Defence Expo 2004

Post by Rupak »

Since I couldn't upload to the BR server. Go to:

http://groups.msn.com/BharatRakshakDefexpo/
Ashutosh

Re: Defence Expo 2004

Post by Ashutosh »

Boss, you have to give captions to those pictures!

Good photos!!

Umrao

Post by Umrao »

he did, look at the left side of the page. you will enter Rupaks Expo. ;)

Rupak, what is Sujav ( I dont like the name sounds like sulabh), some kind of direction finder, ECM or communication relay?
Rupak

Post by Rupak »

Done.

If you guys want something particular let me know. Maz has many more pics. Aviation related stuff was very disappointing. HAL isn't even showcasing upgrades!
Rupak

Post by Rupak »

Originally posted by John Umrao:
he did, look at the left side of the page. you will enter Rupaks Expo. ;)

Rupak, what is Sujav ( I dont like the name sounds like sulabh), some kind of direction finder, ECM or communication relay?
EW/ECM/ESM. Read the sign after the last vehicle's photo.

Excellent Photos! Keep it up!
Rajesh_MR

Post by Rajesh_MR »

Great pics...thanks for the effort
Marcos

Post by Marcos »

nice pic though, but hopes to C bigger pics....... what abt some all round view of our Gorshkov model(is it displayed?)that wud be nice, i guess many wud be eager to see h IN's new carrier wud finally look like --- and plzzz some good close-ups too and also topview, not to leave the enlarged elevators etc etc

Cool, thanks rupak...

How does this work ???
http://groups.msn.com/BharatRakshakDefexpo/shoebox.msnw?action=ShowPhoto&PhotoID=6

The thing floats in water ???

--------

http://groups.msn.com/BharatRakshakDefexpo/shoebox.msnw?action=ShowPhoto&PhotoID=12

Eight pack launcher of what ??

Guys relax...this is just a preview, as the title says. I am sure larger scans will be featured in the BR Galleries, in the coming weeks.
Nandai

Post by Nandai »

Sweet pics, was there any info on the Abhay available, or just the model?

Originally posted by cy_baru:
Cool, thanks rupak...

How does this work ??? The thing floats in water ???
You got it :)
Rudra

Post by Rudra »

whew...the banana mag on the A-7 is the longest
I have ever seen...john holmes has competition.

Okay got my answer, thats the trishul launcher... There is a small green name plate on top of the model..

VLS for trishul ?? COOL!
Nandai

Post by Nandai »

I doubt its a VLS, looks fairly "conventional" to me.
Rudra

Post by Rudra »

its the IAF trishul vehicle tatra truck with 8
tubes capable of rotation and angled firing.

its not a VLS. a VLS for land missiles is seldom
used ...only the huge S300/400 seem to be fired
from a straight up position.
Marcos

Post by Marcos »

k but what abt that Kashin upgrades .. thats pretty impressive but I though it wud be having a quadraple like what Delhi calss features and whats that in the rear, infront of the Helipad...seems like VLS for S-300/400 or is it for short range missiles??......

from the look of it I guess Kashins are getting upgraded with those S-300/400 for escorting the Gorshkov

also hope that these upgrades be firther contibued to Godavari, Brahmaputra, P-25, P-25A's etc etc

and just a question for u guys..... is there any way by which members here at BR can influence the name for the P-15A ??? mean the name is given as Banglore Class, my take is that why cant we name it as NEW DELHI CLASS as its an upgradation (though it wud be a damn upgradation) and reserve that Bangalore clas for new design---- well just a thought though (and plz excuse me for talking this in DefExpo thread)
Rudra

Post by Rudra »

those 8 tubes in back of kashin look brahmos sized to me. one missile is shown halfway out of
its tube.....8 is too a number for SAMs...minimum of 24 would be needed.

so a kashin with 12 brahmos as a pure anti-ship
platform?

4 might be brahmos the other 8 might be ASW versions of KLUB.. Those are VLS as well. kashin doesn't have enough room to be multipurpose.. So it might not a bad idea to let them do a ASW and ASuW roles.
D Raman

Post by D Raman »

those 8 tubes in back of kashin look brahmos sized to me. one missile is shown halfway out of
The area just forward of the helodeck on Kashins has a helo hangar. Though it would be a great place to install VLS (availability of empty space) it would render the helo hangar useless.The Kashins will then be reduced to primary anti surface/air role as they will not be able to carry helos.

No hangar in kashin II class .. helipad yes..

Ohhh Yeah!
Now *THAT* is more like it! :D :D

Can we please get some more photos/info on the excalibur and the various small arms on display?
Rupak, is the excalibur merely a cosmetic upgrade or are there upgrades to the bolt/reciever mechanism as well?
Anyone notice how the excalibur looks rather like a bofors AK5, or even a Sig Stg 550?

Thanks for the really awesome pictures!
I dont understand.. why is the military using these rifles with the horrendous Orange furniture?? :confused:

Originally posted by D Raman:
The area just forward of the helodeck on Kashins has a helo hangar. Though it would be a great place to install VLS (availability of empty space) it would render the helo hangar useless.The Kashins will then be reduced to primary anti surface/air role as they will not be able to carry helos.
Its not the hangers that was located in the aft were the VLS launchers are know placed it was a landing lift for the helo. As for the model itself yes its quite weird it seems both of them are brahmos i am 60% sure on that in a a VLS and inclined launcher, it could be that IN plans to turn the INS rajput as a test platform perhaps and it could be a model for that.

http://groups.msn.com/BharatRakshakDefexpo/shoebox.msnw?action=ShowPhoto&PhotoID=8

so who wants to read what the text says on that image? :D
Raman

Post by Raman »

Originally posted by john:
http://groups.msn.com/BharatRakshakDefexpo/shoebox.msnw?action=ShowPhoto&PhotoID=8

so who wants to read what the text says on that image? :D
(squinting) I think it says: Brahmos Weapon System
:p
Rudra

Post by Rudra »

the kashins have a empty type area where the
housing for the tubes is shown. first time I
realized the ship has little superstructure at
all in the rear. the SA-N-1 sams needs to be
ripped out and replaced by Shtil though.

here is proof:

http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/NAVY/Images/Kashin2.jpg

Originally posted by Rudra Singha:
the kashins have a empty type area where the
housing for the tubes is shown. first time I
realized the ship has little superstructure at
all in the rear. the SA-N-1 sams needs to be
ripped out and replaced by Shtil though.

here is proof:

that area is for the lift to the flight deck from what i understand as i mentioned earliar.

Also this is not the LST upg but the Gdynia NS-722 which they have been trying to sell for a couple of years to the IN.

Rudra

Post by Rudra »

john, you mean the helo is stored internally
with a sliding roof ?

Post by Guest »

Rupak,
Is it possible to get an interior shot of an Arjun or Karan?

Any std. issue IA BP jackets, combat webbing on display?
Ashutosh

Post by Ashutosh »

Rupak, I'm sorry, I was looking at the pictures that were appearing on the right side of the page, rather than going through the "pictures" link. Anyways, some comments on the pictures:

1) Tank- Ex? To the left of that vehicle, looks like a Karna Tank-Ex ...
2) Kashi n This picture of the Kashin - 2 pairs of inclined BrahMos launchers, and definitely 2 sets of quad VLS BrahMos launchers arranged in place of the "hydraulic" folding door just aft of the helicopter deck.
3) Abhay The Abhay - looks a lot like the Bradley.
4) A- 7 Exactly which one of them is the A-7?

BSF Floating Border Outpost by MDL

Perfect bloody thing to station on the Brahmaputra by the scores, 200mts apart in the broadest, most sensitive parts. BSF landlubber jawans are in for some serious acclimatization.

On the rajput that they trialed brahmos on, they added 8 missiles for the earlier four p-20's that were present. Those styx missiles are huge...

So possibly kashins can take upto 16-20 brahmos, but what would you do with such firepower on one platform ? Rambo Ranjput making its way to karachi to take on the whole PN navy alone ?

And if you extended the range of the brahmos missile, you neither need naval or air-borne version of brahmos. A few tels, stationed of gujrat/rajasthan area can take care of the whole PN navy. Maybe you will need a dornier/tu-142/tu-22M for spotting.

Great Pictures Rupak - Esp the Small Arms stuff.

The A-7 - Is it the desi mfr version of the AK? The only difference i can see is that the Trigger is pivoted much lower than the AK. more like the Insas.
JCage

Post by JCage »

Rupak,

Now you've done it. Damn why o why did I miss this show. :whine: :whine:
JCage

Post by JCage »

Originally posted by rupak:
Done.

If you guys want something particular let me know. Maz has many more pics. Aviation related stuff was very disappointing. HAL isn't even showcasing upgrades!
Rupak,

Many pics of Arjun and Tank-ex please! Esp close ups. Also anything and everything desi. :)
D Raman

Post by D Raman »

john, you mean the helo is stored internally
with a sliding roof ?
Yes, the helo is stored internally. The raised platform with white strip is actually the helo hangar cover. The storage procedure for helo is as follows:

- Open the cover. The cover slides towards forward section
- Bring the lift up. Yes, there is a lift
- Roll the helo on to the lift
- Send the lift down
- Close the cover

AFAIK, Kashins are the only ships using below deck helo hangar.

Post by Sanjay »

Rupak,

Thank you so very much.
You've made my day, week and month.
Esp. since I'm wrestling with a particularly vicious homicide problem.
Thanks a heap.

I have a theory that a new version of the Barak -the Barak-8 with land-based and ship based versions offering vastly enhanced range and limtied ATBM capability is going to make an impact in India.

Any more OFB small arms photos or details of the BSF floating BOPs ?

BTW - were those wheeled DRDO APCs operable ?
If so, DRDO has a potential export market.
Any SAM/ATBM developments for India ?

Rupak, could you maybe post any info you have on the desi small arms please? Especially the new excalibur. Thanks so much!
JaiS

Post by JaiS »

Mr. Rupak, thank you for the pictures. But, " Yeh Dil Maange More". ;)

Mr. Sanjay, do you have any specifications ( even approximate ones will do ) on the range and capabilities of the Barak-8 ATBM?
Himanshu

Post by Himanshu »

Modern soldier with no Bullet Proof Jacket :mad:

Integrated Modern Soldier from Alpha Design Technologies

Raising it one more time..

Do the IA need a new camo for their forces spread out in the desert to dense forest areas.. Any person from the services.. out here shedding light in this regard.. ??