India's Border Security with China and Pakistan-2020 - Part 2

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India's Border Security with China and Pakistan-2020 - Part 2

shyamd wrote:
ramana wrote:Hari Nair, What are you thinking?
- PLA reinforcing Depsang, Geography etc with armour ans India too.
- Gen. Narvane visit to birder this week to White Knights Corps? Looks Pak facing.
- Covid Phase 2 chaos. Now abating.
Gen. Naravane Was in Ladakh 2 weeks ago.

Alternative view - why wouldn’t PLA move more troops to their rear if GOI announcing transfer of strike corps to its rear?

In mil to mil talks PLA asked IA to reduce in rear…
Finally today Belfer Center confirmed my alternative view....

LINK
Speaking of the border tensions with India, the Belfer Center noted: "This means that China is regularly operating with a permanent Indian conventional force advantage along its border areas. In the event of a major standoff or conflict with India, it would have to rely upon mobilization primarily from Xinjiang and secondarily from the Western Theater Command forces deeper in China's interior. By contrast, Indian forces are already largely in position."

Of course, one way of overcoming this numerical disadvantage along the Indian border is to beef up the equipment issued to Xinjiang Military District with more modern replacements, as we indeed see occurring.

The Nanjiang (Southern Xinjiang) Military District is responsible for the Aksai Chin area along the Indian border. The 6th Mechanized Infantry Division with 10,000-13,000 personnel is important since it is the closest to Aksai Chin, the location where last year's Galwan Valley bloodbath occurred. Notably, only one Chinese highway (called G219) leads into the area.

Once border defense and other services like the PLA Air Force and PLA Rocket Force are included, the Western Theater Command possesses some 235,000 personnel.

According to Blasko, however, only a "small fraction is deployed near the Indian border, primarily because the restrictive mountainous terrain and high altitude limit the effectiveness, and increase the vulnerability, of large mechanized formations. This terrain favors the defense over mechanized attack confined to valley floors, especially if the defense is from fortified emplacements on the high ground." (ANI)
An order of battle compiled from several sources comes up with the following units in Xinjiang Military District: three motorized infantry divisions (the 4th, 8th and 11th Motorized Infantry Divisions); the 6th Mechanized Infantry Division; a special operations brigade; the 2nd Artillery Brigade; a "high-powered artillery brigade; two infantry regiments (the 1st and 2nd Independent Regiments); the 13th Air Defense Brigade; an engineer regiment; the 3rd Aviation Brigade; an intelligence/reconnaissance brigade; and additional logistics units.
I'll post further thoughts later. All that is happening is now a cycle of defensive manoeuvres so each side doesn't want to be caught out by the other in a big way.

TSPA - GOI peace talks.
TSPA need to focus on taking over Afghanistan. Regional challengers like Iran have kick started ops to battle for influence in key districts and provinces. Major recruitment drives underway in afghan population in Iran. ISI is most worried about Pashtun population/influencers being swayed by Iran.

TSPA are diverting terror groups etc to northern borders to cement the take over once US/NATO troops leave.

At a time when GOI should be upping the ante, GOI is caught dealing with COVID-19. Hopefully India will be out of its predicament by July.

Nat sec community fully aware of above and have been speaking with key people in Afghanistan, Iran and former Northern Alliance figures.
Ashokk

Post by Ashokk »

India keeping eye on PLA drill near eastern Ladakh
“The PLA has now finished rotating its troops, including two motorized divisions, which are in areas across eastern Ladakh. It has also kicked off its annual summer exercises in depth areas, including Kanxiwar and Kashgar, located 100 to 250-km from the Line of Actual Control (LAC),” said a senior officer on Tuesday.
Closer to the LAC, at locations 25 to 120-km away, the PLA has unremittingly converted its troop shelters, ammunition depots, helipads and surface-to-air missile positions established last year into permanent positions now, as was earlier reported by TOI.

https://www.msn.com/en-in/news/other/on ... d=msedgntp

Options for having a third route to eastern Ladakh, via the Shingo pass or Shinkun La.

"According to geology study conducted by Snow and Avalanche Study Establishment on behalf of the BRO, the Manali based institute recommended three options of constructing tunnels to obviate the pass. The first option was a 4.25km tunnel located at an distance of 36.5km from Darcha (99 km stone on Manali-Sarchu road). The north portal of the proposed tunnel is 41km from Darcha. The other two proposed options are 7km tunnel and a 13.81km tunnel.

For the BRO, the 4.25km tunnel is a preferred option as it addresses the most difficult portion of the road and remaining road could be kept open with snow clearance effort and some avalanche structures. The time for construction of this tunnel, which is already on the road axis, will be three working seasons and the road-tunnel will be completed by 2024.

According to BRO, this option offers the best gradient, least overburden and least support requirements with Afcons, who constructed the Atal Tunnel, moving their equipment to build the tunnel under Shinkun la on a war footing.

The NHIDCL, under the ministry of surface transport, on its part has suggested an altogether new road alignment, north-east of the present axis with a 13.5km tunnel under Shinkun La. Projecting this as a shortest route linking Atal Tunnel to the Darcha-Padun-Nimmu road, the NHDCL proposal involves building access roads on both sides to the proposed 13.5 km tunnel, which will take many a season to complete. The NHIDCL is preparing a detailed project report on the new route."
hemant_sai

Post by hemant_sai »

This is a hypothetical question but to reason India's neighborhood policies - especially why it can't be harsh when required.

If US is located in place of India with same neighbors.
What action US would take if neighbors like Nepal/Bangladesh/Sri Lanka which are friendly on paper but not giving any respect for security concerns of US w.r.t. China?
On Papistan, if it is known and active enemy and neighbor, how many times will US take permission from international countries or Islamic block?

There has to be shift in handling those neighbors. Instead of trying to find China's neighbor for reciprocal action, get our neighbor in line with our security needs - if they are ready to act as enemy proxy, then we better treat them as enemy on par with Papistan.

Our foreign policy must be strict and vocal about this. If required we will eliminate any emerging threats at any cost and we will not wait till threat is materialized.

Ramana,
The thread headdind should be changed from "India's Border Security with China and Pakistan -2020 - Part 2" to
"India's Border Security with Tibet and Pakistan -2020 - Part 2"
because India has no direct border with mainland China.
Tibet is an occupied country and we should not forget that.
Thanks in advance

hemant_sai wrote:This is a hypothetical question but to reason India's neighborhood policies - especially why it can't be harsh when required.

What action US would take if neighbors like Nepal/Bangladesh/Sri Lanka which are friendly on paper but not giving any respect for security concerns of US w.r.t. China?
On Papistan, if it is known and active enemy and neighbor, how many times will US take permission from international countries or Islamic block?
This is a pointless question. The military and economic muscle available to the US govt. is orders of magnitude greater than what is available to GoI. Obviously their strategy to deal with these issues would be different simply because they would have more options available. The entire reason China has been able to exert an inordinate amount on influence over these countries is because of the money they have pumped in there, not because of any great diplomatic strategy. In fact their diplomacy has been rather ham fisted and their superiority complex and tendency to strong arm everyone has actually backfired in some cases. India does not have anywhere near the financial power necessary to directly counter that and we are not going to in the near future.

Meanwhile let's see what exactly has the US achieved w.r.t Pakistan, a country they had plenty of leverage over. Pakistan conducted the Kunduz airlift under the noses of the Americans, and continued to arm, supply and shelter the Afghan Taliban and other jihadi groups often to the direct detriment of US forces in Afghanistan. After 2 decades the US is leaving Afg in a mess after having to negotiate with the very people they spent 2 decades fighting with, primarily because they couldn't stop the Pakistanis from supporting them. If this isn't a colossal failure, I don't know what is.

Interesting study:
Bylakuppe Tibetans adapted to low altitude living, CCMB research finds
A CSIR-Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology research has revealed that the blood parameters of Tibetans in Karnataka are significantly different from their counterparts in the high-altitude Ladakh.
"We found that the red blood cells, haemoglobin concentration and hematocrit are significantly lower in the low-altitude Tibetans. Their haemoglobin levels are much closer to those living on the plains than the other Tibetans who live beyond 4500 met...

Government may go ahead with shorter tunnel on new link to Ladakh from Himachal
The government is likely to give the go ahead to the proposal of a shorter all-weather tunnel beneath the Shinkun La pass, on the border between Ladakh and Himachal Pradesh, movement on which cannot be seen either by China or Pakistan.

There were two proposals before the government, one 4.25 km proposed by the Border Roads Organisation (BRO) and another by National Highway Infrastructure Development Corporation Ltd (NHIDCL) to build a 12.7 km tunnel. The defence ministry in March had taken detailed presentations of both the proposals. Last year, it had given the go ahead to NHIDCL to prepare the detailed project report (DPR).

“The decision has not yet been taken. But there is a view in favour of the shorter tunnel as it can be built fast and at less cost,” a top government official said. Sources said the BRO would have to prepare the DPR for the shorter tunnel, once the decision is taken. BRO sources said they had not got any intimation till Wednesday afternoon.

Sources said the shorter tunnel can be built in three years while the longer one would take at least five years.

The tunnel at Shinkun La pass will provide all-weather road connectivity between Himachal Pradesh and Leh, which is being developed as an alternate road for strategic reasons. The urgency for the tunnel gained limelight during the face-off between Indian and Chinese Army last year.

The tunnel at Shinkhun La will link the NH-3 from the Himachal Pradesh side with Darcha-Padam-Nimu road to Leh.

The Border Roads Organisation (BRO) had earlier suggested the government take up the tunnel and Nimu-Padam-Darcha road projects on priority. Because of this, the alternative connectivity from Manali to Leh through Nimu-Padam-Darcha axis will reduce the travel time as compared to the time taken on the existing routes passing through Zojila pass from Srinagar.

shyamd wrote:TSPA - GOI peace talks.
TSPA need to focus on taking over Afghanistan. Regional challengers like Iran have kick started ops to battle for influence in key districts and provinces. Major recruitment drives underway in afghan population in Iran. ISI is most worried about Pashtun population/influencers being swayed by Iran.

TSPA are diverting terror groups etc to northern borders to cement the take over once US/NATO troops leave.

At a time when GOI should be upping the ante, GOI is caught dealing with COVID-19. Hopefully India will be out of its predicament by July.

Nat sec community fully aware of above and have been speaking with key people in Afghanistan, Iran and former Northern Alliance figures.
Elements of former Northern Alliance are now regrouping. Tajikistan likely to be a rear hub for logistics. VP Dostum is leading some of these efforts contacting CIA, French intel, GOI, Russians, Turkish intel for support. They are also talking to ISI. Slowly Taleban are taking more ground in the south and routes to Kabul.

This will have a bearing on defensive posture on western, northern and Eastern fronts.
hemant_sai

Post by hemant_sai »

hemant_sai wrote:This is a hypothetical question but to reason India's neighborhood policies - especially why it can't be harsh when required.

This is a pointless question. ... After 2 decades the US is leaving Afg in a mess after having to negotiate with the very people they spent 2 decades fighting with, primarily because they couldn't stop the Pakistanis from supporting them. If this isn't a colossal failure, I don't know what is.
My question was about territorial and existential threats that India has - if same are faced by US being in India's place. Would they have same mindset or foreign policy?
Yes our economic prowess is not as good as US or China and it will neither be so for another decade or more. But don't we have enough military strength
to exert pressure and put things straight with neighbors? Why we have to give this notion that we will abide all international laws and hence obviously our neighbors don't have to fear our backlash?

One of my argument to all Human Right cells advocating India about certain minority is, that you first divide your country to give tat minority in your country an independent state and still keep half of those in your country and also allow them to have their own personal law boards and then come to us with your concerns about human rights.

Why we are not speaking bluntly to all those propagandist in those international orgs? We got to show our resolve and pride and expose them without any mercy.

We call for the action on terrorism but at same time we hesitated to call the acts of Hamas as terror act and support Israel openly.
So called minority is bound to grow and still will be labeled as minority and till what millennia we are going to suppress our opinion of righteousness so that they should not feel bad about it?

Why we didn't have vision to force Bangladesh to remain non-militarized? How many decades it will take for that nation for change to extremist regime and posing another Papistan like threat?

Why we can't give threats to Sri Lanka's leadership if they are acting like Chinese proxy and threatening our life? We can f**k off their port agreements and use our naval force to show them reality of the region. But we are acting like a law abiding citizen who would sacrifice himself to be registered as good fella.
S_Madhukar

Post by S_Madhukar »

We are so defensive in execution of national policy; that lethargy and lack of experience extends to foreign policy as well... if we can not stretch ourselves at home we will not do so abroad. Bold thinking meeting bold execution is bold policy but we don’t encourage and sustain those folks
AshishA

Post by AshishA »

hemant_sai wrote:My question was about territorial and existential threats that India has - if same are faced by US being in India's place. Would they have same mindset or foreign policy?
Yes our economic prowess is not as good as US or China and it will neither be so for another decade or more. But don't we have enough military strength
to exert pressure and put things straight with neighbors? Why we have to give this notion that we will abide all international laws and hence obviously our neighbors don't have to fear our backlash?

One of my argument to all Human Right cells advocating India about certain minority is, that you first divide your country to give tat minority in your country an independent state and still keep half of those in your country and also allow them to have their own personal law boards and then come to us with your concerns about human rights.

Why we are not speaking bluntly to all those propagandist in those international orgs? We got to show our resolve and pride and expose them without any mercy.

We call for the action on terrorism but at same time we hesitated to call the acts of Hamas as terror act and support Israel openly.
So called minority is bound to grow and still will be labeled as minority and till what millennia we are going to suppress our opinion of righteousness so that they should not feel bad about it?

Why we didn't have vision to force Bangladesh to remain non-militarized? How many decades it will take for that nation for change to extremist regime and posing another Papistan like threat?

Why we can't give threats to Sri Lanka's leadership if they are acting like Chinese proxy and threatening our life? We can f**k off their port agreements and use our naval force to show them reality of the region. But we are acting like a law abiding citizen who would sacrifice himself to be registered as good fella.
My feelings exactly. Why does India has to follow every single international law like it's the laxman rekha while everyone else regularly violates them. And what do we even get from trying to please everybody? Our own position is weakened and we are forced to give in to unacceptable concessions.

To answer your question, I believe US would have gone to war if their mainland faced a existential threat and maybe even threat nuclear war. We saw that in Cuba 1962. We regularly see how US continues to dictate policies of nearby neighbours. And they even had the wisdom to de militarize their former enemies like Japan and Germany which we didn't do in case of Pakistan and Bangladesh.

The reason for India behaving as a good boy, I think stems from from fact that we have been under slavery aka oppression for a long time that we have forgotten to think for ourselves. First from the Delhi sultanate, mughals and then the British. This experience should have made us paranoid about national security like it did for other former colonies like US and China. But somehow we have embraced a very idealistic notions of the world like everyone will follow the same laws as we do, everyone will see the do things from the good of their heart, everyone wants peace etc etc. We have become free on paper but our thought process is still shackled by the chains left by the British and Gandhi era (of a peaceful obedient slaves).

By not making our national security as our topmost priority we are risking our hard fought freedom. We are inviting the same horrors we had to undergo for last 800 years.
LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

The Chindu published this article about some minor stand-off in Galwan Valley in 1st week of May---> https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/ ... 627101.ece

Ofcourse Army denied it officially in a series of tweets--->
https://twitter.com/adgpi/status/139649 ... 04009?s=19
But then, this small sentence in the article caught my eye--->
A no-patrolling zone extending to around 3 kilometre, around 1.5 km each, on either side of the clash site near the Y-junction of the Galwan Valley,
The mention of Y-Junction in this article seemed odd... Y-Junction that we heard many times in news, is in Depsang sector near Burtse, not in Galwan... Currently, stand-off is continuing mainly in Gogra-HotSprings area and in Depsang... Army statement specifically mentions that no stand-off took place in Galwan in 1st week of May...
1) So, is it possible that some incident happened not in Galwan valley but in Depsang sector...? The author would have heard about the incident in Y-Junction but confused it with Galwan sector...
Or
2) Is there another location in Galwan valley designated as Y-Junction...?
Or
3) The author is plain stupid that she manufactured news without knowing that Y-Junction is located in Depsang sector and not in Galwan...?
LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

On a side note, notice that Chindu edited the article after Army issued a statement... They inserted Army's statement in the middle of the article, not at the end...
The Army, however, said no such “minor face-off” took place. “The article seems to be inspired by sources who may be trying to derail the ongoing process for early resolution of issues in eastern Ladakh,” it said in a statement.

“After the no-patrolling zones were created last year, the two sides occasionally conduct reconnaissance to see if the other side has crossed the line. The patrols are sent at different times. On the particular day, the Indian and Chinese patrols reached the area at the same time, a minor face-off happened but they returned quickly,” said the official.
The first para is the official statement from Army...
The second para is statement from the 'source'...
Notice that they inserted Army's statement in the middle of the article, just before the 'source' official's words are quoted...
If an unsuspecting person reads the article, he would think that Army officially gave the entire statement...

Not a problem, the Indian army is adept at finding the chinks in China's armour.

Indian Army has ramped up manpower at what is referred to as the "Central Sector" - which is the Himachal border with Tibet. Historically this part of the border is the most under-manned from an IA perspective.

IA had been conducting a rebalancing study even before the May 2020 face off with PRC. It confirmed what many people have been telling GOI for years - IA is too heavily focused on TSP front and needs to rebalance forces to Northern and Eastern borders.

IA has now moved significant number of troops into the area and redrawn the boundaries of how the Northern borders are managed.

A minimum of 3 Brigades will be kept ready (i.e. acclimatised with full local theatre training) in the rear for offensive operations in Eastern Ladakh. PLA have already raised this with IA in talks.

GOI have moved in Counter Insurgency focused troops to manage some parts of the Eastern Ladakh border from J&K.

This is just the start of things to come...

At the local level I am expecting PLA to start probing IA/ITBP coordination and defences/thresholds. GOI has indicated that the present occupation at various sectors is unacceptable - so there will be some sharp response.

DRAFT: Simulation of a Chinese air raid on Indian positions in Laddakh with air launched cruise missiles and bombs on H-6 and J-11, AWACS, EW aircraft and UAVs. India with Mig-29, Su-30, Mig-21, Phalcon, Netra AAA, Akash & SpyDer. Made in Command Modern Operations. Any guesses how it'll go?
Full video will be published in a few days.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oB2HUwkuY0Q

India to shortly deploy new Israeli Heron drones in Ladakh, LAC sector.

The Indian forces are set to get a major boost to their surveillance capabilities as they are shortly going to receive their advanced Heron drones from Israel for keeping an eye on the Chinese activities in the Ladakh sector and other areas along the Line of Actual Control with China.

Despite the delays caused due to the ongoing global pandemic, the Indian forces are going to get four Israeli drones soon for deployment in the Eastern Ladakh and other sectors along the LAC government sources told ANI.

The drones arriving shortly are more advanced than the Herons in the existing inventory and their anti-jamming capability is much better than their previous versions, the sources said.

The acquisition of these drones had been done under the emergency financial powers granted by Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led government to the defence forces under which they can buy equipment and systems worth Rs 500 crores to upgrade their warfighting capabilities, amid ongoing border confict with China, they added.

According to sources, the other small or mini drones are being acquired from the US that will be provided at the Battalion level to the troops on the ground and the hand-operated drones would be used to attain awareness about a specific location or area in their respective areas of responsibility.

The Indian defence forces have been taking these initiatives to acquire weapon systems that can help them in the ongoing conflict with China. The last time such a facility was given to the defence forces was in 2019 right after the Balakot airstrikes against terrorist camps in Pakistan.

Using the same facility, the Indian Navy has leased two Predator drones which have been taken from American firm General Atomics.

The Indian Air Force had exercised the same powers to acquire a large number of anti-tank guided missiles, long-range precision-guided artillery shells along with the Hammer air to ground standoff missiles with a strike range of around 70 kilometres.

^^ these systems work well in "normal" conditions upto circa September before the weather turns. This is part of preparations for this year's fighting season.

jamwal wrote:DRAFT: Simulation of a Chinese air raid on Indian positions in Laddakh with air launched cruise missiles and bombs on H-6 and J-11, AWACS, EW aircraft and UAVs. India with Mig-29, Su-30, Mig-21, Phalcon, Netra AAA, Akash & SpyDer. Made in Command Modern Operations. Any guesses how it'll go?
Full video will be published in a few days.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oB2HUwkuY0Q
Interesting. Is this software for simulating aerial missions only? Or are combined-arms simulations of ground and/or naval forces also supported?

Simulation of a surprise Chinese air attack on Indian military positions in Laddakh. Full video with audio description.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EOeZ7RuNyD8

Rudradev wrote:

Interesting. Is this software for simulating aerial missions only? Or are combined-arms simulations of ground and/or naval forces also supported?
It is a military simulation game, Command Modern Air Naval Operations with naval and air operations with a very small land operations part. It expands on Harpoon which was just for naval operations I think.

Little bit of spin in this... but I don't think they understand the mindset in Beijing at the highest levels and the prevailing environment.
Indian Army has new strategies for Pakistan, China: Punitive deterrence, credible deterrence
With tensions continuing with China, India has deployed more troops along the Line of Actual Control this summer than before.
SNEHESH ALEX PHILIP 24 May, 2021 11:21 am IST
New Delhi: The Indian military is bringing a series of key changes, including in the Order of Battle (ORBAT), with the strategy being punitive deterrence against Pakistan and credible deterrence against China, ThePrint has learnt.

This strategy, which called for integrated formations rather than just corps-level response, forms the foundation of the Indian military’s re-balance from the western borders with Pakistan to the northern and eastern borders with China.

Government sources told ThePrint that the overall strategy does not involve the military alone but also diplomacy and economics.

“From a military point of view, the western theatre has always been the focus area. Our strategy there has been that of punitive deterrence. This means that India has overwhelmingly higher military power for punitive action,” a source said.

Explaining the nuance of the strategy against China, the source said the aim is credible deterrence.

“Under credible deterrence, the opposite side should know that India has the ability for a counter operation and to inflict damage. China sees itself equal to the US in terms of military power. However, it has realised that while militarily it might be bigger, India won’t budge and can actually hit back. This affects the image that they want to portray internationally. This is called credible deterrence,” the source said, refusing to go into the key changes planned and set in motion.

Sources gave the example of the last year’s August 29/30 operation by the Indian forces when they outflanked the Chinese and occupied the heights in the southern banks of Pangong Tso, much to the discomfort of the Chinese.

Sources explained that this strategy is for along the Line of Actual Control (LAC) with China and not just Ladakh which comes under the Northern sector. This means that the strategy will extend to the Central and Eastern sectors too.

The Army chief Gen M M Naravane had in January this year said the force was “re-balancing” its deployment and strategy along the western, northern and northeastern borders to deal with any kind of threat that might emerge — be it from Pakistan or China.

The re-balance strategy came following an internal study conducted by the Army on how to prepare for the threat from China and Pakistan.

ThePrint had on 12 April reported that a summer strategy has already been put in place in Eastern Ladakh and also implemented key changes in the ORBAT.

More troops along the LAC than before
There is a higher concentration of troops in Ladakh with the focus being on Reserves and enough troops in the front to counter any possible Chinese move as tensions remain between the two countries.

Sources said the same strategy has been implemented all along the LAC, which meant there are a higher number of troops in each location with new counter operational strategies in place.

However, they made it clear that that more troops does not mean sitting all along the LAC like the Line of Control with Pakistan, but having enough troops to counter any aggression and for its own counter operations.

This meant the Army retained a higher number of troops and equipment in Ladakh, besides the 3 Division, in-charge of the LAC there, and the 14 Corps Reserve.

This includes some of the formations pumped in last year following the tensions with China, besides new elements brought in for summer deployment.

The same strategy is being followed all along the LAC as the force maintains a high state of operational alert.

Also read: Soldiers sit tight in Ladakh amid India’s Covid crisis, but construction activity continues

Focus on integrated battle and not just Corps level response
Under the changes in ORBAT, while India earlier had three Strike Corps focused against Pakistan, it now has two. And instead of just one Strike Corps against China, it has two now.

“The focus is not just on corps-level response to an aggression but also a more integrated response,” said a source.

This means not just the Integrated Battle Groups (IBGs), the brainchild of Chief of Defence Staff Gen Bipin Rawat when he was the Army chief, but also a joint response from the three Services — Army, Navy and Air Force.

Incidentally, the Army had in October 2019 put into action its concept of IBGS for the first time.

The IBGs were carved out of the Panagarh-based 17 Corps’ (Mountain Strike Corps) 59 Mountain Division.

The plan was that this would be a study case and the IBGs would be rolled out after fine-tuning.

Each IBG would be based on specific operational requirements considering the topography as well as threat perceptions.

Gen Naravane had in May last year said the IBGs would be operational “soon”. However, the process got hit because of the pandemic and the tensions that broke along the LAC in eastern Ladakh.

https://www.tribuneindia.com/news/natio ... pak-261828
LAC: China’s air defence at play, joint drill with Pak

excerpts
In a new development along the Line of Actual Control (LAC), China and Pakistan are conducting a joint military exercise in Tibet. It has two-pronged goals — targeting warships, besides launching land attack from sea; and honing air-defence skills to target enemy aircraft, missiles or UAVs.

The exercise comes in the backdrop of a recent move of the People’s Liberation Army (PLA), which has, for the first time, integrated its units with air-defence assets with PLA-Air Force (PLAAF) along the LAC.

The exercise, which reportedly started on May 22, is scheduled to end in the middle of this week.
further
Exercise under way in Tibet since May 22

China-Pak joint military drill in Tibet near LAC to end this week Exercise includes targeting warships, planes, missiles, UAVs Chinese Air-defence system deployed
Chinese low-to-medium altitude system (LY-80) deployed, has a range of about 150 km Anti-ship cruise missiles (YJ-81, YJ-82 & C-802) also being used at the drill Integrating army, air force elements

PLA air defence units in its Western Theatre (Tibet & Xinjiang) have formed a combined Air Defence Control System jointly with the PLA-Air Force (PLAAF) The PLAAF could be possibly controlling all air defence network assets along the LAC
LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

Disengagement process along LAC remains unfinished: MEA

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/ind ... IIndiaNews

Basically, nothing is going to move ahead until we do something at Gogra and Depsang similar to what we had done in Pangong Tso South Bank...
LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

We clearly know PLA occupied Finger 8 to Finger 4 in Pangong Tso North Bank and area after Y-Junction in Depsang...
Similarly, does anyone know exactly what all areas are occupied in Gogra - Hot-Springs sector by PLA...?

shyamd wrote:Indian Army has ramped up manpower at what is referred to as the "Central Sector" - which is the Himachal border with Tibet. Historically this part of the border is the most under-manned from an IA perspective.

IA had been conducting a rebalancing study even before the May 2020 face off with PRC. It confirmed what many people have been telling GOI for years - IA is too heavily focused on TSP front and needs to rebalance forces to Northern and Eastern borders.

IA has now moved significant number of troops into the area and redrawn the boundaries of how the Northern borders are managed.

A minimum of 3 Brigades will be kept ready (i.e. acclimatised with full local theatre training) in the rear for offensive operations in Eastern Ladakh. PLA have already raised this with IA in talks.

GOI have moved in Counter Insurgency focused troops to manage some parts of the Eastern Ladakh border from J&K.

This is just the start of things to come...

At the local level I am expecting PLA to start probing IA/ITBP coordination and defences/thresholds. GOI has indicated that the present occupation at various sectors is unacceptable - so there will be some sharp response.
Himachal CM visited border and reported that PLA are trying to set up a surveillance system and establish positions on heights that overlook IA/ITBP positions.

PLA are pre-empting and preparing for GOI armed response.

Army to set up new battle groups for offensive operations by next year
Army Chief today added more colour to the above post I made.

---------------------
Meanwhile in pre-WMCC meeting with PRC diplomats, PRC have pushed back on discussing Gogra-Hot springs sector as an agenda item. They have asked for this to be dealt at local level. Usual merry go round while they watch GOI fumble around about what to do next...

Intel wallas reporting that PLA manpower took severe beating due to lack of preparedness to face cold...

IAF is planning to open an airport at Chaukhutia in Uttarakand with 2.5km long runway. At the moment Bareilly base is one of the main hubs for response on Indo-China border incl. for Combat Search and Rescue.

---------------------
Ceasefire is allowing GOI to ramp up construction of bunkers for civilian population in Jammu.

jamwal wrote:Simulation of a surprise Chinese air attack on Indian military positions in Laddakh. Full video with audio description.
It is a military simulation game, Command Modern Air Naval Operations with naval and air operations with a very small land operations part. It expands on Harpoon which was just for naval operations I think.
Interesting indeed. Wonder if R77 can intercept incoming cruise missiles? R73s probably but are the EM seekers on an AAM good enough to intercept relatively small RCS targets like CMs?

This window of time till about September/October will be crucial for India - after that the S400 and Rafales will certainly make the job more difficult for the Chinese.

jamwal wrote:Simulation of a surprise Chinese air attack on Indian military positions in Laddakh. Full video with audio description.
Interesting indeed. Wonder if R77 can intercept incoming cruise missiles? R73s probably but are the EM seekers on an AAM good enough to intercept relatively small RCS targets like CMs?

This window of time till about September/October will be crucial for India - after that the S400 and Rafales will certainly make the job more difficult for the Chinese.
More Akash regiments to cover our air bases and formation HQ - which can be rolled out faster than waiting for the S-400.

Let's see how many S-400 will arrive before the year-end but if it gives confidence to services then why not put it on the list. Anyway, we have a habit of depending upon golden vs cheap steel bullets.

A few recent pieces from the Fin. Exp.
Xcpts:

https://www.financialexpress.com/defenc ... t/2265797/
Galwan clash – A year later, the focus should be on the Depsang Plains, says expert
By: Huma Siddiqui | June 05, 2021
“If we step back and re-visit the cause of the 1962 Indo-Sino conflict, one of the reasons was the disagreement on the defined LAC,” Lt Col Channan states.
The Indian Army must plan for a long term deployment as well as capabilities and capacities to respond to immediate situations in the region. Infrastructure to protect man and machine should be the priority as well as ensure turnover of troops to keep the morale high and fighting fit.
One year after the brave sacrifice of Col B Santosh Babu, and 20 other gallant soldiers, it’s time to reflect on what we can do to prevent the loss of lives of our brave soldiers.

What is the way forward?

“The immediate interest within the region is of India vis-à-vis a Pakistan –Chinese collusion to negate any attempt by India to regain the disputed territory. It is best to wait for an opportune moment to resolve this amicably / till such time there is a credible military capability to regain lost territories.

India needs to plan and develop its comprehensive national power over the next few decades, for that consensus-building has to happen between the political parties to be on the same page with a long term view,” Lt Col Manoj K Channan (Veteran), tells Financial Express Online.

“The focus now should be on the threat at the Depsang Plains which threatens our lines of communication to the Siachin Glacier. India’s interest in Aksai Chin will remain as it was a disputed territory with Pakistan and now with the Karakoram Highway passing through the region, the Chinese have reasons to give it depth as it gives them access to the Arabian Sea,” he opines.

Why the Chinese intrusions?

Sharing his views, the Indian Army veteran says, “The CCP / PLA and those who are at the helm of affairs have been monitoring the developments politically as well as the development of infrastructure to support the deployment of the ITBP/ IA, along the Line of Actual Control (LAC). The statement by the political leadership on the floor of the parliament and subsequent visit by the Foreign Minister to Beijing to explain India’s point of view fell on deaf ears.”

“If we step back and re-visit the cause of the 1962 Indo-Sino conflict, one of the reasons was the disagreement on the defined LAC,” Lt Col Channan states.

Does that mean that we don’t take a stand?

We need to as we must protect our territory as a sovereign nation as does China in its perceived ownership of the disputed territory.

“In the past year, India has leased drones from the US and Israel, for surveillance as well as armed drones, the deployment remains confidential; one thing is for sure, it is not for show of force, but to employ when required,” he opines.

Finally, the diplomatic efforts need to continue at all levels whether at the level of the Corps Commanders or the Foreign Secretary / Ministerial level. It is well understood that kinetic use of force is for a limited period to convey a message, disputes are resolved by dialogue and are time-consuming.

https://www.financialexpress.com/defenc ... ampaign=FE

https://www.financialexpress.com/defenc ... y/2264078/

The Galwan clash and beyond: When India did not bring knife to a gunfight
A great deal has already been said about the Chinese perfidy in quietly tearing up the Panchsheel, while prosecuting actions leading up to the 1962 war.
One year of Galwan clash: A look at CCP and PLA’s grand designs globally
June 03, 2021
Most experts in 2020 were debating the intent of the CCP/PLA with a focus on Indo – China bonhomie by the Modi – Xi Jinping Summits, which blindsided the Indian establishment to the nefarious designs of the PLA.
galwan valley
Galwan River has its origin in the Karakoram ranges and it runs 80 Kms Westwards through Aksai Chin and East Ladakh to join the Shyok River. (Photo source: Reuters)
By LT COL MANOJ K CHANNAN,

Fight for the sake of duty, treating alike happiness and distress, loss and gain, victory and defeat. Fulfilling your responsibility in this way, you will never incur sin – Bhagwat Gita

The above quote is from the Bhagwat Gita in which the duties of a soldier were explained by Lord Krishna to Arjun as he faltered to wage war against his enemies. The Indian Army is motivated and has never bowed before any challenge within the country or on UN missions abroad. All ranks are concerned with Namak, Naam aur Nishan and the “ijjat” of the unit he serves in.

Most experts in 2020 were debating the intent of the CCP/PLA with a focus on Indo – China bonhomie by the Modi – Xi Jinping Summits, which blindsided the Indian establishment to the nefarious designs of the PLA. It was a repeat of Vajpayee’s Lahore visit for enduring peace and the Kargil intrusions leading to a bitter conflict to regain the heights overlooking the Srinagar – Kargil – Leh highway.

The April 2020 deployment of PLA for training purposes couched by the onset of the Pandemic in India, a total lockdown, lack of intelligence assessments of the PLA intent, thus leading to deep intrusions and denial of patrolling rights to the Indian Army along the Northern Banks of Pangong Tso as well as in the Galwan Valley and further West in the Depsang plains, led to the rushing of additional troops with equipment to contain the Chinese actions.

Galwan and other areas witnessed unarmed clashes. However, Galwan Valley witnessed an unprecedented clash leading to casualties on either side, India lost 20 of its Bravehearts, and the PLA casualties as ascertained later were higher, thus giving the Indian Army moral ascendancy.

Braveheart’s led by Late Col Suresh Babu, MVC, Posthumous; who in the twenty-first century created history by engaging with a belligerent PLA, without firing a shot, in a contest to remove a military post on the Indian side of the perceived Line of Actual Control. A strong message was communicated to the CCP/PLA.

This was followed by the occupation of Kailash Ranges, thus upsetting the CCP/PLA game plan. Over the past year; several rounds of Ministerial-level talks on the sidelines of the Shanghai Cooperation in Moscow, and Corps Commander level talks assisted by Ministry of External Affair representatives ensured that a conflict didn’t flare up and the eyeball to eyeball deployment was pulled back partially.

Kailash Range was vacated as part of the agreed pull back.

PLA continues to hold dominating heights on the Daulat Beg Oldie subsector, the impasse has yet to be broken and both sides continue to build their infrastructure having weathered the winters of 2020- 21.

The turnover of troops, as well as preparedness for a long deployment, are well understood by the military planners on both sides.

While being sensitive to the Ladakh sector, the region was reinforced, strategic planners warn of CCP/PLA creating similar situations along the 4000 km long Line of Actual Control and India’s ability to contain such a move, with considerations of limited resources available.

PLA has shown its interest in the Ladakh Sub-sector as well as in Sikkim as well as Arunachal Pradesh in keeping the Indian Army deployed in the winter months to prevent any ingression.

Memories are short in Public Domain. Let us recapitulate what is Galwan Valley?

Ghulam Rassul Galwan was a Ladakhi adventurer who was part of numerous British expeditions into Tibet, Yarkand and the Karakoram ranges. In 1892 the Seventh Earl of Dunmore named this Galwan Nullah as 14-year-old Galwan led the expedition to complete its task.

The Significance.

It’s a historic flashpoint of the Indo-China conflict of 1962 and continues to remain one as over several decades, the CCP/PLA have deliberately chosen not to settle the approximate 4,000 Km long Line of Actual Control.

Galwan River has its origin in the Karakoram ranges and it runs 80 Kms Westwards through Aksai Chin and East Ladakh to join the Shyok River. The valley has sharp ridgelines and the glacial waters are cold in the summer months.

While the cause and effect are based on some historic miscalculations and forward posturing without adequate troops to task, lack of extreme winter clothing and training, wrong intelligence assessments to the Chinese reaction; caused much grief to India as a Nation, the Braveheart’s on the ground then and now did not shirk from their duty and laid down their lives in the highest traditions of the Indian Army.

The 1962 Indo China conflict is studied at the training institutions and lessons learnt are debated keenly by the military students, we need to reflect on what went wrong and have there been steps taken to prevent being outsmarted by a wily enemy.

CCP/PLA Intentions

With its stated goal of becoming the leading power of the 21st Century, China has embarked on an ambitious project of the “One Belt One Road” Initiative. Touted as Xi Jinping’s pet project, it is likely to have far-reaching geopolitical implications for the region as well as strategic ramifications on the host countries.

The China Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC) became a reality in November 2016, when the first Chinese convoy from Sinkiang Province reached Port Gwadar in Pakistan, built by the Chinese.

Now under a new initiative termed as “Maritime Silk Road” in conformity with the “Strings of Pearl Strategy,” the Chinese are developing new Ports along the Sea Lanes of Communications (SLOC) originating from the South China Sea to the Suez Canal and the Persian Gulf.

Close to Singapore and Malaysia, a new Container Transhipment Port as big as Singapore Port is under construction at Melaka in the straits of Malacca.

Similar Ports are under development in Port Darwin (currently under review by the Australian Government), Port Hambantota (Sri Lanka), Port Bagamoyo in Tanzania and Port Sudan. There is no doubt that China is giving substance to its “Comprehensive National Power (CNP)” with these initiatives.

The peace between North and South Korea has prevailed. China has a stake in keeping Kim Jong-un’s regime in power in the North.

In the East China Sea, China has intensified its naval presence around the Japanese-claimed but uninhabited Senkaku Islands. China appears to be wearing down Japan’s resolve to resist its claims over what it calls the Diaoyu Islands.

The United States has assured Japan the islands fall under their mutual defence security guarantee. But a confrontation with China could test US backing and possibly set the stage for escalated confrontation elsewhere. The Biden administration is keen to drag China over hot coals on the China virus pandemic, relentlessly.

China’s military infrastructure development in the South China Sea, and the US Navy’s conduct freedom of navigation operations (FONOPS); keeps the area as a possible trigger point for a conflict.

China’s claims to the waters and islands in the Philippines territorial waters was rejected, despite which China continues to intrude on the islands claimed by the Philippines and Indonesia.

Recently, Chinese vessels were anchored in the Philippines territorial waters inside its exclusive economic zone on the premised dictum that possession is nine-tenths of the law.

Recent Observations

The Chinese have been castigating the Bangladesh government for supporting the QUAD and have not minced their words on the likely outcome.

In Myanmar, the coup and takeover of the country by Tatmadaw and the CCP/PLA tacit support are understood. Though Tatmadaw is conscious of the trap in following the CCP diktats blindly.

In Sri Lanka, Hambantota Port is now an exclusive SEZ of the Chinese PLA Navy having a berthing place 290 Kms South of Peninsular India. It’s well to consider the fact that the Indian Navy has to circumvent the Island Nation while moving naval platforms from Western Seaboard to the Eastern Seaboard.

Keeping in mind the complex situation that India is in. combatting the Pandemic, vaccination of the citizens, natural disasters on its western and eastern coasts. Peace along the LoC is holding; the Chinese are contained along the Line of Actual Control.

Suggestions

Vigorously pursue and engage with friendly foreign countries in the Western region as well as in SouthWest Asia and South East Asia to negate the Chinese influence. QUAD needs to move from a diplomatic plank to a military alliance and to that end, the joint exercises should be carried out to dominate the SLOCs.

Engage within SAARC with friendly countries and support the governments politically and economically.

Engage with China diplomatically to ensure that the situation does not escalate at the LAC. While China will remain a competitor/adversary; we need soft skills to negate its CNP.

Step up efforts to engage with Taiwan and Hong Kong.

The recent Israel – Hamas conflict saw the use of AI, supercomputing and precision-guided munitions to take out the military leadership; its implementation in our operational plans.

Develop capabilities to prevent hacking and cyber-attacks which may disrupt energy needs, transportation thereby imposing economic losses to a fragile economy.

Pursue the raising of mountain strike corps to cater for the three sectors of Ladakh, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh.

Be prepared for “Out of the Area Contingencies”.

Restructure the border guarding forces under a unified command.

Disengage from internal security duties. The CAPF and NDRF to be equipped with assets to address all types of calamities.

To sum up, CCP/PLA will keep the global situation in a state of flux as it continues to work towards the position of being the only economic and military superpower. To that end, it is using, all it has in its capabilities be it legal or illegal, coercion or simple economic baits and leaving no stones unturned to buy out leaderships were required to add planetary resources to its kitty.

(The author is an Indian Army Veteran. Views expressed are personal and do not reflect the official position or policy of the Financial Express Online.)

The Galwan clash and beyond: When India did not bring knife to a gunfight
A great deal has already been said about the Chinese perfidy in quietly tearing up the Panchsheel, while prosecuting actions leading up to the 1962 war.

RKumar wrote:Let's see how many S-400 will arrive before the year-end but if it gives confidence to services then why not put it on the list. Anyway, we have a habit of depending upon golden vs cheap steel bullets.
Hopefully by September and indian crews are already in Russia training on the system. Parrikar was the one who emphasized the importance of the s400, and the chief is on record claiming it a game changer. There is simply no analogue to it anywhere. So confidence will arguably be the least of the s400s outcomes.
Deans wrote:More Akash regiments to cover our air bases and formation HQ - which can be rolled out faster than waiting for the S-400.
Can they get more Akash deployed by September? Excellent.
AshishA

Post by AshishA »

I believe we are making the same mistakes again and again. What we are lacking in terms of dealing with China and Pakistan is a lack of imagination. Why could we not imagine China taking advantage of the pandemic to threaten our security? Why could we not imagine Pakistanis trying to take kargil, doing 2001, 2011, 2016, and 2019 attacks? This repeated lack of imagination and understanding of the enemies is hurting us.

Why is always unimaginable until it happens? Like USA found out about 9/11 or pearl harbor?

So my question to all posters is that where will the Chinese and Pakistanis attack and it will come in what form? Will it joint or separate.

The attack will come nevertheless but where, when and in what form is the real question.

The Col.is wrong. Many assessments were done about intelligence gaps.
It's a given that Chinese will attack with probability of 1.0. This is due to the constant birder occupations since 2013 to 2018 in different sectors, Depsang, Hot Springs Gogra, Dokhlam. However where the next incident will happen is unknown. Could be anywhere in LAC.

The other known is there will be no firearms used.

So it's a known unknown.

The way to deal with known.unknowns is to enable local decision makers full authority to react as per the situation.
Col Santosh Babu reacted correctly and stopped bigger plans.
After that Army Corps and command took over.
And got backed all the way by GOI with multiple domains and locations.
Today we hear about PLAAF exercises in anticipation of Rafales being deployed at Hashimara.

AshishA wrote:I believe we are making the same mistakes again and again. What we are lacking in terms of dealing with China and Pakistan is a lack of imagination. Why could we not imagine China taking advantage of the pandemic to threaten our security? Why could we not imagine Pakistanis trying to take kargil, doing 2001, 2011, 2016, and 2019 attacks? This repeated lack of imagination and understanding of the enemies is hurting us.

Why is always unimaginable until it happens? Like USA found out about 9/11 or pearl harbor?

So my question to all posters is that where will the Chinese and Pakistanis attack and it will come in what form? Will it joint or separate.

The attack will come nevertheless but where, when and in what form is the real question.
Good questions.
It will be China in Ladakh as it protects Sinkiang province. In fact my suspicion is Leh was the objective if Galwan surprise was not stopped by Bihar Regiment.
TSP will be cat on a wall. Will make some skirmishes but won't commit unless PRC is winning. And will be in G-B/Ladakh.

Lt. Gen Ravishankar on One year after Galwan.

https://www.gunnersshot.com/2021/06/ple ... e.html?m=1

Napakis are irrational fools, their hatred for Hindu and love for Arabs is greater than anything. They are opportunist and will do anything without thinking about the final results. On top, if the Chinese pump them with money or weapons - they will happily go to war with us.

They are already sharing the intel and training with the yellow man. India has leech stuck on our body - who understand our language, actions and thinking process.

Chinese want to scare the world than having a showdown with India. CCP was not expecting any resistance from us. They think we are a poor, timed and backwards country without any industrial setup. Outsiders ruled India for ~500 years - split between Mughals and East India company. Chinese believe they are the next Brishit empire - where the sun will never set. And they want to do it with threats and abuses without firing a shot as long as it is possible. It is not that they are afraid of the loss of people, they are afraid of the loss of face.

For both our immediate neighbours, their face is more important than the life of their citizens. The only way of controlling them is to inflict such pain on them that they start thinking the opposite.

Any suggestions that PLA was going for Leh last year is a bit far fetched. Very few people actually know the circumstances of what happened when late Col. Santosh Babu was martyred.

Simple - across the Northern, central and eastern borders IA has been massively undermanned, underequipped and I can go on and on. Why are we surprised PLA are chipping away systematically at the border.