Agnipath (Tour of Duty): News & Discussion

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Agnipath (Tour of Duty): News & Discussion

viveks wrote:Who said anything about a communist move? Do you work for the CIA? Are you un-necessarily trying to harass and bother me? Next thing you will say I am trying to advocate facism, socialism....then the last but not the least advocate Aryan beliefs.

Do you not believe in non-aligned movement of nations? I cant believe I am having this conversation. People want to sub-due internet free speech and give me warnings here but when you watch the news and young fresh blood out there is feeling, then you will realize.

I mentioned this to you earlier and I will say again;

* Agnipath is a voluntary scheme. No one is forcing anyone to join the forces. This is not conscription. However Sarkari Naukri is not a citizen's birthright. At the end of the day, the Govt has to think of all stakeholders. Much of our military modernization cannot occur due to the high pension bills. OROP drove military modernization over the cliff.

I too have my concerns with the scheme, but your allegations against the scheme (and subsequent recommendations) are quite frankly crazy. Completely devoid of logic.
viveks wrote:We defended Kargil successfully without any great Technology that you so willing are seeing nothing but else. What about the lives of people who have less mental aptitude and the only thing in their minds is to get into the armed forces and stick around.
We did utilize some great technology in Kargil. That was 23 years ago. Today's wars will be even more technologically intensive. But that is not the topic of this thread.

So you want people of less mental aptitude - your words, not mine - to stick around in the armed forces.

To do what? Kill mosquitos?

No scheme, anywhere in the world, is perfect on day 1 and expecting such perfection is foolhardy. Every enterprise in the world uses a temporary workforce to augment numbers and I don't see why the Armed forces cannot. Our neighbor next door has a 2million+ force and India has 1 million+ force, just these numbers should be cause for worry. We are 1.4B and 1 or 2 is rounding error. Getting young blood into the force is a must, just because they have fresh ideas and perhaps our indigenous AtmaNirbhar program can benefit from the ideas. These youngsters have options, at the end of their contract, they can be hired anywhere including the armed forces (if they are deemed fit and qualify for continuation in the army). The states would benefit from the trained youngsters. I simply don't understand the opposition and furthermore the wanton destruction of Govt property like the Railways ( orchestrated by foreign forces and their proxies - spend Rs 1 and damage Rs 100 - 10000 in India ). As a nation we need to grow up and not use democracy as a crutch for protest on any and everything.
krithivas

Post by krithivas »

Something has happened - Orchestrated violence (protests) are dying down across the nation. People of India are slowly but surely understanding the nature of the enemy within.

vijayk wrote:1. Will these agniveers have combat duty in these 4 years?
2. A friend who was in Air Force is worried some of them who did not make it being recruited for espionage. He says "I served with IB during Kargil as intelligence tenure and seen how vulnerable we are". How will we protect that?

Tell him it's bullshit and unworthy of him. Even regular recruits who got rejected could be vulnerable.
So far it has been serving officers and soldiers who were recruited as spies by foreigners.
Some idiots got honey trapped on Social Media!!!
Instead of going to the MI counterintelligence, they sold national secrets to Pak!!!

BTW there is a 1989 India Today Article by Couptaji that lays out the problems of the Aging military.
Both in command and rank and file.
By IPKF it showed its problems but nothing was done.

A number of the dimwits doing violent protests in India would likely not even make the cut into the military, even under the Agnipath scheme. A variety of factors (health, height, weight, etc) could possibly eliminate them. But still they will protest and destroy property :roll:

I am glad Lt Gen Anil Puri has stated that Agnipath will not be rolled back. If the GOI gives in (just like with the farmer protests), then the message that will go across is this ---> If you don't like something, just conduct violent protests. Anyway you are unemployed (so you don't pay taxes). So destruction of public property is perfectly acceptable behaviour.

Over time, this program will have to be modified. The four years is short IMVHO.

https://twitter.com/KesariDhwaj/status/ ... ByQJ6QmBfw ----> As @Vedmalik1 points out in his interview, 70% of the army comes from 168 out of 775 districts of the country.

Good Move!

https://twitter.com/ANI/status/15384562 ... TB7NX3r7wg ---> Indian Army's foundation in discipline. No space for arson, vandalism. Every individual will give a certificate that they were not part of protest or vandalism. Police verification is 100%, no one can join without that: Lieutenant General Anil Puri, Additional Secretary, Department of Military Affairs.

https://twitter.com/ANI/status/15384569 ... TB7NX3r7wg ---> And if any FIR lodged against them, they can't join. They (aspirants) will be asked to write as part of the enrollment form that they were not part of the arson, their police verification will be done: Lieutenant General Anil Puri, Additional Secretary, Department of Military Affairs.

https://twitter.com/ANI/status/15384576 ... TB7NX3r7wg ---> We had not anticipated the recent violence over this scheme. There is no place for indiscipline in the Armed Forces. All candidates will have to give a written pledge that they did not indulge in any arson/violence: Lieutenant General Anil Puri, Additional Secretary, Department of Military Affairs.

vijayk wrote:1. Will these agniveers have combat duty in these 4 years?
2. A friend who was in Air Force is worried some of them who did not make it being recruited for espionage. He says "I served with IB during Kargil as intelligence tenure and seen how vulnerable we are". How will we protect that?
What kind of logic is this?

Someone who doesnt get recruited, dosent not get recruited. From where is this person going to commit espionage, unless he has access to sensitive site's and materials. Something that comes from being recruited in the service itself.

WRT, his stint in IB. The answer is the way we have protected always. Nothing has changed.
Last edited by Pratyush on 20 Jun 2022 11:32, edited 1 time in total.

Pratyush it is called Lahori Logic!!!
sankum

Post by sankum »

2 lakh agniveer per year recruitment. For 4 years will have 8 lakh strong. 50000/ year going on for 15 years. Will be 7.5 lakh strong . Total 15.5 lakh.

1.5 lakh per year retired. Will be 60 lakh strong in 40 years for 150 CR population. I retired agniveer per 250.

Agniveer: An army veteran’s detailed argument against Agnipath scheme – Part 1
https://www.financialexpress.com/defenc ... 1/2566452/
20 June 2022

excerpts
Rajnath appeared sanguine with the ToD set to overwhelm the military; he would remain in-charge even as ‘Marg Darshak’ after 2024. Defence Secretary Ajay Kumar didn’t utter a word or took questions with his tenure extended, expanding bureaucratic empire, and having pushed through ToD in full measure instead of the pilot project it was supposed to be. Lieutenant General Anil Puri from DMA kept flashing photos of life in the Armed Forces (well known to youth and media) to give credence to what he presented.

Asked whether six-month training would be enough for ToD, the Naval Chief responded that ToD inductees would be trained on one ship for two years and another ship for two years. The other two Chiefs thought it best to remain mum. Replying to another question, the Army Chief confirmed that all Army units would have manpower on an all India basis. When asked if this means the regimental system in the Army will finish, he said it would go but not immediately.
other aspects
Preceding the ToD announcement was deafening noises about the enormous defence pension budget, which have flooded the media once again after the anti-ToD youth protests following the media briefing on Jun 14. But those crying about defence pensions deliberately don’t query expenditure on the Group ‘A’ services and civilian-defence employees, questions like:

· They have much faster promotions and are granted the non-functional upgradation (NFU) allowance. All of them retire in the HAG/HAG+ grade, enjoying One Rank, One Pension (OROP) thereafter.

· The above, combined with all serving till about 60 years of age, expenditure on them is enormous (serving and retired) which is kept under wraps.
· Anout 45% of the defence pension bill still goes to civilian-defence employees.

· Those coming under the National Pension Scheme (NPS) would get 15% additional pay while in service and a package on retirement, which is far more than what soldiers earn in service because they retire many years earlier.

· Each of the seven lakh serving civilian-defence employees is five times more expensive than his/her uniformed counterpart.

· Even civilians from the Ministry of Finance (MoF) on attachment with the Minister of Defence (MoD) are paid from the defence budget (pay and pension) – why?
some interesting facets
But this is not the first time that the Army hierarchy has let the service down for promoting themselves. There has been criticism over NFU having been recently granted to CRPF, not the Armed Forces. But some years back, Army Headquarters wrote to MoD that NFU should not be given to Army personnel. The logic given by the then Adjutant General was that individuals not promoted but getting higher pay would stop working (sic), as if they could not be sacked. It is a different issue that someone in that military hierarchy was eyeing the post of Vice Chancellor of the Indian National Defence University (INDU), foundation stone for which was laid by the then prime minister on May 23, 2013 at Gurgaon (Haryana). But the next government had other plans.

Above are just two examples out of many. Also, how the Army shoots itself in the foot can be gauged from the article written by Major Navdeep Sigh a decade ago. There are other instances of the Army’s naiveté. Admiral Vishnu Bhagwat, when serving as Naval Chief, had proposed to the MoD establishing a joint structure for Special Forces of all the three services. MoD asked comments from the Air Force and the Army. IAF replied they don’t have any Special Forces – ‘Garuds’ came into being years later. But the Army’s DGMO responded by saying, “We don’t visualize trans-border employment of Special Forces”.

The National Security Guards (NSG) was offered to the Army in the past but Army declined saying anti-hijack is not their forte. But Army continues to provide manpower to NSG (in many instances working under police officers) for the sake of extra regimental posts despite the CCS note (under which NSG was established in September 22, 1986) specifically stating that Army is to provide manpower to NSG only for first 10 years – till September 1996.

Now that the violent demostrations have died down, the GOI should stick to its guns and make Agnipath a success.
Tri-service seem to be firmly behind this move.
There should not be further U-turns as it will send out a wrong message not just to the opposition but to the wider world
viveks

Post by viveks »

Rakesh wrote: So you want people of less mental aptitude - your words, not mine - to stick around in the armed forces.
To do what? Kill mosquitos?
< Post Edited >

Admin Note: Threatening (comically that too) physical violence is not for this forum. For your own good, take a three month break, since you have already done a one month break recently.

viveks, have some control when posting here. Threatening a forum user, let alone an admin with violence is as good a soosai vest as you can conjure up.

And if/when you decide to come back, please do post coherently. It is a pain trying to figure out whether you are threatening or threatened.

Thanks hnair.

I think we got our first Angryveer discharge… sigh

Folks, please debate dispassionately, this is a major change in Indian military and is an evolving situation. Do not get carried away and start being a headache to forum and admins
Haresh

Post by Haresh »

I really do not understand the outcry over this new Agnipath scheme.
Most modern militaries have a 4 yr minimum contract.

The British army is 4 yrs
https://www.studential.com/joining-the- ... 20payments.

US Army is 3 yrs
https://www.thebalancecareers.com/what- ... 20recruits).

Canada is 3 yrs
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Regular_F ... n%20Forces.

There is no such thing as a job for life.
Chances are in those 4 yrs these Agnipaths will learn new skills, skills that they will never learn if they were stuck in their villages, it will change their mindset and quite a few will become entrepreneurs.

Just the act of getting out of your own little village world will change your outlook and create more national unity. My cousins in the army are all from little villages in Punjab, they serve with Bihari's, Bengal's, Marathis etc.

Everything changes

"· About 45% of the defence pension bill still goes to civilian-defence employees."

I would love to see an actual official source for this. Has anyone seen it anywhere?

Army issues notification for Agninath scheme
https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/ ... 545272.ece
20 June, 2022
The Indian Army has issued the first notification for recruitment of Agniveers under the Agnipath scheme, with the process set to begin in July and the first set of Agniveers to join service by June 2023. The army has already stated that it would recruit 40,000 Agniveers this year in two batches. "The registration will open on July 1 and the first rally is expected to be held in mid-August. The first Agniveer will join the unit in June 2023,” an army official said.

Candidates will be enrolled for a service duration of four years, which includes a six month training period. “Registration will be opened from July 2022 onwards by respective AROs [Army Recruiting Office] for Agniveer general duty, Agniveer technical, Agniveer technical (aviation/ammunition examiner), Agniveer clerk/store keeper technical, Agniveer tradesman 10th pass and Agniveer tradesman 8th pass as per the ARO rally schedule,” the notification said. In accordance with the terms and conditions released by the army earlier, Agniveers’ rank will be distinct from any other existing rank; their insignia will also be different.

On discharge after completion of four years, Agniveers will be paid a ‘Seva Nidhi’ package which would approximately be Rs. 11.71 lakh and they will not be entitled to any pension or gratuity. Upto 25% of them would be re-enrolled into the regular cadre. The ‘Seva Nidhi’ is accumulated by part contribution of Agniveers from their monthly with a matching contribution from the Government along with the accruing interest and would be tax free.

Personnel enrolled through Agniveer Scheme, will be required to undergo periodical medical check-ups and physical/ written/ field tests as governed by orders issued and the performance so demonstrated would be considered for “subsequent offer for enrolment in the Regular Cadre.”

Army plans to conduct the rallies from July to November with induction into the training centres to be done in two batches, first batch of 25,000 Agniveers by first half of December and remaining in the second batch by first half of February 2023, Army has stated and 83 rallies planned across the country covering all states.

On June 14, the Government announced the “Agnipath” scheme for recruitment of soldiers with the age bracket fixed at 17 ½ to 21 years of age. Subsequently, the Defence Ministry announced a one time upper age limit relaxation in the recruitment process through Agnipath scheme for 2022 to 23 years.

Haresh wrote:I really do not understand the outcry over this new Agnipath scheme.
We are not a modern military, yet and shoe horning something that is not organic to our needs, securities, and sensibilities is a bad way to find a solution to a problem.

There is no such thing as a job for life.
To an extent, yes. But there is a differentiator as to what qualifies for a job and some amount of financial security and for how long between private and public sector.
Chances are in those 4 yrs these Agnipaths will learn new skills, skills that they will never learn if they were stuck in their villages, it will change their mindset and quite a few will become entrepreneurs.
That's a big IF. If it's not happening now, I would not trust that it will happen in 4 years time. When the armed forces along with the defense establishment take every opportunity to drive out Indian industry, where will these candidates who has to leave services in 4 years will find a job? Essentially, we are reducing avenues for employment for out own countrymen by not understanding what or why this is even a necessity. This have a chance on blowing back in our face if we are not careful.

Haresh,

NATO adopted 5.56x45 so we followed. What happened. We realised its limitations and where r we today?

Just because someone does something we follow esp as it is gora sahib?

I would be happy to know what skills these youngsters will learn over and above basic soldiering which will help them after 4 yrs.

Your cousins from Punjab are serving all over . Good. Ask them what it takes to become one with the men.

I am not against this by the way but please research the subject, understand Army life and dy to day incl training before venturing forth with opinions

Can someone please tell me what this all India all class is meant to be in detail?

ks_sachin wrote:Can someone please tell me what this all India all class is meant to be in detail?
Coupta address's this @ 27:00 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IQ0b0jJs8D4

https://twitter.com/dpkpillay12/status/ ... _HztoqAAAA

Col (Dr) DPK Pillay, Shaurya Chakra Retd
@dpkpillay12
All major wars until 1977 were won by soldiers who were on 7 year terms. youths like Khetrapal,Yogendra Singh Yadav
Raghoba Rane went straight from training to greatest glory.
https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/blo ... my-leader/
Make sure best is retained
Change the rules to make it tamperproof&attractive

How ironical that a terrorist outfit is preaching on why 'Agneepath' should be abandoned. :roll:.
CPI (M) calls Agnipath ploy to turn India into ‘Hindu Rashtra’
The outlawed Communist Party of India (Maoist) has expressed opposition to the Agnipath scheme, calling it a plot by the Modi government to militarise civil society. Oh yeah, instead of that people should become Maoists and terrorise the society in general :roll:.
Last edited by Sachin on 21 Jun 2022 08:48, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Grammatical Errors fixed.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cy39z6jgJpo

Gen Syed ata Hussnain on agnipath. he thinks this should be 7yrs instead of 4.

After 7 years, they may be too old to apply for any other Govt. job. Six months training plus four years of service (total 4.5 years) would be ideal.

sanjayc wrote:After 7 years, they may be too old to apply for any other Govt. job. Six months of training plus four years of service (total 4.5 years) would be ideal.
Six months is basic training my friend. That is new from the current 9 months of basic training.
Do you think they teach specific trades like driving a tank / firing an MMG or laying mines or firing an arty gun in basic training?
For that, you at the minimum add in another six months to be truly proficient.
Even if you are purely thinking of infantry - the operational craft is done at a battalion level apart from other specialised training.
Basic training makes the jawan fit to be on the parade ground and fire a weapon.
Remember some of that time in that basic training also goes into making the boys physically fit - fit enough to endure the rigours of the Army.
The Army I am sure has thought of all this so I am just highlighting these so that posts are a little more informed.

Atmavik wrote:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cy39z6jgJpo

He is a man to be respected and his opinions are given with deep knowledge and intellect.

Atmavik wrote:https://twitter.com/dpkpillay12/status/ ... _HztoqAAAA

Col (Dr) DPK Pillay, Shaurya Chakra Retd
@dpkpillay12
All major wars until 1977 were won by soldiers who were on 7 year terms. youths like Khetrapal,Yogendra Singh Yadav
Raghoba Rane went straight from training to greatest glory.
https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/blo ... my-leader/
Make sure best is retained
Change the rules to make it tamperproof&attractive

This is what wiki says about Major Rama Raghoba Rane.

At the age of 22, Rane decided to join the British Indian Army, while the Second World War was in full swing. On 10 July 1940, Rane enlisted in the Bombay Engineer Regiment, and passed out as the "Best Recruit", awarded the Commandant's Cane. Subsequently, he was promoted to Naik (corporal).

After his training, Rane was posted to the 28th Field Company, an engineering unit of the 26th Infantry Division which, at the time, was fighting the Japanese in Burma. As his division retreated from the Japanese after the failed Arakan Campaign, he, along with his two sections, was hand-picked by his company commander to stay back behind at Buthidaung to destroy key assets and then be evacuated by the Royal Indian Navy. Though the objective was soon achieved, the expected pickup did not happen. This forced Rane and his men to cross a river that was patrolled by the Japanese to reach their lines. Rane, along with his two sections, expertly evaded the Japanese troops and joined the 26th Infantry Division at Bahri. For his actions, he was promoted to havaldar.

Rane later received a Viceroy's Commission as a jemadar (now the rank of naib subedar, equivalent to a warrant officer).[7] For his persistence and leadership qualities, Rane was selected for a short-service commission prior to the partition.[6] In 1947, following his country's independence, Rane remained in the new Indian Army and was commissioned in the Corps of Engineers on 15 December 1947 as a second lieutenant (seniority from 14 January 1948).

Atmavik wrote:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cy39z6jgJpo

It's their opinion.
Current plan was devised by serving officers.
7 years is the old color service.
And to add those lumpsum adds 9 lakhs extra.
Will it come from those giving out recommendations?

Right after Gallwan many retire generals gave exfatr opinion on TV nedia second guessing operational decisions and were wrong most of the time.

So I will listen and keep track record in mind.
The current generals bear operational responsibility and to be honest have see near war in past two-year.
They won't undermine their own troops.

Sachinji
It is crazy isn't that we have to have approval of CPI(M)
At this rate maybe even the JUD or HUJI or Jaish or even the Bunnies tellling us what to do or whom to recruit
Ramanaji
Just like the Hiz Honors the retd Generals are also wearing 'Tinted Glasses' for reading as soon they retire( yes am no Boot Camp Graduate and okay if some know-it-all takes a pot-shot)
This is only going to get shriller and no doubt there will a clarion call of 'Saffronization of Army' or 'Politicisation of Armed Forces'
And this will build up towards the Presidential Election and how Democracy has to be saved by none other than MIM Chief Mr Owaisi (And I have omitted AI deliberately as their true colours of Razakar Movement has not been washed off)

CAPF gernail’s opinion

[youtube] https://youtu.be/VlkGK91mQbY[/youtube]

Mean while this scheme too would now goto the courts. I hope the ground work by the forces are proper, or else this too would end up like the rolled back Farm laws.
Agneepath: Plea in Supreme Court against India's military hiring scheme terms it 'illegal'
Fresh PIL in Supreme Court challenging Agnipath scheme

PS: The way things are going with GoI, I am expecting this to be Farm Bill v2.0.

Haresh wrote:I really do not understand the outcry over this new Agnipath scheme.

The British army is 4 yrs
https://www.studential.com/joining-the- ... 20payments.
for our context looking at baki army and chinese army also makes sense

sanjayc wrote:After 7 years, they may be too old to apply for any other Govt. job. Six months training plus four years of service (total 4.5 years) would be ideal.
One option is to give Agniveers the option to leave after 4 years (if for e.g they get a govt job). If not, keep them for 7, after they undergo
more specialised training for a higher level of responsibility.

Agnipath recruitment process to remain unchanged, regimentation system to continue: Tri-Services

https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/ ... 549052.ece
21 June, 2022
The armed forces said on June 21 that “credible” information on the Agnipath’ scheme recently has dispelled misinformation about the initiative and asserted that youngsters preparing to become soldiers have returned to physical activities at several places. Amid misgivings about the recruitment process, Lt. Gen. Anil Puri, Additional Secretary, Department of Military Affairs, asserted that the recruitment process will remain unchanged and the traditional regimentation system in the military will continue.

With 34 lakh military pensioners, pensions form 50% of defence budget. The scheme, which envisages a four-year term for 75% of recruits, was an outcome of a long period of consultation within the three services and the Ministry of Defence besides deliberation among several wings of the government. It is a much needed reform, he said at a Tri-Service press conference. Various committees since 1989 had made recommendations on these lines, he said, adding that all stakeholders were involved in finalising the Agnipath scheme.

With youths at several places resorting to violence to protest the scheme, Lt. Gen. Puri said all applicants for ‘Agnipath’ will have to give an undertaking that they were not part of any violence. “There is no place for arson and violence in the armed forces,” he said. Referring to police verification, he noted that it has always been a part of recruitment process. Over the years, the profile of commanding officers in the military has become younger. Now, the profile of soldiers will become youthful, he said. Backing the scheme, an official said Agnipath will not dent but improve the Army’s combat capabilities.Protests against the scheme, which was unveiled on June 12, have ebbed away in the last few days. Officials said at the presser that ‘Agniveers’, a term for those recruited under the scheme, will be eligible for gallantry awards and the scheme is being rolled out so that armed forces draw best talents.

Ajit ji has spoken