Small arms from Russian Izhmash and Swiss Brügger & Thomet

Machine guns, sniper rifles and dual grenade launchers :D

Re: DEFEXPO-2012: March 29 to April 1, 2012 - Photos & News

Defence Expo 2012. Unmanned BMP2 MUNTRA

Mission UNmanned Tracked or MUNTRA is unmanned version of BMP2 consisting of two different unmanned BMPs. Muntra B is the control vehicle from which Mantra S the unmanned surveillance vehicle is controlled. The system has an indigenous Battle Field Surveillance Radar (BFSR), day/night camera, thermal imaging camera and a laser range finder. A variety of targets can be tracked from ranges 50m to 12km.

Defence Expo 2012. Armour by Starwire

Star Wire manufactures the following bulletproof vests and helmets along with many defensive products. Following are all made of Kevlar. First helmet looks like German helmets of WW2. The jacket and the armour plate weigh approximately 7 kg and 2 kg respectively.
jai

Post by jai »

For Delhi Members!!!!

IHC & Subbu Forum

invite you to a Public Lecture on

Geopolitical Consequences of the Global Financial and Economic Crisis:

Back to the Drawing Board

by

Amb. Shyam Saran

Former Foreign Secretary & Chairman, RIS

Chair: Dr. Sanjaya Baru

Director for Geo-economics and Strategy, IISS &

Hon. Senior Fellow, CPR

Saturday, April 7 at 7:00pm

Gulmohar Hall

Habitat World, India Habitat Centre,

Lodhi Road, New Delhi – 110003

Ideal entry is from Gate No. 3 on Vardhman Marg

Please join us for tea at 6:30pm
rajsunder

Post by rajsunder »

Surya wrote:thanks Jamwal

Is there a clearer shot of the wheeled BMP!!! :((

anyone - some more details please
I am not a mechanical engineer, but i do know that this is not what a wheeled infantry carrying vehicle should look like, looks like they wanted to make a plane towing tractor out of a BMP :YUCK:

see some photos for your self
http://img88.imageshack.us/img88/3697/dsc02667p.jpg

http://img560.imageshack.us/img560/289/dsc02666ha.jpg

http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/6209/dsc02668a.jpg

http://img269.imageshack.us/img269/1020/dsc02671i.jpg

fixed axles?? was the engineer too drunk???

This could be a battlefield tourism vehicle - judging by the size of those windows.
sarabpal.s

Post by sarabpal.s »

rajsunder wrote:
Surya wrote:thanks Jamwal

Is there a clearer shot of the wheeled BMP!!! :((

anyone - some more details please
I am not a mechanical engineer, but i do know that this is not what a wheeled infantry carrying vehicle should look like, looks like they wanted to make a plane towing tractor out of a BMP :YUCK:

see some photos for your self
http://img88.imageshack.us/img88/3697/dsc02667p.jpg

http://img560.imageshack.us/img560/289/dsc02666ha.jpg

http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/6209/dsc02668a.jpg

http://img269.imageshack.us/img269/1020/dsc02671i.jpg

fixed axles?? was the engineer too drunk???
Here is link to for BMP wheeled workaround video I had post it in multimedia section

http://youtu.be/oE3MVaEfJLY

aniket

Post by aniket »

That seriously looks like a airport tractor mated with a BMP.What the hell was the designer thinking ??
It's like a tractor with a turret on top and doors at the back.
BTw was there anything about Abhay IFV at the def expo ??
sarabpal.s

Post by sarabpal.s »

BMP WHEELED
This is utterly waste of money and time somebody should supervise them before making it, but look they bring in to the world class defence expo, damn. all those delegates smiling on it what Indian engineers doing and keep them in business.
Roperia

Post by Roperia »

Crosspost from Military Multimedia Content (youtube video by torqueaviation) DEFEXPO-2012 India

Thanks - is there any way to zoom them up?
member_20067

Post by member_20067 »

This could be a battlefield tourism vehicle - judging by the size of those windows.
yes...quite true... what a big joke ..this vehicle with horrendous finishing and everything ...just some lazily put together piece of metal....more like result of inbreeding between an airplane tug and some cheap BMP

1)
Very interesting: a C Band Tx/Rx module:
https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/N ... Jy0liipFm0

The LBand mentioned above would be for the LRTR. The C Band...

2)
https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/1 ... Jy0liipFm0

This is for the FLR, aka the Rajendra.

3)
https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/e ... Jy0liipFm0

BEL logo and what appears to be the L3 logo below. Licensed assembly of the L3 ATAS
http://www2.l-3com.com/os/pdfs/LFATS_VD ... 07_low.pdf

4)https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/m ... Jy0liipFm0

For the CLGM
MN Kumar

Post by MN Kumar »

Thats going to be a DDM carrier in a battlefield.

MN Kumar wrote:Thats going to be a DDM carrier in a battlefield.
:rotfl: Indeed, I hope they get to sit in the front, where they can get a good view of the battlefield through those big plate glass windows. I'm sure all the terrorists will smile at the cameras.

Some of Indian weapon systems in Defence Expo 2012

Part 1

Part 2
tejas

Post by tejas »

Jamwal, thank you for taking the time to post those pictures. I was saddened by the overall lack of pics from jingos here on BRF :(

Can't the chakra rath be used for second line dutie like ambulances, mobile C2 centre, comms relay, etc???
sarabpal.s

Post by sarabpal.s »

Bala Vignesh wrote:Can't the chakra rath be used for second line dutie like ambulances, mobile C2 centre, comms relay, etc???
Dear whole concept is flawed Because weight issue. let me give you one hint that wheel of Chakra rath is regular one which is use by indian truck + suspension is also same and Tyre cant hold such a weight and look deflated if look at my video carefully you can also see two set of fresh pair which is their i think to replace deflated one, also ground clearance is very poor you can see it yourself + old Indian suspension.

Bha.aaaa

Artillery systems on display in Defence Expo 2012

tejas wrote:Jamwal, thank you for taking the time to post those pictures. I was saddened by the overall lack of pics from jingos here on BRF :(
How many pictures do you need ? :P
MN Kumar

Post by MN Kumar »

Was going through Jamwal's Pinaka pics below.
DRDO L&T Pinaka
TATA Pinaka

Found some differences between the L&T DRDO versionand TATA ones.
Tata launcher has a stabilizer in the middle and back. It trades off the extra Fuel tank. Also the rotating platform have some minor differences. Overall the TATA launcher looks more refined and well built. JMO.

hot linking seems to have been banned

True. TATA has made a few changes to the original and was on display as the upgraded version
MN Kumar

Post by MN Kumar »

Jamwal is it from the production lot or being given as an option?

I have a different view of the chakra rath. its faster and cheaper than a tracked BMP in opex.
could be use for force and base protection duty.

Defence Expo -2012. Some more Indian weapon systems

There are still quite a few left.

Singha wrote:I have a different view of the chakra rath. its faster and cheaper than a tracked BMP in opex.
According to it's designers, it's meant for urban warfare and peace keeping missions. I don't think they intend to use it in a conventional battlefield role like it's tracked version.

MN Kumar

Sorry. Didn't ask any questions there.
maz

Post by maz »

Hi

Did anyone take a picture of the IAF MAFI model/poster at the TATA SED stand?
tejas

Post by tejas »

How many pictures do you need
You can never have too much eye candy, boss. :)
sarabpal.s

Post by sarabpal.s »

Singha wrote:I have a different view of the chakra rath. its faster and cheaper than a tracked BMP in opex.
Singha ji "Chakra rath" per ek kaahwat yaad aati hai "dobi ka kuta na ghar ka na ghat ka"

with so many basics flaw it no use other than exhibition
Arunkumar

Post by Arunkumar »

MN Kumar wrote:
Thats going to be a DDM carrier in a battlefield.
Remove the turret and put a JCB shovel on top and space inside can accomodate a garbage compactor. Can be used for urban cleaning operations. Name can be changed from chakra rath to kachra rath.
Nick_S

Post by Nick_S »

Any pics and/or news on Astra missiles?

sarabpal.s wrote:
Bala Vignesh wrote:Can't the chakra rath be used for second line dutie like ambulances, mobile C2 centre, comms relay, etc???
Dear whole concept is flawed Because weight issue. let me give you one hint that wheel of Chakra rath is regular one which is use by indian truck + suspension is also same and Tyre cant hold such a weight and look deflated if look at my video carefully you can also see two set of fresh pair which is their i think to replace deflated one, also ground clearance is very poor you can see it yourself + old Indian suspension.

Bha.aaaa
Don't take me wrong Sabarpalji, but a deflated tyre could be because of a multitude of reasons.

Based on your video, I am guessing that the Chakra rath is basically a modified body of a BMP-2 mounted on the chassis of a stallion 6*6. Now if that is true, the chassis of the Stallion is designed to carry a gross weight of 14.5 tons, which is around the total weight of the BMP2. If we are to subtract the weight of the tracked drive, say around 500-600 Kgs, it becomes lighter than the original BMP, which weighs in at 14.3 tonnes.

Based on the above, IMO, the Chakra Rath, ugly as it is, could be quite useful in urban warfare, base protection and many other second line roles.

Gurulog, please correct me if I am wrong.

References:
BMP-2 Wikipedia Page
http://www.ashokleyland.com/sites/defau ... NAL_v3.pdf
sarabpal.s

Post by sarabpal.s »

Bala Vignesh wrote:
Don't take me wrong Sabarpalji, but a deflated tyre could be because of a multitude of reasons.

Based on your video, I am guessing that the Chakra rath is basically a modified body of a BMP-2 mounted on the chassis of a stallion 6*6. Now if that is true, the chassis of the Stallion is designed to carry a gross weight of 14.5 tons, which is around the total weight of the BMP2. If we are to subtract the weight of the tracked drive, say around 500-600 Kgs, it becomes lighter than the original BMP, which weighs in at 14.3 tonnes.

Based on the above, IMO, the Chakra Rath, ugly as it is, could be quite useful in urban warfare, base protection and many other second line roles.

References:
BMP-2 Wikipedia Page
Dear First my name is Sarabpal.
second This Axel shaft+ transmission did not have any truck chassis as a Base And Shaft + transmission is wielded to Modify body of BMP.
Third is that if you look at the pics i am posting now you understand how bad suspension is

Urban warfare still has bump on the roads so how can you protect Suspension in this condition which is hold by Few bracket and bear the whole weight of BMP.
Did you notice That suspension in truck is above axle shaft but in BMP it is below shaft Because of low sleuth of BMP.

This is just discussion, nobody is wrong you are welcome

Looking again at this "Chakra Rath" I am reminded of the interview with Mahindra boss man on a video posted earlier in this thread. He said that in earlier years Mahindra (the company) had tried to modify an existing chassis to suit what the army might want. He went on to say that this has now changed after they realised that such an approach was wrong. They now create dedicated designs for army use. This "Chakra rath" looks like a "Churkendoose" a fairly tale animal consisting of parts of a chicken, turkey, duck and goose stuck together.

Some company has taken parts from 2-3 existing assembly lines and welded them together as a "concept vehicle" - and a pathetic looking one at that. But clearly some executive in that company has given permission for someone to "play" and innovate and has sanctioned several lakhs/tens of lakhs for that. Even if it is very ugly and looks dysfunctional, play/experimentation is the first step towards serious innovation. So I would stop my mocking at some laxman-rekha.
sarabpal.s

Post by sarabpal.s »

So I would stop my mocking at some laxman-rekha.
Dear who is mocking???

we are discussing about it for uses in current scenarios, nobody say that they should stop innovating but There should some proper guidance what to and how to do it in practical.

This is Indian Juggad but need some refining.
Gurneesh

Post by Gurneesh »

Bala Vignesh wrote:

References:
BMP-2 Wikipedia Page
The Chakra Rath is definetly not 6x6. The third axle (from front) is for sure not powered. Seeing how low the vehicle is, i am not sure if the second one is powered either. Cannot be sure about second because there is no clear pic of the underside.
At best has power to two axles.

Agree with other members that will not be very mobile on rough terrain (even big pot holes)