Re: Aero India 2009

These appear to be Aero India 2007 pictures posted in 2009 :shock:

shiv, there is a question for you in IAF history thread. thanks.

Hi Rakall

Was there an OFB stall and were you able to find out anything about Kalantak rifle?

Re: Venue for the next BR BLR meet

Kersi D wrote:
krishna_j wrote:Amazing Photo taken by Kapil @AI which should win an entry at next Red Flag competition
http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/media/Aer ... 7.jpg.html
Propose this as the venue for the next BR BLR Bennedosa meet - Anshul pls note :mrgreen:
Hey I would also like to send one such superb pic which our GREAT photographers Mr Karmarkar, Mr Simon etc could not click !!

How do I upload a pic on our forum discussions ?
Hey I repeat

Some pictures taken by a Luftwaffe personel

http://www.flickr.com/photos/hocician/
Kersi D wrote:
the forum does not allow direct uploading of images

you may upload it on imageshack and then post the url using the img tag

otoh you can register for an account on BR
http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/media/mai ... pg.html%3F

and upload your pics there
kedar.karmarkar

Post by kedar.karmarkar »

Have still to go through some stall shots - but here are some people shots -

PACAF Viper Demo Pilot meets Abhinav Bindra (Kapil remember him :wink: )

LMCO Test Pilot Billie Flynn after a CDF with TACDE pilot

USAF Exchange pilot with IAF, Capt Hoelzel - he will be instructing students to fly the Kiran Mk1A at Hakimpet shortly -

Lt Dan "Blue" Hannum with WgCdr (Retd) Rakesh Sharma after a CDF in the Super-Hornet -

Katsuhiko Tokunaga - the legendary aviation photographer, with WgCdr Sajan, after the Sukhoi Demo

Air Marshal (Retd) Harish Masand, with MiG-35 test pilot Mikhail Belyaev

The CAS

Last but not the least, it sounds like deja vu - Kapil being whisked by the SF guys in the Gypsy - but no, wait - its not like that -
kedar.karmarkar

This was found on the support trailer of the Lockheed F-16s (IIRC) - which was supposed to take the PACAF F-16s to Avalon airshow in Australia.

Good encouragement for the Demo pilots and crew :wink:

kedar.karmarkar

IMHO - it was the transport pilots who were having the last laugh, since those guys were literally building vast amounts of flying time - and the machines were taking a beating, since I have caught a serial number come in the morning, and then back again in the evening. Here is to the transports - who contribute indirectly to such events - and are mostly un-glorified -

K2742 in the morning

K2742 at evening

Il76MD comes in to land at evening

Cargo unloaded, takes off again, with a cloud of dust
kedar.karmarkar

Behind the scenes of the Tejas Demo - This series is devoted to the pilots, maintainers and support staff, whose collective efforts, result in eye-candy for us folks.

Go over the maneuvers in your head -

Pilot and maintainer walk around, making sure everything is a "go"

Sign the papers off, that everything is green -

Time check - Showtime :D

Everyone settled in for the ride -

Engine Start -

Make sure the aircraft is settled in -

Taxi to the runway -

Off weeeeeee gooooo!!

Amazing photography....
kedar.karmarkar

Wanted to highlight the PACAF Viper Demo Team's Ground show - maybe not many folks are aware of it - hence posting it here -

Showtime -

Salute -

Thank the crew -

Systems check while the ground crew standby -

Aircraft brakes, and control check -

Salute before taxiing -

Salute after the show -

This marks the end, where everyone relaxes and goes about securing the aircraft.
kedar.karmarkar

Some different angles of the C-17 Demo -

Notice the steep climb out angle at takeoff -

Leaving all the dust behind -

This must be ~30 Degrees bank here - nice tight turn - almost flies like a fighter -

I think BR must put all the info / data / pics / video etc of AE 2009 put on DVD and SOLD to the members. The contributors could be give some royalty too.

Kapil

Post by Kapil »

Kersi,

Its a pain selling stuff to jingos but good idea to include pics etc

we'll ideate

Mao Sir looks so cool with his patches.Very unique for a Navy TP to be doing this kind of work

Tokunaga san looks as if he is briefing Sajan Sir --And now,turn like this!
kedar.karmarkar

Different noses of the heavy aircraft on the ramp -

An12, KC-135, C-130, MRTT, and the DC-10

F-16 Cannon

Two angles of the Su on static -

UAE F-16

14th FS Insignia
JaiS

Post by JaiS »

nice pic of kapil in the garuds jeep. deja vu indeed.

Kedar those are some remarkable pictures. Thanks a ton. You have an uncanny ability to compose pics well and actually get what needs to be seen in the frame.
kedar.karmarkar

Thanks much for the encouraging words, Shiv, and others. I try....hard :wink:

kedar.karmarkar wrote:Thanks much for the encouraging words, Shiv, and others. I try....hard :wink:
Your pics are out of the world. Can you put all the pics on a CD/DVD and distribute / sell them to those who are intersted ? Like me !!

Kersi

Wow...the monstrous Gajraj is looking like a Lilliput in front of the MOAT(Mother of all transports).

Out of the world pics Kedar-saar... just wanted to know.. How does one get an all access pass to AI to see everything?? I kept on cribbing about how they put the best birds near the chalets, where we mortals could not venture.
kedar.karmarkar wrote: Last but not the least, it sounds like deja vu - Kapil being whisked by the SF guys in the Gypsy - but no, wait - its not like that -
Is that Kersi and Joey in the Back????

kedar.karmarkar wrote: Last but not the least, it sounds like deja vu - Kapil being whisked by the SF guys in the Gypsy - but no, wait - its not like that -
One of the more amusing things I saw at Aero India was that in the middle of all those serious looking, tough and businesslike SF men - Kapil suddenly appeared wearing an SF hat. He was the only guy in the entire area walking around casually in civvies and an SF hat.

But seriously this photo is centered around Kaps - and only he is in focus - with the others in a blur of motion. Amazing. Also amazing is the fact that the jeep appears to be doing a sharp turn - with Kapil grinning like he is sitting in his living room watching a movie.
Kapil

Post by Kapil »

8)

That's my new Shaadi dot com pic

And I was having a very laidback show this time..so....the lazing around.
JaiS

Post by JaiS »

Go Kaps !

Kedar, your skills are out of this world! :shock: Truly amazing!

BTW what is the name of the Tejas test pilot in the pics?
Kapil wrote: That's my new Shaadi dot com pic
:rotfl: Now Kapil...how did you manage to grab an SF hat?! Come on, out with it! :mrgreen:

BTW what is the name of the Tejas test pilot in the pics?
Doctor Shaib, it is Captain Jaideep Maolankar

Thanks sum.

Has the Garud's face been intentionally blurred or is it just the photography?

Btw, how did the BR jirga manage to hitch a ride in the Garud jeep?

sum wrote
Btw, how did the BR jirga manage to hitch a ride in the Garud jeep?
simble - it was the option between having to listen to Kaps for 1 hr and giving him a 5 minute ride :mrgreen:

That is indeed a great pic -
kedar.karmarkar

Thank you very much for your compliments and encouraging words here, folks. I appreciate them very much.

The Tejas pilot is Chief Test Pilot Capt Maolankar.

Kaps photo - had been the subject of discussion among my "other" photographer friends too. It involves a bit of shallow DoF, physics, and Kaps sitting still (than the others) in the gypsy. Since the point where Kaps is sitting is the pivot point for the turn, Kaps rate of movement is very minimal (since he is inside the arc), compared to others, who are on the outside of the arc of the turn, and again not braced enough for the turn.

So sometimes a lot of factors come into play, to get a weird looking but interesting shot.

Thanx!! and enjoy!! :D

All the best to Kaps, who is trying to get a wife, based on this photo - which adds educational value to the photo :idea: - if "they" can read between the resolution, that is :wink:
kobe

Post by kobe »

small bit of OT verbage,
i'd rather have a desi made maruti gypsy than an imported humvee for our military
start small, improve, learn, maintain, train, develop, etc

same goes for fighter planes, missiles, space launchers,

made in india first and foremost
that should be the motto for all our equipment
rakall

Post by rakall »

Some brochures coming up.... free downloads - noo limit.. in pdf format

LASTEC brochure 800KB http://ifile.it/854x3hk

P8I brochure 1.2MB http://ifile.it/1w74lq9

HAL ARDC brochures on LCA & IJT 1.3MB http://ifile.it/7p5mif8
Kapil

Post by Kapil »

kobe wrote:small bit of OT verbage,
i'd rather have a desi made maruti gypsy than an imported humvee for our military
start small, improve, learn, maintain, train, develop, etc

same goes for fighter planes, missiles, space launchers,

made in india first and foremost
that should be the motto for all our equipment
Well said kobe san;i recall a rocking ride in a fauji gypsy in a aprticular sector
the punishment which we give these dollies is frightening!!
Kapil

Post by Kapil »

kedar.karmarkar wrote:Kaps photo - had been the subject of discussion among my "other" photographer friends too. It involves a bit of shallow DoF, physics, and Kaps sitting still (than the others) in the gypsy. Since the point where Kaps is sitting is the pivot point for the turn, Kaps rate of movement is very minimal (since he is inside the arc), compared to others, who are on the outside of the arc of the turn, and again not braced enough for the turn.

So sometimes a lot of factors come into play, to get a weird looking but interesting shot.

Thanx!! and enjoy!! :D

All the best to Kaps, who is trying to get a wife, based on this photo - which adds educational value to the photo :idea: - if "they" can read between the resolution, that is :wink:

Wow,there was so much physics going on behind that!!

So it finally proves that I am calm and poised 8) Surya,I heard that!!

Guys,sorry for the plug but please help us by buying Kedar's gorgeous Red Flag book:

http://www.anveshan.com/product_info.ph ... d8d5924411

rakall wrote:Some brochures coming up.... free downloads - noo limit.. in pdf format

AAh... perfect... anyone downloaded these?? Anyone? Anyone??

P.S... rakall, if possible, could u email these to me... the ifile is blocked here. thx in advance

k prasad wrote:
rakall wrote:Some brochures coming up.... free downloads - noo limit.. in pdf format

AAh... perfect... anyone downloaded these?? Anyone? Anyone??

P.S... rakall, if possible, could u email these to me... the ifile is blocked here. thx in advance
Yes I download and printed them. In case rakall has not emailed you let me know and I will download and email you the PDFs when I get home.

Kapil wrote: Guys,sorry for the plug but please help us by buying Kedar's gorgeous Red Flag book:

http://www.anveshan.com/product_info.ph ... d8d5924411
Kaps,

Will be glad to. I was also looking at the SU-30 book by Simon Watson and Jagan's 1965 Air war book. However, for us jingos stuck in the Khan, the shipping page is extremely rudimentary with no info on overseas shipping cost/delivery time. Also price of all items is in INR onlee...what are the USD prices for the above 3 books? Please point me to the right page if the info is already there.

I thought Kedar is based in Arnoldistan too so if you guys think it is feasible, I can collect the Red Flag book in person from him also.
rakall

Post by rakall »

Some more brochures..

Brahmos brochure 1.4MB http://ifile.it/ctm3eyx

APG79 brochure 600KB http://ifile.it/x2svgpn

Chinook brochure 600kb http://ifile.it/gwzp2ob
Kapil

Post by Kapil »