The Cricket World Cup Thread

Re: The Cricket World Cup Celebration Thread

Heard SRK fractured his toe during shooting. Could that be the reason for his absence?
Vivek Kumar

Post by Vivek Kumar »

Many a WKK's and closet WKK's were revealed to be what they really are...Indians first. :mrgreen:

Congratulations Team India.
Rupesh

Post by Rupesh »

Now move on to IPLLLLL

Kochi will win onreeee :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
bart

Post by bart »

Rupesh wrote:Now move on to IPLLLLL

Kochi will win onreeee :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
LOL
Vivek Kumar

Post by Vivek Kumar »

I'll pay to watch Amir Khan's next movie. :twisted:
naren

Post by naren »

Marten wrote:
SwamyG wrote:BTW, I saw a few references to Rajinikanth here....sorry very lazy and drained out to google. Wassup with him and cricket?
Rajini saar was sitting right next to Mukes bhai and Amir bhai in the million $ box. If not for the prayers sent to him, TI would not have won. :)

1. "Rajini, don't just sit there. Do something!"
2. "The previous night, Rajini dreamt India had won the World Cup. Yesterday was only the replay."
3. When God got out, he said "Oh Rajini! Please help us."
4. SL actually won. Rajini went back in time and changed the results.
5. God asked Rajini for help with the billion prayers. Rajini decided to grant all billion and one.
+1 for #5

Could someone please give the link to ball-biters interview that was a turn-aruond from the "oh the yindoos are peace loving onlee" statements?

It is all still sinking in. I was very emotionally involved and felt drained after the match. Wonder how players cope up with this on a daily basis. I need a hair cut, some fresh air and may be one nice mijjile maalish. Phew.. we won.. yeah...

Talking about mijjile maalish, where is that poonam motorham? Any news? :D

Dilbu-din,
Take a bow joo leader of us defenders!! Dilbu for emir!! :mrgreen:
Vivek Kumar

Post by Vivek Kumar »

naren

Post by naren »

SwamyG wrote:Virat Kohli's quote is going to be told and retold million times for over 50 years. He was 1 yr old infant when Tendular began his career. By the time Virat started following cricket as a child, Tendulkar must have established himself. So he grew watching him play, and then plays along with him, carries him on his shoulder and dedicates this to him. Only in India, a worthy culture where humans recognize and respect other humans of stellar personality. Imagine the tears of joy Sachin brought to millions over 2 decades.

In 1983, I watched the WC on a B/w TV. I remember Srikkanth's attack on WI pace bowlders, Sandhu snaring Greenidge, Viv Richards blasting away India. IIRC, Doordarshan in its infinite wisdom had news telecast instead of carrying the cricket; so had to listen the commentary on radio. I remember exactly where I was when Richards hit Madan Lal and Kapil ran, ran and ran to take the catch. Mohinder and Kirti's bowling. Yashpal and Binny.

Similarly, I think there are going to be a few players and quotes etched in ma mind of 2011.

Raina and Virat's respect and undiluted worship of Sachin is worthy of our culture. Gambhir's dedication to the common man of Mumbai and its victims is another noteworthy quote. I will remember this WC for GG, Virat, Raina's attitude. Sachin and Bhajji's emotional displays; Sachin's smile and energy while fielding, Raina's narration of how he got inspired by Sachin and Yuvaraj's steady and consistent all round performance. And Dhoni being the object of criticism. And most of all the fun we had in BRF. And other small things that I might forget over the years.
And dont forget the honour of shoulder ride given to Gary Kirsten. The only other person apart from God to get it. Not even MSD. The respect for Guru strongly etched in our culture.

I will remember this moment. If ever that American Beauty thing was true - your whole life flashing in front of you when you die - I am 400% sure that this moment will flash !!!

Vivek Kumar wrote:Prasad, does this one qualify?
Dhoni is dreaming, India can't win WC - Dean Jones
Vivek,
thanks but this isnt the one I was looking for. It was an interview with afraidi.
Vivek Kumar

Post by Vivek Kumar »

Dilbu wrote:Talking about mijjile maalish, where is that poonam motorham? Any news? :D
Poonam Pandey suggests Paris for her 'show' :evil:
Vipin_Upadhyay

Post by Vipin_Upadhyay »

Win has still not sunk-in. They should have a grand victory parade in every major city in India. delay IPL tamasha if needed.

Yesterady, juice shops in Mumbai were distributing free juices after win (till their stocks lasted). What a frenzy atmosphere all around.
Vivek Kumar

Post by Vivek Kumar »

Prasad wrote:
Vivek,
thanks but this isnt the one I was looking for. It was an interview with afraidi.
Maybe not related to your query but, still a revelation in piskology...http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vfuhL9OVeOw :evil:

hope someone edits and posts the clip after the victory

what team spirit and affection

F@ck u Greg chappell
Narad

Post by Narad »

You know why ICC had to play the WC finals on 2nd April??

Because on 3rd April, There is a premier of Rajnikants latest movie "Robot" on Television. :mrgreen:

Most probably due his very heavy weight presence, he could alter the gravitaional field of the stadium as Gravity is directly proportional to weight. And the balls mysteriously followed the gravitational pattern generated by Rajnikants presence so that every time Indian batsmen hit the ball it would always find the gaps.

Rajni works in Mysterious ways.
asgkhan

Post by asgkhan »

I will wait for articles in smh/news.com.au from the white packees on how India 'stage-managed' to win the WC.
Vivek Kumar

Post by Vivek Kumar »

No matter what anybody thinks of Imran Khan here on BRF, his analysis was always on the spot, unbiased and correct. As a cricketer, he was right almost 100% of the time. His wish of a paki victory can be understood and forgiven. :twisted:

how do you know he was not using piskology

I do not trust that guy
Vivek Kumar

Post by Vivek Kumar »

:(( :(( :(( :(( :(( :(( :(( :(( :(( :(( :(( :(( :((

Though the headlines are quite attention catching, the actual content of the post is quite accurate. He belittled the current form of players and recommended that Aswhin play.

Actually TI did exactly what DJ suggested. Played Ashwin, used Yuvraj and of course fielded like they really wanted the ball.
Jones suggested that India's best bowling combination would be Khan, Nehra, Harbhajan and Ravichandran Ashwin, with Yuvraj Singh and Yusuf Pathan completing the fifth bowler's quota.

"The team needs the attitude to get wickets and not just defend. Getting wickets always stops the run-rate. Its fieldsmen must look for run-outs and want the ball in the field," he said.

We won't see Murali again in International Cricket. :( This is going to be huge loss for SL . The legend had to retire someday and the final was it .

Somehow cricket has always been a reflection of our nation's morale and well-being. A clueless Azhar sending Srinath at number 3 and Mongia as opener to the current 'we'll bulldoze everything in our way' attitude of Dhoni's boys, we truly have come a long long way. So many things struck a chord in me this world cup : the beautiful stands and seats in the stadiums resembles that of any TFTA country. The crowd looks well groomed,well dressed and confident. Our team is no longer made up of slouching shouldered men who look too old for their age, instead it has a bunch of young go-getters who shine brighter while under pressure. What a difference from the 80s and 90s!

Barring a few rough patches, the last 10 years have been the most consistent and undoubtedly the 'golden era' of Indian cricket so far. The match-fixing scandal of 2000 was truly a blessing in disguise as it got rid of the cancerous elements and a lethargic attitude. Lets spare a thought for Dada and John Wright for starting this unforgettable era.

Prasad wrote:Dilbu-din,
Take a bow joo leader of us defenders!! Dilbu for emir!! :mrgreen:
Thanks guys. Feels great to know India is the World Champion. :mrgreen:

Vivek Kumar wrote:No matter what anybody thinks of Imran Khan here on BRF, his analysis was always on the spot, unbiased and correct. As a cricketer, he was right almost 100% of the time. His wish of a paki victory can be understood and forgiven. :twisted:
Like many Pakis he deliberately mispronounces SRT's name as 'Saachin'.

There was another paki RAPE commentator from the older generation who deliberately used to call him 'Tendulkaar' when he first began playing for India, while SMG would hit back by calling Salim Malik as 'Saalim Maalik'.

The pukes have always had a massive h&d khujli about God.
Vivek Kumar

Post by Vivek Kumar »

Chinmayanand wrote:We won't see Murali again in International Cricket. :( This is going to be huge loss for SL . The legend had to retire someday and the final was it .
And here are us Indians, world champions :mrgreen: , expecting at least 15 more hundreds each in Tests as well as ODI's, from our legend, before he retires. I mean if he wants to retire before 2020. :mrgreen:
Vivek Kumar

Post by Vivek Kumar »

At least I'm not shedding tears for a (legal) chucker. :twisted:
SandeepA

Post by SandeepA »

http://www.espncricinfo.com/icc_cricket ... 09325.html
After defeat to South Africa at the group stages in Nagpur, India's biggest stumble in the World Cup, Yuvraj had told a friend, "I have to take us to the World Cup final. Just you watch. I'm going to take them there."
All through the tournament, Dhoni who specialises in automobile analogies, had compared the Indian fielding to an old car engine trying to adjust to working with hybrid fuel. After the semi-final, he had said, that all he hoped for now was one more game. "After that, even if some of the cars fall down, it is okay."
While we were all shivering in our dhotis on BRF these guys were not. This was no flash in the pan victory like the 1983 one.

Muralidharan has been a wonderful cricketer. Well played sir. Thanks for entertaining us.
asgkhan

Post by asgkhan »

For me there were two standout shots etched in memory.

1. Dhoni hitting a four when Malinga bowled the slower one. Malinga acknowledged the skilled stroke with a smile.
2. Dhoni hitting a six, and watching the ball land in the crowd with that deadly steely gaze of a gladiator who just executed the killing stroke.

Can we Officially Declare that Dhoti Shivering for Season is closed :wink: :wink:

Apologies< Pranthan was played but failed, His Day will come.

Long Live Captain Dhoni- what a knock.

P.S_ Shoudnt BCCI give the Indian WC sqaud members an optional 15 day break from IPL for them to properly celebrate and be mentally fresh? What are Jingos thoughts on that?
Vivek Kumar

Post by Vivek Kumar »

It is a refreshing feeling being world champions. It's going to sink in slowly actually, so go out with your chests puffed out...and lift your lungi for anybody who questions your might...just to show them that Indians have it bigger and better than all other in the world. :mrgreen:
asgkhan

Post by asgkhan »

The dudes posting at SL forums are alright, no cons-pee-racy theories or blaming the yindoos. Self-analyses and the performance appraisal of their team, seems to be the gist of their diss-cuss-ions.

very nice to read about this gesture from god towards his bhakt. wish we had a pic to capture the moment.
Sachin Tendulkar walked out of the changing room and gestured to Sudhir Gautam to come up. Gautam is the thin, pale man with a shaven head and body covered in the Indian tri-colour. He is the man you would have seen recently with a miniature replica of the World Cup hanging atop his head. For at least half a decade now, Gautam has been Tendulkar's biggest fan, waving the Indian flag and blowing his conch shell at every venue Tendulkar plays. Today, Tendulkar decided to repay Gautam for his devotion.
Tendulkar shook hands with him, then embraced him and finally asked one of his team-mates to get the World Cup trophy. Zaheer Khan brought the cup outside with utmost care and held it tight. Gautam virtually snatched it out of the hands of the tournament's joint-highest wicket-taker. But Zaheer held on to the crown still. Eventually Gautam lifted the Cup with both hands as Zaheer let go. As soon as Gautam lifted the Cup and screamed "Indiaa", Tendulkar could not help but smile.
http://www.espncricinfo.com/icc_cricket ... 09314.html
Prasad, it's in the TSP thread, check the last couple of pages with 'afridi'

Sharda Ugra at the Wankhede Stadium

April 3, 2011

It was the first time in six weeks that MS Dhoni could be heard doing what can only be described as giggling. Usually self-contained, the India captain arrived at the underground media conference room, World Cup medal around his neck, Man-of-the-Tournament Yuvraj Singh at his side, and turned into someone else.

Twisted into a knot of concentration and anxiety for six weeks during the World Cup, now that the title has been won, Dhoni suddenly found he could let all the tension go, take a step back from the edge, and relax. More than once in a 25-minute conversation, Dhoni collapsed in mirth, pressing the microphone to his forehead because he couldn't remember the first part of two long questions he had been asked. Or it may have been because one of the questions wanted his reaction to some public sentiment that he should now try to run the country.

Normally he replies to questions only in English, even when asked in Hindi. But on Saturday night, Dhoni switched languages several times as he spoke of the strains his team had been under during the World Cup.

"The pressure you go through is a lot; we felt it throughout the tournament," he said before describing what it was like inside the Indian team's bubble. "If you ask the players, they were not eating well because of anxiety. Not pressure, but anxiety. There would be food in front of you but you wouldn't feel like eating it."

To find a way to adjust to the nervousness, Dhoni said the players tried dealing with nerves in differnt ways. "We said avoid it, do this, do that," but the strain was always felt. However, everyone in the squad had, Dhoni said, eventually coped well. "The kind of extra responsibility that each and everybody had was enormous. This is what we had wanted to achieve; we had set our eyes on it one-and-a-half years ago."

Sitting next to him was Yuvraj, the player who exemplified both the performance India put in and the anxiety they had been through on their way to becoming the first team to win a World Cup final at home. When Dhoni was asked how Yuvraj had been in the dressing room during the tournament, he replied with a smile: "He has been vomiting a lot," and then went on to answer the question.

Yuvraj told ESPNcricinfo, as he crossed the Wankhede to return to his dressing room, that he had been physically ill several times during the tournament. "Anxiety, anxiety," he explained. "This was the World Cup and that anxiety can really be heavy."

The burden that Yuvraj and his team-mates had been carrying around over the last six weeks suddenly fell away after the final. Everything had turned into lightness. When he first entered the media conference room, Yuvraj climbed onto the dais, calling out loudly to the journalists: "badhaiyaan ho, badhaiyaan ho [congratulations, congratulations]". During the session the two men traded jokes, and towards the end, Yuvraj was heard saying under his breath to his captain in Hindi: "short answer, please."

Dhoni is not given to particularly short answers, except when he kills a question with a joke. He spoke lucidly of what was going through his mind after he hit the winning runs. "Emotionally, I was confused; I wanted a wicket [stump]". But he found himself at the centre of the pitch with Yuvraj at the other end. "I thought hug-vug we will do later, first take the wicket." He then ran over to his own end to pull out the stump, after which Yuvraj jumped on him, pulling him into a bear hug. "It was an emotional moment," Dhoni said. "I was confused, I didn't know what to do at the time, how to show my emotions."

The decision to promote himself up the order ahead of the in-form Yuvraj had also, Dhoni said, been taken under a certain kind of pressure because of the risk it involved. "It was a big decision, I knew that if I promoted myself and didn't score runs I would be asked why I couldn't stay back? If I promoted myself there would be two left-hand batsmen after me and if I got out the side may have been in trouble."

He said the decision was based on the logic that as Gambhir was batting well, all Dhoni would need to do was rotate strike. Also, India knew the dew factor was going to kick in and Dhoni believed he had the added advantage of being able to read Muttiah Muralitharan's doosra. "I have played a lot with Murali [for the Chennai Super Kings] and I know his doosra quite well, and he knows that also. I was able to put a bit of pressure on him"

The advantage of running well with Gambhir - their partnership extending back to their India A days in 2003-2004 - also tilted the decision towards promoting himself. "We don't take risky singles but try to convert one or one-and-a-half runs into two runs. It was an ideal combination and we were batting together after a long time. We ran well, and backed each other. We knew if we took the game close enough with the Powerplay left, we would achieve the target even if the runs needed were eight an over."

Dhoni is now India's most successful captain in limited-overs cricket, having won both the World Twenty20 and the World Cup, and when asked to explain his success, he laughed. "I'm lucky. I always get good players. The players have responded to me even if it's a Test side, where there were senior players who were part of the side before I started playing for India. Then, the youngsters coming in have contributed a lot, they have been willing to give more than 100%." He said it was "the character of the individuals [in the team] that helped us win this trophy."

India's win came inside the refurbished Wankhede Stadium, where the stands are now built on a vertical climb and the capacity has been reduced to 33,000. On Saturday night, however, the sound created was amplified as the partnerships for the third and fourth wickets grew. The crowd, Dhoni said, gave the batsmen strength. "During the Gambhir-Kohli partnership, ever run was applauded as if it was a boundary."

The dew on the ground had helped the Indian batsmen, as did the easing up of the wicket. But the key according to Dhoni was the combined effort. "It was a pressure game, but everyone contributed. When you share the pressure then it becomes easy."

India's performance at the World Cup, Dhoni said, had been based on a plan that was born about 18 months ago and was a result of methodically resting and rotating players. "We wanted to win the trophy for each other first. The first thing you want to do is give them [team-mates and support staff] happiness; to see it in their eyes."

He said that rather than try to expand the number of people for whom the World Cup was to be won, the team said: "Okay let's concentrate and keep it small. If you do well and win the World Cup, the whole country has a share in it."

Vivek Kumar

Post by Vivek Kumar »

:((
Last edited by Vivek Kumar on 03 Apr 2011 11:50, edited 1 time in total.

Dhoni

The Lion of Jharkhand.

TEAM INDIA

TI the Tigerrrrr... of the World Cricket.