Intelligence & National Security Discussion

Sudip

Re: Intelligence & National Security Discussion

Post by Sudip »

shyamd wrote:NTRO had already received results of the Canadian report on Ghostnet in Feb. The NTRO has got heavy criticism for not stopping the attacks in the report. I said earlier they are under CAG audit. Chin intel are watching closely.

looks like shyamd sir is an insider :mrgreen:

Vivek, Do you mind if I transfer your posts to the CW games threat thread? Its in the GDF.

Vivek Raghuvanshi

Post by Vivek Raghuvanshi »

Dear Ramana,

Thanks for asking.

Actual intention of my comments was to help and train GOI on Intelligence

Kindly let my post remain here.

I teach Competitive Intelligence & Corporate Warfare program at Amity University

http://www.amity.edu/aici

My Instructor profile:

http://amity.edu/aici/faculty.htm

With warmest regards
Vivek Raghuvanshi

Saichen Ops - PERFECT INDIAN INTELLIGENCE OPS SUCCESS

This was perfect success

Intel Intercept in Lebanon

Cheers to 4 Kumaon and Col Narendra Kumar [ Bull ] uncle, Col Khare uncle, 4 Kumaon, and the the brave warrior Capt Kulkarni [ Now Brig Kulkarni, again 4 Kumaon ] who dared to jump with two boys and capture the Bila Fondla ridge.

Perfect combination of Intelligence and Valor of Indian Army

Cheers

Sir,

What is intel intercept in Lebanon?

Vivek, In that case will transfer that thread to this forum and your posts there. the reason is it will get lost in a couple of pages.
Vivek Raghuvanshi

Dear Ramana,

As you wish, you can transfer threads where you think they are relevant.

BTW, Capt Kulkarni [ Brig Kulkarni ] for Bila Fondla Dare Devil heroism got Kirti Chakra

'Pak may use surrogate Taliban to use nukes against India'
"If something broke out in Kashmir that reignited the vitriol between India and Pakistan, that could be an incident that could cause someone to make the decision.

"We don't want to use these weapons, but we're going to let our surrogate Taliban have access to these weapons and they'll do our dirty work,"
Vivek Raghuvanshi

This is propoganda by ISI

Taliban does not have access to nukes

If pakistan gives Taliban access to nukes, my Israeli and friends will take care of Pakistan for ever

Cheers

Vivek-sir,

Could you please explain the "intel intercept in Lebanon" part of your earlier post?

Vivek Raghuvanshi

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/pak-m ... ia/610368/

This is propoganda by ISI

Taliban does not have access to nukes

If pakistan gives Taliban access to nukes, my Israeli and American friends will take care of Pakistan for ever

Pakistan knows we are a Nation of Cowards. Relax...Pakis will dare not use nukes.

Cheers

The so called "uncle" has been identified as one of Dawood Ibrahim's Mumbai underworld activist who planted bombs at several locations in 1993. INTERESTINGLY, SHARAD PAWAR AS THE CM OF MAHARSHTRA, PROVIDED THEM LOGISTICS INCLUDING THE FLIGHT TO DUBAI AND THOS E WHO FLED INCLUDED MANY OF DAWOOD'S FAMILY MEBERS, TIGER MEMON AND HIS GROUP
AND MANY LIKE THIS "UNCLE" A PLANE LOAD.

... During the 1993 Bombay blasts, the Chief Minister of Maharashtra Sharad Pawar of Congress, provided the airplane to transport Dawood Ibrahim's relatives and friends to safety. Salman Khursheed, of
congress was the Central Minister of State for External Affairs during the same blasts. Romesh Sharma, of congress was the right hand man of Dawood Ibrahim and made the arrangements to acquire the
passport for Dawood's mother in 24 hours. Babloo Srivastava, general secretary of congress youth organization was Dawood's pointsmanand Babloo was accused in 45 cases of murder, extortion,
rioting and possession of illegal arms. In over 95% of the instances where Indian politicians have colluded with the Mafia linked to Dawood Ibrahim, the links can be traced back directly to the Congress.

Sharma was especially close to Laloo Prasad Yadav, a fact which is evidenced by CBI records of Yadav's office booking rooms for Sharma's stay at Maurya Hotel on three occasions in 1997-98. Yadav also used to be a regular at parties organized by Sharma at his Jai Mata farmhouse in Satbari in Mehrauli. ...
:shock:
these b%##%%ds are the real threat
who needs enemies like naxals,let.jem, huji,taliban,

one thing is pretty clear, we wont be getting dawood or even his associates ,until unless s.pawar is there,,

dawood>pawar>l.modi>IPL> a lot of match fixing >money goes to terrorists ....keep on sleeping people
fine ,give them Z++ security and then there are no commandos rightly available at incidents like mumbai 26/11 , because we are busy giving security to these b#$%^%$%s

Vivekji, latest inputs say that there was a taliban attempt to takeover a nuke site in pak. So, it does make sense to transfer to taliban(who after all are TSPA officers anyway). Evidence also suggests that TSP had stored nukes in Afghanistan. This came into the open post 9/11.

--------------------------
NTRO is the first intel agency to go under the CAG audit. A number of their IT projects are behind schedule and have had cost overruns.

I'd rather have specialist accountants who work under NTRO look at the books too along with a third party.

If indeed Taliban can have access to N bumbs, then everyone, US, Saudi, Russia, including China & Pakistan should have to worry for their safety.
sunny y

Post by sunny y »

News Flash :

NDTV just reported that NTRO has been tapping the phones of Sharad pawar, Digvijay Singh, & other big leaders. There was also a brief chat with Vinod Mehta of Outlook magazine. They were the ones who broke this story.
Interestingly the reason why Sharad pawar has suddenly become the biggest critique of Lalit Modi is because during the recent meeting between PC, Pranab Mukharjee & Sharad pawar, he was shown the transcripts of the calls that happened between him & Lalit Modi.

Here is the link :

http://www.mynews.in/News/Outlook_revea ... 49462.html

What is this device which Outlook is talking about?

Apparently, this device can scan/tap any mobile conversation in a 2km radius wherever it is placed. This device was used to tap into all the netas calls when they were roaming around in their cars in Delhi.

Is this a Amriki developed device or some indigenous stuff ( highly unlikely)?
Sudip

Post by Sudip »

sum wrote:What is this device which Outlook is talking about?

Apparently, this device can scan/tap any mobile conversation in a 2km radius wherever it is placed. This device was used to tap into all the netas calls when they were roaming around in their cars in Delhi.

Is this a Amriki developed device or some indigenous stuff ( highly unlikely)?

if its amriki how did they get their hands on them?? maybe israeli or russian tech?

gosh , could they make a device that can bring sugar prices down,?.
I know one thing , the answer ends with $harad pawar

I believe a similar device given to Lebanese Intelligence by France was used to neutralize an Israeli spy ring after the 2006 Lebanon conflict.

The device does exist, ISI also have the same device.I actually first heard about it when US journo was with ISI officers.

Article by saikat datta on outlook. It is sold by israeli firm, US firm called verint and one local company has developed it too.

By the way, that article is a lot of nonsense and itd is out to get people. Its so obvious its by vested interests

RoyG, I don't think so.

Hey shyamd,

I remember reading about a communication intercept device employed by Lebanese CI to bust the ring. I'll try finding the article.

I know that you are refering to the Debka article which described similar things. First they blamed the Russians, then they blamed the french.

From what I am told from a more reliable source, those cells were broken by the lebanese FSI which was trained and equipped by the US. There are cells that are still being broken, even this year. I don't think they were broken by using SATCOM interception kits personally.

Confirmation that CAG Audit taking place. Proves my source is accurate.
Who’ll Monitor The Monitor?
A CAG audit, inquiry by a high-powered committee spell disaster for NTRO

Why politicians won’t get off the line
dinesha

Post by dinesha »

Shoghi Communications based in Noida, NCR Delhi also supplies these systems amongst other related items...
http://www.shoghi.co.in/passive_gsm_interception.htm

New CDAC software to fend off cyber attacks
HYDERABAD: The increasing number of cyber attacks on Indian companies has raised questions on the safety of virtual networks. Phishing mails, cybercrimes and malware have not only taken cyber security to a different level but also forced developers to improve product safety.

Taking into consideration the intensity of cyber attacks and threats of data theft, the Centre for Development of Advanced Computing (CDAC) here has developed new software — ‘NAYAN,' ‘USB Pratirodh,' and ‘Malware Resist'— “keeping end-users in view. Most of the research and development was done on the vulnerability of computers due to malware and data thefts,” says director A.K. Jain.

NAYAN, short for Network Abhigham Niyanthran, controls the computer's access to different network services, thus protecting the internal network from threats and misuse. “The software helps the administrator control access of a computer to network services and monitor activity from anywhere in the network,” says executive director N. Sarat Chandra Babu.

Moreover, the software has a unique way of authenticating a system on the network by creating a machine imprint which is generated from various parameters such as the operating system, hard disk and RAM. “This imprint will ensure that the computer in the network is authentic and safe. NAYAN also ensures that only authorised personnel have access to configurations, personal information, source and destination IP's and roles assigned to users,” says team co-ordinator (R&D) P.R. Lakshmi Eswari.

Compatible with end systems with Windows XP, Vista, Linux (Ubuntu 9.04, BOSS and SUSE), NAYAN has a desktop firewall which enforces the Network Access Control policies of a company.

USB Pratirodh is used to secure data stored in laptops and PCs, and prevents unauthorised use of portable storage devices. “About 75 per cent companies experience internal data thefts due to usage of USB drives and other portable devices,” says Dr. Babu.

More info on the new tapping device in the spotlight:
Beware, tapping device can be deployed anywhere
Even as a report in Outlook on the alleged tapping of the phones of political leaders and senior bureaucrats is creating ripples in political circles, the fact remains that ordinary citizens are vulnerable to eavesdropping what with the advanced equipment used for the purpose. The new off-the-air GSM (Global System for Mobile Communications) monitoring device, which has been used to track calls in the present case as claimed by the magazine, can be deployed anywhere. The device needs no authorisation as the phone is not being tapped at the exchange; it is only the signals that are intercepted between the phone and the cellphone tower and recorded on a hard disk.

The equipment can track and tap into any cellphone conversation within a two-km radius.

If this is not impressive enough, there are technologies available in the market that can convert your cellphone into an intelligence system by activating special software, to spy on you. And this technology is available in India itself.

A Noida-based company, which claims to be a leading provider of analysis and surveillance solutions, has a technology that allows one to listen in to all phone calls made or received by the target handset, and also forwards all incoming and outgoing messages (SMS) on the target handset to a pre-defined number.

It also allows you to track the location of the target phone to the nearest GSM tower.

Interestingly, the application allows one to listen to a room conversation from anywhere in the world. It enables the user from the pre-defined number to call the phone when it is switched off and listen to the conversations taking place around the phone.
The company — which announces on its website that all its equipment are for end-usage only by the government or the Ministry of Defence or its related agencies — also claims to have a product designed to protect your communication from eavesdropping and interception by providing “Military Grade” security for your confidential mobile phone conversations. The product is designed to encrypt GSM mobile phone calls and absolutely thwarts its tapping.

Rule of thumb as far as this stuff is concerned:

If it can be tapped, it will be tapped.

And pretty much everything can be tapped. India is a major hub and, apparently, our guys are no slouches as far as collection is concerned :) (should I now put a "highly unlikely" note to CMA?). And it helps if you do some research on the fiber optic cable holdings of VSNL and Reliance. If you want to look for a Yindu-Yehudi-Yankee conspiracy, this is the motherlode.

Tapping is not really the issue, well up to a point. The money lies in ever more exotic forms of filtration. HTF are you going to pull out the valuables from the humongous pile of accumulated data. Going by the good doc's dung beetle analogy, one drowns in the dung trying to find the jewel, and you're not even sure if it's there. Once you know what you ar looking for, it is far far far easier.

And I've mentioned this before, but apparently Skype is a mofo as far as interception is concerned... I mean intercepting the data itself is (or was) apparently tricky. But I'm sure the situation now has changed ...

The company that they are talking about in the article sum posted is I think:
http://www.shoghi.co.in/

based in Noida and fits the description. I could have sworn this company was blacklisted years ago!

Added later: HAHA! I was right!
Blacklisted firm got DRDO’s ‘super-sensitive’ contract

I remember reading about it in VK Singh's book.

------
You can purchase military grade protection for your phone relatively cheaply, costs $500 or so. You can get the same protection that a french diplomat gets while abroad and apparently, you can't get intercepted.. Somali pirates are known to use these systems.

------------
JEMji, Skype is a big issue these days, apparently there are ways to send files over in the data packets, while having a voice conversation. But they have managed to find out ways to stop that now. Don't know if desh has.

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/01/11/books ... key-t.html

The shadow factory is worth reading. Has a few interesting things to say about India.

Another interesting bit of info for those newbies not quite in the picture:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fiber-Opti ... _the_Globe

Cyber battlefields
India’s Computer Emergency Response Team (CERT-In), which was set up by the ministry of communication and IT to handle cyber threats, confirms that suspicious cyber activities are on the rise. More than 4,475 Indian web sites—government and non-government—were targeted and defaced in 2008 alone. The hackers targeted information on the networks of the defence ministry, Mumbai air cargo customs, ministry of railways, National Institute of Social Defence, BSNL, Telecom Regulatory Authority of India and Defence Research and Development Organisation, says a cyber security expert. Banking, according to CERT-In, was the most targeted sector with 85 per cent phishing incidents in this sector in 2008.
Interesting read,
Vivek Raghuvanshi

In times such as these I really miss Mr RN Kao. He is my Hero.

I wish some people like him were at the helm of affairs.

Way back in 1978, in Ranikhet he inspired me as a kid and I touched his feet.

I wish there were great men like him in India.

JE Menon wrote:http://www.nytimes.com/2009/01/11/books ... key-t.html

The shadow factory is worth reading. Has a few interesting things to say about India.

Another interesting bit of info for those newbies not quite in the picture:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fiber-Opti ... _the_Globe
JEM-garu,

I have the shadow factory with me and have read almost 3/4th of the book but couldnt find reference to Desh.

Could you please point out the approx chapter number/page where Indian references come?
Vivek Raghuvanshi

The ultimate in CIT [ Computer Intrusion Techniques ] is the legendary BND

Check out Project RAHAB of BND
sivabala

Post by sivabala »

sum wrote:....
Could you please point out the approx chapter number/page where Indian references come?
Google books says page 222 and 223
Ameet

Post by Ameet »

India is no. 3 haven for hackers

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/inf ... 857812.cms

India at third slot, stood next to the US and Brazil in 2009, in terms of countries where such malicious attacks originated, according to Symantec’s Internet Security Threat report. The Web security firm says India figured 13th on the list the previous year.

shyamd wrote:Confirmation that CAG Audit taking place. Proves my source is accurate.
Who’ll Monitor The Monitor?
A CAG audit, inquiry by a high-powered committee spell disaster for NTRO

Why politicians won’t get off the line

WRT the DRDO official in NTRO, its a disaster in the making. Just further proof that intel agencies are being used as places to distribute largesse.

PV Kumar, who is probing the matter, some of you will remember is a R&AW cadre officer, who was tipped to become Secretary (R), but was edged out by the IPS candidate at the last minute.

RAW appointments should be made public: CIC
The appointments above ranks of Joint Secretary in country's external intelligence agency RAW made by the Personnel Department should be made public, the Central Information Commission on Monday ruled.

hief Information Commissioner Wajahat Habibullah directed the Department of Personnel and Training to provide the names of such officials to RTI applicant Maj Gen (Retd) V K Singh, who held the post of Joint Secretary in the Research and Analysis Wing (RAW).

Habibullah, however, exempted the appointments which were directly dealt by the snooping agency with Appointments Committee of the Cabinet without consulting or informing the DOPT.

"All the appointments in RAW above the ranks of Joint Secretary made by Appointments Committee of the Cabinet through DOPT will be disclosed," Habibullah said.

Author of the book 'India's External Intelligence: Secrets of Research and Analysis Wing' who is facing CBI inquiry for alleged violations of the Official Secrets Act, Singh approached the Commission after his application seeking details of all the officials who held the posts of Joint Secretary and above between 2001-08 in the agency did not yield satisfactory response.
The department said not all the appointments in RAW are dealt by it and some of them are directly done by RAW through ACC. Hence, information about them will not be available with the department.

The point was accepted by Habibullah, who said information about appointments which have been made through DOPT should be given while rest can be withheld as RAW was an exempted organisation under the transparency law.
All i can say is :-? :-?

Very odd. Officers of the rank of JS and AS are also posted abroad/sent on undercover assignments. This is somewhat silly. On the other hand, what CIC is saying is that deputationists would be publicly known civil servants anyway, can be kept under the ambit, but the members of the hard core of the org need not be.