India's Border Security with China and Pakistan-2020

kirpalbasra

Re: India's Border Security with China and Pakistan-2020

Post by kirpalbasra »

Just my thoughts if it comes to to a fight I truly believe India would after a setback would start hitting the Chains . Then facing a very big loss of face they would use their A bomb to hit Mumbai and and our capital city .They do not care about non military targets . Now I ask you would a India target non military targets or be the the good old boy and go for military targets in response. To be a super power to you need to use the A bomb . If China was to use the A bomb the world will only protest for a short space of time . Then go back to business as usual in a couple of years . China would have arrived on the world stage as only the second super power to use A bomb.
pahadig

Post by pahadig »

USSR became a Super Power without using the A Bomb.
Also, in today's world.. only an A would even think of using the A bomb, first!!! :D
kirpalbasra

Post by kirpalbasra »

pahadig wrote:USSR became a Super Power without using the A Bomb.
Also, in today's world.. only an A would even think of using the A bomb, first!!! :D
But if they are in a spot and everything of their dream is disappearing down the plug hole they would could resort to this . Iam asking would Indian side hit non military targets if Chins do it first. I am not sure they would . China wins.
kumarn

Post by kumarn »

Yes, yes. We have them bum for Diwali.
kirpalbasra

Post by kirpalbasra »

kumarn wrote:Yes, yes. We have them bum for Diwali.
Iam asking will the Indian gov have the political will . Because the west will be putting pressure on the Indians .
Last edited by kirpalbasra on 30 Jul 2020 01:46, edited 1 time in total.
m_saini

Post by m_saini »

No one is going to come out and say we're going to nuke pop centers whether it's retaliation or first use.

Even a midget nuke strike will lead to massive retaliation, India warns Pak
Articulating Indian nuclear policy in this regard for the first time, Shyam Saran, convener of the National Security Advisory Board, said, "India will not be the first to use nuclear weapons, but if it is attacked with such weapons, it would engage in nuclear retaliation which will be massive and designed to inflict unacceptable damage on its adversary. The label on a nuclear weapon used for attacking India, strategic or tactical, is irrelevant from the Indian perspective." This is significant, because Saran was placing on record India's official nuclear posture with the full concurrence of the highest levels of nuclear policymakers in New Delhi.
Unacceptable damage means pop centers are fair game.
kirpalbasra

Post by kirpalbasra »

m_saini wrote:No one is going to come out and say we're going to nuke pop centers whether it's retaliation or first use.

Articulating Indian nuclear policy in this regard for the first time, Shyam Saran, convener of the National Security Advisory Board, said, "India will not be the first to use nuclear weapons, but if it is attacked with such weapons, it would engage in nuclear retaliation which will be massive and designed to inflict unacceptable damage on its adversary. The label on a nuclear weapon used for attacking India, strategic or tactical, is irrelevant from the Indian perspective." This is significant, because Saran was placing on record India's official nuclear posture with the full concurrence of the highest levels of nuclear policymakers in New Delhi.
You miss my point has the Gov of India the political will to hit NON military's targets and we are in opposite to India/pak they have more then us.
m_saini

Post by m_saini »

kirpalbasra wrote: You miss my point has the Gov of India the political will to hit NON military's targets and we are in opposite to India/pak they have more then us.
Yes, GoI has the political will.
kirpalbasra

Post by kirpalbasra »

m_saini wrote:
kirpalbasra wrote: You miss my point has the Gov of India the political will to hit NON military's targets and we are in opposite to India/pak they have more then us.

I hope so but what makes you so sure .

If you drop a nuclear bomb on India, what are you expecting the GOI to do short of nuclear retaliation?

Please advise.
kumarn

Post by kumarn »

Question to ask is this: Are the Chinis willing to take a bum on sanghai? Do they want to be the second aspiring super power to take few atum bum up theirs.
m_saini

Post by m_saini »

kirpalbasra wrote: I hope so but what makes you so sure .
Because it's policy and would be nonsensical if they didn't? So in your hypothetical scenario where the chinis have nuked Delhi and Mumbai, you somehow think GoI *wouldn't* have the political will to return the favor?

For further proof please read Mutual assured destruction
kirpalbasra

Post by kirpalbasra »

kumarn wrote:Question to ask is this: Are the Chinis willing to take a bum on sanghai? Do they want to be the second aspiring super power to take few atum bum up theirs.
I would ask can we get there first and second they have a lot more developed city's the us . So yes I think they would have planed that.

If Delhi is nuked, nothing would be left of GoI.

Folks OT alert - please restrict the discussion to the topic of this thread

suryag wrote:Folks OT alert - please restrict the discussion to the topic of this thread
Sorry Sir. Wrong Thread.
kirpalbasra

Post by kirpalbasra »

suryag wrote:Folks OT alert - please restrict the discussion to the topic of this thread
Sorry for taking topic of thread but I believe if war comes then it will be ,,so I will leave it here. Just hope GOV will do what is required and not bow down to pressure of the west that is surely to come.

Maj Gen (Dr)GD Bakshi SM,VSM(retd)@GeneralBakshi·Jul 29

An officer of the PLA who defected tells US media Over a 100 chinese soldiers killed in Galwan clash on 15-16 June . No wonder the Chinese were shaken and trying to hide it

https://twitter.com/TheWolfpackIN/statu ... 3824020481
The Wolfpack @TheWolfpackIN

Report: Indian Army is preparing to position an additional 35,000 troops along the LAC as the possibility of an early resolution to Ladakh stand-off fades.
The nuke exchange question must be approached logically.

1. What is China's aim?
2. Will it be resolved by having a nuclear exchange with India?

China's aim is to be the top dog of the world and dislodge/replace America. A nukes exchange with India is the LAST thing they would want at the moment when they are so near their aim (from their pov). Why?

Simple! A nuke exchange with India will leave both India and China crippled for a generation at least and thus allowing America to retain its top spot for another generation. When 2 people fight and destroy each other, it benefits the bystander.

It is very difficult to imagine China committing such a huge mistake but if they do they can bid goodbye to the superpower status for a generation at least. I personally find it very difficult to believe that the Chinese will nuke their own ambitions for either "teaching India a lesson" or a few sq. kms at the LAC.

Mods: Folks should be allowed to detail scenarios if they can logically support their point either in this thread or some other thread. Please guide.

kirpalbasra wrote:Then facing a very big loss of face they would use their A bomb to hit Mumbai and and our capital city.... To be a super power to you need to use the A bomb . If China was to use the A bomb the world will only protest for a short space of time . Then go back to business as usual in a couple of years . China would have arrived on the world stage as only the second super power to use A bomb.
Your posts are nothing but panic-mongering crap.

kirpalbasra wrote:
m_saini wrote:

I hope so but what makes you so sure .
I'll pose the same question back to you - what makes you so sure we won't retaliate? The way you sound so confident that GoI won't retaliate implies dhoti shivering of the highest intensity :lol:. Heck, what makes one sure of **any** govt's political will to retaliate during such a situation? After all, no country, bar one, has ever used nuke weapons on an adversary.

Something for you to ponder over. But not here, perhaps in the Deterrence thread.

https://www.thehindu.com/opinion/op-ed/ ... 215412.ece
Meeting China’s intransigence with air power
Pl. read the full adticle.

Xcpts:
The forward posture adopted by the IAF is key to India’s capability to bargain at the diplomatic table
Why would a nation heading towards world power status gamble men, money and reputation for a few square kilometres of inhospitable terrain? Surely, it would have envisioned, and planned, for an end state and a definition of what would constitute victory for it — especially when the world is grappling with a pandemic and any strong-arm tactics would be frowned upon by all. For a few square kilometres only? No. As a popular dialogue of a Hindi film goes, “Picture abhi baaki hai (the film isn’t over)”.

Three options
Sections of the media are going overboard, as if the Rafale would be a panacea to the intransigence of the Chinese. Far from it, since there will be a time period required for its integration with other weapon systems that constitute a war-fighting package. That said, it is also true that the IAF would fast-track it as it sports capabilities that India’s adversaries would have to use extra diligence to counter. The forward posture adopted by the IAF (even sans Rafale), which does not necessarily mean forward deployment, is key to India’s capability to bargain at the diplomatic table. We have three options: First, prevent war, if possible. This may require give and take and will entail political costs. We have ourselves to blame for having reduced our deterrence quotient and having failed to discern the adversary’s intentions in time — intelligence failure, in plainspeak. Second, if pushed to the wall, fight hard to deny them their notion of victory for which they have gambled so much; rest assured, we will prevail. And last, if war is averted, use the time to build capability for it’s no longer a choice between guns and butter if we want to avoid these regular faits accomplis. The world, especially the neighbourhood, is watching how the elephant responds to the dragon in the coming months.

Postscript. Next time, to honour mutual protocols of not using weapons, the Chinese will not field nail-studded batons and baseball bats. Indian troops may be met with ‘non-lethal’ weapons like tasers, laser dazzlers and ultra-sonic guns. One hopes India’s planners are thinking ahead to avoid surprises and equipping our warriors suitably.

Manmohan Bahadur, a retired Air Vice Marshal, is Additional Director General, Centre for Air Power Studies. Views are personal
milindc

Post by milindc »

kirpalbasra wrote:
m_saini wrote:No one is going to come out and say we're going to nuke pop centers whether it's retaliation or first use.

You miss my point has the Gov of India the political will to hit NON military's targets and we are in opposite to India/pak they have more then us.
The political will was shown on the risky Balakot strikes. We were ready for a full blown war with that attack. With Mumbai loss, there is no financial center. Beijing, Shanghai will be gone for sure.
Arbit

Post by Arbit »

Not quite. You have to weigh the costs against the benefits.

And I believe the benefits of attacking India with nukes outweigh the potential costs.

Just assume, the chinese leadership attacks Mumbai with nukes, what happens next?

We immediately recede by 20 years or so. Our financial hub is destroyed and all economic activities grind to a halt, not to mention a massive healthcare challenge emerges.
The political system in India will also suffer a huge setback. The government of the day is also gone. It basically means modi is politically finished, and dreams of taking back GB are dead on arrival.
Next couple of decades india focuses on rebuilding and nothing else. taking back Pok, being a world power etc, everything is on back burner.

I can go on and on.

Now look at the costs. Inernational condemnation, trade embargo, criticism. All the consequnces are soft in nature and will wither away in a few years or at most a decade, however the hard power china gains by submissing a giant asian neighbour will be immense and priceless.

The solution.

Inflicting or rather having the ability to inflict a matching cost and making a show sha of the same. Letting the world and china know that the retaliation will be swift and at the populations center will not be immune is the only way to deter this evil ccp regime of china.

Any weakness on this aspect will leave us vulnerable. I hope our triad is in place and deployed.

^^^ We need to be ready for a nuclear arms race with Cheen. They are paranoid about the US and will eventually want nukes in the thousands. If their nukes goes up then we'll have to keep reasonable pace.

US wants Cheen in their nuclear arms talks with Russia. The chinis haven't agreed yet. And even if they do agree to talks and work out a deal it'll be on par to what the US and Russia have.
https://www.nytimes.com/2020/07/29/opin ... apons.html
jagga

Post by jagga »

Names of soldiers killed in Galwan clash to be inscribed on National War Memorial
The names of 20 Indian Army personnel, who were killed after valiantly fighting Chinese troops in Galwan Valley in eastern Ladakh on June 15, will be inscribed on the National War Memorial here, officials said on Thursday.

TWITTER

@Frontalassault1:

Indian Army has deployed 35000 additional troops who have served in areas like Siachen, Ladakh & Northeast. They are fully acclimatised to the conditions & have an edge over PLA troops who have been drawn from mainland China.

https://twitter.com/FrontalAssault1/sta ... 07425?s=19
RaviB

Post by RaviB »

Arbit wrote:

I can go on and on.

The solution.

Inflicting or rather having the ability to inflict a matching cost and making a show sha of the same.
Please read the deterrence thread. What you're suggesting is basic Indian nuclear doctrine. Nuclear weapons are not meant for warfighting but for ensuring state survival and there has been a lot of discussion over nuclear strategy if it comes to the worst. They are useful for deterrence and little else. Nork nukes haven't led them to taking over New York but have kept the regime safe. That's it. India has a nuclear triad designed for a second strike capabiltiy.

Nukes have nothing to do with the current conflict apart from ensuring deterrence. So let's not derail this thread.
Arbit

Post by Arbit »

RaviB wrote:
Arbit wrote:

I can go on and on.

The solution.

Inflicting or rather having the ability to inflict a matching cost and making a show sha of the same.
Please read the deterrence thread. What you're suggesting is basic Indian nuclear doctrine. Nuclear weapons are not meant for warfighting but for ensuring state survival and there has been a lot of discussion over nuclear strategy if it comes to the worst. They are useful for deterrence and little else. Nork nukes haven't led them to taking over New York but have kept the regime safe. That's it. India has a nuclear triad designed for a second strike capabiltiy.

Nukes have nothing to do with the current conflict apart from ensuring deterrence. So let's not derail this thread.
Voicing one's opinion is not derailing the thread. What i have stated is very much relevant to the matter at hand. you can not even dare to imagine that china can use nukes and yourself say "nuclear weapons are not meant for war fighting" yet you count it as deterrence. Ironical.

It becomes deterrence only when you are ready and willing to use the weapon.
AdityaVM

Post by AdityaVM »

Arbit wrote:
RaviB wrote:

Voicing one's opinion is not derailing the thread. What i have stated is very much relevant to the matter at hand. you can not even dare to imagine that china can use nukes and yourself say "nuclear weapons are not meant for war fighting" yet you count it as deterrence. Ironical.

It becomes deterrence only when you are ready and willing to use the weapon.
Replied in the deterrence thread.

Arbit wrote:Voicing one's opinion is not derailing the thread. What i have stated is very much relevant to the matter at hand.
Yes it IS derailing this thread. And that's the moderation notice to you. Please listen to what others said - if you want to discuss it, do it in the relevant thread.

https://twitter.com/drapr007/status/1288881557256642561
Dr. APR @drapr007

PLA started constructing war time safety infrastructures at most tense areas near Pangong Tso from Finger 5 to Finger 8 and additional deployment observed in last 2 days.

Report submitted to concerns.

(Sources)

Based on the Chini Amb speech, looks like they have no plan to go back from Finger 4. Let's see if Chinis are going to continue talking.

True it is very easy for them the defend there, we must push them from Ane La pass or get back at them at some other place.

Arbit and kripalbasra, Its derailing this thread.

Every time the Pakis went Paki, nooklear flashpoint was raised to paralyze decision makers.
Secondly deterrence breaks down when the parties threaten nuke use.
So its bigger than danda waving.
Folks no omre deterrence here.

Surayg next time please be more forceful.
This thread believe it or not has many visitors.
So need to address all audiences.

Posting it here for the record, looks like the Rafale mania has made people forget the massed PLA on our borders :wink:.

Clarifying LAC could create new disputes: Chinese envoy
Vivasvat

Post by Vivasvat »

On twitter: PLA chopper down near Uttarakhand
Any truth to this?
banrjeer

Post by banrjeer »

=== OT Post deleted === - admin

IS CHINA'S WESTERN THEATRE COMMAND CONFIDENT ENOUGH TO CHALLENGE INDIA?
Interesting article, it claimed that the PLA Western Theatre Command over recent years:
> Has benefited most from China’s limited ground forces modernisation.
> Has more autonomy than other theatre commands.
> Has ramped up military drills in harsh climate conditions.