Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

Re: Statewide and National runup to 2014 General elections

dilbu, in this planet idiots outnumber everyone else. how many would even think about those issues unless it pricks them in the eye ? just go back and remember how much pappi jhappi and moist eyes the google ad generated. I see even otherwise nationalist people i.e not the leftie crowd strongly supporting AAP because apparently he represents clean politics who will take India forward. :roll:
to think he only affects cong is to deny the ground reality.

bongs always bemoan the bong propensity of falling for gimmicks. apparently delhiwallas are MUCH worse.

=============
kmkraoind, best idea I have heard all morning.
AjayKK

Post by AjayKK »

muraliravi wrote:I would not worry too much for 2 reasons

1. Delhi is not going to have a govt for the next 6 months, so AAP has its hands full in working for a full majority there in the state elections there.

2. They dont have the cadre to spread their movement in 6 months to a lot of places and they are not fools. They will try and maximize their impact in few select ultra urban pockets outside of delhi. So their targets will be most likely South Mumbai, Central Bangalore, Kolkata, Secundrabad, Chennai and maybe Pune.

There are other cities where they can have minimal impact like ranchi, jamshedpur, kanpur, jaipur etc.., but those cities are pretty much out of the scope now.

So among their prime targets, BJP has no reason to worry about Secundrabad, Chennai, Kolkata.

The only city centers where BJP needs to shield itself for the Lok Sabha from the AAP syndrome are Delhi, Mumbai, Bangalore and maybe Pune.

Now Bangalore and Pune city centers have only one seat each, with the second seat being in the suburbs in both cities. So bottom line is Mumbai will be their next target to hit at BJP.

So the best way to hit back at them will be two pronged. Keep them busy in delhi somehow and carpet bomb Mumbai will all sorts of speeches and rallies.
+ 1. AAP's effect will be seen on 12-15 LS seats. In this sense, the investment on splitting 18 - 22 vote bank and affecting a few urban seats is paying off.
AjayKK

Post by AjayKK »

niran wrote:
krishnan wrote:i really wonder how people bought the AAP ideas ??? 50% cut in electricity bill in 7 days and all that , they have some magic wand
that is just the iceberg for BPL card families totally free bijjili
for APL onree 25% of the bill this alone will amount to around one thousand keyroar per months
payout to bijjili producer
one thing me noticed
Hitlar came to the balcony to wave and greet when he first won
AK and his coterie waved and greeted their supporters from balcony first time they won.
I have old BPL teevee onlee. I am voting AK phyrr in LS elections onlee.

Abhijit wrote:To all the people here spewing venom against AAP, i am a bit mystified. No really, I am mystified. AAP has never ever advocated a single position that is in contention with any of the core BJP ethos. AAP is absolutely not interested in wooing the core BJP voter. AAP's every proclamation is vying for the same slice of electorate that Congress/SP/BSP/etc. have traditionally banked on for decades. If congress is secular, AAP is maha-secular. If congress is appeasing minorities, AAP is even more desperately wooing the minorities. If COngress has a vice-like grip over all the brainwashed or 'professional' Hindu sekoolers, AAP is biting off a large slice of that Hindu sekooler brigade (to the extent that even the fraud media is looking at AAP as the savior after the congress is wiped out. Every trick employed by AAP has been to compete for votes that traditionally has been in congress' bag for generations.
AAP is the tea-party to the Congress' Republican party (borrowing the American political context). Due to a lack of primaries, AAP is directly contesting against congress (and also against BJP).
Then why the venomous angst against AAP?
Are people here scared that AAP may actually upstage Congress AND BJP and form a government at the center in some distant future? And promptly give away Kashmir and Siachen and send the IA to barracks? For crying out loud, they don't have the balls to form a gov in Delhi, that is being given to them on a platter.
Am I the only one who feels that AAP's toxicity is competing directly against a much bigger toxicity of congress-system rather than BJP's own voter base?
How are NTR and TMC and Chiranjeevi and other examples even relevant here? I am truly at a loss to understand the thought process of the analysis here.
That AAP's agenda is toxic may be a given - but that agenda is directly competing against an even more radio-active agenda of congress. If I were to be in the BJP think-tank, I would encourage AAP to contest in as many places as it can. Because it is taking away votes from congress far far more than me.
JMHO
And BJP's strategy is to make sure that AAP can't hold both kongi and anti-kongi space. So, BJP is going to force the AAP to take the kongi space and thereby wipeout the kongis from dilli. I don't think BJP & AAP should be in the sarkaar together. That will provide a lifeline to kongis. (I think AAP is better than kongis because AAP does not have a brand name, dynasty, huge organization...etc unlike the kongis).

Anyway, I am happy that the revolt from AP seems to have started. Now, the ball is in UP(SP/BSP) court. Will they save the kongis even after such a huge anti-kongi TsuNaMo? Can they afford to be seen with the kongis? I don't think so. I expect the sarkaar to fall. Hope and pray that the sarkaar falls quickly.

Shree Maathre Namah. :)
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

Karan M wrote:matrimc ji, thanks. didnt mean to sound vehement and all. just that past few days AAPs over the top antics have made me go wutttt..
as nailed by muraliravi a few posts back. pranaam!

so its metro by metro.
Saar, I really hope that MNS goons dont fall prey to congress money and attack AAP activists in Mumbai. That will only increase their base. IMHO, the best way to hit out at AAP in Mumbai or any other place is to expose them frontally. Whether it is the NAC guys in AAP, or their bankrupt policies.

Rahul M wrote:bongs always bemoan the bong propensity of falling for gimmicks.
Keralites too. :cry:
I see your point.

Dilbu wrote:Vinaji aap bhi AAP hain? what you said is bhery true onlee. My mishtake. :D
Hum to kuch bhi nahin hain. Hum to khali Couch Potato hain. No time for anything else except running bijiness , and onree public service is to hand money over to service tax wallah and income tax wallah from earnings :( .

I watched Kejriwal's interview with Boorkha Aunty yesterday. That guy has something in him, definitely fire, a steely determination, a streak of idealism , is razor sharp and very very YumBeeYea in his Strat-e-jee , minimum effort and fuss, maximum effect, perfect punch lines, perfect elevator pitches. He is going to be a handful to any party for a long time. He reminds me a lot a lot of those nut cases who gravitate towards stuff like naxalism and revolutionary causes of yore (think Che Guvara) fired by a misplaced idealism , all of which tend to gravitate towards totalitarianism and tyranny.

I am sure he knows as well as anyone else, that his messages and program are a bunch of unworkable nonsense, but it grabs attention when you are a disruptor , costs you nothing, and raises the cost for the incumbent because it is impossible to do , but changes the nature of the discourse. He knew that he was going to come to power (it would have been a disaster for him if he won enough seats to be forced to form the govt), his game was to harass Sheila Dixit and the other parties and put a spoke in their wheels and be a pressure group/nuisance to have enough cards to play the game. So, this result is the absolute best that he could have possibly had. All the adulation and attention from everyone, glow of success , no need to actually put money where mouth was and implement everything, set up a stage with perfect timing to hope and exploit momentum for the next elections a few short months away, and hope to exploit the warm glow and aftermath of Dilli.

Like I said, this is one shrewd operator, a classic IIT/YumBeeYea (without actually going to EyeEyeYumm), street smart, razor sharp and picked the YumBeeYea giri at the Gobermund department and in the streets probably running his NGO and Anna Hazare campaign (again run brilliantly). I mentioned earlier, this is one heck of a start up , run by a sharp, shrewd, smooth taking operator with the chops and street smarts to fight the odds to scale it to great heights. I wish he had gone into Bijiness, he would have done wonderfully well for himself and the country. As an IITian, I am proud of him ( I don't have to agree with his politics) and his can do-spirit. This is what the IITs are all about. Chappal wearing solid middle class (lower to upper middle class kids, from small towns like Kejriwal to Mumbai-Madras-Dilli Billis), having solid confidence, gonads, soft skills, great technical and real life chops to take on the best against all odds in life and win, nay win crushingly .

Bade mian though would like to turn B.Techs away from all this stuff into R&D (Rhona & Dhona) drones stuck with their noses in R&D shops and do "tyaag" for Science and Technology onree and turn them into M.Tech/MS/MSc Uncle clones :P :P . Sure, B.Techs can do that quite well and indeed do so, but a strong significant part take on the wider world
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

^^^, so to oppose Modi, you will peddle nonsense of nth degree. pathetic at best. As a proud IITian, I see Khujliwal as a shameless sold out ***. Just wait for 2-3 months, you will Modi destroy this prick to a level from which he can never rise again.

Abhijit wrote:To all the people here spewing venom against AAP, i am a bit mystified. No really, I am mystified. AAP has never ever advocated a single position that is in contention with any of the core BJP ethos. AAP is absolutely not interested in wooing the core BJP voter. AAP's every proclamation is vying for the same slice of electorate that Congress/SP/BSP/etc. have traditionally banked on for decades. If congress is secular, AAP is maha-secular. If congress is appeasing minorities, AAP is even more desperately wooing the minorities. If COngress has a vice-like grip over all the brainwashed or 'professional' Hindu sekoolers, AAP is biting off a large slice of that Hindu sekooler brigade (to the extent that even the fraud media is looking at AAP as the savior after the congress is wiped out. Every trick employed by AAP has been to compete for votes that traditionally has been in congress' bag for generations.
AAP is the tea-party to the Congress' Republican party (borrowing the American political context). Due to a lack of primaries, AAP is directly contesting against congress (and also against BJP).
Then why the venomous angst against AAP?
Are people here scared that AAP may actually upstage Congress AND BJP and form a government at the center in some distant future? And promptly give away Kashmir and Siachen and send the IA to barracks? For crying out loud, they don't have the balls to form a gov in Delhi, that is being given to them on a platter.
Am I the only one who feels that AAP's toxicity is competing directly against a much bigger toxicity of congress-system rather than BJP's own voter base?
How are NTR and TMC and Chiranjeevi and other examples even relevant here? I am truly at a loss to understand the thought process of the analysis here.
That AAP's agenda is toxic may be a given - but that agenda is directly competing against an even more radio-active agenda of congress. If I were to be in the BJP think-tank, I would encourage AAP to contest in as many places as it can. Because it is taking away votes from congress far far more than me.
JMHO
Abhijit ji,
Here we are just trying to counter the MSM propagandu onlee. So no question of fear panic etc in brfites looking at sAAP ,wAAP.

Coming to sAAP itself.
There are a lot of floating voters in Urban Yindia. Many of them would have in previous election voted CongI. But they are floating because they don't have a fixation with congi -as same lot of them would have voted for vajpayee in 1999 .
Basically they don't have an ideological inclination per se.

Now this sAAP is liable to target them well with its agenda riding on the shoulders of Paid MSM propaganda. So its all the more important for Bhajapa to project its ideology and agenda and prevent this mass of electorate to be influenced towards sAAP's venomous advances.
A stitch in time saves nine - another misunderestimation as in 2004 , when a smug Bhajapa with "set to sweep the polls" outlook cannot be repeated.

Vipera Evanesca wonlee.

Karan wrote:2. IIT crowd who regard him as one of theirs - statistically not a huge percent of population, and can be lower in priority
Ah statistics, lies and and damned lies..But .Collectively,
"blah blah.. history of human endeavor , has so much been achieved by so few with so little "? Hain na ?
:mrgreen: :mrgreen:
truth remains as it is.. most of your alum may support kejri - our boy onlee and all that, but as a proportion of the population, IITians are negligible. even counting networks of influence and all. and the IIT tag only goes so far nowadays which is why Kejri has had to consecutively depend on Baba Ramdev, RSS, AH and now minority votebanks all the while beating the emotive anticorruption drum. all these count for more.

after all, folks have seen what mai-baap Oxbridge, Cambridge, Harvard educated experts did to India. so the tag alone wont be enough. performance and consistency count. parrikar of goa is IIT with a good track record. but then dr raman singh, modi, SSC have all performed.

nothing to do with IIT good or bad - just pointing out that while it brings a lot of initial deference in India (still), it needs to be added with other stuff (emotive appeal, consistency) to appeal to the indian pysche. and even so, the core segment which merely goes for the alum part, is limited in numbers and given how hard core some will be about this, they should be lower down the priority list.

every person gets one vote after all, and so the easier segments should be addressed. better bang for the buck, or ROI in your jargon

and that quote from the battle of britain? as usual, a minor sideline in WW2 played up to epic proportions by the brits, to tom tom their own selves, while Hitler dropped Op Sea Lion and moved onwards to Op Barbarossa - which is what broke the wehrmacht.

the bigger problem is kejriwals messiah complex which is driving him to create another leftist state within a state, with many layers of faceless betters to sit in judgement of us all, with more taxes for the middle class and penalizing the rich and similar rubbish.
and to enforce all this a new organization with stasi/NKVD sort of behaviour to arise.
Last edited by Karan M on 10 Dec 2013 12:07, edited 2 times in total.
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

Take a poll on twitter of all IIT almuni and ask them to choose between Namo and Khujliwal, I bet Namo will win.

Vina ji Saar,
Please to go easy on the superlatives on kujli wonlee. And to estop again and again dragging IITs into kujli's and his party's discussion . I personally know quite a few eyeeyetee yans most are from kgp who are repulsed at the antics of slimy snake called khujli wonlee - so there you have it.

Arjun ji, Karan M ji not to fan Vina ji's flames of passion for kuhjliwal - by further linking it to his eyeayetees .
Last edited by Lilo on 10 Dec 2013 12:14, edited 2 times in total.
Virendra

Post by Virendra »

krishnan wrote:i really wonder how people bought the AAP ideas ??? 50% cut in electricity bill in 7 days and all that , they have some magic wand
They've never looked into Congress-BJP manifestos .. do you think they'll do it with AAP? :roll:
saumitra_j

Post by saumitra_j »

muraliravi wrote: Saar, I really hope that MNS goons dont fall prey to congress money and attack AAP activists in Mumbai. That will only increase their base. IMHO, the best way to hit out at AAP in Mumbai or any other place is to expose them frontally. Whether it is the NAC guys in AAP, or their bankrupt policies.
Having grown up in Mumbai, I feel AAP will not have much of an influence with the youth as people grow up thinking about making money by doing hard work. It is an out an out capitalistic society out there... except a few South Mumbai types who are elitists....

One of Bal Thackrey's biggest contribution to the city and India was getting rid of commies and trade union walahs... (btw, the only ones who survived like Datta Samant and others did a LOT of damage.....). So the city has got rid of the mess some decades back.

Last two elections, the city has seen very poor turnout (IIRC around 45%) and couple that with MNS/SS split, NDA has been loosing....having said that, one of the consequences of NaMo being the PM candidate is that more and more people are coming out to vote.... and I am pretty sure NDA will do well in Mumbai, AAP or no AAP provided they sort out this MNS/SS mess.....

Rahul M wrote:Abhijit, the problem with an ultra left party, that too in disguise is that they can become influential enough to guide the discourse. just when India is getting rid of decades of leftist mai-baap politics AAP brings us back to the 60's and 70's.
exactly. after all the harm we have suffered from the misguided twits in NAC and assorted think tanks who took our money and squandered it, even as the demographic dividend remains without education, and the economy goes nowhere fast... now we have socialism 2.0, in the guise of kejriwal-yadav-bhushan who are our betters, want to run new agencies and tax the rich to give to the poor. like that works.

I don't understand what is this big hallagulla about IIT. Look at MMS. He has all the right credentials. It is not worth dogshit if you can't deliver. A 'chaiwala' like NaMo is hajaar times better. This is not to say AK is not efficient but he should be judged based on his deeds.
alexis

Post by alexis »

muraliravi wrote:
Sir ji,

How can we find out how much payment he got, I cant investigate his swiss account or his benami's bank accounts.

The GOI machinery was acting as if they are against him. Just like the brits created MKG.

The simple fact that this 2 paise activist got so much attentions compared to the doyens there is proof for me that he is a stooge.
Neither can i check swiss account of Modi for that matter!!! Pls dont give Lahori logic.

Unless you have proof, pls dont accuse anyone. As Poirot said "The truth, it has the habit of revealing itself." So wait till it is revealed.
muraliravi

Post by muraliravi »

alexis wrote:
muraliravi wrote:
Sir ji,

How can we find out how much payment he got, I cant investigate his swiss account or his benami's bank accounts.

The GOI machinery was acting as if they are against him. Just like the brits created MKG.

The simple fact that this 2 paise activist got so much attentions compared to the doyens there is proof for me that he is a stooge.
Neither can i check swiss account of Modi for that matter!!! Pls dont give Lahori logic.

Unless you have proof, pls dont accuse anyone. As Poirot said "The truth, it has the habit of revealing itself." So wait till it is revealed.
The fact that he got too much attention compared to what much more rooted activists ever got is proof enough and stands tall above any definition of lahori logic.

Lilo wrote:Vina ji Saar,
Please to go easy on the superlatives on kujli wonlee. And to estop again and again dragging IITs into kujli's and his party's discussion . I personally know quite a few eyeeyetee yans most are from kgp who are repulsed at the antics of slimy snake called khujli wonlee - so there you have it.
Oh. Joo Miss-undershtood me. See, it is like this. Of course, not all IITians will support his politics, his ends and means , just as not all the wider section of population would. A certain small section will (the Che Guevara types if you will, brilliant, driven,idealistic, nutty as a fruitcake , and sadly ruthless and totalitarian, the kind who gravitated to naaxlism in the late 60s/70s, if Kejriwal was 15 to 20 years younger he would have gone that route) , just as in the wider section of the populace.

But, you should know who your opponent is. Kejriwal is not a pushover, not by a fat chance. You will underestimate him at your grave peril. Modi "crushing" him might well come about, but it will not be simple, will call for some serious strat-e-jee and smarts in execution . Name calling and frothing in the mouth etc won't cut it. My admiration for Kejriwal is for his guts, courage and skills (sort of like what Rambo's trainers and his cohort in special forces school would have), not for his message and aims.

So, if Modi is all he is cut out to be, let us see what he can do against a pesky smart guy, who will run a disruptive campaign in the Metros (leaving out Chennai and Kolkata ) and be in the play to grab some 20 Lok Sabha seats and damage both the big guys.

Dilbu wrote:Look at MMS. He has all the right credentials.
Nah.. Big Mistake. Dont compare an Oxbridge academic (weak, meek, soft spoken, shivering dhoti /shalwar, painfully shy, painstakingly correct) type with a IIT-YumbeeYea kind of guy. You are comparing two totally different personality and character traits. The only thing common between the two is potential academic excellence. But it diverges radically after that. That same divergence can be seen even within folks in the same class at undergrad , the studious focused "tyaagi" R&D and Engineering types that Bade mian wants everyone to be and the other type. You are dealing with the latter here. Bahut khatarnaak onree, sir ji.

Oh. Joo Miss-undershtood me. See, it is like this. Of course, not all IITians will support his politics, his ends and means , just as not all the wider section of population would. A certain small section will (the Che Guevara types if you will, brilliant, driven,idealistic, nutty as a fruitcake , and sadly ruthless and totalitarian, the kind who gravitated to naaxlism in the late 60s/70s, if Kejriwal was 15 to 20 years younger he would have gone that route) , just as in the wider section of the populace.

But, you should know who your opponent is. Kejriwal is not a pushover, not by a fat chance. You will underestimate him at your grave peril. Modi "crushing" him might well come about, but it will not be simple, will call for some serious strat-e-jee and smarts in execution . Name calling and frothing in the mouth etc won't cut it. My admiration for Kejriwal is for his guts, courage and skills (sort of like what Rambo's trainers and his cohort in special forces school would have), not for his message and aims.

So, if Modi is all he is cut out to be, let us see what he can do against a pesky smart guy, who will run a disruptive campaign in the Metros (leaving out Chennai and Kolkata ) and be in the play to grab some 20 Lok Sabha seats and damage both the big guys.
Vina avargal ,
Agree with bolded.
Thanks for qualifying your opinion on kejri.
Last edited by Lilo on 10 Dec 2013 12:49, edited 2 times in total.

vina wrote:Nah.. Big Mistake. Dont compare an Oxbridge academic (weak, meek, soft spoken, shivering dhoti /shalwar, painfully shy, painstakingly correct) type with a IIT-YumbeeYea kind of guy. You are comparing two totally different personality and character traits. The only thing common between the two is potential academic excellence. But it diverges radically after that. That same divergence can be seen even within folks in the same class at undergrad , the studious focused "tyaagi" R&D and Engineering types that Bade mian wants everyone to be and the other type. You are dealing with the latter here. Bahut khatarnaak onree, sir ji.
Actually Kejriwal seems more the first type to me...but then I haven't really been interested enough to catch any of his recent interviews or speeches.

I don't see much charisma in Kejriwal. Can he really articulate much...? If he really is the 'stratajee' type how come he doesn't get the sheer dumbness of his policies ??

Rahul M wrote:Abhijit, the problem with an ultra left party, that too in disguise is that they can become influential enough to guide the discourse. just when India is getting rid of decades of leftist mai-baap politics AAP brings us back to the 60's and 70's.
exactly. after all the harm we have suffered from the misguided twits in NAC and assorted think tanks who took our money and squandered it, even as the demographic dividend remains without education, and the economy goes nowhere fast... now we have socialism 2.0, in the guise of kejriwal-yadav-bhushan who are our betters, want to run new agencies and tax the rich to give to the poor. like that works.
Saar a humble request ... it is tax the middle class and not tax the rich .. most Aam Admi will agree to tax the rich.

But when you say tax the middle class every one will outraged and that includes the rich and the poor .. for you see these days every one thinks of themselves as middle class and Aam Admi ..

Wait .. it is better to project this as direct or indirect tax on the Aam Admi wonlee ..
Last edited by pankajs on 10 Dec 2013 12:44, edited 1 time in total.

Meanwhile in,UP 2 rajya sabha seats are up for grabs
one iis going sapa way the other congress pramod teawarry
is filing and sapa gonna support them, there you go, outta the window turd front this turd that.

No wonder AAP is not very keen on forming up a government. They themselves know that their goose is cooked when they are ruling and people ask for the tall claims to be implemented on the ground.

Arjun wrote:Actually Kejriwal seems more the first type to me...but then I haven't really been interested enough to catch any of his recent interviews or speeches.

I don't see much charisma in Kejriwal. Can he really articulate much...? If he really is the 'stratajee' type how come he doesn't get the sheer dumbness of his policies ??
I actually saw Kejriwal talk any length for the first time yesterday. Never head him speak before. So, look up his interview with Boorkha Aunty on rrNDTV, which should be available online. That will answer all your questions, including the 2nd one and why that is YumBeeYea giri (hint.. you tell the Kusht-o-mur what he wants to hear and thinks is smart, and not what is actually smart, appropriate and true).
M Joshi

Post by M Joshi »

Actually Anna dissing NAMO is not that bad of a thing IMO. 50% of people in Delhi who voted for AAP and also want NAMO at the Centre will have to make a choice now. Either NAMO's BJP or AAP's Kejri.
AAP folks till now have resisted from taking on NAMO directly for the fear of losing votes. If a "Gandhi" from their side will attack NAMO it's only going to hurt them more than anything. NAMO has withstood attacks from all quarters till now & this simpleton with small world-view will be no challenge to him. Hardcore AAP folks will be behind this guy no matter what, but people with dual interests in BJP & AAP will have to draw the line now.

OTOH if re-elctions are going to happen in Delhi, then one thing that is of biggest potent danger to the Delhi BJP is theCongress vote-bank. Congress won 8 seats & got around 20-25% vote share. I fear that in a case of re-election, it is going to be direct fight between AAP & BJP. In that case what will matter most is how this Congi votebank splits up. And to me at least it seems that this vote bank, which includes sizeable minority votes will go heavily towards AAP to defeat BJP. Thus I re-iterate again that BJP should bring it's hihgly motivated cadre from Rajasthan & MP to Delhi in case of re-elections to pump up its existing cadre & visit each & every home to de-brainwash the delusional folks of Delhi.

Vina ji saar,
too broad strokes with a big paint brush... too much generalization onlee. I can't decide whether you are doing a satire or whether you are serious. IIT is the last reason for Fordriwal's success.

I think that AAP is being blown out of proportion and it has already reached its saturation. In terms of Loksabha, it is really a small threat. It just shows the desperation of MSM and dynasty lovers that they are hoping for miracles from Fordriwal.
Arjun saar ji,
the problem of dhesh has been that few 'elites' think they are capable of dictating to the rest. They think they are superior for some reason and others should just listen them. Its a one way street. This model has not really worked. The belief in elite-giri is a slippery slope. Infact, history seems to be rife with instances when several civilizations went under just because their 'elites' backstabbed them.

The rise of NaMo is the rise of true Aam Aadhmi. And NaMo has been insisting on two-way dialogue where people's hope and aspirations are taken into account.

I agree with you to certain extent that the people's choices may not always be correct. But, that does not mean that people are fools. It can be explained by ignorance. There is a difference between ignorance and foolishness. Ignorance can be cured.

Also, higher IQ does not necessarily mean right choices. Because, there is self-interest and corruption angle also... i.e. moral compass. Actually, when highly intelligent and clever guys go rogue, it is more dangerous. So, high IQ need not necessarily be good. Same applies to people with power, strength, beauty, degrees,..etc.

There is a sthothra of Vedhantha Deshika(not sure, though) which says(paraphrasing) the following about Lord Vishnu's mercy(Dhaya),"Oh Goddess mercy, Vishnu has many sterling qualities, but all those qualities would have become cruelties if it were not for you..."

That means Vishnu's strength, beauty, intelligence, power, riches,...etc are all dangers to the world if it were not for Vishnu's mercy(i.e. moral compass). The same applies to all creatures.
About Anna:
not every guy seeks money. Some seek popularity and respect. I'd say that popularity and respect(H&D in paki lingo) can be a bigger temptation than money itself.
subhamoy.das

Post by subhamoy.das »

has anybody spotted DIG-BOY singh lately?
M Joshi

Post by M Joshi »

^^ Was on Undie TV yesterday.

Less in YumBeeYeaGiri - Meet AAP, the Fastest Growing Startup

Worth a read for folks look at a cliched Strat-e-jee talk.

M Joshi wrote:^^ Was on Undie TV yesterday.
the congis even trotted out renuka chaudry :rotfl:

johneeG wrote:Arjun saar ji,
the problem of dhesh has been that few 'elites' think they are capable of dictating to the rest. They think they are superior for some reason and others should just listen them. Its a one way street. This model has not really worked. The belief in elite-giri is a slippery slope. Infact, history seems to be rife with instances when several civilizations went under just because their 'elites' backstabbed them.

The rise of NaMo is the rise of true Aam Aadhmi. And NaMo has been insisting on two-way dialogue where people's hope and aspirations are taken into account.

I agree with you to certain extent that the people's choices may not always be correct. But, that does not mean that people are fools. It can be explained by ignorance. There is a difference between ignorance and foolishness. Ignorance can be cured.

Also, higher IQ does not necessarily mean right choices. Because, there is self-interest and corruption angle also... i.e. moral compass. Actually, when highly intelligent and clever guys go rogue, it is more dangerous. So, high IQ need not necessarily be good. Same applies to people with power, strength, beauty, degrees,..etc.

There is a sthothra of Vedhantha Deshika(not sure, though) which says(paraphrasing) the following about Lord Vishnu's mercy(Dhaya),"Oh Goddess mercy, Vishnu has many sterling qualities, but all those qualities would have become cruelties if it were not for you..."

That means Vishnu's strength, beauty, intelligence, power, riches,...etc are all dangers to the world if it were not for Vishnu's mercy(i.e. moral compass). The same applies to all creatures.
JohneeG ji,

Not sure if you are responding to my post where I said a few 'elites' are responsible for taking society forward, or another post of mine where I was admittedly a little guilty of disparaging a large section of Indians as 'heart-over-head' leftists. Possibly you are responding to both - so I will clarify these comments.

With respect to the 'elites' statement, I definitely don't mean 'elite' in the traditional sense or the way I see it being used in your response. What I meant was that there are very few, shall we say 'entrepreneurs' in every field, ultimately responsible for moving society as a whole forward....It's entrepreneurs in the business world that are primarily responsible for growth and innovation. Similarly a small bunch of original scientists out of the entire set would be truly responsible for path breaking research that moves civilization forward. And the same with politics. Modi I would count very much among the once in a lifetime kind of 'elite' entrepreneur-politicians who can change the nature of society. That is what I referenced with the term 'elites'...perhaps I should have used 'entrepreneurs' or 'change-agents' instead of 'elite'.

On the disparaging of a large section of Indians as incorrigible leftists - again, there is a particular context to it. When some people talk of a 'Modi wave' the optimists seem to think that an overwhelming majority of Indians can conceivably be converted to Modi's camp, and that if that is not feasible they refuse to acknowledge the existence of a Modi wave. I want to question this basic premise. It is highly possible that there is a signifcantly large percentage of Indians who are certifiably leftist in their thinking or give more weightage to 'liberal sounding matters of the heart than to matters of the head. I know it sounds somewhat 'elitist' to suggest that - but only by suggesting that can one then go on to suggest that it might be a better strategy to use AAP as BJP Team B to break up the 'secular' vote base. If most folks in India are smart enough to fall for Modi's appeal for a development agenda - yes we are certainly home. if not, we have to look at alternatives where we split the opposing camp. So, there was a certain motive based on which I made my statement. I think the public of Rajasthan, MP, Chattisgarh have certainly demonstrated that they are aspirational enough and smart enough to go with the developmental agenda - but sadly a majority in Delhi did not demonstrate the same sagacity. Do we assume all of India in Lok Sabha polls will be like Delhi - or do we assume they will be like Rajasthan ? I am saying assume the Delhi scenario of majority leftist / populist thinking, but still emerge the largest party based on split of opposition votes - as has happened in Delhi. I may well be wrong - and all of India may turn out to be like Rajasthan. I would be extremely happy in that case to be proved wrong.

Clamour for Rahul as PM pick grows
:
:
AICC general secretary Digvijaya Singh said the party should ensure that Rahul is declared the PM candidate.

Union power minister Jyotiraditya Scindia, who was the chairman of the campaign committee in Madhya Pradesh polls, made the demand immediately after the Congress was routed in assembly elections in four states on Sunday.
:
:
:

This is for those who think AAp kohli has been wrongfully acused
there are witnesses that during the Vic. procession some aapturds taunted
the defeated mla wife who was watching from her house she then said
if he is so great a mard then trying come up, the fellow did enter
now according to the new law it is janab aapturd onus to prove his intentions were pious not
lecherous as acoused.
alexis

Post by alexis »

muraliravi wrote:
The fact that he got too much attention compared to what much more rooted activists ever got is proof enough and stands tall above any definition of lahori logic.
He filled the anti-corruption space after all the scam. BJP could not fill this space and vacated it for Anna Hazare. MSM gave him space as BJP did not fill it. There is no need to create conspiracy theories.

niran wrote:This is for those who think AAp kohli has been wrongfully acused
there are witnesses that during the Vic. procession some aapturds taunted
the defeated mla wife who was watching from her house she then said
if he is so great a mard then trying come up, the fellow did enter
now according to the new law it is janab aapturd onus to prove his intentions were pious not
lecherous as acoused.
Floating on Twitter.
alexis

Post by alexis »

AAP coming to power would be a disaster for Delhi; the AAP manifesto is a study on "what not to do" in economics.

vinaji, for all his yembeagiri, AK hasnt thought about what to do when he is elected to power. he has a good chance of coming to power during re-election as i expect a lot of CongI vote bank to drift towards him.

Delhi Assembly has 70 MLAs. AAP has 28 MLAs and BJP has 31 MLAs. BJP should ask its 4 MLAs to resign, so now AAP has 28 MLAs, BJP has 27 MLAs and so AAP is largest party. And BJP should promise to abstain. That way AAP can have its CM. In fact, I would say, BJP should ask 15 of its MLAs to resign. That way now Delhi Assembly has 70 - 15 = 55 MLAs, and so AAP with 28 MLAs has clear majority !!

IMO this is necessary to save India in Loksabha-may-2014 elections. It is necessary to show that AK = AAP have no will and/or ability to govern , and their only goal is voting cutting. And only way it can be proved is by making way clear for AAP in delhi Assembly.

Once AK becomes CM, it will become clear to whole nation that AK is pro-Bangladeshi, he opposes Right to Recall Janlokayukt clauses, he opposes RTR-Delhi-Mayor , his promise to deliver 700 liters of water for free was bluff, his promise to reduce electricity unit rate by 25% and yet have 24 hrs electricity was another bluff, he supports hiding the fact that Hindu population has decreased from 82% in 2001 to below 75% in 2011 till loksabha elections end and so forth. IOW, once AK becomes CM, within 3 months, whole nation will be able to see that AK = RaGa with better IQ, and AAP = Congress3.

All in all, Dr Congress did 1000 operations with 800 failures. Dr BJP did 1000 operations and had 600 failures, with Dr NaMo having least failure rate say 30%. And AK has failure score of 0 !! Because Dr AK never did any operations in his life !!! And paid-media projected Dr AK has "best doctor as he has zero failure rate" !!!

And now only way to show that AK will have failure rate of 1000 out of 1000 is to let him run the Delhi state by asking 15 BJP MLAs to resign. IMO, no other option is left to expose him in 4 months. Within 4 months, AK will make such a mess, that he will get zero votes across India in Loksabha-may-2014 elections.

alexis wrote:AAP coming to power would be a disaster for Delhi; the AAP manifesto is a study on "what not to do" in economics.

vinaji, for all his yembeagiri, AK hasnt thought about what to do when he is elected to power. he has a good chance of coming to power during re-election as i expect a lot of CongI vote bank to drift towards him.
Their game plan all along was to sit in opposition for five years and learn the ropes at the cost of others. They full well know that they all have nil experience in governance and cannot hit the ground running hard as is expected from any government, especially on which made all sorts of loony promises.

Long on rhetoric and woefully short on delivery