Russian-Ukrainian War: Combat Tactics & Strategy

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Russian-Ukrainian War: Combat Tactics & Strategy

..And why is that? Is CNN, or perhaps the BBC only preferable to any Russian or their allied media?
Dissing any and every state media report from Russia or a pro Russian channel automatically as untrustworthy and a bunch of lies has been so standard in the western media and even here, that I have stopped pointing it out or arguing about it !!

But thanks for putting the finger on it Hari ji.
dnivas

Post by dnivas »

To add to what Hari Nair Ji has said, every Kaliber strike [Re- Caliberation of Ukr] and it's corresponding news article have turned out to be true.

2 strikes in Lyiv against the mercenary legion. to date Ukr has said only 24 soldiers have been kiled, whereas the a bunch of volunteers who werent killed have left the country and even had instructions how to evade the SBU and border guards. Even those guys who escaped the training center have said that hundreds of volunteers [Mercs] have been killed.
[Data dump of Mercs KIA was hacked and put out a few weeks ago that seems to confirm deaths of mercs]

3 kaliber strikes against warehouse in Lyiv. There is video evidence of the three strikes hitting the train station and you can see the explosion which is not the aftermath of just a simple cruise missile. Russians said they hit a NATO supplied warehouse

Kaliber strikes against train sub stations and other bridges have all turned out to be true. Ukr put a video of an uprooted track and said that the missile attack was a fail , After a few days we got whiny tweets that train transportation is slowed down because substations have been taken out, therefore trains had to be rerouted.

Beskidy [Largest post 91 tunnel in Ukraine was hit. For days, the Ukr was gloating that tunnel was not hit until confirmation started trickling in that logistics has been slowed down in the tunnel before all that news was scrubbed out.

So logically i believe the Russian media so far than what the Ukr have been putting out so far.

Western MSM reporters mostly stay in Lviv or Kiev in 5* digs and relay report whatever they are fed by the Kiev regime, and all "on ground" reporting is from set stage prices provided by the regime. They are not usually authorised to go looking for news on their own. If they venture out, they are quickly asked to leave or told that their "security can no longer be guaranteed". And of course no one from western MSM goes to report from the other side of the front line, except a handful of independent journos from US, UK, France, Germany, Spain, Italy etc. whose stories are mostly ignored by the MSM back home.

So much for freedom of press and whatnot...
UBanerjee

Post by UBanerjee »

Cyrano wrote:
..And why is that? Is CNN, or perhaps the BBC only preferable to any Russian or their allied media?
Dissing any and every state media report from Russia or a pro Russian channel automatically as untrustworthy and a bunch of lies has been so standard in the western media and even here, that I have stopped pointing it out or arguing about it !!

This is a key part of the Western playbook, so faithfully echoed by the likes of John ji.

Russia bad, West good. Russia bad, West good!
Cyrano wrote:Western MSM reporters mostly stay in Lviv or Kiev in 5* digs and relay report whatever they are fed by the Kiev regime, and all "on ground" reporting is from set stage prices provided by the regime. They are not usually authorised to go looking for news on their own. If they venture out, they are quickly asked to leave or told that their "security can no longer be guaranteed". And of course no one from western MSM goes to report from the other side of the front line, except a handful of independent journos from US, UK, France, Germany, Spain, Italy etc. whose stories are mostly ignored by the MSM back home.

So much for freedom of press and whatnot...
Western "journalism" is mostly entertainment at this point.

Witness the treatment of Julian Assange, especially after he went after the Clintonistas and the Neocons (when he was just dumping on the Pentagon he was tolerable - the Pentagon is lowest on the status hierarchy in the States). There's nothing the West hates more than real journalism.

Cyrano wrote:

Because RT has made lot of ridiculous claims. Unlike Russia, Ukr command doesn’t operate close to front lines. There is plenty of more moderate news and open source int community which is good at confirming these propaganda pieces from both side. Even in Russian side there are people like Igor who call it BS on reports like this.

They made claims like this before like we have defeated Ukr AF and all air defenses in day one.

https://www.rt.com/russia/550426-ukrain ... essed/amp/

We have taken out battery of M777 and in footage they showed strikes missing their target. The same battery released vids following week

https://www.rt.com/russia/555935-army-d ... tzers/amp/

They where also reporting on whole ex 70 yr NATO generals operating in Mariupol which looks like they took it down.
Last edited by John on 19 Jun 2022 20:25, edited 2 times in total.
UBanerjee

Post by UBanerjee »

John wrote: Because RT has made lot of ridiculous claims unlike Russia, Ukr command doesn’t operate close to front lines. They made claims like this before like we have defeated Ukr AF and all air defenses in day one.
Unlike Western/Ukro media, which has reported solid facts like Ghost of Kiev, Snake Island Martyrs, Bucha "massacre", and other such gems :rotfl:

Until, of course, reality stepped in over 5 weeks later!
https://www.nbcnews.com/news/world/ukra ... -rcna26867

At the time all Western media uncritically reported this "war news"
dnivas

Post by dnivas »

UBanerjee wrote:
John wrote: Because RT has made lot of ridiculous claims unlike Russia, Ukr command doesn’t operate close to front lines. They made claims like this before like we have defeated Ukr AF and all air defenses in day one.
Unlike Western/Ukro media, which has reported solid facts like Ghost of Kiev, Snake Island Martyrs, Bucha "massacre", and other such gems :rotfl:
WMD - Iraq
Libya
Syria
Hunter Biden Laptop
Wikileaks
Trump Pee Tape
Russiagate for 5 years
Modi - fascist
Modi - Hindu Nationalist right wing party
Pakistan - Fighting terror
CCP - Wuhan Virus
Support for US/Saudi in Yemen
Putin Inflation.

I mean just the losses in the last 20 years is millions of humans dead. John is now the fact checker on the scene who now only wants western media which does not have a single reporter on the frontlines.

What news have the western corporate propagandists got right. None. They have just been cheer leading the biggest killers of the past 30 years.

UBanerjee wrote:

Until, of course, reality stepped in over 5 weeks later!
https://www.nbcnews.com/news/world/ukra ... -rcna26867

At the time all Western media uncritically reported this "war news"
Both sides have propaganda I called out the Ghost as incorrect and shootdowns where result of SAM but did report Ukr AF is operational and not taken out as claimed.

This combat thread not political discussion on news and media, I know folks here where defending the whole NATO general captured piece as correct when Brar pointed correctly it as false. Let’s wait for more confirmation from viable source not just defend propaganda because we want to believe in it.
dnivas

Post by dnivas »

The problem is you take tiny tactical or small sector victories of Ukr and translate that into some sort of all encompassing Ukr Victory. There has not been a single Ukr push more than 50 km's against heavy Russian resistance. the Mythical planes you talk about, they get in the air and just like any paki terrorist entering Kashmir, the half life is a span of a few days.

How come any of the mythical Ukr fighter planes not even once strafed the 40km long convoy.

Why are they no sustained CAP in the air , if the Ukr airforce is so powerful.

when Russia says Ukr air force is no more, it means they are unable to mount an effective counter attack, sure there are teeny tiny raids here and there. These planes are taken out until the next batch from the euro cowards come in.

dnivas wrote:The problem is you take tiny tactical or small sector victories of Ukr and translate that into some sort of all encompassing Ukr Victory. There has not been a single Ukr push more than 50 km's against heavy Russian resistance. the Mythical planes you talk about, they get in the air and just like any paki terrorist entering Kashmir, the half life is a span of a few days.

How come any of the mythical Ukr fighter planes not even once strafed the 40km long convoy.

when Russia says Ukr air force is no more, it means they are unable to mount an effective counter attack, sure there are teeny tiny raids here and there. These planes are taken out until the next batch from the euro cowards come in.
Even Russian Air Force hasn’t done any strikes out side of low flying Combat air support and stand off attacks. Both AF ironically are operating very similarly mainly because neither has SEAD capability to neutralize the others air defense

Russian Su-25

https://twitter.com/200_zoka/status/153 ... O2lqlyt1yg

Ukrainian Su-25

https://twitter.com/raging545/status/15 ... O2lqlyt1yg

We haven’t seen any frontal convoy strikes by either side since first week, both AF lost ACs when they tried do that.Rather they have stuck to using drones/artillery or lobing rockets from ACs beyond visual horizon.
Last edited by John on 19 Jun 2022 20:54, edited 2 times in total.
Hari Nair

Post by Hari Nair »

John wrote:
Cyrano wrote: Dissing any and every state media report from Russia or a pro Russian channel automatically as untrustworthy and a bunch of lies has been so standard in the western media and even here, that I have stopped pointing it out or arguing about it !!

Because RT has made lot of ridiculous claims. Unlike Russia, Ukr command doesn’t operate close to front lines. There is plenty of more moderate news and open source int community which is good at confirming these propaganda pieces from both side. Even in Russian side there are people like Igor who call it BS on reports like this.

They made claims like this before like we have defeated Ukr AF and all air defenses in day one.

We have taken out battery of M777 and in footage they showed strikes missing their target. The same battery released vids following week

They where also reporting on whole ex 70 yr NATO generals operating in Mariupol which looks like they took it down.
John Saab - this is my T-H-I-R-D request to you - kindly respond to my earlier posts.
Shoot and scoot is okay with western audiences, definitely not with this Forum, as so many other members are pointing out.
The indigenous natives here, are you are undoubtedly aware, are blessed with innate intelligence derived from thousands of centuries of civilisation

You responses do not appear to reflect the objective and analytical nature of this Forum. I will even dare to say that your POV is one-sided.
Last edited by Hari Nair on 19 Jun 2022 20:51, edited 1 time in total.

Talking about Ukrainian shelling of Donetsk civilian areas:

https://twitter.com/cpimentel986/status ... 2607188998
There are bad news near Donetsk though, and its about the shelling.

It is expected to increase.

UA artillery continues staging near Avdeevka. Guess where UKR command decided to send those spiffy brand new TPQ-37 ctr-batt radars now that RuAF is trying to dispose of them? Yeah.

Hari Nair wrote:
John wrote: Because RT has made lot of ridiculous claims. Unlike Russia, Ukr command doesn’t operate close to front lines. There is plenty of more moderate news and open source int community which is good at confirming these propaganda pieces from both side. Even in Russian side there are people like Igor who call it BS on reports like this.

John Saab - this is my T-H-I-R-D request to you - kindly respond to my earlier posts.
Shoot and scoot is okay with western audiences, definitely not with this Forum, as so many other members are pointing out.

You responses do not appear to reflect the objective and analytical nature of this Forum. I will even dare to say that your POV is one-sided.
Which do you want to respond? I noted before they made claims they taken out western m777 before and they turned out to be false. It doesn’t make sense for m777 to be stored in a warehouse far from frontline when they are being deployed to frontlines as quickly as possible. So I would wait for confirmation.
dnivas

Post by dnivas »

dnivas wrote:
John wrote: I would take any RT report with a grain of salt they reported they took out all M777 the day they are delivered couple weeks ago and they make the same claim here.

Yuri claims Su-57 used in front lines.

https://twitter.com/ralee85/status/1538 ... O2lqlyt1yg
RT has been more reliable than Ukr MOD so far. we will come back to this in a few weeks and I will ask mod to remove this post if thus turns out to be false.I hope you will do the same as well.

regarding SU57 there has been some articles in some non Russian sources as well a few days ago.

https://www.airdatanews.com/su-57-steal ... n-ukraine/
Here is the link from Russian MOD, I hope that's to your liking and more reliable than RT
https://t.me/mod_russia/16918

Summary of the Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation on the progress of a special military operation on the territory of Ukraine (06/19/2022)

Part 1 (see Part 2)

◽️ The offensive in the Severodonetsk direction is successfully developing. The units of the People's Militia of the Luhansk People's Republic, with the support of the Armed Forces of the Russian Federation, liberated the settlement of Metelkino.

◽️ Some units of the Armed Forces of Ukraine, due to their low moral and psychological state, lack of ammunition and lack of support, leave the combat area. Thus, a platoon of the 1st company of the 1st battalion of the 57th Motorized Infantry Brigade, defending in the area of Lisichansk, abandoned heavy weapons and abandoned their positions.

The Armed Forces of the Russian Federation continue to strike military targets on the territory of Ukraine.

Over the past day, high-precision long-range sea-based Kalibr missiles at 12.30 struck the control point of the Ukrainian troops near the village of Shirokaya Dacha, Dnipropetrovsk region, at a time when a working meeting of the commanders of the operational-strategic grouping of troops "Alexandria" was held there.

As a result of the strike, more than 50 generals and officers of the Armed Forces of Ukraine were destroyed, including the General Staff, the command of the Kakhovka group of troops, amphibious assault troops and formations operating in the Mykolaiv and Zaporizhia directions.

At 20.20, ten 155-mm M777 howitzers and up to 20 armored combat vehicles delivered by the West to the Kiev regime over the past 10 days were destroyed by high-precision long-range Kalibr missiles on the territory of the transformer plant in the city of Nikolaev.

High-precision air-launched missiles at 19.20 defeated an echelon with personnel, weapons and military equipment of the 1st battalion of the 14th separate mechanized brigade, which arrived from the city of Vladimir-Volynsky in the combat zone in the Donbas.

As a result of the strike on the place of unloading of the echelon near the Gubinikha railway station of the Dnipropetrovsk region, more than 100 AFU servicemen, 30 tanks and armored fighting vehicles were destroyed.

At 02.05 in the area of the Selidovo settlement of the Donetsk People's Republic, the 56th Motorized Infantry Brigade of the Armed Forces of Ukraine was defeated. Up to 200 militants were destroyed, including foreign mercenaries who were part of this brigade, as well as two Grad multiple rocket launcher combat vehicles, 10 infantry fighting vehicles and armored personnel carriers.

As part of the counter-battery struggle in the Donetsk direction, seven platoons of the Grad MLRS and an artillery platoon in firing positions were defeated.

Operational-tactical and army aviation destroyed four warehouses with rocket and artillery weapons and artillery ammunition in the areas of the settlements of Maksimilianovka, Avdiivka, Zelenoye Pole and Georgievka of the Donetsk People's Republic, as well as the launcher of the Buk-M1 anti-aircraft missile system in the Seversk region of the Luhansk People's Republic.

Rocket troops and artillery hit 22 control points, 48 artillery units in firing positions, manpower and military equipment of the Armed Forces of Ukraine in 123 districts.

The strike of the Iskander operational-tactical missile system on the territory of the Kharkiv Tank Repair Plant destroyed two launchers of the Hurricane multiple launch rocket system.

The Ukrainian armed forces are suffering significant losses from counter-battery warfare. Thus, a soldier of the 22nd Motorized Infantry Brigade of the Armed Forces of Ukraine, captured near the village of Peremoga, said that over the past 10 days in artillery units operating in the Kharkiv direction, losses amounted to 380 people, including 90 - irretrievable.
dnivas

Post by dnivas »

John wrote:
dnivas wrote:The problem is you take tiny tactical or small sector victories of Ukr and translate that into some sort of all encompassing Ukr Victory. There has not been a single Ukr push more than 50 km's against heavy Russian resistance. the Mythical planes you talk about, they get in the air and just like any paki terrorist entering Kashmir, the half life is a span of a few days.

Even Russian Air Force hasn’t done any strikes out side of low flying Combat air support and stand off attacks. Both AF ironically are operating very similarly mainly because neither has SEAD capability to neutralize the others air defense

Russian Su-25

Ukrainian Su-25

We haven’t seen any frontal convoy strikes by either side since first week, both AF lost ACs when they tried do that.Rather they have stuck to using drones/artillery or lobing rockets from ACs beyond visual horizon.
RUAF does not want to escalate and impose any sort of CAP on western Ukraine. They are hitting target of opportunities as and when they arise.

Ukranians according to you who have lost as many as RUAF still do not seem to strike at 40 Km long supply routes or even for that matter egress into Russia and take out even on village?? I wonder why

John wrote: Which do you want to respond? I noted before they made claims they taken out western m777 before and they turned out to be false. It doesn’t make sense for m777 to be stored in a warehouse far from frontline when they are being deployed to frontlines as quickly as possible. So I would wait for confirmation.
There are 3 sets of info on the M-777 which I have tried to cross reference.

1. M-777 battery attacked by drones/ artillery. I believe, the battery was successfully attacked and this has been acknowledged by Western Analysts. A shot of 1 shell missing the target is actually proof to me that it was a successful strike, given the number of shells that would have been fired, their CEP and the kill radius of a 152mm shell.

2. Strikes on a warehouse. It's logical for the Russians to target warehouses instead of dispersed pieces. When a M-777 is supplied, it would have to be accompanied by ammo, personnel for the battery, support vehicles, spares etc. These might come from different sources, so it makes sense to
consolidate these in a warehouse away from the front, while they figure out how to move the complete battery - when rail lines and bridges are attacked and deployment priorities change. One strike 4 days ago was near Lviv near the Polish border, the most recent one was at Nikolayev, where the Ukrainians are known to be massing equipment for a counter attack towards Kherson.

3. Ukraine MOD reports that 2 of the 6 M-777s they just received, needed repairs and are not usable. Overall 36 out of 108 needed repairs either before use, or after 1st use.
Last edited by Deans on 19 Jun 2022 21:31, edited 1 time in total.

dnivas wrote:
John wrote:

Russian Su-25

Ukrainian Su-25

RUAF does not want to escalate and impose any sort of CAP on western Ukraine. They are hitting target of opportunities as and when they arise.

Ukranians according to you who have lost as many as RUAF still do not seem to strike at 40 Km long supply routes or even for that matter egress into Russia and take out even on village?? I wonder why
I don’t understand your argument you are saying RusAF isn’t doing any bombing runs and sticking to lobing rockets and stand off weapons because they don’t want to?

That makes no sense most of targets are still close to front line (take for example Kharkiv) and they are using stand off weapons rather than launching air strikes because of threat from air defenses.

Same applies UkrAF as well why risk the small amount of ACs operational on strikes into Russia or seperatists areas, that said supposedly the recent strike on Donetsk was done by Ukr Su-25, DNR and few have made that claim because of S-8 rockets found on scene but I think these could come from exploding ammunition (Russia says it’s artillery and Ukr hasn’t said anything).

Deans wrote:
John wrote: Which do you want to respond? I noted before they made claims they taken out western m777 before and they turned out to be false. It doesn’t make sense for m777 to be stored in a warehouse far from frontline when they are being deployed to frontlines as quickly as possible. So I would wait for confirmation.
There are 3 separate reports on the M-777 which I have tried to cross reference.

1. M-777 battery attacked by drones/ artillery. I believe, the battery was successfully attacked and this has been acknowledged by Western Analysts. A shot of 1 shell missing the target is actually proof to me that it was a successful strike, given the number of shells that would have been fired, their CEP and the kill radius of a 152mm shell.

2. Strike on a warehouse. It's logical for the Russians to target warehouses instead of dispersed pieces. When a M-777 is supplied, it would have to be accompanied by ammo, personnel for the battery, support vehicles, spares etc. These might come from different sources, so it makes sense to
consolidate these in a warehouse away from the front, while they figure out how to get the complete battery to the front - when rail lines and bridges are attacked and deployment priorities change.

3. Ukraine MOD reports that 2 of the 6 M-777s they just received, needed repairs and are not usable. Overall 36 out of 108 needed repairs either before use, or after 1st use.
Yes the bigger problem with M777 and western weaponary is ammunition and spares than Russian strikes, also these are used M777s god knows what state they are in. Even with new M777 it took IA a while to induct M777 and I cannot imagine UA some how being able to press these into service without repurcussions.
Hari Nair

Post by Hari Nair »

John wrote:
Hari Nair wrote:

Which do you want to respond? I noted before they made claims they taken out western m777 before and they turned out to be false. It doesn’t make sense for m777 to be stored in a warehouse far from frontline when they are being deployed to frontlines as quickly as possible. So I would wait for confirmation.

Read my earlier posts more carefully please - I have given links to a professional W-E-S-T-E-R-N military academy and TWO of their analysis. You chose to continually ignore those and keep pushing a narrative based only on some micro-events.

I recommend we stop the shoot-and-scoot method of pushing an obviously one-sided narrative, that is increasingly not being supported by facts on the ground - this is a dedicated mil forum with a very specific and focused thread.

Kindly respond on a point-by-point basis.

Given the above, your responses to not engage in an objective manner borders on extreme bias and may not be befitting the standards of this forum.

Focusing on micro-events to push forward a specific perceived narrative is NOT cutting the ice with this audience, as you are undoubtedly becoming aware.
Last edited by Hari Nair on 19 Jun 2022 22:02, edited 1 time in total.
dnivas

Post by dnivas »

John wrote:
dnivas wrote:

I don’t understand your argument you are saying RusAF isn’t doing any bombing runs and sticking to lobing rockets and stand off weapons because they don’t want to?

That makes no sense most of targets are still close to front line (take for example Kharkiv) and they are using stand off weapons rather than launching air strikes because of threat from air defenses.

Same applies UkrAF as well why risk the small amount of ACs operational on strikes into Russia or seperatists areas, that said supposedly the recent strike on Donetsk was done by Ukr Su-25, DNR and few have made that claim because of S-8 rockets found on scene but I think these could come from exploding ammunition (Russia says it’s artillery and Ukr hasn’t said anything).
What I an saying is that there is no need for RUAF to waste their engine time flying cap over Ukraine which has no meaningful air force left. Every time a new batch of hand me downs are given ti Ukr , they are either shot down within a few days or preserved until some sort of important mission. Again these are tiny tiny wins and is inconsequential in the long run. Ukr is only running a media war primarily,

I mean look at this moron, he is in the midst of opulence but has to put up a show with a baniyan. Literally everything ukr does is for twitter clicks and outrage [Kinda like white Pakis]

You keep saying Ukr is saving its planes for important targets. What's more important than a 40 mile column of supply trucks. why is the Ukr AF not flying one sortie and take out even 1Km of supply trucks. All we see are one heli here or one heli there , any SU25 in the air is shot down within days. What are they preserving the air planes for, All of E ukr is about t fall. What is more important than using the planes now????

The easiest logical answer is that the moment the planes are up, they are trcked and shot down. helis take some more time, but still shot down on a regular basis. Literally every one of your Ukr success stories turn out to be minor wins and basically unimportant for the future.

Russia has complete air dominance and does not care abt small losses here and there. They are preserving their plans when unkil finally comes calling. I hope you can remove some of those western blinkers [laughable when you say you can ironically say that you do not trust, The biggest purveyors of fake news is western cabal of war mongers and entertainment] . It's just funny you come in here and tell with a neutral tone you do not trust RT but trust NBC,CBS reuters. There is not one western media person on the front lines. do you know why, coz they all sit in Kiev and info is passed via Ukr MOD to them. That's why every report from every western media org comes out at the same time and has the same fake news.

On the other hand, there ate heolocated RT, Sputnik and indie news persons on the DPR , LHR side having live broadcasts.

Hari Nair wrote:

Read my earlier posts more carefully please - I have given links to a professional W-E-S-T-E-R-N military academy and TWO of their analysis. You chose to continually ignore those and keep pushing a narrative based only on some micro-events.

I recommend we stop the shoot-and-scoot method of pushing an obviously one-sided narrative, that is increasingly not being supported by facts on the ground - this is a dedicated mil forum with a very specific and focused thread.

Given the above, your responses to not engage in an objective manner appear to border on extreme bias and may not be befitting the standards of this forum.

Focusing on micro-events to push forward a specific perceived narrative is NOT cutting the ice with this audience, as you are undoubtedly becoming aware.
I am not pushing one sided narrative few folks get too emotional if anyone refutes Russian propaganda or calls it out that’s why Brar left especially after whole Russian BS report of NATO general captured and other such reports which he correctly called out as incorrect.

As for the video from Österreichs Bundesheer, I haven’t seen whole video he could be right there is shortage of artillery on Ukrainian side I noted if Russia focused on east it would fall in couple of weeks but fact they it hasn’t shown even I have been wrong.
Hari Nair

Post by Hari Nair »

John wrote:
Hari Nair wrote:

Given the above, your responses to not engage in an objective manner appear to border on extreme bias and may not be befitting the standards of this forum.

I am not pushing one sided narrative few folks get too emotional if anyone refutes Russian propaganda or calls it out that’s why Brar left especially after whole Russian BS report of NATO general captured and other such reports which he correctly called out as incorrect.

As for the video from Österreichs Bundesheer, I haven’t seen whole video he could be right there is shortage of artillery on Ukrainian side I noted if Russia focused on east it would fall in couple of weeks but fact they it hasn’t shown even I have been wrong.
I usually do not get into a fur-ball discussion, but in this case I may need to make an exception.

Your one-line ungrammatical response to TWO western dispassionate and objective analytical presentations of about 30-40 min is:

"I haven’t seen whole video he could be right there is shortage of artillery on Ukrainian side"

This obviously indicates a very condescending tone and also very clearly, shows the abysmal and shallow quality of analysis.

I do not know your nationality, where you are from or where your loyalties lie - however, may I request you to stop bombarding this thread with one-sided posts of irrelevant micro events? It brings down the level of discourse and instead, is better suited for a propaganda piece in some rag in the MSM.

Hari Nair wrote:
John wrote: I am not pushing one sided narrative few folks get too emotional if anyone refutes Russian propaganda or calls it out that’s why Brar left especially after whole Russian BS report of NATO general captured and other such reports which he correctly called out as incorrect.

I usually do not get into a fur-ball discussion, but in this case I may need to make an exception.

I do not know your nationality, where you are from and where your loyalties lie.

Your one-line ungrammatical response to TWO western dispassionate and objective analytical presentations of about 30-40 min is:

"I haven’t seen whole video he could be right there is shortage of artillery on Ukrainian side"

This obviously indicates a very condescending tone and clearly shows the abysmal and shallow quality of analysis.

I do not know your nationality, where you are from or where your loyalties lie - however, may I request you to stop bombarding this thread with one-sided posts of irrelevant micro events? It brings down the level of discourse and instead, is better suited for a propaganda piece in some rag in the MSM.
I suggest mods go thru and clean up last few posts.

Seems like you are not happy with any information that contradicts your viewpoint which of my posts have been one sided? You even posted claims saying Severodnetsk has fallen in end of May which I corrected, as well as Ukranian claims saying they pushed Russians out of city (Funny no one took offense to that).

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=7888&p=2551343#p2551343

I said the same thing during heated exchange few folks had with Brar I know few folks have very close affection with Russia but that shouldn’t cloud our judgement and not get emotional with any report or post that refutes any obvious propaganda.
You keep saying Ukr is saving its planes for important targets. What's more important than a 40 mile column of supply trucks. why is the Ukr AF not flying one sortie and take out even 1Km of supply trucks. All we see are one heli here or one heli there , any SU25 in the air is shot down within days. What are they preserving the air planes for, All of E ukr is about t fall. What is more important than using the planes now????
Nothing good comes from suicidal attack and attacking a convoy requires good Intel it’s not the movies. As for Su-25s getting shot down in days both sides have lost Su-25s but atleast vids of one I have posted has been seen flying since March.

The video I posted is from June and the same plane and wingmen has seen been flying in May and March in Vids and we have seen footage or wreckage of planes to prove the RusAF has shot down UkfAF immediately at launch. In fact what’s impressive is so far we have only one or two documented shootdowns by an AC (one is Russia Flanker vs Mi-14) both sides have made claims of air to air shoot downs but no evidence.

Hari ji,
Actually I think we should let John ji post away the way he does, he usually manages to suggest Ukr is somehow doing good in a manner that's better than most MSM, with selective facts, innuendo and slant. I some times find it comical and lets me wonder what could be the motivation behind all this effort _on an Indian mil affairs _ forum. I mean clearly John is not posting on this topic to inform, educate or debate seriously - but why bother to convince us of whatever he's trying to... Beyond a point I find all that contortion funny ! Just IMHO onlee.
And John, nothing personal... since I know zilch about who you really are, how can I even begin to get personal - I'm only stating my reaction to posts I bothered to read from your handle! If mods don't mind, I mostly have no problem you posting what ever you want , I skip posts and posters who ultimately fall into the unreliable and uninteresting category in my head.
UBanerjee

Post by UBanerjee »

I don't know why we should be upset that Western POV pushers "left" because of our "bias" (e.g. brar-ji).

The last few months have made it abundantly clear to me, someone who lives in the States and follows Western mainstream and alt media very closely, that Western MSM has really become worse than the Soviet era Pravda. I don't say this lightly or as a joke. They have become unhinged, divorced from reality, and almost mentally disturbed. It's been striking to watch.

The reason I bring this up in the mil tactics and strategy thread is that it has become imperative for me, personally, to find Western alt and dissident sources to get an accurate picture of Russian and Ukrainian combat tactics and strategy. There are individuals such as these- The Duran, Eva Bartlett, The New Atlas, and Patrick Lancaster on Youtube; Caitlin Johnstone on Substack; Consortium News / The Grayzone / other syndications. And many more. But it is like digging through a haystack to find needles.

The West should be treated as a totalitarian empire at this point. Reality is severely distorted inside the Western MSM bubble.

This can be made even more clear simply by watching the way Western MSM has been shown up over the last few months as their fantasies keep colliding and getting smashed by reality. I mean specifically with regards to the Ukraine war on the ground reporting, among many many other topics.

Here is a specific, recent, example of Western perfidy with regards to reporting. This is Patrick Lancaster- an American who is on the ground reporting in Ukraine, direct POV.
Many Dead As Ukraine Artillery Hits Donetsk Harder Then ever before

It is very clear, from both Patrick as well as multiple other sources I have triangulated, that Ukraine is shelling Donetsk city center for the past few months and has stepped up this shelling in the last few days.
Here is another source, with plenty of pictures of the shelling, and documentation of how the Western media has twisted the story.

Here is the strategy of how Western media treats this type of story.
1) They mostly just ignore that this is happening at all. That is their primary strategy.
2) When they do report it, they do this:
a) they use a headline such as "Donetsk city center shelled." (passive voice, no attribution to Ukraine)
b) or they use a headline such as "Ukraine blamed for Donetsk shelling." (implying that this is just a Russian accusation).
c) or they outright blame the shelling on Russia (simple falsehood).

Here is an example of strategy 2b from Reuters, as documented by The New Atlas:
Reuters story

There are pictures of the shelling and the damage, but somehow Reuters then has the shamelessness to report it like this (my emphasis):
There was no independent confirmation of any of the attacks and Reuters could not ascertain whether they had taken place. There has been no immediate reaction from Kyiv to the reports.

These guys are past masters at twisting and torturing words. That is actually the West's single biggest export at this point- information warfare.

The "Empire of Lies" indeed (see Putin's speech, from Feb 24th).

We, speaking English and thus exposed directly to these lies, should be cautious in how we investigate the world and what we do and don't take for granted. How many people here know that Israel bombed Syria's international airport a week or so ago? Did the Western MSM highlight the fact at all, and how much of Indian media simply swallows Western sources wholesale?
dnivas

Post by dnivas »

John wrote: Nothing good comes from suicidal attack and attacking a convoy requires good Intel it’s not the movies. As for Su-25s getting shot down in days both sides have lost Su-25s but atleast vids of one I have posted has been seen flying since March.

The video I posted is from June and the same plane and wingmen has seen been flying in May and March in Vids and we have seen footage or wreckage of planes to prove the RusAF has shot down UkfAF immediately at launch. In fact what’s impressive is so far we have only one or two documented shootdowns by an AC (one is Russia Flanker vs Mi-14) both sides have made claims of air to air shoot downs but no evidence.
In the past many weeks, You keep saying RUAF is as wrecked as UKr Af and the reason Ukr AF is able to fly is because RUAF is a sliver of what it once was.
At the same time, there are massive convoys all across the country feeding the Russian war machine. Why is the Ukr AF not making an effort to fly their superior air force and take out those supply dumps. No supply , the invasion grounds to a halt. Why is the RU SMO so blase about not having CAP over strategic supply depots??

These are thoughts to ponder. Either Russia has given up on aircraft based defense or they have such complete air superiority they know the puny existing Ukr AF can do jack SH*T to any existing land based formations. I mean to be honest what you do think is likely? I want to understand your perspective.

Now you also said no good comes from a suicidal attack. Mariupol was suicidal/ literally every dugout now in eastern Ukr is suicidal and a death trap. I mean your logic is highly illogical and inconsistent. Every time we hear of a last stand, ukr troops are willing be to suicidal, yet somehow these massive convoys to which Ukr has near real time intelligence the Ukr AF does not find the cojones to mount an assault. Why is that. Logistics wins wars, why are the Ukr not mounting airstrikes and launching attacks on supply depots.

I would say about 90% of your claims since the beginning is either a tactical win or just a twitter only win. a 500,000K [of which 200K has been trained to almost NATO standard ] army has been totally wrecked by a 200K SMO that is fighting across a massive front and also is really not putting the pain on the decision making centers of Ukr. A few rounds of calibration while the Euro twats are coming to visit baniyan man will show them the reality of war. Russia somehow has almost been India like on not taking out political units on the western Ukraine side. Hopefully that is remedied soon. a proper Kaliber strike on the train that these euro cowards are supposed to go back on would be a priority signal that next time they come for a photo op things could be different.
dnivas

Post by dnivas »

UBanerjee wrote:I don't know why we should be upset that Western POV pushers "left" because of our "bias" (e.g. brar-ji). .....
These guys are past masters at twisting and torturing words. That is actually the West's single biggest export at this point- information warfare.

The "Empire of Lies" indeed (see Putin's speech, from Feb 24th).

We, speaking English and thus exposed directly to these lies, should be cautious in how we investigate the world and what we do and don't take for granted. How many people here know that Israel bombed Syria's international airport a week or so ago? Did the Western MSM highlight the fact at all, and how much of Indian media simply swallows Western sources wholesale?
.[/quote]

That was a masterclass. Beautifully put. I mean the level of propaganda that is brought to bear.
The dumbass mercs keep saying they heard news about the amt of destruction in Ukr.. [I mean wtf, do these twits do not know how much destruction was brought up in LIbya, Yemen, Iraq, Syria]. Somehow when their team does in, civilian causalities, hospitals destroyed all become figures in the wind. They just become inconsequential.

At the bar i worked at, there was a bunch of dudes discussing the poor Ukr people and then one guy asked everyone , has anyone compared the number of civ deaths in Iraq vs Ukr and immediately the backpeddling starts.

Well we do not target civs, the iraqi army was hiding among civs. I mean the amt if brain malfunction and exceptionalism drilled into the people's head is legendary. Soviets may have been brain washed, but when you come up with some sobering stats , they accept they were wrong. Some of the Euro lemmings and most of the people I meet, just glaze over the number of deaths caused by team NATO.

Last week I felt legendary when I had this drunk britshit guy come and start telling me about how some processor was designed by briish and the railways was because the britshits wanted to develop India. I gave him a loud lecture, charged him 25% in servince charges and kicked him out . It was a glorious feeling.

edit : screwed the quote by UB.. Just fixed it.
Last edited by dnivas on 20 Jun 2022 11:57, edited 1 time in total.

Absolutely UBanerjee
DNivas, you make me think of a jirga at your bar, wherever it might be!

Now let's all get back to topic please

dnivas wrote:
John wrote: Nothing good comes from suicidal attack and attacking a convoy requires good Intel it’s not the movies. As for Su-25s getting shot down in days both sides have lost Su-25s but atleast vids of one I have posted has been seen flying since March.

In the past many weeks, You keep saying RUAF is as wrecked as UKr Af and the reason Ukr AF is able to fly is because RUAF is a sliver of what it once was.
At the same time, there are massive convoys all across the country feeding the Russian war machine. Why is the Ukr AF not making an effort to fly their superior air force and take out those supply dumps. No supply , the invasion grounds to a halt. Why is the RU SMO so blase about not having CAP over strategic supply depots??

These are thoughts to ponder. Either Russia has given up on aircraft based defense or they have such complete air superiority they know the puny existing Ukr AF can do jack SH*T to any existing land based formations. I mean to be honest what you do think is likely? I want to understand your perspective.

Now you also said no good comes from a suicidal attack. Mariupol was suicidal/ literally every dugout now in eastern Ukr is suicidal and a death trap. I mean your logic is highly illogical and inconsistent. Every time we hear of a last stand, ukr troops are willing be to suicidal, yet somehow these massive convoys to which Ukr has near real time intelligence the Ukr AF does not find the cojones to mount an assault. Why is that. Logistics wins wars, why are the Ukr not mounting airstrikes and launching attacks on supply depots.
I never ever stated RuAF is wrecked but rather after the losses they decided it is too risky to fly bombing runs (it could be also due to lack of PGM or combination of both). I never stated Ukr AF has superior AF but rather a small AF (even pre war they barely had 2 squadrons of ACs operational) so they have to pick and choose their strikes.

Currently with supply of spares from Eastern Europe and repairs of ACs in storage they might at most have at most 3 squadrons of combined Su-25,27 and Mig-29 operational. Which is even less than what Iraqis had in 2nd Gulf war.

RusAF in other hand seems to be hesitant to invest in SEAD operation to achieve full air superiority, I am not quite sure the reason.

Ukraine is using artillery and drones to hit supply convoys and ammo depots . Here is after image of ammo depot that was taken out in Donetsk there claims it was work of Ukr Su-25 by some. Ukrainian rarely acknowledges the source of strikes in Russian areas for example it hasn’t yet acknowledged Mi-8s where used to strike Russian oil wells in Belgorod Russia couple months ago (even though Russian CCTV caught the helicopters) so we may never know.

https://twitter.com/girkingirkin/status ... XLzqNYXQTQ

UBanerjee wrote:The last few months have made it abundantly clear to me, someone who lives in the States and follows Western mainstream and alt media very closely, that Western MSM has really become worse than the Soviet era Pravda. I don't say this lightly or as a joke. They have become unhinged, divorced from reality, and almost mentally disturbed. It's been striking to watch.
Great post Sirjee. Well said. See the article below as well. A good read.

What surprised me is the blind loyalty towards whatever the Western mainstream media is portraying - over Ukraine - becomes Gospel truth. The contempt and scorn for anything but the International (i.e. US) rules based order is eye opening. As Ramana-ji said, "This is not even India's war!"

The passion and love for one's country of residence (i.e. America or elsewhere in the Western world) is admirable. But when it warps one reality, then it becomes dangerous and self delusional.

Ukraine war: When you are in a hole, stop digging
https://canadiandimension.com/articles/ ... op-digging
13 June 2022
From the start of Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, Western media have systematically misrepresented developments on the battlefield.

Starting this thread was an attempt by me to understand force structure and their deployment in combat especially the Russian. The BTGs were a reorganisation based on some experience that the Russians had and here was an operation that was different to what they had undertaken previously. Plus also the issue of force multipliers and leadership.

India is also embarking on theaterisation and IBGs and recruitment which are a revolutionary move for the Indian armed forces. So learnings (obvious and inferred) are important - we may use some or discard some as not relevant but the study of combat tactics and how they are shaped by organisation and leadership and the availability of trained resources is very important.

Even John's post on the RuAF gives us an entryway into two areas of study - Russian combined arms ops doctrine and also manufacturing of and War reserves of things like PGM's.
Last edited by ks_sachin on 20 Jun 2022 07:16, edited 1 time in total.

A great and must read twitter thread ----> https://twitter.com/WarintheFuture/stat ... TB7NX3r7wg

Also an excellent below. Both tie into the ongoing Russian-Ukrainian War.

The Return of Industrial Warfare
https://rusi.org/explore-our-research/p ... al-warfare
17 June 2022

ks_sachin wrote:Starting this thread was an attempt by me to understand force structure and their deployment in combat especially the Russian.
Be forewarned Sirjee of starting threads like this. They take a life of their own :P :mrgreen:

Both threads have now become a tug-of-war between two factions. IMVHO, a re-creation of what is happening between Russia and Ukraine.

But that is okay. Nice to know the position and outlook of all the posters who are deeply involved in the discussion in both threads. Can be used to guide future discussions on other topics.

Yes Admiral.

But I have little hope of meaningful when even Hari Nair sir's posts are not read properly and contextualised.

ks_sachin wrote:Yes Admiral.

But I have little hope of meaningful when even Hari Nair sir's posts are not read properly and contextualised.
Folks will only accept the reality they want to see.

https://twitter.com/paulmcleary/status/ ... TB7NX3r7wg ---> New details on $1 billion US package for Ukraine to be announced today: two truck-mounted Harpoon launchers; 18 howitzers; 36K artillery rounds; HIMARS ammo, and optics and parts.

https://twitter.com/paulmcleary/status/ ... TB7NX3r7wg ---> The $1 billion US military aid package for Ukraine being announced later today is $650M from the Ukraine assistance fund passed by Congress last month, and $350 million in drawdown authority.

The tweet below is in response to the pair of tweets above ^^^^

https://twitter.com/Firezstarter1/statu ... TB7NX3r7wg ---> As a point of comparison, India fired over 250K rounds in the Kargil conflict. Around 5K rounds a day, and 9K during the Tiger Hill assault itself. By that metric, the proposed supply is for around a weeks worth of intense fighting.

Hari Nair

Post by Hari Nair »

Rakesh wrote: https://twitter.com/Firezstarter1/statu ... TB7NX3r7wg ---> As a point of comparison, India fired over 250K rounds in the Kargil conflict. Around 5K rounds a day, and 9K during the Tiger Hill assault itself. By that metric, the proposed supply is for around a weeks worth of intense fighting.
Excellent point there! The capability of a country's MIC and economy to back up its military campaign is a very key factor, as this conflict has clearly shown. Mere stockpiling of imported weapons for a limited period fighting may not suffice.

Russians were able (because of their robust MIC) to:
(a) Recover, re-group and re-attack, after their very disastrous start to this campaign and their tactical retreat.
(b) Press on and inflict severe attrition on Ukrainian forces (despite being numerically inferior), with heavy and sustained firepower in the Donbass sector.
ks_sachin wrote:Apologies if already posted..

https://www.zerohedge.com/geopolitical/ ... -come-home
Col Douglas Macgregor is one of the few down-to-earth and practical veterans in the US. He had predicted this outcome some time back and had warned against the US fighting the Russians in Ukraine until the last Ukrainian standing.
UBanerjee wrote:....Western MSM has really become worse than the Soviet era Pravda. I don't say this lightly or as a joke. They have become unhinged, divorced from reality, and almost mentally disturbed. It's been striking to watch.

The reason I bring this up in the mil tactics and strategy thread is that it has become imperative for me, personally, to find Western alt and dissident sources to get an accurate picture of Russian and Ukrainian combat tactics and strategy.... how much of Indian media simply swallows Western sources wholesale?
Very well put! If we follow the western MSM, then one gets the impression that Moscow is already under threat by the rapidly advancing Ukrainian forces!
Last edited by Hari Nair on 20 Jun 2022 14:01, edited 2 times in total.

John wrote:
dnivas wrote:

Wiki says that in February of this year, prior to the start of the war Ukraine had:

51 Mig 29s which included 8 trainers
32 Su 27s which included 6 trainers
17 SU-25s
12 SU-24s

US intelligence estimates at the end of March were that Ukraine had 56 operational fighters left. However 20 grounded fighters were subsequently brought back into service after spare parts were provided by other countries. No estimate as to how many operational aircraft Ukraine currently has.

Similarly Wiki reports that at the start of the war Ukraine had:

250 S-300P SAM not specified whether systems or launchers, I suspect it is launchers.
89 Kub SAM
72 Buk SAM
100 Tor SAM

This is a substantial number of launchers. I remember reading a while back that Russia claimed that they had destroyed 100 S-300 launchers. If that is correct Ukraine still has a substantial airspace denial capability with the remaining 150 S-300 launchers and the Buk and Tor and Kub launchers they have left. Russian aircraft are not flying over Ukraine simply because they can be shot down by Ukraine air defences which are active on both sides. And hence all flying over Ukraine is done at extremely low altitudes. All the videos linked on twitter etc. show extremely low level flights by both sides because both sides retain capacity to shoot down any high altitude flying by the other. There was a recent tweet of a S-300V system being pushed by Ukraine right into the Donbass area which could in theory enable it shoot down any high flying Russian aircraft on the Russian side of the border. Russia has been unable to establish air superiority over Ukraine because it's SEAD campaign has been less than successful because of lack of ISR, poor Air to Ground modes(poor SAR resolution) in the Irbis E used in the SU-35 for SEAD and lack of PGMs to target moving targets - the Ukraine SAM systems shoot, shut down the radar and scoot. And hence air strikes are restricted to cruise missile fired from ships in the Black Sea or long range VKS bombers from inside Russia besides CAS along the front lines.

UBanerjee wrote: ... The last few months have made it abundantly clear to me... that Western MSM has really become worse than the Soviet era Pravda. I don't say this lightly or as a joke. They have become unhinged, divorced from reality, and almost mentally disturbed. It's been striking to watch. ...
This is a truly excellent high-value post, and so true! So true!

Bravo, UB.