India's Border Security with China and Pakistan-2020 - Part 2

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
ritesh

Re: India's Border Security with China and Pakistan-2020 - Part 2

Post by ritesh »

rajpa wrote:
Roop wrote:

Two excellent ideas that we should have followed on both previous 'surgical strikes', i.e. in response to the Uri attack and the Pulwama attack. Especially re. what Ritesh said, it is clear that GoI so far has made too much effort to try and save Paki's H&D, keep the Indian military response so low-key and secret that Pakis simply deny that anything happened, and the Indian native traitor class (the 'sabooth gang' of INC, CPI, Lutyens media etc.) publicly say they believe Pakis and GoI is lying.
Great point. If any infiltration or incursion is spotted, 15 Porki army posts in that region should be obliterated/wiped out for facilitating it. This should be announced as our strategic defense policy against terrorist infiltration and should not be equated to ceasefire violations.

(We can print this and handover to TSP in a nice ceremony as photo op opportunity of our joint collaboration against terrorism. :twisted: that way the sabooth brigage also will be happy.)
Eggactly... We have to take the battle into POK and beyond to limit our collateral damage.

I hope IA starts capturing territory rather than just reacting to provocation.
rajpa

Post by rajpa »

First destroy posts that facilitate infiltration. Then occupy the posts. Advance. (salami slicing with desi characteristics)

rajpa wrote:First destroy posts that facilitate infiltration. Then occupy the posts. Advance. (salami slicing with desi characteristics)
I think this is a slightly wrong strategy, we should rather focus first on destroying Paki Army Hino, trucks, Jeeps with Ammo, Missile < artillery, Cell phone towers, Electricity distribution points, Bridges , Barracks, parked helicopters etc- i.e Make it costly for the Pakistani Army, destroy infrastructure so lets the Jihadis walk preferably through minefields through the LOC, attack them before crossing, make Paki civilian population close to the LOC scarce. Basically Many of these Jihadis and Pakistani army should die on their side of the LOC preferably with losing a leg and blood draining from them so their colleagues can see the trauma. Paki Posts yes but they are well structured and prepared to be attacked their, we must hit their soft belly and not only the shell.
rajpa

Post by rajpa »

Aditya_V wrote:
rajpa wrote:First destroy posts that facilitate infiltration. Then occupy the posts. Advance. (salami slicing with desi characteristics)
I think this is a slightly wrong strategy, we should rather focus first on destroying Paki Army Hino, trucks, Jeeps with Ammo, Missile < artillery, Cell phone towers, Electricity distribution points, Bridges , Barracks, parked helicopters etc- i.e Make it costly for the Pakistani Army, destroy infrastructure so lets the Jihadis walk preferably through minefields through the LOC, attack them before crossing, make Paki civilian population close to the LOC scarce. Basically Many of these Jihadis and Pakistani army should die on their side of the LOC preferably with losing a leg and blood draining from them so their colleagues can see the trauma. Paki Posts yes but they are well structured and prepared to be attacked their, we must hit their soft belly and not only the shell.
Paki posts are territory that needs to be occupied by us. Whether you blow up trucks or porkis in the process is purely based on what is in the surrounding area. It will all need to be obliterated to stop terror infiltration. That is our Strategic Infiltration Prevention Policy.

Aditya_V wrote:
I think this is a slightly wrong strategy, we should rather focus first on destroying Paki Army Hino, trucks, Jeeps with Ammo, Missile < artillery, Cell phone towers, Electricity distribution points, Bridges , Barracks, parked helicopters etc-...
Is there any way to salami slice their territory? Starting with the protrusions which are surrounded by India on 3 sides?

shyamd wrote: There are a number of points

The perception is that GOI is "accommodating" but that's not necessarily correct and the actual truth on ground.

PLA was not geared up for a conflict either - they didn't have the numbers for a start, they didn't take the neighbouring heights... PLA was following the usual policy of 'testing' the adversary, pushing the limits on shifting the border (which needs to be read into context of what PLA is doing on all its borders...who wasn't complaining about PLA aggressive actions on borders?) and the most likely reason is to get GOI to agree to something (RE: BRI)...

Even in Doklam - I can tell you it was PLA that was sweating.
Thank you sir for your response. We are less accommodating than in past but we are still giving others rope so that they can hang us.

PLA might not be ready for the conflict but they still did what they did and almost succeeded it. What is the extra cost paid or compromise given by the Chinese? I am interested in knowing it only if okay to share in the public forum.

yensoy wrote:Is there any way to salami slice their territory? Starting with the protrusions which are surrounded by India on 3 sides?
There is no time for the salami slice policy, are we okay to fight and do this for the next 30-50 years? Or do we want to achieve the objectives in a limited time?

I personally think we are reaching for the ripe time, afg is heading for a big mess - thanks to Napaki. It is the best time and opportunity to recover our lost land with a rapid move.
rajpa

Post by rajpa »

RKumar wrote:
yensoy wrote:Is there any way to salami slice their territory? Starting with the protrusions which are surrounded by India on 3 sides?
There is no time for the salami slice policy, are we okay to fight and do this for the next 30-50 years? Or do we want to achieve the objectives in a limited time?

I personally think we are reaching for the ripe time, afg is heading for a big mess - thanks to Napaki. It is the best time and opportunity to recover our lost land with a rapid move.
You have to start somewhere right? Start with the Strategic Infiltration Prevention Policy and capture as many posts as possible to prevent infiltration, especially after the Taliban/LeT/LeJ/Jaish whatnot threat is now in the open.

easier said than done..how do we do that with the artillery still in the the state it is ..200 odd bofors..no repeat orders for K9, limited deliveries of dhanush and atags still in summer/winter trials?
rajpa

Post by rajpa »

ArjunPandit wrote:easier said than done..how do we do that with the artillery still in the the state it is ..200 odd bofors..no repeat orders for K9, limited deliveries of dhanush and atags still in summer/winter trials?
Let's do it next year then.

rajpa wrote:
ArjunPandit wrote:easier said than done..how do we do that with the artillery still in the the state it is ..200 odd bofors..no repeat orders for K9, limited deliveries of dhanush and atags still in summer/winter trials?
Let's do it next year then.
i would have been fine with that too..but things dont seem to be moving..or may be we jingos expect the glacier to gallop

RKumar wrote: Thank you sir for your response. We are less accommodating than in past but we are still giving others rope so that they can hang us.
Well this isn't necessarily a correct interpretation... responses are not always publicised to control escalation ladder. Weakness is what drives emotions and enables the press to sell their paper...
PLA might not be ready for the conflict but they still did what they did and almost succeeded it.
Did they succeed? Not really...
What is the extra cost paid or compromise given by the Chinese? I am interested in knowing it only if okay to share in the public forum.
I can answer in long post but to keep it simple... PLA did get some stuff but if anything they have awoken the lions and forced GOI to undertake strategic moves (diplomatic, economic) and take long term military steps. Strategically though PLA did have some victories particularly it forced GOI to divert resources during the COVID crisis.. The true cost will probably be revealed later..
Last edited by shyamd on 31 Aug 2021 23:32, edited 4 times in total.

Roop wrote: Two withdrawals by whom? India? China? One of each?

Your posts are IMO really interesting, but you have to be a little less cryptic/ambiguous and say directly what you mean.

TIA.
By India. PLA weren't allowed on the hills that IA took until much later after talks.

We are waiting for Pakistan to implode.

I am really confused. Did we return to status quo ante April 2020 ? If the answer is "no", then we did not win right? I thought the very reason we occupied Kailash range is to get the Chinese go back to status quo ante.

Another view point on the negotiations with the Chins

https://bharatshakti.in/military-diseng ... abilities/
The negotiations at military leaders’ levels have not yielded to pre-April, 2020 dispositions of the opposing forces in Eastern Ladakh. As far as trade between the two countries is concerned, it has logged positive growth notwithstanding the measures initiated by the government.
The 12th round of military commanders’ level talks between India and China resulted in mutual agreement in disengagement only at Gogra Post (PP 17 A) out of the multiple contentious friction points of Gogra, Hot spring, Depsang plains and Demchok.
What could have been the Chinese motivation to agree to a pull back from friction points that India insisted? In the ninth round of talks, the motivation was to eliminate Indian domination over Moldo Garrison and neutralize the much-publicized Indian counter action over Kailash ranges. The disengagement was thus swift and verified during the 10th round of talks.
Contrary to the statement of Indian Foreign Minister S Jaishankar that peace and tranquility in the border area is the basis of India – China relations. His Chinese counterpart Wang Yi believes in consolidation of results of disengagement that has been achieved and acceptance of current status quo; meaning two steps forward and one step back.
While militarily, in the economic and technological domain, the asymmetry between India and China is stark, there are more than a few vulnerabilities of the Chinese which can be selectively exploited. Be it the origin of COVID-19, Tibet, Xinjiang, Hong Kong, Taiwan and in the South China Sea, India seems to have distinctly avoided antagonizing the Chinese sensitivities apparently because of its relative disadvantage in the economic and military fields.

https://bharatshakti.in/northern-army-c ... we-ceding/

The above link provides the counter argument from the NA Commander. Perhaps IA is satisfied giving up patrolling rights since they are more confident with other electronic means of surveillance.
rajpa

Post by rajpa »

On second thought, list down the top 5 infiltration points, use overwhelming power to destroy surrounding posts at these points only. For that we should have sufficient heavy weaponry.

Destroy Posts. Occupy Posts. Advance - Strategic Infiltration Prevention Policy.

destruction has already happened but not occupation...

Is India prepared to conduct an offensive action to capture territory. Even if it's our own?

If the political establishment is okay with all that entails both with PRC and TSP. Then we are in for interesting times.
S_Madhukar

Post by S_Madhukar »

2021 and it still feels like 1521. If we are that keen on prostration before our neighbours instead of having our troops suffer may be the MEA, DM and ministers should go every year to their capitals and pay tribute, do mujra, prostrate, leave their kids as hostages (some probably do already) just like medieval times. No point in tamasha about border management, tactics, defence policy without the weapons needed for defence and then obsolete mig 21s . I sometimes wish other countries shame us publicly as a 3rd rate power below Bakis instead of a rising superpower with the kind of diplomacy we pursue to knock some sense into us
S_Madhukar

Post by S_Madhukar »

The worst part is our MIC and MoD announcing all sorts of weapons, delivering them 10 years late in meagre quantities and then forgetting the basics. Much better to quietly do things, do them quickly and let our neighbours know thru their intel once we have a massive stockpile. But no, we think we will just scare them by our brochures. And then when it doesn’t work we run into the arms of US, Russia etc. By then damage is done and just like Soviet times we put out a mumbo jumbo statement which no one here understands and then off we go to sleep again
sajaym

Post by sajaym »

Rant mode on...

Today we are seeing the victory of munnas trained by the Pukis, taking over an entire country. In one master stroke, the Pukis have gain another bigger 'arm' in place of their 'arm' which we cut off in 1971. All this talk of us occupying POK is now fruit less, it should have been done ages ago because now it will take tons of cash & barrels of blood to attempt it.

The biggest blunder is that we gave up the munnas the WE trained once upon a time -- the LTTE. Had we persisted with them, today Sri Lanka would not have been on the verge of a Chinese takeover. Once the LTTE would have succeeded, we could have even trained the Tibetans similarly to cut up China. Instead that moron RG-1 alienated the LTTE, lost 1500 of our braves in the process and even got himself blown up. What a f****ing waste.

And so today we are sitting and watching our neighbourhood being taken over by our enemies. I saw in some news report where they were comparing the Map of Afghanistan in July & August '21 -- you could gradually see more & more of Afghanistan getting filled with the red colour representing Taliban control. Something similar is happening around our country today, our neighbourhood is getting occupied by more & more 'red' forces with each passing year.

^ It's the failure to think strategically. Now at least, with India being threatened in Kashmir, India should not only strengthen itself immensely, but form a coalition of Dharmic and other sympathetic countries( i.e Philippines) to counter, and eventually defeat the Islamists and their supporters. It has to be done. India itself is being threatened, this is no joke.
S_Madhukar

Post by S_Madhukar »

(Last Rant…. )The funny part with LTTE and MB is we showed how to make things happen and then now we have become the targets ourselves when we didn’t even let the experiments complete. And the Bakis are just a different software version of us, if we were to be virus 1.0 they are 2.0 and look at how they took notes and succeeded while we intellectually smart ones regressed. Theory vs. Practice!

Additionally it always seems to me that our defence chiefs MoD etc tell us one thing, the government something else and with the MEA something else. It’s like yeah we are prepared but the night vision doesn’t really work, the missiles are too few, the armoury has many duds and even our neighbours sometimes know as well so we are eventually led to a climb down…

Our MoD and Britshit MoD is similar in that way , one that should be ideally on the way up and the other on it’s way down. But the same bluster and statements and public posturing versus the reality. At least one can lean on the US (until kicked off ) and doesn’t have external threats while the other is still delusional despite real internal and external threats with no real friends to speak off

Ah Chanakya we don’t deserve you! (Rant over)
ritesh

Post by ritesh »

sajaym wrote:Rant mode on...

Today we are seeing the victory of munnas trained by the Pukis, taking over an entire country. In one master stroke, the Pukis have gain another bigger 'arm' in place of their 'arm' which we cut off in 1971. All this talk of us occupying POK is now fruit less, it should have been done ages ago because now it will take tons of cash & barrels of blood to attempt it
. Do you mean to say those ak47 welding tinpot terrorists on a Toyota pick can thwart IA?
sajaym wrote: The biggest blunder is that we gave up the munnas the WE trained once upon a time -- the LTTE. Had we persisted with them, today Sri Lanka would not have been on the verge of a Chinese takeover. Once the LTTE would have succeeded, we could have even trained the Tibetans similarly to cut up China. Instead that moron RG-1 alienated the LTTE, lost 1500 of our braves in the process and even got himself blown up. What a f****ing waste.
And wasn't LTTE got converted by Cristian missionary and had they won, would have been even bigger danger for us?
Maria

Post by Maria »

ritesh wrote:
sajaym wrote:Rant mode on...

Today we are seeing the victory of munnas trained by the Pukis, taking over an entire country. In one master stroke, the Pukis have gain another bigger 'arm' in place of their 'arm' which we cut off in 1971. All this talk of us occupying POK is now fruit less, it should have been done ages ago because now it will take tons of cash & barrels of blood to attempt it
. Do you mean to say those ak47 welding tinpot terrorists on a Toyota pick can thwart IA?
sajaym wrote: The biggest blunder is that we gave up the munnas the WE trained once upon a time -- the LTTE. Had we persisted with them, today Sri Lanka would not have been on the verge of a Chinese takeover. Once the LTTE would have succeeded, we could have even trained the Tibetans similarly to cut up China. Instead that moron RG-1 alienated the LTTE, lost 1500 of our braves in the process and even got himself blown up. What a f****ing waste.
And wasn't LTTE got converted by Cristian missionary and had they won, would have been even bigger danger for us?
That's right, Prabhakaran's LTTE was not a dharmic fighting force at all. If they had succeeded, there would have been a direct threat of TN attempting to secede from India due to the wrong types there. While Gota is a c*nt, we need to be thankful for wiping out the LTTE. What I cannot forgive him for is brutalizing the innocent Tamizh civilians of northern Lanka.

Pakistan is India's strategic depth against Taliban
ashishvikas

Post by ashishvikas »

Indian Army tank drills in Ladakh today.

https://twitter.com/livefist/status/143 ... NcUEA&s=19

Xi appoints new theater Commander for the Western Theater, Xinjiang, Tibet and the India border
At about 5:20 in the afternoon, the promotion ceremony began in the solemn sound of the national anthem. Xu Qiliang, vice chairman of the Central Military Commission, read out the order for promotion to the rank of general signed by the chairman of the Central Military Commission Xi Jinping. Zhang Youxia, vice chairman of the Central Military Commission, presided over the promotion ceremony.

The officers promoted to the rank of general this time are: Western Theater Commander Wang Haijiang, Central Theater Commander Lin Xiangyang, Navy Commander Dong Jun, Air Force Commander Chang Dingqiu, and National Defense University President Xu Xueqiang.
This is the 4th new Commander for the Western Theater Command in 10 months. Wang Haijiang replaces Xu Qiling who was only promoted in July. Xu Qiling replaced Zhang Xudong who in turn replaced Zhao Zongqi in December 2020. 4 Theater Commanders in 10 months. Clearly Xi Jinping is unhappy with the PLA performance on the LAC. The Indian armed forces are doing something right to aggravate Xi :)
LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

Will something happen now...? Given the fact that PP15, Demchok and Depsang are yet to be resolved...?

x post

Latest SitRep

- GOI is implementing a strategy & plan on Afghanistan that was created earlier this year. Plan was in process of being updated during collapse.
- Intel assessment is that TSPA will turn up temperature in LoC and J&K very soon... There is a gradual redeployment of terror groups towards LoC (with Afghans being spotted).
- Meet held between PM, Def min, Home min yesterday. Number of options have been proposed by the Nat Sec (Defence is an element of Nat Sec) team with dealing with Afghan situation... Range of issues are being managed including how GOI will secure it's interest (i.e. make sure Afghan soil is not used for terrorism which is the top priority).

- My view: Armed forces (IA/IAF) will be making preparations for deployment to somewhere in central asia in coalition with regional powers (if green light provided). I suspect Brigade level operation with some air cover. Primary task will be border security.

shyamd wrote: - My view: Armed forces (IA/IAF) will be making preparations for deployment to somewhere in central asia in coalition with regional powers (if green light provided). I suspect Brigade level operation with some air cover. Primary task will be border security.
Hope you are right. The developments on loc were predictable even for an arm chair jernail. Time to make tsp/Taliban feel some discomfort in backside. High bloody time.
Kuch toh karo dhyan
Anoop

Post by Anoop »

shyamd wrote:- My view: Armed forces (IA/IAF) will be making preparations for deployment to somewhere in central asia in coalition with regional powers (if green light provided). I suspect Brigade level operation with some air cover. Primary task will be border security.

This is quite incomprehensible to me. Border security for whom? And how? If Taliban are being redirected to PoK, what's the use of a Brigade level force on the CAR borders?

There has to be a simple Bharat policy, every time we kill a caveman in Kailash Pradesh (J&K) - we must take out 10 PA on the border by all possible means available to us. It is Napak‘s responsibility to control its pets. To hell with what anyone else says or does.

Guys I think it is quite simple. For Bunnies and Pakis keep some standoff weapons/armed drones and aircraft in the standby. Build hard intelligence assets to see the terrorist assets and neutralize them even before they reach LOC (aka Balakote operation). You can use Ayni to that end. Russians/Tajiks would not mind us doing that. Do as many Balakotes as you want but do it silently until they scream murder. If they want to save H&D they will not scream. If they do, we can simply say it is an anti-terror operation and nothing else. Obama Admin did that very effectively with the drones.

Our focus should be on the Chinese side. Next time any games like Galwan should be met with robust military response no more hundred rounds of talks. We should upgrade our capabilities to do that. Keep building our economy, keep etching our own MIC and keep focusing on the trade deficit. I think MAD team probably have some form of this strategy in place already. We need to get our people jobs and economic security before we start thinking about other countries that need help. Who cares if Bunnies and Pakis create a basket case terrorist state. Let them do it and export it. Our interest should be protected that is it.

https://twitter.com/TheWolfpackIN/statu ... 60961?s=20 ---> Interestingly the new commander of Flag of China PLA's Western Theater Command & GOC-in-C of Indian Army's Northern Command met each other during Sino-Indian joint military exercise in Pune (2016).

@ldev ji do we know where the three other theatre commanders are now ? Leeeducation camp ??

suryag wrote:@ldev ji do we know where the three other theatre commanders are now ? Leeeducation camp ??
Zhao Zongqi retired. But Xu Qiling and Zhang Xudong are both less than 60 and neither has been appointed to any new position.....Maybe Leeeducation camp :)