Air Force Tejas Mk1A: News & Discussions: 02 January 2022

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Air Force Tejas Mk1A: News & Discussions: 02 January 2022

I had predicted almost a year ago that lca mk1a radar could very well be mk2 radar (reason being we are rapidly catching on radar tech, Luke 10 yesterday years in a year now). Let me make another request/prediction, let the avionics display, be also be upgraded, if nothing else, let there be one wide angle display like mk2 in mk1a itself. On par with gripes e/f.
The only roadblock I can see advance order given for that. If same firm also making mk2 display, maybe we can renegotiate. Remember fabrication of mk1a is at least 1 year away from starting. I am not sure how much testing will delay. Maybe mk1a can be 3 display one - some 16 aircraft’s and let the rest be one wide angle display- another 60. Or some other combo.

fanne wrote:I had predicted almost a year ago that lca mk1a radar could very well be mk2 radar (reason being we are rapidly catching on radar tech, Luke 10 yesterday years in a year now). Let me make another request/prediction, let the avionics display, be also be upgraded, if nothing else, let there be one wide angle display like mk2 in mk1a itself. On par with gripes e/f.
The only roadblock I can see advance order given for that. If same firm also making mk2 display, maybe we can renegotiate. Remember fabrication of mk1a is at least 1 year away from starting. I am not sure how much testing will delay. Maybe mk1a can be 3 display one - some 16 aircraft’s and let the rest be one wide angle display- another 60. Or some other combo.
Isn't wide angle display contingent on having side stick controls?

Yup and then r looks like we are there tech wise. Let’s not wait for mk2

fanne wrote:I had predicted almost a year ago that lca mk1a radar could very well be mk2 radar (reason being we are rapidly catching on radar tech, Luke 10 yesterday years in a year now). Let me make another request/prediction, let the avionics display, be also be upgraded, if nothing else, let there be one wide angle display like mk2 in mk1a itself. On par with gripes e/f.
Can you put this in clear language?
You want the Mk2 display on some of Mk1A birds from certain serial number.
First pictures of both displays
Status of development of both displays.
Who are the suppliers or vendors?
What will it take to port Mk1A functions into the Mk2 display?
Then come contracting if technical hurdles are overcome.

In long run Mk2 display standardization is good.
One request how do they compare to Grippen display?

Heard it's quite good.

Sure will do need few days

Tejas Mk1A Light Combat Aircraft

ashishvikas

Post by ashishvikas »

#Exclusive

LCA Tejas LA-5031 with Indegenous Astra MK-I BVR missile & DRDO ASPJ (Advanced Self Protection Jamming) pod.
#AeroIndia2023

https://twitter.com/RAFIndia_/status/16 ... dUiow&s=19

Why not all 36? That will be awesome site to behold

fanne, You are selected to be in the top IAF command!
Tejas is for combat not for fly pasts.

ashishvikas wrote:#Exclusive

LCA Tejas LA-5031 with Indegenous Astra MK-I BVR missile & DRDO ASPJ (Advanced Self Protection Jamming) pod.
#AeroIndia2023

KaranM, About time!!!
titash

Post by titash »

#AeroIndia2023

Look at the size of that missile vis-a-vis the Tejas

Don’t think twin rails for Astra are gonna be feasible for the Tejas Mk1/1A

titash wrote: Look at the size of that missile vis-a-vis the Tejas

Don’t think twin rails for Astra are gonna be feasible for the Tejas Mk1/1A
I don't think that is an immediate requirement anyway. More important would be twin rails for R-73 on the outermost pylon. This is necessary because if the ASPJ is carried on the outermost pylon on one wing, you would be left with just one CCM on the other wing. That's what currently happens with the Mig-21 if the Elta SPJ pod is carried.

Seeing a Desi BVR missile on a Desi fighter gives a very satisfying feeling. Hope we start seeing these in photos from squadron service soon.

https://twitter.com/Defencecore/status/ ... 4871146497

Get your lungis out of your closets, gentlemen & ladies, if the below news item is true!

See India Today snippet from Shiv Aroor in the above tweet. He calls it Mission 470 (should be 467 to be exact):

Tejas-Mk1a : 133 (50 more to be ordered)
Tejas-Mk2: 108
AMCA: 126
TEDBF: 100

@Prem Kumar: From the link you posted in the IAF thread....

IAF Plans To Order 50 More LCA Mk1A Jets
https://www.livefistdefence.com/iaf-pla ... mk1a-jets/
15 Feb 2023
ashthor

Post by ashthor »

Bring out the lungies
BenG

Post by BenG »

Prem Kumar wrote:https://twitter.com/Defencecore/status/ ... 4871146497

Tejas-Mk1a : 133 (50 more to be ordered)
133 is incorrect. Tejas mk1a is 73 now. The order is 10 FOC twin seater + 73 mk1a. So it should be 73+50.

Imho, the next 50 order should have upgrades like new mission computer, new radar and jammers. It should be mk1b standard.

Rakesh wrote:@Prem Kumar: From the link you posted in the IAF thread....

15 Feb 2023
Good news ...

An update of the EW systems being developed for Mk1A & Su-30 MKI

15 Feb 2023
Did hell just freeze.
basant

Post by basant »

The number confuses me. Should it be 54 for 3 Sq?
Bharadwaj

Post by Bharadwaj »

15 Feb 2023
Did hell just freeze.
No- the inevitable dawn of reality happened :wink:

#AeroIndia2023

No wonder it took so long to integrate the Astra on Tejas Mk1. Look at the double adapters for Astra to go on Vympel launcher.

And Derby, etc what adapter did they use?

Something to find out.

^^ Commodore Mao has the answer

https://twitter.com/JA_Maolankar/status ... ar-IwtAAAA

Some clarification necessary. The Derby installation also has three and is clumsy/one too many to start with! What’s worse in the Astra is that the “launcher” actually has all attributes (and weights!) associated with a ‘pylon’. That’s the clumsiness multiplier

Excellent Thread on the Astra Launcher.

https://twitter.com/Indrani1_Roy/status ... 8955658240

Derby on the Left , Astra on the right both have adapters but Derby is sleeker

Tejas Mk1/Mk1A loadout image...

CCM - R-73E, Python V, ASRAAM

BVRAAM - Derby, Astra Mk1 and Astra Mk2 !!

DRDO ASPJ

AASM Hammer

JDAM-ER

Israeli LGB-NG and Griffin LGB

DRDO SAAW

Dumb bombs - 1000 lbs GP bombs, HSLD (High Speed Low Drag) 450 kg bombs, HSLD 250 kg prefrag bombs

Image Source: https://twitter.com/AdithyaKM_/status/1 ... 40288?s=20

Tejas Mk1 with Astra Mk1 and DRDO ASPJ

Kartik wrote:Tejas Mk1/Mk1A loadout image...
Absolutely gorgeous. Please do not forget the links.

from loadout image above, R-73 E is shown as being Israeli :D - The Russkies will be furious.
YashG

Post by YashG »

Aditya_V wrote:Some nice info in this video

and may be Naval LCA are ordered- 60 or So to get the HAL production ecosystem running so that the everything is place before TEDBF and Mk2 can be ordered in Nos along with AMCA.
im all for ordering nlca but how much supply chain for nlca and lca is common excluding engine ? 70%? x%…

basis x you can find the minimum number of nlca to be ordered to make sense + what role can nlca play during war in indian ocean.

If its not going to be deployed on a carrier but shorebased then basing then whr will play a worthwhile operational objective?

Thanks for the detailed technical video, Prasad! DDR is a class apart when it comes to coverage. The one area of improvement is audio quality, as others have commented on Twitter as well. Please do something about it & it will be really slick!

Summarizing Prasad's video:

1) Tejas Mk1a will have an RWR + ASPJ, the latter to complete testing this year
2) Tejas Mk2 will have an internal UEWS suite which features RWR & Jammer in one module. Does this mean that the Mk2 does not need an external ASPJ?
3) Su-30 MKI will have 2 external ASPJs that work in conjunction with the current RWR
4) Mid life upgraded Su-30 MKIs (because internal space might be freed up), may feature an UEWS like the Tejas Mk2

I presume that (2) means that the UEWS will have to be certified with both the ELTA 2052 radar as well as Uttam. Same story for Su-30 MKI also

Prasad: correct me if I am wrong

Summary is right . ASPJ being developed is for the Mk1A. It'll also be used by the Mk2. There's a lot more information but for obvious reasons cannot be shared in public.

As for the audio, I'm still experimenting at each expo. Will take the plunge and just buy something so I can fiddle with it and get it to work as i want it. Thanks for the feedback.

Once ASPJ, UEWS & Uttam are proved on our Tejas & Su-30 MKIs, we can pitch this Radar + EW upgrade to a lot of countries which have Sukhois, Mig-29s etc. It will not only earn us foreign $$, but also increase the likelihood of real combat usage, help expand the threat libraries etc

There are about 14 countries that operate Su-30 and 20 that operate Mig-29. If we exclude countries like North Korea, China, Russia, India & Azerbaijan from these lists, there are still a healthy 9 - 15 countries we can sell these to!

What ? No Brahmos on Tejas even now ? :(( :P
basant

Post by basant »

Cyrano wrote:What ? No Brahmos on Tejas even now ? :(( :P
Sarcasm? ;)

Just attempted humor... Just imagine Tejas accelerating to Mach 3+ riding on Brahmos and dropping it just before the terminal phase. What a superb way to extend Tejas' range and it can use increased loiter time on target to take photus of smouldering Pindi and dropping a few suitable dumb bombs on Ladenabad Hakkademy before hopping back... just as air raid sirens begin to scream across Riyasat-ul-madeinIndia.

The gingo scenarios are limitless saar...

Cyrano wrote:Just attempted humor... Just imagine Tejas accelerating to Mach 3+ riding on Brahmos and dropping it just before the terminal phase. What a superb way to extend Tejas' range and it can use increased loiter time on target to take photus of smouldering Pindi and dropping a few suitable dumb bombs on Ladenabad Hakkademy before hopping back... just as air raid sirens begin to scream across Riyasat-ul-madeinIndia.

The gingo scenarios are limitless saar...

Prasad wrote: As for the audio, I'm still experimenting at each expo. Will take the plunge and just buy something so I can fiddle with it and get it to work as i want it. Thanks for the feedback.
Or you could just shoot the platform and focus on different things like the sensors / missiles in the video (basically get yourself out of it), record what you need to say live, but re-record it later when home. Will make it easy to reduce and control noise and you will get the right context to talk about. Absolutely wonderful content! But you knew that...

Cyrano wrote:Just attempted humor... Just imagine Tejas accelerating to Mach 3+ riding on Brahmos and dropping it just before the terminal phase.
When you asked your original question about "no Brahmos on Tejas?" I thought the right question is "no Tejas on Brahmos?" given the sizes involved; and you have described this very configuration :lol: