Su-30MKI: News and Discussion - 24 July 2021

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Su-30MKI: News and Discussion - 24 July 2021

There are 50,000 PLA massed across the LAC in E Ladakh. Matters can get heated at any time. IAF job is to protect the country. If they have bought it, it is needed, and it works.

J Tull, read the Israel website on Rampage.
It's already qualified.
There is no shortcut by IAF.
Let us not blame everything.
Also Rampage equivalent is not there.
Its a Goldilocks option.

With Hammer and Rampage IAF can go hammer and tongs of Paki and Chini bases.

Then you have SAAW and IGB for the rest.

Sorry mate. All I hear is that it is a done deal so don't question it. While I ask a fair question, where's the qualification sequence that IAF demands of desi munitions. Not a blurb in the media between AI-21 and now. Doesn't that smack of double standards?

ramana wrote:With Hammer and Rampage IAF can go hammer and tongs of Paki and Chini bases.

Then you have SAAW and IGB for the rest.
Hammer will be on Rafale and Tejas

Rakesh wrote: https://twitter.com/TheLegateIN/status/ ... Y7glwPTY-g ---> Report: IAF equipping Su-30 MKIs with Rampage ALBM, which are able to evade latest Chinese HQ-9 variants
How will it evade latest hq9/s400 when it has ballistic trajectory?

It won't.

But it's an option for the su 30.

BTW, what ever happened to the 200 km range, Air launched ballestic missile DRDO was developing?

Is this an effort to deny the DRDO missile.

Rakesh wrote: https://twitter.com/TheLegateIN/status/ ... Y7glwPTY-g ---> Report: IAF equipping Su-30 MKIs with Rampage ALBM, which are able to evade latest Chinese HQ-9 variants
How will it evade latest hq9/s400 when it has ballistic trajectory?
Will be used for hardened targets and communication nodes. Most apt for targeting chini airbases, masking with the Himalayan terrain with low level ingress and launching it. Possibilities are endless with our aircraft least exposed to the fomadible AD .

Pratyush wrote:It won't.

BTW, what ever happened to the 200 km range, Air launched ballestic missile DRDO was developing?

That's Rudram-2 (its range is 300 Km) and work is very much in progress

I don't know about HQ-9 and whether it can really intercept Rampage or Rudram-2 class missiles that fly a quasi ballistic trajectory and maneuver at high speeds. Rudram-2 is supposed to do Mach-4. It doesn't give the same reaction time as an SRBM, plus Chinese HQ-9 claims are likely exaggerated

Why do we need Rampage when we have Prithvi? Isn’t that cheaper and can be spread across geographically ?

Basically, Israel took a ground-launched guided rocket (> 300mm) and added suspension lugs and ensure the electrical connector can mate with the aircraft to provide guidance data.
There is no el-op seeker just INS and GPS.
Now compare to guided Pinaka which is 227 mm in diameter and has an el-op seeker.
Agree as its diameter and length are smaller it will not have the range.
However, guided Pinaka will be cheaper and can have more as its made locally.
This can be a very interesting option. The range for the ground launched guided Pinaka is 75Kms. Air launched, it could potentially have a range of upto 150 Kms. Much cheaper than rampage like systems and since it would be much lighter, more can be carried by platforms like the Su-30 MKI.
Even a 150Kms range would be very good, especially in the indo-pak context as a lot of the paki basis are within range of the LoC/IB.
Just a matter of thinking outside the box and taking up the development. With an El-Op seeker and INS-IRNSS, the accuracy would be very good.

V_Raman wrote:Why do we need Rampage when we have Prithvi? Isn’t that cheaper and can be spread across geographically ?
How you going to carry prithvi under a fighter bomber? Air launched capability provides significant options to the iaf at very long ranges. My guess is that the mki could carry 4-6 of these and saturate high end ads like s400/hq9.

Pratyush wrote:It won't.

shaun wrote:
Cain Marko wrote: How will it evade latest hq9/s400 when it has ballistic trajectory?
Will be used for hardened targets and communication nodes. Most apt for targeting chini airbases, masking with the Himalayan terrain with low level ingress and launching it. Possibilities are endless with our aircraft least exposed to the fomadible AD .
My only guess is that vs a powerful ads like hq9, s400 etc , the rampage will allow mki to conduct saturation attacks. Combined with an occasional scalp plus brahmos, this will be a pita for any ads.
Kersi

Post by Kersi »

What do we have for destroying hardened shelters e.g. HAS ?

What do we have for destroying super hardened shelters like C3I centers ?

V_Raman wrote:Why do we need Rampage when we have Prithvi? Isn’t that cheaper and can be spread across geographically ?
How you going to carry prithvi under a fighter bomber? Air launched capability provides significant options to the iaf at very long ranges. My guess is that the mki could carry 4-6 of these and saturate high end ads like s400/hq9.
why do we need to carry it on a plane? Prithvi range seems to be 250-300km - it is already stand off range from land? No? We can fire as much as we want from the ground!

i thought we have already integrated Brahmos with aircrafts which is in same 250km range; is there a different need for rampage that brahmos cant offer

Rampage is cheaper offering broadly similar capacity to the Brahmos.

though sir i respect IAF Decision as i dont know the circumstances or specific requirement they have i believe

1) this send wrong signal to potential Brahmos buyers that our forces itself consider it as expensive and they may also look Rampage as alternative; that's like shooting on our own foot

2) why cant we use same money to make brahmos R&D and make it more cheaper or give a bigger order and use economy of scale and reduce the price

Mods - move the post to relevant thread as applicable
SidSoma

Post by SidSoma »

In Fact there are a few Indigenous private companies that can create Rampage type missiles

nits wrote:though sir i respect IAF Decision as i dont know the circumstances or specific requirement they have i believe

1) this send wrong signal to potential Brahmos buyers that our forces itself consider it as expensive and they may also look Rampage as alternative; that's like shooting on our own foot

Snip....

Mods - move the post to relevant thread as applicable
This is not really that simple.

What should have been done was to ask the DRDO to design and air launched version of the guided Pinaka. Which is what the rampage is in the Israeli context.

Or re-use the warhead section and the guidance kit Pinaka and mate it to a more powerful booster for a longer range.

Brahmos is not really in the same class.

Therefore, purchase of rampage missile makes no difference in terms of what potential buyers are thinking about the Brahmos.

PS:

1) whatever happened to the air launched ballestic missile DRDO was developing?

2) why is rudram getting so many versions without any version entering production.

Folks, please don't confuse brahmos with rampage. Totally different systems.
Brahmos vs rampage
Cruise (low altitude profile) vs ballistic profile
Longer vs shorter range
1 per mki vs multiple per mki etc
Mach 3 vs mach 1.5-2

The brahmos is much more lethal in every way. The rampage is cheaper.

V_Raman wrote:
Cain Marko wrote: How you going to carry prithvi under a fighter bomber? Air launched capability provides significant options to the iaf at very long ranges. My guess is that the mki could carry 4-6 of these and saturate high end ads like s400/hq9.
why do we need to carry it on a plane? Prithvi range seems to be 250-300km - it is already stand off range from land? No? We can fire as much as we want from the ground!
The whole point is to have an air launched weapon which gives huge reach to mki.

Cain Marko wrote:Folks, please don't confuse brahmos with rampage. Totally different systems.
Brahmos vs rampage
Cruise (low altitude profile) vs ballistic profile
Longer vs shorter range
1 per mki vs multiple per mki etc
Mach 3 vs mach 1.5-2

The brahmos is much more lethal in every way. The rampage is cheaper.
People here don't seem to understand multi mode saturation attacks, even having dumb bi planes can help track enemy air defenses and exhaust air defense capability, they believe in ek Dhusman ek goli. When Israelis take out Pantsir in Syria it is never 1 target one missile, it is by multiple saturation attacks, exhaust the enemy and take them out.

For eg to keep mobile airvdefense systems running off grid power, huge amount of Diesel supplies are needed.

Look at how obsolete Chukar drones were used by the US over Iraq to exhaust the SAMs.

The problem is not comparing the Rampage with the Brahmos. The problem is that the military did not anticipate a need for a weapon like the Rampage and did not ask for it to be developed. Instead they simply go for emergency procurement of imported systems, which are obviously well marketed to the people who matter.

The Indian military planners (I know they hardly exist), should have anticipated a need for such a weapon and asked for the development.
In fact even now, there is a very big need for cheap standoff precision guided weapons, spanning the entire spectrum from 50 Kms to 300 Kms range.
From cheap, I mean Indian cheap. Solar industries offering precision guided rockets in the range of 150 to 290 Kms for 8 Crores each, is not really cheap. No point comparing it with Brahmos. A guided multi barrel rockets that offers ranges of 90 upto 290 Kms, should be costing between 1 to 4 crores at the max. Precision guided arty shells to be cheaper. We have to look for quantity and give up this silver bullet mentality that the Indian military has had with precision guided weapons and BVR missiles. Upto now all of these were imported and hence were always expensive and available in limited numbers. Over the next decade, an overwhelming majority of these are going to be locally manufactured (and hopefully locally designed and developed). Hopefully the military planners understand the concept of ordering in larger volumes and economies of scale and also change their doctrines to cater for a much larger availability and variety of precision guided weapons of all types.

Drones and loitering munitions will add another layer in the fighting concepts and will require a much deeper understanding and developing the right kind of tools for various jobs.

The Israelis are able to use Syria as lab to see what works and what doesn't, we don't have that benefit it's only since 2019 that Airforce has got some freedom to plan strikes, we hopefully will keep developing all types of PGMs.
basant

Post by basant »

IAF boosts Su-30 aircraft’s capability with over 250 km strike range missile

By Manjeet Negi: Adding more muscle to its Su-30 fighter jet fleet, the Indian Air Force (IAF) is equipping these planes with a new missile which can take down ground-based targets from a distance of over 250 km.

“The new missile can hit targets at over 250 km and its addition under an emergency import contract is going to boost the capability of the planes,” top government sources told India Today.

The IAF integrating long range missiles from indigenous or neutral nations as European or American origin would not be easy in view of the global situation, the sources said.
basant

Post by basant »

See also

ramarya

Post by ramarya »

When the enemy is at the gates, the last thing that the armed forces chiefs have to be bothered about is "Atmanirbhar Bharat", that is for PMO and MOD to work out in the long run. Right now, with the Chinese amassing outside Arunachal and Doklam, we need firepower that works and works well !!
JTull wrote:
ramana wrote: In fairness to IAF, they looked at RAMPAGE in 2021 Aero India and Israel had integrated these with both Western and Russian aircraft.
they have been working on it since 2012 per wiki.
I don't see any evidence of integration with Russian origin aircraft.

It is one thing to make it compatible with MIL-STD-1553, and completely different to undertake wind-tunnel, carriage, inert-drop and live-fire testing for each variant of each aircraft.

My point is why is IAF allowing short-cuts for foreign suppliers, which they don't allow desi products? The whole thing stinks.

^ The enemy has been at the gates for decades now. They have intruded inside many times as well, often supported or justified by some of our own. Their non-stated goal is to ensure our perpetual (unaffordable) dependence on others for protection while they industriously build their own capabilities so that they become truly independent to enforce their agenda. And thus, in due course, to be the one to whom even we have to eventually bow to.

One of their favorite strategies has been using short-term local action, in areas where they are strong, to drive the narrative in their favor to discredit the opposing heads of polity, and bring into power compromised satraps who will accept suzerainty of the Emperor, even if not overtly proclaiming allegiance to him.

ramarya wrote:When the enemy is at the gates, the last thing that the armed forces chiefs have to be bothered about is "Atmanirbhar Bharat",that is for PMO and MOD to work out in the long run. Right now, with the Chinese amassing outside Arunachal and Doklam, we need firepower that works and works well !!
It is exactly this attitude that has resulted in the sorry state of defence preparedness in India. Unless the armed forces are invested domestic procurement of systems and subsystems.

We will, perpetually be going to different countries in times of need. Hat in hand and paying through our noses for items that can be made in India. But the armed forces are importing.

This Rampage missile is a text book example of such procurement.

I am 400% sure that the IAF never approached the DRDO for such a weapon to be developed from guided Pinaka. Nor have they ever asked for an airborne version of the Prahar. Something that has existed for nearly a decade in India itself.

But the Rampage procurement gets fast tracked.
ramarya

Post by ramarya »

A lot of changed in the last 8 years, the local industry has to be competent enough to provide the best quality material, The current dispensation has taken some commendable steps, one of the major steps was the disbanding of the pathetic OFBs (whose 50% of grenades would fail to explode during testing exercises) and converting them into 7 different specialized PSUs. Last thing a CO would need to worry is whether the grenade provided would explode or not. Creating of an eco-system for private players, with Tatas, Kalyani, Reliance and Mahindras of the world coming into the fray, the future looks bright. Even now, I would say that we have achieved "Atmanirbharta" in Artillery and Navy to a great extent is "Atmanirbhar". With the right steps, we should be able to achieve on all fronts. But till then every now and then we will need to keep running to Ruskies, Yahoodis and Frenchies for emergency stuff...
ramarya wrote:When the enemy is at the gates, the last thing that the armed forces chiefs have to be bothered about is "Atmanirbhar Bharat",that is for PMO and MOD to work out in the long run. Right now, with the Chinese amassing outside Arunachal and Doklam, we need firepower that works and works well !!
It is exactly this attitude that has resulted in the sorry state of defence preparedness in India. Unless the armed forces are invested domestic procurement of systems and subsystems.

We will, perpetually be going to different countries in times of need. Hat in hand and paying through our noses for items that can be made in India. But the armed forces are importing.

This Rampage missile is a text book example of such procurement.

I am 400% sure that the IAF never approached the DRDO for such a weapon to be developed from guided Pinaka. Nor have they ever asked for an airborne version of the Prahar. Something that has existed for nearly a decade in India itself.

But the Rampage procurement gets fast tracked.
konaseema

Post by konaseema »

Everyone wants change to have happened yesterday. We / Us represent the whole of India and it is one of us who also works at the DPSU's. All I want to say is that the changes we expect are systemic and it involves the trade union mindset of our own men and women. What has worked remarkably well for Indian Railways, will slowly happen in these DPSU's as well. But if our yardstick is anything you have experienced outside India to that of Indian Railways, we will be ever disappointed. When you just compare where our Railways was a decade back and where it is now, you will experience tremendous change, right from the cleaner stations to faster trains. If we were to wait another 5 years, you will see something very different wherein the punctuality of the departures / arrivals of the trains will also see changes for the better. This is the decade where I am hopeful of the DPSU's turning it around after being displaced from its older track to newer (better and correct) track. The ever optimist in me says we will get to see them perform better, faster, deliver better quality products in this decade. I do understand the angst with the most relevant question in everyone's mind. Will the enemy wait for us till we get it right? We don't know the answer yet but enough credible deterrence is the key with a touch of ambiguity.

ramarya wrote:When the enemy is at the gates, the last thing that the armed forces chiefs have to be bothered about is "Atmanirbhar Bharat",
Would you rather worry about the half a dozen of missiles at hand and then hope the enemy postpone their attack so that we can do an emergency purchase of these weapons one dozen at a time?

This happened when the Army was found lacking of weapons when China threatened us a few years ago. Air force did not have these "foreign" planes or AWACS in sufficient numbers to thwart Pakis from a strike. Navy to this day does not have any planes that can operate from its domestic and its piece of junk "foreign" carrier.

These are just a few examples to cite where the armed forces mentality of not engaging with domestic MIL has harmed the nation, yet people like you seem to conveniently forget about it. Please do tell more!
ramarya

Post by ramarya »

There are problems, I am not denying that, what I am happy about is the steps being taken in the correct direction. This govt had to undo 65 years of wrongdoing, however there are certain things that need to be looked at from a holistic point of view.

BTW, we have enough planes to fly from our "junk" carriers in the time of need.
Jay wrote:
ramarya wrote:When the enemy is at the gates, the last thing that the armed forces chiefs have to be bothered about is "Atmanirbhar Bharat",
Would you rather worry about the half a dozen of missiles at hand and then hope the enemy postpone their attack so that we can do an emergency purchase of these weapons one dozen at a time?

This happened when the Army was found lacking of weapons when China threatened us a few years ago. Air force did not have these "foreign" planes or AWACS in sufficient numbers to thwart Pakis from a strike. Navy to this day does not have any planes that can operate from its domestic and its piece of junk "foreign" carrier.

These are just a few examples to cite where the armed forces mentality of not engaging with domestic MIL has harmed the nation, yet people like you seem to conveniently forget about it. Please do tell more!
SidSoma

Post by SidSoma »

As per "Youtube" Sources Uttam Mk3 to be fitted into Rambha to have between 1800 to 2400 TR Modules depending on the available engine power.

Watch 1:20 onwards
Last edited by ramana on 03 Jan 2023 06:57, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Edited by ramana.

Sid Soma do they tell how much power is required for 1800 and 2400 modules?
What about geometry?

one other point to consider, GAN takes up half the energy of that of GaAS. Maybe time for us to move to that tech, and mature it faster than other players (necessity is mother of invention and all that)

https://www.quora.com/Which-radars-uses ... -in-radars

"GaN has anywhere from five to 10 times the power density, which is the amount of electrical energy a chip can handle relative to its size. A GaN chip can handle more than double the voltage and amperage of a similarly sized GaAs chip. GaN also has up to seven times the thermal conductivity of the older material, which allows it to run hotter. That means lower cooling requirements and greater amounts of electrical power. In basic terms, Rosker said, a radio transmitter based on GaN technology could put out "an order of magnitude more" power than a similar GaAs-based transmitter, or conversely, produce the same power yet take up a fraction of the volume. It could also operate over far more frequency bands...Colin Whelan, a Raytheon engineer who works on GaN technology, said a GaN-based active electronically scanned array radar could search five times the volume as a similarly sized GaAs-based radar, or at a 50 percent greater range. You could even halve the size of the radar and still deliver greater performance." - Dave Majumdar, 2011

Swedish SAAB products like the Sea and land based Giraffe system[1] use GaN technology as well as their Early Warning AWE&C system GlobalEye[2] .

And a X-band AESA Radar based on GaN has just last week been available for Gripen C/D customers[3]

For sure there are similar systems used by other but these are the one that bone out on top of my head.

The benefits seems to be many, lower power consumption, heat resistance allowing higher output energy. Wither bandwidth, more difficult to jam, longer range and ability to detect small object at much longer distance even in heavy jammed environment.