AeroIndia 2011

Re: AeroIndia 2011

Radman,
Its very simple. This is the aero india thread. Meaning only content on or from aero india to be posted. Period.
That's the cardinal rule here in BRF. You don't post content that belongs to a particular thread in another thread. The strict enforcement of this rule has saved the forum many a times.
The accusation that you were peddling your wares arose because of the link you posted. Had you posted the youtube link directly this would not have happened.
Above is just FYI.

sorry if this has been discussed before, but did any of you guys see the f-16 like cheap toy that was displayed (in the HAL hall i think) along with the smaller Tejas and IJT models?(this was on Saturday.)

yup... i noticed it... it was an eyesore.. What with the all the other good stalls from various US companies..
VinothTN

Post by VinothTN »

abhik wrote:sorry if this has been discussed before, but did any of you guys see the f-16 like cheap toy that was displayed (in the HAL hall i think) along with the smaller Tejas and IJT models?(this was on Saturday.)
Among these?

http://www.flickr.com/photos/35164268@N02/5457709889/
Kapil

Post by Kapil »

Here is Andreas Zeitler's nice photo report

http://www.flying-wings.com/2011/aero-india-2011.html

cheers

Kaps

Shiv-Nobody tells me anything .I will also explore the dork side 8)
Kapil

Post by Kapil »

Which reminds me-
Does anyone have pics of the F-16 Blow up inflatable doll from some years back?
People dont believe me when I tell them about it.
You know the one which was full of gas and went left,right and centre?

^^ WoW , Andreas report is Simply Awesome :shock:

Kapsman where are your AI pictures , dying to see them :)
Kapil

Post by Kapil »

Doc Marten: We do have some accredition available.But I need to know the people personally before vouching for them.Just a sec precaution.

Lets work towards something for the next time.

Austin Bhai: My dumbly shot pics are here:

They are all into sub-albums and generally disorganised like me:-)

http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/media/Aer ... 011/Kapil/
Drishyaman

Post by Drishyaman »

abhik wrote:sorry if this has been discussed before, but did any of you guys see the f-16 like cheap toy that was displayed (in the HAL hall i think) along with the smaller Tejas and IJT models?(this was on Saturday.)
Bala Vignesh wrote:yup... i noticed it... it was an eyesore.. What with the all the other good stalls from various US companies..
F-16 look alike in HAL stall !!
Guys, you raised my curiosity, which is that ? Any photo or any information any body ?
Bala Vignesh Ji any clue as to what that was ?
Avinandan

Post by Avinandan »

Are you talking about ROKAF FA-50 LCA?
Specs
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-6FA9EhCEYzg/T ... C03919.JPG

Drishyaman wrote:
Bala Vignesh wrote:yup... i noticed it... it was an eyesore.. What with the all the other good stalls from various US companies..
F-16 look alike in HAL stall !!
Guys, you raised my curiosity, which is that ? Any photo or any information any body ?
Bala Vignesh Ji any clue as to what that was ?
Drishyamanji,
It was one of them cheap plastic model airplanes that are sold in small toy shops here and at times even on the roads. I am sorry that i did not take a picture. It was pathetic.

Avinandanji,
Nope its not that...

sorry no foto, though I hope some body has taken a picture of it.
It seemed like a red plastic toy, something that you could probably key or wind up for it to make noises and flash lights. Neatly tucked in with the small Tejas and IJT model. Practical joke, sabotage or some ignorant/stupid jugard?
Sidhu

Post by Sidhu »

Hehh... I knew who was not winning the MMRCA race when I saw the following.
The display was for IFF (identification friend or foe)... The models were an LCA identifying a friend and a foe. The Friend our own LCA, the foe.. a broken nose squint eyed F-16 :D

An interesting stall, BEL's FINSAS stall. A pic i took of the guy who was posing for the FINSAS.

Thanks a lot for sharing that pic Bala. Seeing how anything related to FINSAS is so hard to come by, this is very much appreciated.

Kapil wrote:Doc Marten: We do have some accredition available.But I need to know the people personally before vouching for them.Just a sec precaution.

Lets work towards something for the next time.
Hey, I met someone who looked like you, so that means I know you personally. Now pretty please can I get my accredition :mrgreen:
manoba

Post by manoba »

Typhoon and Su-30MKI (just take off and landing onlee).

Kapil wrote:Which reminds me-
Does anyone have pics of the F-16 Blow up inflatable doll from some years back?
People dont believe me when I tell them about it.
You know the one which was full of gas and went left,right and centre?

I have one - will post when I locate it on my HDD

Bala Vignesh wrote:An interesting stall, BEL's FINSAS stall. A pic i took of the guy who was posing for the FINSAS.
Seems like an AD for Bullet proof jackets MKU?)

you are welcome Gaurji..
Shiv sir can you tell me how to make a composite image of 2 images?? Have pics of the combat BMS info board...

if the 2 pictures have overlapping content then you could try stiching them using photo editing software

for a quick-fix kludge solution windows live photo edtior does the job

made by joining 6 seperate pics

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/308484/20101208 ... era_01.jpg

Album updated with photos of GTRE calendar obtained at Aero India
http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/media/AeroIndia2011/shiv/

Check the new UAV engine "Laghu Shakti" with blisk and all.

Marten wrote: Shape International's F-16 Decoy to go with your "M1A2" Decoy. ;)
:twisted: Mine ij bigar - adapted from Aero India 2005
Drishyaman

Post by Drishyaman »

Shiv Ji, is that white "chand-tara" in green back ground just below the cockpit behind the white nose?

Drishyaman wrote:Shiv Ji, is that white "chand-tara" in green back ground just below the cockpit behind the white nose?
Yes and a genu-wine Pakcee pilot all courtesy genu-wine fotushoppe-al-cheeni based on an original aero India photo posted below

Bala Vignesh wrote:you are welcome Gaurji..
Shiv sir can you tell me how to make a composite image of 2 images?? Have pics of the combat BMS info board...
You need to paste one image on to another image after resizing the "pasted image" to be small enough to fit. You need al-Photoshoppe, Paint Shop Pro or GIMP (free) or some other suitable photo editor.

Well super Jingos should have let loose their brats over these toys. :twisted: Kids love climbing over such stuff. :D

manoba

Post by manoba »

Tejas at its best.

Question to gurus... why only Tejas and Su-30MKI deploy drogue parachutes while landing whereas other firangi fighters not deploying the same at this Aero India? Is it related to short take off and landing? Thanks.
Drishyaman

Post by Drishyaman »

Manoba, that is one of the best videos, I have seen so far of the Tejas.
Thanks for sharing the same. :)
I was wondering if the Tejas can fly like that despite the G restriction of upto "+6" then what will Tejas be capable of when it will be allowed to perform "+9" Gs.
And what Tejas MK-II will be capable of when drag issues will be refined and it will be having higher thrust engine.

manoba wrote:Tejas at its best.
+1. Awesome video. Its hard to believe that this this is a "newbie" aircraft whose full flight envelope hasn't been opened up yet. Pulling loops, barrel rolls (I forget the rest of the jargon :) ) and what not with impunity. Loved the manoeuvre at around 3:00-3:05.
manoba

Post by manoba »

Thanks @Drishyaman and @pradeepe.
pradeepe wrote:Loved the manoeuvre at around 3:00-3:05.
Exactly. Loved that manoeuvre too... like tumbling and falling off the sky.

great video quality Manoba ! really enjoyed that video. Cannot wait till the Tejas is fully 8G certified and then performs at an airshow..
Kapil

Post by Kapil »

Thanks Shiv,

I love the cement bags to support the damn thing 8)

Merlin- You are the invisible man -commit one week to the show for BR and we'll talk :wink:
manoba

Post by manoba »

Kartik wrote:great video quality Manoba ! really enjoyed that video. Cannot wait till the Tejas is fully 8G certified and then performs at an airshow..
Thanks @Kartik.

Also thanks to Kedar, Praveen, Rahul, Vishal et al. Awesome photos 8)

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/_J3wC ... G_1945.jpg
http://www.flickr.com/photos/photoyogi/5458012486/

Wow :eek: :eek:

pradeepe wrote:. Loved the manoeuvre at around 3:00-3:05.
It seems to me the plane is just recovering from the loop while changing its direction.. Albeit a bit slow in the recovery.... Gurus correct me if i am wrong... Looks wonderful though...
chiragAS

Post by chiragAS »

Rahul, sorry didn't know it was a offensive word. i meant the guy was our eastern neighbour.
Marteen yeah will put up his pic
Kapil

Post by Kapil »

Guys,

I dont know if this has been mentioned before but the demo Tejas's were the PV versions and not the LSPs
The LSPs had a software issue just before the show and so were flown in the flypast and not for the demo profiles.
This also explains the paint-wear.

I am imagining the first batch Tejas in No 45 sqn livery at the next Aero India. 8)
oleonau

Post by oleonau »

Bala Vignesh wrote:
pradeepe wrote:. Loved the manoeuvre at around 3:00-3:05.
It seems to me the plane is just recovering from the loop while changing its direction.. Albeit a bit slow in the recovery.... Gurus correct me if i am wrong... Looks wonderful though...
could be two things
First half of a B'roll
Second first half of the first leaf of a 4 leaf clover

more likely.....
a manoeuvre in between manoeuvres
(to fill time and create horizontal and vertical space)
Drishyaman

Post by Drishyaman »

chiragAS wrote:Rahul, sorry didn't know it was a offensive word. i meant the guy was our eastern neighbour.
Marteen yeah will put up his pic
Chirag Ji, The word you used is not just offensive but is Racist. Just like if you call a porki a paki in UK, its considered Racist.
Anyways lets see the photo of the so called James Bond from China ?