the dragon kept on stealthily building up its infra in Tibet and planned for its next " lesson" for India,'62 vintage.
Ronald Reagan uttered the famouse phrase," trust but verify" when dealing with the USSR.We trusted,but didn't verify regularly, which emboldened them to launch their vicious and diabolic attack.

This has however spectacularly backfired.From all accounts,we gave the Chinese after their murderous attack on our small unarmed recce group a hiding that they will never forget.Their CO and some other sr. officers were summarily despatched to Hades, and their casualties were double that of hours,which they cowardly Chinks are afraid of openly acknowledging for fear of harsh public criticism back home. The "Peking Duck" aka pres. XI, has landed flat on his back in Hu Flung Dung's heap of faeces.

The Indian people are in parallel supporting our valiant forces in doing their bit,boycotting anything Chinese,with states following their lead cancelling lucrative contracts. China is paying the price for its perfidy.
Our military buildup should continue unabated and we should bide our time like a patient vulture for the moment of revenge. "Revenge is a dish best eaten cold",another famous saying.
Last edited by Philip on 23 Jun 2020 23:52, edited 1 time in total.
rags

Post by rags »

I second this. Western Planners and even CCP+PLA combo have always talked about invading Taiwan. Opening a front on that side means, Japan+ Soko+Taiwan+US Navy combo. I haven't heard of any historical Chinese "Naval Amphibious" invasions. Even in the case of Taiwan, they plan to keep everybody out through a ballistic/ cruise/ etc. missile enforced zone, while they go in to subjugate the Taiwanese.
So primarily, PLA is most comfortable with a land-based invasioning. That's what they have always done. Mongolia, Russia, Tibet, Vietnam, Burma...the list goes on. The islands in SCS were paid for with contracts with Western companies, does not really count.
On our front, there is this great unwashed horde. They know that a conflict is coming because of their efforts to re-direct the Brahmaputra (have to keep the unwashed, unwashed). They do not need Taiwan per se, but they do need our resources (land & water). Hence IMHO, the preparation with infrastructure, pliable governments, treaties, arming islamo fascists, salami-slicing to get to more advantageous positions for the inevitable conflict.

Do we really have a choice here? Ballistic, Cruise missile, Artillery, and airborne saturation attacks while the communist and allies do some land grabbing and prevent retribution from reaching the mainland. They will treat India attacking Tibet as a positive. Once our front has been pacified, yes, Taiwan and others.

I have always wondered if any society/ government is immune to "here and now". The Chinese have gone through multiple leadership generations to get to this place where they manufacture literally everything in the world, has the world suffocating due to Wuhanvirus, have finished a major rearmament program.
Does XI think that this situation is good as it gets?

Post by khan »

https://twitter.com/drapr007/status/127 ... 39393?s=21
#BREAKING : Amid talk for de-escalation is going on military and diplomatic level, PLA added 16 more quick attack boats in their patrol fleet in Pangong Tso in last 2 days. These boats are equipped with fire arms.

NEVER TRUST CH|NA

#IndiaChinaFaceOff
Larry Walker

Post by Larry Walker »

Ok, now for some light hearted comedy - enough dhoti shivering to this 10 feet China man.
Presenting the 20 feet Pakiman - now let your balls shrivel you SDREs :D :D

https://twitter.com/swiftretort1/status ... 42242?s=19

khan wrote:

Agree with every word you said. Any analysis that says they won’t do this because of that is fundamentally flawed. The issue is that they can do a lot, very quickly with their missile force & heavy bombers.
Yah I get it .. India vs China == Iraq vs US :rotfl:

Oh I get it .. China will send in its heavy bombers and Indian will just tuck their tails in and run.

How many Cruise missiles does China have 1K - 10K and how many Air fields will it be able to take out @ 100 per base and that too for damaged only for 24 hour?

Per SIPRI, China has ~320 Nuclear warheads vs Indian ~120 ... I am shivering just thinking about the matchup.
Last edited by pankajs on 23 Jun 2020 23:59, edited 1 time in total.

Post by khan »

khan wrote:https://twitter.com/drapr007/status/127 ... 39393?s=21
#BREAKING : Amid talk for de-escalation is going on military and diplomatic level, PLA added 16 more quick attack boats in their patrol fleet in Pangong Tso in last 2 days. These boats are equipped with fire arms.

NEVER TRUST CH|NA

#IndiaChinaFaceOff
The more I think of it, these types of shenanigans seem to be the military version of Global Times editorials during Doklam.

They just keep bringing more & more stuff in to intimidate us, I don’t see these lasting very long on a narrow lake, out in the open.

All this talk about rockets and cruise missiles miss the point that inaccurate missiles are not worth their production cost.

Accurate missiles are very expensive (Million USD+ per piece) and long range ones are even more so. It would take several dozens of such missiles to take out a large commerical or industrial property. The repair cost may be lower than the missile cost depending on the hit. But a lucky accurate hit on an arms depot or fuel depot will be very expensive.

Bombers that can make multiple sorties and drop guided munitions are much more effective.

Pangong Lake.We too should increase our patrol vessel s in large nos.,equipped with heavy MGs plus ATGMs,which are used in a dual use mode in many western small fast attack craft. The Chins are trying to do an Iranian RG swarm of small armed boats as being done in the Gulf. We too need a number of fast attack missile craft for dealing with those of the Chins ,but with superior weaponry.
ramdas

Post by ramdas »

Once again, when some posters say that the PLA can just walk into Leh by dragging a conventional war long enough, I do not see why we cant go nuclear in that situation. Not taking into account the deterrent is foolish to say the least. Losing territory on that scale threatens the very existence of the state, and all bets are off in that case. Only a short sharp limited war is possible between nuclear armed states. No large territorial changes are possible, especially when we are prepared unlike in 1962.

I remember seeing a Chinese patrol boat in some photo, its inflatable, not sure rigid hull below or not. All the same, highly vulnerable to MG fire.

We have enough experience with such Somali pirate tactics !
Larry Walker

Post by Larry Walker »

Some forums are abuzz with new Western theatre commander Xu Quiling also being moved out - not sure how authentic.
idan

Post by idan »

If we embed few MARCOS frogmen with our patrols who can the use the cover of night to booby trap the PLA boat infra. That will send a clear message to Chinese
Iyersan

Post by Iyersan »

Larry Walker wrote:Some forums are abuzz with new Western theatre commander Xu Quiling also being moved out - not sure how authentic.
Guy1 changed post galwan
Guy 2 also changed today?
Larry Walker

Post by Larry Walker »

Iyersan wrote:
Larry Walker wrote:Some forums are abuzz with new Western theatre commander Xu Quiling also being moved out - not sure how authentic.
Guy1 changed post galwan
Yes - but no source was posted - just a snippet and some discussions

Post by khan »

Larry Walker wrote:
Iyersan wrote: Guy1 changed post galwan
Yes - but no source was posted - just a snippet and some discussions
There is a lot of nonsense in the forums. Yesterday, it was there is a lot of Chinese casualties in Depsang plains.

Deans wrote:
amar_p wrote:
Exactly, wouldn't we therefore defend & counter attack with EVERYTHING WE'VE GOT and more?
Lahore is only 20 km from the border. Jammu is 10 km. Neither city has a realistic chance of being captured in a war. Neither are Leh or Lhasa.
In the Kargil war, it took 2 divisions, 2 months to advance about 10km (the depth of the intrusion) and regain our territory. That was only due to the nature of mountain warfare.
Thanks for that statement. Based on data.

And, thanks for the links to your book.

From sources
China ordered attack on Indian troops in Galwan River Valley: US Intel
..Gen. Zhao Zongqi, head of the Western Theater Command and among the few combat veterans still serving in the People's Liberation Army, approved the operation along the contested border region of northern India and southwestern China..
Last edited by vishvak on 24 Jun 2020 01:14, edited 1 time in total.

idan wrote:If we embed few MARCOS frogmen with our patrols who can the use the cover of night to booby trap the PLA boat infra. That will send a clear message to Chinese
Frogmen don't feel cold in the freezing waters that too in night?

amar_p wrote:I remember seeing a Chinese patrol boat in some photo, its inflatable, not sure rigid hull below or not. All the same, highly vulnerable to MG fire.

We have enough experience with such Somali pirate tactics !
Are you talking about their new deployments? Their older (I mean pre May) boats were quite robust (and definitely larger than our boats going by some of the videos posted.
Some pics/info of the boats they have deployed (from a few weeks back) https://twitter.com/Aryanwarlord/status ... 1859364864
We probably need to upgrade to something like a Super Dvora patrol boats with something like a 30mm cannon + large ATGM that can sink these boats. Taking them out by air would be best option, but need to have other options too to dominate them when there is no air cover or before the shooting actually starts.

Why was ITBP not manning the Galwan area ?

Zhao the overall Western Theater Commander and Xu the newly appointed PLAGF Commander were both serving in Jinan district at one point in time before the theater command structure was set up. Hence it is no surprise that when they wanted shock troops to rough up the IA at Galwan valley they fell back on their old Jinan Eagle special forces unit, the unit that confronted Colonel Babu and 16 Bihar.

Courtesy Rediff.
Iyersan

Post by Iyersan »

ldev wrote:Zhao the overall Western Theater Commander and Xu the newly appointed PLAGF Commander were both serving in Jinan district at one point in time before the theater command structure was set up. Hence it is no surprise that when they wanted shock troops to rough up the IA at Galwan valley they fell back on their old Jinan Eagle special forces unit, the unit that confronted Colonel Babu and 16 Bihar.
Isn't Maj Genera Liu Lin doing the parley with Lt. Gen Harinder Singh?
Larry Walker

Post by Larry Walker »

Finally something good for us from this crisis

https://twitter.com/Akhilfrmchd/status/ ... 43264?s=19
#Breaking India deploys Desi Surface-to-Air missile
DRDO QRSAM in ladakh
DRDO QRSAM testing was completed in Dec 2019.
Amid at tensions with China
India skips the users trail and
gives IA clearance to deploy the system in ladakh
Its a most advance Quick Reaction SAM in the world https://t.co/sZBGRKaJd1

Iyersan wrote:Isnt Maj Genera Liu Lin doing the parley with Lt. Gen Harinder Singh
Yes
idan

Post by idan »

Larry Walker wrote:Finally something good for us from this crisis

https://twitter.com/Akhilfrmchd/status/ ... 43264?s=19
#Breaking India deploys Desi Surface-to-Air missile
DRDO QRSAM in ladakh
DRDO QRSAM testing was completed in Dec 2019.
Amid at tensions with China
India skips the users trail and
gives IA clearance to deploy the system in ladakh
Its a most advance Quick Reaction SAM in the world https://t.co/sZBGRKaJd1
Could be the Spyder batteries
idan

Post by idan »

AdityaM wrote:
idan wrote:If we embed few MARCOS frogmen with our patrols who can the use the cover of night to booby trap the PLA boat infra. That will send a clear message to Chinese
There are specialist courses and training available. Besides this could be a quick job for trained divers and not expected by PLA, so an element of surprise

Pashupatastra

Post by Pashupatastra »

Brahma Chellany blames Modi's naivete in excessive engagement with Xi Xingping and over personalisation of foreign policy. He interestingly compares Modi's visit to China akin to Vajpayee's visit to Lahore as part of bus diplomacy. He also expresses fear that India has failed Bhutan in Doklam.

India’s appeasement policy toward China unravels
https://www.japantimes.co.jp/opinion/20 ... -unravels/

ramdas wrote:Once again, when some posters say that the PLA can just walk into Leh by dragging a conventional war long enough, I do not see why we cant go nuclear in that situation. Not taking into account the deterrent is foolish to say the least. Losing territory on that scale threatens the very existence of the state, and all bets are off in that case. Only a short sharp limited war is possible between nuclear armed states. No large territorial changes are possible, especially when we are prepared unlike in 1962.
So then, no getting back POK and GB ? Or is the Pureland actually "nuke nanga" as has been stated here by some for many years ?

The PRC is an evil nation due to its amoral establishment and a people, who like with the Nazis in WW2 go along with it as it benefits them - it is a complete and total disgrace to humanity and India should do all it can to bring it down.

Read this account of their attack on Vietnam. They deliberately targeted civilians, including women, children.

PRC soldiers and the PRC establishment deserve no mercy. Sadly Delhi has been long occupied by "appeasment experts" and they have long led our policy astray. Modi has a chance now to reverse decades of foolishness, and he shouldn't let it go.

https://e.vnexpress.net/news/news/remem ... 42147.html

Pashupatastra wrote:Brahma Chellany blames Modi's naivete in excessive engagement with Xi Xingping and over personalisation of foreign policy. He interestingly compares Modi's visit to China akin to Vajpayee's visit to Lahore as part of bus diplomacy. He also expresses fear that India has failed Bhutan in Doklam.

We need more guys like Chellaney to keep this, and any Govt on its toes, provided they are into fact based analysis and make their points clearly. I hope Modi now course corrects on the PRC and is consistent about it, and the pro-China doves are removed from the advisory circle. They have done us billions of dollars of damage by ensuring we became a captive Chinese market at the cost of own industry. Other countries like SoKo et al use multiple non tariff barriers even to prevent PRC dumping.

Karan M wrote:The PRC is an evil nation due to its amoral establishment and a people, who like with the Nazis in WW2 go along with it as it benefits them - it is a complete and total disgrace to humanity and India should do all it can to bring it down.

Read this account of their attack on Vietnam. They deliberately targeted civilians, including women, children.

PRC soldiers and the PRC establishment deserve no mercy. Sadly Delhi has been long occupied by "appeasment experts" and they have long led our policy astray. Modi has a chance now to reverse decades of foolishness, and he shouldn't let it go.

https://e.vnexpress.net/news/news/remem ... 42147.html
This is a perfect example of what we are facing. PLA is an ideological army. They will try to destroy without rational thoughts.

There can be arguments if they can fight, but one thing that cannot be underestimated is they will be indiscriminate.

If the PLA attack on LAC, we need to return the favor on their LAC units, without mercy.

My pet peev is that our 155MM cannons are not fully inducted, nor the A2G weapons.
Last edited by nam on 24 Jun 2020 02:20, edited 1 time in total.

^^Yes, the PRC is the new "evil empire". We must take it down, but also need a roadmap for afterwards. If we are not a leader in this effort, then the cure may be worse than the disease. We may have a large country (or bunch of countries) with fairly vigorous economies and new democratic systems that become allied with the West and also susceptible to flood of evanjihadis. Thanks to a near-complete erasure of "dharma" (except maybe in Tibet), the Chinese will be highly susceptible to conversions. So now you will have a horde of converted Chinese on your hands.

Overall, ensuring our rise (with our without PRC in the picture) is more important now than taking down the PRC entirely. For now, an authoritarian/repressive China to the East is in our interest, since their actions are rapidly drawing the world to us. We need to project ourselves as the only power that can directly "neuter" and "defang" the PRC in the future.

The challenge is how to do the following *with* PRC still in power in Beijing:

- Secure LAC
- Retake GB and POK
- Annex Nepal and Bhutan
- Eliminate trade with China and develop domestic and other international supply chains
- Maybe retake territories lost in 1962

Beyond that, things like liberating Tibet, destabilizing Turkestan and Xinjiang, etc. must also have the objective of destabilizing the regime in Beijing....and a clear plan to control what happens after that.
Last edited by KL Dubey on 24 Jun 2020 02:50, edited 2 times in total.

idan wrote:
AdityaM wrote:
There are specialist courses and training available. Besides this could be a quick job for trained divers and not expected by PLA, so an element of surprise

Sir, I don't know how much first hand experience you have of anything more than recreational diving. But please take it from a person whose done his share of dives ( Dive Master + SAR training). Diving in even water at 20C is extremely enervating. Of course you use a wet suit, better a dry suit. But it's still tough. Next diving at high altitude. It's a totally different discipline. At above 4000 m this would be pushing the training and conditioning of even the best divers. Combine both these and you have a recipe for disaster.

Let's leave those ideas aside for the moment.

Chinese have lot of toys to fight from distance. Missiles to drones. Plus the production capacity to keep replenishment to have multiple waves.

What are the most likely options for India if they just resort to remote controlled warfare only?

What to prioritize?

Destruction of pakis?
Take out chinese factories to stop replenishment?
Navy blockade?
Take out military assets?
Go on LAC and LOC offensives?

idan wrote:
AdityaM wrote:

Sir, I don't know how much first hand experience you have of anything more than recreational diving. But please take it from a person whose done his share of dives ( Dive Master + SAR training). Diving in even water at 20C is extremely enervating. Of course you use a wet suit, better a dry suit. But it's still tough. Next diving at high altitude. It's a totally different discipline. At above 4000 m this would be pushing the training and conditioning of even the best divers. Combine both these and you have a recipe for disaster.

Let's leave those ideas aside for the moment.

Pashupatastra wrote:Brahma Chellany blames Modi's naivete in excessive engagement with Xi Xingping and over personalisation of foreign policy. He interestingly compares Modi's visit to China akin to Vajpayee's visit to Lahore as part of bus diplomacy. He also expresses fear that India has failed Bhutan in Doklam.

I don't buy Chellany main thrust.

1. Modi is the one that started ramping up border infra aggressively inspite of Chinese opposition. Is that appeasement?
2. While Defense modernization may not have made much headway under him, he has aggressively tried to plug the deficit that the forces faces in basics. Is that appeasement?

Modi did try to talk to China to stabilize the relationship. To me it looked like he was trying to advance India's needs while showing some deference for the Chinese concerns. Why was he doing the latter?

What was the state of the economy, the border infra and the armed forces basic needs when he took over? Does anyone remember? We where is dire state on all 3 counts.

He would have fought if the Chinese had imposed a war on India anytime during the past 6 years but given the state of affairs he had inherited would it have been really a good strategy to poke China?

Is it a good strategy to poke China even now? Not in my opinion though we should fight them if they continue sitting on our territory. The best strategy then but even now is to postpone the conflict as long as possible and build up our border infra and war fighting capacity. Modi has tried to avoid the inevitable war as long as possible with a little show of deference and a little give and take.

Modi has made mistakes along the way but he has done well overall given the shamble he had inherited.

Oh .. I almost forgot .. on Bhutan. I was watching some YT video today, probably one of Abhijit Iyer, where he mentioned that it is Bhutan that developed feets of clay on Doklam.
Last edited by pankajs on 24 Jun 2020 02:40, edited 1 time in total.