Aero India 2007 - Photo Thread

Nalla Baalu wrote:This person with handle 'zombie' has posted a series of photos on aeroindia.org of IJT mishap and claims one to be just before mishap. In that one you can clearly see the canopy is not shut tight.

Link.

Look for photo captioned 'man and his machine'
One photographer friend of mine showed me a series of photos taken seconds (maybe 2 seconds) before and after.

The canopy was TIGHTLY shut. Besides what makes anyone think that planes go out of control the minute the canopy blows open? If that was true - there would be no ejects possible.

Cut the speculation.
rahuldevnath

Post by rahuldevnath »

Sorry if i started the speculation.

what I wanted to know was - was this picture taken at the parking spot or at the start of taxying or at the end of its taxying? Was it a normal practice to taxi with the canopy unlocked? Harry can fill in the details.

Canopys are sometimes kept open, (not Locked) .. seen them even on Mig-21s, till the time of lineup!

And I guess, for the aircrafts which have their canopy opening sideways, like IJT, LCA, Mig-21s.. anytype of air disturebance during the take off roll would eventually lead to aircraft going out of control.. plus.. it could be that the wheels were not locked.... :-? [/quote]
m_bose

Post by m_bose »

Kapil wrote:Hi All,

If you like what Team BR at Aero India has done and would like to help us in our future endeavours,
please click on the Donate button link on the Aero India main page.
Contribute as per your mite.
Ok, I'd like to, but I can't find the Donate button on the main page (http://aeroindia.org/). Where the heck did you guys move it to?
m_bose

Post by m_bose »

m_bose wrote:
Kapil wrote:Hi All,

If you like what Team BR at Aero India has done and would like to help us in our future endeavours,
please click on the Donate button link on the Aero India main page.
Contribute as per your mite.
Ok, I'd like to, but I can't find the Donate button on the main page (http://aeroindia.org/). Where the heck did you guys move it to?
Ok, I found the Donate button. It is on the main media page of BR's site (http://media.bharat-rakshak.com/aero/main.php), not the aeroindia.org site. My donation is enroute :).

I was at AI-07 for 4 days. One day spent on BR booth duty & meeting Dr Kasturirangan & his team. In the balance 3 days I took >3000 photos and ~2GB video shots.

Just finished uploading first load of 107 photos on the AI-07 gallery.
Arun Vishwakarma's AeroIndia-2007 Photo Gallery
Photos taken with 12x zoom Panasonic camara.

Enjoy

Thanks Arun for the pics. Looking forward to the videos :d

Arun_S wrote:I was at AI-07 for 4 days. One day spent on BR booth duty & meeting Dr Kasturirangan & his team. In the balance 3 days I took >3000 photos and ~2GB video shots.

Just finished uploading first load of 107 photos on the AI-07 gallery.
Arun Vishwakarma's AeroIndia-2007 Photo Gallery
Photos taken with 12x zoom Panasonic camara.

Enjoy
Arun - these are some of the best pictures yet.

Arun, 3000+!! :eek:

btw someone called zipperone uploaded this stuff
http://media.bharat-rakshak.com/aero/ma ... temId=6850

Arun, your C-17 shots are the best to be uploaded on BR!! Great work.

Digressing a little bit
Photos taken with 12x zoom Panasonic camara
Is your camera DMC-FZ50? Can you please post your thoughts about the cam on the Nukkad thread please?
Kumar

Post by Kumar »

Years ago I think it was Badar who had commented that LCA had a "behenji" kind of ordinary look from the side as compared to other attractive western aircrafts in development.

I think the PV3is now an attractive beauty, even from side view.

Got to agree with the consensus: best photos so far. That PV3 in grey has the right amount of menace look. Move over Gripen and F-16.

The IAF can prolly settle for the MiG 29/35 for MRCA. So the squadron lineup would be SU-30MKI leader of the pack, next MiG 29/35 and the LCA/Tejas. That would be awesome and beat any Air Farce in the neighborhood.
kgoan

Post by kgoan »

Folks ought to choose a set of the "best" photos. I'm nominating this one by Simha Reddy as one of them.

http://media.bharat-rakshak.com/aero/ma ... temId=6885

which is on this page:
http://media.bharat-rakshak.com/aero/ma ... temId=7040

The composition, the light, the dark-on-dark, the profile outline, everything, its wunderbar. True, it may not be technically, the best, and the resolution is a bit weak, but this picture has true heart to it. Have a look at the smaller version on the second link to see what I mean.

Has a certain something about it, a mysterious sinister quality that, IMO, really engages the viewer.

An emotional response mebbe, but what are other folks choices?

Thanks bhai log. The enjoyment of shooting was immense. I learnt a lot about photographing air shows (perticularly fast moving aircrafts) from reviewing photos I took at AeroIndia-2005, and applied lessons learnt on this AI campaign.

Zynda: I used Panasonic ZMC FZ7. More when I get back to base in 5 days.

Kumar wrote:Years ago I think it was Badar who had commented that LCA had a "behenji" kind of ordinary look from the side as compared to other attractive western aircrafts in development.
It is really striking how a simple coat of paint changes the appearance of an aircraft

kgoan wrote:Folks ought to choose a set of the "best" photos. I'm nominating this one by Simha Reddy as one of them.
It's going to be a while before I can digest and select but here are a few of Arun's that I liked. The choice is based partly on the fact that these views were very difficult to get - small, fast moving targets. I should know - my neck still hurts from videoing them

http://media.bharat-rakshak.com/aero/ma ... temId=6796
http://media.bharat-rakshak.com/aero/ma ... temId=6800
http://media.bharat-rakshak.com/aero/ma ... temId=6718
http://media.bharat-rakshak.com/aero/ma ... temId=6724
http://media.bharat-rakshak.com/aero/ma ... temId=6706
http://media.bharat-rakshak.com/aero/ma ... temId=6974
Last edited by shiv on 16 Feb 2007 07:38, edited 1 time in total.
Lkawamoto

Post by Lkawamoto »

AI'07 seems to have been pulled off without a hitch
congratulations to central and state governments for
providing security and for air traffic management

big congratulations and thanks to the entire BR team
for the pictures and info,

if anyone kept a log on booth activity (visitors, comments etc)
that would be added bonus (of course no need to reveal sensitive stuff)

let us contribute generously to the BR website to
allow them keep up their fantastic work

i think jagan-san, seetal-san, shiv-san, and arun_san deserve special mention for thanks as i enjoyed the updates and the pictures

hats off to bharat-rakshak

(next task is to look for paypall button)
Santosh

Post by Santosh »

That is one sweet pic. Thanks to Vijay Reddy for sharing.

Anyway, we now know where Aroor gets his salary from.
AshishN

Post by AshishN »

Everyone did a fantastic job covering AI07. Let it be noted that hardly a photo here goes unseen though I understand hardly anything from the tech discussions, no matter how hard I try..all that damn hardware.. :)

(Smiley has no hat: pleej be noted: Hats Off)
sanjchopra

Post by sanjchopra »

kgoan wrote:Folks ought to choose a set of the "best" photos. I'm nominating this one by Simha Reddy as one of them.

http://media.bharat-rakshak.com/aero/ma ... temId=6885

which is on this page:
http://media.bharat-rakshak.com/aero/ma ... temId=7040

The composition, the light, the dark-on-dark, the profile outline, everything, its wunderbar. True, it may not be technically, the best, and the resolution is a bit weak, but this picture has true heart to it. Have a look at the smaller version on the second link to see what I mean.

Has a certain something about it, a mysterious sinister quality that, IMO, really engages the viewer.

An emotional response mebbe, but what are other folks choices?
Thanks and to all the BRF members who have covered AI07 and given us all the photos, videos and information. A big round of cheers and applause. Mr, Reddy's photo are on my Windows wallpaper. Definitely one of the best Tejas photos I have seen. Thanks to all once again.

Gerard wrote:
Kumar wrote:Years ago I think it was Badar who had commented that LCA had a "behenji" kind of ordinary look from the side as compared to other attractive western aircrafts in development.
It is really striking how a simple coat of paint changes the appearance of an aircraft
Same with behenji ! 8)

I added 100 odd picture to the album today.

Enjoy.
A Sharma

Post by A Sharma »

Arun what is this ?
TIA

It's going to be a while before I can digest and select but here are a few of Arun's that I liked. The choice is based partly on the fact that these views were very difficult to get - small, fast moving targets. I should know - my neck still hurts from videoing them

http://media.bharat-rakshak.com/aero/ma ... temId=6796
http://media.bharat-rakshak.com/aero/ma ... temId=6800
http://media.bharat-rakshak.com/aero/ma ... temId=6724
http://media.bharat-rakshak.com/aero/ma ... temId=6706
http://media.bharat-rakshak.com/aero/ma ... temId=6974
Shiv garu: One of the reason I shortlisted
was that this this showed lift induces condensation in the air, a characteristic of pulling lots of lift from the wing plane. Compared to Mig29(derivatives), Su30, F18, F16 that richly pulled the aircraft to the maximum lift to show tight maneuvering, Tejas barely used its lift potential and did some nifty tight flying. I look forward to days when Tejas envelop has expanded to pull max G possible and the characteristic precipitation trail seen on other aircrafts in the show.

That gives me lot of comfort to know Tejas has not even pulled any real punch from its quiver yet. Waiting for the looks of an angry Tejas.

Arun_S,

Awesome pics man. those little over 200 are so good and you say there are more than 3000 :eek: :eek:

JC, may be rakall is gonna share the AVJM with Arun_S.

http://media.bharat-rakshak.com/aero/ma ... temId=2958

Look at the top left screen in that LCH
rrao

Brahmos Ground systems developed by a private company i thin

Post by rrao »

hi joey,

most probably , the groubd checkout sytem was developed by data patterns,chennai...
rakall

Post by rakall »

Joey

you were supposed to post infor on MKI's datalink !!!
If u have not scanned the brochure -- please type it down
Harry

Post by Harry »

A Sharma wrote:Arun what is this ?
TIA
BEL's LPI radar. Max range 40 km and 5 km for 1 sq.m target.

PS Yes, the Lumix is a brilliant camera. 8)
mandrake

Post by mandrake »

rakall wrote:Joey

you were supposed to post infor on MKI's datalink !!!
If u have not scanned the brochure -- please type it down
I will by tonight hopefully - the images are 800 kb or so and i'm on GPRS.!!
Harry

Post by Harry »

50 new images added to www.aeroindia.org

Santosh wrote:
That is one sweet pic. Thanks to Vijay Reddy for sharing.

Anyway, we now know where Aroor gets his salary from.
yeah..why would Boeing want to sway Indian Express unless the ulterior motive was to get favourable press ? and to do that, he has to write reports that are very biased against the indigenous industry..pretty much explains why he wrote that series of articles against the DRDO. :evil:
Vick

Post by Vick »

People actually think that the IAF procurment people wake up in the morning, turn to IE and see good stuff about the F-18 and say, let's buy that? :roll:

Does anyone actually think that what the aam janta thinks about what a/c the IAF should choose will actually influence IAF/MoD's decision? You think lakhs of people will hold hartals and rasta rokos because Plane X was chosen instead of Plane Y? Vast majority of the people in India don't give a sh!t about the MRCA and the ones that do don't have influence in the decision. It's the people in the corridors of power that will decide this not IE readers.

Vick wrote:People actually think that the IAF procurment people wake up in the morning, turn to IE and see good stuff about the F-18 and say, let's buy that? :roll:

Does anyone actually think that what the aam janta thinks about what a/c the IAF should choose will actually influence IAF/MoD's decision? You think lakhs of people will hold hartals and rasta rokos because Plane X was chosen instead of Plane Y? Vast majority of the people in India don't give a sh!t about the MRCA and the ones that do don't have influence in the decision. It's the people in the corridors of power that will decide this not IE readers.
Vick:

If a view is promoted in the media that a particular aircraft is the right choice, the decision makers would worry that if they do not choose that plane:

1. They will be pilloried in the press. All types of aspersions will be cast upon them.

2. The next step would be for someone in the Parliament to criticize the decision citing the newspaper reports. If enough ruckus is raised, an inquiry commision will be set up, there will be hearings, and the life of the professionals who made that decision will become hell.

Post-Bofors, HDW etc. scandals, fear of a scandal has scared people into inaction when it comes to military purchases. The press often exploits this fear.
Vick

Post by Vick »

No matter what decision is taken, there will be some twit in Parliament raising objections.

Exhibit A: Sleeping Beauty Gowda stating that some east Euro T-72 upgrade was better than buying T-90s.

You think that the press criticzing the Arjun ad nauseum is what keeping Arjun from FOC with the IA? Somehow the IA will be afraid that there will be some sort of popular backlash if it inducted such a much media maligned tank?

You think DRDO's funding will be cut because Shiv Aroor did a hatchet job on it on IE?

In case of indigenous equipment there will be no opposition to their acquisition in Parliament. How can you oppose 'Made in India' in the Parliament? Here the competitors (agents of foreign arms dealers) work on the inside, away from public gaze, to kill indigenous procurement.

In case of procurement from foreign sources, the people on the technical evaluation committee and price negotiation committee can be targeted. Even people higher up are targeted. Witness how 'Outlook' went after Adm. Arun Prakash on the Scorpene deal, and how GF was targeted for purchases from Denel.

It is a very, very dirty game being played there and that is why India's military acquisitions move at a glacial pace.

When the decision makers are scared of bad publicity, they just appoint another committee and continue 'evaluating' for ever.

Witness how long it is taking just to issue an RFP for the MRCA.
Vick

Post by Vick »

After the 1998 sanctions to 2001, there was for all practical purpose, most avenues of Western arms were denied, except for French and Israeli.

Even then, the DRDO bashing went on unabated in the media. The Western countries couldn't sell their stuff to India. So that begs the question, who might be behind the DRDO bashing? Who has the most to gain by India not pursuing Indian goods? The West, East, North, South?

Panda. and the israelis and french obviously want no domestic competition. profit margins are fatter if complete systems like barak or spyder are imported compared to mayavi ecm or barak2.
Vick

Post by Vick »

Who has the most market share to lose by India getting stuff from Indian sources? For decades, which country has benefitted the most from the fact that Indian industry couldn't deliver the bread and butter stuff like SAMs, assault rifles, tanks, armored vehicles, etc? Which country will lose out the most because India is learning to build its own fighter plane that will form the backbone of its fleet instead of buying it like it has done for decades past? Which country has the most entrenched lobbying capability and deepest contacts in ND?

Vick wrote:People actually think that the IAF procurment people wake up in the morning, turn to IE and see good stuff about the F-18 and say, let's buy that? :roll:

wow, you actually think that public opinion does'nt really matter ? :roll: marketing is all about creating a positive image for a product even if its not meant to be bought by aam janta..all these years of bad reporting on the MiG-21 created a overall bad impression for the MiGs that lingers on even today..

if u ever read the ToI, a little before the Su-30 was bought by the IAF, there were a series of articles by the well known defence writer Subhramanyam on the Flankers..

all that crap that this Shiv Aroor guy wrote about DRDO in a series of articles was a concerted attempt at maligning them and their efforts..
Vick

Post by Vick »

Kartik wrote:all these years of bad reporting on the MiG-21 created a overall bad impression for the MiGs that lingers on even today..
Wow, bad impression you say. Does that bad impression prevent the use of the Mig-21 by the IAF or the upgrade of 125+ of the aforementioned bad impressioned Mig-21s so they can be used for another 10 years?

So the Mig-21 might have a bad impresssion in the aam janta. Why does it matter?