Indian Air Force News & Discussion - 23 March 2021

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian Air Force News & Discussion - 23 March 2021

Dated news but how is DARIN III progressing?
Its two years since the FOC birds were certified.
Do HAL reports claim any progress?
Kartik wrote:From Vayu Aerospace's Nov-Dec 2019 edition
Certifying agency RCMA (A/c) has accorded Final Operation Clearance for the HAL-built Jaguar DARIN III strike fighter. So far, three Jaguars have been modified at HAL Bangalore to DARIN-III standard and subjected to a series of ground and flight trials for the full navigation and attack capabilities.

The upgrade incorporates new generation avionics systems including the in-house developed Open System Architecture Mission Computer (JD3MC), Engine and Flight Instrument System (EFIS) replacing traditional electro mechanical instruments, Solid State Video Recording System, INS/GPS System with GPS + GLONASS, Multi-Mode Radar, EW Suite, Autopilot and Glass Cockpit.

Some 61 Jaguars are to be upgraded to DARIN III standards.
Thanks in advance.
LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

^^^I asked HVT sir on Twitter few days back about status of Mirage 2000I and Jaguar DARIN-III upgrades but didn't get the answer I was expecting...
I guess they don't want public to know the current status for now...
sankum

Post by sankum »

Total 80nos jaguars of 112 nos in service will get Darin 3 upgrade as per latest reports.

56 nos Jaguar IS with elta 2052 aesa radar

10 nos Jaguar IM with elta 2032 radar

14 nos + Jaguar trainer with no radar.

Total 80 nos.

Rest 32 jaguars will retire by 2025.
Barath

Post by Barath »

I think only the 56 Jaguars with elta 2052 radars will be called a Darin III upgrade. Can you confirm ?

eg https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/ ... 254184.ece

The Maritime Strike Jaguar radar replacement with Elta El 2032 was 10+ years ago per this (actually ~14 years ago now). (20 mentioned at that time)

http://www.uniindia.com/hal-upgrades-ja ... 66549.html

Would you have a link/pointers for your later source please ?

LakshmanPST wrote:^^^I asked HVT sir on Twitter few days back about status of Mirage 2000I and Jaguar DARIN-III upgrades but didn't get the answer I was expecting...
I guess they don't want public to know the current status for now...
Mirage-2000I Educated guess: around 4-to-6 units/year at most; that would roughly mean around a squadron worth (16-20) upgraded so far.

Given small fleet size and in order to continue to retain squadron combat strength, limited number of spare airframes available per year for overhaul and upgrades; it will take quite some time to do. Original estimates was 7-10 years from mid-2015.

See below.

https://www.business-standard.com/artic ... 035_1.html
March 26 2015

The two fighters delivered on Wednesday are likely to arrive in India in early April and join their respective squadrons.… Meanwhile, HAL is upgrading the next two Mirage 2000s at its Bengaluru facility, with Dassault and Thales providing "on-the-job training". Dassault builds the airframe of the Mirage 2000, while Thales provides most of the avionics.

Business Standard toured the Mirage facility in HAL in January, and learned that the third and fourth upgraded fighter would be completed in September and November 2015 respectively. There are 120-130 technicians working in HAL's Mirage 2000 upgrade and overhaul facility in Bengaluru.

HAL would upgrade the remaining 47 Mirage 2000s without assistance, fitting in upgrade kits provided by Dassault and Thales. This would take 7-10 years.

Alongside the upgrade, HAL is simultaneously overhauling its entire Mirage 2000 fleet, a year-long procedure that each fighter undergoes after flying 2000 hours or 13 years, whichever happens first. The entire Mirage 2000 fleet underwent a first round of overhaul from 1991-94. The second overhaul round began in 2009.

"We have developed a high degree of expertise in maintaining, overhauling and now upgrading the Mirage 2000," said a HAL line manager.

https://www.defenceaviationpost.com/202 ... 2-0-awacs/
IAF Plans More EMB-145 Based Netra 2.0 AWACS
Air Chief Marshal RKS Bhadauria, Speaking after reviewing the Combined Graduation Parade (CGP) at the Air Force Academy in Dundigal in Hyderabad, said that the Indian Air Force (IAF) is looking to procure more ERJ145 based Netra Airborne Early Warning and Control System developed by DRDO to beef up its Indigenous AWACS fleet capabilities which are grossly inadequate to fight a two-front war with Pakistan and China. :roll: :roll:

He confirmed that this will be over 6 Ex-Air India Airbus A320 that are being planned to be converted into Netra 2.0 AWACS platform using new upgraded Desi AESA Radar developed in India by DRDO
sankum

Post by sankum »

Barath wrote:I think only the 56 Jaguars with elta 2052 radars will be called a Darin III upgrade. Can you confirm ?

eg https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/ ... 254184.ece

The Maritime Strike Jaguar radar replacement with Elta El 2032 was 10+ years ago per this (actually ~14 years ago now). (20 mentioned at that time)

http://www.uniindia.com/hal-upgrades-ja ... 66549.html

Would you have a link/pointers for your later source please ?
The Hindu report is reliable . The second news link gives 20 maritime version which I heard for the first time and total phase out by 2028 which is actually 2038 as per Hindu report.

A news report said 10 Jaguar IM deployed to andaman to counter Chinese navy.
I clearly remember a special squadron of 12 Jaguar IM was raised in early 90s and some Jaguar IM for attrition replacement was later ordered in early 2000s as according to some news reports. I don't think it is 20 nos . More likely upto 10.

Actual numbers are secret . Just have to depend on collating different news reports.

56 Darin 3 with elta 2052 aesa . Total upto 80 Darin 3 comprising IM and Jaguar trainers from the latest 17nos Jaguar trainer order in 2000-2008 timeperiod.
Rest will retire. HVT in his tweets have indicated same not with number's.

What planes do we have deployed in Andaman? At Veer Savarkar airport?
Mig-29, Su-30 or Jaguar?

I believe Su-30s and Jaguars have both operated from there. I have not heard of MiG-29.

There is just a flight there I believe, no permanent squadron.
LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

sankum wrote:Total 80nos jaguars of 112 nos in service will get Darin 3 upgrade as per latest reports.

56 nos Jaguar IS with elta 2052 aesa radar

10 nos Jaguar IM with elta 2032 radar

14 nos + Jaguar trainer with no radar.

Total 80 nos.

Rest 32 jaguars will retire by 2025.
I have reference of HVT's 2 tweets--->

https://twitter.com/hvtiaf/status/11778 ... 63520?s=19
2. Jags with 804 engines will retire at the end of service life, 2030-35; They were never part of engine upgrade program.

Jags with 811 engines have life beyond 2035-40.

Newer Jags (about 35 of them) have life till 2045-50.
https://twitter.com/hvtiaf/status/11635 ... 19264?s=19
Whether any more Jags, except the 40 oldest ones will be grounded, seems rather unlikely.
From these two tweets, my guess is out of total 112 Jags some 40 Jags will be retired...
In the remaining 72, 16 Jags are DARIN-II Twin seaters from the last batch inducted in mid-2000s... That leaves 56 DARIN-I & II which will be upgraded to DARIN-III with new radars...

So, the 56 Nos. must include both IM and IS variants (and probably older IB variants as well)...

Edit:- Till date total 168 Jaguars have been bought by IAF and 56 crashes happened (as per BR Database)... So, 112 Jags must be left with IAF...
Last edited by LakshmanPST on 22 Jun 2021 22:06, edited 1 time in total.
sankum

Post by sankum »

Thanks for searching the tweets.For me it is very difficult.
There is one tweet of HVT which says about Darin 3 upgrade of Jaguar IM with elta 2032 radar. For maritime version why go for costly 2052 when 2032 is current and valid capability in near term.

Of the original 40 nos with 804 engines only 20+ remain due to normal attrition of 0.8 per 10000 hours flying.

Of nearly 25 Jaguar trainers only remaining of the 17 nos Darin 2 version produced in early 2000s are equipped with mid air refuelling and optronic pod will be upgraded and old Darin 2 trainers not upto these standards will retire.

We will have 80 upgraded Darin 3 jaguars in 4 squadrons with 2 each in Gorakhpur and Jamnagar.

Newer jaguars produced in 2000-2008 are 52 in nos comprising 35 single seater and 17 twin seaters.
LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

sankum wrote:Thanks for searching the tweets.For me it is very difficult.
There is one tweet of HVT which says about Darin 3 upgrade of Jaguar IM with elta 2032 radar. For maritime version why go for costly 2052 when 2032 is current and valid capability in near term.
I guess this is the tweet you're talking about--->
https://twitter.com/hvtiaf/status/12210 ... 91968?s=19
But this seems to be slightly older tweet coz. he himself recently tweeted about maritime DARIN3 Jaguar...

Also here is another tweet from him where he said that all DARIN3 Jags won't be having AESA radar--->
https://twitter.com/hvtiaf/status/11778 ... 90816?s=19
He said that the radar for DARIN3 is ELTA-2032J (NOT 2052) which have 2 variants...
The first 30% jets will have Mechanically Scanned Radar and remaining 70% will will have AESA... 2032J AESA is a variant of 2052 specifically developed for Jaguars...
So, that is why I think the 56 numbers include IM variant with MSA radar...
Of the original 40 nos with 804 engines only 20+ remain due to normal attrition of 0.8 per 10000 hours flying.

Of nearly 25 Jaguar trainers only remaining of the 17 nos Darin 2 version produced in early 2000s are equipped with mid air refuelling and optronic pod will be upgraded and old Darin 2 trainers not upto these standards will retire.

We will have 80 upgraded Darin 3 jaguars in 4 squadrons with 2 each in Gorakhpur and Jamnagar.

Newer jaguars produced in 2000-2008 are 52 in nos comprising 35 single seater and 17 twin seaters.
Total Jaguar Fleet of IAF is as follows:-
1) 40 Nos. built by SEPECAT, early 1980s
2) 45 Nos. assembled by HAL, mid 1980s
3) 31 Nos. license-built by HAL which were last delivered between 1988-1991
4) 15 Nos. built by HAL and delivered by 1999
5) 37 Nos. (20 Single seat + 17 Trainers) built by HAL and delivered by 2008

I think both Batch 1 and Batch 2 (40+45) have 804 Engine, as batch 2 is assembly from kits rather than licensed production...
If I'm not wrong, 811 engine is there from Batch 3, license production only...
So out of the 85 jets, probably 40 are still in service which will be retired in this decade...
In batches 3, 4 and 5, out of total 66 (excluding 17 Trainers), 56 are probably being upgraded to DARIN3...
Just my guess based on available info...
Last edited by LakshmanPST on 22 Jun 2021 23:36, edited 1 time in total.
sankum

Post by sankum »

56 elta 2052 is confirmed number with 54 to be manufactured at HAL. Darin 3 with 2032 radar is separate number.56+10 = 66 is confirmed number with rest trainers.

Mine is also estimate which is open ended as new information comes in subject to modification.

In upgrades there is also Shukla report of 804 /811 being upgraded to 821 with components of 871.His engine upgrade figure is for 80 jaguars.

A blogger has also said the final figure of 80 Darin 3 which can't be reported here.

Thanks all of you for digging the information and collating it.

Truly appreciate it.

Some OSINT, the 32 or so Jags donated by France, few were found to be in excellent condition and after being refurbished joining IAF? There were speculation that at least 3 did join? Most of it will be used for spares, but some of them were in very good condition. If I remember right the source of that data could be HVT sir himself (unless I am hallucinating).

At least 2 Jaguar squadrons (or possibly 3) (35 single-seater + 17 twin-seater) will be active until 2040 it looks like.

https://twitter.com/hvtiaf/status/11778 ... 63520?s=19

2. Jags with 804 engines will retire at the end of service life, 2030-35; They were never part of engine upgrade program.

Jags with 811 engines have life beyond 2035-40.

Newer Jags (about 35 of them) have life till 2045-50.

4) 15 Nos. built by HAL and delivered by 1999
5) 37 Nos. (20 Single seat + 17 Trainers) built by HAL and delivered by 2008

LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

I have been searching more and more on Google regarding Jaguar... I think we are making a mistake in understanding Jaguar upgrades...
To get a clear picture, we first need to know the current status of Jaguar fleet...
The existing DARIN-I and DARIN-II batches are pretty confusing... The Jaguars can be combied into 4 groups:-
Group 1 - Direct supply from UK:-
They are 40 in number; 35 single seat and 5 twin seat trainers.
These had NOVWASS and Adour 804 Engines.
Tail Nos. of these jets are:-
IS variant:- JS101 to JS135
IB variant:- JT051 to JT055

These Jaguars did have attrition and 29 of the remaining jets were later upgraded to DARIN2 standard in 2000s (Got this info from a Linkedin profile).
Don't know how many crashed after upgradation.
Group 2 - DARIN-1 Strike Jets by HAL:-
They are 79 in number; 69 Single seat and 10 Twin seat...
They are produced in 3 batches as follows:-
- 45 Nos. assembled by HAL, mid 1980s
- 19 Nos. built by HAL which were last delivered between 1988-1991
- 15 Nos. built by HAL and delivered by 1999

IS variant:- JS136 to JS204
IB variant:- JT056 to JT065

Maximum 39 of these jets have been crashed till date leaving atleast 40 DARIN-1 jets in service. Not sure how many if them are older frames and how many are newer frames.
Group 3 - Maritime jets by HAL:-
12 Nos. Single seat built by HAL and delivered by 1991. These are also DARIN-1 jets.
IM variant:- JM251 to JM262

1 or 2 jets lost in crashes
Currently 10 or 11 IM jets are in service.
Group 4 - DARIN-2 Strike jets by HAL:-
37 Nos. license-built by HAL and delivered by 2008 in DARIN-II standard; 20 Single seat and 17 Twin seat variants.
IS variant:- JS205 to JS224
IB variant:- JT066 to JT082

From BR Database, atleast 1 IS amd 1 IB variant are lost in crashes.
So, to summarize
DARIN-1 IS/IB jets are atleast 40 in number which are built from 1981 to 1999.
DARIN-1 IM jets are around 10-11 in number which are built in 1991.
DARIN-2 IS/IB jets, Oldest Jaguars, are maximum 29 in number.
DARIN-2 IS/IB jets, Newest Jaguars, are around 35 (19+16) in number.
-----
Now coming to the upgrades, there seems to be three separate but overlapping upgrades here--->
1) Engine upgrade
2) Radar upgrade
3) DARIN upgrade

There seems to be lot of confusion and mix up between the three.
The articles I read from 2016 says these things--->
1) Regarding Engine upgrade:-
It was mentioned that 80 of 120 Jaguars will be upgraded. Remaining 40 will be retired soon.

These 40 airframes must include both older DARIN-1 and DARIN-2 jets which will retire in this decade...
2) Regarding DARIN3:-
Out of 120 odd Jaguars, currently 50+ are DARIN1 and 60+ are DARIN2.
It was mentioned that ALL 50+ DARIN1 Jags in service are to be upgraded to DARIN3. However, nothing was mentioned about upgradation of 60+ DARIN2 Jags.

So, from this we can infer that even the older jets of HAL built DARIN-1 Jaguars that were to be retired in this decade were originally planned to be upgraded to DARIN3 standard.
Not sure what the plan is now. Whether they will upgrade them and retire or they will retire them without upgradation.
And nothing mentioned about upgradation of newer batch of DARIN-2 Jags to DARIN-3.

Also, DARIN3 upgrade DIDNOT specifically mention AESA radar but mentioned only Fire Control Radar.

3) Regarding Radar upgrade:-
56 Jags will receive ELTA2052 AESA. This radar upgrade seems to be only for Single seat Jags. This overlaps with DARIN3 upgrade of having a FCR.

But it doesn't make sense to provide AESA radar for older batch of DARIN3 jets that will retire in another 5 years...
My guess is, AESA radar is planned for newer batches of DARIN2 and for newer batches of DARIN1 jets which are being upgraded to DARIN3. Older DARIN3 jets will have MSA radar only.
Overall...
1) Older batch of 29 DARIN-2 jets will be retired without upgradation as these are oldest jets.
2) Among 50+ DARIN-1 jets, relatively new jets will definitely be upgraded to DARIN-3. Older jets were originally planned for upgradation to DARIN-3 few years back, but not sure if those plans have changed.
Also, newer jets will definitely get AESA radar. Older jets will probably get MSA radar if at all upgraded.
3) Upgradation plans of 35 Newest DARIN-2 jets were not mentioned anywhere.
4) The most sensible thing to do is drop upgradation of older DARIN-1 frames and upgrade the newer DARIN-2 frames... Not sure if it is already on cards, but Sankum sir's post seem to suggest that this is the case...
Phew... My mind is still spinning... Will take a break for today...

From IAf twitter handle

https://twitter.com/IAF_MCC/status/1407305259332956161

https://twitter.com/IAF_MCC
IAF is participating in operational engagements with @USNavy in an ex with Ronald Reagan CSG on 23 & 24 Jun, in the #IOR. IAF forces include Jaguars & Su-30 MKI in maritime role, AWACS, AEW&C and IL-78 AAR aircraft, while the USN is expected to field F-18s & E-2C Hawkeye ac.

Not E-2C's but E-2D's.VAW-125, the squadron assigned to CVN-76, was the first E-2 squdaron to transition to the E-2D back in 2015.

LakshmanPST wrote: We can hopefully expect the 4th MIG29 squadron and the 13th Su30 squadron to be operational by then as well...
That deal is not signed yet.

Mother Russia is playing tough!! I think our best option (bang for the bigger bang oops buck) is additional Rafale. Even if price of 3 SU30MKI you get 1 Rafale, it is worth it -It is 90% available compared to 50% of SU30MKI, plus it is more wholesome package and ahead by a generation over current MKIs.

One squadron of Rafale every year till AMCA is available
LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

LakshmanPST wrote: We can hopefully expect the 4th MIG29 squadron and the 13th Su30 squadron to be operational by then as well...
That deal is not signed yet.
That is why I said 'hopefully'.
But 13th squadron of Su30 can definitely be raised. We have enough jets for that even now. Don't know what is holding up IAF.

fanne wrote:Mother Russia is playing tough!! I think our best option (bang for the bigger bang oops buck) is additional Rafale. Even if price of 3 SU30MKI you get 1 Rafale, it is worth it -It is 90% available compared to 50% of SU30MKI, plus it is more wholesome package and ahead by a generation over current MKIs.
Not quite true.

Rafale has a 5-year PBL built-into the contract for 70-80% serviceability rate where India pays extra to the vendor for some guaranteed percentage.

Su-30MKI deal doesn’t have PBL. It was reported a while ago the IAF was spending very little in lifecycle costs for MKI fleet. To achieve higher fleet serviceability rates, MoD/IAF has to spend more until a desired percentage is achieved. Each plane type will vary in their lifecycle costs.

Last heard, Su-30MKI fleet serviceability rates are closing in on around 70%. Better spares planning and budgeting has come into play.

The MoD was informed about serious problems with the IAF’s management of spares. By standard norms, a fighter fleet consumes 5 per cent of its worth in consumables and spares each year. By that benchmark the Su-30MKI fleet, currently worth about Rs 69,000 crore --- 193 Su-30MKIs at Rs 358 crore per fighter --- should consume spares worth Rs 3,450 crore annually. Yet, IAF orders from HAL add up to less than Rs 50 crore, including ground handling equipment.

Without competent inventory management by the IAF, and with spares ordered piecemeal when defects arise, Su-30MKI fighters spend weeks on the ground awaiting spares.

https://www.ajaishukla.com/2014/10/gove ... r.html?m=1

VKumar wrote:One squadron of Rafale every year till AMCA is available
Bankrupt before AMCA even takes off!

Around $4 billion per Rafale squadron
- 18 airframes
- 36 engines + spares
- base infrastructure setup costs
- crew training
- 5-year PBL contract
- set amount of spares
- weapons package

Plus, additional ongoing operational costs
m_saini

Post by m_saini »

Don't know if memes are allowed but here it goes..

basant

Post by basant »

India’s $3-billion ISTAR Takes Shape, MoD Clearance This Year

The Indian government is all set to clear paperwork in the coming months to acquire a U.S. ISTAR (Intelligence Surveillance Targeting and Reconnaissance) battlefield and ground surveillance aircraft platform, the first step towards a larger joint project that will see India’s Defence Research & Development Organisation develop sensor technologies for an additional four aircraft. A model of proposed Indian ISTAR jet was displayed for the first time at the Aero India 2021 show earlier this month, which Livefist can confirm is a signal that things are on track after a troubled journey thus far.
LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

IAF, ISRO developing real-time aircraft tracking system for transport fleet
https://www.tribuneindia.com/news/natio ... eet-274383
The Indian Air Force, in collaboration with the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), is developing a real time aircraft tracking system (RTATS) that will be retrofitted in its transport fleet.

The technical specifications for the system have been framed by ISRO and the development and fabrication of the prototypes would be done by the industry, according to IAF sources. The trials and evaluation would be done by the IAF on AN-32 aircraft at one of its bases.

Our tendency to have a mismash of different systems will continue with ISTAR as well. While the order for the first two (with Raytheon) will be on Gulfstream G- 550, the later DRDO designed/developed ISTAR will be on the Bombardier Global 6000 platform. :roll:
tandav

Post by tandav »

Drones have started attacking Indian Military installations.

https://www.indiatoday.in/cities/story/ ... 2021-06-27

This is a terror attack. The attack was launched from the roof.

A response is warranted in due course of time. We also need do develop and deploy anti drone resources.
arvin

Post by arvin »

DRDO already has a anti drone laser that was deployed last year or 2019 independence day. I guess MOD is waiting for officially sanctioned chai biskoot sessions to end before it is deployed where it is needed most.

Pratyush wrote:This is a terror attack. The attack was launched from the roof.

A response is warranted in due course of time. We also need do develop and deploy anti drone resources.
NO, we must not be reactive. Attack pukis bases in a similar fashion. Let them react and make more expensive compensations not us.
LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

srai wrote:At least 2 Jaguar squadrons (or possibly 3) (35 single-seater + 17 twin-seater) will be active until 2040 it looks like.
We already brought/bought all the Jaguars in other Air Forces to cannibalize... Can we maintain the fleet till 2040 without new spares and OEM support...?
Will it be repeat of MIG27 saga, where last 2 squadrons of MIG27 UPG which were inducted in 1990 but had to be retired in 2019...?

Doesn’t HAL make most of the spares?

Are there parts/components still imported? If so, this falls under long-term planning where fleet parts are bought in bulk to support for x-years. How much Consumption per flight/hour of parts would be well known at this point.

Russia hands over commercial offer of 21 MiG-29 fighter jets to India.

What a bloody joke. We had started this purchase (along with 12 SU30 MKI) as a 'emergency measure' due to the LAC situation last year. 12 Months down the line we have reached the preliminary commercial offer stage!!!!

Our bureaucrats and the natasha brigade are indulging in the chai biskoot samosa routine.

At this rate it looks like a 5 year period before the process is completed.

If an emergency purchase takes this long. Then a routine purchase should take at minimum 25 years.

I hope that someone will go Mao against the Indian babucracy. That's appears to be the only way to solve them.

PM of India had to tell them that you have wasted 5 years of my time. Don't waste another 5. If this is the case with the PM. What these people must be doing elsewhere.
LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

Vips wrote:Russia hands over commercial offer of 21 MiG-29 fighter jets to India.

What a bloody joke. We had started this purchase (along with 12 SU30 MKI) as a 'emergency measure' due to the LAC situation last year. 12 Months down the line we have reached the preliminary commercial offer stage!!!!

Our bureaucrats and the natasha brigade are indulging in the chai biskoot samosa routine.

At this rate it looks like a 5 year period before the process is completed.
IIRC, this wasn't started as an emergency purchase but as a normal procurement... The process started in 2019 itself...
Still I'm surprised at this delay...
A Deshmukh

Post by A Deshmukh »

if the 21 Mig-29 go thru, then there is one squadron less justification for MMRCA.
purchase another 36 Rafale, and be done with.

The 21 MiG-29 aircraft aren't being procured as is, but will require a comprehensive rework per IAF specifications. So the Russians taking time to release a commercial offer is to be expected. Of course, wish it could be sped up. Even if the order is placed today though, it will take a minimum of a year or two before the aircraft can be delivered.