Air Force Tejas Mk1A: News & Discussions: 02 January 2022

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Air Force Tejas Mk1A: News & Discussions: 02 January 2022

Air Force Tejas Mk1A

Last Page of Previous Thread ---> viewtopic.php?f=3&t=7835&start=1520

Mods: Please update info below, as and when a new milestone is reached. Thank You.

Thanks to BRF Members --> Abhibhushan, Ashish Raval, Basant, Dileep, Fanne, Indranil Roy, Kakarat, Kartik, Khalsa, Lakshman_PST, Neela, Nilesh Rane, Prasad, SaiK, Sankum and Vamsee for their contributions.

Info below (but not all) can be counter referenced here ---> http://www.tejas.gov.in/first_flights.html

Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA) webpage on Tejas Mk1 ---> https://www.ada.gov.in/images/mk1.htm

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Milestones Achieved
• ₹48,000 Crore contract for 73 Tejas Mk1A-FOC fighters and 10 Mk1-FOC trainers was signed at Aero India '21 in Bengaluru on 03 Feb 2021.
URL, 03 Feb 2021

• US $716 Million contract for 99 F404-IN20 turbofans and support services was signed in August 2021.
URL, 19 Aug 2021

• First flight occurred on 20 May 2022 and will continue for 20 - 24 months.
URL, 01 Aug 2022

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Future Milestones
• Will arm four frontline fighter aircraft squadrons in the Indian Air Force (IAF).
• Deliveries to the Indian Air Force are expected to start in Feb/Mar 2024.

Standard/Variant ... Orders ... Operators ... Units
• Mk1A-FOC (single seat fighter) ... 73 Aircraft ... Indian Air Force ... 4 Squadrons (18 Per Squadron + 1 Reserve)
• Mk1-FOC (twin seat trainer) ... 10 Aircraft ... Indian Air Force ... 4 Squadrons (2 Per Squadron + 2 Reserve)

Planned Deliveries of Mk1A-FOC Single Seat Fighter - URL, 13 Aug 2021
2024: 2 aircraft
2025: 8 aircraft
2026: 14 - 16 aircraft
2027: 14 - 16 aircraft
2028: 14 - 16 aircraft
2029: 14 - 16 aircraft

Planned Deliveries of Mk1-FOC Twin Seat Trainer
• Not Known

Design Specifications
Length: 13.2 meters
Height: 4.4 meters
Wingspan: 8.2 meters
Wing Area: 38.4 square meters
Empty Weight: 7,040 kg
Maximum Internal Fuel: 2,485 kg
Clean Take-Off Weight: 10,330 kg
Maximum Take Off Weight: 14,240 kg
Maximum External Payload Capacity: 3,910 kg
Engine: General Electric F404-IN20 turbofan (Info Sheet --> https://www.geaviation.com/propulsion/military/f404)
Airframe Life: 9,000 hours
Hard Points: 7 + 1

Performance Specifications
Service Ceiling: 50,000 feet
G Limits: +8g / -3.5g
Thrust: 53.9 kN dry thrust and 89.8 kN wet thrust
Maximum Speed: Mach 1.6
Ferry Range: 2,800 km

Avionics
Radar: Elta EL/M-2052 AESA radar with EL/L-8222 ECM pod for initial production batch.
*Later production batches could feature LRDE's Uttam AESA radar and DARE's Unified Electronic Warfare Suite.

Armament
Guns: One 23mm twin-barrel GSh-23 auto-cannon
Close Combat Missiles: R-73, ASRAAM and Python 5
Beyond Visual Range Missiles: Astra Mk1, Astra Mk2, I-Derby ER and R-77
Rockets: TBD
Air-to-Surface Missiles: TBD
Anti-Radiation Missiles: TBD
Anti-Ship Missiles: TBD
Precision Guided Munitions: TBD
Laser Guided Bombs: TBD
Un-Guided/Gravity Bombs: TBD
Cluster Munitions: TBD

Articles: Tejas Mk1A

HAL looks to the future with lethal new warfighting system
https://www.ajaishukla.com/2021/12/hal- ... l-new.html
By Ajai Shukla, 01 Jan 2022

Removing Some Media Fallacies About The Capabilities of The LCA Tejas Fighter
http://delhidefencereview.com/2020/05/1 ... s-fighter/
By Indranil Roy, 17 May 2020

The pilot who helped Tejas breast the FOC tape
https://www.deccanherald.com/opinion/in ... 19475.html
By Air Vice Marshal Arjun Subramaniam (Retd), 31 March 2020

Tracking The Tejas: The Design Evolution Of An Indian Fighter
http://delhidefencereview.com/2019/02/2 ... er-part-i/
By Indranil Roy and Nilesh Rane, 22 February 2019

Quote below from Air Chief Marshal Rakesh Kumar Bhaduria (Retd.), former Chief of Air Staff - Indian Air Force
URL, 29 May 2020
Tejas today what you are getting is the BEST IN ITS CLASS IN THE WORLD.

Take my word for it.

Quote below from Air Marshal Raghunath Nambiar (Retd), former AOC-in-C Western Air Command - Indian Air Force
URL, June 2018, Page 17
It must be stated that the LCA Mark 1 and Mark 1A are very good aircraft. We recently conducted a major exercise called Gagan Shakti, and the LCA performed remarkably well. The best range scores and the best weapon delivery emerged from the nine LCAs we had fielded, which really worked wonders. This gives me the confidence to state that the LCA will see us through the next 20 years, if not more, in technological capability terms.

Tejas Mk1A Official Video

HAL's Top Scientists Explain LCA Mk 1A Cockpit

HAL's CATS Warrior With Group Captain Harsh Vardhan Thakur, VM (Retd) @ Aero India 2021

The Tejas Saga & the Future of Indian Aerospace Capability

The Tejas SPORT @ Aero India 2019

India's First Supersonic Trainer Aircraft (SPORT)

Re: Air Force Tejas Mk1A: News & Discussions: 02 January 2022

The old thread consisting of the Tejas Mk1/MK1A has been split into separate threads - one for Tejas Mk1 and the other for Tejas Mk1A. The latter thread will also be used to collate all info on the Tejas SPORT and HAL's CATS Warrior system, for now. I had to split the thread, as the Mk1A will be quite different from her predecessor and requires her own thread.

Mods & Gurus: Please check the above for any incorrect info or any info that requires updating. I will update.

https://twitter.com/TheLegateIN/status/ ... 57381?s=20 ---> Report: Each HAL made CATS Warrior drone to cost Rs 40 crores only. Will have a range of over 900 km on kamikaze missions. CATS Hunter stealth ALCMs will have a 300 km range, whereas CATS Alfa Swarm drones will have a 200 km range (including 100km of glide pod).

Source of this tweet from this article below. The well known DDR interview with Group Captain HV Thakur (retd) Sir is on the first post of this thread. Please watch that video again to get reacquainted (if you need to) with the HAL CATS Warrior.

HAL looks to the future with lethal new warfighting system
https://www.ajaishukla.com/2021/12/hal- ... l-new.html
By Ajai Shukla, 01 Jan 2022

Twitter Thread on HAL CATS (Combat Air Teaming System) ---> https://twitter.com/RAFIndia_/status/14 ... 0597416961

https://twitter.com/RAFIndia_/status/14 ... 53697?s=20 --->

• Tejas Mk1A first flight is planned this year in March.

• IAF will receive first Tejas Mk1A from by March 2024 and by 2028 deliveries will be completed.

• Tejas Mk1A will be equipped with indigenous AESA Radar, Uttam.

• Raising four squadrons.

PIC - Kuntal Biswas

https://twitter.com/Kunal_Biswas707/sta ... 40610?s=20 ---> It is a less known fact that a variant of Adrishya RAM coating paint is also applied on Tejas Mk1 & Mk1A air frames.

Rakesh-ji , can this text be included below FOC section please

Orders:
Operator................................Units................Standard/Variant
Indian Air Force.......................73...................Mk1A (single seat)
Indian Air Force.......................10...................Mk1-FOC (twin seat trainer)

Neela wrote:Rakesh-ji , can this text be included below FOC section please

Orders:
Operator................................Units................Standard/Variant
Indian Air Force.......................73...................Mk1A (single seat)
Indian Air Force.......................10...................Mk1-FOC (twin seat trainer)
Done Neela-ji. Please check and let me know if there are any corrections to be made.

I have added your name in the list of acknowledgements.

I remember reading the planned production delivery of the Mk1A units, over the course of their delivery. But I cannot seem to find it now.

If any of you can post it in here, that would be great. I would like to add that in the first post of this thread.

https://twitter.com/defence_in/status/1 ... 15328?s=20 ---> The weapons which are part of CATS program.

1. CATS HUNTER is a stand off cruise missile.

There are two variants:

A. With a large RF seeker.

B. With a IIR seeker behind the optical transparent screen on the nose.

Courtesy: Haldi Billa-DFI and the Photograph Owner's.

LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

Rakesh wrote:I remember reading the planned production delivery of the Mk1A units, over the course of their delivery. But I cannot seem to find it now.

If any of you can post it in here, that would be great. I would like to add that in the first post of this thread.
I couldn't find the original post, but I quoted that article in this post of mine...
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=7835&p=2521419&hilit=Mk1A#p2521419

LakshmanPST wrote:I couldn't find the original post, but I quoted that article in this post of mine...
That is exactly what I was looking for. Page 1 updated again with this info. By the way, this is just for the 73 Mk1A-FOC single seat fighters. I remember reading somewhere (on BRF?) that HAL is making 18 trainers (8 for the two Mk1 units and 10 for the four Mk1A unts). But when is that supposed to happen?

Also added monetary values to the deal for the aircraft + the F404 turbofans. Please do check and let me know.
konaseema

Post by konaseema »

LakshmanPST wrote:I couldn't find the original post, but I quoted that article in this post of mine...
That is exactly what I was looking for. Page 1 updated again with this info. By the way, this is just for the 73 Mk1A-FOC single seat fighters. I remember reading somewhere (on BRF?) that HAL is making 18 trainers (8 for the two Mk1 units and 10 for the four Mk1A unts). But when is that supposed to happen?

Also added monetary values to the deal for the aircraft + the F404 turbofans. Please do check and let me know.
In one of the Humara Tejas episodes, Mr. Anandakrishnan mentioned that the production of these Mk1 trainers has already begun.

konaseema wrote:In one of the Humara Tejas episodes, Mr. Anandakrishnan mentioned that the production of these Mk1 trainers has already begun.
These trainers should be for the two Mk1 units first, before they move on to the production of the trainers for the Mk1A units....right?

As a side note, I awaiting for the Mk1A with Uttam AESA to participate at TACDE.

Will never know the results obviously, but I doubt the pilot will be disappointed :)
konaseema

Post by konaseema »

konaseema wrote:In one of the Humara Tejas episodes, Mr. Anandakrishnan mentioned that the production of these Mk1 trainers has already begun.
These trainers should be for the two Mk1 units first, before they move on to the production of the trainers for the Mk1A units....right?
First 8 units will be from the order for 40 Mk1 and the rest 10 from the order of 73 Mk1A + 10 Mk1 trainers. I don't remember if the last trainers will be of the Mk1A standard. I may very well be wrong.
LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

I remember reading somewhere (on BRF?) that HAL is making 18 trainers (8 for the two Mk1 units and 10 for the four Mk1A unts). But when is that supposed to happen?
The answer to that is what I speculated in the quoted post of mine...
Production schedule as per the article is as follows:-
2024:- 2 jets
2025:- 8 jets
2026:- 14-16 jets
2027:- 14-16 jets
2028:- 14-16 jets
2029:- 14-16 jets

If we assume 16 jets per year for the four years from 2026, the total jets from 2024 comes out to be 10+64=74 jets, not 83 jets...
So my guess is they're talking about only the deliveries of 73 Mk1A single seat jets here...
If we consider that production capacity is 16 jets per year from 2024 onwards, it would mean there are 14 slots available in 2024 and 8 slots available in 2025 and 0 slots after that...
If they have to stick to this schedule, it will only mean that all 10 trainers of Mk1A order should be built in these 22 slots in 2024 and 2025...
Coming to the 8 Trainers in Mk1 order...
All Mk1 single seater FOCs will be ready by mid-2022...
So, the 8 Trainers of Mk1 orders will be probably delivered by 2023 end...
So, may be that is why they said that the trainers will be built continuously...
2023, we will get the 8 Trainers from Mk1 order...
2024 & 2025, we will get the 10 Trainers from Mk1A order...
LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

Light Combat Aircraft MK-1A to take flight in June’
- 9th January 2021
https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/ ... socialflow
“By June this year we should start flying the LCA MK-1A configuration. Once flying starts, we have about 20 to 24 months of testing. Once that is done, we will be ready for deliveries as expected.”

So, there will be no OBOGS on Mk1A?

All trainers will be of the same standard - whatever that is - at least that is the plan - It is FOC. The current plan is to make all of them by 2023 FY.

My question is that what is the third line of trainers going to build? - Planes for export? The commitment is commendable, but can that be used to make LCA order go faster.

LakshmanPST wrote:Light Combat Aircraft MK-1A to take flight in June’
- 9th January 2021
https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/ ... socialflow
“By June this year we should start flying the LCA MK-1A configuration. Once flying starts, we have about 20 to 24 months of testing. Once that is done, we will be ready for deliveries as expected.”
Thank You Lakshman. I have updated the first post with the expected first flight to be in June 2022.
LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

fanne wrote:All trainers will be of the same standard - whatever that is - at least that is the plan - It is FOC. The current plan is to make all of them by 2023 FY.

My question is that what is the third line of trainers going to build? - Planes for export? The commitment is commendable, but can that be used to make LCA order go faster.
The current plan is to deliver the 8 Trainers from Mk1 order in FYs 2022-23 and 2023-24...
The 10 Trainers from Mk1A order will be delivered starting 2024 only and well into FY 2025-26...

There was indeed some news/ speculation that the 3rd line will be used for Trainers initially... But the 3rd line is yet to become operational... It will probably take a couple more years... So, we don't know the production plan at this point...

Rakesh wrote:As a side note, I awaiting for the Mk1A with Uttam AESA to participate at TACDE.

Will never know the results obviously, but I doubt the pilot will be disappointed :)
That will be once the radar achieves FOC. Be while yet Admiral.
LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

https://twitter.com/DRDO_India/status/1 ... 3MJvQ&s=19
Marching this #RepublicDayParade, two DRDO tableaus with Advanced Defence Technologies -
✳️Suite of Sensors, Weapons & EW System for #LCATejas
✳️Air Independent Propulsion (AIP) System for Submarines

https://twitter.com/IndianDefence3/stat ... QBCGQ&s=19
DRDO's Indigenous weapon and Sensor package for LCA Tejas

Astra: Air-to-air missile
Rudram1: New generation anti-radiation missile
LRGB: long-range guided glide bomb
SAAW: Smart Anti Airfield Weapon
TARA: An advanced precision strike weapon meant for ground targets

TARA seems new, unless its the new name of an existing weapon
YashG

Post by YashG »

Prem Kumar wrote:TARA seems new, unless its the new name of an existing weapon
It is. (IIRC in one twitter conversations someone mentioned it is some existing program with a new name and maybe perhaps with some changed config. I'm sorry i dont remember the full info)

This new program is great. It fills a crucial gap in the desi PGM plans in between the unpowered inventory (PG HSLD variants, LRGB, SAAW) and the powered long range (Rudram series, Brahmos) inventory. Technically even the NASM SR can be adapted as an AGM with a variety of profiles. Once developed and inducted, we can literally murder the PAF and PLAAF from afar. Former deserves it in spades for being the protective cover for a nation founded on bloodshed and terrorism and which continues to use it as an instrument of state policy.
ShivS

Post by ShivS »

These powered munitions are critical against the PLA which has long and medium range SAM systems in plenty and is positioned at heights. Both work to reduce the effectiveness of glide type munitions.

So finally TAR emerges. We saw sporadic references to TARA.
We now know its acronym Tactical Advanced Range Augmentation = TARA

From the lack of wings, it looks like it's a guided bomb using the body lift and powered aft end with control surfaces.
So expect to be a concrete penetration bomb.

ramana wrote:So finally TAR emerges. We saw sporadic references to TARA.

From the lack of wings, it looks like it's a guided bomb using the body lift and powered aft end with control surfaces.
The latest images show what appear to be folded wings below the main body Ramanaji. LRGB style. Would augment the range even more. Which is why the inclusion of a SAL (laser guidance) seems a bit odd. Perhaps third party designation via UAV.

rakesh ji can you please also add the actual delivery dates in the folloiwng table that was on the first page of previous thread

Production Line ... Construction Number ... Serial Number ... Aircraft First Flight ... Pilot(s)
• Line 1 ... SP-01 ... LA-5001 ... 01-Oct-2014 ... Air Commodore Kalianda Appaya Muthanna (Retd)

No 18 Flying Bullets Squadron - Squadron Re-Raised on 01 April 2020
Raising CO - Group Captain Manish Tolani
Present CO < Rank > < Name >

Production Line ... Construction Number ... Serial Number ... Aircraft First Flight ... Pilot(s)
• Line 1 ... SP-17 ... LA-5017 ... 17-Mar-2020 ... Air Commodore Kalianda Appaya Muthanna (Retd)

ArjunPandit wrote:rakesh ji can you please also add the actual delivery dates in the folloiwng table that was on the first page of previous thread.
That is for the Tejas Mk1 variant. Go here for that info ---> viewtopic.php?f=3&t=7878

This thread is for the Tejas Mk1A variant. Cannot add that info in here.

LakshmanPST wrote:DRDO's Indigenous weapon and Sensor package for LCA Tejas...
https://twitter.com/TejForTweet/status/ ... 47907?s=20 ---> ASPJ - Advanced Self Protection Jammer.

LakshmanPST wrote:DRDO's Indigenous weapon and Sensor package for LCA Tejas

Rudram1: New generation anti-radiation missile
https://twitter.com/alpha_defense/statu ... 86022?s=20 ---> Rudram-III to feature PCB warhead of 125kg to neutralize Hardened Aircraft Shelters and bunkers.

Jingos, feast your eyes on these tweets (posted in order, starting from top). Can't wait for the Mk1A to arrive.

https://twitter.com/Firezstarter1/statu ... 64739?s=20 ---> Uttam/EL-M 2052 AESA, ASPJ/EL 8222 WB, Tarang/DR-118 RWR, Astra/I-Derby ER, ASRAAM/R-73E/Python-V and HMDS, Litening-4I, NGARM/SAAW/Griffin/Paveway/LRGB plus ODL, IFR in a low RCS package with a pilot friendly cockpit, data fusion. Has run six sorties/day. A lethal package.

https://twitter.com/Firezstarter1/statu ... 74118?s=20 ---> The Tejas is a delta plan form, similar to the Mirage 2000, with, per its pilots, an even better handling FBW. Frees up the pilot to focus on mission, weapons handling. FBW takes into account all external atmospheric, aircraft flight conditions and optimizes control response.

https://twitter.com/Firezstarter1/statu ... 99072?s=20 ---> An autopilot is also integrated, as are state of the art redundant navigation systems which tell the pilot exactly where he is at all times. The operational datalink adds an extra layer of location awareness with threat overlay.

https://twitter.com/Firezstarter1/statu ... 68065?s=20 ---> The AESA radar allows the pilot to interleave air to air and air to ground modes. With high fidelity long range modes, coupled with the Litening, the LCA is not just an interceptor, its an information gatherer. Its picking up information, data linking it back to the IAF's IACCS.

https://twitter.com/Firezstarter1/statu ... 91264?s=20 ---> While doing so - spread among its seven pylons - the Tejas can carry a mix of air-to-air and air-to-ground weapons, able to quickly take on targets of opportunity at long range. Even with two fuel tanks, that's five pylons for weapons. IFR adds to range and a safety margin.

https://twitter.com/Firezstarter1/statu ... 81632?s=20 ---> While the pilot is scanning for targets using his AESA radar, and Litening, his RWR keeps track of threats, his display (on Mk1A) shows likely threats picked up by the RWR, his jammer (set on auto), prioritizes and jams the most likely threats.

https://twitter.com/Firezstarter1/statu ... 17248?s=20 ---> The most likely air to air threats will run the gauntlet of the Astra, or the I Derby ER, both long range BVR missiles. Any closer, the threat has to contend with Tejas's high nose pointing capability, its point and shoot HMDS coupled ASRAAM or Python-V or R73E. Or even its gun.

https://twitter.com/Firezstarter1/statu ... 83616?s=20 ---> And the Tejas that tracks you may not be the one that fires on you. The Operational Data Link networks multiple Tejas together. You *think* you are attacking one Tejas. His wingman is likely firing on you from your flank. Good luck avoiding a shot that you had no idea of.

https://twitter.com/Firezstarter1/statu ... 53222?s=20 ---> You may not even know the Tejas is going to fire - if there was an AWACS or IACCS feed, the whole engagement process will be passive till the n'th moment. And it gets better, India plans unmanned wingmen for the Tejas. Already in advanced development.

https://twitter.com/Firezstarter1/statu ... 35681?s=20 ---> Owning the entire weapons control, datalink and avionics architecture, India regards the Tejas a perfect testbed to mature advanced tech. Loyal wingmen which accompany the Tejas, move ahead of it, are likely the future. They deliver the coup de grace on behalf of the mother ship.

https://twitter.com/Firezstarter1/statu ... 35138?s=20 ---> The Tejas itself is already shaping up to be a vicious predator. Able to deploy all weather, beyond visual range weapons, air to air and air to ground, equaling those on fighters like the Mirage 2000, Su-30 and Fulcrum. And it's systems are constantly evolving. Locally made.

https://twitter.com/Firezstarter1/statu ... 21379?s=20 ---> Add to this high availability for the price that's been paid, a fraction of the opex cost of expensive imports, and I suspect, after all the years of trials and tribulations, the IAF is more and more going to realize it has an absolute winner. Mk1A being the icing on the cake.

https://twitter.com/Firezstarter1/statu ... 38976?s=20 ---> But the true worth of the Tejas will be in the fact it created an absolute aerospace complex. With its systems now getting more and more into the rest of the IAF fleet as upgrades. And then the groundwork for the Tejas MWF and AMCA.

Admiral,

What is this?

Uttam/EL-M 2052 AESA - Is it Uttam or is it the 2052. If it is 2052 then it is less exciting.

Similarly is it DRDO ASPJ or the EL 8222? The latter is less exciting.

Plus nothing new that Indranil or you have not previously already spoken about...

The first sixteen Tejas Mk1A will have an Israeli fit. The rest Mk1As will have the Indian radar and likely the ASPJ too. Also, the first 40 Tejas Mk1s will receive the Uttam as an upgrade. All in all, 107 Tejas will have Uttam. The Tejas Mk1s will have Python-V and R73-E. The Mk1As will get ASRAAM as well.

Rakesh wrote:Jingos, feast your eyes on these tweets (posted in order, starting from top). Can't wait for the Mk1A to arrive.
such a proud feel to read all this; literally goosebumps on what future hold for us and how as a country we have benefited from this Program and will continue to do it in time to come... Jai Hind :twisted:

ks_sachin wrote:Plus nothing new that Indranil or you have not previously already spoken about...
Since KaranM has addressed (Thank You) to the technical parts of your post, let me address this.

I fully agree Sachin Saar, it is nothing new. But Firestarter compiled it together so well, that I had to post it.

ramana wrote:So finally TAR emerges. We saw sporadic references to TARA.

The latest images show what appear to be folded wings below the main body Ramanaji. LRGB style. Would augment the range even more. Which is why the inclusion of a SAL (laser guidance) seems a bit odd. Perhaps third party designation via UAV.
https://twitter.com/DefenceDecode/statu ... 42594?s=20 ---> Precision strike, Tactical Advanced Range Augmentation (TARA) by DRDO.