Aero India 2003 - News & Reports

Abhaey

Re: Aero India 2003 - News & Reports

Post by Abhaey »

Originally posted by shiv:
Originally posted by Abhaey:
Shiv Ji, is there a UK distributor for your CD ? :)
No Abhaey - are you volunteering? If so - I need a snail mail address sent on email.

Right now the CDs are going out to someone in N.America, Oz and India. One in UK should pretty much cover the "saari duniya".
To be frank, I would make a very unreliable 'distributor', and I wouldn't want you to go through the effort of posting just for me. If Seetal or somebody else from the UK volunteers, then I'll happily take it from them.

Abhaey
Manne

Post by Manne »

Okay, call it sneak preview for the press but I just want to jalaofy you guys :D

I received two VCDs in my mail with the instructions that I should try them out on my PC and a VCD player. Now, VCD player I have none but I *had* to test them out fully on my PC.

So, I spent quite some time in front of my PC with my son, wife and ma-in-law harassing me to have my dinner. And boy-o-boy, what an experience. I think the persons who shot and made those VCDs (their names appear at the end of the air display VCD) should seriously consider making such VCDs under BR brand. :cool:

The indoor and outdoor static displays are great. I could take it all in without having visited AI. And...ummm....where are those folks who are always looking for the birds ? Trust me, you will not feel too disappointed...our videographers have covered all angles, you see! :cool: :cool: :cool:
Maneesh

Post by Maneesh »

Hey Manne, Maybe I missed something in the thread...any information on how to get the vcd's.....would love to get them, am in the States, any distributors?
Manne

Post by Manne »

Maneesh, check page 10 & 11 of this thread. Annoucement will be made in a few days.

Manne thanks for the feedback - its a releif tha tat least ONE person has received his CDs.

I will wait to hear that others have received their CDs before making a formalannopuncement for those who want them.

If too many people want them I am requesting the "distributors" to take volunteers from BRF members locally to help duplicate/mail the CDs. Remember that all this will be done on a personal level by the folks who have kindly volunteered to help out (who shall all be named in due course) - so I am asking people to be patient.

OH BTW - this is my first post from my Linux installation. :) Linux has not improved my ability to make typos :(
Abhaey

Post by Abhaey »

Thanks to Jagan, I've re-scanned and uploaded some of the Aero India photos in high resolution. A few more are to follow in a few days time.

High res. Aero India 2003 photos
Himanshu

Post by Himanshu »

Manne.. just tell me when can I have these CD's.. Getting restless..
Manne

Post by Manne »

Sabr ka phal meethaa hotaa hai bhai :cool: You won't have to wait long though.

Abhaey,

I got nine of your emails on my AJ Account. I am waiting to go to my office so that I can download over the fast connection. Meanwhile I will also check these and consolidate both.

regards

Thanks to Jagan, I've re-scanned and uploaded some of the Aero India photos in high resolution. A few more are to follow in a few days time.

Samir

Post by Samir »

Shiv - congratulations on getting Linuxed. May the force be with you.

A side question related to CDs:

I've been asked by folks in the IAF without high-speed Internet access whether it was possible to get a CD with the entire BR site dumped on to it so that they can peruse it at their leisure, pass it around (in the squadron only), make copies, check out images etc. Is this possible/legal/what is the modus operandi etc? I think I asked LNS about this before who said it was possible but I wasn't sure of the issues involved.

Originally posted by Samir:

I've been asked by folks in the IAF without high-speed Internet access whether it was possible to get a CD with the entire BR site dumped on to it so that they can peruse it at their leisure, pass it around (in the squadron only), make copies, check out images etc. Is this possible/legal/what is the modus operandi etc? I think I asked LNS about this before who said it was possible but I wasn't sure of the issues involved.
Its possible to a certain extent. But will require a little more work from the admins side. The problems we have with us are:

1. many of the pages are linked with complete urls. i.e to go from Index page to history page, the HTML code uses 'www.b-r.com/army/history/index.html' kind of links. So when you are using the CD from your PC drive, the PC will try to connect to the internet.

To solve this is to have relative urls '../history/index.html' instead of the web url. Blame microsoft for replacing the relative urls with the complete urls. The IAF section will definitely work because all links are relative ones. But there are several pages in other sections that have the full urls in the hyperlinks. We will have to manually replace all of them in HTML editors. This could take some time.

2. Second issue where even the IAF section will fail to display properly are sections where we use PHP pages. For example, The News section, The Officer Database on the IAF site, or some of the new upcoming Gallery/Slideshow which we have done in PHP and MySQL. There is no way for us to display these pages from a CD (or is there?). If someone wants a CD of the IAF section that runs from the CD drive, We can do a copy. with the PHP links blanked off.

For those interested - the whole size of the IAF section is around 120MB. (this after compressing almost all the images to the optimum level) Add the Army- Navy- missiles and others, and I am sure we will push 300 MB in total

Excellent photos Sanjay Simha! I liked the frontal view of the Mi-35, very menacing :D

Oh, why can't we lesser mortals get to go close to these flying beauties so that we can get clear, uncluttered shots of them? :whine:

All this is making me itch to scan my own photographs of this years Aero India and put it online somewhere.

Any spec of the ALH reenginned Cheeta's. How much load can they take to the highest point in Siachin. How high can they go now etc etc.

rgds,
Abhaey

Post by Abhaey »

Sanjay, those are truly brilliant photos, especially the MiG 21 and Mi-35 shots.
subhendu

Post by subhendu »

One of the best Mi-35 and Mig-21UPG shots to date!

Great job Sanjay!
AshishN

Post by AshishN »

Great photos, Sanjay. I second merlin on the Hind front view photo. :cool:
kgoan

Post by kgoan »

Shiv, if it's not a divergence, what Linux distribution are you using?

If it turns out you're not happy with your current distro, may I recommend an Indian distribution that is truly making waves. Its called ELX Linux, or Everybody's Linux. The name sux, the distribution doesn't. It's based in Hyderabad. I've had a chance to play with it, the user desktop is brilliant, and ore importantly, its internals are quite impressive as well.

Here's the home page link: ELX linux, and here's a comparison review of the distro: Review rom desktoplinux.com Scroll down towards the end.

I don't know much about what their support etc. is like, but I like the idea of supporting our own. Currently, I'm kinda stuck with my Mandrake/Red Hat distro cause of some specialised s'ware compiled for some specific kernels. But once I get the time I plan to switch over to ELX. It really is good.

Originally posted by Jagan:
Mi 35 Front view
WOW!

Bloody damn good!

Thats a real nice shot!

Sanjay, thanks for sharing it.

Downloading to desktop......

Shiv - congratulations on getting Linuxed. May the force be with you.

Jagan/samir,

I think you get a few tools that convert absolute paths to local paths, I normally use it to download slow russian sites and then scan them locally to look for new pictures.

I used this long long ago when it was version 2.0.
It probably got better, something to look into.

http://www.bluesquirrel.com/products/whacker/index.html

This is free and looks nice.
http://www.webstripper.net/
Ashutosh

Post by Ashutosh »

Its possible to a certain extent. But will require a little more work from the admins side.
I am not sure if admin intervention is required ... if you are using Linux/FreeBSD (sorry, I know nothing about W*doze), there is a tool called gftp ... just mention the site main URL "http://www.bharat-rakshak.com", select HTTP protocol, and select correct local directory - this will completely mirror the entire BR website onto the local directory.
Krishna

Post by Krishna »

Httrack is another freeware utility that can be used for web site mirroring. No intervention from the admins is required.

http://www.httrack.com/index.php

Krishna

A couple of late arrivals (from Sanjay Simha)

Mi 35 Front view
That's one mean machine. Cool, indeed!
Ashutosh

Post by Ashutosh »

A couple of late arrivals (from Sanjay Simha)

Mi 35 Front view
Reminds one of this Hind posted on AFM: http://www.keypublishing.com/forum/importedfiles/3e565319335c0d64.jpg

Just need to grow some plants on the runway!

Originally posted by Sribabu:
Shivji,

Please email me. I shall volunteer for UK, if Abhaey can't do it, as I have Paypal already setup(done for AY cd).
Thanks - but Seetal has volunteered now. I need to get a CD to him - its Muharram today andthe Post Offcies are closed - so if I send it tomorrow it will still be a while before he gets it. My NA and Far East volunteers haven't yet received their CDs - I will start a new thread as soon as I receive news that thay have received their CDs intact

kgoan -ts Red Hat but I am still sorting out little bugs and coming to <strike out>greps</strike out> grips with it. :D Will try ither distros later.

(Shiv, please bear with me here. I have good reason for this post. In fact, I may contact you privately by email about a related matter).

Sribabu:

Please email me: mohanraju@flashmail.com

Samir

Post by Samir »

Jagan, Ashutosh, cy_baru, krishna_kss:

Thanks very much for your replies - seems like we are set.

Originally posted by Mohan Raju:
(Shiv, please bear with me here. ).

Sribabu:

Mohan Raju, if demand for the CD/CDs is big it may get difficult for the individual volunteer to duplicate discs on a home machine and send them out. We will then need extra volunteers in various continents - to whom CDs need to be sent out.

Lets see.
Prateek

Post by Prateek »

So many threads, but not one relevant to post this one...

After Aero India we have Military Olympics.

India likely to bid for 2007 Military Olympics
http://www.hinduonnet.com/thehindu/holnus/07152011.htm

Manne, Mohan Raju, rahulm - please check your email.
Sribabu

Post by Sribabu »

Originally posted by Mohan Raju:
(Shiv, please bear with me here. I have good reason for this post. In fact, I may contact you privately by email about a related matter).

Sribabu:

Hi Mohan,

I have seen your post only today. Check your inbox.

Sri
Manne

Post by Manne »

Shiv, You've Got Mail.
member_201

Post by member_201 »

Guys, start saving this thread on your HDs. Software glitches are getting more common on the forum. Don't whine later.

Shiv, please check your email.
venkat_r

Post by venkat_r »

Air International has Aero India 2003 special in its March 2003 issue. Interesting pics though there is nothing very new. There is a one good pic of ALH with new nose and tandem cockpit.
Abhaey

Post by Abhaey »

[posted 12 March 2003]
Sorry for the delay. :o

Updated album:

New photos added:

BrahMos Prithvi 2
Mi-35 (frontal)
Mi-35
MiG-29
Mirage 2000 (frontal)

I will e-mail the remaining photos that you requested very soon Jagan.

Kind regards,

Abhaey

Abhaey: Good stuff.
Abhaey

Post by Abhaey »

Below are links to an article on Aero India, from next month's Aerospace International. Thanks again to Sanjay Simha, for his excellent photographs.

'Indian Showcase'- Front Cover

'Indian Showcase'- Cover close-up

Page 1

Page 2

Page 3
SRay

Post by SRay »

Abhaey, absolutely outstanding!
Abhaey

Post by Abhaey »

Thanks Soumya.

I hope that the scanned article was easy to read. If not, I can paste the text into this thread.